Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
2nd house from the beach with no roads to cross

Seaside Sanctuary - Read Our Reviews - 100% Positive [#260347] | View Property

Anna Maria
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-6)
$186 - $250/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (60)

Sort by:
  • Great Anna Maria location!

    Great Anna Maria location!

    • Guest dick p. (St. Louis Park, MN)
    • Date of stay 03/22/14
    • Review Submitted 03/31/14
    Clean, well equipped upper rental unit on the quiet north end of Anna Maria adjacent to a fabulous, wide white sand beach. The kitchen was well stocked, wi fi worked well and had nice TV, DVD player with DVDs, and Bose stereo. Many nice features, including lawn chairs and bikes. Location could not have been better. Very responsive owner. Replaced coffee maker within hours and emailed great recommendations of things to do on a rainy day. We give our highest recommend of this owner and property.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Relaxing Week at the Seaside Sanctuary

    Relaxing Week at the Seaside Sanctuary

    • Guest Nick S.
    • Date of stay 03/15/14
    • Review Submitted 03/23/14
    We just returned from a wonderful, relaxing week at the Seaside Sanctuary in Anna Maria. This 2 bedroom, 2nd floor rental unit met all of our needs. Being on the 2nd floor, we had a wonderful view of the sea oats, sandy beach, and ocean from the outside deck and inside living spaces. It was very peaceful listening to the ocean waves at night. The ceiling fans in the master bedroom and dining room really made it pleasant. The Wi-Fi worked great. This was a perfect place with plenty of room for the two of us to relax and entertain friends. When we return to Anna Maria, we would not hesitate to rent this place again. We have no complaints at all.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Cute Duplex - Great Gulf Views

    Cute Duplex - Great Gulf Views

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/17/14
    • Review Submitted 02/08/14
    We hadn't been to AMI in over 20 years and it was a thrill to be back. Seaside Sanctuary was perfect for our stay of 2 weeks. Well appointed kitchen, cute decor, wonderful views of the Gulf. The walk or bike "to town" or practically anywhere on the island was so easy. Access to the beach was steps away. Fabulous sunsets. Good neighbors. Stephanie was very accommodating and flexible. Thank you!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Better than expected

    Better than expected

    • Guest Harvey F.
    • Date of stay 01/08/14
    • Review Submitted 01/18/14
    Just a great place to stay. Had everything we needed like pots, pans, dishes, etc. The property is located near the end of a quiet dead end street, about 100 feet from the beach entrance. We loved that you walk down a trail that goes thru some dunes/bushes/sand to a great beach. Bikes are supplied and it's a wonderful end of the island for biking around. So many little touches in the house that show the owners really care. We would definitely come back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent vacation house

    Excellent vacation house

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 12/28/13
    • Review Submitted 01/13/14
    We recently stayed at seaside Sanctuary for a week this winter, and both the house and AMI provided a perfect combination of relaxation and activities for our family (with 2 kids). The house is very nice and is in a great location for what we were looking for. We really enjoyed the stay and would definitely return to the same house again. The owner was very accommodating and pleasant.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful house!!

    Beautiful house!!

    • Guest Barbara L. (Beltsville, Maryland)
    • Date of stay 12/21/13
    • Review Submitted 12/31/13
    Great vacation. House was very clean and comfortable. Located right next to the beach and within walking distance to many restaurants. We had a very relaxing vacation. Visited many nearby cities and all of Anna Maria Island. Owners wonderful folks, very attentive. Definitely will come again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What we loved about the Seaside Sanctuary...

    What we loved about the Seaside Sanctuary...

    • Guest Shelley (Kalamazoo, MI)
    • Date of stay 11/24/13
    • Review Submitted 12/17/13
    watching sunsets from the beach hanging out on the deck and enjoying the view of the Gulf grilling seafood from Star Fish Company at Cortez Village the firm, king-sized mattress the sunlight streaming in the windows walking and biking riding all over Anna Maria Island quiet neighborhood very clean comfortable, spacious living area walking to Anna Maria Donuts for a custom cake donut taking our bikes to Manatee Avenue entrance to Robinson Preserve (saw a bald eagle!) going for the BEST PIZZA EVER at Village Idiot Pizzeria in Cortez We really enjoyed our stay!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Dennis & Becky/Zionsville, IN.

