Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Plenty of room to relax on the deck and soak in the spa!

Butterfly Beach Cottage - Peaceful & Private with 2 Person Spa [#252774] | View Property

Montecito
Cottage, Studio, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)
$165 - $175/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (42)

Sort by:
  • Post Christmas relaxation

    Post Christmas relaxation

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 12/27/13
    • Review Submitted 01/08/14
    The cottage is perfectly, located close to the beach and hikes. Everything was clean and well taken care of. The cottage is well equipped with various cooking items allowing us to eat in when we wanted. It was a perfect, cozy spot for us with plenty of privacy for us and our dog.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Butterfly beach cottage

    Butterfly beach cottage

    • Guest Gloria F.
    • Date of stay 10/01/13
    • Review Submitted 11/07/13
    Relaxing, cozy and very clean cottage. It is stocked thoroughly and thoughtfully. Peaceful and a short, scenic walk to the beach. I thoroughly enjoyed staying there and felt right at home.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A great place

    A great place

    • Guest randomtraveler (Maryland)
    • Date of stay 09/23/13
    • Review Submitted 10/08/13
    This place is excellent. They even have a hot tub for 2. This place is conveniently located 10 minutes from downtown Santa Barbara and downtown Montecito. I highly recommend this cottage. I would argue its better than coastal village inn and Montecito inn. You can even bring pets, just as long as they are small. We really enjoyed our stay at the butterfly beach cottage and would stay there again.

    Recommended for: Pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fantastic Cottage for anyone visiting Santa Barbara

    Fantastic Cottage for anyone visiting Santa Barbara

    • Guest Jorge (New York)
    • Date of stay 09/12/13
    • Review Submitted 09/16/13
    My girlfriend and I stayed at this cottage for about three days for a wedding and had an amazing time. The cottage offers everything anyone would need to have a relaxing stay. There was a fantastic (and romantic) hot tub, a private outdoor area, a fantastically comfortable bed (I never wanted to leave it), a large tv (which is best watched while laying down on the aforementioned fantastically comfortable bed), a fully renovated and modern bathroom, and a very large walk-in closet for storing your belongings. Bob, Athena, and Nicole were all tremendously helpful while also giving us the space and privacy one would hope for. There were bicycles and beach equipment available for use for free, as well as a private parking spot for our rental car. There really was no comfort or convenience omitted. The cottage is nestled up a private driveway in an upscale Santa Barbara suburb that is a 2 minute drive from the Four Seasons Biltmore Hotel and the adjacent beach. For anyone attending a wedding at the Four Seasons (as we were), there is no better option for your stay. Many of our friends were staying at the Four Seasons for the wedding, and none of them had their own private hot tub, patio area, or parking spot (despite having paid at least two to three times what we paid for the cottage). We cannot offer enough praise for the cottage. It was simply superlative.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Gem!!!

    A Gem!!!

    • Guest Molly (Denver, Colorado)
    • Date of stay 08/23/13
    • Review Submitted 08/28/13
    We just got back from our stay at Butterfuly Cottage which was splendid in every way! Nicole, Bob and Athena went above and beyond in providing sleeping accomodations for our two children (ages 20 months and 4 years) and the cottage was more than comfortable for the 4 of us. The outside patio was a wonderful private retreat in and of itself and was perfect during the kids naptime for us to sit and read and enjoy a glass of wine! Walkable to Coast Village Road shops and restaurants and Butterfly Beach made us barely have a need for the car. I would recommend this cottage to friends and family for sure and in fact have already done so! Many thanks for making it such a memorable stay!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Simply relaxing

    Simply relaxing

    • Guest BK (Austin, Texas)
    • Date of stay 08/04/13
    • Review Submitted 08/10/13
    Very relaxing and private; centrally located in the center of Montecito 3 minutes from ocean. Nice staging area for urban wine safari in downtown Santa Barbara. Great to finish the day with a bottle of wine in the hot tub and a rib eye on the grill. Reasonably priced for the location and the amenities.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • quiet and secluded

    quiet and secluded

    • Guest Daniela (Brooklyn, NY)
    • Date of stay 08/02/13
    • Review Submitted 08/09/13
    The room was quiet and secluded, separated from the main property by a gate so it's like your own space. It's small, but perfect for two people. THe host stocked it with coffee and a bottle of wine, which was very sweet. It's located in the town of Montecito, which is a really nice town with a cute main strip of stores and restaurants and winding, peaceful streets. Short (5-10 min) drive from Santa Barbara. The place was furnished like a beach cottage and was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was really nice and the hosts stocked it with fancy shampoo/conditioner and soap. The hosts were very easy to deal with and returned my deposit less than an hour after we checked out. I would definitely recommend this place to friends.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Cottage

