Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
On the Chattahoochee & only 4 blocks from downtown, it's an easy walk to town.

Helen Riverside Cabin - Chattahoochee River - Walk to Town [#257278] | View Property

Helen
Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-6)
$165 - $200/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (48)

Sort by:
  • Wonderful Location! Clicked All The Boxes!

    Wonderful Location! Clicked All The Boxes!

    • Guest Gary M.
    • Date of stay 10/20/13
    • Review Submitted 11/02/13
    Helen Riverside Cabin was wonderfully located within walking distance of everything, yet had an ultra-quiet & in-the-woods by the river location. I couldn't imagine a better location. The cabin itself was extremely well-equipped, beautifully appointed and comfortable. Why 4-stars instead of 5? Although there are two jacuzzi bathtubs....it could use one outside please. A gas fireplace would be a major improvement in ambiance....the electric fake fireplace is dumb.....take it out.....better without it. Do those two things and it will be 5-star.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/4

  • Our "home away from home" in Helen!

    Our "home away from home" in Helen!

    • Guest Neil S.
    • Date of stay 09/29/13
    • Review Submitted 01/04/14
    We have stayed here every year since David built the cabin, and would not consider staying anywhere else in the area. This cabin is perfect if you want quiet, rustic-feeling with modern conveniences right at the edge of the river and a very easy walk to downtown and Betty's, and of course, a short drive to all of the other attractions in the area. The street is very private without being isolated, and some of the horses which pull the carriages downtown are stabled across and down the street. Everything is very well-planned and well-maintained, and the individual local owner is always very professional, responsive and accessible. Some issues with internet service, but it is a cabin in the mountains, so not critical to us - mostly using it for apple tv which kept timing out. Everything still feels just as fresh and new as the first time we stayed, and it was only rented once before our first visit. 99.99% perfect overall Helen cabin experience!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Twice in one summer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Twice in one summer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Guest Daniel Clan (United States)
    • Date of stay 08/23/13
    • Review Submitted 10/20/13
    We had such a great time when we stayed at the cabin in June we decided to do it again in August. It was even better than the first time we were there. I can't wait to make this a yearly trip. We talk about this cabin a lot. Great family memories. Between the fishing, tubing, shopping and site seeing, it's an all around perfect place to visit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • OUT TRIP TO THE HELEN RIVERSIDE CABIN

    OUT TRIP TO THE HELEN RIVERSIDE CABIN

    • Guest GRANTLN (SEMINOLE, FL)
    • Date of stay 07/20/13
    • Review Submitted 07/30/13
    A NICE, CLEAN CABIN THAT WAS VERY WELL FURNISHED. THIS WAS OUR 2ND YEAR AT THIS SAME CABIN. WE THOROUGHLY ENJOYED OUR ONE-WEEK STAY AGAIN IN 2013!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Helen Alpine Riverside Cabin-Absolute Haven!

    Helen Alpine Riverside Cabin-Absolute Haven!

    • Guest Michael D. (Lakeland FL)
    • Date of stay 07/12/13
    • Review Submitted 07/27/13
    Our stay at the cabin was amazing. Every review I read and all the pictures are spot-on. Great location close to town with the feeling of being out of town and in the mountains. Sitting on the porch early in the morning and evening listening to the river was so relaxing. The gas grill and fire pit were great. Having five people, 3 adults (grandma came along) 2 children, we opted to have the kids use 2 blow-up mattress's on the floor in the upstairs loft. Had more than enough room. The owner was great to work with and really made us feel right at home-Thanks David.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Helen Alpine Riverside Cabin-Absolute Haven!

    Helen Alpine Riverside Cabin-Absolute Haven!

    • Guest Michael D. (Lakeland FL)
    • Date of stay 07/12/13
    • Review Submitted 07/27/13
    Our stay at the cabin was amazing. Every review I read and all the pictures are spot-on. Great location close to town with the feeling of being out of town and in the mountains. Sitting on the porch early in the morning and evening listening to the river was so relaxing. The gas grill and fire pit were great. Having five people, 3 adults (grandma came along) 2 children, we opted to have the kids use 2 blow-up mattress's on the floor in the upstairs loft. Had more than enough room. The owner was great to work with and really made us feel right at home-Thanks David.

    Owner response: Glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the great review. Please keep us in mind in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Awesome GETAWAY!

    Awesome GETAWAY!

