Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Peaceful! Surrounded by woods, babbling brook in the back. Tom Knapp photo.

Swedish House, Hand Built in 1907 by Axel Sandstrom [#250909] | View Property

Bandon
House, 2 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 3.5 Baths (Sleeps 6-8)
$108 - $263/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (18)

Sort by:
  • cleaning

    cleaning

    • Guest Thomas W.
    • Date of stay 11/27/13
    • Review Submitted 12/09/13
    Looking for my my key I had to look under everything. The place is only clean on the surface. Found underware under the couch Along with trash. The same everywhere under anything.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers

    Owner response: I'm so sorry that your stay was less than perfect, Thomas! I just reupholstered that couch a couple weeks ago, and I did clean under it at that time... since we welcome pets, we do get more than the average number of dust bunnies. Before Thanksgiving, I did pull everything out of the kitchens of all my houses, wipe out all the cupboards and drawers, restock cookie sheets, made sure there were roasting pans and enough serving dishes... so I am confident that the kitchens were all sanitary and ready for turkey day! After my cleaners go though the house, it is my job to do a final walk through and make sure everything is perfect, but I was out of state over Thanksgiving, so this is my fault. I hope all other aspects of your stay were agreeable... the endless firewood for the wood stove, the cozy down comforters and authentic Swedish decor. There is an old Swedish saying that goes "It is a far better thing to find another man's underbreeches while searching for one's keys, than to have lost one's own underbreeches and whilst searching, discover another man's keys." Loosely translated. So I hope you'll come back, give us another try, and if you peek under the couch and it is spotless, please leave us a good review! Chris Alexander

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • 35th Anniversary Weekenders

    35th Anniversary Weekenders

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 11/01/13
    • Review Submitted 11/08/13
    This was our second stay at the Swedish House and just like the first stay, it was just perfect for us. It is close to Bandon but out of town enough to be soooo quiet and peaceful. Standing on the front porch and looking at the night sky, the stars are so bright you'd think you could touch them. The kitchen is small but fine for making a nice meal or endless pots of tea. The wood stove really is the heart of the home and we enjoyed it immensely, thanks to the steady supply of dry firewood supplied by the on-site caretaker, who was always available if needed. The master bed has to be one of the most comfortable beds we've slept in at any b & b, hotel or vacation home. The house itself is full of character, with the high ceilings and beautiful wooden board walls. There are interesting books and a high speed internet connection too. If you have no problem with stairs and you enjoy staying places that are unique vs. bland and impersonal, we think you'll enjoy the Swedish House. Thank you, Christine, for sharing your Swedish House with us, we enjoyed reading about the history of the house and how you came to it. We'll be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great home, great area

    Great home, great area

    • Guest Roger H.
    • Date of stay 09/16/13
    • Review Submitted 09/21/13
    We loved this house! We (two adults, a senior, a Chihuahua) made a spur of the moment trip to visit family in the area and found an opening at the Swedish House last minute and booked two days and then we felt so at home we stayed a third. The decor is great full of history and walks down to the dock with morning coffee are spectacular.

    Owner response: Thanks so much, Roger! I love being out on the dock, watching the geese, great blue herons, and cormorants. Right now, during the Fall Chinook run, there are so many small boats going by. It's fun to hear the fishermen whoop when they get a fish on!! I hope you'll come back soon and experience sitting by the toasty wood stove while a winter storm blows past :)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Swedish House- we changed and stayed in Danish ship builders house

    Swedish House- we changed and stayed in Danish ship builders house

    • Guest molly (oregon city)
    • Date of stay 09/13/13
    • Review Submitted 09/18/13
    After originally making the reservation I had several changes. The owner was extremely helpful and generous and made sure that we got placed in a house that would work for all of us and that we would LOVE.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks so much, Molly... the house was delighted to hear the laughter of children! I hope you'll come back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • A step back in time!

    A step back in time!

