Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
front of the Beach Shack with large deck in the front

Charming, Completely Remodeled, and Fully Stocked for a Special Get Away. [#254894] | View Property

Bandon
Sleeps up to 6 people in 2 queen and 3 twin beds. 1 bedroom, loft and 1 bath.
$125 - $150/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (14)

Sort by:
  • The Bandon Beach Shack is an unforgettable experience.

    The Bandon Beach Shack is an unforgettable experience.

    • Guest Omar (albuquerque)
    • Date of stay 10/23/13
    • Review Submitted 01/28/14
    The Bandon Beach Shack is an unforgettable experience. First of all, thebeach shack is fully stocked with everything a family needs to spend a vacation at the beach. My wife and I spent a month there and were never in need of anything. They have thought of everything from galoshes to walk on the beach to spices for our favorite sea food dishes. And the assortment of games they have is perfect for the rainy days spent indoors with the kids. All questions I had were answered immediately. The beach shack itself is literally steps away from the beach entrance. We could not have asked for a better location. There is even a colony of seals a short walk away. The town is great for afternoon strolls and to grab a bite to eat out. The building is great too with an upstairs loft to see the ocean during the day and to view stars at night. But you will not be spending much time indoors anyway. I have been to 6 continents and can say without a doubt that the Oregon coastline is one of the most beautiful sights in the world. And the stretch of beach at Bandon is the best of all. I look forward to returning soon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Cozy get away by the beach

    Cozy get away by the beach

    • Guest Lee L.
    • Date of stay 06/01/13
    • Review Submitted 07/09/13
    Our family of 4 ( 2 boys aged 7 and 9 ) stayed here for 1 week. We had the perfect time , the Beach Shack is so nice , so clean ,cozy and well equipped. We spent our time walking the beach ( which is amazing , so wild and rugged ) my boys spent many an hour building forts with the driftwood .There are lots of lovely lighthouses to visit in the area.The town of Bandon just a few minutes walk away has so many delicious restaurants to offer. There was a great second hand book store where we bought books to read back at the Shack. It was such a nice week a lovely get away . My boys did not want to leave and loved their bedroom in the loft . The warm, sofa throws were a big hit. The owners really made our stay heavenly and we will remember the Bandon beach shack for years to come. On a day trip we drove to Northern California to check out the Redwoods . The Bandon beach shack was just perfect and we loved every minute of our stay here.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • This place is delightful!

    This place is delightful!

    • Guest Tammie J. (Wilton, Ca )
    • Date of stay 03/04/13
    • Review Submitted 06/01/13
    I had the pleasure of staying here for almost 4 weeks and it was a delight! Troy and Dione were great hosts and were there to answer any questions and provide guidance when needed. It was evident that there was thought given to details for guests and I hope to come back again in the near future. I walked the beach every day, meet friendly people and the walk to town is less than a mile. I liked the idea of not having to take the car everywhere I went!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Adorable!

    Adorable!

    • Guest Catherine R.
    • Date of stay 02/09/13
    • Review Submitted 02/19/13
    This little beach shack was the perfect place for my writer's retreat! I stayed six night during February (off-season) and loved every minute. The shack has been recently renovated and has everything you need for your stay (just bring your own food and personal items). It's painted in soothing colors and has plenty of spots to curl up and relax. The beach access is just a half-block away; you can hear the ocean from the front deck and can see it from the loft. The owners were easily accessible via email, phone and text and were really helpful answering all my questions about the shack and Bandon. The shack is small and cozy. It will technically sleep 7 people, but would be better for groups of five or less with no more than 3 adults. I stayed there alone, but it would really be a wonderful romantic retreat, or great for a family with a few kids. Bandon is a darling small town! Old Town is very close to this property and features two bookshops, coffee shop, several restaurants, an art gallery, a toy shop, a chocolate shop and several shops selling local crafts. The people of Bandon were warm and friendly. The worst part of my stay? Leaving!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Adorable and Cozy!