    • Guest Daniel Clan (United States)
    • Date of stay 05/31/13
    • Review Submitted 07/13/13
    We absolutely loved staying at the cabin. Sitting on the porch early in the morning and evening listening to the Chattahoochee River was so relaxing. The washer and dryer makes life even easier for this mom. Short walk to Betty's Country Store each day was part of our routine. Can't wait to go back!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for the nice comments. We hope you'll make it back soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great location!

    Great location!

    • Guest Chris s.
    • Date of stay 05/15/13
    • Review Submitted 05/26/13
    Absolutely great property! Great location, very short walk to everything in town. Great communication with property owner. David, thanks for everything!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: The town managed to survive another SOWO. Everybody seems to always have a good time at that event. If it gets any bigger.... not sure what will happen. Thanks for the nice review and thanks for choosing our cabin.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A great getaway!!

    A great getaway!!

    • Guest Ellen (Benton Ky)
    • Date of stay 05/10/13
    • Review Submitted 05/22/13
    This place is perfect. Great location close to town yet the privacy as if on top of the mountain. Everything was very clean and kitchen well stocked. David provides more than you thought possible. No need to bring laundry detergent, dishwasher detergent, hand soap etc. It was unreal what he provides for you. Believe me you won't be disappointed with this cabin. Sit on the balcony, look and listen to the river. It was a perfect getaway!!! Totally enjoyed our stay.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Cozy and Scenic Cabin

    Cozy and Scenic Cabin

    • Guest Birmingham Family (Birmingham)
    • Date of stay 11/21/12
    • Review Submitted 12/04/12
    This cabin is in an ideal location for the area. The view from the front of the cabin and the porch is the river stream and horses are in the field behind the cabin. It is easy to walk to the local market and the shops of Helen. The cabin was quiet, clean, and comfortable. It was the perfect size for our family (two adults and two children). We would highly recommend it.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for the nice comments and thanks for choosing our cabin!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Peace

    Peace

    • Guest Traci (Kathleen ga)
    • Date of stay 10/19/12
    • Review Submitted 10/26/12
    I love going to this cabin every October! It is perfect, close enough to walk to town and far enough away to listen to the river!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for your repeat patronage. We love it when folks come back! Peace with you as well!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great time!!

    Great time!!

    • Guest Lisa (Charlotte, NC)
    • Date of stay 09/21/12
    • Review Submitted 10/03/12
    The cabin was extremely clean and had everything to make it comfortable. We enjoyed the back porch and grill. It was an easy walk into town and we enjoyed the great food and beer available for Oktoberfest.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thanks for the nice comment. Please keep us in mind in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Quaint & Comfortable

    Quaint & Comfortable

    • Guest Jo (Calhoun, GA)
    • Date of stay 09/07/12
    • Review Submitted 09/13/12
    We enjoyed the quiet and comfortable quaintness of the cabin. Beautifull and very well kept. Perfect for us in all respects. The owner and housekeeper are personable and helpful. So close to the main street we could,ve easily walked.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you! Enjoy your travels!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Comfortable home in a pretty surrounding

    Comfortable home in a pretty surrounding

    • Guest Sheryl B. (Dallas)
    • Date of stay 09/04/12
    • Review Submitted 09/10/12
    We just returned from a very nice stay at this property. David went above and beyond to give us a great stay. The internet (which we needed during our stay) was spotty since it was being shared with his home next door. He bought a signal booster and installed it while we were there! Way beyond what we expected him to do!! We enjoyed the area quite a bit. The alpine town is quite touristy but if you just get beyond the downtown area there are some great pottery studio/galleries to visit. We especially enjoyed our visit to The Gourd Shop! The granary and winery were fun too. Would also suggest the trip to Anna Ruby Falls for a nearby easy hike with pretty scenery. All in all it was a very enjoyable trip.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for the nice comments! Hope to hear from you again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Most Excellent

    Most Excellent

    • Guest Wes S.
    • Date of stay 08/15/12
    • Review Submitted 08/23/12
    Very, very nice. Excellent facility - everything is in tip-top condition. What made this 5-star worthy is the location. The river is in the backyard and everything in down-town is within walking distance. Betty's IGA is about a 5 minute stroll. Well done, David!