    Wonderful Cottage

    • Guest Cate (Germany)
    • Date of stay 07/21/13
    • Review Submitted 08/06/13
    As our friends stayed at the cottage, it was a pleasure to stay at this beautiful cottage with its nice terrace. Such a quite and peaceful place in Montecito with such a lovely spirit and very helpful and nice owners. We will come back! Thank you!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • perfect cosy cottage

    perfect cosy cottage

    • Guest S & D (Frankfurt)
    • Date of stay 07/21/13
    • Review Submitted 08/02/13
    The cottage was a perfect choice. It was clean and cosy and has a wonderful patio with nice flowers. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We really appreciate the opportunity of using the two beach cruisers.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • perfect cosy cottage

    perfect cosy cottage

    • Guest S & D (Frankfurt)
    • Date of stay 07/21/13
    • Review Submitted 08/02/13
    The cottage was a perfect choice. It was clean and cosy and has a wonderful patio with nice flowers. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We really appreciate the opportunity of using the two beach cruisers.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Absolutely perfect!

    Absolutely perfect!

    • Guest Vicki R.
    • Date of stay 07/18/13
    • Review Submitted 07/24/13
    My husband and I were in town for a wedding and found this charming cottage on VRBO. It was even nicer than the pictures -- clean, spacious, and private. Athena and Bob have thought of every single touch and ammenity to make your stay comfortable, including a lovely bottle of wine upon arrival! The closet is amazing, for those of you who always bring too many clothes. The bed is super comfortable and the private patio is so relaxing. The location of the cottage is very convenient to downtown Montecito and the Coast Road. We explored the area all day by bikes, included with the cottage! Be sure to eat breakfast at Jeannine's -- you won't leave hungry! Thanks so much for a wonderful stay. We can't wait to come back. Highly recoomend -- don't miss staying here!!

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Paradise Close to the City

    Paradise Close to the City

    • Guest Daryl and Pat (Berkeley, California/USA)
    • Date of stay 06/13/13
    • Review Submitted 06/22/13
    Santa Barbara was our destination for our daughter's graduation from UCSB. With the hustle and bustle of activities, our return to Butterfly Beach Cottage at the end of the day meant total relaxation which included the hot tub. Nicole, Athena and Bob thought of everything, including a bottle wine, tea, Peets coffee (very exciting since we have frequented the original Peets since the 70's) and bottled water to make our visit comfortable. Even though we did not need anything, they were available, if necessary. The cottage was charming and immaculate and the landscaping was beautiful. We hope to return soon! Thank you!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Charming Cottage

    Charming Cottage

    • Guest Pat (McLean, VA)
    • Date of stay 04/23/13
    • Review Submitted 05/01/13
    This lovely cottage is a perfect place to stay when visiting Montecito. It is large enough for 2 people, with a large, modern bathroom, a kitchenette, wall-mounted flat screen t.v., and walk-in closet. I often stay at the Four Seasons Biltmore and I found this cottage much more pleasant than many of the rooms at the Biltmore. I did not take advantage of the hot tub/spa but the private garden is a delightful spot for a glass of wine and a book. The hosts took care of everything and were very easy to communicate with about the arrangements.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Awesome Private Cottage--close to Montecito and Butterfly beach!!!

    Awesome Private Cottage--close to Montecito and Butterfly beach!!!

