Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Welcome to Wyndemere...

Beautiful Upscale Mountain Retreat [#252834] | View Property

Zion National Park
House, 4 Bedrooms + Loft + Great Room, 4.5 Baths (Sleeps 12)
$399 - $499/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (24)

Sort by:
  • Relaxing get away

    Relaxing get away

    • Guest Motomom975 (Mesquite nv)
    • Date of stay 03/28/14
    • Review Submitted 04/02/14
    The home is beautiful as well as the view and surrounding areas. It was a perfect place for us adults to get awasy from the busy life and relax. Definetly going back again.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great stay - thanks!

    Great stay - thanks!

    • Guest Abby
    • Date of stay 03/20/14
    • Review Submitted 03/25/14
    We just returned from a lovely stay. The house is beautiful, comfortable, and quite well equipped. It was large enough for our entire family to stay without being right on top of one another. I would recommend bringing lots of food, as restaurants and shopping are not nearby, but the house has everything you need to cook a great meal. We brought my mom along, who requires the use of a wheelchair, and she was able to get around the house fairly well. The bed in the accessible main floor suite was too tall for her to be able to get into and out of. But otherwise we have no complaints about the accessibility. We will most likely return. Thank you for a great stay.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • s

    s

    • Guest Brian H.
    • Date of stay 07/20/13
    • Review Submitted 07/30/13
    We had a wonderful time in this beautiful home. All the furnishings are beautiful and the beds are very comfortable. Our kids said they slept better in these beds than in their beds at home. They didn't want to leave. We rented golf carts at the nearby Zions Ponderosa Ranch to go back and forth to swimming, paintball and horseback riding at the Ranch which was only a few minutes away. The owner of this home was great to work with and very accommodating. Of the many homes we have rented through vrbo this home is at the top of the list. We will definitely be back to this home. We highly recommend this home.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Superb house in a superb location

    Superb house in a superb location

    • Guest Paul L.
    • Date of stay 06/30/13
    • Review Submitted 07/22/13
    We have rented acorss the US and Europe and never had such a well designed, well maintained, well supplied home before. Carol has thought of everything and was incredibly helpful and quick to respond to any inquiry. The home is perfectly situated just outside the east gate of Zion and within easy striking distance of Bryce, Cedar Breaks, and the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. This may be the most beautiful region in the whole of the US. Add to the mix the amazing night sky, the cooler temp in summer (because of elevation), the charming if very small towns of Springdale and Kanab (each about 35 minutes away), and the terrific hiking to be had. We would rent this house again in a heartbeat (and hope too someday). If there was a sixth star in this rating system, we'd add it.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful home, wonderful location, Great family fun!

    Beautiful home, wonderful location, Great family fun!

    • Guest Donelle (Green, OHIO)
    • Date of stay 06/19/13
    • Review Submitted 07/05/13
    WOW! Is all we can say about your beautiful home. Two years ago my parents gave their children and grandchildren one of the best Christmas presents ever a trip to your home and to visit Zion NP. MY family loved your home and the area so much we told our friends and decided to rent from you again. Thanks for the return discount!! Your home is just what you need after long days of hiking...to come "home" and cook in such a gourmet kitchen and then sit in the wonderful hot tub sipping wine and watching the stars is just fabulous. Our family also enjoyed the outdoor speakers on the deck. Our families hiked The Narrows, Angels Landing and Observation Point. We also visited Bryce Canyon and the Grand Canyon North Rim. This visit, we did not take advantage of the amenities the Ponderosa has to offer as we were so tired after our long days that just relaxing in this beautiful home is all we wanted to do. There was plenty of room for two families with a total of 8 people. The master suite...I wanted to take your bed home with me it was just sooo comfortable. You did not skimp on comfort that is for sure! The kitchen has everything you would want and more. Carol made sure we were very comfortable in our "home" away from "home". She called upon our arrival to make sure all was well. Anytime we had questions we could email and we would be sure to hear back in less then an hour. Thanks CAROL for all your hospitality! We will be back!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful stay at a lovely mountain home

    Wonderful stay at a lovely mountain home

    • Guest Liz (Merritt Island, FL)
    • Date of stay 06/10/13
    • Review Submitted 06/19/13
    We stayed at this beautiful mountain home while visiting Zion National Park for an outdoor family wedding in the park. There were 10 of us staying in the home and the accommodations were spacious and lovely. In addition to seeing Zion National Park we also visited Bryce Canyon and the Grand Canyon North Rim. Both were within easy driving distance. We also spent a view days in Las Vegas after our stay in Zion. The home and the surroundings were wonderful! We would definitely stay here again should we be back in Zion in the future.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Zion experience