    Dennis & Becky/Zionsville, IN.

    • Guest Dennis E.
    • Date of stay 11/12/13
    • Review Submitted 12/02/13
    Great comfortable bungalow setting a short path walk to the beach. Stephanie and Mike were most accommodating upon our arrival and during our stay. Location was very convenient to shops, restaurants, and taking long walks on the beach. We look forward to returning in early March to enjoy another week.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Vacation!

    Perfect Vacation!

    • Guest Kathy & Al (Metairie, LA)
    • Date of stay 10/19/13
    • Review Submitted 11/21/13
    We came to Anna Maria for a family reunion. It was the perfect time of year and the perfect house. Quiet, beautiful sunsets, lovely home, just steps to the beach. We will definitely visit again. Stephanie & Mike were wonderful and could not have been more helpful. The house was exactly as described on VRBO! A+++++

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fall Vacation 2013

    Fall Vacation 2013

    • Guest Jason G.
    • Date of stay 10/11/13
    • Review Submitted 10/19/13
    We had a wonderful family vacation on Anna Maria Island FL. This area is a real gem in FL the beaches are white sand and crystal clear waters. It is a great spot for young children as the water is calm and shallow! Our rental property was perfect from the accommodations and the location a very safe and quiet part of the island with a short walk to the beach. We would definitely recommend this property to a couple or family! We stayed in the top unit and we enjoyed every dinner on the balcony with a view of the sunset!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fall 2013

    Fall 2013

    • Guest ken (New Berlin, WI)
    • Date of stay 09/21/13
    • Review Submitted 10/19/13
    View was outstanding. Condo was very well furnished. Bikes and beach accessories were above expectations. Very easy walk to the beach. Quiet neighborhood. Would highly recommend and we will hopefully return.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Time

    Wonderful Time

    • Guest Alan E.
    • Date of stay 08/10/13
    • Review Submitted 08/20/13
    The Seaside Sanctuary is everything advertised. The place is spotless with just about every extra you would want. Just steps from the beach, it could not be more convenient. This was our 2nd year staying there and we plan on being back again next year.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful and relaxing

    Beautiful and relaxing

    • Guest Serge (Charleston, SC)
    • Date of stay 08/03/13
    • Review Submitted 08/11/13
    Outstanding location, very clean and it is evident that the owners care about their property as well as their tenants.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Vacation Home

    Perfect Vacation Home

    • Guest Z J.
    • Date of stay 07/27/13
    • Review Submitted 08/06/13
    Fantastic! From the moment we arrived everything was great and spotless. The owner was a pleasure to deal with and the location of the property is perfect. Walking distance to great shops and restaurants. We couldn’t ask for anything better!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Love this!

    Love this!

    • Guest Nurse Laura (Winter Haven, FL)
    • Date of stay 06/09/13
    • Review Submitted 09/13/13
    We have stayed at this location several times. We wouldn't stay anywhere else on the island. The house is always so clean, and Stephanie always welcomes us. Our vacations here are always relaxing because we have everything we need and want close by.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We wouldn't stay anywhere else on the island!

    We wouldn't stay anywhere else on the island!

