Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Welcome to your private in-town retreat - walk to  cafes, restaurants, shopping

'Cottage by the River' in Downtown Boquete [#250888] | View Property

Boquete
Cottage, Studio, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)
$72/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (48)

Sort by:
  • Beautiful secluded little spot

    Beautiful secluded little spot

    • Guest Kate
    • Date of stay 03/07/14
    • Review Submitted 03/18/14
    Barbara and Mort's little cabin deserves it's very high rating -- it's a lovely little spot with the stream rushing just outside the door. The stream and the gardens around it really make the place -- having breakfast on the little terrace outside the front door of the cabin was such a relaxing way to start the day. The cabin has been really, really thoughtfully equipped, with everything from saran wrap (to pack up lunch sandwiches) to cold water in the fridge to bathrobes in the dresser. Barbara and Mort were very welcoming and wonderful at giving us suggestions, even inviting us to a benefit concert when they discovered one of us was a musician. The only thing I can think of that might be a draw back from some is that the cabin is small -- there's not a lot of space around the room with the bed and the kitchenette. It was absolutely not a problem for us, but maybe if you have tons of luggage it could be? That's really the only thing I can think of, and it's a stretch! Also, Boquete is amazing, and there is tons of stuff to do. Highly recommended.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful Boquete Hideaway

    Beautiful Boquete Hideaway

    • Guest Barry and Donna N.
    • Date of stay 02/28/14
    • Review Submitted 03/19/14
    We spent 6 nights in this wonderful casita, so thoughtfully furnished down to every practical detail by Mort & Barbara, our hosts in Boquete. The location is ideal for exploring downtown. The casita felt like home...so comfortable while we were there. We had privacy, but we could always get good advice and recommendations from our hosts. Thanks for your wonderful hospitality, Mort & Barbara! I chose you after reading the great reviews, and I was not disappointed one little bit. It was all true and even better than imagined! If you go, be sure to try Mort's Bakery and Barbara's "happy" art! You guys make Boquete, a good place even better!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Very cozy with pristine surroundings

    Very cozy with pristine surroundings

    • Guest sally m.
    • Date of stay 02/10/14
    • Review Submitted 03/22/14
    When I returned home to the States, I went through all of the correspondences from my planning phase of our 33 days in Panama. I could not believe how generous Barbara was with details and reservations for my husband and me ,for events happening during the Jazz Festival in Boquete.Barbara and Mort are wonderful people with inspiring and creative lives. The "casita"is the perfect home in the perfect neighborhood and location in Boquete.Thank you for such a warm and beautiful experience.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Very Comfortable Place To Stay

    A Very Comfortable Place To Stay

    • Guest Pamela (Yreka, California)
    • Date of stay 01/31/14
    • Review Submitted 02/19/14
    My husband and I stayed at Cottage by the River for ten days. Barbara and Mort, the owners, did a wonderful job with the amenities. We were comfortable, usually greeted by their dog, Maggie (a cutey-pie!), and always felt like we could ask them anything if we had questions. Bed was cozy, Wi-Fi was available and cable TV was also provided. Barbara went out of her way to provide extra little goodies in the cottage to help make us feel most welcomed. It was like a second home. We also enjoyed the fact that it's quiet and, yet, right in downtown Boquete. We found ourselves using the rental car less and walking more. Thank you, Barbara and Mort, for such an great time. We will miss you and your wonderful cottage!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • I want to dog nap Maggie LOL

    I want to dog nap Maggie LOL

    • Guest Margaret S.
    • Date of stay 01/12/14
    • Review Submitted 01/26/14
    I was so fortunate to find Cottage by the River on VRBO. The connection Barb and I had with Ohio State made it much more comfortable for me to rent from her. I'm not your usual vacationer. I sold almost everything I owned with the intention of making Boquete my permanent retirement home. Barb's sisterly advice was most helpful. I pretty much dove into the x-pate community and volunteer activities and am really beginning to feel the this is a place I'm destined to spend all of my productive retirement years. There are so many six degrees of separation linked to it. Just one hitch I want to dognap Maggie. She is without a doubt the most loveable, docile, gentle dog I've even encountered. I felt honored that she was so comfortable with me that she would have spent the night with me in the cozy casita had her mother not been calling.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful Accommodations!

    Beautiful Accommodations!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 12/29/13
    • Review Submitted 01/20/14
    Barbara, Mort, and Maggie were wonderful hosts in every way! Their casita and the surrounding landscape is so beautiful and serene! Besides always being available to help us with directions and suggestions for outings, they went out of their way to help us upon our arrival when my husband locked our key in the car on a Sunday night. Mort handed us $40 dollars to go get dinner and relax while they made phone calls to try to solve our problem. Their friend came over and spent a long time and managed to retrieve our key with a hanger. I don't know what we would have done without Barbara and Mort's help. The casita itself was equipped with many little thoughtful extras. We loved our stay!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Charming accommodations

    Charming accommodations

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/18/13
    • Review Submitted 10/07/13
    We had a very comfortable 2 week stay at "Cottage by the River" in Boquete, Our hosts were extremely hospitable offering lots of information on all the things to do etc We enjoyed our long walks around the town and country. Scenery was beautiful and very lush. ,Great choice of restaurants and woderfull coffee! The Casita was very cute and well equipped. We also enjoyed the daily visits from "Maggie" the adorable dog. Marge and Cliff from Canada.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Delightful!!

    Delightful!!