    • Guest Jon (Fort Collins, CO)
    • Date of stay 04/06/13
    • Review Submitted 04/14/13
    Thanks to the Roebucks! Your place was amazing, and everything was well thought of. From coffee in the morning and dropping off some cream outside our gate (seriously within seconds it felt like!), to the cruisers that we took all over SB and Montecito, to the beach chairs and towels, we had literally everything we needed. Oh, let's not forget the private patio with the hot tub and such great landscaping. Relaxing at home, relaxing on the beach...we had a great stay! If you are thinking of a hotel in Santa Barbara, know that this is comparable to the amenities of a hotel in every way, PLUS all the extras I mentioned above that you can't get at a hotel. Also, Montecito is fantastic and we sampled many of the local restaurants and found them way more quaint and local than all the tourist stops on State Street. But all that was still so close, so we were able to enjoy it all! Great stay! You won't regret it!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Very Comfortable, Private, Peaceful Place To Stay

    Very Comfortable, Private, Peaceful Place To Stay

    • Guest S S.
    • Date of stay 03/08/13
    • Review Submitted 04/10/13
    Having recently relocated to Santa Barbara, my wife, dog and I needed somewhere to stay for 3 weeks. Butterfly Beach Cottage is an amazing place to stay , its comfortable, clean and has everything you need from watching TV, all kitchen and cooking facilities to enjoying the outside space with nice seating, Gas Grill and Hot Tub, they really have made great use of the space. Its a beautiful, quiet sanctuary. Its a fantastic location being close to Butterfly Beach and is dog friendly. There are shops and restaurants conveniently located within a short walk and Santa Barbara hosts a delight of shops and more restaurants all within a 5 minute drive. We loved staying here and would highly recommend Butterfly Beach Cottage to anyone. Athena and Bob were extremely helpful providing us with useful information for our stay but also for our long term plans of living in sunny California. Thank you.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Our Home Away From Home- We Loved It!

    Our Home Away From Home- We Loved It!

    • Guest Gin (Santa Barbara)
    • Date of stay 10/28/12
    • Review Submitted 01/16/13
    We sold our home and stayed in the cottage with our pets for two months while we shopped for a new home in Santa Barbara. Bob and Athena are incredibly nice people and have thought of everything one might need. We were amazed at the efficiency of the space and how clean and nice it was. The bed was comfy, water was hot, wi-fi always worked and the space temperature was easily regulated. We enjoyed the ambiance of the electric fireplace and jacuzzi tub on the patio so much that we are implementing those into our new home. The patio was a green relaxing space with visiting birds and lovely plants that we really enjoyed . The owners were easily accessible but never up in our business. We usually just texted if we needed something like a new lightbulb, but rarely did since all was well provided for. We were sad to leave but happy that we met such a nice family to be our Montecito neighbors now that we live in the area. What could have been a very stressful homebuying period, was more like a vacation while staying in the cozy cottage and surroundings of beautiful Montecito.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Genie Family in a Bottle!

    Genie Family in a Bottle!

    • Guest Rose (Davis, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/09/12
    • Review Submitted 09/19/12
    How fortunate I feel to have stayed at the Butterfly Beach Cottage, as the property owners are the real-life equivalents of “Genies in a Bottle”! My every wish was considered, and granted, during my weeklong stay, ensuring a dream vacation! The listing description and photos cannot do the cottage full justice. The impeccable cottage is absolutely charming and lovely, and every guest amenity for comfort and convenience is provided (e.g., luxurious linens, tasteful and comfy furnishings, toiletries, coffee, organic wine, fully stocked kitchenette) and even includes beach gear too (e.g., beach umbrella, towels, chairs, boogie boards, bikes) to guarantee a delightful stay. The exquisite orchid-filled tropical garden in the private patio w/bistro table and chairs, umbrella, anti-gravity chaise lounge, two chairs w/foot stools, grill AND spa is an open invitation for rest and relaxation, any time of day or night. The beautiful and quiet Montecito neighborhood location of the cottage is perfect. If you enjoy walking, you will not need to get in your car during your stay, as the beach, restaurants and shops are all within walkable distances. (Although you will be tempted to get in your car to drive to wonderful Santa Barbara, just 10 minutes away!) THANK YOU for being such friendly, interesting, informative, gracious, and accommodating hosts. I can’t wait for my next visit!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Delightful Cottage!!

    Delightful Cottage!!

