Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
This is the outside of our home.  We are located on a quiet cul-de-sac.

Black Butte Home- Best Deal on the Ranch! Read Our Reviews! [#253511] | View Property

Black Butte Ranch
House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths (Sleeps 8-10)
$200 - $300/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (22)

Sort by:
  • Fully Stocked House in Great Location

    Fully Stocked House in Great Location

    • Guest kj (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 08/18/13
    • Review Submitted 09/03/13
    My family met for a reunion with kids aged 4-10 and three generations of adults...and everyone had a great time! The location on a cul-de-sac is fabulous for kids and the numerous bikes worked for everyone in our group. Good communication leading up to the rental and an easy week. Kids loved the kitchen nook. Black Butte in the summer is such a great vacation. We are all looking forward to next summer already.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Birthday Weekend Away

    Birthday Weekend Away

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 03/08/13
    • Review Submitted 04/04/13
    We had an awesome time at the Black Butte Home. It is so roomy, yet cozy! The minute you walk through the door, you feel welcome! The master bedroom bed is so comfy I wanted to stay in it all day! The dining room is beautiful, we enjoyed a wonderful steak dinner with candlelight. It is very peaceful and relaxing in the home. The big tub is wonderful for relaxing also. The kitchen had everything you could want in it. The home is just a super place to get away to. Very comfortable for 3 couples, but would easily hold more. The owner is literally a phone call away if there is any issues. With Sisters very near, shopping is great! And Sisters Coffee Company, the best! Great photo opportunities all around, but the head waters of the Metolious is just up the road, again, very beautiful. It's just a great place!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great House In Good Location

    Great House In Good Location

    • Guest Tom (Beaverton, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 08/26/12
    • Review Submitted 09/06/12
    Seven of our family members, ages 12 to 76, just returned from eight very enjoyable days at this comfortable, clean and well maintained home. It is conveniently located located near Paulina Springs and Pool. We made good use of the large deck and barbeque. The beds are comfortable and the quiet neighborhood conducive to a good night's sleep.. The house includes a two car garage which provided a safe place to store the eight bikes that we brought with us. We enjoyed some of the many amenities that are available at Black Butte Ranch. We made good use of the extensive network of walking/cycling paths. We also swam, walked the nature trail across the meadow, bird watched, played tennis, took a paddle board class, played Frisbee golf and took a horseback ride. The ridinng trail switch-backed up to the top of the "Knob", several hundred feet high, which features great views of the snow clad Three Sisters mountains, Broken Top, and Glaze Meadows. One afternoon we visited nearby Sisters for shopping and dinner. The following day we drove to Camp Sherman, a few miles from the ranch, near the headwaters of the scenic Metolius River. We found that the listing photos and description accurately depict the property. The owners are friendly and easy to deal with. We would not hesitate to recommend this home to a friend or relative.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Exceeded expectations!

    Exceeded expectations!

    • Guest PJ (Salem)
    • Date of stay 07/29/12
    • Review Submitted 08/18/12
    Our 2 families had a wonderful time at BB. The house had everything and more to use thoughout the house. Bedrooms were big and quiet. The loft area, although open to the great room, allowed the teens to sleep in. Paulina pool is just a short walk and the central location of the house was very convenient to everything on the ranch. We've stayed in several homes at the ranch and found this one to be our favorite. Thanks for providing us with such a great vacation!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Xmas

    Xmas

    • Guest kris (Vancouver, B.C.)
    • Date of stay 12/23/11
    • Review Submitted 12/30/11
    Our stay was great. There was everything we needed to make a great xmas dinner.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Winter Getaway!

    Wonderful Winter Getaway!

    • Guest Angie (Sandy, OR.)
    • Date of stay 12/10/11
    • Review Submitted 01/03/12
    We just returned from a wonderful weekend of fun at this amazing home! Our group consisted of four adults, and five children. There was PLENTY of room for everyone. This home is so warm and cozy. It was extremely clean, and packed full of everything we needed. Plenty of towels, bedding, paper products, kitchen supplies, etc. Since we were there in the winter, we enjoyed cozy nights building a fire in the wood stove. There was fire wood, and everything we needed to keep our fire going. We enjoyed going into sisters (just a five minute drive), and walking around all of the adorable little shops. We will absolutely be returning in the summer for some fun in the sun. I would 100% recommend this home!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family Get-away

    Family Get-away

    • Guest Jen (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 10/21/11
    • Review Submitted 11/11/11
    Our family had a great stay at Black Butte. It has the quiet needed for a weekend get-away combined with the amenities needed to feel relaxed. The kids wandered around the house in awe- they loved the twin beds in the loft and the quaint eating nook in the house. They were delighted by the horses and deer, too. We had a great time and wished we could stay longer. In the short time we were there we hiked the headwaters of the Metolious, swam at the community center and explored Sisters.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great vacation home!

    Great vacation home!

