Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
View from the deck of The LaPlata Mountain to the east.

Cozy House on 35 Acres with Mesa Verde and Mountain Views [#254903] | View Property

Dolores
House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 4-6)
$95/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (18)

Sort by:
  • Great spot, and clean as could be.

    Great spot, and clean as could be.

    • Guest Walt W.
    • Date of stay 10/06/13
    • Review Submitted 10/16/13
    This is a cozy, little place that had everything we needed. It was very comfortable for the two of us and our dog. Having stayed in a fair number of vacation rentals, I have to say this one was both the most complete in terms of amenities, and absolutely the cleanest vacation rental we've experienced. Dean was very responsive to all of our questions and went out of his way to do everything he could to ensure that we had a great stay. We enjoyed the quiet solitude and the evening stars. It's centrally located in SW Colorado, short distances to Mesa Verde, Canyon of the Ancients, Durango, Telluride, and other attractions. You won't run out of things to do!! I'd definitely recommend this vacation rental to anyone, and we'll probably be back in the near future.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Terrific Getaway, Great Rides

    Terrific Getaway, Great Rides

    • Guest Dean S.
    • Date of stay 09/27/13
    • Review Submitted 10/15/13
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The house is very comfortable, immaculately clean, and equipped with everything we needed (linens, pots, pans, utensils, dinnerware, paper products, etc). The location is wonderful, close enough to Delores for an easy run to the great grocery store there, but remote enough to make it a very private residence. The views are amazing - a different vista in every direction. We particularly enjoyed our stay in that it is a perfect location from which to base dual sport motorcycle rides, which we did every day. There's loads of fantastic destinations and great roads getting there. Dean is very helpful with suggestions for rides as he is a dual sport rider himself. Although we never met him he was easy to communicate with and very willing to help in any way he could. Overall, this was a perfect place for us and would highly recommend it. We can't wait to go back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Rainy & Muddy

    Rainy & Muddy

    • Guest Soggy week (Arvada, CO)
    • Date of stay 09/14/13
    • Review Submitted 09/23/13
    We came to Delores during a very rainy and muddy week, I came down with Bronchitis, so we didn't do a whole lot, although the dogs had a fantastic time. The property was great, very clean and well-maintained, Dean was very helpful. The only thing we found to be an issue would be the hot water, one of us had to bathe in the a.m. and one in the p.m., I have really long hair and it takes me forever to wash it :-) I would definitely recommend this property to a friend and/or relative.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Everything was Perfect! Private, Amenities, Wildlife & Wifi!

    Everything was Perfect! Private, Amenities, Wildlife & Wifi!

    • Guest heather b.
    • Date of stay 05/12/13
    • Review Submitted 07/23/13
    We stayed here for about 2 months in 2013 summer. We were looking for something private, close to mountains, but had some amenities. We couldn't have found a more perfect place. We got to see so many animals around the place and in the local area. Deer pass through often. Very tall mountains are seen in the near distance and the scene is a beautiful variety every new day and night. Sunshine, spring flowers, and rainbows provided amazing views and pictures. The weather in early summer here is ideal - warm and hardly any rain. A few minutes drive and you can be high up in the mountains. Photographers delight!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Heather

    Heather

    • Guest Heather (Montrose, CO)
    • Date of stay 04/04/13
    • Review Submitted 04/10/13
    The house was kept up very well, it was very clean. The house was stocked with extra pillows, sheets, blankets, towels, all very nice. The kitchen was stocked with great cookware! Dean was very nice to work with and easy to arrange details with. Our son loved exploring the property. It is a very quiet, nice getaway. We recommend it for exploring southwestern Colorado!

    Owner response: Heather, Thanks for being flexible and allowing us to install the new fridge and bed while you guys were out hiking. That worked out well and I hope you return to stay again! :))) Dean

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Place to Spend Time

    Great Place to Spend Time

    • Guest Rick (Massachusetts)
    • Date of stay 10/02/12
    • Review Submitted 10/18/12
    With our son working at Mesa Verde, Dean's property was the ideal home base to spend a week. The outdoor recreation possibilities are endless. Hike, bike, climb, ride, world renown historical sites, etc (no river running, water level too low), plus perfect weather. The home was spotless and nothing was lacking. Services are close by. For those who prefer the outdoors, this is a place to be.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Kentuckians loved it!

