Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Contadora Villa 24 - view from front

Oceanfront Villa on Contadora - Internet, Satellite and a Safe [#260609] | View Property

Contadora
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Convertible bed(s), Sleeps 7
$250 - $400/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (19)

Sort by:
  • Wonderful Villa, Beautiful Beach!

    Wonderful Villa, Beautiful Beach!

    • Guest Riley G (Panama Pacifico, Panama)
    • Date of stay 03/17/14
    • Review Submitted 03/24/14
    We spent 4 days and 3 nights in this villa on Contadora. It sits on the best beach on the island and is 20 ft from the pool. The home was in wonderful condition and fit the description perfectly. The home owner went out of his way to accommodate us and even gave us several referrals for activities while on the island. They even provided a crib for our younger child. We will definitely come back to this Villa, multiple times!! Thanks Chris!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect location, excellent service, great host - highly recommended

    Perfect location, excellent service, great host - highly recommended

    • Guest Semilegal (Pennsylvania USA)
    • Date of stay 07/14/13
    • Review Submitted 08/05/13
    Chris was nothing less than the perfect contact and attentive owner, and it all got better from there. We utilized his friend Edris for a personal tour of Panama city (she was professional, yet personal and became such a hit with our 5 YO). In Contadora, Hose picked us up from the plane promptly and gave us the run-down of what to do and where to do it - he also provided a basked of freshly picked mangos. The location is ideal ... close to the pool so the kids can swim w/in ear-shot and eyesight (the pool area is beautiful), but a short walk down to the beach and a few steps to the "town" (for lack of a better word - it's the main area on the island). The Villa has everything you need; the air keeps you cool at night, the satellite TV is nice to keep in touch w/what's happening at home, the views are spectacular from the well finished decks (2), bathrooms on both levels, washer/dryer, fully furnished kitchen AND (bonus) a short walk out the back door and your actually on the back side of the island with a massive, beautiful beach - there's not a better place to be on this island. In the States, we have a $10,000/week rental house so we have some empathy for the owner & understand the difficulty and struggles involved in upkeep and rental issues especially when the house isn't w/in driving distance. Tenants spend good money for a little time away and just want everything to be perfect ... we wish we would could satisfy our clientele as Chris was able to do for us. We hope we took care of this beautiful Villa as though it were our own, knowing that when we do, the price can remain low for all the others seeking to use it - we're all partners of sorts in trying to find a new place to visit at a reasonable price ... the less maintenance the owner has to preform the better the deal for the next vacation-renter: YOU!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful villa

    Wonderful villa

    • Guest Nevia M.
    • Date of stay 03/01/13
    • Review Submitted 03/13/13
    Thank you Christopher, what a wonderful stay. Jose was super helpful and so kind. Your villa is very comfortable and what wonderful beaches on the island.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Quiet, Friendly, and Exquisite!

    Quiet, Friendly, and Exquisite!

    • Guest Mike (Columbia Falls, Montana, USA)
    • Date of stay 01/21/13
    • Review Submitted 02/05/13
    We spent a week in Villa 21 and enjoyed the best vacation we've ever had. From the moment we boarded the high-speed ferry to the island, we knew we were in for a great time. The staff was friendly and exceptionally helpful. We had overloaded on goodies for the condo, but they helped us load & unload it all quickly & effortlessly. We had looked at satellite pictures of the island, website reviews, and taken the excellent advice from the owners before we arrived, but these didn't dim the initial beauty when we motored into the bay and unloaded onto the water taxi. The condo at the villa was in really great shape; clean, well maintained, and very convenient to the main activity centers of the island. The grounds were very well-kept, and the entire time we stayed, they kept a steady vigil. We had a short wait to get into the villa because the ferry arrives a little earlier than the staff could have it cleaned for us. They let us drop our bags at the villa until it was ready. The beach was beckoning and before we knew it we were moved in & ready to go island exploring. Walking all over the island is relatively quick & easy. Paved streets & obvious gravel paths with a steady up & down of the hills of the island gets the blood flowing and in the dry season heat, we were ready for an umbrella drink at one of the various resort bars. A little spendy for casual afternoons, but perfect for a stroll around the island. We took the Coral Divers snorkeling tour of the closer islands one morning and then just rented snorkeling gear and tried a different beach each day. The waters are warm & inviting, the crowds nonexistent, and the atmosphere relaxing and stimulating simultaneously!! Between cooking for ourselves in the fully stocked condo kitchen we tried 3 resturants; Geralds, Romantica, and the Rincon Hot Plate. All served about the same dishes, fresh caught fish & seafood, but our favorite was the Ricon. They set up a tabletop grill, an excellent ceviche', & platters with all the spices & dips you can imagine. You cook your choices at the table as you chat & drink with friends. Sharing the flavors, different sauces, & combinations brings back the festivity of dining! This island is not for the full-service-resort-minded traveler. These people are friendly, self-sufficient types that expect the same from you. We thoroughly enjoyed interacting with most of them. If you like to indulge in the local culture, you will LOVE this little slice of heaven in the Pacific.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Contadora

