Beautiful Riverfront Home on 30 Acres
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:Contact owner
- Pets considered:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Christina Lake chalet description
This unique and amazing home is situated on 30 acres of riverfront property.
It is in the area of British Columbia known as the Kootenay and is just over the border from Washington State. Christina lake is a 15 minute drive from the home. This lake is one of the warmest and most beautiful lakes in BC. It is 9-10 kilometers from the town of Grand Forks where you will find artsy coffee shops, great restaurants, riverside parks, a large aquatic center, indoor and outdoor skating rinks, and a local ski hill within a 20 minute drive. There are also larger ski hills an hour or so away.
The home is luxuriously furnished and has an indoor sauna as well as a large recreation room, and a fireplace room.. The river has several nice sandy beaches with good swimming. There are three maintained trails that lead down to the river and along the river. . Fishing is catch and release. Kayaking and rafting are possible directly from the home.
This home is very privately located and makes a wonderful retreat for reunions, weddings or personal getaways.
Keywords: Private River Front Retreat Home
- 3200 sq. ft.
- 4 story
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
- Private Chef
- Housekeeper Optional
- Children Welcome:
- Minimum Age Limit For Renters:
- Events Allowed
- Pets Considered
- Non Smoking Only
Bedrooms: 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12, Beds for 9-12
- King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1) there is a double bed in the sun room and a double fold out couch in the foreplace room as well as a double futon in the rec room, Twin or Single Beds (1) there are 2 twin fold out cots, Child Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1) HAS BABAY CRIB/PLAYPEN, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) there is a doubel futon in the rec room., Bunk Beds (1) there is a bunk bed with a twin on top and a double on bottom...moreless
Bathrooms: 2 Bathrooms
Kitchen & Dining
- Dining Area Seats:
- Catering Available
- Cooking Utensils
- Child's Highchair
- Coffee Maker
- Pantry Items
- Dishes & Utensils
- Air Conditioning:
- Linens Provided:
- Clothes Dryer
- Wood Fireplace
- Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer
- Washing Machine
- Iron & Board
- Towels Provided
- Hair Dryer
- Living Room
- Video Library:
- Air Hockey
- CD Player
- Satellite / Cable
- DVD Player
- Pool Table
- Game Room
- Computer Available:
- Free Long Distance:
- Broadband Access
- Wireless Internet
Pool & Spa
- Kayak / Canoe:
- Ski & Snowboard:
- Deck / Patio
- Wood Deck
- Sports & Activities
- Tourist Attractions
- Away From It All
Location & View
- Mountain View
- Rock Climbing
- Hunting Big Game
- Fitness Center
- Medical Services
- Mountain Climbing
- Hunting Small Game
- Freshwater Fishing
- Jet Skiing
- Mountain Biking
- Water Skiing
- Cross Country Skiing
- Massage Therapist
- Miniature Golf
- Sight Seeing
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Botanical Garden
- Horseback Riding
- Scenic Drives
- Wildlife Viewing
- Paddle Boating
- Eco Tourism
- Bird Watching
ReviewsWrite a review
Wonderful Family Vacation!
Wonderful Family Vacation!
Great house! The owner seems to have thought of everything! Our vacation could not have gone better. We were an extended family group - 2 Grandparents, 2 Parents, 1 Aunt, 2 Teens, 2 Kids (3 & 5 years) and 2 dogs. We honestly used the house from top to bottom. The inside of the house is bright, clean & beautiful! The kitchen was well stocked with dishes, appliances and utensils, the beds and furniture were very comfortable, there was a generous supply of bath and hot-tub towels. (The basement did not smell and the dish-washer, washer and dryer worked well.) We found everything to be in working order - we used both the kitchen and grill to feed our gang for an entire week. Plenty of seating for all of us inside and even enough lawn chairs available for all of us to sit outside together! We found the owner to be extremely accommodating and responsive. We asked for life jackets and boats for the river and the next day they were ready for our use. (Even two small jackets for our little ones!) The beach area is rocky, but that is typical for BC, so it was not un-expected. (Lake/Water shoes are recommended.) There is enough sand to build sand castles and floating down the river is memorable. The people in town are also very welcoming and helpful. In addition to playing in the river and hiking on the property, we took our grandkids bowling, swimming at the Rec Center and to the park. The petting zoo at Christina Lake was closed-maybe next time! Our stay was wonderful - thumbs up and highly recommended!
- Guest Sue (Wheaton, IL USA)
- Date of stay 07/19/13
- Review Submitted 07/31/13
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, families with teenagers, pet owners, families with young children, girls getaway, adventure seekers.
Beautiful property but......
Beautiful property but......
