Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
View of the Dordogne River--La Maisonnette is the cottage pictured on the right

Beautiful Cottage Next to a Magnificent Castle! Newly Renovated [#255275] | View Property

Beynac-et-Cazenac
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 6)
€130 - €230/nt Euros
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (31)

Sort by:
  • Wonderful experience at an adorable cottage

    Wonderful experience at an adorable cottage

    • Guest Patty Y.
    • Date of stay 03/21/14
    • Review Submitted 04/13/14
    This cute, quaint, romantic cottage was clean and comfortable. The wood burning stove was a nice touch. The beds were comfortable, rooms were spacious, and nicely decorated. It is a wonderful place to come home to and spend time in. The location is amazing! Literally steps away from the medieval Beynac castle. The cobble stone walkway down to the village transports you back to the Middle Ages. Steep, narrow, with ancient stone dwellings lining both sides of the pathway. Centrally located for daily excursions in a beautiful countryside and many historic sites to be seen. Ellie and Pierre, the couple who met us with the keys were an added delight, we saw them several times over the two weeks we stayed. It was a wonderful experience that we will treasure for years to come, and we hope to return with our children and grandchildren someday.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Jane

    Jane

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/20/13
    • Review Submitted 09/30/13
    La Msaisonette was an idyllic location for our group of six to stay for a week. The owner was extremely helpful from beginning to end and especially when he helped us locate some lost property after we vacated. The surrounding village and countryside was like a fairy tale and even though the walk uphill (no vehicle access) was a little tough sometimes, it was worth the effort just to walk in the gate. Fluffy towels, comfy beds, reading material, iPod dock, the comforts were amazing, not to mention the amazing castle towering over us next door! The attic may not suit very tall people and the claw foot bath was a little difficult to shower in, but never mind that, the place was excellent. Excellent restaurants were nearby and the village had all the supplies needed. There are markets nearly every day of the week in surrounding villages a short drive away.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • The stuff dreams are made of..I felt like a princess in a fairy tale!

    The stuff dreams are made of..I felt like a princess in a fairy tale!

    • Guest Janeyo (Victoria)
    • Date of stay 08/24/13
    • Review Submitted 08/30/13
    My fiancé and I just spent 6 nights at this lovingly restored and cared for home that can only be described as a magical experience. Thank you so much Ben and Stephanie for sharing your little slice of heaven with us and helping me make amazing memories for my fiance's 50th birthday celebrations. You could not have been more helpful or gracious and I will echo the previous comments made about how wonderful and kind your caretakers Elly and Pierre are. We were made to feel very welcome indeed. I have been fortunate enough to have stayed in some amazing places during my career, but your home was one for the record books. I loved everything about it, from the limestone walls, exposed beams, winding staircase up to the 2 other floors (although mind your head as I knocked mine a few times getting used to the beams!), to the lovey Juliette balcony looking right at the caste as the picture on your website depicts well. The master bedroom retreat was cozy and romantic under the eaves, with that same stunning view from the large claw foot tub. We slept like babies here, with very comfortable beds, air conditioning and nice quiet surroundings at night. During the day we got a great kick out of the look on tourists faces when we left your home to go out for the day....they all thought it was incredible that someone would live in such a stunning medieval home right beside Beynac's famous castle (with only a small cobbled lane way to separate us from the castle). I remember feeling quite honoured to be able to stay in your lovely home. As if the setting wasn't special enough, the decor of the home was just fabulous. A real contrast between the age of the home and modern yet comfortable furnishings. You did a fabulous job of highlighting the homes best features, without over cluttering the space. I love your style and will take back a few ideas for our own home in Victoria. The Dordogne is a magical place, with amazing food (lots of duck and foie gras, but lots of other options for those non-duck lovers like myself) and gorgeous old towns built into the rock faces or high in the hills overlooking the river. Highlights for us were eating dinner at La Plume D'oie and La Belle Etoile in La Roque Gageau, visiting Rocamadour and Domme, canoeing the Dordogne river,going to the markets in St. Cyprien and Sarlat...and just sitting enjoying the view from your home...when they say "your home is your castle" this is what they had in mind! In summary, just fabulous!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Surreal experience in an area relatively untouched by Americans!

    Surreal experience in an area relatively untouched by Americans!