    • Guest OnVacation (San Dimas, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/21/12
    • Review Submitted 06/24/12
    What a great find this cottage was! It is located in a peaceful and quiet residential area that provides total privacy. We loved that is was within walking distance to the little downtown area and also Butterfly Beach. The owners have really thought of everything to make your stay enjoyable and they are so thoughtful in even providing you with beach chairs, towels and even an umbrella to take down to the beach!! We wanted to walk to the beach, but found it a bit easier to just drive there since we were taking chairs, towels, umbrella, etc. The drive to Butterfly Beach is less than 5mins!! Although the beach is not very large, we found it delightful and charming. The beach is right in front of The Biltmore Four Seasons hotel and it was so relaxing to just take a picnic lunch there everyday and just relax, listen to the waves and soak up the sunshine!! The location of the cottage is perfect if you want to drive into Santa Barbara as we did a few nites for dinner. The drive into SB is less than 10mins via the 101 fwy. On our last nite, we decided to splurge and have dinner at the Biltmore since they have such a beautiful patio area for outside dining that overlooks Butterfly Beach. I must say that it was a very nice evening and the quality and service, excellent!! If you are looking for a peaceful stay in Montecito, don't hesitate to stay at this charming cottage!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Peaceful oasis

    Peaceful oasis

    • Guest Wannalivein hawaii (Rancho Palos Verdes, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/15/12
    • Review Submitted 06/23/12
    I stayed in this charming , private cottage with my small dog Twiggy & couldn't of been happier ! The studio is super clean with beachy decor . The granite kitchen counter with mini fridge, sink & kitchen supplies was perfect. The bathroom was also a pleasure - way nicer than some hotels. The icing on the cake was the pretty tropical patio. Walking distance to the beach, shops & restaurants and even the upper village! I recommend long walks, Butterfly Beach, Lucky's, Pierre La Fond, & a tour of Casa del Herrero. Can't wait to go back !

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Awesome!

    Awesome!

    • Guest Theresa (Wisconsin)
    • Date of stay 05/24/12
    • Review Submitted 06/15/12
    This is a beautiful setting with privacy. Bob and Athena are wonderful to work with. The cottage is very cozy and private. The deck with hottub provides just the exact amount of privacy. Loved sitting in the sun or hottub during the afternoon. Can't say enough - would stay there anytime!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great cottage in a fabulous location!

    Great cottage in a fabulous location!

    • Guest Sarah M. (Newport Beach, Ca)
    • Date of stay 10/20/11
    • Review Submitted 11/13/11
    My husband, 5-month old and two dogs stayed here for three nights in October and had a wonderful time! The cottage was within walking distance to everything - shops, restaurants, the beach. We ordered in one night and ate on the amazing patio. The homeowners were extremely friendly and showed us where everything was(beach chairs and towels, bikes). We visit Santa Barbara often and usually stay in hotels but this was so much better. We will defintely stay at the Butterfly Cottage again!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • All the Comforts of Home in an Amazing Setting

    All the Comforts of Home in an Amazing Setting

    • Guest Oh to get away (Pacific Grove, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/17/11
    • Review Submitted 08/11/12
    I was commuting to Santa Barbara for a work project and hated checking in and out of a hotel each week. I was fortunate to find Butterfly Beach Cottage that I was lucky enough to call my home-away-from-home from mid-October through mid-May. Bob, Athena and their entire family were attentive in every way and made me feel as though I was part of their family! The cottage provides all of the “luxury” amenities inside and out that you need for either a short stay or a much longer stay as I did. The kitchenette provided me the ability to cook/BBQ at home, as eating out gets a bit tedious at times though there are fabulous restaurants within walking distance or a quick drive into Santa Barbara. I was able to bring along my dog Annie a couple of times. We had so much fun exploring the neighborhood and the beaches. When I was getting ready to “move” out I was sad to leave. I knew I would miss the cottage and I do! Sitting in the “zen” like patio after work until late in the evening (Bob is an amazing gardner), the neighborhood/beach walks, a relaxing hot tub before bed star-gazing, the friendship I developed with Bob and Athena. I also miss coming home to fresh linens awaiting me each Sunday when I came back from a trip home (Athena you are amazing!)....now that is pure luxury! I could go on, but I hope you get the picture. The Butterfly Beach Cottage will be a fantastic choice for your stay...I guarantee it!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • just the perfect place

    just the perfect place

    • Guest LA Prof (Los Angeles, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/12/11
    • Review Submitted 09/18/11
    We came with our dog Blizzard who had a blast staying on the beautiful, fully enclosed patio, and going to the beach, a ten minute walk away. Everything was perfectly appointed, comfortable bed, excellent TV with DVDs too, and owners who did everything possible to make the stay as enjoyable as it could be.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Like staying w/ family

