Sunset House - a View You Have to Experience !
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:2 nights
- Pets allowed:No
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Sunset House was built in the 70's.
Tri-level house. The outside of the home has Oriental over tones ,with an oriental style front garden.. But the furnishings are very updated and modern..Our home is from the 70's and we have embraced many of the funky qualities such as colorful formica countertops in the kitchen and bathrooms and shag rug in the livingroom.. .The home is situated on a quiet dead end road that butts up against the State Park. Just a short walk from town!..Across from the house is a large lot with a house that sits down below, so you have a 'fantastic view' looking out from the deck or from your chair in the living room. Relax! on the deck and enjoy a glass of wine while experiencing the breath taking sunsets that Trinidad has to offer!.
Sunset House is just a 5 min walk from the Market, Shops and the Post office, and a some great places to eat!
We just got new appliances.:A Stainless Steel Bosch Electric slide in range and a new Bosch Stainless Steel
dishwasher .and New flooring in the Kitchen and Diningroom. There is complete kitchen with colorful dishes and newer stainless steel pots and pans. It has everything you need to make a great meal!
There is also a new sofa in the living area just off the kitchen..
We have a great library of books and movies and games so there's some thing for everyone. One bath upstairs and sliding glass doors out on to a deck looking out towards the Beach and Water!
While your out on the deck you can cook on the barbecue and relax on the New Patio Furniture while experiencing the Beautiful Sunsets!..
Downstairs there are four bedrooms, the master is the Red room with an attached bathroom and your own TV. Down the hall there are three other bedrooms all with queen beds. The largest also has a very comfortable Queen bed it's own TV and a futon.. The room has a sliding glass door with access to your own private retreat with roses and gazebo for you to explore. You can enjoy playing with the children or relax in comfortable chairs while sunning yourself.
- 2800 sq. ft.
- 2 story
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
- Children Welcome
- Pets Not Allowed
- Non Smoking Only
Bedrooms: 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10, Beds for 8-10
Bathrooms: 3 Bathrooms
Kitchen & Dining
- Cooking Utensils:
- Coffee Maker:
- Wood Stove:
- Linens Provided:
- Clothes Dryer:
- Washing Machine:
- Video Library:
- Ping Pong Table
- DVD Player
- Deck / Patio:
Location & View
- Rock Climbing
- Fitness Center
- Sound/Bay Fishing
- Surf Fishing
- Pier Fishing
- Basketball Court
- Mountain Biking
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Horseback Riding
- Live Theater
- Recreation Center
- Wildlife Viewing
- Whale Watching
- Massage Therapist
- Sight Seeing
- Scenic Drives
- Gambling Casinos
- Bird Watching
ReviewsWrite a review
A Relaxing Stay
A Relaxing Stay
We spent a fantastic weekend here after Thanksgiving. The property had just been vacated by the previous tenants,and we found the house freshly cleaned and ready for us. The house has a very cool retro feel without being tacky or inconvenient. I especially enjoyed listening to KHUM on the vintage Marantz reciever in the living room. Be prepared to climb some stairs, as stated in the property description, this is a tri-level house. We made full use of the kitchen during our stay to prepare breakfasts and dinners, and we found the kitchen to be comfortable and well-appointed. The spectacular view from the living room and patio is not overrated. It seemed that at any time of day, and in virtually any weather condition, the view of the coast was stunning.
- Guest Jason
- Date of stay 11/23/12
- Review Submitted 11/28/12
Recommended for: Girls getaway, families with young children, sightseeing, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.
Owner response: Thank you for your kind review!..I'm so glad you had a great time there at the house!..Our family and friend's all seem to love it!..But it's nice to hear that someone else does too! The family that clean's the house will be glad also!..They put a lot of their time and energy into trying to keep the house looking nice! Robyn Mills
Feels like home...
Feels like home...
The women in my family take a yearly trip to Trinidad to relax and reconnect. This is the 3rd year we rented the Sunset house. We walked in and sighed, we were HOME! This place is set up for our big group, with 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms on the bottom and living room, kitchen, bathroom, and deck upstairs. We love this place. Thank you!
- Guest Carli
- Date of stay 09/14/12
- Review Submitted 09/19/12
Recommended for: Girls getaway, families with young children, sightseeing, age 55+, families with teenagers, adventure seekers, romantic getaway.
Owner response: Carli, Thank-you!..It's alway's nice to hear all the responses from people who stay at our home!..and enjoy it!..I'm glad you and your family enjoyed the home again this year!.R
Nice view, older home
Nice view, older home
This place has a great view and has good access to the beach and the town. The home could use some updating! There were food smears on the kitchen counter, dining room table, and a chair in the living room which I had to clean when we arrived. I let the owner know the cleaners hadn't done a great job, so hopefully this won't happen again. The kitchen sink drain also broke while we were there and leaked water everywhere. Had to fix it ourselves. Good place if you are not particular about the conditions.