    • Guest Nurse Laura (Winter Haven, FL)
    • Date of stay 06/08/13
    • Review Submitted 06/18/13
    This was our 4th year here and we wouldn't stay anywhere else on the island. We love staying at the Seaside Sanctuary. The house is always equipped with everything we need and is immaculately clean.We have recommended this property to several friends and family who also love it. A perfect vacation getaway!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • relaxing, beautiful, perfect honeymoon

    relaxing, beautiful, perfect honeymoon

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/09/13
    • Review Submitted 05/19/13
    We had everything we needed for the perfect beach vacation. Beach chairs, comfy lounge chairs on the deck, a wagon to take our towels chairs and toys out to the beach. Kitchen was very well equipped right down to the blender for margaritas. We were able to entertain a few local friends with ease. There are even bikes to tool around the island with. The house is spotlessly clean, nicely furnished and cozy. We felt at home right away, as did our beloved dog. There are great views of the beach from the master bedrrom living room and deck. Its a few minutes walk to the beacch over a sand trail and the beach itself is spectacular. Blue/aqua water and sand that is like powdered sugar. Very few people were on the beach during our stay and it was almost like having our own private beach. This was our first stay in Anna Maria and we were very impressed with the town itself which had lots of fun boutiques and gift shops, and terrific restaurants. Our last night there we ate at The Sign of the Mermaid and it was delicious. The Sand Bar is a short walk down the beach for a cocktail in the evening to watch the sunset, or a tasty seafood dinner. Stephanie was easy to deal with and very helpul. We are Florida residents less than two hours away and we will definitely be back. Perfect getaway. Friends of ours who visited are also interested in renting the house.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Best part of the beach

    Best part of the beach

    • Guest Mary (New England)
    • Date of stay 04/06/13
    • Review Submitted 04/16/13
    We had a wonderfully relaxing spring vacation on AMI. The location of this rental is perfectly situated to be on the nicest and quietest part of the beach and the island. The rental was exactly as advertised, was very clean, was nicely appointed, and the owner was attentive. We highly recommend this rental location and property, especially for those looking for a quiet get away.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Loved it!

    Loved it!

    • Guest Vicki H.
    • Date of stay 12/29/12
    • Review Submitted 01/08/13
    We loved Seaside Sanctuary! It was wonderfully equipped, wonderfully located, quiet, convenient, and clean. We would love to be able to stay here again. Thank you, Stephanie!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Best place on Anna Maria island

    Best place on Anna Maria island

    • Guest Victoria S. (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 12/22/12
    • Review Submitted 01/06/13
    The description given of the house is completely accurate. We were in the upstairs two bedroom unit of a duplex. There is a three bedroom unit on ground level. It is literally just steps from the house to one of the most beautiful beaches we have ever seen and we’ve seen many. Even though the weather was cool we walked the beach everyday and it was always a treat. We could walk or ride the bikes into the downtown area in minutes and there were a number of lovely running routes. Off the main road, the house is on a quiet street yet completely accessible to all there is to do on the island. The unit itself is attractive, bright, light, clean, well furnished and maintained. Everything we needed was there. The views were good, including one from the master bathroom shower. There is wi-fi but both wi-fi and cell service can be spotty on the island. A land line is available if needed. The owner was helpful, answered all our questions, met us on arrival to let us in and even accepted a package sent ahead for us. There are a number of restaurants nearby from very simple to more elaborate. Our favorite was the Rod and Reel Pier. When we didn’t want to go out there was a grill outside the house and a well equipped kitchen. One day we went to Cortez Fishing Village, bought fresh fish at Starfish Market to grill at home and had lunch on the dock out back. If you want to leave the island we recommend visiting the Ringling Museum complex in Sarasota. There is a circus museum, mansion and fine art museum all on the same grounds. Allow at leas two or three hours there. We would definitely recommend this unit to other people.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Fabulous vacation!!

    Fabulous vacation!!

    • Guest CSM (Montana)
    • Date of stay 10/16/12
    • Review Submitted 11/04/12
    Our visit to AMI was wonderful! Thanks to Seaside Sanctuary with its amenities and location we had a perfect vacation. We loved the two min. walk to the most perfect beach on the island. Our kids( 8yr. old & two 6 yr. olds) had a blast with all the sand toys and boogie boards provided. The unit was very clean, nicely decorated and had everything a family needs while away from home. Including a few toys, books, dvd's, and board games! We also loved it's proximity to shopping and the pier. Do not miss eating at The Rod and Reel and The Sandbar. We can not wait to return next year!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Great Vacation

    Great Vacation

    • Guest Kathi W.
    • Date of stay 10/13/12
    • Review Submitted 10/20/12
    The description of the appartment (lower floor) fitted 100%. We found a very clean, well maintained house with all the equipment needed for a careless stay. A new gas grille and all necessary gear for a day on the beach including beach towels were provided too. The house is located in a silent side road with only a few steps to the nice and clean beach. Stephanie, the owner, provided us with very friendly service upon arrival, all other questions were answered beforehand via telephone.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Oh so good!

