Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
view toward beach from back gate

North Shore Tropical Beachfront Hideaway [#25774] | View Property

Haleiwa
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 7)
$350/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (31)

Sort by:
  • Secluded and Wonderful!

    Secluded and Wonderful!

    • Guest Chuck
    • Date of stay 03/15/14
    • Review Submitted 03/25/14
    If you want the experience on having a North Shore beachfront almost all to yourself, this is the place! From our standpoint, there were very few surprises about the accommodations. This is a basic beachhouse with 3 nice bedrooms and 3 king sized beds (plus a twin bonus bed). We spent a whole lot of time on the covered lanai where you are literally a few steps from the beach. It is so great to be able to see out, yet you would be hard pressed to see the property (or the path) from the beach itself. As with other guests who have commented, we spent time away visiting other places... but really found we had the most fun unwinding at this secluded slice of paradise. Now for some of the silly stuff. The entrance to this place is pretty hard to find, and it is located off a main highway that can be very busy. It didn't matter if it were dark or daylight, I managed to miss the entrance several times. After a few days and memorizing landmarks, it did get a lot better. Getting out on the road from the property actually proved a bit more difficult, especially in the late afternoons when traffic on the 2 lane road was especially heavy. My wife and I had the one room that opened to the lanai and beach. And it was truly wonderful. Our two teenage kids had the rooms facing the highway. They were OK with the road noise (it's really not an issue). But they did need more of an adjustment getting used to the roosters singing their morning doodles. This isn't a problem with the property itself moreso than it is simply rural Oahu living-- there seem to be chickens just about everywhere. In any case it was a very minor issue with the kids... and it might just seem like home if you lived on a farm! There are plenty of beach toys to play with out on the lanai, and everyone seemed to get a kick out of boogie boarding on five foot waves (the surfers had the big ones). The shore area in places can be a bit rocky and the waves a bit rough, but you don't need to go very far down the beach to find safer places. We had the pleasure of seeing a sea turtle make its way to land and hang out with us for a few hours. You will see many turtles out in the water as well. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay and just a fantastic place to unwind. This place had just about every of the basic necessities we wanted (a kitchen, a blender, a grill, a hot tub and Wi-Fi... who needs anything else) and is absolutely perfect for those who like the backyard patio life.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxing beach cottage

    Relaxing beach cottage

    • Guest Ottawa Family (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/05/14
    • Review Submitted 03/18/14
    We stayed here for the first part of our vacation, with the second part at a high-end resort on the West Shore. The days we spent here were very relaxing, and we found it hard to leave! In mid-March, the winter swell meant that the beach was for walking only - the undertow in front of the house made the water suitable only for the strongest swimmers, and we were actually warned off by a lifeguard on one particularly windy day. Still, we loved getting up early to explore the beach, and rarely saw more than a handful of people. The lanai is the best - we ate every meal but one out there! With the private yard, it's easy to live outside your whole stay. The abundance of lush plants and flowers increased the relaxed tropical feeling of the cottage. We had no problems with bugs during our stay, and often left the screen doors open - probably just the time of year. Road noise was a slight issue the first night, but not noticed after that. Roosters as well - consider it part of the charm! The location is fantastic, as it's an easy drive to most North Shore attractions (Polynesian Cultural Center, Waimea Valley & Beach Park, Shark's Cove, Sunset Beach, Dole Plantation...). Haleiwa Town is a very short drive away, and full of fantastic shops and restaurants. For groceries etc., we found Malama Market and Longs Drugs to be convenient and reasonably priced. We rented surfboards and took lessons at Haleiwa Beach Park, just 5 minutes from the house. While there, saw many turtles around us while we paddled, and some up on the beach. Had some wifi problems, but Mike was very responsive sorting them out. Cathy was great throughout the rental process, providing helpful and interesting information as we prepared for our stay. We would definitely do this again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Can't wait to come back again!!

    Can't wait to come back again!!

    • Guest Desmond M. (Peoria, Arizona)
    • Date of stay 12/02/13
    • Review Submitted 03/03/14
    I'm a transplanted Hawaii Native born & raised in Waialua/Haleiwa, and I've lived in Phoenix, AZ for 23 years. Every chance I've had to bring my Ohana back home was done so with such high hopes and dakine minimal results (always thought we could do it better). FINALLY! We found a little patch of paradise that truly appealed to my wife & I. This beach house is perfect for those who want to truly getaway and wind down. We brought another couple with us. This was their 2nd Hawaii vacation and of course, they loved it, too! The first morning, we woke at the crack of dawn, and went straight for the ocean! It's right there...just beyond the backyard fence...private & perfect! The beach was a daily thing, especially at dusk...the sunsets were awesome! Breakfast at Haleiwa Joe's was always a winnah! And, OH MAN, Giovanni's for lunch???!!! Amazing!! Mokuleia, Ka'ena Pt., then shoot it up to town and play tourist...awesome!!! Next day, spend all day at Polynesian Cultural Center with a luau and a show! Next, we go to the Aloha Stadium Flea Market and then Liliha Bakery! Unreal! Playing the "tour guide" has always been my favorite thing to do and this spot allowed me to share some true Aloha Spirit with them. Next time we come back home, we will definitely pack out the house with another couple. In fact, whoever is reading this review right now...don't wait, just book it! This trip was a WINNAH and this house is top notch, too! Mahalo Nui Loa!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • North Shore visit