    Contadora

    • Guest joe D.
    • Date of stay 12/17/12
    • Review Submitted 01/21/13
    Christopher's property in Contadora was great. My wife and I were there for a week in December and had a very quiet relaxing time. We decided to rent a house after researching the local hotels and I'm glad we did. The house was clean well tended, and the internet and satellite TV was great for the mornings we had to work. It has a partial view of the sea, and was an easy walk down the 50 or so stairs to a small private beach. Contadora is small enough that you can walk to all the beaches. I can honestly say the most people we ever saw on the beach with us was 6 (that may have been because of our dates). The people in the surrounding houses were friendly and helpful, and the closest B&B (Geralds) was fine for lunch and dinner and was a short walk from the house. There are several other places to eat, all with the same basic menu. Overall Contadora is beautiful but it's not for resort lovers nor is it a culinary holiday. It is about being surrounded by nature, quiet, and great beaches. The food is fresh, local, and satisfying, and the people are friendly and mellow. Lastly, I will say that Christopher was very responsive to all our questions and needs, and his staff on the ground was extremely helpful. There is a big deserted resort on the island that, when it gets bought and renovated, will change the tone of the place. For better or worse I don't know. So I suggest going sooner than later, so you can say, "I remember when this was a sleepy little island."

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Vacation!

    Great Vacation!

    • Guest Vander Meer (Las Vegas, NV)
    • Date of stay 12/07/12
    • Review Submitted 01/07/13
    We spent three nights at the villa and from beginning to end our experience was great. Had a super relaxing time. Gerard's restaurant is less than a block away with good food and great service. We did visit other restaurants but Gerard's was the best of them. The beach is only steps away, it feels as if it was a private beach. Of our three day stay we were basically by ourselves at the beach most of the time. Thanks for a great vacation time Chris. We will def be returning!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Stay

    Wonderful Stay

    • Guest Pam (Wilmington)
    • Date of stay 03/25/12
    • Review Submitted 04/04/12
    We stayed at the villa for several days in March. The villa was fantastic and everyone on the island was very nice. We had everything we needed for our vacation. It was clean and in a good location to the beach. There was a wonderful reef to snorkle at and the food at the restaraunts was very good. The airplane ride in the small plane was a little scary but adventurous nonetheless. My only advice is close the windows at night. We wanted to hear the ocean, but that came at the expense of being eaten alive at night. Just keep the window closed and it would be fine. Overall it was a great vacation!!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Contadora with toddler and baby

    Contadora with toddler and baby

    • Guest Ujan (Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/23/12
    • Review Submitted 11/05/12
    We stayed a month at this villa in the winter of 2012. What a treat! The owner was easy to deal with and so accommodating. He also definitely went out of his way to answer all of our questions. Everyone working with him, especially Jose on Contadora, was extremely nice and took to heart to make our time there as memorable as possible. We had our 2 year old and our 11 month old with us and the villa itself was perfect for us. The location within the complex was also great. Some villas are not facing the sea or are too close to a small bar (which gets noisy on weekends). This villa had none of those drawbacks. It was breezy and quiet (although during busy holidays I guess it could get a bit noisy because of the pool right next to it). Two couples we met there that had been renting villas in that group of villas for years visited us and said villa 24 was one of the nicest ones they had seen. One note of caution, when we were there, the tiles in the pool were damaged so bring water shoes with you just in case it hasn’t been fixed. Otherwise we only have good things to say about the villa, its owner and the rest of the crew.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: The pool has been fixed, and rarely gets noisy (even during busy holidays)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The Perfect Family Vacation

    The Perfect Family Vacation

    • Guest Drew (Anchorage Alaska)
    • Date of stay 02/10/12
    • Review Submitted 02/28/12
    We truly enjoyed our stay on Contadora. This was a long overdue family vacation with our four kids (11 yrs to 19 months). We started with a two-day stay in Panama City and Eldris was the perfect host. She took us to off the beaten path hideaways, and showed us much of the beauty of Panama. The villa was perfect for our family and Chris provided all of the requested amenities. Jose was also the consummate host! We had a great time at the beach. Our kids snorkeled, body surfed, built sand castles, and spent hours shelling and wading in the tide pools. We chartered a fishing boat and spent two days trolling. I wish I could post a photo of the smile on my sons face when his real started to sing. We also rented a cart and drove the island finding the “Restaurant Romantico”, a must for a quiet night out. After spending our mornings at the beach we would return to the villa and watch the kids out the kitchen window as they swam in the pool. I can’t even start to tell you how beautiful the stars were at night. The villa is nothing short of beautiful and perfectly equipped, the hosts were readily available and island was as relaxing as could be. The perfect vacation!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Gentle ultra-safe life on Contadora Island