    Owner response: Sorry I haven't responded sooner, but thanks for your nice comments and have safe travel in the future!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Girls Weekend Getaway

    Girls Weekend Getaway

    • Guest miss faye (Riverdale, Georgia)
    • Date of stay 08/10/12
    • Review Submitted 08/15/12
    This was such a awesome trip me and my friends loved it and will tell everyone and will be back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It was a pleasure meeting you and talking about the family name. Travel safely!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Absolutely Great

    Absolutely Great

    • Guest Daniel Kerz (Tallahassee, FL)
    • Date of stay 08/04/12
    • Review Submitted 08/13/12
    My wife and I were very happy to have found such a wonderful cabin in Helen. The owner graciously allowed our special requests and indeed we wouldn't have even been able to stay without his accommodation. Communication was excellent. I'm sure that our host would have been there on a dime had we needed anything; but we didn't. Everything was perfect. We rocked for hours on the deck watching and listening to the river. During the day there was a steady stream of happy rafters floating by in pink and green inner tubes. We floated the river too . . . had a blast! The walk into town was like a walk around the block; close to everything. We took the trip two or three times a day for supplies or just for fun. The street in front of the cabin is quiet and private with exclusive cabins on the river side and lush horse pastures on the other. The horse-drawn carts passed up and down on their way home. The weather was great, the river was cool. It was fantastic . . . it was all fantastic. Oh, and try the Reubin sandwich at the International Cafe on the main bridge; also the Octoberfest Platter at the Bavaria Inn in the courtyard; a lot of good food. My wife and I split both meals while sipping Bier in Alpine Helen.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for the nice comments about the cabin and Helen. Living here, we sometimes don't see things from the visitor's point of view.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fantastic Cabin in Helen, GA

    Fantastic Cabin in Helen, GA

    • Guest Linda D.
    • Date of stay 06/27/12
    • Review Submitted 07/16/12
    One could not ask for more! This cabin was exceptionally clean and had everything provided that a vacationer would need. David was a delight to work with and was available if we needed him. Confortable beds and great amenities. Just wish the weather hadn't been so HOT so we could have enjoyed being outdoors more - next time we won't go in summer. WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

    Owner response: Thanks for the positive review. It has been a pretty hot summer. Cooled off a little after you left, but still typical muggy Georgia weather. I guess that's why the river is so popular! Thanks again. Come see us in the FALL! David G

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect!

    Perfect!

    • Guest Cindy J. (null)
    • Date of stay 06/15/12
    • Review Submitted 06/23/12
    This is a great cabin for anyone looking for a quiet getaway, while wanting the convenience of being within walking distance of the grocer, shops, attractions and restaurants in Helen. The kitchen has everything you need to fix your own meals, whether they be cooked indoors or out. The cabin is nicely decorated. (Be sure to check out the watercolors that were painted by Helen!) Everything was as advertised and I wouldn't hesitate to rent this beautiful cabin again!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Very Nice, and Well equipped.

    Very Nice, and Well equipped.

    • Guest Alex G. (Carrollton, Ga)
    • Date of stay 05/18/12
    • Review Submitted 05/21/12
    We just returned from staying here for Southern Worthersee and my birthday. Very nice, not far from downtown, and right on the river make this the IDEAL Helen cabin.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Time

    Great Time

    • Guest Mother of two (jacksonville, fl)
    • Date of stay 04/07/12
    • Review Submitted 04/15/12
    We had a wonderful time......this is a great cabin for all ages of Children!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for choosing our cabin and thanks for the nice comments!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful time in Helen!

    Wonderful time in Helen!

    • Guest Brigid (Warner Robins, GA)
    • Date of stay 12/30/11
    • Review Submitted 01/04/12
    We spent the weekend of New Year at this absolutely wonderful cabin in Helen. When we arrived everything was immaculately clean. The cabin was everything we expected and more. We loved the location. My children loved watching the horses across the street from the front of the cabin then sitting on the back porch listening to the river and rocking in the rocking chairs! We especially enjoyed the firepit and roasting hot dogs and marshmallows for New Year. We will absolutely be booking this cabin for another trip to Helen soon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great getaway