    Kentuckians loved it!

    • Guest Martha D.
    • Date of stay 09/10/12
    • Review Submitted 09/22/12
    This is a very good rental. We were just there for a week in Sept. 2012. High quality bed, linens, cookware. Quiet and very close to Dolores. We used it as a base camp while we toured the 4 corners area. Owner is great to work with and was very commited to making sure everything was going well for us. He either called or emailed us frequently to make sure we were happy. I would recommend this rental for 2-3 people.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Oklahoma

    Oklahoma

    • Guest Okie (Oklahoma City)
    • Date of stay 07/09/12
    • Review Submitted 07/24/12
    Nice place. Good size for the two of us. Saw deer and rabbits on land. Wonderful views. Will stay there again. Very quiet place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Owner response: Bret, Thank you for staying! I hope you return as so many do!!!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wonderful Week

    Wonderful Week

    • Guest Wisconsin girl (Somerset, WI USA)
    • Date of stay 06/24/12
    • Review Submitted 08/22/12
    My husband and I enjoyed a week-long stay here and I would highly recommend it based on cleaniness, comfort, location and price. We were able to walk our dog on the property where we saw lots of deer and saw a beautiful double rainbow over the mountains. We had good weather and were thankful for the air conditioning. We visited Mesa Verde and Durango and spent some time walking around Dolores. We used the grill and enjoyed sitting on the patio looking at the mountains while experiencing the peace and quiet. The home itself had plenty of room and we liked the dimmer switches and open feel of the lliving room. The owner was very easy to work with and hopefully we will be back someday.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wonderful Location

    Wonderful Location

    • Guest Gordo (Pinewood Springs, CO )
    • Date of stay 04/21/12
    • Review Submitted 05/05/12
    What a nice clean quiet cozy place. Located just minutes away from Dolores and Cortez. The dogs loved it. What can I say, we will be back. Would also be a great base for any of you Dual Sport riders out there!!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks Gordon for your kind review! I'm a dual sport rider and agree the area is perfect for motorcycling. I was even considering doing ride tours out of Dolores....

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • super quaint and cozy

    super quaint and cozy

    • Guest alexandra s. (Los Angeles, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/13/11
    • Review Submitted 10/23/11
    This house was perfect, as was the location for visiting Mesa Verde National Park. This place is definitely away-from-it-all, but the house itself has every comfort of home. We absolutely loved it.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Alexandra, Thank you so much for your kind review!!! Dean

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Countryside retreat

    Countryside retreat

    • Guest Bert (Brewster, Ma)
    • Date of stay 10/12/10
    • Review Submitted 11/05/10
    My wife an I consider our visit to this countryside retreat a highlight of multi week road trip. The property is well maintained and comfortable for two. Staying here far exceeds the hotel experience because of the quiet surroundings and HD TV and stereo system. Easy in and easy out of this rental. It had everything that we needed. the owner was very helpful and organized, in suggesting things to do or explore. I would recommend this rental. There are many sites to see in the area.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • So much to see

