Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Large, Luxurious Hawaiian Home with Private Pool

You sent a message to this owner.

KEALAKEKUA BAY - VIEW FROM THE HOUSE

KEALAKEKUA  BAY  -   VIEW FROM THE HOUSE YOUR VACATION HOME ENTRANCE LARGE KITCHEN & BREAKFAST AREA MASTER BEDROOM with PRIVATE LANAI MASTER BEDROOM  LANAI MASTER BEDROOM BATH UPSTAIRS MASTER GUEST ROOM with PRIVATE BATH SOUTH SIDE YARD DEN with POOL TABLE, BAR  & TV with SURROUND SOUND OCEAN VIEW FROM POOL POOL  AND JACUZZI ENTRANCE  AND  LIVING ROOM GUEST ROOM -  QUEEN BED GUEST JACK & JILL BATHROOM NORTH  SIDE  YARD THE  GREAT ROOM

Calendar

Last updated: 04/22/2014
Check availability
23 Available
21 Unavailable
22 Today
23 Selected dates
  • Minimum stay:4 nights
  • Internet:Yes
  • Pets considered:No
  • Wheel chair accessible:No

Captain Cook house description

Aloha and welcome to my slice of paradise. This house is on a gated, landscaped 5 acre oasis.
There are incredible views from every avenue! A short 3 minute walk puts you at the water's edge of Kealakekua Bay where swimming, snorkeling, scuba & kayaking are the best in the world. Spinner dolphins live here year around in this beautiful bay and Humpback whales migrate here annually. This is also the famous site of Captain Cook's Monument and King Kamehameha's final reign.

This house was designed for large family gatherings or it's perfect for a corporate retreat. There is a complete gourmet kitchen built around a large centre island in the Great Room. With views to the ocean, conversations will flow during your delightful meal preparations. Then dine inside or out on the expansive 700 ft. lanai overlooking the pool. Also at pool side is a large gas bar-b-que.

Outside, there is a 1,200 s/f tiled pool deck with shower and bathroom, a sand volleyball court, a 1/2 mile walking path and 15,000 s/f of rich green lawns. All yours to enjoy in a completely private compound.
Inside, there is a large den which opens up to the outside lanai. It's equipped with a bar, full size pool table and 48' LCD TV with surround sound. There are 4 large bedrooms, 2 with king beds and 2 with queen beds. There is also an office with a convertible queen futon couch which is like a 5th bedroom. There are 4 full baths and a complete laundry room. The house is fully furnished with all you'll need, including giant beach/pool towels, beach coolers and beach chairs. This unique home is your's to use for the most comfortable and relaxing vacation spot on the Big Island.

* This property is for the exclusive use of registered guests only.
No Outside Visitors or Vendors allowed.

**SPECIAL RATE - $400per/night rate for parties of only 2 to 5
persons**

***FOR LARGE GROUPS - up to 12 , can be accommodated
by renting both the main house and guest house together.
Guest House is VRBO LISTING #207105***

****ADDITIONAL GUESTS - There is a $50per/day charge for each
guest in excess of the maximum or a previous placed
reservation . All changes must be approved by owner****.

(Check-in 4:00pm Check-out 11:00am)


Keywords: House

Property Type

  • Elevator : 125 ft above sea level
  • 4000 sq. ft.
  • House

Accommodation Type

      • Vacation Rental

      Meals

          • Guests Provide Their Own Meals

          Suitability

          • Non Smoking Only:

            **There is an additional $200 cleaning fee for violation of this policy....moreless

          • Children Welcome
          • Pets Not Allowed

          Bedrooms: 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8, Beds for 8

          Bathrooms: 4 Bathrooms

          Kitchen & Dining

          • Refrigerator:

            filtered WATER & ICE in the door...moreless

          • Dining Area Seats:

            8...moreless

          • Cooking Utensils
          • Dishwasher
          • Catering Available
          • Kitchen
          • Ice Maker
          • Coffee Maker
          • Dishes & Utensils
          • Toaster
          • Microwave
          • Oven

