Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
The Cottage

Private Beachfront Cottage on Molokai, HI [#25688] | View Property

Kainalu
Cottage, Studio, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)
$1200/wk
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (23)

Sort by:
  • STUNNING/PRIVATE/QUITE/CLEAN/and much more!!

    STUNNING/PRIVATE/QUITE/CLEAN/and much more!!

    • Guest Gianni (Redwood City Ca)
    • Date of stay 07/27/13
    • Review Submitted 08/13/13
    My wife and I rented this very cute cottage to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday. An absolutely GEM!!! Kayaks are a great bonus for active people...we used it every day of our stay (8days total). Another unexpected bonus "watch tropical storm FLOSSY" from the lanai hit us/the island!! Jill the property manager was wonderfull and there for us any time we need her or had hicking questions. Hard to describe everything with so little space, YOU GOT to go to believe it. WE JUST LOVE IT!!! p.s. if you are looking for night life/party this is NOT your ISLAND!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Tranquility at Its Best

    Tranquility at Its Best

    • Guest Jocelyn (San Francisco, CA USA)
    • Date of stay 05/06/13
    • Review Submitted 09/11/13
    The listing and photos make this cottage (and house listing also) look like heaven on earth and it is. The owners and caretaker take excellent care of the property and it is so peaceful you won't want to leave. We went in hopes of quiet, swimming, kayaking, walking, painting. The water is very calm and at low tide sometimes too low to swim. We watched the tide and swam at least three times daily and at low tide one can walk in either direction for quite some ways, sometimes wading in shallow water sometimes on beaches, The owners protect the night sky, no glaring up lights so the stars are great and you can see frogs play in the lawn. We made two mistakes in our Molikai adventure, we should have stayed longer and the full tank of gas was a waste as we did not want to go any where else except the lovely cottage and its surrounding landscape, water etc. But if you do I suggest the following. A nice beach for snorkling 2 miles down the road. And for shopping don't miss Kuma organic farm, check days and hours. Also on the same trip the macadamia nut farm is a trip. As you leave the airport a little fruit and vegetable stand is located at Davis’ residence at Kalamaula Homestead. It is open six days a week, from Mondays to Fridays from 10 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. and on Saturdays from 8 a.m. to noon. They get fruit and veggies from a variety of locals and often unusual varieties, plus their own. In town look for a tiny stand with a woman selling her produce too. Staying here was the most relaxing, delicious time away i could imagine.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Didn't even have to leave the property for adventures

    Didn't even have to leave the property for adventures

    • Guest Laura N Scott (San Jose, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/14/12
    • Review Submitted 08/28/12
    This little cottage is so very cute and comfortable, but what makes it AWESOME is the lanai - perfect size, perfect location, perfectly comfortable chairs, and perfectly peaceful overall. We spent many an hour there during our 9 day stay. Having the kayaks available was great - we used them nearly every day. The beachcombing was okay in front of the cottage, but it was fantastic just to the east, inside an old fish pond. We found oodles of pretty sea glass there. At low tide, we were able to walk west along the beach for quite a ways. The skies were clear most nights, compelling us to put the chaises in the middle of the yard for romantic stargazing. My husband learned how to skin and open a coconut with just a stick, which meant we had fresh coconut meat for dessert, mmm! We didn't snorkel by the cottage, but we did try Murphy's Beach just two miles east and Dixie Maru (way on the west side) - both were decent, but not great. Didn't matter though - it was so nice coming back to the cottage after our excursions to relax on the lanai. In fact, two of the days we were there, we never even left the property!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: So glad you enjoyed your stay!! Hope you can come back someday!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Roger and Sandy in 2010

    Roger and Sandy in 2010

    • Guest Roger and Sandy (Bismarck, ND)
    • Date of stay 02/26/10
    • Review Submitted 05/19/10
    My husband and I spent 2 weeks on this beautiful island in Feb/March 2010. We were thrilled that the property and cottage exceeded our expectations. Pictures do not do this place justice! The cottage is much more spacious than you would expect. We loved the outdoor shower, washing machine access, and most of all the privacy and ocean views! Don't miss the snorkeling at Dixie Maru (about an hour's drive west), the shops and wonderful restaurants in town ( about 17 miles west) and the little store/lunch spot about 2 miles from the property. We also really enjoyed the weekly farmer's markets in town and the entertainment at the local hotel....we were lucky enough to hear and meet Lono!!! We loved this place and will be back soon !