    • Guest PartyOfFive (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 08/16/13
    • Review Submitted 08/29/13
    We've just returned from a lovely stay at La Maisonnette. The cottage is lovingly restored with simple decor and an outstanding garden (we may have enjoyed the outside area more than the cottage itself!) The stairs within the cottage are quite narrow and steep, so it may not be the ideal home for anyone with knee/joint problems, or for families with small children -- plus the walk from the car-park is quite steep, as is the walk down to the village (although the views are absolutely magical!!! We walked up and down daily multiple times.) The Master bedroom is on the top floor, under a sharply turreted roof -- at 5'4 I needed to be careful not to hit my head -- so this might be a consideration for very tall visitors. Still, the cottage is very comfortable, and Elly (the caretaker who lives in town) is a delight. We arrived very late on Friday night and both she and her husband, Pierre, greeted us with warm smiles and plenty of information. Thanks, Elly! Ben and Stephanie were very responsive to pre-trip correspondence, and their information packet on La Maisonette and the surrounding area was well-used by our family. In addition to Stephanie's recommendations, we found swimming in the Dordogne to be delightful (you can jump in close to town and then swim across the river to a rocky beach). We also greatly enjoyed the Jardins de Marqueyssac. WOW! Most of all, we loved that most of the tourists (and there were MANY) in August were French or British -- but mostly French. It was a great experience for us and especially for our 3 kids (ages 13, 11 and 10). Overall -- a wonderful time. Also, although the Chateau de Beynac was mobbed during the day, we had it basically to ourselves every night after about 8PM. Truly incredible.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Best place to stay in the Dordogne!

    Best place to stay in the Dordogne!

    • Guest Cher (Ann arbor mi)
    • Date of stay 08/09/13
    • Review Submitted 08/26/13
    Could say enough wonderful things about La Maisonette! We stayed there with out three girls who loved the fairy tale setting! So much to do and see in the Dordogne. We especially loved Ellie and Pierre ( the on site care takers) who made our stay so exceptional! I recommend eating at La Tonelle..We had dinner there three times in a week! Thanks Ben for all the wonderful advice and attention to detail in the house. What a wonderful place you've created!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A dream vacation!

    A dream vacation!

    • Guest Seeing the World (Mesa, Arizona)
    • Date of stay 05/24/13
    • Review Submitted 06/03/13
    Beynac-et-Cazenac was just fabulous! The home, the village, the experiences was more than we even hoped for. The owner's and manager were beyond helpful. We visited daily markets and enjoyed our meals at home in the lovely kitchen. Took in the incredible views and local sites. It was an experience of a lifetime. Incredibly relaxing.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Words fail me -- this place is magic!

    Words fail me -- this place is magic!

    • Guest Luke (Orem, UT)
    • Date of stay 12/18/12
    • Review Submitted 12/27/12
    It's not just hyperbole to say that La Maisonnette, with all it's well-documented magnificence, also has an intangible quality to it that transcends description. Our stay here, over the Christmas holidays, was authentically life-altering. I can imagine that summers here are colorful and lively, but winter (and Christmas) at La Maisonette was an especially lovely experience for our family of four with young children. The villages were almost totally tourist-free, quiet, and intimate, and yet the views are just as spectacular, the weather was pleasantly agreeable, and we got to know more of the locals than we would have if the streets had been filled with summer sightseers. La Maisonette's location is peerless, and the cottage itself is beautifully appointed while feeling cozy and familiar. I checked out all the other VRBOs in Beynac, and I don't believe there is one to rival La Maisonnette for the complete package of comfort, style, location, views, and amenities. The owners were unfailingly helpful every step of the way. (When we got lost in nearby Sarlat on the drive here, I even called Ben in the US and he talked me through the back streets until we were on the right road again. That's service "above and beyond" the call of duty!) Highlights of our stay included visiting Font-de-Gaume (more impressive, we thought, than Lascaux) and having the cave completely to ourselves because it's low season, all the chateaux (of course), wandering the "old town" in Sarlat right before Christmas, walking along the Dordogne from Beynac to Fayrac and back, the antiques store in Beynac, the views... Some days we didn't even leave the cottage because we enjoyed the solitude and the wood fire. Actually, everything was a highlight. The only disappointment is having to leave. I'll be raving about La Maisonette to everyone I know, but frankly I also want to keep it a bit of a secret so we can come back whenever we want to and feel like it's "ours"!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • I didn't ever want to leave!

    I didn't ever want to leave!