    Zion experience

    • Guest Ricardo (Lafayette, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/27/13
    • Review Submitted 06/08/13
    We rent VRBO vacation homes all over the world and this has to be in the top ten. It is beautiful, well appointed and very comfortable but the crowning touch is the attention to detail by the owners. They didn't miss a thing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Lovely home, great location near the east entrance to Zion National Park

    Lovely home, great location near the east entrance to Zion National Park

    • Guest Laurie (Gloucester, MA)
    • Date of stay 11/17/12
    • Review Submitted 11/30/12
    This is a lovely home - very nicely decorated and equipped with everything you could need! We especially enjoyed the well-stocked kitchen, the gas fireplace, and the hot tub on the deck. Each of the bedrooms is nice in its own way and has its own bathroom. Carol was extremely helpful and available for any questions or concerns. The house is located near the East entrance to Zion National Park which is a great area to explore with hiking trails off the beaten path. Being hikers with a history of backpacking in the area (and seeking more comfort in our older middle age!) we were initially concerned about it being in a "resort" area with ATV trails, etc, but since the development is not fully sold, it is not a problem. The houses are plenty far apart to allow for peace and quiet. I recommend this as a great family house centrally located for travel to the local beauty of Zion, Bryce, etc. You will need a car and it's a good idea to bring plenty of food, as the restaurants are not close.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Fabulously luxurious and peacefully scenic retreat with all the comforts of home!

    Fabulously luxurious and peacefully scenic retreat with all the comforts of home!

    • Guest Jim P. (Brentwood, TN)
    • Date of stay 08/22/12
    • Review Submitted 09/01/12
    We had a blast at your fabulously luxurious home. What an amazing retreat. We loved the peacefulness, the abundant stars, the cool mornings, the spectacular scenery, the "private" trail, the ring toss, and the comforts of your home. We were able to visit Bryce, Coral Pink Sand Dunes, Grafton (the ghost town near Rockville), and Zion (3 times)! We went to Emerald Pools, Angel's Landing, hiked the Narrows (bottom up), even found the "hidden" Petroglyphs just inside Zion, and loved Thunderbirds pie! Your place was an integral part of our trip. Being just a few short miles to the entrance of Zion was a HUGE bonus for us. The owner was exceptionally helpful leading up to our arrival with step by step instructions of how to get to the house, etc. We will definitely bring in groceries on our way in next time since your home is on the quieter East side of the park. We would absolutely recommend your home to our friends. Thank you for all of your hospitality. We WILL be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Spacious Zion Home

    Spacious Zion Home

    • Guest Lauren (Boston)
    • Date of stay 07/29/12
    • Review Submitted 08/14/12
    We just returned from a fabulous trip to Zion. This house was a spacious 4 bed 4 bath home. Plenty of room for 2 families. Everything was in good shape and in good working order. The home is tastefully decorated and has everything you need. Carol, the owner, could not have been more helpful with all my questions when planning the trip. You need to be aware that the home is 30-60 minutes away from Springdale, which is the main tourist town for Zion. Springdale has the closest grocery store so you need to be organized in planning your meals and genral provisions. Most of our days started out of Sprindale (hiking, biking, canyoneering etc.) However, one day we visited Caves Canyon Resort which is on the East side of Zion (close to the house) and we had a great time, especially doing Via Ferrata which is a new rock climbing activity for Zion. We had a terrific time horseback riding at Zion Mountain Ranch which is only a few miles away (go to bottom on the road and turn left) The Zion Ponderosa Resort (which is right next to the house) is really more of a glorified campground. We did rent the ATVs but would not recommend the restaurant. There really are not any restaurants around but the Pizza place at the bottom of the road was very good and provided a nice break from cooking. Overally, I highly recommend this house and a trip to Zion!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great House

    Great House

    • Guest world traveler (Kansas)
    • Date of stay 07/22/12
    • Review Submitted 07/30/12
    This is the perfect house for any family looking to explore Zion. Since it's located above Zion it has the perfect summer climate. It is also located within the forest with lots of places to explore close to the house. This came in handy since we have an infant and two other young children. Basically this is a great house to enjoy all of the amenities of a top notch house(big, clean, awesome kitchen, nice appliances) while still feeling getting the feeling of being in a retome place. The owner is super nice and easy to work with too.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Zion, Bryce and North Rim Grand Canyon Vacation

    Zion, Bryce and North Rim Grand Canyon Vacation

    • Guest Allen and Alison (Mesquite, Texas)
    • Date of stay 06/09/12
    • Review Submitted 06/18/12
    My family and I stayed at this beautiful maintained home. It was a perfect location for hiking the Zion Canyon, Bryce Canyon and North Rim Grand Canyon. A perfect place for seeing wild life in the early mornings and evenings. Sitting on the back porch at night was magic, looking at all the beautiful stars. The owners were very caring and called to check to make sure everything was great and if we had any questions. If you need a perfect home and perfect location this is the place!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Peaceful getaway in Zion!