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Rian H
    • Date of stay 07/01/09
    • Review Submitted 10/24/10
    We stay here for one week and it was great!! Quiet-Nice pleace! Great bed-kitchen-bathroom-beautifull garden- nice view. A place that you think only exists in your dreams... You need a car... Everything is perfectly arranged by Jessica !! It was so great to stay here!!! More...

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Get Away From It All on Molokai

    Get Away From It All on Molokai

    • Guest Roy and Bel (Edgewood, WA)
    • Date of stay 06/26/09
    • Review Submitted 05/16/10
    My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our one week stay at this beach front cottage on Molokai. It was everything that the listing described and more. The property was very clean and well maintained. Even though the owners house is close by, they respected our privacy, but were still helpful when we had questions. The beach in front of the property is small, but is protected by a reef so the water is shallow and safe for children to swim. The two kayaks provided are also a plus.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Absolutely Awesome!!!

    Absolutely Awesome!!!

    • Guest letsgomolokai (Seattle, WA, USE)
    • Date of stay 08/18/08
    • Review Submitted 10/09/08
    This cottage could not be more perfect!! It is rare to find a place that so exceeds your expectations. Even the great photos shown here don't do it justice. The owners are great: easy to deal with, give you lots of privacy and take such wonderful care of the cottage and grounds. It really is like a park on the ocean. We whole heartily recommend this cottage and property. It was a wonderful experience and one of our best vacations ever!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/7

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Susan and Mark
    • Date of stay 07/17/07
    • Review Submitted 07/16/07
    Thanks so much for providing such a gracious cottage in an idyllic setting. You're wonderful, generous hosts! We hope to return one day. Enjoy a continued wonderful life in paradise.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Bruce and Liz
    • Date of stay 07/17/07
    • Review Submitted 07/16/07
    What a perfect place to spend a romantic 27th anniversary! We enjoyed the peace and quiet and the beautiful sunrises. Thank you both for sharing your wonderful cottage with us. We felt extremely comfortable with the pace of life and the friendly people here on Molokai. We wish we could stay longer - like for life!! MAHALO!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Honeymoon Getaway

    Honeymoon Getaway

    • Guest decaldwell (Highland, MI USA)
    • Date of stay 06/01/07
    • Review Submitted 12/21/07
    The Beachfront Cottage on Molokai was the most wonderful experience my husband and I could ever ask for. We stayed a full two weeks and could not have enjoyed ourselves more. We were able to enjoy ourselves without having to bump into others while coming and going. The property was one of the most serene places either of us has ever been to. The amenities provided were all that we could ask for. We made a habit of kayaking in the mornings just after sunrise, before the wind and waves would pick up. We felt at ease resting in the hammock or on the lanai. If you are looking for a place to rekindle your romance or to just enjoy each other more, this is the perfect place for you!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 18/19

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Guy and Kerry
    • Date of stay 02/05/07
    • Review Submitted 02/04/07
    What a wonderful bungalow on a beautiful island. We loved every minute of our week here. Enjoyed the sunrises on the lanai with our fresh Hawaiian coffee each morning. Reading on the beach and kayaking out to the reef. The whales were very active. The east end is the best by far. Thank you.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Mike and Paula Fallis (Fair Oaks, California)
    • Date of stay 11/07/06
    • Review Submitted 11/07/06
    My wife and I spent our 30th Anniversery at Hale Kai Molokai Beach House last August. It was the most special place on earth to celebrate our 30 years together! No distractions, just peaceful tropical beauty and the most wonderful house/property one could ever hope for. When you look at the photos it only just begins to touch on what the experiance will be. And, yes, just like others who have stayed here, the outdoor shower has to be experianced to understand. Trust every one, it is "special!" One day we hope to return to take it all in again. Until then we will have to content ourselves with watching our digital slide show memories from our couch! Mahalo and Aloha