    • Guest Dave and Melodee (Helendale, CA and Erhard,MN)
    • Date of stay 08/21/13
    • Review Submitted 09/04/13
    The Casita was delightful, as were the owners, Mort and Barbara(and Maggie). Mort and Barbara have landscaped the grounds into a true paradise. We have already referred the casita to friends.Our first trip to Panama was a joy because Barbara and Mort were both so helpful with all our questions. We will be back!! Dave and Melodee

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect cozy casita to stay at in Boquete!

    Perfect cozy casita to stay at in Boquete!

    • Guest Sarah (St. Louis, Missouri)
    • Date of stay 05/27/13
    • Review Submitted 06/09/13
    We love staying in cute little places like this instead of hotels when we travel. This was absolutely the best choice for us in Boquete! First, Mort and Barbara are so nice and welcoming. Mort gifted us some bread and Barbara gave us several recommendations for places to eat, plus a tour of their plants and grounds. Gorgeous. Next, location. We walked everywhere. All the main shops and eateries can be reached quickly by foot, plus the Tuesday morning artists/farmer's market is 5-10 minutes away and a must visit. We were close to walk to all the tour companies to meet for tours, or they picked us up with ease. Finally, the casita itself. It had EVERYTHING we needed to be comfortable. We loved sitting on the porch and listening to the rushing creek outside our window. It had a fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, toaster over, TV with cable, cell phone for us to use, flashlights, ponchos, umbrellas, toiletries, plates, glassware, flatware and more. The housekeeper even did our laundry for us (we gave her a tip as thanks). I'd absolutely recommend this casita for anyone who wants to stay in Boquete!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Enchanting abode in the heart of Boquete

    Enchanting abode in the heart of Boquete

    • Guest K (Playa Coronado, Panama)
    • Date of stay 05/17/13
    • Review Submitted 05/22/13
    We enjoyed two lovely nights at The Cottage by the River. We were warmly welcomed by Barbara and four legged " child" Maggie, whom we quickly came to adore. After greeting us, Barbara, an accomplished artist, returned to creating a water color piece on her patio. Watching her was a delight. A short time later, Mort arrived home, extended his welcome, and presented us with a gift of his beautiful and freshly baked rye bread. Both Barbara and Mort offer classes in their personal passion of painting and baking at their home. The cottage itself is warm and charming with enough space for two people to enjoy a very comfy visit. It was immaculate, well appointed with linens, coffee, assorted teas, and a wide variety of cooking and dining utensils to use with the provided microwave, toaster oven and mini fridge. Right outside our door were beautiful gardens along the river bed, which provided both beauty, serenity and the soulful sound of softly rushing water. We spent a good deal of time on "our" patio enjoying this gift of Mother Nature. Walking to " town" is a block away, where many good restaurants, shops, banks, and grocery stores await you. There was honestly nothing we could have needed our wanted that we could not have accessed by walking, however we did have a car and took advantage of seeing many beautiful areas of Boquete. Both Barbara and Mort are ready and eager to answer any questions or offer suggestions for dining, sightseeing and travel in general. While we confess to probably missing sweet Maggie the most, ( we enjoyed both sharing treats and our bed with her ) this charming cottage is a place we look forward to returning to again and again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Most Beautiful Property in Boquete!

    Most Beautiful Property in Boquete!

    • Guest Susan and Gary H. (Palo Alto, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/05/13
    • Review Submitted 05/14/13
    We just returned from 3 nights in Boquete with Mort and Barbara and are already planning our return! The Casita, albeit compact, is ideally situated on by far and away the most beautiful and convenient location in Boquete! The sound of the rushing creek and the incredibly lush landscaping make you feel like you are in a remote resort, but, in fact, you are mere blocks from the best restaurants (Olga's for breakfast!), sights, tour operators, markets, and...sigh.....affordable spa treatments at Isla Verde. The hosts have taken great care to provide everything you could conceivably need in the Casita, including the insider manual on where to go and what to do once there. Everything about the rental description was on point, including welcome tea and cookies upon our arrival and a loaf of Mort's home made bread made fresh for the Tuesday market. The mountain breeze and low humidity make Boquete a refreshing alternative to other destinations in Panama. We will definitely return for much longer next time in a season when we could take better advantage of the endless hiking and white water rafting and enroll in the nearby Spanish Immersion School.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Delightful casita

    Delightful casita

    • Guest Beth & Dennis (Indianapolis, IN)
    • Date of stay 02/25/13
    • Review Submitted 03/07/13
    We loved our little home in Boquete, and loved Boquete. The accomodations were exactly as described, very clean and comfortable. Everything we could have wanted was supplied, and the hosts were friendly and full of good ideas and suggestions. The location was wonderful--within walking distance of the town park/square, restaurants, grocery stores, and fruit/vegetable markets. The area is a great place to explore, and those without a car can visit any of the nearby tour companies or hail a taxi to visit the surrounding area and its attractions.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • A Couple of Canadians

    A Couple of Canadians

    • Guest A Couple of Canadians (Toronto Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/06/13
    • Review Submitted 02/18/13
    This place was absolutely lovely, as were our hosts, Barbara and Mort. The location and setting of the one room cottage couldn't be better for anyone who wants to be in the centre of town - it was a block from the main street of Boquete, but felt a world away - set behind a gate covered in colourful bougainvillea, in a pretty garden and beside a small,fast flowing river. Walking distance to restaurants and grocery stores. The cottage is clean and well appointed room with a mini fridge, microwave and toaster oven (which came in very handy for breakfast and our late night snacks). Barbara and Mort were great hosts - extremely welcoming and very helpful. We really enjoyed our stay here.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Charming Cottage next to the River

    Charming Cottage next to the River

    • Guest Trish (Portland Oregon)
    • Date of stay 01/29/13
    • Review Submitted 02/08/13
    This little one bedroom cottage was perfect for our 6 day stay in Boquete. Barb and Mort were great landlords and helpful when we needed advise on what to do and where to eat. I would definitely stay here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Our favorite spot!