    • Guest Leigh (Melbourne, VIC, Australia)
    • Date of stay 10/19/12
    • Review Submitted 11/19/12
    Having travelled around France for the past few months, I can honestly say that our stay at Le Maisonnette was one of the highlights of the trip. I fell in love with this property and this village as soon as I arrived. The house itself is stunning and has been beautifully renovated with all of the "little details" taken care of from extremely comfortable beds, fluffy towels and a truly great shower, to an amazing kitchen which I loved, loved, loved cooking in. Visiting Beynac in mid-Spring was the perfect time also - Blue skies, sunshine, wonderful sunsets and limited amounts of tourists to compete with. I'm so pleased to have discovered and stayed at Le Maisonnette and would recommend it to anyone and everyone. Thank you Ben and Stephanie as your professional and friendly manner made organising our stay so easy and enjoyable. I didn't ever want to leave!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Heaven on Earth

    Heaven on Earth

    • Guest DV (Minneapolis, MN)
    • Date of stay 09/28/12
    • Review Submitted 10/26/12
    My husband and I spent the most lovely week, the first week of October, at Ben and Stephanie's cottage in Beynac-et-Cazenac... The house is so beautifully renovated! They've maintained a perfect balance of old and new. The rustic character of the place is intact, but the kitchen and bathrooms are completely new, with high-end appliances and fixtures. They've thought of everything for their guests, even down to supplying a copy of the movie Chocolat for guests to view (the opening scene is filmed in Beynac. We had a really fun week, sight-seeing in the Beynac area. Favorites include the Sarlat market, a drive to the Lascaux caves, and a canoe ride down the Dordogne river. We will certainly recommend Ben and Stephanie's little corner of Heaven on Earth to all our friends and family.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • magical maisonette

    magical maisonette

    • Guest Sarah (United Kingdom)
    • Date of stay 08/31/12
    • Review Submitted 09/18/12
    My husband and I spent 10 days at La Maisonette to celebrate our 30th birthdays. It was the most magical holiday. The maisonette was beautiful and Beynac is the most gorgeous little town and made a perfect base for a stay in the Perigord. We loved the St Cyprien market and stocked up on veggies there and at the Sarlat market and were able to cook at home for a few nights of the week, which was great. We loved spending the late afternoons in the terraced garden, which gets full afternoon sun, drinking monbazillac and eating cheese and foie gras. We found a fabulous restaurant in Paunat, a 45 min drive away, called Chez Julian where we went for my birthday lunch. It's in the most idyllic spot right next to an ancient abbey. Our favourite attraction was the Jardins d’Erygnac, which absolutely deserve their 3 Michelin stars. Ben was very helpful and answered all my questions promptly before our trip. The orientation guide they give was so useful and had some great ideas for things to do and places to eat. The cottage is very well set up and we didn't want for anything. I would highly recommend staying here if you're planning a trip to this beautiful region in France.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Exactly how it appears, and more

    Exactly how it appears, and more

    • Guest starrd (Portland, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 06/08/12
    • Review Submitted 07/10/12
    I searched quite long for a place that would have the charm of an old cottage while providing present day comforts. This home spoiled us. It was exactly the way you think it would be, perfectly up to date with everything functioning. No saggy beds, in fact, quite the opposite. My sister is an amateur chef and made amazing use of the kitchen. The owners and caretaker provide so much information and help, you feel very taken care of. Aside from all that, the cottage and its surrounds are as breathtaking as you can imagine. The castle itself fulfilled every dream I had. Its huge, massive spaces are clearly built for defense as well as living ...you can almost see horses riding through some of the spaces inside! Nothing frilly or useless about this like some later period castles. As you walk the cobbles leading from the castle and restaurants, past your door, down to the village, you cannot help but feel you are living in another time. The most remarkable thing about this area is that everyone is still living in all these 11th century buildings as if they have been handed down from family to family. The village of Sarlat was another joy...so close and what a dreamy place with its close together buildings and alleys from an ancient time. You cannot help but get a sense of the past when you are in this region. An absolute delight. This was my first VRBO rental -- I was a little nervous, but you can trust this one. Ben answered all my nervous questions patiently and refunded our deposit quickly. Absolutely worth the money and worth the convoluted drive to stay in a bit of history.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wonderful Experience