    Great getaway

    • Guest Lori (Easley)
    • Date of stay 12/02/11
    • Review Submitted 12/05/11
    My husband and I visited here this past weekend to get away. The town of Helen isn't the most action-packed, but if you're looking to kick back and relax, this is the place to be. Helen is charming in its Christmas decorations, but the highlight of the weekend were the comfy beds, big showers, relaxing front porch on the Chatahoochee, spacious kitchen, and quietude. I'd certainly like to visit again.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thanks for the great review. The town is still working on making thing more exciting during Christmas. The Christmas market is fun, but not action packed, by any means. It's a lot different here during the Summer and Oktoberfest is the busiest time. Thanks again and hope you'll be back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Cozy Stay Right on the Chattahoochee

    Cozy Stay Right on the Chattahoochee

    • Guest a recent guest (Brooklyn, MS USA)
    • Date of stay 10/30/11
    • Review Submitted 11/04/11
    We just returned from a stay in the Chattahoochee river cottage in Helen. We traveled with another couple of old friends and had a memorable vacation. The cabin was perfect in every way! Comfortable beds and stylishly decorated. Loved the Firepit in the "yard" right on the river. The porch was perfect for sitting and relaxing while grilling steaks all the while watching and listening to the river flow over rocks and the wind in the trees. Kitchen had all one could hope for to cook in. All new modern conveniences in a georgeous Mountain setting. Loved it! Thanks for sharing with us. A recent guest.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for taking time to leave such a nice review! Hope you'll come back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Very nice cabin within walking distant of Helen

    Very nice cabin within walking distant of Helen

    • Guest TQ (Navarre)
    • Date of stay 10/26/11
    • Review Submitted 11/08/11
    This cabin was very beautiful, clean and was equipped with everything but food and your clothes. It was a nice walk to downtown Helen. It does have lots of stairs so if you have bad knees or a bad hip, you need to look for a one level cabin. I would stay here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Greart time

    Greart time

    • Guest e money (Conway)
    • Date of stay 05/20/11
    • Review Submitted 05/24/11
    We had an awesome time last week for sowo! will be booking soon for next year. David is a great guy to work with and very friendly. Thanks again looking forward to our next stay Thank you. Ian Collins

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Excellent

    Excellent

    • Guest Carolee H. (Atlanta, GA)
    • Date of stay 04/29/11
    • Review Submitted 05/03/11
    The cabin was fabulous. The listing and pictures described it beautifully. What we didn't expect was the fact that we could walk into town but still felt very secluded and private. I would recommend this to anyone staying in the area. Should we find ourselves in Helen again, we will definitely stay here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for the nice comments! Hope you make it back sometime.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • GREAT FAMILY VACATION!!!

    GREAT FAMILY VACATION!!!

    • Guest Alan, Devanie & girls (Niceville, FL)
    • Date of stay 02/18/11
    • Review Submitted 02/28/11
    We had a fabulous stay. The cabin was spotless and very well equiped. We have 2 kids, 13 and 3, and the cabin was very well suited for both of them. David was very nice and helpful with places to go even though we have been to Helen 4 times before. We cant wait to come back and stay at the same cabin again. Cant say enough good about it. Thanks Riverside Cabin!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for choosing our cabin and leaving such a positive review. Please do consider us on your next visit. We'd love to have you back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/7

  • Above and Beyond

    Above and Beyond

    • Guest alley (Lexington, SC)
    • Date of stay 02/11/11
    • Review Submitted 02/19/11
    We stayed in the cabin Feb. 11 - 13th and it was everything and beyond. The kitchen was fully equipped, the bathrooms were beautiful, the deck on back is a vacation in itself. We are getting ready to build this same home in Gilbert, SC and with our stay at David's cabin it confirmed our final plans. David was very professional and most helpful with tips on places to eat and go for entertainment which was a great help for us since we had never been there before. We would recommend this cabin to anyone that wants to visit Helen, GA and anyone that is interested in building a cabin like this. It is definately a family oriented place to visit or a romantic getaway. Max and Allison Gardner

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • absolutely beautiful cabin

    absolutely beautiful cabin

    • Guest Mountain lovin girl (Ocala, FL)
    • Date of stay 02/03/11
    • Review Submitted 02/07/11
    This cabin is beautiful and has everything you need and more! The jetted tub is awesome!! Its in a perfect location so close to town and in a beautiful waterfront setting. So quiet and peaceful. We will definitely return!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for the great review. We'd love to have you back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • So Well-Appointed

