Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Beach - steps from house

The Hideaway: 'Lil Piece of Heaven on the Chesapeake [#252098] | View Property

Scotland
House, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths (Sleeps 8-10)
$150 - $300/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (30)

Sort by:
  • Lovely stay in a peaceful cottage

    Lovely stay in a peaceful cottage

    • Guest REBECCA P. (Indianapolis, IN)
    • Date of stay 03/24/14
    • Review Submitted 03/30/14
    The weather was all wrong, or maybe it was all right. 30 degrees and snow flurries, but the home was cozy, warm, and comforting. A quiet place to get away, and if our time had allowed it could have been a terrific place to read and write for a few days. The only caution is that food options in the area are extremely limited - perhaps it was the time of year. No restaurants or groceries for 15 minutes or more drive away.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Real Hideaway

    A Real Hideaway

    • Guest barb (Powderhorn, CO )
    • Date of stay 02/02/14
    • Review Submitted 03/05/14
    We very much enjoyed the Hideaway, it was peaceful and quiet during our month long stay. It was exactly as described, beautifully decorated and everything you would need is provided. We loved roaming the area, meeting and visiting with local residents. We had a great time at Buffy's getting the real feel of Southern Maryland, had lots of good food and company at Courtney's and a visit to the Chief Bar was a lot of fun. We look forward to visiting again when more establishments are open durning warmer weather. The owner, Peggy, and the property managers, Bob and Rodd, were more than hospitable and were available to answer questions and help with anything we were in need of. Anyone wanting to get off the beaten path, which includes dirt roads and seclusion, will enjoy a visit here, we sure did.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • As advertised.... What a great find!

    As advertised.... What a great find!

    • Guest Amanda C. (Oak Ridge TN)
    • Date of stay 11/28/13
    • Review Submitted 12/04/13
    We came for a long Thanksgiving weekend and had a wonderful time! 2 adults, 2 dogs, and 6 teenage children. Everyone had enough room to sprawl out. Wi-fi and cable being mandatory for teenagers and quiet water views for mom and dad. Although it was too chilly for crabbing and kayaking we did enjoy the bikes and the fireplace. Never ran out of hot water and the towels were plush. We read the negative feedback and found not to be a problem for us.... I loved the isolated unpaved road that lead us to a private beach... The smaller shower wasn't an issue because there was a tub in the next bathroom. The furniture was perfectly comfortable. We had such a wonderful family weekend. Oh and did I mention constant hot water? 3 teenage girls and we always had hot water. We packed in all of our food but had to go out once. I recommend skipping that local market and the food lion for traveling back up to Shoppers in California where you can get quality and fresh. Thank you to our hosts who provided everything we needed along with over the top shampoos and soaps. And google maps took us straight there with no complications! Great Bay views Very few houses on a private beach.... Yes we would return again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • a real hideaway!

    a real hideaway!

    • Guest Gigi (Hannover, Germany)
    • Date of stay 10/12/13
    • Review Submitted 10/20/13
    Because of heavy rain days before and though for some days the backyard was "a pool" it was fun for the kids, they were kajacking in the garden; the adults could enjoy the creek behind the house and swim in the Bay. The country store has a great offer of wine, beer and liquor, but also the food you need. Courtney`s Seafood has good fresh fish!!!!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Fall Long Weekend

    Wonderful Fall Long Weekend

    • Guest Julie (Washington, DC)
    • Date of stay 09/28/13
    • Review Submitted 10/04/13
    We spent three nights at The Hideaway and it could not have been more perfect. Our kids and dog were delighted to be so close to the beach and the house had everything our family needed. We'll be back!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Spectacular Relaxing Retreat at a Reasonable Rate...Pet Friendly, Too!

    Spectacular Relaxing Retreat at a Reasonable Rate...Pet Friendly, Too!

    • Guest Beach Lover (Pleasant Valley, NY)
    • Date of stay 09/02/13
    • Review Submitted 09/18/13
    My husband and I with our 2 teenage daughters and 3 dogs enjoyed staying at this gorgeous and immaculate 3 story beach home directly on the bay. The owner and her property management were friendly, helpful, and extremely accommodating. The linens provided were luxurious and the new appliances were fun to use. The home is tastefully furnished and decorated. We explored the surrounding areas with the provided bicycles and LL Bean kayaks. The beach was clean and private giving us the feel of being on a deserted island. If you are looking for a calm quiet area, this is the place! All you need to bring is food, flip flops, bathing suits, and sunscreen. They provide all the rest!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • A very pleasant Stay

