Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Casa Sant' Angelo

Cortona Farmhouse in Tuscany - Casa Sant'Angelo [#255085] | View Property

Cortona
Farmhouse, 4 Bedrooms + Detached Unit, 3.5 Baths (Sleeps 4-8)
$2400-$3800/wk
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (20)

Sort by:
  • Sant Angelo

    Sant Angelo

    • Guest Ron (Wisconsin)
    • Date of stay 09/12/13
    • Review Submitted 10/14/13
    Property was perfect for our group of 6. Having also rented the small adjacent house was a real plus for more privacy. it was great being close to Cortona. House was very well represented by pictures. House was vey well equipped in every way. Owner and her staff in Cortona were very responsive to any questions or concerns we had. the neighbors were fantastic. I would strongly reccomend to anyone wanting to stay in the Cortona area.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A beautiful sanctuary to relax and enjoy

    A beautiful sanctuary to relax and enjoy

    • Guest Bill (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 08/02/13
    • Review Submitted 08/16/13
    The house is just as described and pictured. It's a great setting in which to unwind and is just down the road from the hilltop town of Cortona or a day trip to Arezzo, Siena, Montepulciano or Florence. It's especially peaceful if you are coming from Roma or Firenze after heavy sightseeing. The house is set amongst olive and plum trees with a beautiful pool. A great area outside for lunches and dinner. All of the amenities are very modern especially the kitchen and it even has a dryer. The architecture and features are really beautiful with log beam ceilings and great touches throughout. We enjoyed walking to the Lunghini Market for bread and produce and salami and swimming during the day and making caprese salad and antipasti for lunch and watching the shooting stars at night. The bedrooms were nicely size. Showers and plumbing were great. A/c worked well. The pool is very kid friendly with a neat design where even smaller kids can stand on the edges in the deep end. We want to come back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you Bill for your kind and thoughtful review. You and your family went at a beautiful and proud time for the Cortonese...with the bustle and hum of Jovanotti!! We love our guests sharing their stories of adventure, family bonding and living the Tuscan life at the farmhouse. You are always welcomed back...hope you return soon. Saluti, Marie

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • View the Tuscan Hills from Stunning Pool and Perfectly Appointed Villa

    View the Tuscan Hills from Stunning Pool and Perfectly Appointed Villa

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/19/13
    • Review Submitted 08/08/13
    Just returned from a two wonderful weeks at Casa Sant Angelo. The villa was beautifully and simply appointed to create a comfortable and breezy feel. The property is extremely well maintained, the olive, plum, fig and pear trees were an added bonus. Every detail was taken into account. We enjoyed many leisurely meals dining al fresco under the 100 year old walnut tree with views of the hills on one side and the country side laid out on the other. The local grocery store is a treat as the owners warmly welcome you to sample and explore the makings of a perfect Italian meal. Il Molino offered excellent pasta, great Chianti and a cozy feel just 6 kms away. The first week was largely spent relaxing in Cortona, with day trips to Florence and Siena. We were very happy to find beautiful country drives to these major cities, as well as San Gimignano (the Manhattan of Tuscany), Montepulciano (wonderful meal at the Grotto), Montalcino (tasting of Brunello and beautiful meal at Enetoca Grotta Del Brunello), Voltera (theatre festival in square), Pienza (start here for a beautiful drive along the ridge of the hills to Abbey Di Monte Oliveto Maggiore for a totally surprising and inspiring experience) and other beautiful medieval towns were never more than an 1 1/2 away. This area has everything from wine, to theatre, local festivals and food to offer, in a perfect world I would return every year. When we weren't touring, the kids played in the pool for hours. Poolside with a glass of wine late into the night was the best way to take in a view of the starry sky. Perfect.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Sophia, Thank you for the lovely narrative of your stay at our farmhouse and the remarkable beauty Tuscany has to offer. It brings us joy to have others celebrate the Tuscan life and rejuvenate with vacation time. We do hope you will make it back! Saluti! Marie

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Peaceful getaway in the middle of Tuscan and northern Umbria sights