    Our favorite spot!

    • Guest Kent (Oregon)
    • Date of stay 01/03/13
    • Review Submitted 01/23/13
    My wife and I love Panama and have done a lot of traveling there. Without a doubt, the cottage is our favorite place to stay in the Boquete area. It is small, but very cozy. Comfortably decorated and located next to a small stream—we slept like babies. Downtown Boquete is two blocks away. Groceries, restaurants and access to travel adventures are all within walking distance. Barbara and Mort are excellent hosts. And we loved their dog, Maggie. We will be back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Comfortable studio by the river

    Comfortable studio by the river

    • Guest Alice Claire (Long Beach, CA)
    • Date of stay 12/23/12
    • Review Submitted 12/29/12
    Barbara and Mort are gracious host that make you feel like you are home. The casita is small and excels at use of space. Everything we need was there and what we lacked from forgetfulness they offered. The bed was heavenly, the garden, river view from the private patio was surreal, tangerine flora fundia bending down to touch the river, impatiens pushing their way into your view and the azaleas trying to quietly take over the patio; how can one not enjoy their Panamanian coffee while their senses are entertained? Mort is an exceptional baker you must try his bread. Barbara is a very talented artist you must stop by her studio while you are in Boquete; The Blue Door, Porta Azul. I recommend this to travels who are going to Boquete to see the natural beauty and want to step right in to how the locals live and they do live life to it's fullest.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Wonderful Hidden Gem with Owners that go Above and Beyond!

    Wonderful Hidden Gem with Owners that go Above and Beyond!

    • Guest Sarah (United States)
    • Date of stay 12/05/12
    • Review Submitted 12/19/12
    We really enjoyed our stay here! Barbara and Mort really went above and beyond to make us comfortable and really made us feel welcome. The guest house is very private, surrounded by a beautiful garden and right next to a creek. Though it is just one block from the main road, the gardens and gate around the home make you feel as if you are worlds away from downtown. Barbara and Mort welcomed us and continued to check on us throughout or stay to see if we needed anything. It was great to be able to spend a little time with them chatting and getting to know them. We really felt is the perfect balance of having a bit of company but also feeling that we had plenty of privacy when we wanted it. Maggie the dog was wonderful company- such a great pet! We really enjoyed spending time on the small patio in the morning and also napping on the hammock in the garden. We also had the pleasure of sampling Mort's wonderful bread. If you are coming to Boquete, I can think of no better place to stay than at Barbara and Mort's Cottage by the River. When we come back to Panama we hope to stay here again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Spot-on per descriptions and reviews

    Spot-on per descriptions and reviews

    • Guest Lynne (Cincinnati)
    • Date of stay 11/18/12
    • Review Submitted 12/11/12
    My husband I had the opportunity to stay at this casita for three nights. The room was equiped with everything that one would need including coffee, a small fridge and a microwave. Mort's homemade bread was a real treat! The hosts, Barb and Mort, could not have been any nicer. We really enjoyed having a cup of coffee with them while they shared with us their experience of relocating to this lovely area of Panama. Maggie, thier dog, made us feel right at home. She really took to my husband and would come over to say hello. The location is one block off of the main road into town. We were able to walk to a variety of eating establishments as well as the grocery. We used the car to get to some of the hiking sites recommended by Barb. The only disappointment was the weather. It rained for most of the three days we were there. Next time!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Reviews are spot-on. Amazing accomodations and location

    Reviews are spot-on. Amazing accomodations and location

    • Guest FlexitarianCouple (Kitchener, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 11/13/12
    • Review Submitted 11/20/12
    Arrival/Check-in/Reception: We arrived in David and Barb & Mort arranged to have a taxi pick us up. We got to Boquete around 6-6:30pm and were drained from a long travel day. Barb had some leftover vegan dinner and offered us some and we were so happy with that as we just didn’t want to have to figure out what to eat in town. They let us know about the locks, gates, lights etc. on the property and went over some local places to eat and things to do. Room: Room was great. There was A/C (didn’t need it), a ceiling fan (might have turned it on once), two large windows you can open to get a nice cross breeze (which we did). The room has a small fridge, microwave, dish rack, dishes, cupboards, coffee maker, kettle, toaster (to toast one of Mort’s loaves of bread of course!). This was a huge bonus because you can get a few groceries and make sandwiches for lunch or toast in the morning. The bathroom had everything we needed, including hair-dryer. Both inside and outside of the casita are a table and two chairs for either dining or playing cards or just listening to the river and watching the birds. Also outside is an amazing hammock to relax in. Location: Location is perfect. It’s right beside the river so you get to hear that whenever you’re on property. It’s also very close to town, like a two minute walk (if that). Pretty much everything is within walking distance – restaurants, bank machine, tours, grocery stores, you name it. Overall Impression: Very happy with the Cottage by the River. They were very hospitable and approachable and the casita suited our needs perfectly. We wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again and highly recommend the Cottage by the River!

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Let the river sooth you to sleep each night!