    A very pleasant Stay

    • Guest ejmay (Naperville, IL)
    • Date of stay 08/03/13
    • Review Submitted 08/13/13
    We arrived in Scotland and were very happy with the remote, private area. Like other posters there were potholes in the drive but were avoidable if you knew how to navigate your vehicle. It did rain a couple of times we were there and the potholes did get worse but nothing to give a bad mark for. The House was as photographed. The porch was a little musty but I don't think that is any fault of the property just location. We had brought some candles because of one of the reviews and it was great. The AC worked great, and my mother who suffers from hot flashes was just fine. We traveled with 6 adults and 2 children and there was plenty of room. The sun porch was wonderful. If you stayed out there into the evening you would be visited by crawling frogs on the outside of the windows. We were surprised by them at first but then welcomed them other nights! They were silent frogs! The beach is literally private! Great for little kids. The kayaks were in great shape and we took them out on the lake. Rob was very helpful with the internet. We had a bit of trouble getting connected. Plenty of cooking utensils, soaps and detergent. Ceiling Fans in every room made it delightful. A pak n play was provided and high chair in great shape! A couple of things I think could make the rental better would be, a better coffee pot, a vacuum in the rental. Other wise, we enjoyed are stay. The sheets were amazing, very comfortable, cool and soft. Life jackets and bikes were great to have around. Couches were comfy, loungy and relaxed. Loved the dining table we were able to have a jigsaw puzzle all week. Water pressure was great, and so the temp of water. The washer and dryer were great and although we brought our own detergent we were touched that they left some. Overall I thought that this was a great rental and would come again. I do think that the windows could be cleaned but I would think this might be hard to keep up with so close to the beach. Great Location, price and comfort.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Beautiful Cottage!

    Beautiful Cottage!

    • Guest Tricia (United States)
    • Date of stay 07/13/13
    • Review Submitted 07/31/13
    My husband, myself and 2 young children spent the week in Scotland at this adorable cottage. It was beautifully decorated with the most comfortable furniture and very clean! The owners thought of everything right down to complimentary soaps and shampoos. We had more than enough room and feel that this home could surely accommodate 2 families. A great opportunity for kayaking and biking if the weather allows. We did visit during the worst heat wave in several years which forced us to grin and bear it which is the only reason for the "good" rating and not excellent. Had the weather cooperated and conditions been a little better; this cottage could have easily been our best vacation yet. I would highly refer this home to my friends and family.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Relaxing Week

    Relaxing Week

    • Guest Maryland vacationers (United States)
    • Date of stay 06/15/13
    • Review Submitted 07/27/13
    We had a great stay - very comfortable accommodations for 4 adults plus a dog. We enjoyed the kayaks, walks on the beach, the local restaurants, the movies, sailing and a visit to St. Mary's. We loved the decor of the house. In the future we would like to try out one of the other Scotland Maryland houses as well. A lovely visit!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beach Hideaway Disaster

    Beach Hideaway Disaster

    • Guest Tillie (Homosassa, Florida)
    • Date of stay 05/05/13
    • Review Submitted 05/20/13
    If you enjoy camper style living, this would be the vacation rental for you. The biggest complaint with the home is the musty, moldy smell that originates from the enclosed porch and permeates the entire home. Because one of the jalousey windows along the front of the sun porch doesn't close all the way, you couldn't keep the mosquitoes from the sun porch or the inside of the house. The walk-in shower measures 28" x 28" which is even smaller than the shower stalls on most travel trailers. The second bathroom does not have an electrical outlet, so you can't blow dry or curl your hair. The other bathroom has a mirror, but the only electrical outlet is clear across the room--most cords won't reach that far. The furniture in the family room is extremely uncomfortable to sit on--it is very old and lumpy. The stove is out of level and the burners have "hot spots" which make cooking on it extremely difficult. The soap dispenser on the washing machine is held closed with duck tape, which frequently works loose during the wash cycle. Perhaps the worst feature of the home, is the the half mile dirt road leading to the house. Some of the pot holes were at least 10" deep and some were over 2 feet wide. Traversing the road with other than a truck or 4 wheel drive is extremely hazardous. The only good feature of the house was the view of the Chesapeake Bay and proximity to Point Lookout park and St. Mary's City.