    North Shore visit

    • Guest Robie (Santa Cruz, Ca)
    • Date of stay 11/25/13
    • Review Submitted 12/03/13
    Just wanted to take the time to say how much of a value this place is!!! I was a little worried about what we would get. But we were relieved when the family arrived, the pic's you see is what you get. The beach In front of this house is the best on the North Shore I promise. The second day we drove all over the north side of the island looking for the spot. But the kids always wanted to come back to the house. Mike was a great help with were to surf with the kids and were I could go out and get my time. The lanai, hot tub and lawn with palms just made it perfect ( we spent 95% of the time listing to the waves and cooking on the bbq ). Great place for family, couples or friends just looking for a great time. Want to come back SOON!!! All I would say is that it was hard to see traffic coming when pulling out of the driveway. Cut a few of the fern's and it should be fine. Had a few gecko's in the house but the kids thought that was awesome.. Extra note: Took my mom with us. This was her first time to Hawaii and she loved it. Thanks Cathy and Mike for a great time

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great beach house directly ON a walkable sandy beach!

    Great beach house directly ON a walkable sandy beach!

    • Guest Lynn (Chandler, AZ)
    • Date of stay 11/08/13
    • Review Submitted 12/26/13
    We visited for a week on early November 2013 and had a wonderful time. The home is in a spectacular North Shore location on a quiet, secluded, walkable sandy beach. We seldom saw more than another two or three people on the beach. Loved the laid-back area, and Haleiwa Town was a lot of fun. One of the reasons we chose this home was the covered lanai. We enjoyed sitting out on the lanai rain or shine, and while some of the rain was truly wild, we were protected from the weather. While you can see the ocean from the lanai, the lanai is not visible from the beach. The beautiful, lush foliage makes this an extremely private location. The house has plenty of beach chairs, so we were able to sit right on the beach in the sun or shade depending upon our mood. We knew that November is the start of big wave season, so were not surprised to find that the ocean in front of the house ranged from choppy to wild. Definitely check the surf report before venturing out, whether or not you are a strong swimmer. There are three bedrooms, plus a media room with a twin bed off the master bedroom. The master suite does not have a connected bathroom. The room with the connected bathroom is the Aquarium Suite, one of the smaller bedrooms on the street-side of the house. Yes, the house is rustic, but it had everything we needed. Road noise in the back bedrooms was a little annoying the first night, but none of this would prevent us from returning. We only had one vehicle, so had no problem parking head first, then turning the car around so we could pull out head first. There was quite a bit of traffic (we were there during a surfing competition) so backing in or out was not a viable option. After the first day, though, we had it down pat and could open the gate as we were approaching the driveway and drive straight in. Cathy and Mike were both great from start to finish -- I wouldn't hesitate to rent from them again and have recommended this property to many people. Hope to return soon! Mahalo!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • "Rustic" beach house on a great, uncrowded beach!

    "Rustic" beach house on a great, uncrowded beach!

    • Guest Tim W. (Orange County, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/13/13
    • Review Submitted 10/02/13
    This was our 3rd time renting a beach house on the North Shore. Cathy was great to deal with by phone and email. She always responded quickly and answered all our questions. The whole rental process was very easy! The house is located on a great beach. We were there in September and the beach was basically empty every day. Even on Saturday there were only a few people scattered around. A short walk to the right and you will come to a small beach area next to some rocks where the waves were so small that you could just float for hours. We also saw turtles swimming around the rocks as we hung out in the water. This house was by far the most ‘rustic’ of all the houses we have rented. I use the term ‘rustic’ because it reminded us of a cabin on the beach. It was fine for a week but not a place you would want to live in full time (how many million dollar homes can you say that about??!!). The house was clean, but like any home on the beach, the maintenance is never-ending. There is nothing ‘fancy’ about this place and it is definitely in the need of some maintenance and updates. With that said, you are only renting the place for vacation, and not buying it! The back yard of the house is lushly planted giving you complete privacy from the beach and next door neighbors. Just a few steps from the back gate and you are on the sand! We never shut the windows during our entire stay. There is nothing like sleeping to the sounds of the crashing waves! We were awaken by the birds on the beach each morning as well, but most of the time we were so exhausted from our day of ‘relaxing’ that we just fell right back to sleep! I could tell as soon as we got there that it would be pretty much impossible to keep out the bugs. The house is surrounded by tropic plants and palm trees. It is very tropical and very lush! We did have a few critters around in the house and one lucky gecko in the bathroom. We never saw any ants which was a first for any rental we have stayed in over the past 15 years in Hawaii! One thing I would recommend for the house is some portable room fans. Certain times of the day the house did get warm inside and the trade winds outside did not seem to blow through the house. We ended up buying a fan at Walmart so we could get some air movement while we slept!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Live In Paradise

    Live In Paradise

    • Guest RolexRider (California)
    • Date of stay 08/11/13
    • Review Submitted 08/23/13
    This is a cute, roomy, house with everything you need in the kitchen and plenty of linens. We bar-b-qued a lot on the back lanai. The back yard is like a tropical garden with palm trees and lots of mature native plants. Go out the back thru a short walk and you are on the sandy beach which is like your own private beach. A few rocks in the water so lots of turtles to watch and swim with. Beautiful warm water and since our stay was summertime there were no big waves or currents to worry about. This is a 'do what you want to do' kind of place that makes you feel like you live on the north shore. No big hotel/high rise agenda to deal with. Haleiwa Town is just down the road and has great shopping, restaurants and stores. We liked the sushi place and there was live music next door. Don't miss the Clark Little Gallery...amazing! Or take the catamaran out of the bay to sail and snorkle. The house caught the trade winds nicely and was very comfortable. Had boogie boards, snorkle gear and kid toys. Of course I would go back...didn't want to leave! Highly recommend. Thank you Cathy! Mahalo

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Our tropical home away from home...