    Let the river sooth you to sleep each night!

    • Guest John and Kathy (Crossville, Tennessee, USA)
    • Date of stay 09/14/12
    • Review Submitted 09/23/12
    This small casita is set by a small river/creek whose constant flowing sound lulls you to sleep. Sit outside with a good cup of Panamanian coffee and enjoy the beautiful flowers and sound. The hosts, Barbara and Mort, were very accomodating and the location is walkable to town and restaurants. A good place to stay for your Boquete visit.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • This is the Place

    This is the Place

    • Guest Bud (Kalamazoo, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 08/16/12
    • Review Submitted 09/02/12
    We arrived at the "Cottage by the River" and were immediatly greeted with a Welcome Smile and invitations to have a glass of wine and bread with Barb and Mort our Casita Hosts. Barb showed us all the extras of the Casita to make our stay comfortable. Coffee was provided and grown by a local coffee farm. The Casita/Cottage is private and surrounded by beautiful flowers, trees and the ever present sound of the river flowing just out side the tiled deck of the Casita. Mort invited us to help with the "firing" of his bread oven. We made "wood fired" pizza which was shared by other local expats. Barb helped us with directions, ideas, thoughts regarding the idea of retirement to Boquete and was a personal friend when we needed help negotiating with local residents. Maggie the loving and ever tail wagging wonder dog greeted us each morning with a friendly bark and sniff. Maggie helped us feel right at home since we didn't bring our own dog and missed her. We can not say enough about our stay at the Cottage by the River and how relaxing and enjoyable our stay was. The Cottage/Casita is within walking distance to everything a person can need. We shopped locally for wine and cheese to go with the wonderful bread made by Mort our Casita host. Sun each morning with some rain in the afternoons was just perfect as we walked in the morning and relaxed to the sounds of the river and misting rain in the evenings. The Tuesday Morning Market is a treat not to be missed and provides a first hand look at hand made crafts, organcially grown veggies along with conversation of people who have relocated to Boquete. We had always wanted to travel to Central America and are so pleased we chose Boquete and the Cottage by the River. Thanks Barb and Mort you are in our fondest memories. Steve and Lauren

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Boquete, Panama

    Boquete, Panama

    • Guest Jan (Las Vegas, Nv.)
    • Date of stay 07/31/12
    • Review Submitted 08/17/12
    I so miss this lovely area. Our accomodations were lovely, easy access to main road and many great restaurant's that Boquete offers. We were met by "Cat" the housekeeper and Maggie for our stay who made our visit so enjoyable. One day i will return to this amazing part of Panama. Sitting outside our casita door was the highlight of our accomodations amongst the flowing plants and bubbling stream. Everyone should take a tour or drive thru this region..it is breathtaking beautiful to say the least.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The Cottage By The River exudes hospitality

    The Cottage By The River exudes hospitality

    • Guest Tinker (Wilmington, Delaware)
    • Date of stay 07/17/12
    • Review Submitted 08/02/12
    I stayed in the casita for 2 weeks at the end of July, which was charming and well-equipped as the description and photos indicate. I was able to enjoy many of the local activities such as the Tuesday Market, (even got to help with baking bread to sell at the market), eating at Sugar and Spice(a block away) for coffee, sweets, and a killer poblano pepper soup, trying the many different ethnic restaurants, wandering the streets in the various neighborhoods, and shopping in the local stores. Taxis are remarkably plentiful, and a wide variety of nature, adventure or custom tours are available. Though the owners were visiting in the States, the hostess and dog sitter,Cat (a charming, young woman with a wealth of information about Boquete and surrounds, and living in Panama)and Maggie, the labradoodle, made me feel not only welcome, but as though I was an old friend returning for a visit. I already miss Maggie's checks to be sure all was well, but expect to stay with her again on my next trip to Boquete.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Cottage by the River

    Cottage by the River

    • Guest Dorothy (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 06/20/12
    • Review Submitted 07/07/12
    Barb & Mort were fabulous hosts during our 2 week stay in this charming cottage conveniently located to town. The property is impeccably maintained and the relaxing vibe quickly put us into vacation mode. Bruce took a bread class with Mort and I took a silk painting class with Barb -- we both thoroughly enjoyed our experiences. There were plenty of options in town and nearby to keep us occupied. Overall, we were extremely impressed with the accommodations and interactions with everyone. Sometimes, as visitors unfamiliar with the scene, one can feel awkward, but we never had that feeling because Barb, Mort, and others made us feel so at ease and comfortable. We loved the Dos Jefes Coffee tour and having lunch at Rancho Caldera. Certainly, we would highly recommend this property to others because it was clean, cozy, conveniently located, and mostly because Barb and Mort were so friendly and hospitable -- and Maggie was (wonderful labradoodle) as gentle and sweet as could be!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Amazing hospitality and location

    Amazing hospitality and location

    • Guest Oakland mama (Oakland, california)
    • Date of stay 06/15/12
    • Review Submitted 06/17/12
    I can't say enough good things about the casita and Barbara and Mort. The casita was well equipped, clean and comfy. Barbara and Mort are some of the sweetest hosts we've encountered and had fantastic recommendations of what to do, where to eat, etc. if you are lucky, you'll get the chance to try some of Mort's delicious bread. You won't regreat staying here!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Lovely stay with charming hosts--highly recommended!

    Lovely stay with charming hosts--highly recommended!

