Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Peaceful Lake Cottage Located on Quiet Cove Convenient to I-85

You sent a message to this owner.

Calendar

Last updated: 03/28/2014
Check availability
23 Available
21 Unavailable
22 Today
23 Selected dates
  • Minimum stay:3 nights
  • Internet:Yes
  • Pets considered:Yes
  • Wheel chair accessible:No

Lavonia house description

Convenient to Interstate 85,and first lake exit from Atlanta. This cozy cottage is located on Lake Hartwell on a quiet cove. We are 1 mile from Tugaloo State Park(tennis, beach area, putt-putt and nature trails) in a family oriented neighborhood. The house offers 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The beds include a king on the main floor master, 1 queen and 1 double bed in the second bedroom downstairs, and 1 queen and twin in the third bedroom also downstairs. The third bedroom can also be used as a secondary living area. There is a large screened-in porch to take in the lake views as well as a patio below. Neighborhood has paved streets.

We have a large covered boat dock so bring your boat! There are 2 Public boat ramps. One is 1 mile and the other is 3 miles away by land .It is 4 miles by water to Harbor Light Marina. Swimming and fishing are a must and then sit and enjoy the serenity of the lake as the sun goes down. We have 200 feet of water frontage with a gentle slope so kids and pets have plenty of space to play.

Shopping is only 20 minutes away at Tanger Outlets in Commerce, GA or you can enjoy a football game at Clemson University which is 30 minutes away.



Keywords: House

Property Type

  • House
  • 2 story

Accommodation Type

      • Vacation Rental

      Meals

          • Guests Provide Their Own Meals

          Suitability

          • Minimum Age Limit For Renters
          • Long-Term Renters Welcome
          • Events Allowed
          • Pets Considered
          • Non Smoking Only
          • Children Welcome

          Bedrooms: 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9, Beds for 9

          Bathrooms: 2 Bathrooms

          Kitchen & Dining

          • Microwave
          • Coffee Maker
          • Cooking Utensils
          • Toaster
          • Stove
          • Oven
          • Dishwasher
          • Dining
          • Dishes & Utensils

          Amenities

          • Washing Machine
          • Parking Off Street
          • Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer
          • Linens Provided
          • Clothes Dryer
          • Air Conditioning
          • Towels Provided
          • Heating
          • Living Room
          • Iron & Board
          • Hair Dryer
          • Parking

          Other Amenities

              • Tugalo Park is 1 mile away and they have free minature golf, horseshoes, volly ball, geo caching, beach area, hicking, kayak and canoe rental....moreless

              Entertainment

              • Satellite / Cable
              • Books
              • DVD Player

              Communications

              • Wireless Internet
              • Telephone
              • Internet

              Outdoor Features

              • Outdoor Grill
              • Lawn / Garden

              Theme

              • Family
              • Away From It All

              Location & View

                  • Lakefront

                  Activities

                  • Wind-Surfing
                  • Sailing
                  • Rock Climbing
                  • Mountain Biking
                  • Medical Services
                  • Laundromat
                  • Water Skiing
                  • Skiing
                  • Swimming
                  • Hunting
                  • Fishing
                  • Jet Skiing
                  • Rafting
                  • Cycling
                  • Kayaking
                  • Hiking
                  • Tennis
                  • Health/Beauty Spa
                  • Cinemas
                  • Horseshoes
                  • Outlet Shopping
                  • Playground
                  • Churches
                  • Restaurants
                  • Winery Tours
                  • Horseback Riding
                  • ATM/Bank
                  • Miniature Golf
                  • Hospital
                  • Groceries
                  • Antiquing
                  • Wildlife Viewing
                  • Shopping
                  • Boating
                   

                  Reviews

                  Write a review
                  • Great for Family with Teens

                    Great for Family with Teens

                    • Guest Jim (Royston, GA)
                    • Date of stay 08/01/13
                    • Review Submitted 08/14/13
                    My wife and I rented this cabin for a long weekend. We had three Teens and two preteens and there was plenty of room! The cabin was clean and well kept Mr. Pace had his boat to the outside of the slip and I had the covered slip for my boat. I have rented several places on different lakes and have never had an owner give up his slip for the renter. The Paces are great to deal with and answer all emails and phone calls promptly. The beds were comfortable and we really enjoyed having 4 televisions. I wouldn't hesitate to rent this home again. Thanks for sharing your lake house! The Hodges Family

                    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • Large family had a great time!

                    Large family had a great time!

