Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Living room with cable TV

Boston Hidden Gem Charming 3 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Single Family House [#257236ha] | View Property

Boston
3 Bedrooms, 2 full Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (9)

Sort by:
  • Another Great Visit!!!

    Another Great Visit!!!

    • Guest Jill D.
    • Date of stay 11/27/13
    • Review Submitted 12/03/13
    Our family had such a great time last year that we had to return for another visit. We were very happy to find the house as lovely as we remembered. We had a very nice and memorable stay and appreciate how easy the rental process was! Thanks again!

    Owner response: We are so glad you had a good time, it is always lovely to welcome back returning guests Happy Holidays Patrick

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Cozy house in a lovely neighborhood!

    Cozy house in a lovely neighborhood!

    • Guest Jill D.
    • Date of stay 11/21/12
    • Review Submitted 12/04/12
    Our family of four (2 adults, 2 children ages 10 and 12) enjoyed our 4 night stay. The house was clean, nicely decorated and well stocked with thoughtful supplies. It was spacious yet cozy. Patrick and Stephen made the reservation and stay very easy. We loved the neighborhood, especially the arboretum with the many beautiful trees, all of them tagged. We hope to return in the spring/summer when the park is in full bloom. There are great shops within walking distance from the house (When Pigs Fly bakery and City Feed and Supply market/deli). We visited downtown Boston every day on the T which is a short walk from the house. We purchased weekly T passes for $18 per adult. There is so much to see in Boston (don't miss the Harvard Museum of Natural History or the cannolis in the North End) and this house served as the perfect home base for our visit. Thank you Stephen and Patrick!

    Owner response: Hi so glad you enjoyed your stay, having Harvards Aboretum at the top of our street is a delight we look forward to having you as our guest on your future visits to Boston Thanks Patrick

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great location

    Great location

    • Guest Rachel G.
    • Date of stay 10/20/12
    • Review Submitted 11/24/12
    We stayed here as a family of 4 (kids aged 10 + 13) for a week at the end of October. We don't like hotels and found that this property offered us plenty of space and room to relax in the evenings. The house met our expectations and had everything we needed. We had travelled from the UK on only cabin baggage so the little extras such as shampoo, toilet rolls and cleaning products in the kitchen were much appreciated. The property was clean and well maintained. The bedrooms were also great, comfy beds and plenty of pillows and bedding. The owner was welcoming and we had no problems but had plenty of information about the local area and how to contact the owner should we have needed to. He also arranged a late check out for us,as they had no new booking for the following week, as we had a late flight back to the UK. The property was just over 5 mins walk to the 'T' which we used all week with Charlie cards to get around. We did rent a car for 1 day to visit Plimouth and the local 'Enterprise' rental car office collected us and dropped us back. There were several supermarkets at the top of the road and also several restaurants. Dunkin Donuts and JP Licks were also close for which the children were very grateful!! Thanks for a great property in which to spend our week in Boston.

    Owner response: HI Rachel Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we are spoiled for restaurants in here but having JP licks so close by can be dangerous lol hope we see you on your next visit to Boston Thanks Patrick

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Location

    Great Location

    • Guest Paul C. (Littleton, Colorado)
    • Date of stay 05/31/12
    • Review Submitted 06/05/12
    This was a perfect location for our trip to Boston and my sisters graduation. Don't be discouraged on your drive from the airport as you go through some of the rougher neighborhoods. Jamaica Plain is a very nice place to be. Once you get to the neighborhood there are several parks, shopping spots, and restaurants to choose from. Great spot and we would absolutely stay here again!

    Owner response: Hi glad you enjoyed your stay, we are lucky to live in such a great area, for your next visit please let me know as there is a very quick way from the airport 20 Min,s driving and its direct so you do not have to go through any rough neighborhoods to get to the house

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family getaway

    Family getaway

    • Guest Keith O.
    • Date of stay 05/05/12
    • Review Submitted 05/20/12
    We stayed here for our 8 day holiday in Boston. There were 2 couples and 2 individuals so the bed layout suited us perfectly. We got the subway from the airport and easily found the house thanks to the directions from Patrick and Stephen. It was in a lovely neighbourhood with shops and restaurants a short walk away. We didn't encounter any trouble even returning late at night. The house has a fully equipped kitchen, living room and bathroom downstairs. Upstairs were the 3 bedrooms and another bathroom. Well laid out for a family or group of 4-6 people. The only two downsides were that the two double bedrooms didn't have much room for luggage, and there was a bit of noise from the floorboards and people using the bathroom. Patrick and Stephen were very friendly and helpful, they live right next door which was handy for any questions we had. The nearby subway station was great, 5mins walk to the station and 15mins ride into the centre of Boston. We initially got CharlieCards, which can be topped up as needed and used by up to 4 people by passing it back and swiping again. However, we realised then that a weekly ticket was only $15, which is less than 9 CharlieCard trips ($1.70 each). The house is reasonably priced if you are sharing in a group. All in all we had a pleasant stay and would recommend this house to groups of 4-6 staying in Boston.