    Wonderful Experience

    • Guest Connie (Delaware, USA)
    • Date of stay 06/01/12
    • Review Submitted 07/15/12
    My husband and I have traveled in France many times and this was one of our best holidays. The Beynac area is beautiful in and of itself but it is also conveniently located to visit many interesting sites and wonderful restaurants. La Maisonette is charming, clean, has old world ambience with modern conveniences. It was a delight! Thank you Ben and Stephanie for a lovely stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Absolutely Gorgeous - Blew Our High Expectations Out of the Water

    Absolutely Gorgeous - Blew Our High Expectations Out of the Water

    • Guest Cristina & Jeff (Seattle, Washington USA)
    • Date of stay 01/13/12
    • Review Submitted 04/07/12
    My wife and I lived in France and Belgium for a couple of years, and we've been all over Western Europe. This was our first time in the Dordogne region, and now we definitely plan on returning. Stephanie and Ben have a Beautifully redone cottage, right next to an amazing castle. (You are literally a couple dozen feet away, with only a walkway and some grass between the home and castle.) The home is very charming with everything you could want or need. Each morning, we would look at each other and just say, "This is unreal. Absolutely incredible." There are breathtaking views from all over the village, our favorites being right as the fog burns off each morning. Not only are there a handful of castles within 20 minutes of the cottage, but there are prehistoric caves (with carvings & paintings) all over the region, fantastic restaurants, and a load of different activities. Ben & Stephanie provided a very comprehensive list of ideas and suggestions for what to do. As it was the middle of January, we felt like we had the entire region to ourselves! It was a perfect, romantic getaway. Without a doubt, we recommend this place to anybody, and we hope to get back soon!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • We Love La Maisonnette!

    We Love La Maisonnette!

    • Guest Team DeLuca (Dallas, Texas, USA)
    • Date of stay 10/28/11
    • Review Submitted 11/16/11
    Wow! My husband and I stayed here for nine days in October/November 2011, and it was nothing short of spectacular. The booking process was very easy and the owners very professional, and coordinating with the property manager who is local was easy as well. We knew we were staying somewhere special from the photos online, but nothing can do this beautiful home justice. Located directly next to the Chateau Beynac, the home is wonderfully appointed with modern appliances and amenities but stays true to the original architecture of the home. We enjoyed cooking meals, playing many of the great games provided, watching DVDs from their collection, and having coffee by the fire. The town of Beynac-et-Cazenac is not to be forgotten, as it is truly something out of a fairytale. If you stay over a weekend, be sure to visit the market in Sarlat on Saturday. It's truly a gem. The fall is also a time not to be missed in this region - the weather was perfect! Thank you, Ben and Stephanie! What a treat to stay at La Maisonnette. We cannot wait to come back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Late October Visitors

    Late October Visitors

    • Guest Jack (Naples, Florida, USA)
    • Date of stay 10/14/11
    • Review Submitted 11/05/11
    It's hard to choose what's most interesting: the "cottage," the town or the area. All are great...and visiting "off-season" gives you free rein to choose each day as the spirits move you. We brought two young grandkids (2 and 4), and while they bear constant watching (hard stairs and steep cliffs) Sir Samuel and Lady Jane were soon decked out in Medieval regalia having the time of their lives. Try Fall on the Dordogne: cool air, hot sun burning off the morning mist, no traffic/no waiting, magnificent sunsets as balloons drift by the patio, a roaring fire in the fireplace...

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • a grown up fairy tale

    a grown up fairy tale

    • Guest nadia (bennington vt)
    • Date of stay 10/01/11
    • Review Submitted 10/20/11
    i was lucky enough to be a guest at la maisonette, a wonderfully curating home.Ben and Stephanie renovated this charming home with all that you would wish for on a holiday, yet they did nothing that would compromise the history of this very special place. waking up at la maisonette one might think they were still dreaming, as you stare out of the second floor terrace overlooking the castle and the village of Beynac, you might just think you are in heaven. going to a local market and boulangerie, preparing a meal in the loveliest kitchen, then dining on the backyard terrace surrounded with lime, quince and palms trees is magical. night time is lovely with the castle and star filled sky makes this a wonderful experience the kind that will surely have you pinching yourself to make sure it is real, and it is that and more.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wow factor for lodging without breaking the budget

    Wow factor for lodging without breaking the budget

    • Guest twk (Wichita Falls, Texas)
    • Date of stay 06/10/11
    • Review Submitted 06/28/11
    Just got back from our France trip, which started with a very enjoyable one week stay at La Maisonette. The house was just as represented by the web site and photos, and the practical information provided by the owners was top notch. To have such a modern and functional house in an historic setting is a real treat. Ben, his local agent Sarissa, and even the cleaning lady, Martine, were always responsive and helpful. We also enjoyed Beynac as a base for visiting the Dordogne. With so much to do in the immediate vicinity, I believe that our longest drive during the week was a trip to Les Eyzies to see Font du Gaume. Starting the rental period on a Friday, as opposed to the customary French rental period starting on Saturday, also lets you enjoy the Saturday morning market in Sarlat. I feel like we got a great deal on the place, and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect introduction to France!