                    • Guest Fran (Alto, GA)
                    • Date of stay 07/01/13
                    • Review Submitted 08/14/13
                    We are a large family with many kids ranging from 3 to 21 and we thoroughly enjoyed our time at this lake house over the week of 4th of July, 2013. The master bedroom was huge and spacious with a nice private bathroom. The living area and kitchen were open so we could cook, play games and grandpa still watch his TV and all be together. The downstairs was a perfect space for all the kids and included two areas so the girls could be in one and the boys in the other along with a bathroom. The cabin was very clean and had everything we needed and bugs were not a problem at all in the house or on the porch (reference to previous review). We always take big pots/pans when we travel or camp because we are such a large family but we really did not even need them because the kitchen was so well stocked. The best part of the whole place was the huge screened in front porch with a picnic table and plenty of chairs for us to enjoy the night air, the rain and the sound of the tree frogs along with board games and cards. The driveway was steep but our vehicles had no problem getting up and down. The walk to the dock was wonderful through beautiful trees and even though there were neighbors (nice homes also) the trees were a great buffer. Back to the porch - my husband and I even chose to sleep out there a few nights and it could not have been any nicer with the ceiling fans going. We got a lot of rain that week but the porch stayed dry and hearing it at night was just as I remembered growing up at my parents lake house. We also took our boat and felt it was very safe at the dock. The cove was peaceful and we felt safe to let the kids use the kayaks to paddle across the lake and have team races and diving contests (lots of water). The bigger part of the lake was great for tubing and cruising. Tugalo State Park and boat ramp were very convenient. We had one issue to face due to the mass amounts of rain. The dock shifted and caused the walkway to need repair. The owners responded immediately. It did not slow us down at all and we still had access to the dock. We would recommend this house/cabin to other families with children or just adults. OH! My father was with us and he is 79 years old. He needed a little help getting into the cabin with the steps but he would have needed help with any steps and he had no issues manuevering the house and facilities. We hope to visit again next year! The price is right and it is just waiting for more fun!

                    Recommended for: Pet owners, girls getaway, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, age 55+.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • Large family had a great time!

                    Large family had a great time!

                    • Guest Fran (Alto, GA)
                    • Date of stay 07/01/13
                    • Review Submitted 08/14/13
                    We are a large family with many kids ranging from 3 to 21 and we thoroughly enjoyed our time at this lake house over the week of 4th of July, 2013. The master bedroom was huge and spacious with a nice private bathroom. The living area and kitchen were open so we could cook, play games and grandpa still watch his TV and all be together. The downstairs was a perfect space for all the kids and included two areas so the girls could be in one and the boys in the other along with a bathroom. The cabin was very clean and had everything we needed and bugs were not a problem at all in the house or on the porch (reference to previous review). We always take big pots/pans when we travel or camp because we are such a large family but we really did not even need them because the kitchen was so well stocked. The best part of the whole place was the huge screened in front porch with a picnic table and plenty of chairs for us to enjoy the night air, the rain and the sound of the tree frogs along with board games and cards. The driveway was steep but our vehicles had no problem getting up and down. The walk to the dock was wonderful through beautiful trees and even though there were neighbors (nice homes also) the trees were a great buffer. Back to the porch - my husband and I even chose to sleep out there a few nights and it could not have been any nicer with the ceiling fans going. We got a lot of rain that week but the porch stayed dry and hearing it at night was just as I remembered growing up at my parents lake house. We also took our boat and felt it was very safe at the dock. The cove was peaceful and we felt safe to let the kids use the kayaks to paddle across the lake and have team races and diving contests (lots of water). The bigger part of the lake was great for tubing and cruising. Tugalo State Park and boat ramp were very convenient. We had one issue to face due to the mass amounts of rain. The dock shifted and caused the walkway to need repair. The owners responded immediately. It did not slow us down at all and we still had access to the dock. We would recommend this house/cabin to other families with children or just adults. OH! My father was with us and he is 79 years old. He needed a little help getting into the cabin with the steps but he would have needed help with any steps and he had no issues manuevering the house and facilities. We hope to visit again next year! The price is right and it is just waiting for more fun!

                    Recommended for: Pet owners, girls getaway, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, age 55+.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                  • Very 'Buggy' Very Steep and Very Overpriced!

                    Very 'Buggy' Very Steep and Very Overpriced!