    Our tropical home away from home...

    • Guest Wendy P. (Bellevue, WA)
    • Date of stay 06/21/13
    • Review Submitted 07/29/13
    For 8 years in a row, we have claimed this hidden spot on the North Shore as our very own paradise. Our boys started coming when they were 5 and are now 13. It's the best beach in the world for building sand castles! While we have always seen turtles, this year was amazing. We literally swam with them right in front of the house. The house isn't fancy - but it is a true ohana experience. It isn't for you if you want luxury resort accommodations - but if you want to relax, unwind, stick your toes in the sand and feel a million miles away from it all - you'll love it, especially for the price. For us, with 2 boys, the casualness of the house is a major plus. We all have our own space, there is no worrying about the kids being too noisy, and there is plenty for the kids to do right there. The location is great - half way between Haleiwa (shops, restaurants) and Waimea Bay/Pupukea/Shark's Cove (grocery, swimming & snorkeling). The house is literally steps from the beach, but the landscaping is so private that you can be on the lanai and no one can see you. And, you can be on the beach and be one of the only people there - for a good portion of the day. It is in a natural setting, and you'll have geckos, a few bugs here and there and all that comes with being in the tropics. Again, if you want fancy, stay at a resort. But, you can't beat lounging in the hot tub overlooking the ocean or barbequing fresh fish and dining on the lanai watching the sunset. If you have young kids, I wouldn't recommend it in the winter months - the waves are too high. But from May - October - it would be perfect. In fact, originally, when our boys were 5, we ended up at the house because Cathy was so honest with us about the level of the waves. We were looking at going in February and she called and actually told us not to come. We were so impressed that she would give up a potential booking that we ended up staying in May and have been back every year since. We consider the house our home away from home. Cathy and Mike have been wonderful hosts for all of our years. We look forward to many more.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Owner response: Mahalo Nui Loa Wendy! We are so very appreciative and grateful for you and your wonderful family. We always look forward to your next visit- Cathy

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Location! Location! Location!

    Location! Location! Location!

    • Guest Diedre Turner (Helena, MT)
    • Date of stay 06/07/13
    • Review Submitted 06/26/13
    Six of us over-60 women friends spent 8 days here. The location is absolutely the best in terms of access to a very private beach and to the towns of Haleiwa and Waimea Bay. It's difficult to rate the house because there are so many things annoying about it. Very poor cleaning effort before our arrival--carpeting really filthy, counters and all surfaces really, were barely acceptable even by low standards, old kitchenware and furniture--everything is dingy and dirty. The place needs significant maintenance, if not a complete renovation. Traffic noise in the 2 back bedrooms is really loud--bring your earplugs. The nesting bird under the deck moaned all night, every night. The beach toys were dirty and in poor shape, broken goggles and flippers. That being said, we had a great time!! After bringing in our own beach sand and dirt, having many cocktails and wearing earplugs, we tolerated the condition of the place with a sense of humor and got into the laid back lifestyle of Hawaii. This place has such great potential, it's too bad it's been neglected. If you're really fussy, this is not the place for you. If you're not going to spend a lot of time in the house, you'll be ok.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you for coming to stay at the beach house. I truly apologize for the lack of cleanliness as the customer is always right. I have had issues with my cleaning crew and a lot of these issues may have gone unnoticed if not for your attention. I do have new personnel and do have a late model Hawaiian beach house that I strive to keep updated and maintained. I am situated on the only road that circles the perimeter of the island and yes at times it does get busy. The birds you spoke of, do not live under the deck. They are Wedge tailed shear-water birds, an environmentally protected species whose numbers are dangerously low and they do nest out front on the beach. Haleiwa in English means home of the Iwa bird. I do not supply snorkel gear as I am not there to regulate or clean them, I do have a variety of equipment that is all left by former guests. I will make sure to toss the broken ones. Again thank you. Thank you for adding in the fun had by all. Very much appreciated for everything. - Cathy

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/5

  • A Slice of Heaven!

    A Slice of Heaven!