    Gentle ultra-safe life on Contadora Island

    • Guest Candice (France)
    • Date of stay 01/09/12
    • Review Submitted 06/13/12
    Life on Contadora Island is gentle and ultra-safe. We stayed with our children aged 4 and 7 for a month and had a very relaxing time. We all enjoyed the Galeon beach very much (the one below the house). It has the best snorkeling and week days you have the beach to yourself. A lot of different birds to watch and neat shells and green pebbles to pick. You can easily rent a mule to drive around the island (takes you about half an hour) and explore other beaches like Playa Cacique (where hotel Romantica is) and the exclusive Playa Executiva. A great thing to do is go fishing with Pedro and tour other beautiful and deserted islands, just like Robinon Crusoe! We had our lunches at Gerald’s and it was always very tasty (we tried just about everything on the menu) and they’ll cook your catch if you wish. We went to the little superette for the rest (the one closest to the airstrip) . Do not hesitate to ask for what you need and what day delivery may be expected (barge delivery is weekly but some things come more often with the ferry). However do get all necessary toiletries and sunscreen BEFORE getting to the island as choice there is limited.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Island Paradise

    Island Paradise

    • Guest HappyRenter (Stouffville, Canada)
    • Date of stay 09/04/11
    • Review Submitted 09/24/11
    We loved our stay at Chris's villa on one of the most beautiful place in the world. The villa was gorgeous and the people were great! Chris was extremely helpful and very quick to respond to all questions we had for him. When we got to Panama city we had a great time with Eldris who picked us up from the airport and showed us around the city. Then when we got to Contadora Jose was there to meet us and was very helpful whenever we needed anything. We had a great time on the island, did a lot of island hopping, whale watching, fishing and plenty of relaxing! The food at Gerald's and Villa Romantica was delicious, although our faveorite place to eat was Gerald's. We met many great people on the island and will planning our return very soon. The only reason I did not rate my overall experience as excellent is because we had a little issue with a leaky roof when it rained but I am sure that will taken care of soon for the next visitors and it did not spoil our vacation one bit! If you are looking for a relaxing trip to paradise then I would recommend renting this villa 100 percent!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: It can really rain hard on Contadora and sometimes the wind blows in from the side. When this happens then many of the Villas experience a bit of a water drip. The roof had an issue over 1 year ago and was fixed. We will be looking at this right away.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Breathtaking Tropical Island Oasis

    Breathtaking Tropical Island Oasis

    • Guest Carole H. (Minnesota/US)
    • Date of stay 03/12/11
    • Review Submitted 05/16/11
    Our first trip to Panama/Contadora in March 2011 was Exceptional! Chris was very helpful to us in answering lots of questions & guiding us to people/places to make our stay thoroughly Enjoyable and stress free!! We spent 10 spectacular days at his Villa on Contadora and found it to be everything we had hoped for and then some! It was very clean, well equipped, comfortable & peacefully quiet with beautiful palms and blooming flowers/bushes everywhere! Jose was always there to help us with anything we needed!! We loved the many secluded beautiful beaches~swimming, Great shelling, snorkeling, fishing, Island hopping/exploring and fine dining. Gerald's Restaurant(our favorite!) is just a very short walk from the Villa and offers a wonderful menu with a nice variety including international cusine as well as wonderful fresh seafood done to perfection & served by friendly staff in a clean tropical open air intimate setting that was perfect! We also cooked & BBQ'd at the villa with our fresh catch & groceries available on the Island. Everyone on the Island is so friendly and you feel so safe no matter where you go!! Special thanks to Jose & Eldris for making our Panama experience top notch!! If you are looking for a low-key place to unwind and relax we would Highly recommend this Island Villa!! We are already planning a return trip for Spring 2012!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Looking for a private Beach?

    Looking for a private Beach?

    • Guest Panama Lovers (Calgary, AB Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/27/11
    • Review Submitted 03/31/11
    Returning to Contadora Island after an 11 year absence was important to us so staying at Chris's place was a great decision. From the time of booking to when we left the island we could not have asked for anything more. Great views from both decks, very clean, close to Gerrald's Restaurant, and the attentiveness of Jose who lives on the property and looks after all your needs is exceptional. Ask Jose to reccomend a fishing expedition, a day of snorkeling and you will not be disapointed. Everyday we had the beach to ourselves... our own 'private' white sand beach! Excellent property. Can't wait to go back............... soon p.s. fresh caught Mackerel BBQ'd in foil on your deck with Pineapple juice, salt and pepper can't be beat.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wonderful Two Weeks