                    • Guest Madeline C.
                    • Date of stay 07/18/13
                    • Review Submitted 08/06/13
                    I spent 2 weeks in this cottage and so I think I have a pretty good feel for it. First of all, the photos do not show you the steepness of the grade of the driveway. The path to the dock isn't steep, but long and there are cracks in the paved areas where you could trip. You enter by the first floor (remember, if you want to lock the house you will have to repeat this daily). where it is more like an underground bunker than a nice room (this is where the washer/dryer are located). Personally, I would feel claustrophobic in the downstairs, but that is just me. You have to walk up a flight of steep stairs (it has a railing) and then the living area is as pictured (open). Now, to get to your car, you would have to walk outside, up steps, and god forbid you take the trash out...about a 10% grade awaits you! I would NOT recommend this for anyone who is not fit, period. The house was full of bugs: different types of cockroaches, spiders, no matter what I did, they would appear. I kept my clothes in my suitcases the 2 weeks because the cockroaches were in the dressers. I told the owners (after I left) that I would recommend a good professional pest control company. The appliances are old and bottom of the line (not even a timer on the oven!). The place is so packed with 'stuff' it is ridiculous. There is no place to put your things! When I opened the one small closet in the bedroom there were 2 vacuum cleaners, and a stack of 'stuff' piled to the side of the closet and a (?) ski glove fell on the floor! ditto the kitchen, and I won't get into the health/safety considerations of leaving condiments in the refrigerator. The dock area can be noisy (sound travels over water!) even if you don't see anyone , crying children, barking dogs, etc. are annoying. As far as 'relaxing'...my first day was a nightmare...gas people, telephone people, and to top it off, some strange man showed up to ask if he could borrow my hose around 6:30 p.m.!! I also read about recent crime (hold ups in peoples homes) in the Gumlog area, and didn't feel particularly safe. The house/cabin is really a pre-fab unit, no view, not dirty, but not clean, not noisy but not quiet, difficult to get in/out of (both in your car/by foot)...no, it was overpriced for what it was and although the owners seem nice and did everything they could to fix things, I would not 'not' recommend it, but certainly would not highly praise it. (I also don't like the fact it had a FOR SALE sign in the front yard

                    Owner response: As the owners we don't feel we need to respond to each comment. We just hope that future renters will read all of the reviews and not just this one. We will add more pictures to the VRBO website to give as accurate as possible the picture of our lake house. The house is sprayed twice a month because of the large amount of rain we have been having. Once by a pest control company and once by me. Lastly, we would have appreciated knowing during her 2 week stay that she was that unhappy. We would have worked with her to fix the problems.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                  • If you want to RELAX this place is it

                    If you want to RELAX this place is it

                    • Guest mustangsally (Winston Salem NC)
                    • Date of stay 06/30/12
                    • Review Submitted 07/09/12
                    This was a very RELAXING!!! It was well equipt, beds were comfortable,very clean.We sat on the screened in porch in the mornings drinking our coffee and watched as the deers walked around. The dock was fun also as we swam off of it.The owner was very helpful and gave us a name of a boat marina where we had rented a pontoon boat. the people there were very nice. We will recommend this place to everyone and you wont regret it, as we will be re renting this place again.Its peaceful, relaxing, clean, quiet. Alot of room, I can go on about this place but youll have to experience yourself words cant discribe how NICE it was!!!!!!

                    Recommended for: Pet owners, girls getaway, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                  • John & Dora

                    John & Dora

                    • Guest mustangsally (Winston Salem NC)
                    • Date of stay 06/30/12
                    • Review Submitted 07/05/12
                    This was a clean and well equipt cottage. If you want quiet and relaxing place this is it !! Beds were comfortable. Sat on screened in porch while drinking our coffee and watch as 2 does walk threw the woods. The owner was very helpful and gave us names of marinas near by in which we rented a pontoon boat. When we go on vacation again we will not hesitate in staying here again !!!

                    Recommended for: Pet owners, girls getaway, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, tourists without a car, age 55+.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

                  • Weekend Getaway

                    Weekend Getaway

                    • Guest Susan & Mike (Covington, GA)
                    • Date of stay 05/25/12
                    • Review Submitted 06/10/12
                    We've been looking for a rental to use as a weekend getaway in the Lake Hartwell area. We had tried two others before we stayed here. And I have to say that this, by far, has been the best choice. The house was in great shape -- everything working, in order and not musty smelling. You can tell that the owners still use the house -- or at least they have it well taken care of. The price was perfect and we just had a wonderful time. I'm sure we'll be coming back! Thanks for renting us your home.