    • Guest Claire (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 08/07/11
    • Review Submitted 08/15/11
    Just spent a week in Black Butte at this vacation home and had a wonderful time sharing the home with several families, including 6 older teenagers and two younger children. The kitchen is well stocked with cooking supplies, dishes, etc. Enjoyed eating all of our meals on the deck and used the bbq every night. Took advantage of all BBR offers, including playing tennis, golfing, swimming and lots of bike riding. We would definitely stay again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Perfect Family Vacation House

    A Perfect Family Vacation House

    • Guest Marcia (Mercer Island, WA)
    • Date of stay 07/09/11
    • Review Submitted 07/18/11
    Our family, aged 7 to 72, felt right at home as soon as we entered the house. The kitchen is well equipped with everything we needed for our week's stay. We spent much of our "at home" time on the big deck eating, playing games, and enjoying the views. When inside, we enjoyed meals with views from the dining room table. This house really does comfortably sleep 8-10 people. There were enough bikes for everyone who wanted to ride and other sports equipment as well - scooters, golf clubs, tennis racquets, etc. The location of the house was perfect - close to the Paulina Pool, Paulina Springs, and trails through the meadow, to the Lodge area, and to Glaze Meadow. In the mornings, we could hear cows mooing while we had a cup of coffee or tea on the deck. bit of paradise for sure. We would highly recommend two off-ranch activities: white-water rafting on the McKenzie River with Ouzel Rafting Company and hiking along the Metolis River between the Canyon Creek Campground and the Wizard Falls Fish Hatchery. We would also recommend Papandreas Pizza in Sisters.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome house!

    Awesome house!

    • Guest Kathie (Salem)
    • Date of stay 06/26/11
    • Review Submitted 06/30/11
    We have stayed at this home three times and have thoroughly enjoyed our experience each time. The house is spotlessly clean and is very comfortable. The location is great-- we love being so close to the pool, tennis courts and golf course. We've stayed at other rentals where there are limited dishes, pans, utensils and basic supplies. . . not the case at this home. The owners have done such a great job making sure that all the necessary supplies and kitchen items are stocked. Our family has come with our aging parents and the house was great for accommodating all-- early risers, nappers and night owls! The upstairs has a private master suite that is secluded from the rest of the house. The downstairs bedrooms are tucked away from the family room/dining room/kitchen so they provide privacy. Booking the home was easy. Owners were so nice to answer my picky questions. I would recommend this home to anyone.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful retreat

    Wonderful retreat

    • Guest Brian J. (USA)
    • Date of stay 06/17/11
    • Review Submitted 06/30/11
    We would highly recommend this wonderful, mountain retreat. The home is well-appointed and very comfortable. The location is ideal too.... a quiet cul-de-sac with a large deck overlooking the woods. In the morning we would sit on the deck with our coffee and watch the deer and bunnies. In the evening we would BBQ on the deck and enjoy the partial view of Black Butte as the sun set. As a bonus the house is just minutes from a pool, creek, tennis court and bike paths. During the day we would go for a bike ride (enjoy the amazing view of the mountains and watch the horses and cows in the meadow) and then end up at one of the pools on the Black Butte property. Additionally, our children enjoyed the free and low-cost activities offered in the activity center (tie-dye t-shirts, scavenger hunts, canoe class). The owners have provided everything you need for a relaxing, comfortable stay. We hope to return again soon!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Vacation Home

    Wonderful Vacation Home

    • Guest Wendy (Gladstone, OR)
    • Date of stay 08/22/10
    • Review Submitted 09/03/10
    We very much enjoyed our week at your home! My husband and I loved the master suite upstairs and the living room and other nicely sized bedrooms downstairs. We had our college age kids with us and they were able to stay up late and watch movies downstairs without disturbing our sleep. The bedrooms downstairs are located away from the living room so that we were able to get up early and get our coffee and watch the news without waking the kids. Thank you for all the storage space! We had plenty of room in the pantry for everything and loved having the garage to store our bikes safely. Just loved the layout of the home! We hiked Black Butte, explored some caves, and rode bikes to Camp Sherman twice. It's always fun and quick to shop at Sisters, or have a Sno-Cap burger & ice cream. I also love the Ray's grocery store - their bakery is great! We will certainly recommend this home!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great house!

    Great house!

    • Guest Susie (Oregon)
    • Date of stay 08/08/10
    • Review Submitted 08/16/10
    Wonderful vacation home - lots of room and great location near the pool. The owners were easy to work with and we would definitely rent again.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Black Butte Experience is a Must!

    Black Butte Experience is a Must!