    So Well-Appointed

    • Guest Kentucky Guests (Frankfort, KY)
    • Date of stay 12/20/10
    • Review Submitted 12/28/10
    A splendid getaway place! Everything everyone else has said is true: great cabin design, beautiful river to look at and listen to, great location right across the river from downtown Helen (the bridge is nearby), but in a quiet, natural, almost rural setting. We loved how well-appointed it was. The kitchen has everything you need--everything! Down quilts were in the closets. Comfy beds. Great heating system (our visit was in December). Wine and brie at Betty's Country Store nearby. We shall return!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • John from Statesboro, GA

    John from Statesboro, GA

    • Guest John (Statesboro)
    • Date of stay 11/27/10
    • Review Submitted 12/03/10
    My wife and two children had a great post Thanksgiving trip. The weather was cool and the Helen was decorated for Christmas. The cabin was very cozy, clean and well equipped. The gas grill on the deck is very nice for grilling and the view of the river is awesome. We really liked the hardwood floors and pine walls and ceilings. The cabin’s location is beautiful. You would think you’re several miles out in the mountains but yet you’re only a few minutes’ walk to Helen. We enjoyed walking to nearby Restaurants and shops and you don’t want to miss Betty’s Country Store only a few blocks away. We also enjoyed hiking to Duke Creek Falls, Anna Ruby Falls and the Appalachian Trail which are only a few minutes’ drive away. I hope we can return in the summer and enjoy swimming, fishing and tubing in the Chattahoochee River. The owners are very helpful and only a phone call away if needed. I would highly recommend staying here.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great even with a young child...

    Great even with a young child...

    • Guest Adrienne (Atlanta, GA)
    • Date of stay 11/07/10
    • Review Submitted 11/15/10
    We stayed a few nights with our 15 month old. We brought 1 baby gate for the stairs and 1 cabinet latch and that was all we needed. There was even a miniature rocking chair on the deck - great for photos! Loved the floor plan - downstairs bedroom was perfect for mid-day baby nap and there were even rocking chairs in the bed rooms to help put baby down. There was even a pack n play in the closet although we had brought our own. I would recommend this for large or small groups of any age. Walk into town was easy and there are several nice hikes just a short drive away. The owner sent some helpful tips prior to our arrive and was great to work with.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great for Families with little ones

    Great for Families with little ones

    • Guest Michelle (Charlotte, NC)
    • Date of stay 10/01/10
    • Review Submitted 10/04/10
    We just stayed here and it was amazing. Short walk to town, perfect location on a backroad overlooking the river and the horses across the street were an added bonus. We were travelling with a 15 mo old and without even trying, this cabin was safe for a little one. The open floor plan allowed us to all be together without being in each others way. The kitchen was fully stocked & linens were clean and nice. We will be back next year, or maybe in the summer to tube.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • AWESOME CABIN/ GREAT LOCATION

    AWESOME CABIN/ GREAT LOCATION

    • Guest ED (Valrico, Florida)
    • Date of stay 09/10/10
    • Review Submitted 10/30/10
    We ahve been toHelen before but this time staying at THE CABIN in town was truly a pleasure. vaery clean and everything you need. We styaed during the first weekend of this year's Octoberfest and had a blast. Plan on returning in the spring.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Cute Cabin, Great Location

    Cute Cabin, Great Location

    • Guest gatraveler (Brunswick)
    • Date of stay 08/09/10
    • Review Submitted 08/17/10
    The cabin was perfect! We had 4 adults and 3 children and there was plenty of room, very clean and adorable. Step out onto back deck in the morning and hear river flowing by, it was very peaceful. Kids liked petting the horses across the street too. It was within walking distance of most shops and restaurants in town as well as tubing and indoor go karts!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Glad you enjoyed the cabin. We hope you'll come back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Perfect!

    Perfect!

    • Guest PEaton (Hartwell, GA)
    • Date of stay 05/21/10
    • Review Submitted 05/26/10
    My friend and I rented this cabin for a "girls weekend" and we couldn't have asked for more! It was perfect. The cabin appeared new and it is immacualte. We spent most of your time sitting on the back porch listening to the river. It was so relaxing. The cain is in a perfect location. It is in an area that feels miles away yet you can walk less than 5 minutes and be right in the middle of Helen. The owner is easy to work with and very nice. I plan on renting this cabin again in the furure.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for the very nice review! We hope you'll make it back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Perfect!

    Perfect!