    • Guest MJ (DC, US)
    • Date of stay 06/03/12
    • Review Submitted 06/13/12
    The Casita is located on a side street close to the center of town, yet the clean, cozy studio apartment's location by the river provides an oasis away from the bustling energy and street noises you may encounter in a typical city. The photos on VRBO are certainly beautiful, but they cannot encapsulate the allure of the flora and fauna that surround the Casita. You will understand what I mean after you choose to stay there. The river ten feet from your door will lull you to sleep at night and you may find yourself dreaming into the late morning despite having hit the Casita's comfortable bed around 10 pm. Sit on the patio at least once a day with a cup of Boquete-grown coffee while you read or surf the web. You will spot a hummingbird in one of the tropical flower beds at least twice during your stay and you might ask yourself why you waited this long to come to the haven that is Boquete, Panama. If you are worried about mosquitos near the vacation rental, don't be. I would, however, recommend bug spray to ward off other insects that you will encounter in every corner of the isthmus. Long pants and a jacket provide a simple solution as well, and will keep you warm during your stay in the cool mountainous region of Chiriqui. Your hosts will win you over with their creative passions for silk painting and artisan bread baking and, of course, their constant efforts to make your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. Visit the artisan fair on Tuesday morning, get a massage from Kitzie (Spa Boquete), reconsider attempting the grueling 27 km Volcan Baru hike and don't pass up one of Olga's smoothies when you visit her cafe for breakfast (Punto de Encuentro). Prepare yourself for total relaxation, be open to meet new friends (your hosts) and don't be alarmed if you find yourself scouring your calendar for return dates toward the end of your stay. I certainly did.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wonderful place in boquete

    Wonderful place in boquete

    • Guest Rob and Shanna (Hot springs, AR)
    • Date of stay 05/19/12
    • Review Submitted 05/27/12
    Stay here. You won't regret it. It is clean comfortable and convenient to everything. We originally intended to drive toward boca area after a 4 night stay but enjoyed our accommodations and surroundings so much we stayed longer. So glad they happened to have two extra nights available. Mort, Barbara, and Maggie are wonderful helpful hosts with great tips about how to get most from Boquete. Be sure to eat at Art cafe and definitely the Panamonte. And eat Mort's bread and enjoy Barbara's art and share a treat with Maggie. :))

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Relaxing Surroundings

    Relaxing Surroundings

    • Guest Jo-Anne (Playa Chiquita, Limon, Costa Rica)
    • Date of stay 05/15/12
    • Review Submitted 05/22/12
    The description of this quaint B&B was very accurate. My stay was very relaxing and I felt very secure. The location was ideal as I did not have a means of transportation and downtown was only one block away. The shopping was good and there are many tour operators in the downtown area offering a variety of activities. The restaurants were numerous for my short stay. Pricing at the B&B, shopping, and restaurants was very reasonable. A nice comfort was the prepared booklet in the B&B of Barb and Mort's 'extra information' that I found very helpful. These hosts do make you feel very welcome. I would recommend this B&B for its great amenities, location and great hosts.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful casita within stone's throw of a babbling brook

    Beautiful casita within stone's throw of a babbling brook

    • Guest Mercedes (Carlsbad, California)
    • Date of stay 05/03/12
    • Review Submitted 05/12/12
    Our 6 night stay was perfect. The casita was just right in every way. The location is great. Perfectly private and secure behind a driveway gate; yet just a block from Boquete central, stores, services, tourist ideas, and some wonderful local restaurants. The hosts, Barbara and Mort, were exceptional in making us feel like friends visiting, as well as having great suggestions for things to see and do. If you are lucky, your visit will be timed so that you can enjoy some of Mort's artisan breads. Barbara paints wonderful silk art. Their sweet dog Maggie completes the relaxing and welcoming ambiance.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Very good description.

    Very good description.

    • Guest Anne and Michael (Dallas, Texas)
    • Date of stay 04/18/12
    • Review Submitted 05/01/12
    The "Cottage by the River" was everything we had hoped for and more during our stay. Barbara and Mort willingly answered our many questions. We truly felt that we were their guests. The "casita" had everything that we needed to make our stay very enjoyable. Our location was only a block away from the main street and we walked all over town exploring. There are so many restaurants and activities in this town - Barbara has assembled a book for guests to check out information on these. Being next to a small river made sleeping delightful and the flowers in the garden were wonderful. Mort, Barbara, and Maggie were gracious hosts and we would return again anytime!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A trip to Boquete, Panama

    A trip to Boquete, Panama

    • Guest Cristina W (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 04/09/12
    • Review Submitted 05/06/12
    We recently went to Panama with the idea of exploring the country for retirement purposes. We spent 2 days in Boquete with Morton and Barbara at Casa Sirena (Cottage by the river). We enjoyed Boquete very much and especially Morton and Barbara's place. The place is very enchanting, with the river running through their beautiful garden. The little cottage where we stayed was very quaint, clean, well equipped, and most of all you will notice Barbara's attention to the last detail to keep us feeling at home. The place is conveniently located just a block away from the main street in Boquete and yet it was very private. We loved the place, and enjoyed Morton, and Barbara's conversations and advise.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Place, Wonderful Hosts!

    Great Place, Wonderful Hosts!

    • Guest Karen (Sacramento)
    • Date of stay 03/28/12
    • Review Submitted 05/06/12
    My husband and I stayed at the Cottage by the River for two nights in March. We loved our time there! Barbara and Morten were delightful, and helped us so much. They provided great advice and recommendations. We enjoyed walking to town and eating at all the delicious restaurants. My husband and I enjoyed the afternoons sitting on the Cottage Porch, watching the river, and enjoying a glass of wine. Barbara has thought of everything for the cottage. Everything you could need, even robes! The cottage is a great value, and a great place to stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Just Right!