    So much to see

    • Guest Love Colorado (Colorado Springs)
    • Date of stay 09/03/10
    • Review Submitted 09/07/10
    I am embarrassed to admit that we have lived in Colorado for almost 16 years and had never been to this part of the State. We drove to Dean's property Friday afternoon. It is very private and secluded. Even though you are 5 minutes away from the town of Dolores and 15 minutes from Cortez, you feel like you are in the middle of a beautiful private ranch. (I guess with almost 40 acres, you are!) We sat outside all three evenings we were there and enjoyed a beverage watching the color of the sky change until the stars came out, What a show! The views ans vistas are beautiful. We thought we would spend Saturday in Mesa Verde, and then take Sunday and tour the Dolores area, the lake and foothills, etc. We were so blown away by the dwellings in Mesa Verde, we spent all day Saturday and all day Sunday in the park. It is impossible to describe what it feels like walking through the ruins of Mesa Verde. On Saturday we took tours in Cliff Palace and Balcony House. We were tipped off by a helpful Ranger that told us about the Mug House Tour. This is a once a day tour and they take a maximum of 14 visitors per day through this site. Most tours have twice as many on a tour. Our Ranger for this tour Kevin Lloyd had endless facts about the site and the inhabitats. It was the highlight of the trip. After the Mug House, we did the Longhouse Tour, also excellent. Now about the home. It is small, cozy, very well appointed. Full size appliances, wireless internet, plasma TV, satellite dish, DVD player. We used the satellite for digital music, and we rented movies at Redbox in Cortez (Walgreens). We had some good tips on places to eat, but with Safeway in Cortez and the kitchen at Dean's place, we ate all of our meals at the house. We sat outside to eat. We moved the outdoor table into the middle of the drive, it was like we were having a picnic in the park every night. My sons are 11 and 14, they LOVED exploring the property. They found a lot of rocks they were sure were arrowheads. They played outdside until it was too dark to see. Obviously, I could go on and on. We drove home on Labor Day. The boys just had to see Four Corners and even though it was the wrong direction, we drove down. It is about an hour from the house through Cortez. Took a few pictures there and then drove home. There was much more to see than is possible in 3 days, so we are planning to go back and hopefully stay in Dean's place. We loved our vacation in Dolores. Thaks again Dean!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Excellent location, beautiful views, fabulous deal, WONDERFUL owner!!

    Excellent location, beautiful views, fabulous deal, WONDERFUL owner!!

    • Guest Karen Joy (Peoria, Arizona)
    • Date of stay 07/08/10
    • Review Submitted 07/11/10
    My family just returned from our *best ever* family vacation, a trip to Colorado. On the tail end of it, we wanted to stay for two nights in the Dolores area, which we have visited on two previous occasions. However, I was having difficulty finding something that fit our needs and budget. We're a crowd: parents and five kids. A number of us have special restrictive dietary needs, so we cannot eat out. Thus, I needed a place with a full kitchen, so I could make all our meals. We also had our (smallish) dog with us, and that eliminated a great many options. I was stumped! Then, I stumbled upon this VRBO listing, and Dean, the owner, saved the day by opening his home to us. The home is immaculately clean and attractive. Dean has many thoughtful touches to make guests feel at home, like descriptive notes and labels, maps available for loan, etc. He was immediately responsive via e-mail and phone, and incredibly helpful and gracious. Although this property is more ideal for groups of 1-4, it worked out well for us, both as a place for my children to run around and explore, and as a launch-pad for our excursions up the Dolores River valley, which is one of our favorite places in the world. The property itself is perhaps one mile southeast of the town of Dolores -- very conveniently situated. The park on the south end of the town of Dolores (Joe Rowell Park, I think??) has the best playground we've ever seen, anywhere. The independent, gourmet grocery in town is fabulous. We took a drive north of the town of Dolores, turned west along the West Dolores River, where we got out along the river for a picnic and to play in the river -- we would have fished, but our five-day license had just expired. We continued north past Dunton, up and over the mountain on narrow but well-maintained dirt road, and came out north of Rico, then headed back down toward Dolores for a balloon-shaped loop of a trip. It was likely the most stunning drive we've ever taken. Additionally, we all took a number of walks around the acreage, which is at about 7,200 feet, and mostly treed with juniper. We had a number of deer sightings, including the tiniest fawn we've EVER seen! It was wonderful to have a place where my kids could play, explore, and enjoy themselves in a natural setting. My only wish is that the older, unoccupied structure on the property would be torn down, as it mars the pristine landscape and views. Other than that, this place is perfect!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Perfect base for exploring spectacular area