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Deb and Vaughan
    • Date of stay 10/30/06
    • Review Submitted 10/29/06
    Mahalo, Aloha, We have LOVED it here. We could go on and on about the breezes, the coco palms, the fruit trees outside our windows, the sandy private beach, the beautiful, lush mangroves, etc etc etc.... but, we have been so busy enjoying it all right up wntil the last minute that now we must go!!! Thank You and Much Aloha.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Rob and Leah
    • Date of stay 10/06/06
    • Review Submitted 10/05/06
    We are so glad we found this little cottage on the internet. We trekked to all corners of Molokai, every bit the friendly, peaceful isle we hoped to find, and still we found your property the prettiest, most beautifully landscaped piece of land of all. Jessica, thank you so much for the lovely wedding ceremony. You've left us with a wonderful memory of starting our lives together in one of the most beautiful places in the world. Mahalo!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest William and Suzanne
    • Date of stay 08/12/06
    • Review Submitted 08/11/06
    Our first trip to Hawaii has been phenomenal! Our stay at your cottage was everything we'd hoped it would be: romantic, peaceful, relaxing, private ... it felt like a second honeymoon! Our two weeks here have been unforgetable. We've enjoyed the slower pace of life and we'll be sure to recommend your vacation rental to friends and family. Mahalo!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Keith and Cathy
    • Date of stay 07/12/06
    • Review Submitted 07/11/06
    Molokai is everything we hoped it would be and more. The pace is so relaxing and the people couldn't be friendlier. The view from the cottage is wonderful and we love the ocean breeze blowing through the windows. It is truly paradise and we feel so blessed to have found such a wonderful place to spend our 20th anniversary together. Thank you for your hospitality.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Allen and Beth
    • Date of stay 07/02/06
    • Review Submitted 07/01/06
    What a fabulous honeymoon!! We could not have asked for a more beautiful and secluded place to start our married life together. There is so much to do and see on this island. We went to Maui for an overnight visit and couldn't wait to get back to our cottage by the sea and Molokai to get away from the crowds and commercial atmosphere. We are sad to leave and can't wait to come back to celebrate our anniversaries. Mahalo!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Roger and Dusty
    • Date of stay 06/04/06
    • Review Submitted 06/03/06
    We're so glad we "discovered" your place for our 20th anniversary - we'll never forget our experience here. We came looking for the Hawaii we knew from the 60's and 70's and we found it! Mahalo

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Gretchen and Rodney
    • Date of stay 02/13/06
    • Review Submitted 02/12/06
    Our second visit to this perfect spot is once again too short. You have created such a wonderful tropical paradise. Thank you so much for sharing it with us. We love how the trees' shadows dance on the lawn - both by sunlight and moonlight. The ocean enjoyed by kayak and by the lanai is breathtaking. The whales have been very forthcoming and entertaining. Please don't change a thing! It's great! Hope to see you again soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Caleb and Teri
    • Date of stay 01/23/06
    • Review Submitted 01/22/06
    Thank you very much for providing such a beautiful home base for our first visit to Hawaii. Our 12 days in the cottage seemed to stretch out to a month's worth of relaxation. It takes a pretty wonderful place to make 2 New Englanders forget that its January. It was all exactly what we hoped it would be. Hope to make it back someday soon!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Daniel Callan (Morris Township, New Jersey)
    • Date of stay 12/29/05
    • Review Submitted 12/29/05
    It is now just about a year since our visit. As the islands call us, they whisper Hale Kai. Mahalo Nui Loa for sharing the very best with us. Ke Aloha no!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Don & Kathryn Ozenbaugh (Angels Camp, CA)
    • Date of stay 12/18/05
    • Review Submitted 12/18/05
    If you are considering staying here in the cottage, don't delay making a reservation. Even though we have returned, it's getting difficult to get reservations...they fill up quickly. You will not be sorry!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/02/05
    • Review Submitted 04/02/05
    We couldn't have picked a more perfect location to spend Christmas. Our third, and final week in Hawaii was spent in this magical cottage. It was the perfect escape from it all!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]