    Peaceful getaway in the middle of Tuscan and northern Umbria sights

    • Guest Matti K.
    • Date of stay 07/12/13
    • Review Submitted 08/22/13
    Casa Sant' Angelo is a relaxing and peaceful place in the middle of Tuscan and northern Umbria sights. All the Casa's buildings and area has been tastefully refurbished. We also loved the taste in decor and how everything has been designed in style inside the house. Kitchen has everything one can imagine and bedrooms and bathrooms are perfectly comfortable. Relaxing by the pool and having dinner under Tuscan sky and walnut tree was a treat. Cortona is one of our favorite Tuscan hill side towns. It is also worth to walk up to the top of the town, where there are old cypress trees and beatiful views over the valley. Walk from the house up to Cortona is about 3 kilometers. It is a nice daily 40 minutes walk exercise along hill side path road being more uphill towards Cortona but then relaxing downhill walk back to the house. All key sights are mostly within one hour drive from the house, like Montalcino, Montepulciano, Siena, Orvieto and Assisi to name few. We also visited Avignonesi Winery, which is only some 15 kilometers from the house. If you are a golfer, there is a pictoresque golf course near Perugia called Antognolla Golf. We warmly recommend Casa Sant' Angelo!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Perfect Tuscan Vacation

    A Perfect Tuscan Vacation

    • Guest marilyn (Colorado)
    • Date of stay 06/07/13
    • Review Submitted 07/04/13
    We brought our two grown sons and their girlfriends with us to spend this amazing family vacation together. The house was perfect for our family with spacious bedrooms and private bathrooms and a beautifully appointed kitchen with everything you need to cook great meals. The market down the road is the best place for fresh, local food, and superb wine and cheese. The delightful owners are so helpful and will offer tastes of anything in the shop. We loved the pool and having breakfast outside before we started our day trips throughout Tuscany. This was a perfectly located homebase for travel to the wonderful, quaint towns that dot the countryside. It's also easy to reach Sienna and Florence. Cortona is a lovely town we visited often with great restaurants and shops. Overall the house had all the amenities we needed and was very clean, linens and beds so comfortable and neighbors and manager available for any questions. We loved every moment there and look forward to coming back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Marilyn, Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy you and your family had a memorable celebration of Tuscany, our farmhouse and the beauty of Cortona. We hope you return soon! Saluti! Marie

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Tuscan Countryside Getaway

    Tuscan Countryside Getaway

    • Guest Alison, Nancy and Caroline (Los Angeles CA and Chicago IL - USA)
    • Date of stay 10/19/12
    • Review Submitted 11/14/12
    We were so fortunate to enjoy your beautiful home – so peaceful, picturesque and perfectly charming. We had a wonderful week. Many mornings, we enjoyed hiking up the back roads to Cortona to explore the village and have cappuccino and pastries, others relaxing and having breakfast “al fresco” in the courtyard. Our days were filled with discovery, exploring the towns and countryside of Tuscany and Umbria - hiking, eating, shopping and wine tasting. There were so many wonderful places that are easy drives from the house; we could have easily stayed for a month or more. Of course, one of the best parts was coming “home” in the evenings to enjoy the comfort, peace and quiet of the villa. It truly is a very special place, and it made this a trip that we will always remember.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fabulous start to our Italian holiday

    Fabulous start to our Italian holiday

    • Guest Tom W.
    • Date of stay 09/07/12
    • Review Submitted 09/16/12
    Five of us stayed at Casa Sant' Angelo for a week 7-14 September. We had a fabulous visit, the villa is lovely and well appointed, the bedrooms, bathrooms and kitchen are large, modern and comfortable. The lot is large and attractive, with plenty of parking, nice landscaping, a grape arbor and nice pool with a lovely view of the Tuscan countryside. Plenty of instructions and good advice. The caretaker Andrea was warm, friendly and helpful. Cortona is a lovely town, and within easy driving distance of Arezzo, Pienza, Montepulciano, Montalcino, Assisi and Todi, each of which we visited. Only three suggestions to consider. The villa is not within walking distance of Cortona, full stop. There is no wifi, only one Internet cable. Finally, the driving directions to find the villa are good until you need to make the final hairpin turn to the right to access the gravel road. Highly recommended, thanks to the owners.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Tom, We are so happy you enjoyed your time at our farmhouse and the beauty of Tuscany. Thank you for your kind review. Safe travels. Saluti, Marie