This is a lovely home and a great property. We enjoyed our stay for the most part and loved the sunroom. Calling the waterfront a sandy beach is a stretch. It was difficult to get to the water and rocky in the water. I would have to agree with the renters that stated that the property is comfortable for about 8 adults and maybe a couple of kids. The basement rec room smell musty and we found a mouse that had been dead for a while down there. The washer overflowed every time we used it, so in addition to creating piles of wet dirty clothes, it is basically unusuable, a major problem since we had 2 babies and a 3 year old with us. I can't imagine anyone sleeping in the basement, although a couple of games of pool were enjoyed down there. Our major problem with our stay had to do with the owner's response to the fact that the power was out for the first two days of our stay. We had no power, water (even toilets didn't flush) and had to cook everything on the BBQ. The owner, who was away at the time encouraged us to think of it as an adventure. We were fine, but spent the first 2 days of our week just doing what needed to be done for the 14 of us to stay there. An adventure, yes, but an expensive camping trip. Although we were happy to see them and they were most polite, the Fortis crews that were in our yard for a day and a half with heavy equipment did not cointribute to a peaceful time. Although the owner was of course not responsable for the storm that caused the power outage, we don't feel she handled the situation in a business-like manner. She accused us of leaving the propane turned on on the BBQ because we used a tankfull doing all our cooking on it. She accused us of wrecking the septic by parking on it etc.etc. When asked to discount our stay for the first two days, she refused but finally offered a free ight next year. She paid for the generator we rented for a day and said she would mail us $50 for some other incedental expenses caused by the power outage. We have yet to receive that money.
- Guest Kimberley (near Calgary)
- Date of stay 07/22/12
- Review Submitted 10/15/12
Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.
Owner response: This unexpectedly large group of diverse families had the misfortune of arriving the day after the area had been hit by a rare and violent wind storm. The power was out in the entire area for about 3 days. They arrived Sunday evening and the power was restored Tuesday morning. I was away ( at my mom's 90'th birthday in Man.) but I had placed two very wonderful people in charge during my absence. They cavaliered the situation immediately and did everything they could think of to make the situation tolerable. They brought in bottled water for drinking, gathered water from the river for flushing toilets, brought over lots of extra candles and special lights to run off the generator, headlamps, extra flashlights, filled all the propane tanks up, opened up the RV so that everyone would have the use of the bathroom and fridge( that are run on propane). Fortis ( electric company) brought in extra crews from all over and got everyone back in order quickly (considering the whole area was out). I arrived back the day after everything was resorted and all seemed to be in order. I did ask the guests not to park all their heavy vehicles on top of the septic system and I did ask them not to put things down the toilets and sinks that could plug the septic system but they didn't seem to understand septic systems as opposed to city sewer and they thought I was out of line asking for that consideration. The system did overload and I had a lot of cleanup to do because of that. The plumber came and fixed the system but he did say it had been plugged up with a lot of " stuff" that shouldn't have been put in the system. The freshly filled propane tanks were depleted in just a couple of days which has never happened before so I did ask them if it could have been left on since I needed to trouble shoot and determine the problem in case there wasa leak. The washer and dryer are not in the same room downstairs as the futon couch and the pool table etc. so I am not sure why they are trying to give that impression as it is not an accurate representation. No " dead mouse" was ever mentioned to me or my staff so I am not sure if that really happened or not. They presented us with a $50 billing for " extra supplies", but said they had thrown away all the receipts so couldn't verify all their supposed expenditures. They did want to book the home for next year however we explained that their group was too large for our home to accommodate. They were piqued about that..
We had the privilege of staying at the Eagle Sun in September. This beautiful home was clean and well-maintained, with plenty of space for our large family (9 children, ages 7 months to 14 years) and my parents (seniors) to stay in comfort. There was a wide variety of activities to pursue - the games room was perfect for indoor time. The river was perfect for all of our family members at this time of year - slow moving enough for the younger ones to be safe, but enjoyable enough for our older children who liked going out on inflatable rafts. The large private yard was ideal for sitting and relaxing. The location is private and secluded, yet close to town with all amenities. The owner is a gracious hostess who put out all efforts to make our stay ideal. Highly recommended!
- Guest Gail (Hardisty, Alberta)
- Date of stay 09/08/12
- Review Submitted 09/18/12
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.
Property was secluded and private. Lots of seating in the home. River was ice cold and was harder to get to then the pictures show. Christina lake was a 15 minute drive away and was nice and warm though. I would say it sleeps 4 couples comfortable, unless you don't mind sleeping on the futon in the basement where a mouse left some "presents", than you could sleep 5 couples comfortably. Cleaniness was our biggest complaint. Most of the beds had hair in them. Washer was kinda small and didn't wash well, so that's probably why. We were expected to leave the house mostly clean, vacuum, wash some of the towels, and start a load of bed sheets at the end of the week in spite of paying a cleaning fee. Be sure to get clarification on what the property manager all provides...After using up 10 rolls of toilet paper, we were told we had to purchase our own. We also had to purchase paper towels, because we ran out. It was kind of annoying that all the phone calls to the property owner were routed through the house phone, so we heard it ring regularly...not very peaceful or vacation like in that regard. Not worth the amount of money we paid. It was nice to be together with family so we had a good week, but wouldn't return to this property and next time will be finding a home right on the lake.
