Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Unwind Under the Umbrella of Shade Trees

Steps from No Stairs Beach - on Large Wooded Lot [#254783] | View Property

Grand Haven
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 11)
$200 - $256/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (19)

Sort by:
  • Sweet & fun property

    Sweet & fun property

    • Guest Happy Visitor (Ohio)
    • Date of stay 08/24/13
    • Review Submitted 09/03/13
    We were totally happy! The owners were very helpful and the place was very clean. Easy walk to the wonderful beach. Short drive to grocery and Grand Haven town. Vander Mill brews Cider & beer and has great food and samples FUN & Yummy. 14921 Cleveland St, Spring Lake, MI 49456 The bikes are in good shape so we made a mistake by bringing our own and should have rented their bikes.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Enjoy comfort and tranquility here!

    Enjoy comfort and tranquility here!

    • Guest Biking Mom (Rochester Hills, MI)
    • Date of stay 08/10/13
    • Review Submitted 10/17/13
    We had a wonderful time and are grateful for all of your amenities – from plush towels and beach chairs to that awesome campfire pit!! Our son (age 26) made campfires on two evenings, and we sang all of the songs from when we camped in our tent 20 years ago – so much fun!! Your home was in a beautiful location and had everything we needed! I had brought several favorite utensils from home not expecting your amazingly well-equipped kitchen!! Wow – a Cuisinart skillet which was perfect for making a large serving of risotto! The only sad part was turning on the furnace twice in the mornings to heat up the basement area; we used this more than the AC!! Your updated 'cottage' was so well stocked with books, games, and the basic essentials which made relaxing so much fun. You have kept it clean and inviting! We found many beautiful parks, scenic locations, biking trails, and places to hike that we know we’ll return again. Rosy Mound was picturesque, and the tall pines at the end of the trail were simply awesome!! From the Grand Haven Farmers Market, its inviting shops and restaurants, the nightly water and light show, to its lovely neighborhoods, this area is a vacation 'haven'! And your home is the perfect place to stay for a close walk to a private beach and tranquility. We'll be back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • A Grand Time in Grand Haven

    A Grand Time in Grand Haven

    • Guest JoMar68 (Lima, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 07/27/13
    • Review Submitted 08/15/13
    Painted Sky was everything that you advertised and depicted. Everyone in our family had a great time despite the several rainy days and cooler than normal temperatures. We all kept busy no matter what. The rustic area was a relaxed atmosphere and very enjoyable. We really appreciated all your suggestions and recommendations for the area, that you provide for your renters at the cottage. They were very helpful and right on. Thank you for having such a nice place and allowing us to rent it. We definitely will keep your vacation cottage in mind the next time we can make it back up to Michigan.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wonderful, Relaxing, Fully Equipped, Perfect For a Family Vacation

    Wonderful, Relaxing, Fully Equipped, Perfect For a Family Vacation

    • Guest Sandy (Indianapolis)
    • Date of stay 07/06/13
    • Review Submitted 07/23/13
    The house was immaculate when we arrived, fully equipped to prepare family meals, and generally wonderful. Beach access was a big plus, and we used it every day. The public beach is small, but nice and easy to get to. There's a very small and relatively easy hill to get to the beach. No stairs and no tremendous dune. Beachcombing on long shoreline walks was a lot of fun for everyone. The beds were comfortable, the layout was great for a family. There were places to gather, and some places to get away from the big group. We enjoyed the ping pong table, the glider on the front porch (I sat out there a lot knitting, reading and just relaxing). Kids liked the hammock and the back yard play area. Bike/walking trails are just a few steps away from the front door, making it perfect for runners, bikers, and walkers. We did not get to use the fire pit this trip (maybe next time). Grand Haven is a small town with many beautiful homes and friendly folks. There is a smallish shopping area that was fun to explore. We found a few good restaurants too. Holland and it's many shops and restaurants are just 15 minutes away. I could happily spend 2 weeks here and hope to do so in the future!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Nice cottage overall

    Nice cottage overall

    • Guest ErinRocks (Green Bay, Wisconsin)
    • Date of stay 06/04/13
    • Review Submitted 07/24/13
    Nice cottage with plenty of beach and bath towels. There were some problems with bugs in the house, but we went in June, and all the houses in the area probably had the same problem. At the other end of the street is a nice beach. It is a "no stairs" beach, but there is still a somewhat steep hill to walk up and down to get there and back. There were a few areas that could use a fresh coat of paint, but overall the cottage was cute and nicely decorated. At night though, there wasn't a whole lot to do if you didn't go into town. Only one TV and no Internet. There's a playground/swingset for kids in the back and a Lego table in the basement. I would suggest investing in some plastic plates, bowls, cups, etc. though as the only ones in the cupboards were breakable.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Beautiful