    Like staying w/ family

    • Guest Gingy (Los Angeles)
    • Date of stay 09/09/11
    • Review Submitted 09/13/11
    This is the first time I booked a place through VRBO in America. I used it twice in Italy. It was the first time my husband booked through VRBO and he loved the experience. We had a wonderful time at the comfortable, quiet, and immaculate Butterfly Beach Cottage. We wanted a quiet place to stay, where we could relax and where our baby would sleep well. The Butterfly Cottage was the perfect place for that. There's a little patio with 2 tables and tiki torches. Our baby slept while we dined in the patio at night. Also, rental owner had the pack n play ready to go when we arrived, which was perfect timing since our baby was ready for a nap upon arrival. There was no extra charge for the pack n play, which I found to be clean and better than the one we rented when we stayed at a hotel someplace else. The location is great, but not right on the beach. You can, however, walk there, and it's only about a 3-4 min drive. It was also a beautiful and peaceful place to do my daily run. Athena was WONDERFUL, she made us feel at home and as if we were family members taking advantage of her beautiful guest cottage. The property owners thought of just about everything to make your home away from home a great time, including zip lock bags, wine glasses, a bottle of wine, coffee, reading material, body lotion, utensils and more. There's a little kitchenette that you can cook a light meal, but in the summer I'd take advantage of the grill on the patio. Everything about our experience was wonderful and I was terribly sad to leave but look forward to returning soon! Thank you again for a great stay!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful stay!

    Wonderful stay!

    • Guest Carly (Santa Barbara, CA; Birmingham, AL)
    • Date of stay 08/26/11
    • Review Submitted 08/30/11
    My mother was visiting from Birmingham, AL (I live in Santa Barbara) and we were looking for a fun mother-daughter getaway. We had an absolute blast staying at the Butterfly Beach Cottage. The cottage has a wonderful deck where we enjoyed wine and crackers. We walked to the beach every day and were in very close proximity to Coast Village Road and easy access to the freeway. The cottage is very clean and is perfect for two people to comfortably stay. I would highly recommend this place to anyone! Thank you Athena, Bob and Nicole!

    Recommended for: Girls getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Charming

    Charming

    • Guest Richard (Monrovia, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/11/11
    • Review Submitted 09/04/11
    My wife and I rented the cottage for two weeks and it was a perfect place to stay - clean, comfortable and quiet. Everything you could need for the beach is provided along with bicycles. The cottage is very private and we look forward to another visit.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • NorCal couple

    NorCal couple

    • Guest Cat (Marin County)
    • Date of stay 07/29/11
    • Review Submitted 08/04/11
    This is a gem! It was clean, attractive, charming, perfect for our romantic get-away after a hectic week at work. We immediately jumped on the bikes and headed down to Butterfly beach for an ocean swim, then came back to relax in the very private, sunny garden area. Bob and Athena were so hospitable and have put close attention into making the cottage comfortable. We loved how close we were to restaurants, hikes, and downtown Santa Barbara. Don't miss swimming at Miramar Beach which is also close to the cottage. We will return for another relaxing cozy weekend soon!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Absolutely comfy and cozy!

    Absolutely comfy and cozy!

    • Guest Mimi (Tucson, AZ)
    • Date of stay 07/22/11
    • Review Submitted 08/09/11
    Everything about this Butterfly Beach cottage exceeds expectations. The pictures don't begin to show how wonderful it really is. It's clean and quiet, tastefully appointed, the bed is very comfy, just a short walk or bike ride to Montecito Village... we can't wait to come back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • We loved our stay.

    We loved our stay.