    Just Right!

    • Guest Peggy (Cape Elizabeth, Maine)
    • Date of stay 03/15/12
    • Review Submitted 03/24/12
    Without repeating what others have said, I’ll confirm and add my two cents worth… We stayed at the cottage for a week from March 15-22. I found this place through VBRO rentals and found the website to be attractive, friendly, and informational. I viewed the trip advisor comments and figured “what’s not to like about this place?” From the beginning (first e-mail contact one year ago) I have found Barbara and Mort to be attentive, friendly, and just plain interesting people. When I discovered Mort baked his own bread I knew we’d be in good hands! I’ve long been intrigued with the ex-pat life and figured we could get the inside scoop of life in Boquete and interesting things to do. Two days before we arrived Barbara e-mailed me notifying me of a birdwalking tour around the back yards of Boquete the morning after our arrival. I immediately signed up. We went on a 2 hour hike with other ex pats on another day. It was wonderful to get a glimpse into the ex pat life. My husband and I wound up visiting the coffee farm of one of the ex pats who was leading the bird walk. It doesn’t get much better than that! Barbara and Mort ‘s graciousness and hospitality were outstanding, the location perfect, and the guest cottage colorful and charming. Stay here!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Cottage !!

    Perfect Cottage !!

    • Guest Karen (Orono MN)
    • Date of stay 03/05/12
    • Review Submitted 03/12/12
    This cottage is perfect! It was within walking distance of Boquette. Barbara and Mort were fabulous hosts--they were informative, gracious and caring. I would recommend this cottage for vacationers without a car, as a romantic getaway and for adventure seekers. Both the cottage and the hosts far exceeded my expectations. I would recommend the 'cottage by the river' to family, friends, acquaintances and even strangers. When I travel to Boquette in the future, I definitely plan to stay in this cottage!! This was truly a wonderful experience for me!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • The Best of Boquette

    The Best of Boquette

    • Guest Jim (Durango, CO)
    • Date of stay 01/29/12
    • Review Submitted 02/11/12
    We just returned from a 6 nite stay and it was very enjoyable. Mort and Barbara were much more than hosts, they were ambassadors of Boquette. The setting was excellent, the accommodations were very pleasant, clean and comfortable, and the location in town made it easy to walk to nearly everything. This was our first visit and we are looking forward to returning!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Cozy, Peaceful, Clean and Well Equipped - Highly Recommend - Hosts are Fantastic

    Cozy, Peaceful, Clean and Well Equipped - Highly Recommend - Hosts are Fantastic

    • Guest Jack & Sandi (Eugene, OR)
    • Date of stay 11/03/11
    • Review Submitted 11/30/11
    We stayed here for 6 nights in November. Barbara and Mort were the most gracious hosts. The constant sound of the river just steps outside the front door was so relaxing. The location is amazing, just a 2 block walk from the center of Boquete. The previous review was such a great summary I find little to add except that Barbara and Mort just made our visit to Boquete so enjoyable with all of their insights and tips. Their hospitality was like a visit w/ your own family; gracious with home made bread to please; yet with your own space for privacy and peacefulness. They know everything about the area and are so generous with their knowledge. Every recommendation they gave on hikes, drives and dining, we took--and had an amazing experience. STAY HERE AND ENJOY BOQUETE; ITS A GREAT VALUE.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Amazing Location, Stellar Hospitality, Immaculately Clean Cottage

    Amazing Location, Stellar Hospitality, Immaculately Clean Cottage

    • Guest Croatian & ScootDiggidy (San Diego)
    • Date of stay 09/08/11
    • Review Submitted 09/10/11
    We stayed here for 2 nights in September. Barbara and Mort were most gracious hosts. Mort greeted us with a loaf of his fresh baked bread...so delish. The constant sound of the river just steps outside the front door was so relaxing. The location is amazing, just a 2 minute walk from the center of Boquete. If you want to enjoy the town of Boquete and launch from there, this cottage is perfect. It's clean, with all the amenities you'd need such as a hot water kettle, coffee pot with fresh Boquete coffee--stocked, plates/glasses and a small fridge. The linens were so comfortable and clean. They will even do your laundry for you, if you're there on a day when the house keeper is available. The owners offer a helpful drawer of info, maps, reccomendations for activities, dining and even a Panama cel phone to use while you're there. Aside from the amazing accommodations, Barbara and Mort are life savers. They know everything about the area and are so generous with their knowledge. Every reccomendation they gave on hikes, drives and dining, we took--and had an amazing experience. The icing on the cake is they know what to do in an emergency. My boyfriend had an injury when we arrived. We didn't think anything of it and Barbara insisted she take a look. She immediately knew what the problem was, wisked us to her local doctor and in minutes, he was fixed, in/out of the doc and farmacia in 20 minutes flat. She checked on us throughout the visit and her expertise and concern were so helpful and so appreciated. It really makes a difference when the host of the cottage really cares about the guests. If you are going to Boquete, you have to stay at the Casita on the River.....

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: There is nothing worse than suffering an accident or becoming ill while on a trip. My training as a nurse plus our experience living in Panama has alerted us to recognize and deal with infections promptly. Advice to travelers: do not ignore warning signs of fever, redness, swelling. Get medical attention immediately. Early intervention will keep you safe, happy and able to continue your trip in good health.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Fabulous spot!