    Beautiful

    • Guest girls getaway (Michigan)
    • Date of stay 09/27/12
    • Review Submitted 10/23/12
    Our long week-end stay at Painted Sky was fabulous. The weather was gorgeous for late Sept., in the 70's and the sunsets were beautiful. Spent hours each day walking the beach and evenings beside a fire to take away the chill. Painted Sky was just as advertised, which isn't always the case when renting. The house was clean,well stocked, and the fireplace in good working order. Plenty of towels. The lawn furniture was still out for use too, which was great. Everything we were looking for was here and all six of us would definitely choose to vacation here again. The only drawback? If you want to have a fire outside, there was a note on the fridge saying you must put the firepit (outside fireplace) on the driveway. We thought this very strange and were disappointed not to be able to have a fire outside because of the cars being in the way. Not sure if that's an old note that needs to be changed or what. We travel each year to a different place in MI and find a house to rent. Sometimes we choose to go back to a place we especially liked. This house will be on that list.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great Place for a Girls Weekend!

    Great Place for a Girls Weekend!

    • Guest -H- (Davisburg, MI)
    • Date of stay 09/14/12
    • Review Submitted 09/17/12
    First off I have never rented a vacation home before so I wasn't quite sure how he whole process worked but the owners made the process extremely easy. I rented Painted Sky for a girls weekend in Grand Haven and was definitely not disappointed! The cottage more than exceeded my expectations as well as those of my friends. The cabin had everything we needed for our long weekend stay and was only a 15 minute easy drive into town. We enjoyed watching the sunset from the private beach and our morning coffee out on the lawn in the provided lawn furniture and hammock. The cottage was very clean and very well done inside. We had a wonderful stay and look forward to staying there again in the future!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • LOVE Painted Sky!

    LOVE Painted Sky!

    • Guest young grandma (Grand Rapids, MI)
    • Date of stay 08/18/12
    • Review Submitted 09/15/12
    What a lovely cottage! Our family, which included married children and 6 grandkids under seven, had a wonderful vacation at Painted Sky. It was exactly as depicted on the website. It was very, very clean, well stocked and maintained. We loved the beach at the end of the road, which we went to every day. The trail was a little steep to get to the water, but not long at all. At times, it felt like our own private beach. The clean water was shallow for a ways, so it was great for young swimmers.We also took long walks on the beach. Grand Haven and Holland beaches are the best in the world! The kids rode their bikes most days to the beach. The guys could bring babies back to the cottage for naps... babies in the pack-n-play and men in the hammock :) Enjoyed fires every night in the fire pit. Went to Grand Haven D&W for groceries a few times, even a birthday cake for the 2 yr. old. We even biked the back way (dirt road) to the CR Conference Grounds for ice cream and homemade pie. yum. It was a great first time cottage experience. We hope we can do it again next year.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Loved Painted Sky!

    Loved Painted Sky!

    • Guest Kelly (plainfield, IL)
    • Date of stay 07/14/12
    • Review Submitted 07/25/12
    The cottage was very cute and clean. It was perfect for our group, which included two families and a total of 5 children aged 7-12. The kids loved the huge basement and play room, and we loved the large lot. We had family staying in the area, and our set up was the best, so everyone came over to Painted Sky to hang out with us. We would definately rent this cottage again if we decide to return to Grand Haven.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wonderful Vacation House For a Family

    Wonderful Vacation House For a Family

    • Guest happymom (Bloomington, IN)
    • Date of stay 06/23/12
    • Review Submitted 07/03/12
    We had a wonderful time staying at Painted Sky Cottage. One of our children is very uncomfortable around big crowds, so when we decided to go to Lake Michigan for vacation this year, we wanted to find a place to stay and beaches to visit that would not overwhelm him. This location was great! The house was very clean and pretty. The backyard swingset and forest area were a big hit with the kids, as was the basement with a ping pong table and lego area. We loved grilling in the front and lying on the hammock. The beautiful beach at the end of the street usually only had about 10-20 people (other than ourselves) at the busiest time of the afternoon. Our daughter loved riding a bike to this beach whenever we went to it. As other reviews have mentioned, the sunsets are beautiful here as well. Rosy Mound Natural Area had an incredibly beautiful and uncrowded beach, beautiful trails too. If you want to visit both Holland and Grand Haven, this house is a great location--we went over to Holland a couple of times during our trip for Nelis' Dutch Village and Windmill Island Gardens. The only thing we would have liked is for there to have been an internet connection. Other than that, this house met all of our needs. We made a lot of great memories here!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Painted Sky Cottage