    Owner response: Oh, my. We are so sorry that this guest was unhappy. We encourage all our guests to understand the setting of our property. It is a beautiful, remote beach community in the protected Chesapeake Bay Critical Area. It's filled with wildlife and incredible views and easy beach access with bicycles, kayaks, crabbing and all kinds of outdoor activity. It is not the Jersey Shore, the boardwalk or a highrise - however. The object is not asphalt roads but a natural setting. Sometimes this can be a challenge. The immediate drive leading to the house is surrounded by woods and is a hard-pack clay road. Most of the time, the road is lovely but on extremely rainy springs, like this one, the potholes cannot be repaired until the rain stops. We try to keep everything in good repair but we cannot control the weather and all it brings - I wish we could! But, waking up beside the Chesapeake Bay is a special treat and worth a pothole or too on a rainy spring weekend. I would note for future guests that the furniture is modern, not old at all. For example, the sofa is a Crate and Barrel Oasis sofa with feather/down cushions. Unlike foam, feather/down cushions must be fluffed on occasion to remain shapely. I find the Oasis sofa so comfortable that I have two in my own house. We believe that the Hideaway is a great value for our guests and we try to take care to make our guests' stays enjoyable. Most are very happy and we have many repeat guests. We have local property managers who take very good care of our properties and are ready to respond to any problems a guest may have - short of a shower seeming too small or an extra rainy and prolonged spring. We hope that these guests' next experience is in an environment more suited to their desires. For the remainder, we welcome you back to the beauty of the Chesapeake Bay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Dreamy

    Dreamy

    • Guest Meg (Tunbridge, Vermont)
    • Date of stay 04/14/13
    • Review Submitted 04/23/13
    The hideaway was a lovely retreat that met all of our needs. The accommodations were perfect and the decor was creative and interesting. My husband, myself, and our 2 year old son we able to welcome grandparents and friends into this lovely home. The hideaway was a great place for a toddler, which was something that we worried about. We spent time on the beach and especially loved where the creek meets the bay. There was almost no one around because we rented off season, so it was truly a retreat. We left feeling recharged, relaxed, and ready to return again next spring. Truly dreamy!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Nuclear worker

    Nuclear worker

    • Guest Lr (Michigan)
    • Date of stay 01/05/13
    • Review Submitted 04/01/13
    Property management folks were great and responded quickly when there were issues. As far as house itself it is a remote location and has great features for those on vacation. Drawbacks for me were distance from work, coastal flooding and I thought the furniture was uncomfortable and too big for the space. If you have any issues such as knee problems or getting out of low furniture, this is not the best place to go. The sun porch smells of mold and there seems to be a lot of dust in the air if furnace is on for those with allergies.

    Recommended for: Pet owners

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A perfect getaway!

    A perfect getaway!

    • Guest Karen (United States)
    • Date of stay 11/19/12
    • Review Submitted 11/26/12
    My family and I loved our week's stay for the Thanksgiving holiday at The Hideaway. This lovely home was described perfectly and met our every expectation and more. The location is excellent and beautiful. The home was very comfortable and accommodating for our party of 3 adults and 2 children. It had every amenity and simply did not want to leave! We witnessed daily sunrises and sunsets, went kayaking, biking, and toured Point Lookout, St. Mary's and surrounding areas. Our stay at The Hideway was quite memorable and we would love to return in the future!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Seclusion

    Perfect Seclusion

    • Guest Daveroom (Harleysville, PA)
    • Date of stay 10/19/12
    • Review Submitted 10/24/12
    The property and area were perfect for us. Two families, with 4 kids. Just steps from the small beachfront. Close enough to a small local supermarket and civilization, but property is on a private road with about 8 houses so there are virtually no cars. The house was missing a few necessary items like sponges, dish soap, and extra toilet paper. So if you go, you may need to bring a few essentials. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent getaway

    Excellent getaway

    • Guest Tara (Baltimore)
    • Date of stay 10/12/12
    • Review Submitted 10/20/12
    This was an amazing getaway. The house was perfect and decorated beautifully. The Bikes and Kayaks were a great addition. We enjoyed the beach and creek very much. Will definatly stay here again. Thanks for everything

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great getaway spot

    Great getaway spot

    • Guest Susan (Pittsburgh )
    • Date of stay 10/01/12
    • Review Submitted 10/10/12
    I rented the cottage and had a few college friends join me over the week. The weather was still warm and we spent a good amount of time on the beach. We had the beach to ourselves. The house is really nice, and everything is very comfortable. Very easy to settle in. I have rented a lot of homes and it was nice to have stuff like hand soap in the bathrooms. The owner was very easy to work with and clearly takes great care of this house. I had my dogs and the back yard is like a fenced yard with the way the trees have been cut. The lane is a great place to walk the dogs. We cooked most of our meals as we were lazy and just enjoying relaxing. The only thing I might mention is that those who used google maps got a little lost. GPS was fine. I should have asked for directions ahead of time, so that is my fault too. Maybe include directions with the 'things to do in the area'. I would definitely go back to this house and would recommend it to anyone. Especially those looking to relax and forget about work.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Vacation!