- Guest Catscoop
- Date of stay 08/31/12
- Review Submitted 09/06/12
Recommended for: Families with teenagers.
Owner response: In all fairness.. the cleaning people had already been there I thought that the house was clean..and the sink taken care of...Since I don't live in the area..I rely on a cleaning crew to help with those things..We were just up there the end of Aug and thought the house was very clean then!..The plumbing under the sink came loose while there and we had someone replace it..So, we thought it was fine!..Speaking to the lack ot updating!..Not sure you meant!.. The house it'self or the quality of the towel's sheets etc;??..It's hard to keep up with up dating sheets and towels..bedding as often as I'd like.!..We try to do it once a year!....As to the house and it's 70's vibe!..I will not be embarrassed by it! we have many people who love it!....We decided to embrace it's colorfull formica and shag carpets!....But we purchased s stainless steel stove and dishwasher and new flooring in kitchen and dinning room ..the couch in the living room and black chair and the table and chairs on the deck were replaced just last year!..I'm sorry that you had a bad experience and felt that you had to leave a bad review!..I think that I responded as quickly as I could as to the hr that you called!..I give all my renter's my phone number's and tell them to please contact me if there are any problems!...By not calling me as soon as it happened and waiting until 10:30 PM .meant that I couldn't get someone there to help you as soon as you needed!. I give all my renters both phone numbers and let them know that they should call me right away if they need help!..I have someone I call to take care of things like that....But in all fairness they live in Eureka and it is a good 45min away!....Thank you for your comments!..I appreciate all that I get good or bad! ..I'd love for them to all be good. ..But I realize that even if they are not .. I can learn from all of them. Thank's again! RM
Two night stay
Two night stay
The kids loved the 15 minute walk to the beach.
- Guest Corey D.
- Date of stay 07/07/12
- Review Submitted 07/18/12
Recommended for: Families with young children, families with teenagers.
This house is names perfectly... I was so glad that the days that I got to stay there with my family it was sunny because we were able to enjoy the sunsets on the porch... This house is beautiful.. it was breath taking... I will definitely consider renting this house again in the future...
- Guest Yvette
- Date of stay 05/10/12
- Review Submitted 05/15/12
Recommended for: Girls getaway, sightseeing, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.
We stayed here over what was not a sunny weekend, but we still had an AMAZING time, it was so nice being in this home, the walk from to the beach was so short we did it several times during the day. If you are visiting the area I not only recommend this house also check out the eatery in town, their blackberry cobbler is to die for!. The house had individual heating for each area & that made our stay even better because I'm cold blooded but my sister isn't & we each got what we wanted, where in a hotel that certainly wouldn't have happened. We also came here with a decent number of people but because of how the house is set up we always had the perfect amount of privacy. The only issue we ran into is two of the rooms are significantly smaller than the other, but unless you are spending the entire time in the room (which you shouldn't) this won't matter... there is plenty of other space in the common areas.
- Guest D L T
- Date of stay 05/14/10
- Review Submitted 06/12/10
Recommended for: Girls getaway, families with young children, sightseeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.
we stayed here for thanksgiving weekend and had a fabulous time. the house was cozy, very clean and well-appointed. good location also- close to the beach and to town. we had lively ping-pong tournaments in the garage to burn off some dinner calories.:) good times all around!
- Guest Anonymous
- Date of stay 03/10/10
- Review Submitted 03/10/10
We had a great time here at the Sunset House! A great location for vacationing in Trinidad! Just a short walk to the ocean with a great view of the ocean off the deck. Very homey, comfortable, and relaxing here. Everything you need. The beds were really comfortable. We would stay here again in a hearbeat!