    Painted Sky Cottage

    • Guest Lori (Brighton, MI)
    • Date of stay 09/30/11
    • Review Submitted 11/01/11
    I received my security deposit back today and it reminded me that I have been wanting to let you know what a WONDERFUL time we had at Painted Sky! The location is great for those of us who prefer a quiet setting. It’s beautiful. Short walk to the lake was wonderful. The beachfront was beautiful and a great beach to walk. Your place is very well maintained and stocked with everything we needed to have the perfect ladies weekend. The sleeping arrangements also worked out very well. It was very comfortable. Seating for 8 of us at the dining room table was perfect. And, not to mention your willingness to allow us to stay on Sunday past the usual check-out time. I think we probably left somewhere between 2:00 and 3:00. Allowed us to have a leisurely breakfast and take another walk on the beach before heading home. We have not stopped raving about your place since we’ve been back home. What more can I say? We enjoyed every minute that we were there. Thanks again for sharing your place with us! If we decide to head to Grand Haven again, you can bet we will check to see if Painted Sky is available to rent!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • The yearly vacation rental we've been looking for...

    The yearly vacation rental we've been looking for...

    • Guest L M.
    • Date of stay 09/08/11
    • Review Submitted 09/20/11
    This cottage was very pretty and comfortable and most of all: very clean. We've had issues with the cleanliness of some other rental houses we've used, but this one was clean from top to bottom. A few of our favorite features: a large kitchen, wonderful front and back yards for the kids (with playset), a mudroom/sitting room with a wall of hooks and shoe trays for all of your beach stuff/towels, an enormous basement where our kids loved playing (including a ping pong table which was a huge hit), a charming front porch where we had coffee each morning, a fire pit where we roasted marshmallows in the evening, lots of seating at the large kicthen and dining room table so we were able to host our family members in the Grand Haven area, washer and dryer, and of course, the beautiful beach right at the end of the block. GREAT rental! We will be back in 2012 for sure.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Great Family Cottage

    Great Family Cottage

    • Guest Busy mom (Dillsburg, PA)
    • Date of stay 06/11/11
    • Review Submitted 07/05/11
    Grand Haven was a "middle meeting place" for our family that lives in the midwest and on the east coast and the Painted Sky Cottage was a wonderful home for the week. It was clean, fully furnished with everything as was promised on the website and the communication with the owner was excellent. The location is fantastic! A short walk from the beach and a short bike ride or drive from the wonderful little town of Grand Haven. We enjoyed hikes, swimming and sitting at the beach, fishing, shopping at the farmers market and downtown... and a movie at the cinema on a rainy day. It was wonderful for our family that included grandparents and teenagers!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • stocked with the bare minimum

    stocked with the bare minimum

    • Guest Lake Michigan stole our hearts (Temperance, MI)
    • Date of stay 05/18/11
    • Review Submitted 08/27/11
    The price was good and the beach a few houses down was quiet and beautiful. It took a good 10-15mins. to get to "town" though. The house had lots of ants which I noticed other renters had left notes about but the problem was still there. I was very disappointed in the level of "stocking." For our family of four staying 5 days we had only 4 towels/washcloths. Guess you are supposed to use the same ones every day? And there was a grill but no charcoal and the frig was empty. I am used to seeing a t least some condiments in the frig or enough laundry supplies to do a few loads of wash if you need. At this home we had to wash the beach towels before we left and that is exactly how much ration was supplied of laundry soap. There was 1 "dish sponge" in a pkg to wash dishes with... I ended up driving to Meijer and buying dishrags to wash dishes with. The playscape outback was nice until we got outside... the ground below has no grass or woodchips, just dirt. Our kids ended up very dirty with mud-caked shoes. I did contact the owners after our arrival to ask about some of these things but I was told "this is how we've been doing it for years and nobody else has ever had any problems with these things." Hmph.

    Owner response: Painted Sky is an impeccably clean cottage located only four miles from downtown Grand Haven. It is a privately owned home we each use with our own families for summer vacations and long weekends, as well as renting it out to others. We have a wonderful housekeeper, handyman, and lawn service to help us out with any issues that may arise during our guests’ stay. The home is stocked with starter amounts of toilet paper, paper towels, laundry detergent, and dryer sheets. We supply ample amounts of hand soap, dishwasher and liquid dish soap, large and small trash bags, stick matches, salt, pepper, and coffee filters. The kitchen has all the necessary gadgets and appliances guests’ would need, such as a coffee bean grinder, blender, electric mixer, Bosh cordless mixer, hand juicer, and even a crock pot. Dish towels, a new dish sponge and a table cloth for the picnic table are also provided. Clean linens are placed on the beds, and each guest is given a set of towels (washcloth, hand, and bath) along with a beach towel to use during their stay. We always welcome feedback from our guests as it helps us “fine tune” our services. For many homeowners in the area ants had been an issue this spring due to the very heavy rainfall. In early June the backyard play area was surfaced with playground quality wood chips. And as for food items such as condiments, in compliance with state health laws, we do not provide those to guests. While we typically advise guests of what is provided, it is evident from these comments that we need to be clearer so guests can better prepare themselves. These comments were helpful in further refining our guests’ experience so they will enjoy Painted Sky as much as we do! Jane and Theresa – Painted Sky owners