    Peaceful getaway in Zion!

    • Guest Lyndall (Huntington Beach, California)
    • Date of stay 05/25/12
    • Review Submitted 06/02/12
    The house is absolutely stunning nestled in the mountains not too far away from the gates into Zion National park. It is also conveniently close to town in Springdale. Carol, the owner, is super nice and goes out of her way to make her guests happy. The house is fully equipped with everything that you need including condiments (ie. salt, pepper, olive oil) in the kitchen. We had a fantastic time relaxing in the jacuzzi while sipping wine during sunset. Everything was perfect about the house. We will definitely consider coming back in the future. I would recommend future guests to bring an apple tv (which we did) or extra DVDs to be entertained. Thank you Carol for your hospitality!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Couples Weekend in Zion

    Couples Weekend in Zion

    • Guest Chris (Nevada)
    • Date of stay 05/18/12
    • Review Submitted 05/29/12
    We have been renting houses for the past 11 years. This is by far the most comfortable, well maintained home. There was plenty of room for everyone. Really liked having a bathroom for each bedroom, also all the beds were very comfortable for good night sleep. The kitchen was well equipped; it had everything you could possibly need to cook a gourmet meal. Which we all love to cook. We made some great meals. Also the Bar-B-Qu was great to cook our Salman and steak dinners. The owner was very pleasant and made keeping in touch very easy; by e-mail and even called at the house to make sure everything was going good with our stay. We had a great weekend. We will definably stay here again, and soon. I would recommend this house to everyone that wants to stay in Zion area. Thank you!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Home!!! Great Location!!

    Wonderful Home!!! Great Location!!

    • Guest JKW Family (Salt Lake City, UTAH )
    • Date of stay 02/04/12
    • Review Submitted 02/09/12
    We had such a great time staying in your wonderful home! We spent one day exploring Bryce Canyon, and spent two days at Zions Park, spent Sunday evening watching the Super Bowl, and spent the rest of the evenings relaxing (enjoyed the Hot Tub too!!)! The house is comfortable, the kitchen is well stocked, and the bedrooms are all quiet and cozy! And the view outside ... can't be beat! We will be back!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Family from Henderson NV and the eastcoast

    Family from Henderson NV and the eastcoast

    • Guest Dee (Henderson, Nevada)
    • Date of stay 12/28/11
    • Review Submitted 01/03/12
    The house is beautiful, warm and very welcoming. From the moment we walked in it felt like home. There were 8 of us in our family, and we never felt crowded. The house is situated in a very peaceful location that added to it's beauty. I can't say enough good things about the house or the owner. I would definitely recommend this house to anyone thinking about going to the Zion area.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • WHAT AN AMAZING PROPERTY!!!! AND GREAT OWNERS TOO!!!!

    WHAT AN AMAZING PROPERTY!!!! AND GREAT OWNERS TOO!!!!

    • Guest Jillian B. (Las Vegas)
    • Date of stay 12/22/11
    • Review Submitted 12/29/11
    Our family spent Christmas in this AMAZING STUNNING CABIN. It is much more than meets the eye. Every detail is magnificent, no expense spared. This home has EVERYTHING you could need or want in the home and the owners are so gracious and accommodating, we are going to come back again and again. From the moment we walked in the door the property was so welcoming and inviting that you felt like you were at home. This will be our little getaway for years to come.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wyndemere August, 2011 Vacation with Family and Friends