    Oh so good!

    • Guest Ruthie (Warner Robins, GA/USA)
    • Date of stay 09/22/12
    • Review Submitted 10/01/12
    My husband and I just returned from Seaside Sanctuary, and had a MARVELOUS time! The accommodations were perfect! Everything was spotless, decorated beautifully, and everything was there that we needed to make for a wonderful week. Stephanie and Mike, the owners, were especially sweet as they came and helped us with computer problems. And thanks to Stephanie's recommendation, we had the most wonderful dinner at "The Sign of the Mermaid!" Took the FREE trolley to lots of little shops and eateries. What fun! The beach was absolutely gorgeous, too! And the sunsets, breathtaking! If possible, we will be back next year with all the family. What a perfect week!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Place, Great Views!

    Great Place, Great Views!

    • Guest Jen P. (Columbus, OH)
    • Date of stay 08/04/12
    • Review Submitted 08/13/12
    We just returned from a lovely week at Seaside Sanctuary. The condo offers everything you need to have a relaxing and comfortable stay. And, the views are fabulous! From a spacious layout to a wide variety of beach toys and gear, this was an ideal spot. The condo was clean, bright and well represented in the photos. The owners were onsite to greet us, and always available by phone if there were any questions. The onsite laundry was wonderful and the owners even provided the items you don't want to buy on a trip (dish soap, laundry detergent, etc.). The condo is just steps from the beach. It was a wonderful place to stay and we would recommend it to anyone.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Heaven on a stick!

    Heaven on a stick!

    • Guest Katherine B. (Shawnee, KS)
    • Date of stay 07/21/12
    • Review Submitted 07/27/12
    Stephanie and Mike have really worked hard to ensure their beach cottage is perfect for their guests. From supplying huge beach umbrellas, boogie boards and beach carts to a gorgeous, comfortable home. We really enjoyed our time here. The beach is pristine and inviting. We would highly recommend Anna Maria and this wonderful home.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect in Every Single Way!

    Perfect in Every Single Way!

    • Guest Jennie (Charleston, South Carolina )
    • Date of stay 07/14/12
    • Review Submitted 07/20/12
    Seaside Sanctuary is everyone's Florida dream! The view is so beautiful from the living room and the master bedroom. Each room is completely spotless! The surround sound is just one more detail that made our stay here ideal. The two outdoor grills, the washer and dryer and the outdoor shower just made life easier for our family. The beach itself is one of the prettiest that we have ever seen. We would come back to this same spot every year!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Seaside Sanctuary

    Seaside Sanctuary

    • Guest Nurse Laura (Winter Haven, FL)
    • Date of stay 06/09/12
    • Review Submitted 06/19/12
    We love this house! This was our third year renting...would strongly recommend to anyone who is looking for a quiet beach vacation!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Terrific vacaction house

    Terrific vacaction house

    • Guest Nicole (Palmetto FL)
    • Date of stay 05/29/12
    • Review Submitted 06/10/12
    Seaside sanctuary was everything the listing promised and more. The decor is clean, relaxing and tasteful, and the views of the beach are lovely. We really appreciated the beach toys and the rolling beach supply cart. The kitchen was well appointed. The house is located a few steps from the beach, which makes it incredibly convenient to spend time there (Especially if you have children. No sandy carseats!) We quickly fell in love with the place and did not want to leave.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Perfect Vacation