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • Great Family Vacation

    Great Family Vacation

    • Guest Grandma Camp (Columbia City, IN)
    • Date of stay 07/17/10
    • Review Submitted 08/07/10
    This was a cute, clean, and comfortable cottage. We brought too much stuff with us that we didn't need because the owners seemed to think of everything. Our Grandkids loved the back yard set, all the toys in the walk-out basement and the garage and best of all for them, the Lego table and Lego assortment. Each twin bed had a night stand to hold their water and their books. There were plenty of books for both children and adults. We took them to the city beach most days and it was a great place for them to play. There were lots of things for the adults to do also. The cottage has a beautiful front yard with a hammock and adirondack chairs. We saw birds and butterflies come to the flowers and bird bath along the picket fence almost constantly. Grand Haven has great shops, coffee shops and restaurants. We took bike rides along the bike path and watched the sunsets from the near-by beach. It was a great family vacation.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/9

  • Lovely!

    Lovely!

    • Guest Kara (Illinois)
    • Date of stay 06/12/10
    • Review Submitted 07/01/10
    We rented the cottage with another couple and our kids. The cottage was lovely--well maintained and nicely decorated. The kitchen was great--gas stove and all the pots, pans, utensils, and dishes we needed. The bedrooms were very nice with spotless, soft bedding. One of the bedrooms had plenty of space for a pack and play with room to move. Living room/dining area was very nice with a beautiful table with seating for our entire group with room to spare and a comfortable couch. The beach towels provided are great quality. The kids were in the downstairs bedroom and they loved having their own kid space and choosing their beds. One great perk in the kids' room is the bookshelf--a nice assortment of books including some favorites such as Ferdinand and the Berenstain Bears. The kids adored the playset in the back yard, along with another tree swing that was fun as well. We cooked out on the grill and also used the firepit to make s'mores. Kids were able to use sidewalk chalk and loved hanging out on the hammock (actually everyone loved their time on the hammock!). The walk to the beach is short and the small stretch of road you have to travel has little to no traffic. Sand and water were beautiful at the beach, and all of the people we met with were friendly. The town of Grand Haven is charming, with lots of lovely shops & spots for delicious meals whether you want breakfast, lunch, or dinner. (There is also a Meijer and Target very close by for any household shopping you need to do, grocery or otherwise.) We also visited Holland, which was also wonderful--and they have a spectacular farmer's market. All-in-all, a great cottage in a great location. What's more, the owner I dealt with throughout the rental process was very helpful, answering all my questions and providing recommendations for area attractions and restaurants. It was a very good experience. I would recommend to a friend.

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 10/10

    • Guest Dan and Ellie Pettee (Grand Rapids, MI USA)
    • Date of stay 09/14/09
    • Review Submitted 09/14/09
    We spent a wonderful, relaxing week here with our two daughters - one married with son-in-law and granddaughter, aged 3, and single daughter from Chicago. It was perfect - so clean, wonderfully equipped kitchen, and beautiful location. We loved walking to the beach each day, and biking on the trail. Beds were comfy, and it was so quiet and peaceful there.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/10/09
    • Review Submitted 09/10/09
    Dear Johnsons and Loackers, Thank you for obviously caring so much about accomedating your guests with a high level of comfort and ease at Painted Sky. Towels and bedding - luxurious, kitchen - admirably supplied, dining/game table - large and comfortable, decor - pleasing to the eye, beach chairs, bikes, parking, scenery, sand, fire pit, grill, sun room, fireplace, front porch, hammock, adirondack chairs, I cannot possibly list all the wonderful ammenities we enjoyed. Everything we needed or wanted was at our fingertips no amtter what the weather! Even the neighbors are friendly. What a great place to unplug and relax! We plan on visiting again and again for years to come. This is definatley the best vacation home we have ever stayed in - and we have been to plenty! Thanks again and keep up the good work. Pleased in Palatine

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/9

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/28/09
    • Review Submitted 08/28/09
    This has been one of the nicest places I have ever stayed..I love the open living room and dining room space with the wonderful table built for family game night or card games with my girlfriends! The beach is beautiful and it is a sweet cottage! Thank you so much for all the wonderful memories for me and my family.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/9



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]