          Amenities

          • Linens Provided:

            All sheets and bedding are provided and all are of the highest quality.* * There are also large pool/beach towels provided separately from the house bath towels...moreless

          • Towels Provided:

            Macys Hotel Line bath, hand & face towels provided in all bathrooms...moreless

          • Air Conditioning:

            Central air available on request. A daily charge of $60 applies...moreless

          • Washing Machine:

            Large capacity washer. Washing detergent is not pro.vided...moreless

          • Clothes Dryer:

            (3) Gas clothes dryer and gas hot water heater...moreless

          • Iron & Board
          • Living Room
          • Hair Dryer
          • Parking
          • Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer
          • Garage
          • Parking Off Street

          Entertainment

          • Television:

            48' flat screen with surround sound system * Also DVD player and stereo for music...moreless

          • Satellite / Cable:

            There are 28 movie channels...moreless

          • Pool Table
          • Stereo
          • DVD Player

          Communications

          • Wireless Internet:

            There a cable modem for direct laptop connections or WIFI (5 bars) throughout the house and lanai...moreless

          • Telephone:

            Land line provided...moreless

          • Internet
          • Free Long Distance
          • Broadband Access

          Pool & Spa

          • Hot Tub:

            For the exclusive use of the registried guests residing on this property. * Guests on special discounted rates are subject to a per/use charge....moreless

          • Private Pool:

            50ft lap-pool . For the exclusive use of registried guests residing on this property....moreless

          • Jetted Tub:

            This is a Jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom...moreless

          Outdoor Features

          • Deck / Patio:

            Over 3000s/f of tiled outdoor lanai areas...moreless

          • Outdoor Grill
          • Lawn / Garden
          • Lanai / Gazebo
          • Balcony

          Theme

          • Family
          • Historic
          • Sports & Activities
          • Adventure
          • Away From It All
          • Budget

          Location & View

          • Mountain View
          • Beach View
          • Water View
          • Ocean View
          • Monument View

          Activities

          • Scuba Diving Or Snorkeling
          • Pier Fishing
          • Paragliding
          • Kayaking
          • Fishing
          • Snorkeling
          • Mountain Climbing
          • Medical Services
          • Massage Therapist
          • Laundromat
          • Mountain Biking
          • Jet Skiing
          • Rock Climbing
          • Swimming
          • Parasailing
          • Golf
          • Water Skiing
          • Tennis
          • Wind-Surfing
          • Sailing
          • Surfing
          • Hunting
          • Hiking
          • Snorkeling/Diving
          • Cycling
          • Snowboarding
          • Basketball Court
          • Shelling
          • Live Theater
          • Cinemas
          • Antiquing
          • Horseback Riding
          • Wildlife Viewing
          • Health/Beauty Spa
          • Churches
          • Botanical Garden
          • Restaurants
          • Playground
          • Marina
          • Library
          • Shopping
          • Fitness Center
          • Boating
          • Whale Watching
          • Hospital
          • Groceries
          • ATM/Bank
          • Walking
          • Beachcombing
          • Sight Seeing
          • Sledding
          • Scenic Drives
          • Paddle Boating
          • Bird Watching

          Other Activities

              • There is a USVA regulation size beach (sand) volleyball court on property. ...moreless
               

              Reviews

              Write a review
              • Wonderful Vacation Home

                Wonderful Vacation Home

                • Guest gizelle (Los Angeles, Ca)
                • Date of stay 09/21/13
                • Review Submitted 03/09/14
                The home was beautiful and comfortable. The view is the ultimate vacation shot-- perfect mountains, curve of beach and endless ocean. I loved sitting by the infinity pool, watching the multitude varieties of birds come by to bath in the pool throughout the day. And of course the perfect weather. My ideal vacation.! Yes , Dan did come by to make sure his guests were okay and you can see that he takes care of his property. What a Great Home.! We all enjoyed our visit and plan on coming back next year.

                Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, families with teenagers, sightseeing, adventure seekers, age 55+.

                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

              • Read all reviews before renting…. I might still be worth the hassle

                Read all reviews before renting…. I might still be worth the hassle

                • Guest Jacquie B.
                • Date of stay 01/31/14
                • Review Submitted 03/03/14
                I wish I had read all the reviews before renting this house as they are all quite accurate. (Both the good and the bad) The house and property are more beautiful than the pictures show. We had a really wonderful time. We spent the mornings watching the whales from the lanai; and we swam with dolphins at the beach. The house is extremely clean and well equipped. The pool isn't private, as it states in the listing. It is shared with the guest suite. This wasn't an issue for us, as the people renting the guest suite didn't bother us; but know that they do have access to the pool at the main house. As other reviewers have stated; our only issue was with Dan the homeowner. He did drop by more often than we were expecting, making us feel 'checked up on' like others stated. He takes extreme care of the property which is why it is so nice. He did not refund all of our damage deposit stating we reprogrammed the electronics, reprogrammed the refrigerators, didn't take out the garbages, left bits of food in the kitchen…. etc, etc. When we left the house, we felt confident we would be getting our damage deposit back. We didn't even turn on some of the electronics he is charging us to reprogram. If you do rent the property, I would suggest taking the time to do a check out walk through with Dan so that you can discuss the things he is going to charge you for, since there is nothing you can do once you are gone. (I am guessing he won't allow this though as he has a team come in and do the checking after you have left) Like he did with every other negative review, I am sure Dan is going to respond saying that we caused all sorts of damage, when in reality we didn't. I am not even that upset about the money; It's more the sour taste he's left us with. I received a nasty and quite unprofessional email after politely asking for further clairification as to why we were not receiving all of our damage deposit back.

                Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, families with young children, families with teenagers, sightseeing, adventure seekers, tourists without a car, age 55+.

                Owner response: I have 35 to 40 guest groups staying at my Main House every year for 6 years now. Check the reviews people love it here! Even these guests. But it never fails that the one guest who through their total disregard to general use requirements complain about the deducts to their damage deposit. I don't make that assessment, my cleaning crew manager does. Pictures are taken of any damages and copies of receipts or repair bills are sent to that guest with the balance of their damage deposit. Because of complaints from both my gardener and the pool guy I did come by the house more then normal. From barbeque grill marks burned into the lawn to huge amounts of sand in the pool, I felt it necessary to pay closer attention to these particular guests. Upon check-out my manager Steve, found the dirty to a degree that was incredible. Dirty diapers left in the 4 bathrooms that would gage the average person. Kitchen was destroyed ! None of that is damage and they did not get charge for that. Their abuse to electronics took a Dish network tech and a local dealer tech a total of 6 hrs. to debug these systems !! The refrigeration appliances were all tweak to the point of potential damage if left that way. This group of quests had 5 toddlers all under the age of five and my house paid the penalty !!

                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

              • Needed a Warm Place in Hawaii

                Needed a Warm Place in Hawaii

                • Guest Rezel (Needles, B.C. Canada)
                • Date of stay 12/30/13
                • Review Submitted 01/20/14
                My friends and I were skiing away the Christmas Holidays and wanted a warm place to celebrate the New Year. I contacted Dan in Hawaii with a last minute request for a reservation and got 5 days & nights of warm bliss. WOW, what a great place ! Everyday in the 80's with beautiful views to boot. What a great way to start our 2014 New Year.

                Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, families with young children, families with teenagers, sightseeing, adventure seekers, age 55+.

                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

              • Eight Glorious Days

                Eight Glorious Days

                • Guest June (Golden, Colo. USA)
                • Date of stay 12/13/13
                • Review Submitted 01/20/14
                Rented both houses for a pre-Christmas family vacation. Perfect ! This place is unsurpassed in comfort, views and quiet beauty. We spotted dolphins almost daily and we were lucky enough to watch 3 humpback whales splash around one of those mornings ! Definitely a 5 star location.

                Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, families with young children, families with teenagers, sightseeing, adventure seekers, age 55+.

                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

              • A Fabulous Birthday Trip!

                A Fabulous Birthday Trip!

                • Guest Pilates gal (Santa Paula, CA)
                • Date of stay 06/19/13
                • Review Submitted 06/30/13
                Never having been to Hawaii, I decided I wanted to take my children and spouses to the Big Island to celebrate my impending 65th birthday. We couldn't have been happier with our choice of a place to stay. The house itself is a masterpiece of understated island elegance. The view was magnificent, and we enjoyed being away from the hustle and bustle of Kona (The 45-min. drive there did not seem at all a burden.). The sand volleyball court was a nice surprise that my sons may use of. We also really enjoyed having the pool table. Swimming in the infinity pool one day I realized that I was experiencing the kind of vacation I see advertised in the high-end travel magazines! The picture of Kealakakua Bay is exactly what you get.

                Recommended for: Romantic getaway, families with teenagers, sightseeing, age 55+.

                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

              • Fabulous House

                Fabulous House

                • Guest Pete (Denver, Colorado)
                • Date of stay 01/03/13
                • Review Submitted 01/10/13
                What a great place !! No snow, lol. No one in this family wanted to go home to Colorado and finish the winter there when we had such wonderful weather here. The Pacific Ocean right at our door step every day and such warm winter nights. Never got below 70 degrees at night here. Missing our Big Island vacation home and all it's comforts.

                Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, families with young children, families with teenagers, sightseeing, adventure seekers, age 55+.

                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

              • Was on my bucket list !

                Was on my bucket list !

                • Guest Lucy (Culver City, California)
                • Date of stay 12/11/12
                • Review Submitted 01/08/13
                My husband and I had never been to Hawaii but finally made it this last December. And what a place I picked. I guess I'm just plain lucky because this home and location were great and so beautifull !! Room for the entire family (eight of us) and comfort to spare. I could never say enough good things about this house and how happy our stay was here. Fantastic place and killer views.

                Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, families with young children, families with teenagers, sightseeing, adventure seekers, age 55+.

                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

              • Fantastic Family Funhouse

                Fantastic Family Funhouse

                • Guest Matt (Santa Cruz)
                • Date of stay 07/23/12
                • Review Submitted 11/11/12
                We rented this house for my parents 35th anniversary. To say they were blown away is an understatement. The house is exceptional and only rivaled by the surrounding property. The infinity pool, large lawns, game room and amazing view all make this this an incredible property. This is a perfect multi-couple or multi-family house. Swim, play pool, volleyball, or just lounge around. And it's a 5 minute walk to the water where YOU CAN SWIM WITH DOLPHINS. 10 out of 10.

                Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, families with teenagers, sightseeing, age 55+.

                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

              • Beyond Our Expections

                Beyond Our Expections

                • Guest Erma (New York, New York)
                • Date of stay 05/16/12
                • Review Submitted 07/28/12
                Such a warm, comfortable place in the sun ! Views to die for ! We only dream about having a home like this.

                Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, families with young children, families with teenagers, sightseeing, adventure seekers, age 55+.

                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

              • Our Best Vacation Ever !!

                Our Best Vacation Ever !!

                • Guest Michele (Fort Collins, Co.)
                • Date of stay 01/06/12
                • Review Submitted 06/15/12
                My whole family waking up every morning to the sound of the ocean surf, and seeing next the grogous ocean views, was the way our day started ! Dolphins & whales were sighted daily from the lanai while eating breakfast. What an incredible experience !!! Our family covered three generations and was a wonderful to share this great house, so warm , comfortable and spacious. Thank you Dan for sharing your home with us.

                Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, families with young children, families with teenagers, sightseeing, adventure seekers, age 55+.