    • Guest Toni (Happy Valley, OR)
    • Date of stay 07/03/10
    • Review Submitted 07/15/10
    The Barker home at Black Butte Ranch is the place to be if you are looking for a great place for a family vacation. The location of this house is in the center of the ranch. So, if you are a walker, a bike rider, a runner, a golfer or a swimmer you will be minutes from everything. This house is fully equipped with everything that you could possibly need. We love going for morning walks and evening bike rides. Gathering family and friends together for a BBQ in the evening and spending hours visiting on the deck were our favorites this year. The weather was perfect for a Black Butte hike. The weather was just beautiful, cool nights and perfect temperature during the day. Another week of bliss!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great family getaway

    Great family getaway

    • Guest C (Portland, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 06/26/10
    • Review Submitted 07/13/10
    We really enjoyed the location of this home, just a few minutes from Paulina Springs and pool. A nice quiet spot. We spent most of our waking hours on the deck. Kitchen has lots of counter space and cupboard space. House was very clean and tidy. Owners were extremely responsive and accommodating. A great place for multi-family gathering. Plenty of "spaces" to hang out and relax!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Black Butte House

    Great Black Butte House

    • Guest Cindy (Salem, OR)
    • Date of stay 06/18/10
    • Review Submitted 06/22/10
    We loved staying at this great Black Butte house! The house was clean and well maintained. The photos accurately showed the appearance. The kitchen had every possible utensil imaginable and lots of dishes-it was so well equipped. It was great having bikes and golf clubs available. The owners were very helpful and quick to answer questions. There are so many things to do in the area, one of our favorites is to hike up Black Butte. The view is so great. I would definitely recommend this property to others-in fact, I already have. As my daughter-in-law said, "the only disappointing thing was that we didn't stay long enough".

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Ideal cabin for family vacation!

    Ideal cabin for family vacation!

    • Guest pdxbrian (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 06/11/10
    • Review Submitted 06/15/10
    Our family has stayed here a couple of times and we LOVE this cabin. First off, if you're not familiar with Black Butte Ranch, it's a private gated area with excellent biking, golfing, and swimming, plus TONS of summer and winter activities very close by: Hoodoo ski resort, Sisters for restaurants & shopping, Suttle Lake,... on and on. Back to the cabin, the rooms are big and comfortable. Both times we've been the house is immaculately clean when we arrive and even has firewood stacked and ready to go in the wood stove. The way the house is divided with rooms and bathrooms on both levels make it ideal for 2 or even 3 families to stay here and not feel too crowded. It's on a quiet street with area out front for kids to play & explore away from traffic. The owners clearly care about making their guests feel welcome. There's a bunch of bikes downstairs, including helmets, that are available to use. Flat Panel LCD TV with HD channels, DVD player with several DVD's available to watch for free. The deck has nice, comfortable table and outdoor chairs. Beach towels are available to take to the nearby Glaze Meadows aquatic center which our kids LOVE. All the appliances work well and there's plenty of silverware and place settings. One of our favorite features is the food stove which is fully stocked with firewood. Perfect for getting toasty on cool evenings. A couple of activities we love: The Sisters Coffee Company in Sisters, OR. Canoeing at Suttle Lake. Family skiing at Hoodoo; we love Mt. Bachelor but Hoodoo is logistically a lot easier and cheaper for teaching kids and it's beautiful. They have a fantastic inner-tubing hill too. The aquatic center is our kids favorite thing to do. There's a great, flat, paved bike path that goes thru the heart of the ranch that's easy for kids to ride. I'm a cyclist and would recommend riding the McKinzie Pass route out of Sisters for a breathtaking view. We STRONGLY recommend this cabin!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Karen Sears (Santa Barbara CA)
    • Date of stay 10/08/09
    • Review Submitted 10/08/09
    My husband and I spent three relaxing nights at the Barker's very comfortable vacation home. We love Black Butte and it's calm environment, beautiful golf courses and many bike paths. We found their home to have everything we needed to make ourselves at home. Too bad we didn't have more of our family there to enjoy such a large place! Well, maybe next time...

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Rob Morrison (California)
    • Date of stay 08/05/09
    • Review Submitted 08/05/09
    I have stayed at the Barker's Black Butte home several times; both in the summer and winter. It is in a great, central location that has easy access to pools, tennis courts, the meadow and biking trails. I've been there with two families and there was plenty of room for all of us. The upstairs is very private and quiet if you need to have some quiet time. The loft was a great place for my grandchildren to sleep and play. The kitchen has everything you need and it was so nice not to have to haul everything over to prepare a nice meal. I have stayed at multiple properties on the ranch and this one is a great value for the money. The owners were very pleasant and organized.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Barbie Tew (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 07/20/09
    • Review Submitted 07/20/09
    We enjoyed a weekend at the Barker's lovely home last fall. It was so relaxing to be able to feel so comfortable. The kitchen was great for preparing meals, we had all the equipment we needed. Being away from the hustle and bustle of life in such a tranquil environment was a tonic for my busy family. We will definitely stay there again, and would highly recommend it.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Polly Sierk (Portland, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 07/20/09
    • Review Submitted 07/20/09
    My family and I spent a week at the Barker's Black Butte home. GREAT home! As soon as we walked in the door we felt relaxed! Very child friendly home. Our evenings were spent just handing out in the comfortable, large family room. We are looking forward to returning this winter.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Stacey Osborn (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 07/20/09
    • Review Submitted 07/19/09
    I have stayed here on numerous occasions and LOVE this house. It is clean, comfortable, and close to all of the things my friends and I love to do - bike, swim, play tennis, ski, etc. I would recommend this vacation spot to anyone!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]