- Guest Kathy L.1
- Date of stay 09/14/09
- Review Submitted 09/14/09
|Dates||Nightly||Wknd Night||Weekend||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
2 night min stay
May 1 - Aug 30
2 night min stay
Sep 1 - Apr 29
2 night min stay
Additional information about rental rates
Holiday's are 3 night min and 350 nightly
- Property Damage Protection: $49
- Tax Rate 12%
TENANT VACATION RENTAL AGREEMENT & IMFORMATION SHEET PLEASE READ AND SIGN AT THE BOTTOM 1. AGREEMENT: Tenant agrees as follows: Tenant is an adult and will be an occupant of unit during the entire reserved period. Other occupants will be family members, friends, or responsible adults. Use of the premises will be denied to persons not falling within the foregoing categories, and as a result they would have to vacate the property immediately without any refund. No keys will be issued to anyone who is not an adult...Furthermore, for unforeseeable reasons the house becomes unavailable, if you have reserved it and, due to circumstances beyond our control (sold, damaged, etc;) We will issue a full refund where applicable. 2. NO PETS ALLOWED UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES; 3. SECURITY DEPOSIT: The security deposit is $350 for the vacation rental. The security deposit is due WITHIN 14 days of your reservation .FAILURE TO RECEIVE YOUR MONIES WITHIN THE 14 DAY PERIOD MAY RESULT IN CANCELLATION OF YOU RESERVATION. Your security deposit is fully refundable within 14 days of termination of occupancy commenced and all terms of this agreement are met. Tenant is liable for all replacements and repairs that are Outside of what is considered normal wear and tear. 4a. PAYMENT SCHEDULE AT TIME OF BOOKING:: 1. ½ Total Rent Quoted (This includes12% Bed tax for houses in Trinidad) 4b. PAYMENT SCHEDULE THIRTY DAYS FROM STAY: 1. Remaining Rent Quoted/ Must be paid in full. DUE WITHIN FOURTEEN DAYS FROM BOOKING: 1. Security Deposit of $500.00(credit card preferred / e-checks accepted .But there will be a fee if check doesn’t go through. 5. CANCELLATION: Should you wish to cancel this reservation, notice of cancellation MUST BE IN WRITING AND RECEIVED MORE THAN 60 DAYS PRIOR TO YOUR CHECK IN DATE. We will refund the sums you have paid, less a $50 cancellation fee. If your notice of cancellation is RECEVED LESS THAN 60 DAYS PRIOR TO YOUR CHECK IN DATE, you will forfeit 25% of the sums paid, except your security deposit, unless we are able to re-rent the property to someone else at the same rate, for the same period. If the less of arrival, no exceptions. 6. CHECK IN: Check in time is after 3:00 PM. EARLY CHECK IN TIME ARE ALLOWED ONLY WHEN THE PROPERTY IS CLEANED AND READY FOR OCCUPANCY AND PRIOR APROVAL IS REQUIRED. Keys will be ready for pick up at property location. KEYS WILL NOT be issued with a balance owing or without a signed agreement in the owners, or owner’s representatives, possession. 7: CHECK OUT: Check out time is 10:00 AM: THERE IS AN EXTRA CHARGE FOR LATE CHECK OUT AND PRIOR APROVAL IS NEEDED. Please put keys back IN LOCKED BOX, other wise in a place per our conversation, remote controls, ect; need to be left at premises. You will be charged for not checking out on time (unless otherwise specified). We will charge at a rate of $15.00 dollars per 15 minutes. (Our cleaning service can’t clean until you leave). A $50.00 per item fee will be charged for each lost key and remote control. 8. CLEANING: Each property will be inspected, sanitized and cleaned after departure. The rental fee you have paid for four hours of normal cleaning so that you can enjoy your vacation up to the last moment. YOU ARE REQUIRED to leave the property in the same general condition that you received it by making sure, dishes are done and put away, and the home is generally picked up and ready to be vacuumed, dusted and sanitized. If additional cleaning is required, appropriate charges will be deducted from your security deposit at the rate of $30.00 per hour. 9. THE HOUSE DOES NTO HAVE A PHONE: We have had too many problems, so make sure you have your phones. There are local phone books in the house if needed. 10. WHAT WE SUPPLY: The property is equipped and set up as a fully furnished property that will include bedspreads, linens, blankets, pillows, towels, as well as a fully equipped kitchen. THERE WILL BE EXRTA CHRGES TO YOUR SECURITY DEPOSIT FOR REPLACING THERE ITEMS IF FOUND TO BE NECESSARY. Please don’t help yourself to extra towels; there are towels and sheets for your stay. The rest are for the next people using the property. 11. NO DAILY MAID SERVICE- While linens and bath towels are included, daily maid service is not included in the renal rate. 12. WHAT YOU SHOULD BRING: Plan an packing your personal toiletry items. Since we provide only a limited supply of toilet paper towels, and dispensable items to get you started on your first day of vacation, you should plan on making a trip to the grocery store to replenish these items as u need them. 13. TENANTS LIABILITY: Tenant agrees to accept liability for any damages caused to property (other than normal wear and tear) by Tenant or Tenants guest, including but not limited to, landscaping, misuse of appliances, and / or equipment furnished. If damages are in excess of the security deposit being held. Tenant agrees to reimburse owner of Sunset House for costs incurred to repair/replace damaged items. 