    • Guest Nor Cal Family (Leach)
    • Date of stay 07/05/11
    • Review Submitted 07/14/11
    Awesome location, we biked all over Santa Barbara, (thanks for the crusiers), State Street, Santa Barbara Bowl, Butterfly Beach, Jeanines Bakery. Quiet, secluded, yet close to so much. Perfect!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • My June 2011 Stay

    My June 2011 Stay

    • Guest Beth (Santa Fe )
    • Date of stay 06/18/11
    • Review Submitted 07/14/11
    Bob & Athena's Butterfly Beach Cottage is a treasure find. For those of us called to self-reflect and be contemplative, this is the perfect spot. The cottage is decorated simply and beautifully with all the amenities one would need, including a beautiful renovated bathroom and a sweet private yard to take a nap, read or have a delicious meal under the umbrella. If the cottage is available consider yourself blessed to find this gem in the heart of a beautiful neighborhood in Montecito.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Cozy Montecito Stay

    Cozy Montecito Stay

    • Guest CJR (Eugene, OR)
    • Date of stay 10/01/10
    • Review Submitted 10/18/10
    The property was just as described, quiet, cozy, and charming. We enjoyed the patio so much that we skipped the beach entirely one day. The property was very clean and stocked with way more things than we had a chance to use. I even found neosporin and a bandaid for a blister. The owners were helpful in accommodating some requests we had and gave us great directions. I'd recommend this to anyone needing a Montecito weekend or visiting students at Westmont. We had a great dinner at Tre Lune (Italian) , just one of the many restaurants listed in a handy book left for our use. Highly recommended!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Lovely Weekend

    A Lovely Weekend

    • Guest Matt & Marie (Cypress, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/26/10
    • Review Submitted 09/03/10
    We had a wonderful long weekend at this cottage. It's an excellent value with lovely personal touches such as fresh flowers and lavendar oil scent. I loved sitting out on the private patio with a good book! We would definitely recommend this cottage and we'll certainly be back ourselves!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Love this place!

    Love this place!

    • Guest max's parents (san francisco, ca, usa)
    • Date of stay 06/24/10
    • Review Submitted 07/13/10
    You would be hard-pressed to find a better deal than this place. It is not only aesthetically pleasing, convenient to the beach/town and cozy beyond belief - but the owners of the property are some of the niceest, most accommodating people you will meet. My husband and I love this place and look forward to returning. Thanks, Bob and Athena, for making it a memorable stay for us.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Perfect little gem

    Perfect little gem

    • Guest Shannon and Ryan (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/28/10
    • Review Submitted 06/14/10
    We absolutely loved the Butterfly Beach Cottage! It is perfectly peaceful, tastefully decorated, and conveniently located. I visit Santa Barbara frequently and this cottage is by far, the best stay one could ask for (and i've stayed in many hotels in the area). Bob and Athena have thought of everything, down to the very last detail - from the super soft luxurious bath towels to all your necessary beach equipment complete with umbrella. Thanks for making our visit a wonderful one - we will definitely be back again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • CHARMING, COZY, COMFY & CLEAN

    CHARMING, COZY, COMFY & CLEAN

    • Guest SANDY & JOE (Lake Tahoe, NV)
    • Date of stay 04/28/10
    • Review Submitted 05/29/10
    WE ABSOLUTELY LOVED OUR 10 DAY STAY AT THE COTTAGE!! RODE THE BIKES ALMOST EVERYDAY FROM THE COTTAGE TO THE END OF SHORELINE PARK ( ABOUT 10 MILES ROUND TRIP) AND TOOK THE BEACH CHAIRS TO BUTTERFLY BEACH FOR AWESOME SUNSETS NEARLY EVERY NIGHT! LOVED THE LOCATION SO CLOSE TO DOWNTOWN MONTECTO AND SHORT 10 MINUTE DRIVE TO DOWNTOWN SANTA BARBARA. HIGHLY RECOMMEND 3 RESTAURANTS IN MONTECITO; JEANNE'S CAFE & BAKERY, THE MONTECITO CAFE (INSDE THE MONTECITO INN), AND LOS ARROYOS CANTINA. ALL GREAT FOOD AND FAIRLY INEXPENSIVE. THE OWNERS OF THE COTTAGE WERE THE NICEST, MOST ACCOMMODATING HOSTS WE'VE EVER MET! THEY WERE ALWAYS CONCERNED ABOUT OUR COMFORT AND ANY NEEDS WE MIGHT HAVE HAD. OUR EXPERIENCE WAS DELIGHTFUL AMD WE WILL RETURN TO THIS SWEET BUTTERFLY COTTAGE!!!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wonderful Cottage!