    Wonderful Two Weeks

    • Guest Julian (Seneca, SC)
    • Date of stay 01/29/11
    • Review Submitted 05/04/11
    My wife and I and two friends shared a wonderful two weeks in Chris' villa on Cantadora. The breeze was wonderful and constant. The fishing was great...I highly recommed Pedro as a guide even though he speaks almost not english you can make it work. The villa was comfortable and the porch was great. The resturants on Cantadora are really good...we tried all but one. The water was clear and clean and we snorkled, swam and just enjoyed sitting around relaxing. Jose was always ready and willing to help with anything we needed or wanted. Dealing with Chris was a breeze and extremely satisfactory. Chris was always quick to respond to emails prior to our trip answering all our questions. The whole trip was wonderful. We have all agreed that we will return.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great experience

    Great experience

    • Guest Paridise seekers (Amsterdam, Netherlands)
    • Date of stay 10/21/10
    • Review Submitted 11/02/10
    Great Island! Villa 24 is a beautiful home, fully equipped kitchen and two great bedrooms and two bathrooms with steamy hot water. We enjoyed this home for a week and it did not disappoint one single minute. Our two (small) children were very happy on the beach or at the swimming pool. Big enough to cool down. We were happy with Geraldo's (restaurant) around the corner. Nice meals and great staff. On the island we were helped very well by the concierge and enjoyed the beauty of nature. We met Whales just in front of the beach, which was amazing. Isla Contadora, thank you for your hospitality!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • An awesome place to stay to enjoy Contadora

    An awesome place to stay to enjoy Contadora

    • Guest PhilB (Phoenix, Az, USA)
    • Date of stay 07/04/10
    • Review Submitted 07/18/10
    Thank you Chris, for a wonderful 4 days at your condo. It was most comfortable for our famliy of 4 (2 adults&2 kids) plus 2 friends. We wished it was a longer stay. Being only a short walk to the beach and town made everything we wanted to do easily accessable. We recommend scuba diving with Guillermo and Roxanna of Coral Dreams as they are very accommodating, the equipment is in good condition and prices are reasonable. We also fished every day with Pli (Victor) who is very knowledgable with where to catch the big fish. Jose and Pierro were very helpful with anything that came up. We look forward to returning next year for a longer stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Contadora my newest love!

    Contadora my newest love!

    • Guest Ed & Syd (Washington)
    • Date of stay 03/30/10
    • Review Submitted 04/09/10
    My wife and I have done a bit of traveling in Mexico and the Caribbean, always searching for that just right vacation spot and looking down the road to a retirement getaway. I now think I have found it in Contadora Island. If you’re looking for a quiet remote getaway to truly unwind this is it. If you’re all about the nightlife this is not your spot. But, if you want to relax and or romance there is no better location. The accommodations and amenities provided in Mr. Thompson villa are perfect and rest assured we will return time and time again. The Beaches are some of the most beautiful we’ve ever seen and if you like to walk a bit, you’ll find remote beaches that you can enjoy all day without seeing another person. If was an incredible experience, thanks Chris for everything as I believe we too love your little island paradise just as much as you do!!-Edwin & Sydney C. Washington

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Excellent Place to Stay

    Excellent Place to Stay

    • Guest Jen238 (Boston, MA)
    • Date of stay 03/17/10
    • Review Submitted 04/01/10
    I went down with several friends of mine and we stayed for a week in the villa. The place worked out perfectly for us and was in a great location. The deck off the front has a great view of the ocean and nearby islands. We sat out there every morning for breakfast and even some nights for dinner. Everything is with in a very short walking distance around the island. The beach out the front of the house is beautiful and just steps away. When you are hot from the beach you can come back up to the villa and sit in the shade by the pool. The owner Chris was excellent to work with leading up to and throughout our vacation. We had a great contact on the island, Jose, who would help us out with anything we needed, be it a tour of the island, more water or event just random questions. The entire week was phenomenal, we can't say enough good things.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Great anniversary or honeymoon vacation.

    Great anniversary or honeymoon vacation.

    • Guest Burrhead (Kalispell, Montana)
    • Date of stay 02/01/07
    • Review Submitted 03/08/11
    My wife and I stayed at this Villa for our 20th anniversary. It was everything we dreamed of. Peaceful, warm, conveniant, friendly, safe, reasonably priced, great condition, no hassles and no problems. Plan to do it again on our 25th. The island residents were nice to visitors, the guests at other Villa's were fun to meet and in fact all gathered for a Super Bowl party, complete with pizza. The local cafe and resturaunts were nice and well with in walking distance. The birds, fish, plants, water and scenery were fantastic. Snorkeling was easy with lots to see and touch. Very relaxing and trip we will never forget! The accomidations were exactly what we were shown, clean, well maintained and easy to use.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: As an owner I understand all the little nuances that a guest on Contadora may not be expecting, so I try and anticiptae all potential issues in advance so that when a guest stays they have a wonderfull hassle free experience.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]