    • Guest Naka Family (Simi Valley, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/15/13
    • Review Submitted 09/02/13
    We had a wonderful time at the cottage during our week-long stay in May 2013. The house itself is well maintained, and very well supplied with cooking, bathing and lounging equipment, including a fantastic, clean hot tub in which you can relax under the sun or stars and hear the sounds of the surf nearby. My wife (who is a neat freak), myself and my three sons, plus one girlfriend, were completely happy and comfortable in the North Shore Beach cottage, so much so that we immediately reserved it again for another occasion in 2014. The place is a real gem, sitting on a beautiful Hawaiian Beach that receives awesome huge surf in the winter, but turns into a calm diving pool in the summer - take your pick. This year we saw a few giant sea turtles swimming by. Another strong positive about this location is that the small towns close by; Haleiwa, Waimea and Waialua are charming places to shop, swim, walk, eat or just grab an ice cream or coffee. Everybody loved the location and the house, we had no complaints. Thank you Cathy & Mike for sharing your slice of Heaven with us!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • We loved it!

    We loved it!

    • Guest Nic (Bedford, TX)
    • Date of stay 01/05/13
    • Review Submitted 01/19/13
    My stay at this tropical getaway was from Jan.5-Jan.13th, 2013. I have to say we loved it! When looking for a house to rent on the North Shore, what struck me about this rental was the tropical backyard with hot tub. I was not disappointed! When you are at the house, you feel as if you are in your own private haven. We would wake up in the morning and watch whales breach in the distance from our own deck. We were greeted with rainbows, just on the other side of the tropical backyard, several times during our stay. We truly thought it was unbelievable!! At night we would go to the beach through their private beach access, (which is awesome!) walk in the water, and gaze up at the brilliant stars. Again and again, we felt truly blessed to be there. We also got a fantastic surprise several nights while there when we discovered huge sea turtles on the beach, just to the right of the house!! That is something you feel so lucky to experience. We would then go warm up in the hot tub (fantastic!) and continue to stare up at the sky. We could still see the stars through the ceiling of palm trees. These are just some of the reasons why we would rent this house again. Not to mention, the renters are very kind and helpful. The house has everything you will need as far as cooking goes, flash lights for night beach walks, towels, boogie boards, etc. This is a really great place to stay! Lastly, the house is located perfectly between the beach town of Haleiwa and the famous North Shore breaks like Waimea Bay, Pipeline and Sunset Beach. The area is simply gorgeous and you will feel as if you are in paradise! You will see amazing surfers catching waves I've only seen in magazines. We also ran into Jack Johnson (music artist) on the beach since he lives in the area. I really couldn't have asked for anything more! Thank you for sharing your house with us! We are so grateful!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • A Week In Paradise

    A Week In Paradise

    • Guest Lei (Monrovia, CA)
    • Date of stay 12/17/12
    • Review Submitted 01/25/13
    I had a magnificent week in Paradise and didn’t want to leave! We were there in early December and the surf was something out of the old surf movies…ledgendary! It was breaking 18-20 ft one of the days we were there, but it was so far off shore it was absolutely spectacular to watch! We could also still get in the water a few doors down where the reef broke the waves that very same day…surreal to say the least. We will be back Cathy and Mike. Thank you so much for sharing your home with us.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Nice, down-to-earth vintage home more fun than we could imagine! We will come back!

    Nice, down-to-earth vintage home more fun than we could imagine! We will come back!

    • Guest Pete (Providence, RI)
    • Date of stay 12/03/12
    • Review Submitted 01/25/13
    My family and I had the privilege to spend time on both Maui and Oahu. Maui was nice (but expensive) and we looked forward to our 7-day stay at the Four Seasons in Wailea. We had good (not great) service and entertainment at the resort. But now looking back my kids and I had even a better time on the North Shore where we got to actually experience the "true" Hawaiian lifestyle I had hoped for. .. and paid HALF for these accommodations than what we had paid in Maui and had TWICE as much fun! My wife and I were a little apprehensive about leaving the luxury of the resort in Maui to stay at beach house where we could not have all our needs catered to. She had read a lot of great and glowing reviews of Cathy's beach house but was also concerned about some of the things posted in regards to being out in nature along with some of nature's critters (bugs, insects, etc.), the age of the house and in comparison to the Four Season, virtually "roughing it". We loved being only a couple of steps away from the beach, our own kitchen, the covered patio, the sound of the waves, multiple bedrooms (more beds and didn’t have to double up) and felt more at home than we did in Maui or on other trips to Waikiki and now see why previous guests felt like the owned the beach. The kids had a selection of snorkels, masks, flippers, boards already there at the house. We loved the privacy and the down-home feel of the beach house. We felt more connected to the “locals” and less like a tourist and loved the isolation away from all the typical tourist traps. I can HONESTLY say that we had so much more FUN on the North Shore and staying at Cathy's beach house than we did at the luxury resort in Maui. My kids even told me this as they were able to see and do more things here than what was available to us the previous week. Make no mistake, while the beach house is NOT a luxury resort and it would be unfair to compare the two; we absolutely enjoyed ourselves so much more at the beach house! So it was easy to overlook some of the imperfections at the house and we also felt more comfortable as we did not have to share our fun with dozens of people we did not know. My advice to travelers to Hawaii is if you are looking for luxury you might want to stick staying in Waikiki and pay more $ for the upgrade. For the price we paid (versus a four-star hotel) we definitely had a much more enjoyable time and appreciate Cathy & Mike’s individual care and attention. We will stay again! Recommend

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Very private, laid-back, rustic house right on the beach. Our "Endless Summer" in October.

    Very private, laid-back, rustic house right on the beach. Our "Endless Summer" in October.