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Simply Amazing

    Simply Amazing

    • Guest Courtney (Manhattan Beach, Ca)
    • Date of stay 08/31/12
    • Review Submitted 10/04/12
    We were lucky enough to celebrate our 10 year anniversary at Casa Sant'Angelo in September. Everything about our stay was amazing. The house is beautifully appointed with a top of the line kitchen and quality furnishings. Sitting outside by the pool enjoying our wine and meats and cheeses, from the lovely market right down the road, surrounded by sunflowers, olives and grapes was awesome. Cortona is a beautiful town and is perfectly situated to check out all the other great small towns throughout Tuscany. It was a truly unforgettable stay

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent family vacation in Cortona!

    Excellent family vacation in Cortona!

    • Guest zabby68 (Surrey, UK)
    • Date of stay 08/03/12
    • Review Submitted 09/19/12
    We had a wonderful family vacation at Casa Sant ‘Angelo. The home and gardens are beautiful. The casita was perfect for our group, offering additional space and privacy when needed. Both the home and the casita were well equipped with everything we needed to prepare meals at home and for our general relaxation. The ceiling fans and the air conditioners were quite powerful and proved to be a life-saver for the hot August days. One of the main advantages of the home is its central location, making day trips to Florence (via train) and Montepulciano quite easy and relaxing. We also thoroughly enjoyed our evenings in the quaint town of Cortona. We would definitely return again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Sharon for your kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at our farmhouse and beautiful Cortona. Saluti, Marie

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Family Vacation at Casa Sant'Angelo

    Wonderful Family Vacation at Casa Sant'Angelo

    • Guest Alex (NYC Metro Area)
    • Date of stay 07/27/12
    • Review Submitted 08/28/12
    I am writing this review to memorialize one of the most wonderful vacations we have had in years. Our travel party included 4 adults (38-41 yo) and 3 children (5-7 yo). The house was lovely and comfortable in every way a home can be comfortable. Wonderful and very well equipped kitchen, great bedrooms and bathrooms and terrific common spaces inside and out. The pool is the perfect size and the local amenities are great. There is an amazing market within walking distance to the villa and the property is ideally located for day trips to all of the must see destinations in the region. I hope the is the first visit of many to Casa Sant'Angelo!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Alex, We are so happy you and your family enjoyed our farmhouse and the beauty of Cortona! We wish you many happy returns to this lovely place of repose! Saluti, Marie

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Reurn foa a Second Great Stay

    Reurn foa a Second Great Stay

    • Guest Rudy (Thornbury Ontario Canada)
    • Date of stay 12/17/11
    • Review Submitted 02/21/12
    Well here I am writing about our second stay and truly missing Casa Sant Angelo. We enjoyed Italy at Christmas visiting Rome, Florence and many small towns in Tuscany. We then had six friends arrive for new years and we enjoyed a fabulous 16 coarse meal at La Bucaccia in Cortona. The weather was great and staying at Sant Angelo was was almost perfect. As always the staff were great but the little problem of the smoking fire place in the annex did not allow us to have a fire. The location is perfect,close to a great store,easy drive or walk to Cortona,great coffe bar in Pergo just down the road and easy accessability to the rest of fabulous Toscana.This is a great location for eight people and if you are staying for an extended time and have friends visiting you can stay in the annex with little or no disruption while your friends come and go from the main house. This what my wife and I did during our two month stay in 2010. If you are hesitating on the location,don't. Cortona is a great town,great eating places, a great wine store (Molesini's) in the square and very friendly people. As I mentioned in my previous report the Manzano golf coarse is being developed and opening in 2013 ,I think,so this will add another great feature to the area. If you go to any of the local businesses I have mentioed say hello from Rudy.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Perfect Week in Tuscany.

    A Perfect Week in Tuscany.