- Guest Adrianna (Calgary, AB)
- Date of stay 09/01/12
- Review Submitted 09/13/12
Owner response: This was a diverse group, larger than anticipated, consisting of several families with children and a surprise "last minute dog". They turned the home upside down and inside out and seemed to be thoroughly enjoying themselves the entire stay. They swam, kayaked, rafted and fished every day in the river. I took pictures of them lazing in rafts on a hot day and have posted them in the website. I was available 24/7 to help with any issues but they had no complaints the entire stay other than being somewhat perturbed about having to tidy up the home and put things back in place upon departure.. We do ask that guests leave the home in the same condition it was when they arrived. There is a cleaning fee to those who are unable to do so. We do ask guests to suppy their own toiletries including T.P.and paper towels. However as a " curtesy gift" we do put out enough of these supplies to cover the guests initial arrival since it is easy to forget such things with all the vacation planning details. We are generous with our " gift' supplies though and they often cover the guests' entire stay. We do a walk through with guests on their day of arrival to assure they are happy with the condition of the home and we are more than happy to correct any issues they find. We encourage guests to report any issues to us. . Our cleaning staff are meticulious and exceptional. There are 4 bedrooms upstairs with: King bed, queen bed, double bed and double/twin bunk beds as well as a fold out couch bed in the fireplace room on the main level and a queen futon bed in the finished downstairs recreational room. The recreational room does also have pool table , etc. There are also 2 fold out cots available as well as 2 crib/playpens and a small child's bed. We do ask that guests do not exceed the numbers we are expecting since so that we can make the sleeping arrangements as comfy as possible. The phone offers free long distance and has mute/ringer off options if guests wish privacy. Calls do come in occasionally for prior or future guests or for management. Guests also have the option to unplug the phone whenever they wish to avoid any inconveniences.
We had the pleasure of staying at the Eagle Sun Lodge during the last week of August, and it was absolutely fabulous. The adults got to sit around and relax looking out over the wonderful view while the kids enjoyed their time in the water. The house was exquisitely decorated and had a very nice charm to it. One of the rooms at the top was like being in a tree house, you were right there amongst the trees when you looked out through the windows. The whole experience was one of tranquility and serenity. It was very easy to meditate and distance oneself from the hustle and bustle of daily life.
- Guest Jita Sangera (Richmond,BC)
- Date of stay 09/04/09
- Review Submitted 09/04/09
Sept 15-Jun 01 . $165/ nite for 5 and $10/nite each extra perosn June 1st-30th..$195/nite for 5 persons and $10/nite each extra person. Jul 01- Sept 15th .. $295/nite for 5..$10/nite each extra person Short term monthly rates available Oct to May..call for info or email all rates are subject to taxes and cleaning fees
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
This owner accepts: Credit cards.
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
- Nearest Airport: Kelowna at 150 Miles
- Nearest Ferry: na at 45 Miles
- Nearest Motorway: Crowsnest at 6 Miles
- Nearest Beach: Grandby river beaches at Christina Lake
- Nearest Barpub: Grsnd Forks at 6 Miles
- Nearest Ski: Phoenix Ski Hill at 20 Miles
- Nearest Golf: Christina Lake at 10 Miles
- Nearest Restaurant: Grand Forks at 6 Miles
Year Purchased: 1980
Why the Owner Chose Christina Lake:
i have owned this property for many years and been renting it out as a vacation rental for 5 years now. For the most part it has been a positive and rewarding experience seeing families come and enjoy the peaceful, healing beauty of this amazing place. Guests who love this home are looking for a vacation that offers all that nature offers in the way of swimming, kayaking , rafting, tubing,hiking , exploring, and fishing as well as privacy and tranquility away from the more crowded tourist areas. It is close to Christina Lake as well so the tourist activities of the lake and golf course are just minutes away. The Grand Forks/ Christina Lake area has become very popular due to the beauty of the area and the enticing summer and winter activities it has to offer. This property has always been a very special place and I cannot be there full time so I offering it as a vacation spot has allowed others to enjoy the serenity and beauty that is there. Although it has the space for more than one family it is also ideal for couples as a romantic getaway.
The Unique Benefits at this Chalet:
This property is beautiful year round and I have endless pictures of the wildlife and ever changing scenery. There is no place better for swimming and sun tanning by the river. It is hard to find the privacy that this place affords for just getting away and relaxing. It is also fun to raft or tube down the river.There are several beaches that appear each year. They are always a bit different but we have made several trails so the access is easy.
- Primary: +1 808-826-6444 hawaii time
- Secondary: +1 808-755-5761 hawaii time..
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
living room/grand room
Bed room # 1
reading room/tv room
bathroom #1 with tub, shower and sauna
Family river rafting Sept 9th, 2012
dining room to kitchen
Bed room #2
sun room/ bedroom #4 with river views
River view from house in summer with sandy swimming beaches and islands.
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2009.
Date last modified - Wednesday, March 26, 2014
3 Bedroom / 2 Bathroom
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.