    • Guest Toddy (Corvalis, OR)
    • Date of stay 10/08/12
    • Review Submitted 02/14/13
    Thank you Cathy! We absolutely enjoyed our stay (wish it could have been longer) at the North Shore beach house and hope to come back again. You made our trip an absolutely dream and were extremely helpful. We loved the laid-back and homey feel of your place and having the ocean literally feet from the back door. This was our 4th trip to Hawaii (first to stay on the North Shore) and we much preferred the slow-pace, rustic and “Endless Surfing Summer” feel of house to the crowded excess of Waikiki. We also loved walking down to the beach to sit on the sand to catch the beautiful sunsets. The washing machine there was a god-send! We loved the closeness to the water, seclusion, turtles, awesome view and had a more relaxing vacation than we planned. We loved the local shops and restaurants and spent a lot of time out on the patio (and in the hot tub). This is nature at its best! We can’t wait to come back for another stay at your house and will recommend it anyone looking for an inexpensive alternative to a cramped & crowded hotel and the inevitable tourist traps. We were able to make and have our own fun with memories to cherish forever.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Great locations, accomodations not as hoped

    Great locations, accomodations not as hoped

    • Guest Theresa (BC, Canada)
    • Date of stay 10/07/12
    • Review Submitted 11/15/12
    We had a party of 6 stay for 1 week in Oct. 2012. The location is absolutley stunning, every morning we would sit on the beach and play in the waves, and in the evening we would enjoy gorgeous sunsets, while watching surfers catch the last few waves. The house is dated, which you can see from the pictures, so that was to be expected. What was unexpected though was the lack of cleanliness, and the number of critters to be found. In dealing with Kathy, the owner, she was very helpful once we returned home, but she did not sound very suprised about the bugs. In a previous review it was noted, although it had seemed exterminators had taken care of the issue. The house needs alot of maintenance, any amount of exterminating will not help when there are holes in the wall that lead directly outside. This was the 2nd time having stayed in a condo on the North Shore, and renting from VRBO, and unfortunately this place was not up to our standards. In my opinion, spend a bit more money, and really enjoy the stay. That being said, Oahu is a fantastic island, with plenty to see and do, and we would recommend anyone to visit.

    Owner response: My customers are my boss, and every comment is a plus for me and my business. My home is situated in the countryside across the street is a forest reserve and old sugar cane fields, the ridge is now being developed into a turbine renewable energy wind farm. I do my best to keep critters at bay with a regular exterminator spraying and traps. It is almost impossible to alleviate or wipe them out completely so we live with the fact that this is one of the prices of living in paradise. We have no snakes, crocodiles or rabid dogs. Miss Theresa was referencing a millimeter crack in the tongue and grove single wall redwood construction of my home. I have sealed and caulk the crack. I take utmost pride in my Ole’ Style Kamaina Hawaiian Beach Home. Did you know that less than 1% of the population of the state of Hawaii lives on the beach? These folks needed to be in an ultra modern or The Royal Hawaiian Hotel, where they could catch the elevator to the beach with everyone else doing the same thing. I feel I provide a great value for what is being offered here, a BEACH house with everything in it! I am constantly trying to improve my home with upgrades and renovations. I will continue to do my best to provide a safe welcoming home to my guest who truly do enjoy what is one of the best locations on the island and the privacy of having pretty much your own beach outside within a few steps of the lanai door. I will do my best to meet the standard of what I myself would expect while on vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/8

  • Excellent stay for the price!

    Excellent stay for the price!

    • Guest Molly (Oakville, ON, Canada)
    • Date of stay 05/04/12
    • Review Submitted 05/12/12
    We were pleasantly surprised with this place. After looking at the prices of other places to stay on the North Shore beach (upwards to over $2000/night) my husband was worried the house would not be very good quality-wise. He told me he was glad we went ahead with Cathy's house anyway. This place is right ON the beach and like another review stated, we felt like we had the whole beach to ourselves. The place was very clean and the grounds were immaculate. The view from the back yard and porch was stunning and looked like a postcard picture. The pictures on the website were very helpful and surprisingly accurate. The kitchen & BBQ grill were a god-send since we choose to go shopping and cooking instead of eating out every night. I never wanted to leave the house! Living in Ontario we got a great taste of the tropical weather and realized that since Hawaii never gets freezing temperatures the animal wildlife (good and bad) thrives year-round. We were treated to singing (or my husband says "crying") birds after dusk on the beach. Thank you Cathy for you sheet of frequently-asked-questions, this was tremendously helpful. Even connecting to the internet was a breeze. We cannot wait to come back since we got so much bang for the bucks. We highly recommend Cathy's place to anyone looking for a quiet and semi-secluded beach spot. Thank you Cathy & Mike for being so helpful.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/9

  • awesome setting

    awesome setting

    • Guest Steve (BC, Canada)
    • Date of stay 04/14/12
    • Review Submitted 05/03/12
    We stayed with 2 other couples for a week in April 2012. The beach and setting of the cabin are beyond compare. The privacy and ameneties were greatly enjoyed by all of us. Dealing with the owner was smooth and professional. The large deck affords a beautiful view of the ocean and the sound of the waves at night makes for a restful sleep. Having a local representative close by is a nice touch for when the inevitable "glitches" surface. While not a luxury home, the cabin affords basic amenites and comfortable quarters from which to either explore the North Shore or just to stay and relax in complete privacy

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • We agree with "Forget Mexico"!!!