    Fabulous spot!

    • Guest Meg M. (Seattle, WA US)
    • Date of stay 07/20/11
    • Review Submitted 08/16/11
    My husband & I stayed at this cottage for 3 days and were thrilled with our stay. The cottage is beautifully located in a garden on a lively creek, with a pleasant place to sit & enjoy the setting. Inside, the cottage is clean, refreshing & stocked with various essentials for making a morning cup of coffee or planning excursions around town. It's located right in Boquete, where everything is within walking distance. Best of all, Barb & Mort are welcoming & gracious, generous with ideas & recommendations about how to best enjoy the area! The listing accurately portrays the loveliness of this spot and we would definitely recommend it to family and friends!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Delightful

    Delightful

    • Guest Vancouver canada (Vancouver canada)
    • Date of stay 07/19/11
    • Review Submitted 07/29/11
    Delightful stay, there was some trouble with the internet and the cottage is small, cute and comfy. Warning that rainy season means that it rains every day after noon. We rented a car and did some hikes in the area and visited some coffee plantations. Beautiful area.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We got a new router - internet working fine now! :-)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • There Is Not Enough High Praise For This Lovely Setting & Art Class!

    There Is Not Enough High Praise For This Lovely Setting & Art Class!

    • Guest Ann (San Diego, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/13/11
    • Review Submitted 07/16/11
    How do I begin to describe the tremendous experience i had at Barbara and Mort's property in Boquete? Although i didn't directly stay in their casita, i adored it every day as I walked past the location. Everyone in town knew of it from the lovely, private grounds with impeccable tropical landscaping and a bubbling river brook running through it. I was fortunate enough to attend Barbara's silk painting class. It was fun, motivating, comprehensive, fully informative and the highlight of my three weeks in Panama! Barbara was a fabulous artist and teacher. Her down-to-earth personality and exquisite talent were the perfect combination to bring out the students' creativity. There was only one other person in class so the attention/instruction was very individual. She immediately got me hooked on silk painting. The location was perfect!!! It was literally just a few blocks walk into the center of town but was very quiet and tranquil. Habla Ya Language School was directly around the corner (I was a student there, too). Restaurants abound within easy walking distance. There is no need for a car or any other transportation. Mort is renowned for his delicious, fresh artisan bread that is baked in a beautiful mosaic outdoor oven that Barbara created. I served his bread at a party and it was a huge favorite of the guests. Barbara and Mort's warm-hearted welcome will not be forgotten! I would make another trip all the way from San Diego, CA to Boquete, Panama solely to stay at their casita and take more art lessons! If this review sounds extremely flowery and complimentary, please know it is genuine. My regret is that i did not stay at the casita (I wasn't aware of it in time to make a booking). I have only been back home for one day but am already considering a return trip so I can continue the great experience i had with them! It is truly a lovely place. You can not go wrong with a visit to Boquete with Barbara and Mort!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The beauty of the little cottage was only exceeded by the propietarios hospitality

    The beauty of the little cottage was only exceeded by the propietarios hospitality

    • Guest K & J (Houston, Tx USA)
    • Date of stay 07/01/11
    • Review Submitted 07/15/11
    Our son found this place for us and it was a perfect experience and place to launch our Boquete discovery. Very clean and efficiently equiped with everything needed for a delightful stay. The sound of the water was so soothing and sleep inducing as the smells from the gardens filled the air. Every need and question we had were met by Barbara and Mort. We recommend this property as a perfect place to stay in Boquete if you are looking for a good value and a great sleep in a peaceful, secure, well managed property.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • BEAUTIFULLY PEACEFUL IN BOQUETE

    BEAUTIFULLY PEACEFUL IN BOQUETE

    • Guest Greg and Dede (Westcliffe, Colorado USA)
    • Date of stay 06/22/11
    • Review Submitted 07/09/11
    When we arrived in Boquete we were welcomed by Mort, Barbara, and Maggie as if they had known us for years. The property is not only beautifully kept but so charming and peaceful that we did not want to leave. The cottage was immaculate and the bed linens, towels and robes were clean and smelled fresh. It had everything to make our stay comfortable and was exactly what we were looking for. The creek outside was such a wonderful touch. Mort and Barbara were very hospitable and informative about the sites and restaurants in Boquete. There is no need to get a taxi as everything is within walking distance. We loved this place and will stay here on our next visit to Boquete.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Cottage set in the Eden Gardens of Boquete

    Cottage set in the Eden Gardens of Boquete

    • Guest Olga (Ottawa, Canada)
    • Date of stay 04/06/11
    • Review Submitted 04/26/11
    I couldn't sleep my first night when we arrived to Boquete early April 2011 because of the excitement due to overwhelming amount of tropical flowers that I admire so much! Barbara, Mort and Maggie were very welcoming and their cottage is spotlessly clean, snow-white linens, plenty of soft towels and even bathrobes! They also gave us the excellent introduction to the restaurants and places of interest as well as honestly answered our questions on how's life looks and feels in Panama. Highly recommend.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Beautiful Casita, Great Location