    Perfect base for exploring spectacular area

    • Guest jwightma (Alpine, TX)
    • Date of stay 06/21/10
    • Review Submitted 07/01/10
    My wife and I spent six nights at Dean's property outside of Dolores, Colorado. The location is perfect for exploring and hiking in a wide variety of environments. Dolores is located at the base of the San Juan mountains so a short drive takes you into the high country for spectacular vistas and hiking. Mesa Verde and Hovenweep are south and west of Dolores and provide endless opportunity to soak up the rich history of the first people that lived in this area. Dean's house was very clean, well equipped, and nicely furnished. I thought that it was also a good value. Our interaction with Dean was positive. We found him to be good natured and efficient. We plan to return next year to experience more of this fabulous area.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Gorgeous views

    Gorgeous views

    • Guest Adam and Michael (Columbia, MO, USA)
    • Date of stay 06/02/10
    • Review Submitted 06/12/10
    We loved our stay here. The property is located in a rural area a few minutes drive from Dolores, CO, which is one of the best kept secrets in the state. (Not anymore!) It's a small mobile home located on a dirt road, but is beautifully outfitted with a first-rate kitchen, Wi Fi, and satellite TV, as well as very comfortable furniture. But what makes this place so special is the views. It's sited on a large slope that faces south; you have clear vistas of three mountain ranges, including the distant San Juans and Sleeping Ute Mountain. And since you are outside of town, it is amazingly quiet. The stars at night are increible and the property is populated with deer and other wildlife. From here you are a short drive from Dolores, which has the surprisingly good Dolores Food Market and some good restaurants. The property is also about a 15 minute drive from Cortez and a little farther from Mancos and Durango. You are also very close to Mesa Verde and Canyon of the Ancients, which you can easily do as day trips. We absolutely loved it here and would return tomorrow if we could!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Better than staying at home...

    Better than staying at home...

    • Guest Grasshopper (Boulder, CO)
    • Date of stay 05/20/10
    • Review Submitted 06/27/10
    We found the small house immaculate, well organized, and exactly as described and as shown in photos. Stayed 3+ days in late May 2010; will happily stay here again for future visits to family in Mancos area. Bright, light, cheery, modern, completely functional, with luxury touches in towels, duvets. One of the nicest things was the decorating--instead of kitschy fake B&B touches, it's steamlined, simple, and tasteful-- shows just enough of owner's interests to feel we're guests, not motel-stay people, and owner's thought of almost everything comfortable. The high tech entertaiment system was a treat. Wildlife--we saw 3 + 2 = 7 deer, 1 grey fox, ground squirrels, the first night at dusk, coming up the drive, plus countless birds, a hawk. Privacy--in a few hours, it dawned on us, that we're very close to town amenities (Anasazi Museum in Cortez worth a whole day trip), grocery stores, Mesa Verde National Park, but then we come "home" to sheer quiet, open vistas, no neighbors, just us, music, tv, movies, or sitting outside on the little patio watching sunsets. Husband has partial hearing loss, and thus noisy surroundings bother him--you won't find that here at all. Only quibble; need two placemats and a candle stored in the lift-up coffee table, to make for a totally private dinner hour... Bring your own DVD's or CD's -- between the views, and the stars at night, the surroundings, you'll enjoy this place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Stunning Sunrises and Sunsets

    Stunning Sunrises and Sunsets

    • Guest Moth (Tubac, AZ USA)
    • Date of stay 03/27/09
    • Review Submitted 04/16/10
    Everything was very nice. Private, quiet, cozy, and stunningly beautiful. The owner was consistently quick to respond to any inquerries and very accommodating. Stayed on two separate occasions this winter for over a week each time. Enjoyed the Dolores Market in Dolores proper which had a suprising array of fresh produce, quality cuts of meat, and interesting stocked items. (Best store bought cherry pie ever!) Also fantastic coffe and eats at the Let It Grow Nursery and Garden Cafe in nearby Cortez. We were repeat customers, many times over, to both over our lengthy stays. The beautiful terrain in all directions speaks for itself! Birders would enjoy also...

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]