    We agree with "Forget Mexico"!!!

    • Guest Patti (Olalla, WA)
    • Date of stay 11/25/11
    • Review Submitted 12/10/11
    Hi Cathy, We just returned from our wonderful stay at your Beach House! It was everything I hoped it would be and more, I think we spent about 75% of our time at the house. Mike was gone to LA for most of our stay and the new house next door was empty so we were able to feel like we were totally alone. The atmosphere was so relaxing and the waves were incredible! We had a great storm the last night with 30’ers! The kids (adults) had a blast with the boogie boards, I got a little nervous when they would go down and play at night (after a few drinks), but they came away pretty unscathed, just a couple scratches from the rocks and a couple lost garments being pulled off by the water! LOL The stars were incredible, we saw some formations that we had never seen before, even when up in the mountains here. We are already planning our next trip (would really like to plan a move), we have found our new favorite place, but one week is not nearly enough! Thank you again and I hope we kept the place nice enough to be welcomed back! Mahalo, Patti and Larry Glasscock

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/9

  • The most relaxing vacation ever (forget Mexico)

    The most relaxing vacation ever (forget Mexico)

    • Guest none (Morro Bay, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/05/11
    • Review Submitted 11/17/11
    Myself and my 2 brothers stayed 8 days and the place was great. Be prepared is it a older beach house however, top of the line appliance's,TV,internet and feels like a very modern home with beach house charm. The locals that boogie board on your beach were very helpfull and really taught me how to do it (cathy has boogies boards,flippers,masks, snorkels, beach chairs,all the towels you need at the house. Thank goodness Mike happen to be home next door beacuse my brother sold his home in Morro Bay CA and we needed a printer and fax and he was most helpfull. We will be making it a yearly event with our whole family. (if you are looking for night life and young crowds this is not the place)

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Amazing time at an amazing place

    Amazing time at an amazing place

    • Guest Martha (Des Moines, IA)
    • Date of stay 08/23/11
    • Review Submitted 09/19/11
    Cathy, thank you so much for such an amazing time. Everyone loved your place and cannot wait to come back again! My husband spent most evenings out on the beach staring up at the wonderful array of stars--we have never seen so many in the sky. I don't think we turned the TV on but maybe once because there is so much to do and see. The kids loved having all the snorkels, fins, goggles, wake-boards, etc. you provided on the porch where we didn't have to buy them there. Since there is no public beach access it felt like we owned it. The sound of the waves were very relaxing and we sat out on your deck at night to listen to the Shear-water birds. The hot tub was nice and we loved having a kitchen. The back yard was in near immaculate shape and kept up quite well. The coconut trees and other vegetation provided a secluded surrounding and breath-taking panorama. Honestly, the photos do NOT do the place justice. Our expectations were easily surpassed and we felt right at home. We HIGHLY recommend your house on the beach and will definitely come again. Thanks for making our stay easy and enjoyable.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Cockroaches Interrupted an Otherwise Ideal Holiday

    Cockroaches Interrupted an Otherwise Ideal Holiday

    • Guest Rob H. (Lethbridge, Alberta)
    • Date of stay 05/21/11
    • Review Submitted 05/31/11
    First of all, I have to say that both Cathy was lovely to deal with in making arrangements to rent her property and while our contact with Mike (who maintains the property) was brief, he also seemed to be a very decent and sincere person in wishing to accomodate our needs. My parents who are older were having difficulty in making the climb down to the beach due to some sand erosion, and Mike put in some sandbags to make the step easier and that was appreciated. Also - the location is truly perfect. A few minutes drive from Haleiwa town, with acres of beautiful beach which we had almost to ourselves was truly a wonder. Our first day there, we went snorkelling and encounterered several sea turtles right outside our backdoor feeding on the rocks under the waves. Unfortunately, however, our stay was cut somewhat short when my wife awoke three days into our stay with a large cockroach on her face - which, understandably, was very traumatic for her. That same morning, as my mother went to make coffee, she found another similar sized cockroach in the sink. Now - I have travelled quite a bit, from Russia, to Greece, to Mexico.. and my expectations are realistic, and as Mike pointed out when I spoke to him briefly, this is a tropical location and part of that experience can include insects - so when I went to wash dishes and found a small colony of ants in the dishwasher, I was not at all concerned, nor was I concerned about seeing ant traps throughout the house. As well, when we sat on the deck one evening to have a drink and saw several cockroaches crawling around the deck, we did not overly react to that either as Mike said, "this is the tropics and insects are part of that". We kept all screen doors closed and cleaned all dishes immediately, leaving no food out to entice crawly critters. However, when your wife wakes up with a jumbo-sized cockroach on her face, it is difficult to continue to to enjoy your stay, and we were left to find accomodation in Honolulu In fairness, the day we let Cathy know we were leaving to stay in a hotel, Mike advised us that he would bring in an exterminator that day - also, when we went back to pick up some forgotten clothing, it was apparent that the carpet was being replaced with wood flooring to make it easier, no doubt, to keep clean - so that may help. So - nice people, great location, but insects could be a concern.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers

    Owner response: Thank you for taking the time out to provide feedback on your stay. However, I do take each and every review seriously and no review is ever insignificant. Mike and I strive to make our property the best on the beach by providing a comfortable, clean and enjoyable atmosphere. With that in mind, I would first like to thank you and your family for selecting to stay at our house as we realize there are many choices available on the island. Being born and raised on Oahu, residents and visitors have to deal with all of nature's creations--this includes both wanted and unwanted creatures. But this is the "price" we pay for our piece of paradise. I do appreciate your situation and have immediately set in motion a plan of action to remedy the problems stated in your review and feel the dilemma has been fully rectified. As we have discussed before, Hawaii is a tropical environment with year-round warm temperatures with insects and bugs indigenous which can pose somewhat of a challenge on the island. Being the property owner of a rental house, I do rely on honest comments and feedback from my customers to inform me of any problems so we may address them immediately to hopefully prevent any unfortunate events from happening again. Our goal is to have ALL of our guests return for another enjoyable stay at the beach house. Because it is an older home and its location next to undeveloped land it is more susceptible to unwelcome nighttime invaders. We are constantly striving to improve the home with renovations and regular preventative maintenance and use valuable client feedback in situations such as yours. While my aim is for 100% satisfaction we are aware problems can and do arise. I will continue to try my best to provide a safe and welcoming home to all of our guests and maintain one of the best locations on the island with the privacy and enjoyment expected.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 11/15

  • Our best Hawaii vacation yet.

    Our best Hawaii vacation yet.

    • Guest Sylvia (Bakersfield, CA)
    • Date of stay 04/11/11
    • Review Submitted 06/22/11
    We had a great time here on the North Shore. The place perfect for us and the location was excellent for being out in the country. We felt like we practically owned the beach where the house is located. We were there alone most of the time there were more green sea turtles there than people. It was so nice to be away from the crowded beaches (like in Waikiki) and it was such a treat being so close to the ocean. At night and in the evenings we could hear the gentle and relaxing surf from our bedroom and it felt like we had this Hawaiian utopia all to ourselves it was so very quiet. In fact, we were fairly close to where they used to film the TV show "Lost" and felt like we had the best of both worlds of isolation and civilization. The landscaping was nothing short of immaculate with palm trees, a private gate, flowers and a spectacular view of the Pacific. The Jacuzzi was a nice added touch. We lit the Tiki torches and made mai-tais (we loved having our own kitchen) while we relaxed after a wonderful day sightseeing in Haleiwa and other parts of the island. We visited Waimea Bay down the street and I jumped off the “Rock” myself along with the kids. This was our first time rented a home instead of a hotel room. There was no comparison to how much better our vacation was, than 5 years ago in Waikiki it’s was just too touristy for me. It was a pleasure dealing with Cathy and now we know why she is so proud of her little slice of paradise. We will recommend her house to our friends and hope to come back and experience a true Hawaiian vacation. Thanks!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Truly a tropical paradise!!!

    Truly a tropical paradise!!!

    • Guest Dave (Lake Jackson, Texas)
    • Date of stay 04/11/11
    • Review Submitted 06/09/11
    WOW! What can I say? We did not want to leave! Everyone really enjoyed the beach cottage (especially the hot tub!) and there was plenty of room to accommodate 5 adults. This was my first time to the North Shore and Haliewa (as I have been once to Waikiki in the 1990s). The view was absolutely gorgeous and much more private than I was expecting with great access to the beach (also perfect). Like the pictures would indicate this is a tropical paradise and was not disappointed with the facilities. The kitchen was nice but we didn't use it much since we wanted to experience as much of the local food as possible. The Grass Skirt Grill was awesome for such a small dive. We thought we would be spending more time in Honolulu sightseeing but there was plenty to do in and around the North Shore. We ended up going hiking in Waimea and to the farmer's market. We also heard there was polo but did not have time to check that out. The place was very nice and well maintained. Very clean when we got there (kudos to the cleaning crew). We had no problems whatsoever in making reservations, finding the house and having a wonderful time. I sincerely hope to come back to the North Shore and stay at Cathy's place again. I would definitely recommend this little hideaway!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Amazing stay

    Amazing stay

    • Guest Kavika (Helotes, TX)
    • Date of stay 03/17/11
    • Review Submitted 06/10/11
    We've been at Cathy's beach house twice, and I have fallen in love with the North Shore and Haleiwa. The most beautiful stretch of white sand is about twenty steps from the hot tub, and the property is completely surrounded by tall palms and tropical landscaping. I literally thought we had the whole beach to ourselves, because there are almost no tourists on this stretch--almost entirely local homeowners for as far as I could see. Spring surf was gentle, perfect for snorkeling and swimming laps (which I did every morning). I've seen this beach in the winter, and it can have some really great rolling surf. So if you are into boarding, so you just have to pick your time of year. Spring and summer are pretty flat. The house is really sweet and we felt like we were living with the locals. Nothing touristy about it. We drove up and down the North Shore, exploring every beach on the way, and there are about a dozen of the world's most famous beaches just down the road: Sunset, Pipeline, Waimea. And Haleiwa Town has my favorite local hangout of all time: Matsumoto's for Shave Ice! Love it all!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/5

  • Wonderful vacation! We did not want to leave.