    A Perfect Vacation

    • Guest Beach Lovers (Maitland, FL)
    • Date of stay 05/19/12
    • Review Submitted 06/05/12
    This was our second year to stay here. . A perfect place! So homey, clean and bright with everything you could want! Next to the beach and with all the beach equipment you need. We will be back next year!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A family from London

    A family from London

    • Guest Bert (UK)
    • Date of stay 04/14/12
    • Review Submitted 05/14/12
    We had been to Anna Maria 10 years ago and we were looking forward to returning. We were not disappointed at all. The location and condition of the apartment was perfect. The wonderful views from the terrace, the closeness of the fabulous beach and the well-maintained clean home made our week relaxing and very enjoyable. Thanks to Stephanie and Mike for being great hosts.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Charming accommodations next to Gulf beach access.

    Charming accommodations next to Gulf beach access.

    • Guest Tricia R. (Winona Lake, Indiana)
    • Date of stay 03/31/12
    • Review Submitted 04/09/12
    My family of four and our good friends (a family of five) rented both units of Seaside Sanctuary for Spring break week. I have been coming to Anna Maria Island for over 15 years and found the accommodations provided by our lovely hostess Stephanie to be very satisfying! Both units are extremely clean, cozy and beachy comfortable. The access to the beach is convenient. Some may complain about a bit of a trek through the dunes and sea oats to reach the water, but wait a year or two and Mother Nature will move that extra sand up to Bean Point. The coastline is always changing! The island was busy as usual during spring break, so the bikes (and we rented extras for our big group) were extremely useful. The owners work very hard to keep their little slice of paradise available for your enjoyment. Can't go wrong staying at Seaside Sanctuary! Thanks, Stephanie!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful place to stay!

    Wonderful place to stay!

    • Guest Bill, Lisa and Emily (Clinton, WI)
    • Date of stay 03/24/12
    • Review Submitted 04/14/12
    We spent a wonderful and relaxing week at Seaside Sanctuary. The house was spotlessly clean and adorably decorated in a beach style, without being overly "beachy". The entire house, including the beds, was extremely comfortable. The deck on the front has a great view of the gulf and was a favorite place to sit and have coffee in the morning. Stephanie was great to work with - very helpful and pleasant.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Truly a Sancturary

    Truly a Sancturary

    • Guest Emojonation (Grand Rapids, MI)
    • Date of stay 03/03/12
    • Review Submitted 03/15/12
    Great place to kick back and relax. Loved the unhurried pace, bike rides, beautiful beach and sunsets. The North end of Anna Maria Island is quiet but located close to the fishing piers/restaurants and downtown area which is more like a village than a city. The Trolly is a must...take a ride down to Coquina Beach or Bridge St area. You can even connect to the other keys if so desired. Ospreys, herons and parrots nest in the area providing plenty of photo ops. Check out the historic museum just down the street. We would definitely consider staying here again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great family house

    Great family house

    • Guest Megan B (Nantucket, MA)
    • Date of stay 01/29/12
    • Review Submitted 02/09/12
    We had a fantastic week at this beach condo. Loved the walks to the pier, walks on the beach, riding the trolley to buy souvenirs. Stayed with our two babies--2 year old and 3 month old. We were all very comfotable. House was perfectly clean, plenty of clean linens. Great sunset views. Owner went above and beyond to accommodate our needs. Thanks for everything! We hope to be back soon!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • PERFECT...Exactly what we were looking for.

    PERFECT...Exactly what we were looking for.