    Adorable and Cozy!

    • Guest Catherine R.
    • Date of stay 02/09/13
    • Review Submitted 02/19/13
    If you're looking for a small, cozy place to stay close to the beach in Bandon, this is it! It's just a half block from the public access point and you can see the ocean from the loft. The shack is fully-stocked with everything you'll need for your stay (just bring some food and your personal products like shampoo). The owners have renovated the shack and everything is new and in good condition. Owners are readily accessible via phone, email and text. While I was there, two of the lights in the kitchen weren't working, and they immediately sent the electrician to fix them. Bandon is a cute little town with plenty to see and do (check out the lighthouse on the jetty and Old Town Bandon, which has fun little shops, restaurants and a dock for crabbing).

    Owner response: So glad to hear you had a great time and thanks for the review!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Christmas at the Beach Shack

    Christmas at the Beach Shack

    • Guest JD (Medford, Oregon, USA)
    • Date of stay 12/24/12
    • Review Submitted 12/27/12
    The two of us were snug and cozy for our stay, in spite of the big winter storm with howling winds and driving rains that kept us off the beach most of the time. There is a nice 'shipshape' orderliness to this pleasant home. It is obvious that a lot of care and thought went into the accommodations. It is a perfect place for small, friendly groups. The owners are very helpful and have a lot of information available that is accurate. I hope to stay there again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Glad you enjoyed the stay! Looking forward to having you back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Loved this place:)

    Loved this place:)

    • Guest Cindy (United States)
    • Date of stay 08/01/12
    • Review Submitted 01/01/13
    We had the pleasure of staying here for the month of Aug 2012...loved everyday! Walks on the beach/fires in the wood burning stove/crabbing on the dock in town/visiting all the interesting places around Bandon!! Owners were easy to contact and had a lovely home for us to call home! Bandon is the best!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Grade A Frame

    Grade A Frame

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/21/12
    • Review Submitted 04/27/12
    This is a super place to stay. Small, but cozy and nicely decorated by nice modernists. Had some trouble with a corroded key/lockset, but they helped us out over the phone/email quickly. A pitching wedge from the beach. Great sound system, nice shower, bean grinder and French press, wood burning FP. Aromatic cedar firewood and oiled cedar plank floor in the back porch had us all smelling like fragrant forest gnomes (OK, that's a stretch). Near the fog horn, but you don't hear it after an hour or so (it's only really) noticeable outside.

    Owner response: Glad you had a great time! Love the part of the fog horn, I miss hearing it when I'm not in Bandon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • The Oregon Coast is AMAZING

    The Oregon Coast is AMAZING

    • Guest Deb and Jim (Colorado)
    • Date of stay 11/23/11
    • Review Submitted 03/14/12
    My family and I were lucky enough to stay in this cozy little A-Frame for 10 weeks in November, December and January. Dione and Troy were terrific hosts who dealt with any issue we had promptly (ie we needed more firewood at one point). It was a very cozy little house, but it was spotless and looked exactly as it does in the pictures. We felt at home right away. The kitchen is small, but functional (the refrigerator in particular is quite tiny), and I cooked Thanksgiving, Christmas, and 2 birthday dinners out of it. The amazing beach is only a short walk down a little-used lane and over a slight bluff. We saw a ton of interesting sea creatures - starfish, limpets, snails, hermit crabs, even seals! Old Town Bandon is minutes away and very cute, with lots of little shops, candy stores, and bookstores. Bandon has a couple of small grocery stores and coffee huts, but if you need WalMart or Starbucks, you will need to drive to Coos Bay (about 30 minutes north). The only thing I would mention is that the house has very little space for your personal belongings - there are no closets at all, and I think the back porch could use some more coat hooks. However, unless you are staying for months on end like we did, I don't see that being a huge issue for most people. There is an abundance of towels and sheets - and even a basket of rain boots on the back porch. We were very happy there. In fact, I miss the cute little house and the amazing beach quite a lot.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wonderful Week At The Oregon Coast