    Wonderful vacation! We did not want to leave.

    • Guest Eileen (Waterbury, CT)
    • Date of stay 03/07/11
    • Review Submitted 06/14/11
    We had a wonderful stay at this beach house. I did not get to meet Cathy in person but she was lovely to communicate with and made our visit to Hawaii very pleasant. This is one time that the description and pictures of our destination did match our expectations. We were not disappointed. It was literally only a few steps to the beach with easy access. Both inside and outside were very well kept and clean. The kitchen was nice and made us feel right at home. Morning coffee on the patio planning our day was nice. I would love to come back and stay a few more days next time. I do recommend Cathy and her beach house to anyone wanting to visit Hawaii. It was a nice getaway and everyone had fun. Thank you.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Exactly what I expected!

    Exactly what I expected!

    • Guest Eric (San Clemente, CA)
    • Date of stay 01/13/11
    • Review Submitted 01/17/11
    Just completed a quick 3 night stay and the house and location was perfect. The beach was really private since virtually no one walks up from the public area. Whales were spotted offshore, a big turtle came up on the beach and watched the surf go from 6 to10 feet to huge overnight. Sunsets in the hot tub and the sound of the waves at night were awesome. Not sure what the grip from the previous poster was - One mouse? I didn't see any mice, but when you're in the tropics you should probably expect a few "native" creatures roaming around. I did see two friendly cats...

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Truely "North Shore" Hawaiian!

    Truely "North Shore" Hawaiian!

    • Guest Jen (Alberta, Canada)
    • Date of stay 09/28/10
    • Review Submitted 02/04/11
    Although the house is directly on the highway, I was lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves on the beach. There was six of us, but plenty of room for us all. 2 of the girls were unhappy with the place, but I can say the majority of us enjoyed our stay, loved walking the beachfront in the morning, and chasing crabs on the beach at night. BTW I live in the prairies, but I have never seen such fantastic night stars! Give yourself a full day to see the Polynesian Cultural Centre, which is only 15 drive away, it's well worth it!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • "Our" North Shore beach house

    "Our" North Shore beach house

    • Guest Cheryl (San Diego)
    • Date of stay 07/05/10
    • Review Submitted 08/11/10
    We return every year for our annual vacation to the North Shore and always regretfully have to return to reality. The moment you enter the gate you have crossed into your own private slice of paradise. The Aloha spirit is so deeply felt from the owner's helpfulness whether it be booking your stay or the home that she has decorated for your true Hawaiian vacation experience. The owner has always been the "friend" that keeps us returning every year with all the warm, beautiful touches she has put into this vacation home so you never feel like you are missing a single thing from your own home. My grandchildren have come to refer to this as "our home" in Hawaii. We are so fortunate to be able to live that DREAM each year when we go to Haleiwa for our family vacation. We have stayed in many other rentals and not one even comes close to our private paradise in this home! Once you stay you too will count the days until you can return. Aloha and Mahalo to the owners!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/8

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Syretha
    • Date of stay 05/31/10
    • Review Submitted 08/19/10
    Aloha Cathy, WOW! That was what we kept saying after arriving at your beach property last week. Needless to say we loved every minute of our stay at your beautiful house on the beach. We got there kind of late and had a little problem locating the address, but finally made it. After all rushing out to the lanai and realizing we were REALLY there, we finally relaxed under the nice breeze and planned for the next day. We saw so many great sights, yet never felt we ever had to leave the property because it was so comfortable just sitting and relaxing. I found myself awake every morning by 5:00am and usually headed down to the beach for an early morning walk. Imagine my surprise on the 2nd morning, to discover a really big seal lying up on the beach! At first I thought it was a huge rock....with a tail :-) I hurried and got my husband and we took lots of pictures. After a few minutes the "old fellow" seemed to wake up and he just slid back down the bank of sand, back into the water and swam away. It was the highlight of my mornings! That same morning further down the beach we found the track of a sea-turtle. His size was about 24"-30" across and we could easily make out the tail and his flippers. We visited Waimea Bay and my husband and son jumped off the "Rock". The waves were aggressive that day and it really challenged us, but we had a great time. Obviously, I could go on and on, but in a summary, I'll just say, we all loved our time on the island and we can't wait to return and hopefully stay again at your property. Mahalo ~The Lairs

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/6

  • Wonderful, relaxing

    Wonderful, relaxing

    • Guest Gilmelissa (Mountain Center, California)
    • Date of stay 09/12/08
    • Review Submitted 10/07/08
    This was an awesome house.... the beach outfront was perfect for shelling at sunrise...boogie boarding all day & marveling at the sunsets every night. This house feels just like home! Everything we needed was there. The owner is a dream to deal with! 5 minutes to Haliewa for snacks & shaved ice. the waves crashing on the beach lulled us to sleep every night We will definetly be back next year for the most relaxing time ever!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/9

  • Living a Postcard

    Living a Postcard

    • Guest Alaska Gal (Anchorage, Alaska)
    • Date of stay 01/01/08
    • Review Submitted 02/14/08
    Perfect location for North Shore adventures. Fantastic lush landscaping, very private and quiet. Awesome beach!!! And the hot tub was an added bonus, lovely way to end each day.I would love to rent this property again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 12/14



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]