    • Guest Ken (Pittsburgh, PA)
    • Date of stay 01/08/12
    • Review Submitted 01/26/12
    What Stephanie and Mike present in the owner's property profile is understated. This rental was more than we had hoped for. My short comments: Beautiful beach in view and a few minutes from the door. Sunsets that will put you in awe of what nature offers. Quiet and peaceful. Friendly and helpful folks all around us. Easy walk to great eating places. I took my Boston Terrier for walks twice a day and found myself wanting to keep walking to enjoy the scenery. We fell in love with the Sarasota area, driving there often and visiting the Ringling compound. The shopping and dining at St. Armands Circle in Sarasota was terrific. You have to drive to Apollo beach, a short trip to view hundreds of Manatee's. Wow what a sight! Take a boat ride and watch the dolphins follow you, jumping out of the water as you speed ahead. Really cool. Probably most important however is the fact that for three weeks my wife and I felt that we were at home. The rental is bright, clean, well appointed and just plain comfortable. Stephanie and Mike were always available to offer area information. We had never been to Anna Maria and found it by accident. I am really happy that we found it. Ken and Linda

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Best stay yet!

    Best stay yet!

    • Guest Susan (Burlington, Ontario)
    • Date of stay 12/31/11
    • Review Submitted 02/19/12
    This was our fourth trip to Anna Maria, and the Seaside Sanctuary was the perfect place to stay. Clean, well-equipped (the bicycles were a bonus!), and great hosts. With the beach a minute's walk away, we headed down every night to enjoy the sunset - something that we didn't do when we were a few blocks further away in past years. We enjoyed our morning coffee out on the deck, where we could enjoy watching the ocean. We hope to be back one day!

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Thanksgiving

    Thanksgiving

    • Guest zachtown (Ridgway, CO)
    • Date of stay 11/19/11
    • Review Submitted 11/28/11
    We had a fabulous time - everything worked well and without a hitch. The house is perfect for a family gathering like ours. The location on the beach was amazing: we were greeted by a pod of dolphins in the morning, found the best shells on our part of the beach, and everyone could come and go between the beach and the house easily. We used the grill to cook perfect burgers one night, and we prepared an entire Thanksgiving feast in the kitchen without difficulty. The living room was perfect, and on our one rainy day (afternoon) everyone had a great time playing hearts and watching movies. The kids stayed up late in the living room while we went to bed and we never heard them. My mother & father in-law slept comfortably in the spare bedroom - that fold-out bed works well! The washer and dryer is a great addition. Even dealing with the kayak folks went well! Everyone loved your house, and we hope we can return many times in the future!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Sweet home

    Sweet home

    • Guest Christina K.
    • Date of stay 08/20/11
    • Review Submitted 09/05/11
    This is such a cozy cottage. We stept in and feel home from the first moment. It's also very nice furnished and convinient. A minute walk to the marvelous beach and you can enjoy and relax. Mostly we were alone, except several arts of birds. We did'nt get tired of watching them. Anna Maria is has really a great nature. We loved it so much and we can absolutely recommend this accomadation. Thanks to Stephanie an Mike for this great vacation and their kindness.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Location

    Great Location

    • Guest Andrew (Orlando FL)
    • Date of stay 08/15/11
    • Review Submitted 08/23/11
    Initial thoughts are how clean and nicely decorated the house was. Very warm and inviting. There is a great view of the beach from 2 sides of the house. Very short walk from the property to the beach with no traffic or roads to cross, so very safe for children. Only a short 5 minute walk down the beach is the Sandbar restaurant, which is very good. Nice large flat screen for those rainy Florida days. Also plenty of parking on the property for 2 cars. This is located in the north part of Anna Maria so it is very quiet and peaceful. It is approximately a 15 minute walk down to the town center and the the pier. Highly recommended.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Charming, well appointed rental with lovely scenic views

    Charming, well appointed rental with lovely scenic views

    • Guest Beachlovingfamily (Raleigh, NC)
    • Date of stay 06/25/11
    • Review Submitted 07/11/11
    This charming rental has relaxing, comfortable furnishings and a spacious, breezy feel in the main living areas. The kitchen is well-appointed with pots, pans, etc., and even an espresso machine. The beach is spectacularly pristine with sea oats, beach sunflowers, and plenty of marine life, shells and sand dollars to collect, particularly near the sand bars. The accommodations are indeed steps from the soft sand. It is a slightly longer trek to get to the warm blue-green water itself, weaving through plants and around a protected areas for nesting birds. A cart (shared with the downstairs renters) allows for convenient transportation of the nice selection of sand toys, chairs and beach umbrellas. The property is located on the northern tip of the island, a little paradise with appeal that has not gone unnoticed, as evidenced by the active construction/remodeling going on in neighboring properties. Overall, we were very pleased with the convenience, comfort, fantastic views and amazing, pristine beach and would highly recommend this property to families with small or school age children and pets.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Vacation Spot