    Owner response: Hi Glad you enjoyed your stay, My fault for not mentioning the luggage storage area in the basement next to the washer and dryer,

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Fantastic Place

    Fantastic Place

    • Guest Ray O. (Killarney)
    • Date of stay 05/05/12
    • Review Submitted 05/20/12
    Just a few lines to say how nice this place was.This was out of boston but with the train station only 5 Mins walk away you are in downtown boston in 15 mins.(recommend buying a & day charlie ticket for 15 dollars as you can hop on and off bus&Subway as much as you like) We stayed here with my brother and his wife and my two aunties and felt very safe arriving home every evening and night.House was very clean and had all neccessities we required.Microwave,Washing machine,Dishwasher etc... Our hosts did not bother us once and were always on hand when we needed assistance.Jamica plain is lovely town and some lovely shops and bars. One tip is if you go right of house and go one block up and down left one block there is another handy store which sells everything including liqour. Our only gripe was the wifi which was a bit slow downstairs but upsatirs worked well.I dont know if this was just because every body in our party were using iphones or ipads and overloaded system but it did the job we needed it for the weeks stay. Thanks again to our hosts P&S and thanks to Boston for making us feel welcome everywhere we visited.

    Owner response: Hi Glad you enjoyed your stay, we are lucky to live in such a great area, hope you got to check out Harvard,s 400 acre park at the top of the street

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent for big family/group ! has everything!

    Excellent for big family/group ! has everything!

    • Guest alberto m.
    • Date of stay 10/23/11
    • Review Submitted 11/07/11
    We had a big family reunion in Boston so people from Canada, South America and Europe came to meet all the new members of the family (3 babies). This house was GREAT !!! we were able to accommodate most of us and then we rented another 1br apartment. for the rest. The location despite it is not central, has a train station very close. The house is cute, VERY clean and has everything you need -absolutely everything is working and immaculate. The house is also great for children, just be careful with the stairs, but they are covered with carpet so it is not that dangerous. We had toddlers so we got an inexpensive gate we left behind. The landlords are great guys, very easy to deal with and ready to help you with anything you need. The house is detached so no neighbor noises and well, the worst, our neighbors did not hear the babies cry :-). There is a very nice playground for the children just across the street. We were there for about 10 days and we felt like at home. Parking is just a block away on the street if you rent a car. Very close there is a great store with all kind of organic stuff and the main street has all kind of restaurants and shops with a very nice atmosphere. I very much recommend this place specially if there are several of you. Thanks P & S !! we had a very nice time at your place. :-)

    Owner response: Hi glad you enjoyed your stay we are very fortunate to have downtown Boston a 5 Min ride away

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Would definitely recommend

    Would definitely recommend

    • Guest Rachel K.
    • Date of stay 07/10/11
    • Review Submitted 08/04/11
    My family and I stayed in this property for three weeks this July. Two adults, two children [7 & 4] and grandparents. It was a fantastic location with Jamaica Plain town centre an easy stroll away, the T into Boston a 5 minute walk away and plenty of parks/baseball fields and tennis courts for the little ones. Jamica Plain has plenty of amenities such as 'the harvest' [top of street] for groceries with larger stores like a Stop and Shop in the vicinity. The neighbourhood was friendly and we felt very safe walking with our children. We had a car and explored the area but we also took the train into Boston several times. The Charlie Card is a great way of paying for travel. The house itself was very clean and welcoming with decent facilities. Patrick was great to deal with from when we initially requested information on the property to our actual visit. I will recommend this property to family and friends and would definitely stay there should we have any further visits to Boston.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we are spoiled with our location and the new tennis and basket ball courts at the top of the street, hope you had a lovely journey home Thanks Patrick

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Excellent home away from home!

    Excellent home away from home!

    • Guest planetpeanut (Minneola, FL)
    • Date of stay 04/16/11
    • Review Submitted 05/09/11
    My family stayed in this house during Boston Marathon week, 2011. There were 4 adults and 1 teenager, we had plenty of room. The house was clean and well stocked. We truly felt at home the second we arrived. The location is excellent, on a quiet street, short walking distance to T station. There are restaurants, a great co-op organic market and a bakery just a few blocks away. This was one of the best vacations we have ever taken and I can say the convenience and comfort of this house made our trip so carefree. Thank you for everything....we will definately be back!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Glad you enjoyed your stay now, in addition to the other amenities we have a new tennis court at the top of the street plus a playground so bring your racket

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]