    Wonderful Week At The Oregon Coast

    • Guest Jeanseau (San Diego)
    • Date of stay 07/05/10
    • Review Submitted 11/03/11
    Our week was wonderful, thank you! The place is beautiful and clean, with lovely furnishings. The beach is awesome, especially since it's right across the street. And we love the little town of Bandon . . . the art, food, bookstore, and coffee shops. We can tell a lot of love and care went into the home. That's why we've stayed there several times and we look forward to our next stay. -The Jeanseaux's

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Joy and Micah
    • Date of stay 05/01/10
    • Review Submitted 04/18/11
    Besides our honeymoon in Europe, this was our favorite vacation. The house is an ideal romantic setting to relax and enjoy the incredible beauty strolling the beach in Bandon. So much better than staying in a typically constructed house or hotel. I would highly recommend it.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/4

    • Guest Ward Family2 (Huntington Beach, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/22/09
    • Review Submitted 07/22/09
    "Bandon is the best place in the world,” says our 9 year-old son. After two separate week-long trips to the Hickerson’s Bandon Beach Shack, our son wonders why we go home at all. The Hickerson’s home is homey, well-appointed, and convenient to enjoying the magic of the Oregon coast. Some of our favorite things to do while in Bandon include: catching crabs from the town pier; visiting 2 Loons Cafe for hot chocolate, baked treats and friendly chat with the staff; exploring the beach in search of agates and driftwood; building driftwood forts; visiting the wild animals at the West Coast Game Park; riding horseback on the beach, eating fresh seafood at Tony’s Crab Shack and Bandon Fish Market; and watching “Goonies” from the Hickerson’s video collection. What a great place. We already look forward to next summer’s trip to the Hickerson’s Bandon Beach Shack.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 16/18

  • The perfect Oregon coast beach shack

    The perfect Oregon coast beach shack

    • Guest Matthew P.
    • Date of stay 06/13/09
    • Review Submitted 10/30/11
    We've traveled down the Oregon coast before, but always staying in hotels that lack character and style. The beach shack was everything we hope for a week long vacation and more. The huge value here (besides the reasonable price) is they thought of everything! Next time I will pack much lighter, knowing how fully prepped the place is. We cooked meals, went crabbing and tide pooling and went on looooonnnggg walks down the endless beach. We also went for a few polar bear swims (which are not for the faint) and made a side trip up to the falls and picked berries to make an awesome tart that night. When I think of the total cost vs. staying in town at a hotel it's not even close. The shack was small and cosy, but easily accommodated the 6 close friends and family we had with us. We will definitely return here as soon as we can get away again. Our next plan is to stay here for a week long vacation (or workation) with plenty of morning walks to the quant little town to get coffee to kick off each day, and long sunset walks on the beach and a warm fire in the fireplace to end the night.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Ideal Oregon coast getaway

    Ideal Oregon coast getaway

    • Guest Matthew P.
    • Date of stay 06/13/09
    • Review Submitted 10/30/11
    We've traveled down the Oregon coast before, but always staying in hotels that lack character and style. The beach shack was everything we hope for a week long vacation and more. The huge value here (besides the reasonable price) is they thought of everything! Next time I will pack much lighter, knowing how fully prepped the place is. We cooked meals, went crabbing and tide pooling and went on looooonnnggg walks down the endless beach. We also went for a few polar bear swims (which are not for the faint) and made a side trip up to the falls and picked berries to make an awesome tart that night. When I think of the total cost vs. staying in town at a hotel it's not even close. The shack was small and cosy, but easily accommodated the 7 close friends and family we had with us. We will definitely return here as soon as we can get away again. Our next plan is to stay here for a week long vacation (or workation) with plenty of morning walks to the quant little town to get coffee to kick off each day, and long sunset walks on the beach and a warm fire in the fireplace to end the night.

    Owner response: Glad you had a great time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]