14. SLEEPING CAPACITY/DISTURBANCES: Tenants and all other occupants will be required to vacate the premises and forfeit the rental fee and security deposit for any of the following: A). Occupancy exceeding the sleeping capacity stated on the website. B). Using the premises for any illegal activity including, but not limited to, the possession, serving or consumption of alcoholic beverages by or to persons less than 21 years of age. C). Causing damages to the premises rented or to any of the neighboring properties. D). Any other acts which interferes with neighbors right to quiet enjoyment of their property. E). Violation of the 10:00 PM noise RULE.F).NO PARTIES OF ANY KIND! G). Keep cars to a minimum. One car per 2 people. Parking is limited. Neighbors complain if there are too many cars. There is no room for them to park! 15. HOLD HARMLESS; SUNSET HOUSE: The homeowner does not assume any liability for loss, damage or injury to persons or their personal property. Neither do we accept liability for any inconvenience arising from any temporary defects or stoppage in the supply of water, gas, electricity, or plumbing. Nor do we accept any liability for any loss or damage caused by weather conditions, natural disasters, acts of God, or other reason beyond our control. 16. ADDITIONAL TERMS AND CONDITIONS: The tenant, for himself/herself, his/ her heirs, assignors, executors, and administrations, fully releases and discharges the Owner from any and all claims, demands and causes of action by reason of any injury or whatever nature which has or have occurred, or may occur to the undersigned or any of his/her guests as a result of, or in connection with the occupancy of the premises and agrees to hold the Owner free and harmless of any claim or suit arising therefore. In any action concernring the right, duties or liabilities of the parties to this agreement, their principles, agents, successors or assignees the prevailing party shall be entitled to recover reasonable attorney fees and costs. 17. PAYMENT BY CREDIT CARD: ACCEPTANCE CONFIRMS AUTHORIZATION TO DEBT CREDIT CARD ACCOUNT FOR THE REQUIRED SECURITY DEPOSIT, AND THE 50% REQUIRED DOWNPAYMENT TO CONFIRM THE RESERVATION, AND THE SUBSEQUENTY THE REMAINING BALANCE TO COMLETE FULL PAYMENT OF SAID RESERVATION ALSO NOTE THAT YOUR CREDIT CARD WILL BE CHARGED ANY EXCESS CHARGES ABOVE YOUR SECURITY DEPOSIT IF DEEMED NECESSARY FOR CIRCUMSTANCES DESCRIBED IN THIS AGREEMENT. 18. IF YOU CHOOSE TO USE A CREDIT CARD FOR THIS RENTAL YOU NEED GIVE PERMISSION TO CHARGE YOUR CREDIT CARD FOR THE AMOUNTS BY SIGNING BELOW, I AGREE TO ALL TERMS AND CONDITTIONS OF THIS AGREEMENT. Signature Date 19. PAYMENT BY CHECK: THERE WILL BE AN ADDITIONAL CHARGE OF $75.00 if the check does not clear. Keys will not be issued until the check had successfully cleared the bank. Checks, bank money orders, cashier or personal checks should be made out to Michael/Robyn Mills. 20. MAILING ADDRESS: The signed agreement along with a check, if applicable, should be mailed to the following address: 117 W. Morris Ave, Modesto 95354. REMEMBER THAT YOU ARE RENTING A PRIVATE HOME PLEASE TREAT IT WITH THE SAME RESPECT YOU WOULD LIKE SHOWN TO YOUR HOUSE THANK-YOU. By signing below, I agree to all terms and conditions of this agreement: Signature: Date
100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment.
HomeAway PaymentsSM is the most secure way to pay and automatically protects your payment up to $10,000 (learn more). Call the owner directly to confirm payment details.
Year Purchased: 2005
The Unique Benefits at this House:
We are in a sun belt area were is is a little warmer than the rest of the area. Many days it is sunny where many it is not in Eureka. There are many beaches to walk, surf and play on, go exploring . Walk to Trinidad Head or walk to the college Marine Lab, and look at under water sea life. There are many trails close by that you get get to by walking or bike to explore. Walk down the hill to the local boat harbor and restaurant that looks out Trinidad bay. There are other restaurants close by, like The Eatery and one in the parking lot of Murphys Grocery Store .There are little shops and galleries as you come into town. Most everything you need is with a short 5min walk from house... There also is a Casino with it's own restaurant. ..Our home is close by to Tennis courts and fishing, and golfing about ten min away. My family likes to body surf at the main Trinidad beach located by the boat harbor... Many July days they wouldn't get started until 4:00 pm but wouldn't get back home until 8:00 pm... The sun doesn't go down until late . Trinidad is known for great weather later is the season!... There's kind of an Indian Summer Sept& Oct.... We have dogs who come with us two weeks out of the year...Just wanted to let you know just in case anyone has allergies. ..We try to maintain a clean home and that is the reason we no longer allow pets... Sorry!
- Secondary: (209) 402-5835 (California, USA)
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
View from deck and living room
There have been visitors to this page since
the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2009.
Date last modified - Saturday, June 01, 2013