    Great Vacation!

    • Guest Reid (Columbia, MD)
    • Date of stay 09/01/12
    • Review Submitted 09/07/12
    My group was 3 couples and 3 babies from 9mo to 15mo. We had a great stay and the house is exactly as advertised. The water was calm and warm during the first weekend of September, and the sand as you walk out into the bay is very soft. The house is very infant safe with everything being on one floor and the only stairs are to the large bedroom, but there are just 3 steps and a door that you can close them off. The two kayaks were great and we took them out. They also have four bikes, but they are not in ride-able condition (flat tires, even tried to pump them up, and a missing chain). There were some black flies and horse flies the first evening we arrived, but during the day with a gentle breeze we didn't have any trouble with them. The neighbors were also very friendly.

    Owner response: Thank you for your positive review of the Hideaway. We're delighted that your weekend was enjoyable. We also very much appreciate your bringing the bicycle condition to our attention. We try to ensure that the bicycles are repaired between all guests' rentals. We failed in your case and apologize. We do have property managers who can be called when anything is not in working condition, including the bikes, and we encourage you to take advantage of their availability. We strive for everything to be perfect for our guests.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Vacation

    Great Vacation

    • Guest Barb (Abingdon MD)
    • Date of stay 07/22/12
    • Review Submitted 08/03/12
    We had a great week in this house. The beach was very quiet. We went crabbing and caught a couple dozen crabs on 2 days. The house is just like in the photos.The whole week was very relaxing. This is not a place to go if you want night life or lots of activities.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • lancaster county seniors

    lancaster county seniors

    • Guest Pat S. (PA)
    • Date of stay 07/07/12
    • Review Submitted 07/13/12
    Our stay at Hays Beach Cottage was all we hoped for. The cottage was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The large fridge and the commercial size laundry was a bonus. I did need to transport my elderly mom to the beach entry by car as she uses a walker but we did not mind that inconvenience. Once there we were totally alone. Searching for beach glass and shells was very fruitful.Kayaking the inlet and lake behind the cottage was a wonderful experience. This little beach village is for those who really want to relax and entertain themselves with reading, beachcombing and that sort of thing. The glassed in porch is so nice with its table and comfortable furniture. Bike and Kayaks provided along with a charcoal grill out back were greatly appreciated My only suggestion would be the addition of smaller glasses and some wine glasses and a large pot for crabs. .....otherwise this cottage has most everything you need for your vacation needs...we willl return....

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Vacation

    Perfect Vacation

    • Guest steve217 (Lansing, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 06/30/12
    • Review Submitted 07/09/12
    My wife and I and our six children had not been on a vacation in a few years. This house made up for it. The house was clean and the backyard was private and offered great bird watching. The children loved being able to run around outside and go to the beach whenever they wanted. The house is in a very quiet location and the crabbing is the best in the state. The neighbors were friendly and welcoming. Thanks for allowing us to enjoy your house and we hope to return in the future.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Most Relaxing Vacation in Years!!

    Most Relaxing Vacation in Years!!

    • Guest Pennsylvania Vacationer (Reading, Pa)
    • Date of stay 05/26/12
    • Review Submitted 06/03/12
    Everything was exactly as depicted in the pictures provided on the website. The cottage is well appointed with nice quality amenities. The absolute best feature is the isolated area and nearly private beach. We arrived over the Memorial Day holiday weekend and there were maybe a dozen or so people on the beach. By Monday afternoon we were the only people with the exception of a few folks walking to the great crabbing location on the south end of the beach. We went ocean kayaking for the first time, it was fun and easier then anticipated. Interaction with the owner and property manager was very pleasant and prompt. We definitely plan to return to this gloriously peaceful place to recharge and unwind from a hectic life.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A few days for girls get away

    A few days for girls get away

    • Guest Nancy (Monrovia, MD )
    • Date of stay 03/05/12
    • Review Submitted 03/13/12
    This place is wonderful! I took my girls down for a few days (March 2012) when they were home from college for a girls get away. The place looks exactly like the photos. The beds were wonderful. My three girls and I all slept in the master bedroom and were all perfectly comfortable. It was nicely furnished and very welcoming... The bay is beautiful there and we enjoyed many long walks on the beach. There are places to shop and eat (even off season). We visited Point Lookout state park, historic St. Mary's City and St. Marys College (My friend and her daughter who is a grad student there were with us).. The owner and property manager are both gracious and great to work with.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect holiday hideaway!

    Perfect holiday hideaway!