    • Guest PEaton (Hartwell, GA)
    • Date of stay 05/20/10
    • Review Submitted 05/26/10
    If you are looking for a nice peaceful place to stay this is the place for you! The cabin is in a perfect location. You can sit on the back porch, listen to the river, and feel like you are miles away from the hustle of town or you can walk right into town in less than 5 minutes. The cabin is abroable and the owner was very nice and accommodating. The cabin has everything you could possibly need. It is immaculate and well taken care of. I have every intention of renting this cabin again in the future.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for the very nice review! We hope you'll make it back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Georgia Gem

    Georgia Gem

    • Guest Steven . (Pierson Florida)
    • Date of stay 04/18/10
    • Review Submitted 05/05/10
    This property has 21st century ammenities. Too numerous to list here. All advertized items are included, in good working order and well kept. We found the cabin extremely clean and well stocked. The area has great shopping and the wives quickly over-filled the outside garbage can with boxes and bags. The owner prompty arranged for us to empty it, within one hour! Our laptop pinged the router easily and ran at top speed. The cabin's grounds are left tastefully as mother nature intended. Numerous types of birds and squirrels visited each day. A wide pathway to the river made getting your feet wet easy. Stay on the trrail as poison ivy is doing well here also. Not a bother if you know what to look for. The owner had just installed a small fire ring with picnic table. We had a great time cooking hot dogs there. There is ample parking, but not for larger motor homes. We pulled our 16 foor motorcycle trailer in and out easily and unloaded without problems. The parking area is level with compacted pea rock out to the paved city street. Our bikes fit under the cabin keeping them dry and more secure. Helen and especially the part the cabin is in seems crime free. We had no incudent or concerns. Betty's IGA grocery is a quick five minute walk (3 city blocks and a bridge away) and we look forward to her meat selection on our next visit. NOTE: Betty's prices for staples are 10% or so higher than Publix but all are top quality. Next door to Betty's is a discount package store with a great selection and prices equal to anyone's. Walk the river road past here (it is flat and SR-75 has a big hill) 3 more blocks and you are are the center of Helen. Every kind of cusine imaginable. The pizza place will even deliver to the cabin if you are lazy or rained in, we were both! I would recommend this property to almost anyone. Those who have trouble with stairs should look elsewhere. The neighborhood is very quiet so loud partiers would not fit in. Otherwise the cabin is great and I will be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for staying at our cabin. The cabin is on the river, in the flood way, so it has to built on piers to get a decent flood insurance rate. The stairs, indeed, can be a problem for some. Thanks again, hope to see you again soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Beautiful cabin and great location!

    Beautiful cabin and great location!

    • Guest Carfar (Dacula, GA)
    • Date of stay 04/16/10
    • Review Submitted 05/09/10
    Dear David, Your cabin was exceptional!! Our "girls weekend" was so much fun! We so enjoyed staying at your cabin as it was nicely appointed and a beautiful location! The rocking chairs on the deck was a nice touch! The pictures on your website were very accurate and it was a short walk to all the restaurants in Helen. You were great to work with and appreciate this beautiful place in Helen! We look forward to coming back soon!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for the great review. We've added a picnic table and fire pit by the river. Come back soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Nice location

    Nice location

    • Guest Philly Family of 4 (PA)
    • Date of stay 03/27/10
    • Review Submitted 04/06/10
    Great rental for those wanting to be able to walk into Helen, but prefer the sounds of the river over the noise that busy Helen can generate. House is beautiful and clean, deck to river a pleasure to lounge on, owner attentive but non-invasive. Horses are pastured across the quiet street, and there is a lovely country walk across the street and down Escowee Drive. The fish were biting, and there are wonderful hikes within a short drive of the rental. Don't miss Anna Ruby Falls.

    Owner response: Thanks for the kind words. Hope you'll come back again soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect cabin experience in N Georgia Mts