    • Guest Judy J.
    • Date of stay 07/03/13
    • Review Submitted 07/12/13
    Our family was enchanted with our stay at The Swedish House. It was homey and cozy, and clean. The amazing thing was we had three bathrooms! Definitely would stay again if we were in the area. It was so quiet yet not that far from the amenities of town, or com the beach. Truly a peaceful, relaxing home away fom home. The owner was so nice to deal with.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Kid-Friendly, Turn-of-the-Century Vacation House

    Kid-Friendly, Turn-of-the-Century Vacation House

    • Guest Jeremy H.
    • Date of stay 05/10/13
    • Review Submitted 05/19/13
    We took a family weekend at the Bandon recently. We have two kids, 4 & 7, and they had a ball running around the house, checking out all the nooks and crannies. It was nice not to have to worry about them destroying anything. The proximity to Bullard's Beach and Lighthouse was great - less than 10 minutes to toes in the sand. My main complaint would be the length of time it took to heat up the main living area. With a wood stove in the living room and two large space heaters nearby, it never got cozy enough to ditch the sweatshirt and long pajamas. Ah, the Oregon coast in May!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Lovely oasis from day-to-day cares

    Lovely oasis from day-to-day cares

    • Guest Rachael (United States)
    • Date of stay 03/26/13
    • Review Submitted 04/03/13
    So much of staying in a home depends on the 'little things' that owners do, or don't do, to make your stay comfortable. Well, Chris gets it. This house was so welcoming, so charming, so easy to enjoy and relax in, our whole family fell in love with it. The location is great: We loved being right between Bandon's cute old town and stunning beach to the south, and gorgeous Bullards State Park to the north. Our family of four (and two happy doggies) slept great in comfy beds, were entertained by the simple enjoyment of nature and the chance to just hang out in a pretty, sweet space. Thanks, Chris. :) We will definitely be back!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Charming

    Charming

    • Guest jkhoekst (Toledo, OR)
    • Date of stay 12/28/12
    • Review Submitted 01/05/13
    This is a very charming rustic home. Sadly, renting in winter the sun porch was not useable and the dog yard was quite soggy, so glad we didn't bring the dogs. The house was very charming and nicley decorated. There is plenty of parking and the appliances are up-to-date and very appreciated. The two upstairs rooms have private baths and that was a very nice feature. It is close enough to Bandon and beaches to go for the day, but far enough away to enjoy the quiet of the country. We used this home for my mother's 70th birthday party and it was perfect for that.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • This place is so cozy!!

    This place is so cozy!!

    • Guest Holly (Oregon City, OR. )
    • Date of stay 09/11/12
    • Review Submitted 09/21/12
    Thank you so much for letting my new husband and I (and our dogs) stay at the Swedish Bunkhouse! It is a very nice sized house, but with the wood stove and how it is decorated it feels so warm and cozy. We spent most of our time there just lounging around in front of the fire on the super comfy couch in the living room. The extra touch of putting chocolates on the beds was so sweet! We really, really enjoyed our stay!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Place for Family Time

    Great Place for Family Time

    • Guest mrswalelr (Vancouver, WA)
    • Date of stay 04/03/12
    • Review Submitted 05/10/12
    This home is the perfect place to just get away and let your kids be kids. We stayed for 5 days here with my in-laws. We are in Washington and they are in California so we met halfway. It was fantastic. We were able to bring our dogs and they loved being able to just roam. They did not have to spend all day in a fenced in yard as the house is far enough back from the road and it is secluded enough they were able to just wander around. My girls loved it because they were able to just run around and play. My only concern were the stairs cuz they are crazy steep but I just stuck close to my 3 year old when she was on them. We really hope to go back as it seems like the perfect meeting up spot. GREAT value for the money. The owner is the nicest and always answered her phone or returned our calls immediately, we needed more wood and had an issue with the water, and she took care of it all that day. The town is so quant and cute. I highly recommend the little seafood restaurants right by the docks. So nice and family oriented. The West Coast Game Park is a must for all. I hope we are able to go back every year.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Unique and Fun!!

    Unique and Fun!!

    • Guest Mommabear (Northern California)
    • Date of stay 02/29/12
    • Review Submitted 03/05/12
    We rented this house for our in-laws while we stayed in the cottage next door and thought it was adorable! All the beds were made with cozy white linens, warm electric blankets, and beautiful quilts, that were soooo inviting. The decor was fabulous, quirky, and purposeful. Our in-laws said it was the most relaxing vacation they have ever had. One note; the stairs are NOT toddler friendly, so if you are bringing a new walker, consider a baby gate as well, or stay in the cottage next door which was VERY kid-friendly. I would highly recommend this house to those who are a little unconventional. Thanks Chris!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family retreat

    Family retreat

    • Guest Dawn (West Richland, Wa)
    • Date of stay 09/08/11
    • Review Submitted 11/27/11
    We rented this house in September 2011. Not steps from the beach, but we didn't miss that. The house is so charming. And the location was secluded like our own retreat. We would definitely rent again! The Finger Family

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The best vacation rental on the coast!!!