    Wonderful Cottage!

    • Guest OCGirl (California)
    • Date of stay 04/08/10
    • Review Submitted 04/21/10
    This place was perfect for our girls weekend away. My friend was deploying overseas for a year plus and I wanted her to enjoy a weekend of relaxation. The cottage was fully remodeled with all the amenities you would need. The gated yard was perfect for reading and basking in the sun. All in all this place is perfect for a couple or two girls looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of life. Athena and Bob were very hospitable. Always available when you need them but at the same time they respect your privacy. Thanks for letting us stay at your cottage! M&J

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • We loved the Butterfly Beach Cottage!

    We loved the Butterfly Beach Cottage!

    • Guest Viv & J (Houston, Texas)
    • Date of stay 03/17/10
    • Review Submitted 03/28/10
    My husband and I loved staying at the Butterfly Beach Cottage. We were there for a long weekend in mid-March and didn't want to leave!! This part of Montecito feels like paradise with the sunshine, chirping birds, fragrant flowers, and huge eucalyptus trees. The cottage is by far one of the cleanest and most tastefully decorated vrbo properties we've seen. Athena and Bob have done a great job of fitting everything you really need into this studio...without it feeling too cramped. You have your own gate into the cottage courtyard, so there's plenty of privacy. During the day, we would open up all of the windows, the skylight, and door and make the deck our "living room." At night, it was so nice and quiet that we could leave the windows open. The kitchenette was also perfect for making quick snacks and breakfast. The cottage is 4 blocks slightly uphill of Coastal Village Road and a 5-10 minute drive into Santa Barbara (great restaurants!!!). We borrowed Athena and Bob's bikes (they have several to choose from including locks and helmets) and rode to Butterfly Beach every day. Thank you Athena and Bob for helping us have such a relaxing and memorable vacation!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great stay at Butterfly Beach Cottage!

    Great stay at Butterfly Beach Cottage!

    • Guest Kelley (San Francisco Bay Area)
    • Date of stay 02/17/10
    • Review Submitted 09/18/10
    This review is long over due; my husband and I along with our English Bulldog spent 4 nights in Feb. at this cottage and it was a perfect stay. The cottage is spotless and very well maintained. It's located in a very quite neighborhood that offers great dining and easy access to the beach. Bob and Athena being long time locals offered many great recommendations on restaurants, hiking trails and places that are dog friendly; they even let us borrow their hiking map. Very warm hospitality in a beautiful setting, we looking forward to returning!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Kathryn Evans (Old Greenwich,CT)
    • Date of stay 12/29/09
    • Review Submitted 12/29/09
    Charming and perfect for the single traveler or for a couple. Comfortably appointed, tasteful colors and decor. Has a great sleeping bed, pillows and blankets. Bathroom is beautifully done- great shower and towels. Kitchenette is perfect for a simple breakfast and coffee.Too much good food outside to worry about doing more. The environment is peaceful, with a lovely outside,enclosed area, with all you might need to spend the day at the nearby Butterfly Beach. Walk to the beach, the Biltmore, the lower village and the pretty Montecito neighborhoods. A great addition to VRBO. Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest darryl b.
    • Date of stay 11/13/09
    • Review Submitted 11/12/09
    There is nothing like the Butterfly Cottage! Convenient and lovely location, beautifully well appointed room, and private, sunny patio set this place apart from any boring hotel. Athena and Bob are FANTASTIC! Thanks for a beautiful weekend. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Hyun and Jeffrey (Los Angeles, Ca)
    • Date of stay 10/18/09
    • Review Submitted 10/18/09
    Wow! I didn't expect everything to be so perfect. My husband, baby & I stayed here and could not have been happier. The Patio is beautiful and perfect for lunch & dinner bbq's. Thank you for a wonderful Labor Day weekend!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/13/09
    • Review Submitted 08/13/09
    This is a 5 star cottage. We had a wonderful stay. Every detail has been thought out for you in top of the line form. From the blush bathroom towels to the super duper beach chairs. And what a fantastic location! Perfect. Lovely owners. We'll be back. Thank You....The Cantons

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]