    Perfect Vacation Spot

    • Guest Shelly (Denver, CO)
    • Date of stay 05/24/11
    • Review Submitted 07/07/11
    My family of 4 stayed for 10 days. This was our first time to Anna Maria and we will definitely be back! The location of the property was perfect, steps to the beach, walking/trolley distance to restaurants, park and pier. The property was just like the photos, simple, nicely decorated and clean. We loved having a washer/dryer and all the beach gear to use. The owner was helpful and very easy to work with. The best part was the beach - warm shallow water and cool soft sand, perfect for my young children. Our only slight dissatisfaction would be that we didnt realize how wide the beach is. Wonderful in that it wasn't crowded at all, but somewhat difficult lugging all the gear back and forth through deep sand. However, this is no reflection on the property, just a note. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect vacation spot!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Flawless!

    Flawless!

    • Guest Graeme H.
    • Date of stay 04/23/11
    • Review Submitted 06/28/11
    This was our sixth holiday on the island we love. The property is far, far better than anything we have stayed in before and the availability calendar is a clear testament to that. The beach is steps away, the neighbours are friendly and the setting is simply perfect. It is far enough from the restaurants to be tranquil, but close enough to wander down to them for the essential evening mojito! You will find yourself inexorably drawn to the beach each night to witness stunning sunsets. Our highlights were witnessing a school of 35-45 rays in just a few feet of water at the City Pier, and kayaking with a group of 5 manatees about half a mile out, directly opposite the house. Slim's Bar is great and they welcome kids too. Don't feel the need to go as far as Venice for fossilised shark teeth, we found a few just poking around at low tide between the piers on the bay side. Like all impressionable Brits, we went to the restaurants featured in the Man v Food Sarasota episode, of which Yoders is the clear winner, the pies are extraordinary! Nothing is too much trouble for Steph the owner, and we cannot wait to return.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful

    Wonderful

    • Guest Buckeye (Ohio)
    • Date of stay 02/04/11
    • Review Submitted 02/20/11
    Very much enjoyed our week stay. Nice and clean with cozy, beach feel. Our only concern, for our time was several locations of construction around us, which made for a lot of noise. Not home owners fault. We loved the easy beach access, and spent most of our time there. Great place to stay.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Stay at Seaside Sanctuary!

    Great Stay at Seaside Sanctuary!

    • Guest MN Beach Girl (Detroit Lakes, MN)
    • Date of stay 12/25/10
    • Review Submitted 01/05/11
    The listing description and photos are very accurate in describing this property. In fact, the beach views are even better than described. We were pleasantly surprised with our view from both the livingroom and master bedroom windows. It is truly a very short walk to a wide sandy beach. You can walk as far as you want in either direction. We were able to walk to several restaurants and shops. This property was immaculate. Both my husband and I are "neat freaks" and we were quite pleased with the cleanliness and maintenance of Seaside Sanctuary. It is decorated with a cute beach decor and you immediately feel comfortable and at home. The kitchen had everything we needed and more. My son and husband loved the big screen and surround sound. I can't think of anything negative to say about this property or Anna Maria Island. I would definitely recommend this property and wouldn't hesitate to rent again. This is a wonderful place to stay!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect Location!!

    Perfect Location!!