    Perfect cabin experience in N Georgia Mts

    • Guest Mike & Linda T (Auburn, NY)
    • Date of stay 02/27/10
    • Review Submitted 03/16/10
    Our experience at the Helen Riverside Cabin was fantastic. The cabin was even nicer than we expected -- beautiful knotty pine woodwork throughout, fully equipped kitchen with high-end appliances, WiFi, nice flat screen TV, comfortable beds and relaxing jacuzzi-style bathtubs. We spent a week biking on the hilly climbs around Helen, GA. It was cold in early March and it was nice to be able to relax afterward at the riverside cabin. The view of the Chattahoochee River and the sound of the flowing river, enjoyed from the front porch of the cabin was very soothing. The cabin was clean, comfortable, well equipped and the owner David made sure everything went smoothly for our extended stay. I do not hesitate to highly recommend staying in this very nice, "luxury cabin". You won't regret the decision. It will enhance your experience of the quaint Alpine village of Helen and the beautiful mountains of North Georgia. We are planning on returning next year.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for the great review and kind comments. We're glad you found the cabin comfortable and accommodating. We do hope you'll make it back to stay again soon. Maybe the weather will be a little more cooperative next time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest David & Jenny Dorrell (Dacula, GA)
    • Date of stay 01/11/10
    • Review Submitted 01/11/10
    Our stay at Riverside 109 was just wonderful. We enjoyed so many things about this cabin. The view of the river and the horses across the street were beautiful. David was so thoughtful to put out salt on the stairs for us before our arrival in the snow. The floorplan was like having two master suites which was perfect for our couples getaway with our best friends. We loved the two person jacuzzi in the downsairs bathroom. David was so easy to work with and we would love to stay again some day.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest vivian young (-)
    • Date of stay 01/01/10
    • Review Submitted 01/01/10
    We leave this wonderful cabin in the morning. What a great time we have had ringing in the New Year here in this perfect setting. Your communication and hospitality were above and beyond what we expected. Thanks so much for everything, especially for the snow the first night we were here!

    Owner response: Thanks for the great comments and cooperation. Happy New Year!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest The Pegnataro Family (Panama City, Florida)
    • Date of stay 12/02/09
    • Review Submitted 12/02/09
    Our family rated your cabin A++++!! The cabin was very clean, beautiful, cozy, and comfortable! With the river in your back yard and a short walk into downtown Helen, the cabin location is perfect. We had a wonderful time and would love to visit again in the summer. Thanks for everything. Kelly, Rob, Tyler, Kylie and Ashley Pegnataro

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Susan Agner (Martinez, Ga.)
    • Date of stay 10/30/09
    • Review Submitted 10/30/09
    Our stay in your cabin was just great. You spared no expense on anything. And that, I thank you for. Very clean, very cozy & very comfortable. Both inside & out is just beautiful. Even with the rain, we still enjoyed sitting on the porch relaxing & watching the river. We will be returning again soon. I've recommended this cabin to all my friends & family. Thanks again, Susan

    Owner response: Thanks for the nice comments. We've certainly had our share of rain lately. I'm glad you felt our place was comfortable enough to just sit and listen to the river and the rain. Sometimes it's nice just doing nothing!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Cathy and Phil (-)
    • Date of stay 09/14/09
    • Review Submitted 09/14/09
    What a wonderful stay we had in your log cabin. It was so beautifully decorated and comfortable. We had everything that we needed for the long weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting under the covered porch watching the people tubing down the river. At dark it was wonderful to sit on the porch and listen to the water going over the rocks and the crickets singing. The cabin was close enough to Helen to go eat and enjoy the town. Or if you wanted to you could buy groceries and just enjoy the cabin. We definitely will come again.

    Owner response: Glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks so much for the nice comments! Hope to hear from you again soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Carol Vitiello (Lakeland, FL)
    • Date of stay 08/25/09
    • Review Submitted 08/25/09
    August 2009: What an honor to be the first to vacation in this beautiful cabin on the Chattahoochee River. The cabin is beautifully furnished with everything you need including extra towels, blankets, sheets & even laundry detergent. The owners certainly thought of everything when building this beautiful cabin. When we arrived at the cabin our 7 yr old granddaughter anxiously went through all the rooms. When she ascended upstairs to the loft bedroom she was surprised with two pillows at the foot of the bed with Sponge Bob pillowcases. Thank you to the owner David and family for this thoughtful surprise. It was so peaceful in the evenings sitting outside on the deck listening to the rain falling on the trees and the river. In the morning our granddaughter loved going outside to visit the horses in the pasture across the street & seeing the horse and buggy pass by on their way to town. We did the Cool Water Tubing and it actually takes you right by the cabin. We stay at VRBO homes and rank this home at the top of our list. It’s the perfect vacation cabin for summer, holidays or if you just want to get away. We highly recommend it to anyone visiting Helen.

    Owner response: Thanks for the AWESOME comments! We're glad you had a good time. Hope you'll make it back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]