    • Guest Anne (Beverly Hills, CA, USA)
    • Date of stay 09/30/11
    • Review Submitted 11/03/11
    The house was a perfect setting for our trip to Italy. The remodel was amazing, especially the kitchen. All four of us like to cook and the kitchen set-up was perfect. The house also has the special advantage of being very close to the best market in the area. Great meats, cheeses, bread, tomatoes, olive oil, wine... what more could you ask! The location worked very well for touring out each day, too. Assisi was a special treat, but day trips to Montalcino, Sienna, and small wineries were easy to access. Our last evening was spent at a wine paring dinner that was recommended by our cooking instructor, Shirley Ofria. We really felt that we were a part of Cortona.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family Trip

    Family Trip

    • Guest Family Travels (Salt Lake City, Utah USA)
    • Date of stay 04/01/11
    • Review Submitted 05/03/11
    We just recently returned from spending 3 weeks in Italy and were fortunate enough to spend 8 of those days at the lovely Casa Sant 'Angelo. What a perfect place to come "home" to each day after exploring the beauty of Cortona and the surrounding areas. The house is perfectly equipped and full of comfort and charm. It was a great set up for us as we had 3 generations with us. The grounds allowed our 5 year old grandbabies room to run and play after a full day of exploring while the Annex allowed our adult daughter her own space to "escape" when she wanted to. The home is comfortably furnished with great linens and comfortable beds. The kitchen is perfectly equipped for preparing a lovely meal after a full day. The luxury of a washer and dryer made traveling with kids so much easier. The yard has a great area for dinning outside in the lovely weather. Thanks to Marie for sharing her home with us...it was perfect!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Two Months Sept and Oct 2010 At Casa Sant' Angelo

    Two Months Sept and Oct 2010 At Casa Sant' Angelo

    • Guest Rudy (Thornbury Ontario Canada)
    • Date of stay 08/31/10
    • Review Submitted 11/13/10
    I have just read all the other reviews and I cannot add anything except to say it was fabulous. When I first saw the listing ,the queen and king brds caught my attention. All our 22 guests commented on how comfortable the bed were. The owners,staff were very helpful and friendly and info and photos were very accurate and holpful. Walking to Cortona through Sant Angelo,40 min, was a special treat.Kept the weight off.I would not hesitate to recommend this property. I am missing it dearly just writing about it. Cortona is a great town,plus in three years it will have a Gary Player designed golf coarse.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Casa Sant' Angelo

    Casa Sant' Angelo

    • Guest gg (Manhattan, New York)
    • Date of stay 08/14/10
    • Review Submitted 08/24/10
    Our stay at the Casa Sant' Angelo could not have been more pleasant and relaxing. The villa was exactly as described in all the pictures. Clean, very well-maintained. The owner's could not have been more accommodating with all our questions. It was great to relax and layout by the pool during the day and see the mountains in the background. The Villa's location was perfect for us, we were only an hour drive from Florence and all the shopping and in the town itself on top of mountain was a great area filled with cafe's and stores. We were also a short distance ( 30 min) from the vineyards. We highly recommend the villa and all the town of Cortona has to offer.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Three weeks in the Tuscan countryside

    Three weeks in the Tuscan countryside

    • Guest Rosemary J. (Hobe Sound, Fl, US)
    • Date of stay 05/22/10
    • Review Submitted 07/05/10
    We just returned from Marie and Tony's beautiful casa in the country. Everything was just as pictured with lovely touches, clean and modern. Bedroom was our favorite, a king size bed, very comfortable and inviting with Screens on the upstairs windows. Our cleaner, Clara did a great job and the property manager, Andrea and Marie were free to asnwer questions and give us directions and recommendations. It was truly a memorable trip to Tuscany.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A beautiful place.

    A beautiful place.

    • Guest polo ref (Southern California)
    • Date of stay 03/24/10
    • Review Submitted 05/04/10
    A perfect place for enjoying beautiful views, exploring ancient towns, and savoring delicious meals and wines. The villa is equipped with all the necessary amenities needed to make eight adults perfectly contented. Only five minutes from Cortona with a gorgeous view of the Tuscanny Valley below. There is a wonderful market that has fresh meats, cheeses, vegetables, and staples, within walking distance. The train to Rome is ten minutes away. Excellent taxi service is always available.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Our Stay in Cortona at the Casa Sant'Angelo