    • Guest Vicki S. (Columbus Ohio USA)
    • Date of stay 11/23/10
    • Review Submitted 12/01/10
    Seaside Sanctuary was a wonderful, relaxing get away for my husband, daughter and I. The house is decorated in bright cheerful colors and everything was clean and organized. The kitchen was well equipped and clean. The ocean views from the house and the deck are great! The gorgeous white sand beach is just footsteps away from the house. The beach is beautiful! We saw dolphins swimming almost every day and the sunsets every night are a real treat. The restaurants on Anna Maria are so much fun and the food is delicious. The owner, Stephanie, is very friendly as well as helpful. we really enjoyed our stay on Anna Maria and want to return in the Spring. We would definately recommend Seaside Sanctuary!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Paradise in our own backyard

    Paradise in our own backyard

    • Guest Jannon (Bradenton, FL)
    • Date of stay 11/10/10
    • Review Submitted 11/14/10
    What our family needed was a long relaxing and restful week-end away from home and we got so much more! This home and surrounding area has it all...it is located on a quiet little street yet it's just a few blocks away from shopping, eateries and the arts. The bikes included in our stay was our main mode of transportation around the island even though we had our car - we had a blast exploring the whole island. The beach gear also included in the stay left room to bring our dogs. We all loved hanging out on the balcony overlooking the gulf while enjoying breakfast, taking naps and watching the sunset. The beach is wide and has the most beautiful white sparkling sand. It is a haven for birds and dolphins and we even saw a manatee on our trip. We hope to visit again very soon!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful location!

    Beautiful location!

    • Guest Cheryl (Twinsburg, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 09/16/10
    • Review Submitted 10/16/10
    Want to come back. Very clean and bright. Friendly owners. Beautiful beach just steps away. Enjoyed resturant on city pier and, of course, the Sandbar. Would recommend to anyone who wants to visit paradise.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A Piece Of Heaven

    A Piece Of Heaven

    • Guest Terri&Doug (Lakeland,Fl)
    • Date of stay 09/01/10
    • Review Submitted 09/07/10
    This is by far the best place to stay on the island for Perfect Peace and Total Relaxation! The beach was beautiful and the sunsets were amazing!!!! They have everything on the property that you could ever want or need for your trip such as... bikes to ride, a beautiful large sun umbrella, chairs, floats, a grill, there was even a cooler to carry your beverages in to the beach. The inside was decorated so cute and the entire place was VERY CLEAN! :-) The owners are VERY nice and are always happy to help you with any questions you may have. We enjoyed this little piece of Heaven and will be back for sure!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/6

  • Beautiful views and accomodations!

    Beautiful views and accomodations!

    • Guest Bob & Dawn W. (Palm Beach Gardens, FL)
    • Date of stay 08/07/10
    • Review Submitted 08/10/10
    Seaside Sanctuary was wonderful: clean, bright and cheerful, relaxing, and perfect for a beach vacation. The owners were very accomodating and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. I loved the proximity to the best part of the island- the north end with the wide beach and bird sanctuary. We also enjoyed Sign of the Mermaid and The Waterfront restaurants. I would recommend it to anyone needing a getaway from it all. My only regret was that we were there for only a few days!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Definitely A Beautiful Seaside Sanctuary!

    Definitely A Beautiful Seaside Sanctuary!

    • Guest Steelers Fans (Canonsburg, PA)
    • Date of stay 07/03/10
    • Review Submitted 07/21/10
    This home has a great location on the northern, QUIET end of Anna Maria with beautiful views of the turquoise Gulf of Mexico. Sometimes we (my husband, two boys and I) felt like we had the whole beach to ourselves! However, the amenities don't stop with the home's location. The home is beautifully decorated, very clean, and the owners are wonderful. It was nice to have the owners available rather than renting from a real estate agency. The owners were more than willing to do anything they could to make our stay enjoyable, and were very knowledgeable about the island. They really went the extra mile! (From telling my boys the closest places to get fishing bait, to the most affordable places for family dining, to things to do on or near the island). That's the nice thing about renting from owners who live near their vacation rental-- they make sure that their guests are comfortable and happy. If we could change anything, it would be that we never had to leave! We would definitely recommend it to others and would stay at this beautiful seaside sanctuary again!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4



Page 1 of 2 [ 1 | 2 ] Next