    The best vacation rental on the coast!!!

    • Guest Andrea (Grants Pass, OR)
    • Date of stay 06/11/11
    • Review Submitted 11/04/11
    Everything was better than described, such a great vacation home. It was quiet and secluded, but close to everthing! There were so many extra special touches, it was clear the owner pays such close attention to the details of making her guest feel at home. The king size bed upstairs was sooo comfortable, and the woodstove off of the kitchen was great for cool coastly nights. There was ample extra blankets and towels, and the kitchen was stocked well to prepare your meals. The decor was amazing, and warm and inviting, I felt right at home from the minute i walked in. I never felt nervous that I was going to ruin something because the owner makes it clear that sometimes dogs or kids may tinkle but it is ok, everything can be cleaned!(we only had the dog with us during this trip, but it made me feel good to return with the kids) I love that about this place! We recetly stayed at another vacation home on the coast only because the Saltbox was booked, and it was awful, I felt like my kids couldnt touch anything and I was worried they would break something constantly (there was a pricelist of the cost of every item in the house on the counter, eeek!!!) The whole weekend at the other place, I kept saying I wish we were at the Sweedish Saltbox instead...I cannot wait to make a return trip! This house has something for everyone, and is reasonable priced, I highly recommend, while not too highly only because I want it to be available sometimes for me too..LOL

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Our stay May 14-17, 2011

    Our stay May 14-17, 2011

    • Guest Sue S. (Monroe, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 05/14/11
    • Review Submitted 05/21/11
    We had a wonderful stay in the cozy Saltbox! The beds were super comfortable, kitchen well stocked, plenty of firewood on hand for cozy fires every day, and our dog, Jake, loved the freedom of the fenced yard. The location was perfect for exploring the southern OR coast. We will most definitly stay again when we are re-visiting the area. Thanks Chris!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Relaxing!

    Relaxing!

    • Guest burneygal (Burney, CA USA)
    • Date of stay 04/05/10
    • Review Submitted 06/02/10
    Everything described about this house was spot on! We soooo enjoyed our stay here. We stayed in the Spring and it was cool enough to have a fire in the woodstove....cozy! Our entire stay was one of the most enjoyable vacations we have had in a long time. If you are expecting perfection, this would not be it, as this is a 100 year old home. As described it is quirky as well as charming, homey and comfortable. My hubby and I can totally recommend this house for a relaxing vacation.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • very nice owners, beautiful little house, and Bandon - what else do I need to say?

    very nice owners, beautiful little house, and Bandon - what else do I need to say?

    • Guest The Germans (Corvallis, OR)
    • Date of stay 08/24/09
    • Review Submitted 06/17/10
    We stayed in the 'saltbox' afor a few days in late August 2009 with 5 kids, age 1/2 to 15 years and we had a wonderful stay!!! The owners are very nice and helpful and provided lots of good tips where to find fun activities for adults and kids in and around Bandon. The house is really comfortable and has a beautiful style, and you'll find the Swedish theme everywhere. One of the beds is "built-in", and all the kids wanted to use that one! There are lots of toys and games in the house, and the owners are extremely child-friendly. Whenever we go back to Bandon, we'll stay there again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

    • Guest Sheila Phillips (Springfield, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 08/16/09
    • Review Submitted 08/16/09
    We just spent 4 days here and it was so nice. The beds are so comfortable, the chocolates where good, the house was charming. Chris was very sweet she even let us use the washer and dryer. I would definitly recommend this wonderful house to everyone. We will definitly return. Next year we will try the other house also. Thanks again Christine we had a wonderful time. The Bullard park beach is so beautiful.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/05/09
    • Review Submitted 07/05/09
    This was a wonderful, fun home to stay in! Very quiet and secluded and dog escape-free yard! All of our needs were met in this home and our kids had fun exploring and deciding which bedroom would be theirs! We loved the chocolate that was left on every pillow and all of the Swedish treats found in the kitchen!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]