                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

               
              Rental basis: Per property
              Dates Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
              My Standard Rate
              4 night min stay
              $575
              $3,600

              Additional information about rental rates

              Fees and Rental Conditions:

              • Property Damage Protection $89
              • Refundable Damage Deposit $500
              • Cleaning Fee $400 + tax
              • Tax Rate 14.25%

              Notes:

              Upon making a reservation a 50% first payment is required within 10 days to

              hold and maintain the reservation. The final 50% payment is due 45 days before

              the guest's arrival date. There is a $500 refundable damage deposit due with

              the final payment. Payment can be personal check, money order, cashier's check

              or major credit card via PayPal. PayPal fee is paid by the guest.

              **$575 per/night (4 night minimum) Discounted weekly rate is $3,600.

              There is an additional cleaning fee of $400 for any stay and Hawaiian bed tax

              of 14.25% added to the per/night rates quoted above.

              There is a cancellation fee of $500. ALL REFUNDS ARE SUBJECT TO THE CANCELLATION FEE

              **120 day notice to the owner before the guest arrival date is required to receive any refund.


              Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details.
              Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more


              Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

              Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

              Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
              Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
              Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.
               

              Calendar

              Last updated: 04/22/2014
              Check availability
              23 Available
              21 Unavailable
              22 Today
              23 Selected dates
               

              Location

               

              Owner info

              Year Purchased: 2004

              About the owner: Hello, I'm Dan owner and builder You can view this property & house at the following GPS coordinates. N.Latitude - 19deg 28min 24.3sec W.Longitude - 155deg 54min 50.7sec

              The Unique Benefits at this House:
              Kealakekua bay is a pristine marine reserve and has great historic value.


              Contact us

              Speaks: english

               

              Photos

              • KEALAKEKUA  BAY  -   VIEW FROM THE HOUSE

                KEALAKEKUA BAY - VIEW FROM THE HOUSE

              • LARGE KITCHEN & BREAKFAST AREA

                LARGE KITCHEN & BREAKFAST AREA

              • MASTER BEDROOM  LANAI

                MASTER BEDROOM LANAI

              • UPSTAIRS MASTER GUEST ROOM with PRIVATE BATH

                UPSTAIRS MASTER GUEST ROOM with PRIVATE BATH

              • DEN with POOL TABLE, BAR  & TV with SURROUND SOUND

                DEN with POOL TABLE, BAR & TV with SURROUND SOUND

              • POOL  AND JACUZZI

                POOL AND JACUZZI

              • GUEST ROOM -  QUEEN BED

                GUEST ROOM - QUEEN BED

              • NORTH  SIDE  YARD

                NORTH SIDE YARD

              • YOUR VACATION HOME ENTRANCE

                YOUR VACATION HOME ENTRANCE

              • MASTER BEDROOM with PRIVATE LANAI

                MASTER BEDROOM with PRIVATE LANAI

              • MASTER BEDROOM BATH

                MASTER BEDROOM BATH

              • SOUTH SIDE YARD

                SOUTH SIDE YARD

              • OCEAN VIEW FROM POOL

                OCEAN VIEW FROM POOL

              • ENTRANCE  AND  LIVING ROOM

                ENTRANCE AND LIVING ROOM

              • GUEST JACK & JILL BATHROOM

                GUEST JACK & JILL BATHROOM

              • THE  GREAT ROOM

                THE GREAT ROOM

              VRBO #251046

              There have been  visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .

              This listing was first published here in 2009.

              Date last modified - Tuesday, April 08, 2014

              $575 per night (USD)
              34

              4 Bedroom / 4 Bathroom
              Sleeps 8

              View calendar: Updated 04/22/14
              Minimum stay: 4 nights
              Dates are unavailable
              Please stay a bit longer. A stay of nights or more is required for these dates.
              This listing requires that rentals start on a .
              Get an instant quote
              Owner
              Email owner

              (808) 315-7672 (Hawaii, USA)

              Speaks: english
              Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
              Add vacation protection services to your booking

              Three services to protect your trip:

              Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

              Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

              Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


              Get it now