    Perfect introduction to France!

    • Guest noix (USA)
    • Date of stay 04/28/11
    • Review Submitted 05/02/11
    For our first time visiting France, we decided to head straight for one of the culinary capitals of the country, the Dordogne. Fresh strawberries, white asparagus, foie gras and duck confit were some of the local highlights we couldn't get enough of. Staying in Beynac is probably the best place to explore the area, and we couldn't have found a better place than La Maisonette! Walking down the cobblestone path to the cottage, we immediately recognized it from the pictures. We knew we were in a special place when we opened the door in front of a tourist taking a picture of the cottage. We ate fresh heirloom tomato and mozzarella caprese with local walnut oil on the rose garden patio, with passersby wishing us, "Bon apettit." We couldn't have had a more relaxing, yet invigorating introduction to France. Thank you again, Ben and Stephanie!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Exceeded my high expectations

    Exceeded my high expectations

    • Guest Tiffany (Philadelphia)
    • Date of stay 03/28/11
    • Review Submitted 04/06/11
    We just returned from our stay at La Maisonette and had an incredible time. The house is inviting, impeccable, absolutely charming. The beds were comfy and the kitchen was a treat to use. The owners supplied us before our trip with lots of helpful advice about area activities. The highlights of our stay were touring the Beynac castle (literally next door) as well as the Font-de-Gaume ancient cave paintings. We stayed just before the regular tourist season officially began, which meant that many of the restaurants and businesses around were closed. It made for a quiet stay and we were able to prepare some delicious meals in the gourmet kitchen instead of eating out. I cannot recommend this property enough. After reading all of the other reviews, it would be hard for our stay to have exceeded my expectations, but it did in every way.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Absolutely PERFECT!

    Absolutely PERFECT!

    • Guest savannat8 (Salt Lake City, UT)
    • Date of stay 02/11/11
    • Review Submitted 02/23/11
    My husband and I just got back from staying here a week! I can't say enough about how charming and beautiful this cottage is! You will not be disappointed! Plus, the owners and the manager were so helpful and informative, I can't recommend this place more! The location is gorgeous and the surrounding villages are just as charming!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Absolutely superb

    Absolutely superb

    • Guest Andrew (Christchurch, New Zealand)
    • Date of stay 01/02/11
    • Review Submitted 01/23/11
    We stayed at this exceptional cottage for 5 nights over the 2010 Christmas period. The owners were extemely helpful when we contacted them to arrange our stay. They provided advice and a comprehensive guide to the cottage, Beynac and the surrounding area. They also helped us to arrange a wonderful cooking class to attend during our stay. All of our communications were answered promptly and in a way that gave us total confidence in making our arrangements. The cottage has been superbly and sympathetically restored. The owners have retained all of the historical features of the cottage while also providing modern facilities. The furnishings have been chosen carefully and show the owners' obvious decorating flair whilst being entirely complementary to the setting. The owners had kindly arranged for the heating to be turned on before our arrival so that the cottage would be warm. The cottage was immaculate on our arrival. A basket of food for the next breakfast was awaiting us. The cottage, and its surrounding garden and terraced areas, provided an enchanting home that we loved and were very sad to leave. The description and photographs of the cottage on this site, and the extremely positive reviews from previous guests, reflect accurately this superb cottage and its wonderful owners. We have no hesitation in recommending this cottage and its owners would not contemplate staying anywhere else on our next trip to this region. Andrew