                    Recommended for: Pet owners, families with young children, romantic getaway, age 55+.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

                  • Nice Lakehouse

                    Nice Lakehouse

                    • Guest Maria (Roswell, GA)
                    • Date of stay 07/28/11
                    • Review Submitted 08/20/11
                    We spent a long weekend at the end of July and had a lovely time. The home is cozy and well maintained. Bedrooms are roomy with plenty of space for a large family. We enjoyed the roomy dock where we could sit and enjoy the sun, shade and the view, as well as swimming. The cove is nice and wide too. Our dog loved jumping into the water from the dock. The house also has a large, screened-in back porch where you can enjoy meals or just sit peacefully and read with the breeze of the fans. Easy access from I-85. The owners were very nice and a pleasure to work with. We would love to go back and stay here again.

                    Recommended for: Pet owners, girls getaway, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, age 55+.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

                  • Lake Retreat

                    Lake Retreat

                    • Guest Ken (Marietta, Ga)
                    • Date of stay 06/24/11
                    • Review Submitted 08/12/11
                    We stayed here for a 3 day weekend about a year ago and recently went back for a couple of nights this summer. The location was convenient and just minutes off I85 coming from Atlanta as stated. The house was cozy, clean and well kept up for our stay with my wife and daughter and one of her friends. There were extra beds for folks if we had needed them. We had originally planned our first trip along with another couple who couldn’t make it. However the pricing of this one made it easy to justify the trip just by ourselves, unlike some of the others we had looked at whereas we would have had to cancel our entire plans. The dock was a quick stroll down a walkway to a beautiful cove that was good for swimming, sunning and relaxing. We checked out the state park just minutes down the road one day for a picnic and later went to the local Mexican Restaurant for excellent Fajitas and Margaritas that night. The owners were real easy to deal with and our deposit was refunded promptly both times. We plan to try to make another trip before the end of this summer again!

                    Recommended for: Pet owners, girls getaway, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing, age 55+.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

                  • hartwell 2011

                    hartwell 2011

                    • Guest Billy (douglasville ga)
                    • Date of stay 06/06/11
                    • Review Submitted 06/23/11
                    Nice older home,clean and kept up.If you want to get away from cell phone and internet this the place.A little tight with eight people,especially around times to eat,kitchen gets crowded. The beds were fine,everyone seem sleep okay.Nice gentle slope, down to the lake and back.The boat dock was very roomy,since we spent most of the time there. Plenty of fish around the dock to keep the kids busy trying to catch them.Driveway is on the steep side,and wooden deck into the house has a little slant to it.The photos were a little dated,hard to see the dock from the house.The owners were nice and easy to work with,the deposit was sent back very promptly.A nice fish/bbq restaurant close by,get there early.We would recommend staying here.

                    Recommended for: Pet owners, girls getaway, families with teenagers, families with young children.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/2

                   
                  Rental basis: Per property
                  Dates Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
                  My Standard Rate
                  3 night min stay
                  $165
                  $990

                  Additional information about rental rates

                  Fees:

                  • cleaning fee $80 + tax
                  • Refundable Damage Deposit $200
                  • Tax Rate 10%

                  Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details.
                  Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more


                  Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

                  Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

                  Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
                  Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
                  Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.
                   

                  Calendar

                  Last updated: 03/28/2014
                  Check availability
                  23 Available
                  21 Unavailable
                  22 Today
                  23 Selected dates
                   

                  Location

                   

                  Owner info


                  Contact us

                  Speaks: english

                   

                  Photos

                  • Living area

                    Living area

                  • Third bedroom with sitting area downstairs

                    Third bedroom with sitting area downstairs

                  • Kitchen and dining area

                    Kitchen and dining area

                  VRBO #258525

                  There have been  visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .

                  This listing was first published here in 2009.

                  Date last modified - Wednesday, March 05, 2014

                  $165 per night (USD)
                  10

                  3 Bedroom / 2 Bathroom
                  Sleeps 9

                  View calendar: Updated 03/28/14
                  Minimum stay: 3 nights
                  Dates are unavailable
                  Please stay a bit longer. A stay of nights or more is required for these dates.
                  This listing requires that rentals start on a .
                  Get an instant quote
                  Email owner

                  (864) 230-2627 (South Carolina, USA)

                  Speaks: english
                  Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
                  Add vacation protection services to your booking

                  Three services to protect your trip:

                  Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

                  Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

                  Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


                  Get it now

                  advertisement