    Beautiful Casita, Great Location

    • Guest MikeS (Providence, RI)
    • Date of stay 04/18/10
    • Review Submitted 06/21/10
    A superbly nice casita just a minute walk from downtown. Set in a quiet and peaceful location, the casita really offers everything you would need. It is spotlessly clean, charming, and comfortable. My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in the middle of April, and it was a great chance for us to kick back and relax during our month of travel. The babbling stream next to the house (seriously, 5 feet from the house) is so nice at night. You cannot hear any noise from around the city due to the sound from the water. The hosts are very pleasant and helpful. They offered to take us on a walk on the quetzal trail right when we arrived, however we were a bit tired. After they went out for a while, they came back and gave us the complete rundown of the area. They invited us into their house for some bread, which Mort makes in an oven outside (which you can see from your room). A fun process to watch. The casita has a toaster, fridge, utensils, cups, television with a ton of channels, hot shower, nice bathroom, coffee/tea, coffee maker, chairs outside overlooking the brook, hairdryer, and more. It was very safe as well, as they gave us a gate opener to their front yard. Thus, nobody can just walk onto the property. This is as comfortable and relaxed as it gets in Panama. The weather was a nice reprive from the rest of Central America. It's super nice and cool at night. I give this place a 10/10. Have fun.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 10/10

    • Guest kaufmjea (Hollywood, MD)
    • Date of stay 02/21/10
    • Review Submitted 02/21/10
    My husband and I spent a few days in the Rabkin's wonderful Cottage by the River and enjoyed every minute of it. The location enabled us to explore the area by walking everywhere while the river running along side it provided a sense of privacy and the soothing sounds for a good night's sleep. The casita is the perfect size for a couple, with all the necessities and much added charm. Mort was a wonderful host, providing homemade artisan bread and lots of invaluable information about the town of Boquete as well as life in Panama. We left wanting nothing more than to return quickly and stay much longer at this cottage by the river.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

    • Guest Cyndi G. (California)
    • Date of stay 02/07/10
    • Review Submitted 02/07/10
    I first must say that I did not stay at this establishment. I had made a reservation to stay here for three nights but the day before I was due to arrive (I was in Bocas del Torro) my husband had an accident and broke his leg. I called up the owners and explained the situation and not only did they refund my deposit, but actually called me back to ask me if they was any way they could help. I can't explain how grateful I was. They seem like amazing lovely people and I can't wait to return to Panama and stay with them and bake some bread with Mort. Thank you once again for your kindness and understanding. Sincerely, Cyndi & Jon Grasman

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

    • Guest Cyndy Atkins (Sanibel Island, FL)
    • Date of stay 01/25/10
    • Review Submitted 01/25/10
    This beautiful nonsmoking "Casita on the River" exceeded my expectations!It is spotless, well equipped, comfortable for 1 or 2 people,private and secure. It is better than a hotel and you will love the amenities. A car is not necessary and you can walk to the main drag for restaurants, laundry, supermarkets, drug stores, post office and anything that you might require. The best part for me was the beautiful shower and bathroom which was well lighted and had lots of towels and supplies. The queen bed was personally crafted by Mr. Rabkin in his woodshop. The casita is quiet and romantic. You will have free WiFi for your laptop, cable tv, a reloadable cellphone, refrigerator, coffemaker, tea kettle, microwave, toaster oven, dishes/utensils. Mr. and Mrs. Rabkin live onsite with their beautiful and friendly labradoodle, Maggie. Maggie loves to greet all of the guests and offer you her toy as a welcome! Mrs. Rabkin is a talented artist and you can book private lessons with her in her studio. Her silk creations are exquisite and like none you have seen. Mr. Rabkin makes the very best rye bread in Chiriqui' and you can watch him bake it in his handmade woodburning clay oven. It is delicious and many people reserve his bread in advance. You are near many inexpensive restaurants such as Nelvis, Lourdes, El Sabroson and Bistro Boquete which is owned and mananged by a renowned chef from Aspen, CO. If you would like to have a casually elegant meal on the river, go to the El Oasis....a B&B across the bridge. Wow. Adventure sports? Go to Boquete Outdoor Adventures (BOA) and ask for Jim or Rolando. They have the very best day trips. They are on the corner and near the casita. Whitewater rafting, island trips, fishing, hikes. Superb value for the money and professional staff. Ziplines? Go to Kotowa Coffee in the same building and book a tour with Aventurist. Absolutely the best zipline tour anywhere....14 ziplines total. I have been to every corner of the globe and I will tell you that this will be one of the the best vacations of your life and your hosts will see to it that you are well take care of. I will be going back! Panama...what a country!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 14/14

  • Cottage by the River

    Cottage by the River

    • Guest hinges (Gibsons,British Columbia,Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/30/09
    • Review Submitted 04/28/10
    This charming little cottage exceeded my expectations in every way.The location was first class as it was beside the Spanish School and only one short block from the main street.The Casita is very comfortable and when I sat and enjoyed my tea on the patio the only thing between me and the river were the beautiful flowers.The river though small was quite fast flowing and the sound was really restful.Mort and Barb ,the owners were very kind and hospitable and Maggie ,the labradoodle was always there to greet me at the secure gate.The town itself had a freindly,safe feeling to it .i had an unfortunate fall there and was so well looked after by the local people who took me to the clinic,pharmacy and optomotrist and checked up on me afterwards. There are so many activities to take part in here for all ages.I went on the day outing to Boca Chica and spent several hours an a beautiful uninhabited island.I also went on the Coffee Tour and spent a day driving up to the surrounding areas.But there is white water rafting,Zip lines ,midnight hikes up the Volcan Baru and much more. As a single lady there all my experiences were great and especially having "The Cottage By The River to come home to every night.Thank you so much Barb and Mort for everything and especially the delicious home made breads.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 10/10



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]