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Que la vie est belle

    Que la vie est belle

    • Guest Troy and Stacey (USA)
    • Date of stay 09/11/10
    • Review Submitted 10/11/10
    Dear Ben and Stephanie, We truly can't thank you enough for sharing your beautiful home in France with us! The beauty was almost too much to take in, we loved every. single. minute. and left feeling relaxed and thankful. We especially want to thank you for the wonderful Orientation Guide. Oh my! We had no idea there was so much to do and see, the information was very helpful. Our favorites? Les Delices (Seriously, is there a better croissant anywhere in the world? We searched all over Paris and found nothing quite as tasty! And don't EVEN get me started on Koing Aman...mmmmm!). The owners of the restaurant nearby, Jean Luc and Francoise became fast friends (despite the fact we spoke VERY limited French), he even invited us to his kitchen for an impromtu cooking lesson! What fun memories. We feel blessed and lucky to have experienced a little slice of heaven on earth, called Beynac. Thank you! Sincerely, Troy and Stacey

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Troy and Stacey
    • Date of stay 09/01/10
    • Review Submitted 10/12/10
    Dear Ben and Stephanie, We truly can't thank you enough for sharing your beautiful home in France with us! The beauty was almost too much to take in, we loved every. single. minute. and left feeling relaxed and thankful. We especially want to thank you for the wonderful Orientation Guide. Oh my! We had no idea there was so much to do and see, the information was very helpful. Our favorites? Les Delices (Seriously, is there a better croissant anywhere in the world? We searched all over Paris and found nothing quite as tasty! And don't EVEN get me started on Koing Aman...mmmmm!). Jean Luc and Francoise [owners of the nearby restaurant "Le Donjon"] became fast friends (despite the fact we spoke VERY limited French), he even invited us to his kitchen for an impromtu cooking lesson! What fun memories. We feel blessed and lucky to have experienced a little slice of heaven on earth, called Beynac. Thank you! Sincerely, Troy and Stacey

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Live the Enchantment

    Live the Enchantment

    • Guest William H. (Toronto, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 08/24/10
    • Review Submitted 10/16/10
    At the risk of merely echoing descriptions or prior superlative reviews of La Maisonnette du Coteau… this place is, quite simply, fantastic! The idyllic locations, from the cottage, to the village of Beynac, to the overall setting of the region adorned with castles and wonderful historic towns along the Dordogne River, could not be more charming. If ever one should want to live just a bit of fantasy, this is one great choice... in any season! Ben and Stephanie provide a terrific Orientation Guide… complete with restaurant ideas and suggestions for activities and places to see. We parked just a stone’s throw from Chateau de Beynac. As we walked the short distance down a cobbled pathway along one flank of the castle, we approached the cottage with ever-widening grins as we struggled to absorb the splendor of the cottage in the shadow of the castle replete with the wonders of Beynac and the beauty of the Dordogne valley below. A wrought iron entry adorned with grape vine invited us to our home for ten wonderful days at the end of August. We became enamored immediately with La Maisonnette…from the attention to detail in renovation to the inviting outdoor patio. Throughout our stay we ate wonderful food, drank sumptuous, juicy wines, met great, friendly people, paddled the Dordogne, and visited fabulous sites, towns and markets. All are an easy drive through a splendid part of France – as yet unspoiled and still reflecting a calm, peaceful lifestyle. Enjoy it all to the fullest…we hope to return one day to recapture the charm this place has to offer. We especially miss the simple, yet wonderful, home cooking of Jean Luc at Le Donjon just a skip from La Maisonnette. Thanks once again to Ben and Stephanie… you have, indeed, found what is surely one of the most enchanting locations in France.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Lovely house in beautiful village

    Lovely house in beautiful village

    • Guest Juliet T. (Austin, Texas)
    • Date of stay 05/29/10
    • Review Submitted 07/17/10
    We had a wonderful stay in this lovely house in a beautiful part of France. The house is clean and cozy, with numerous thoughtful details, such as a library of books and DVDs that relate to the Dordogne region. The owners were solicitous and gave us some valuable local information, including the recommendation to visit Font de Gaume, a cave with prehistoric paintings. The medieval village of Beynac is picture-perfect, with a towering castle and amazing views of the countryside. Although many tourists visit during the day, Beynac is very quiet at night and the narrow, cobble-stoned streets are peopled only by those lucky enough to be living in the village in houses like La Maisonette. My only caveat is that the streets in the village and the stairs in the house are very steep, which might be a challenge if you have any problems with walking. I highly recommend this listing.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • Incredible Property - Rare gem among VRBOs