    • Guest Sandra T. (Perth, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 05/21/11
    • Review Submitted 05/30/11
    Just returned from a very relaxing week. The setting was beautiful, the temperature was perfect, and the beach was deserted! We had a great time exploring the beach and swimming in the refreshing Chesepeake Bay water.The beach house lives up to its description ... it is beautifully decorated, very cozy and relaxing , and quite well equipped. It was like staying at a 5 star resort! All in all, our 11 hour drive to the beach was well worth it.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful place, beautiful house, beautiful beach.

    Beautiful place, beautiful house, beautiful beach.

    • Guest lulupince (Washington DC)
    • Date of stay 04/22/11
    • Review Submitted 04/26/11
    This house is amazing, comfortable and clean. Perfect for a big family. We went there for a weekend, my husband and I, with another family with 3 children. Everyone was very pleased by the trip. It is a great place to walk around, swim in the Bay, eat crabs, and discover beautiful landscapes. It is very quiet and peaceful. Perfect for a weekend (or more!). The decoration in the house is simple and well designed. We really felt at home. I would highly recommend it to anyone!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Relaxation at it's finest

    Relaxation at it's finest

    • Guest Christine (Sterling, VA)
    • Date of stay 04/08/11
    • Review Submitted 04/11/11
    Just came back from a VERY relaxing weekend at this wonderful cottage! The cottage has everything you could ever want or need. House could easily accomodate 8 people in it's 3 beautifully decorated bedrooms. The cottage was spotless and all the photos online are very accurate! It was just my husband and myself and of course our 3 spoiled pups....not sure who enjoyed themselves more. The private beach was a great place to go for early morning and late afternoon runs. There is no doubt we will definitly be back!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Best vacation in years

    Best vacation in years

    • Guest Fans of Scotland (central PA)
    • Date of stay 08/28/10
    • Review Submitted 11/13/10
    If you are looking for a low-key place to spend a week, this cottage offers all you need. The house is comfortable and clean, well equipped with bikes, kayaks, even beach chairs. It's a short walk across the only (dirt) road to the beach, which is somewhat busy on weekends but completely deserted during the week. There is an occassional jellyfish and we encountered 2 days of biting flies (the result of an approaching hurricane, apparently), but the rest of the week was bliss. We arrived on a Saturday (with food) and didn't feel compelled to leave the "strip" till Tuesday..most days were spent right on the beach, feeling like millionaires with the sands all to ourselves. The pup even learned to swim in the calm waters of the bay. There's also the added attraction of passing the Taj Mahal of Scotland on the way into the little beach community.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Discovered a Treasure

    Discovered a Treasure

    • Guest Trish (Winslow, NJ)
    • Date of stay 06/26/10
    • Review Submitted 07/05/10
    Our family has just spent the most enjoyable week in this vacation hideaway. A very comfortable house, nicely furnished, everything we were looking for. We feel fortunate to have found this private beach community and privileged to have been able to experience all that it has to offer. So nice to be able to bring our dogs with us too. Can't wait to go back again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • LOVED IT!

    LOVED IT!

    • Guest lisa (Philadelphia,PA)
    • Date of stay 06/11/10
    • Review Submitted 08/14/10
    My family and I stayed at this rental in June. It was very relaxing, I am going back there next summer! My toddlers loved it as well, they were able to play in the calm waters. This place is like a piece of heaven on earth!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/7

  • Amazing Value, Beautiful Area

    Amazing Value, Beautiful Area

    • Guest Chrislove258 (Philadelphia PA)
    • Date of stay 05/07/10
    • Review Submitted 05/11/10
    I opted for a 4-hour drive - with 5 friends - from Philly, rather than find something closer... we came for crabs and relaxation, which we got and more... very charming, well-appointed cottage, with everything one could possibly need. And plenty of room for a big group to sleep, eat and be comfortable. (i wouldnt do more than 8 though.) our only drive away from the house during our 3-day stay was for 2 dozen crabs and a case of beer. (had the weather been a bit warmer, we wouldve been able to catch enough crabs in the near-by stream.) ...so amazingly peaceful, mostly because the beach is private, and only about 10-or-so houses have access. so the first reviewer is wrong, i believe - I dont think the beach is packed even in the middle of august. ... our stay couldnt have been better, and we're already planning a return trip

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 10/11

  • Feng Shui

    Feng Shui

    • Guest 59 1/2+ (New York City)
    • Date of stay 03/29/10
    • Review Submitted 04/05/10
    Ten houses on a 500 foot wide peninsula. Very quiet off-season. Perfect romantic getaway. Very zen-like atmosphere and easy-going owner. Probably lots of dogs and kids in the summer.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]