    Wyndemere August, 2011 Vacation with Family and Friends

    • Guest NBC (Rochester, NY)
    • Date of stay 08/22/11
    • Review Submitted 08/28/11
    This home is every bit as welcoming as it sounds. From the Emily Dickinson quote outside the home, to the provisions left by the owner, to watching the stars at night while in the hot tub - these and more made for a great relaxing vacation. The owner has made communication very easy - keeping in touch by e-mail and even calling to make sure everything was going well with our stay. We would very easily rent here again! Even the next-door-neighbors went out of their way to make us feel at home! However, the best part is how quiet it was. This could have been partly due to it being the end of August - when kids were in school. We chose this location because it provided easy back-door and top-down access to Zion National Park. In addition - being up high - we were at least 10 degrees cooler than Springdale. The house itself is unique in that it has a bathroom for every bedroom - which was convenient for our group of 4 couples. The added bonus is that it is part of the Zion Ponderosa Ranch community. However, you can use it as much or as little as you'd like. Their pools, hot tubs, ping-pong,pool table, basketball, volleyball were no extra cost and within a 2-minute drive. (There are golf carts available for rent but we did not do this). There was a $10 charge for miniature golf that covered play for the entire week. We loved being able to hike anywhere from on top into the park, but our favorite event was the Canyoneering. The guides were a lot of fun and turned a blown tire on the van into an open-air jeep event over rough terrain that was as much fun as the rappelling into the slot canyons. I've been to Zion before, but this location made the experience feel like a dude ranch/resort (but not pretentious - just natural) and a great place to hang out with friends and family. We made all our meals in the large, gourmet style kitchen and ate out on the deck. However, within 2 minutes there are a couple of restaurants at the Zion Ponderosa that have great atmosphere - we checked it out. We also drove down for late night ice cream sundaes! They have it all! The only thing we would warn is to buy any groceries at a SuperWalmart or grocery in Kanab and liquor/wine at the State Run Liquor in Kanab before coming. Grocery selections are less close by-but there are essentials in Mt Carmel. This is the kind of place I'd love to see thrive - it provides everything you'd want in a vacation and lots of options for all ages. Wyndemere was perfect!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi Noreen and Alan, We are truly so glad you enjoyed yourselves at our home. You couldn't have said any nicer words and you know you are welcome back any time. Thank you Carol Houston

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Mountain Retreat

    Mountain Retreat

    • Guest Diane (Salt Lake City)
    • Date of stay 11/25/10
    • Review Submitted 11/30/10
    Very nice, comfortable house with plenty of room for an extended family. I really liked having a bathroom for each bedroom. The kitchen is really well equipped. It has everything you could possibley need to cook a gourmet meal. W had a great Thankgsgiving there.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

    Owner response: So glad you had a good time. We loved having you there. Please tell your friends and get a very special offer from us. Have a wonderful holiday season.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful Family Friendly House

    Beautiful Family Friendly House

    • Guest Families from AK (Alaska)
    • Date of stay 10/09/10
    • Review Submitted 11/03/10
    We were in Zion to attend a wedding. This house was great for our group of families with young children. The house was beautiful and well equipped. We loved escaping to the hot tub after all the young ones were in bed. We'd love to come back for a longer stay to explore the surrounding area.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Owner response: So glad you enjoyed yourselves. Come back again and we'll give you an additional 10%discount. Have a wonderful holiday season. You're friends at Wyndemere Retreat in Zion

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wyndemere made our trip to Zion!

    Wyndemere made our trip to Zion!

    • Guest soph1234 (columbus ohio)
    • Date of stay 05/28/10
    • Review Submitted 06/13/10
    We recently stayed at Wyndemere to tour Zion and Bryce for a week, and the house made our stay! We had 4 couples who all love to cook, and we found the kitchen perfect for "group cooking," with lots of prep room and appliances and utensils, etc. The house was lovely, spotless when we arrived, and very easy to keep clean, which is not always easy when traveling in a big group. We used the hot tub every night to star gaze and I've never seen that many stars. For the daily trips to Zion, we were close to the park, so it was easy to get to in the morning and then we always looked forward to coming back to home camp. We had brought our laptop and used the house's WiFi -- which was good because few of us had cell phone reception around Zion.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are so glad that you enjoyed our home for your vacation. We take great pride in keeping our home looking fresh and upgraded with all the amenities one could want or need. We love having wonderful guests like you who enjoy the beautiful surroundings. Please visit us again and tell your friends. Thank you again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 03/23/10
    • Review Submitted 03/23/10
    My extended family had a lovely time at this home. It is indeed a beautiful home and is truly well stocked with almost everything anyone would or could need. Carol was easy to work with, checked up on us, and has someone nearby who can and will assist with any problems one might encounter. We had a wonderful, relaxing time in the snow and the location is in a good place near Zion, but we also took a drive to the Coral Pink Sand Dunes one day. We would certainly stay here again if the opportunity arose. Thanks Carol!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/05/09
    • Review Submitted 10/05/09
    This house was perfect for four couples.Very well located for trips to the canyon parks in a quiet wooded neighborhood. Perfectly furnished kitchen and comfortable living area. We highly recommend this home for a nice vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest V. Fox (Yardley, PA)
    • Date of stay 09/07/09
    • Review Submitted 09/07/09
    Dear Houston's, You have a magnificient home with all the comforts one could ask for. Since I enjoy cooking, I loved the kitchen best of all! The fact that Zion was so close made the week all the much better. We can't wait to return. Thank you.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]