    Our Stay in Cortona at the Casa Sant'Angelo

    • Guest Tom's mother (Winnetka, California. USA)
    • Date of stay 03/24/10
    • Review Submitted 04/13/10
    We just came home after 2 weeks in a marvelous villa in the Tuscany region of Italy. While retaining the outside characteristics of the 300 year old farm hours, Tony and Marie renovated their home with style and attention to details. The inside of this 3 bedroom, 3 baths two-story house and the annex offer a very modern design and a most relaxing atmosphere. From the comfortable beds to the extra thick duvets; from the large bathrooms equipped to the latest luxury, including bidets in each bathrom, you find yourself in very pleasant surroundings. Wood is provided for the 2 fireplaces. The houses are airconditioned during the summer. There is a large pool. A washer and dryer are on the premises. All the amenities are included; bedding, linens, dishes and kitchen appliances. The extra benefits include a TV and DVD and access to the internet. From morning to night, we see different views of the hills and valleys close to CORTONA, in the heart of Tuscany. A well stocked market is conveniently within walking distance. Cortona, a three century town is very picturesque, with many restaurants, wine shops and little boutiques. There are many paths to walk and the town offers a friendly social atmosphere. Cortona is 2 hours by train from Roma, and 1 hour from Florence. This is a place to come back to. The large rooms, included 2 kitchens and a dining room would be ideal for a family of 8 or some very good friends. You can cook, pick up foods or go out whenever you feel like it. And the entire property calls you to relax, enjoy and renew your spirits.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Our Stay in Cortona at the Casa Sant'Angelo

    Our Stay in Cortona at the Casa Sant'Angelo

    • Guest Tom's mother (Winnetka, California. USA)
    • Date of stay 03/24/10
    • Review Submitted 04/13/10
    We just came home after 2 weeks in a marvelous villa in the Tuscany region of Italy. While retaining the outside characteristics of the 300 year old farm hours, Tony and Marie renovated their home with style and attention to details. The inside of this 3 bedroom, 3 baths two-story house and the annex offer a very modern design and a most relaxing atmosphere. From the comfortable beds to the extra thick duvets; from the large bathrooms equipped to the latest luxury, including bidets in each bathrom, you find yourself in very pleasant surroundings. Wood is provided for the 2 fireplaces. The houses are airconditioned during the summer. There is a large pool. A washer and dryer are on the premises. All the amenities are included; bedding, linens, dishes and kitchen appliances. The extra benefits include a TV and DVD and access to the internet. From morning to night, we see different views of the hills and valleys close to CORTONA, in the heart of Tuscany. A well stocked market is conveniently within walking distance. Cortona, a three century town is very picturesque, with many restaurants, wine shops and little boutiques. There are many paths to walk and the town offers a friendly social atmosphere. Cortona is 2 hours by train from Roma, and 1 hour from Florence. This is a place to come back to. The large rooms, included 2 kitchens and a dining room would be ideal for a family of 8 or some very good friends. You can cook, pick up foods or go out whenever you feel like it. And the entire property calls you to relax, enjoy and renew your spirits.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Unique Farmhouse

    Unique Farmhouse

    • Guest ewe (Thousand Oaks, Ca USA)
    • Date of stay 03/23/10
    • Review Submitted 04/15/10
    The villa was a beautiful place to visit. It was tastefully decorated, had a well appointed kitchen, and wonderful, comfortable beds. After visiting Rome, staying in cramped rooms with stiff beds, this was an extra bonus. If you want a sense of the Tuscan life, this afford a brief glimpse into the people and their daily lives. Be sure to visit the corner grocery. The owner and his sister are only too happy to accomodate you, and their meat and cheese selections are delicious. We walked on several occasions and had to be careful, as the road is very narrow in parts. St. Michael the Archangel's beautiful church circa 1013, is just a short walk across the main road. To visit Cortona, you need transportation. We used a rental car and taxi service. The Antica Trattoria, which opened at 7:30P.M for dinner, was a good place, and we purchased wines at the Enotecca Molesini. Both are in Cortona. Be aware everything shuts down between 1:30 and 4:30 everyday. We took that time to relax at the villa. We enjoyed watching the enthusiasm of the cleaning lady as she fluffed pillows at the window, threw the duvets over the railing, and swept the property.This villa should appeal to the majority of travelers.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you for your positive comments. You have indicated that you incorrectly rated our home with a two star rating and that you cannot correct your review. We know you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]