    Incredible Property - Rare gem among VRBOs

    • Guest nedabee (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 03/22/10
    • Review Submitted 10/14/10
    My husband and I stayed here for one week in March of 2010. This is the first time I've stayed at a VRBO property as a renter although I'm familiar with renting condos since we have rented ours in Hilton Head for the past 10 years. From a fellow property owner's perspective, this place is managed exceptionally. The staff that greets you is a charming and friendly couple who own a nearby hotel. The property itself is a magical place (in addition ot being newly renovated, very clean, and well-maintained. You really do live right beside an old castle, and the surroundings are truly out of a fairy tale. Pictures fail to capture the true beauty of this place. The free phone line to the US was also a nice benefit as well as the free internet. The village of Beynac and the surrounding villages are lovely. We visited an outdoor market almost everyday and enjoyed cooking in the chef's kitchen in the cottage. We were also able to visit the prehistoric caves as well as take a day trip to Bordeaux. If you do stay here, I highly recommend visiting one of the goose farms to learn about how they make foie gras, a specialty in this region. My husband and I were the only ones in the cottage, but the cottage can easily and comfortably fit 6. It's an ideal place for a family with children or a few couples on a getaway. We are definitely coming back to La Maisonette with friends and/or family. The owners are really pleasant to work with as well. They also provide a very helpful guide that suggests restaurants, activities and also practical things like where to go for necessities. I highly recommend this place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Sarah & Rob (Provo, Utah)
    • Date of stay 03/15/10
    • Review Submitted 03/15/10
    We stayed for a week in February and fell in love with both the Maisonette and the town of Beynac. The house is in immaculate condition and is completely charming. We appreciated the owners' attention to detail and frankly could not have been more comfortable. It was the off-season, so we saw very few fellow-tourists. This made for a quiet and serene visit to some of the most amazing countryside we had ever seen. It is absolutely worth taking a trip to the Dordogne. We will surely do it again, and we look forward to another stay at the Maisonette.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

    • Guest Michael C. (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 01/17/10
    • Review Submitted 01/16/10
    Absolutely perfect winter get-away! Two weeks at La Maisonette was truly another, slower, more refreshing world. Excellently refurbished, all conveniences (including an excellent kitchen - which we used extensively), convenient wireless internet, and very inviting fireplace for the cold nights. The hosts have done a simply wonderful job with the renovation - we found ourself "staying home" more than we'd planned simply because we loved La Maisonette so much. Might be a bit busy in the summer when all the tourists are there but for the winter (and shoulder seasons also probably) it was a tremendously atmospheric, meditative, and restorative place to be. Thanks so much, what a delight!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

    • Guest Andy and Colleen (Brussels Belgium)
    • Date of stay 11/15/09
    • Review Submitted 11/15/09
    We had a wonderful week at La Maisonette at the end of October. The cottage has been very thoughtfully renovated and was very comfortable for us and our two teenagers. It was wonderful to look out at the castle each morning particularly through the autumn shades of the crepe myrtle at the front door. The location is spectacular and there is so much to do in the area - we topped off the holiday with a wonderful balloon flight over the valley. The owners provided us with very helpful information about the area and were very easy to deal with. We would certainly recommend La Maisonette to our friends for a comfortable stay in a breathtakingly beautiful part of France.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

    • Guest Stu Jones (Toronto, Ontario)
    • Date of stay 10/08/09
    • Review Submitted 10/08/09
    What a fantastic place. Waking up every morning right next to the Chateau du Beynac, with amazing views of Beynac and the Dordogne river. This place not only has a great location but is very comfortable with a top of the line kitchen, deep claw foot tub with view, and free internet and phone. Also a great terrace to enjoy an afternoon cheese plate and glass of wine. Owner is easy to deal with and has a great info pack to keep you busy during your stay. Loved every minute and can't wait to go back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Fantastic experience at La Maisonnette!

    Fantastic experience at La Maisonnette!

    • Guest Kelsey (New York City)
    • Date of stay 09/07/09
    • Review Submitted 10/12/10
    When my husband and I stayed at this beautiful cottage our experience was nothing short of perfect. The small village in which it is situated is picturesque and the perfect escape. The cottage itself has been impeccably renovated with a beautiful kitchen, wonderful living space, and charming bedrooms. With fabulous markets close by, it is a great experience to shop at the market, come back to the cottage, and make an authentic French meal. We were so impressed with this location in France. The villages dotted throughout the Dordogne valley all have their own charm. We enjoyed canoeing down the Dordogne River, exploring the Marqueyssac Gardens, taking a hot air balloon ride, and participating in a cooking class. It was the trip of a lifetime and there was no better home base than La Maisonnette!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]