Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
south view of cottage from garden

Zen Jewel Sanctuary [#260687] | View Property

Fort Bragg
Guest House, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)
$175/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (63)

Sort by:
  • Concord ca

    Concord ca

    • Guest Jana T. (Concord )
    • Date of stay 01/20/14
    • Review Submitted 02/05/14
    This is such a lovely place! The home is beautiful as the area. If you choose you can walk to the dunes or stay right at the house both are a beautiful setting. My husband and I loved being able to stay in and cook for ourselves if we chose to in a kitchen that had everything we needed. Lindsay, the owner was very welcoming, considering we had a little different situation with our vehicle. We can't wait to get up there again and hopefully stay in this wonderful place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Finest VRBO experience

    Finest VRBO experience

    • Guest Michael T. (Tulsa, Oklahoma)
    • Date of stay 01/12/14
    • Review Submitted 01/21/14
    We had a delightful time. The owner is very courteous. She was respectful of our time and privacy. The structure and furnishings are consistent with a 5-star experience. The gardens and pond are a delight. The ocean noise at night is subtle and soothing. The cottage is clean and well-maintained. It is truly a Zen - Jewel Sanctuary. We are VRBO fans, and we think this was our finest experience. We want to find time to go back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • So serene and such attention to detail

    So serene and such attention to detail

    • Guest Mark D.
    • Date of stay 12/27/13
    • Review Submitted 12/29/13
    We had the supremely good fortune to spend two nights at the Zen Jewel Sanctuary up in Fort Bragg over the weekend of 12/27. The cabin is simply beautiful. Radiant heating heats the bamboo hard wood floors and the cabin, and the sparse but beautiful artwork, decor and furniture really allowed us the ability to totally unwind. The cabin has a very warm feel. Immaculate, but so very inviting. The grounds were beautifully manicured and looked like a Japanese tea garden. Our host, Lindsay was very accommodating as well. When we first got there, the fire alarm was chirping, signaling that the battery was dying. It is placed very high up and Lindsay had to borrow a neighbor's orchard ladder to fix the problem. Sure enough though, she got it taken care of within a half hour. She was pleasant, willing to go the extra mile for our comfort and not in the least bit obtrusive. There are many things to do in Fort Bragg, but the first full day we were there, we simply just enjoyed being with each other in such a beautiful surrounding. The more we looked around at the bedroom, the bathroom, kitchen or living room, the more we had an appreciation for the detail in the angles, wood work, and architectural design of the cottage. We would love to return again and will look forward to seeing this area of California in the spring and summer months. We wish to thank Lindsay very much for such a supremely beautiful place to stay, unwind and connect.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • George H said it all!

    George H said it all!

    • Guest Pat and Gregory (Santa Rosa, CA)
    • Date of stay 12/24/13
    • Review Submitted 12/27/13
    Quiet, exquisite garden, eclectic music, serene, beautiful, peaceful. We had a perfect holiday retreat and loved every second.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect....Again!

    Perfect....Again!

    • Guest George H.
    • Date of stay 11/29/13
    • Review Submitted 12/02/13
    Our second stay and perfect again. Now many places are clean and well stocked with amenities. Zen Jewel too. But none have the serene charm of beautifully articulated Japanese architecture and gardens with the comforting sound of the waves from just over the dunes. Town is nearby, and 10 mile beach just a short walk over the dunes. State parks abound yet once back in the Jewel, dig through a comprehensive selection of CD's and chill to some Jazz. It's the Perfect place to stay. On site Owner is very helpful, and the grounds are very private. I can't imagine how anyone would be disappointed in staying here.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Can't add much to all the other reviews...

    Can't add much to all the other reviews...

    • Guest vrbo user (Chico, CA)
    • Date of stay 11/10/13
    • Review Submitted 11/19/13
    The pictures don't really do it justice. We'd move in in a heartbeat. Alas....

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wknd of Solitude

    Wknd of Solitude

    • Guest R & K (Fair Oaks, CA)
    • Date of stay 11/08/13
    • Review Submitted 11/11/13
    Our stay at the Zen Jewel was exactly what we both needed - a quiet wknd away. After a dinner out on a chilly night it was wonderful to come back and step onto the warm floors in stocking feet. Everything just feels nature induced and serene. The glass block shower was very cool also. We will definitely return again and I will recommend it to all our friends and their friends! Beautiful grounds, lovely cottage and very laid back owner. Perfect combination for us.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Amazing Zen weekend

    Amazing Zen weekend

    • Guest Prefect Getaway weekend (Sacramento, Ca.)
    • Date of stay 11/01/13
    • Review Submitted 11/05/13
    We stayed at the Zen Jewel for my boyfriend’s birthday, it is such an amazing place! The Zen jewel is very peacfull relaxing, quite, and the prefect get away weekend. We did spend Saturday exploring the local areas, like Mendocino, and Ft. Bragg. Sunday morning was amazing, we could hear the ocean, we walked out over the sand dunes to the ocean, we had the sandy beach all to ourselves! The whole experience was prefect, we will be going back!!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relax. Come home.

    Relax. Come home.

    • Guest Van and Kathy (Richardson, TX)
    • Date of stay 10/09/13
    • Review Submitted 11/22/13
    Just easy, and serene. A perfect jumping-off point for state parks, redwood forests, beaches, and the wine country. We celebrated our 20th anniversary. It almost slipped by unnoticed. The Zen Jewel is home.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A lot of perks packed into this peaceful cottage

    A lot of perks packed into this peaceful cottage

    • Guest Kim S.
    • Date of stay 09/21/13
    • Review Submitted 10/03/13
    Had a very enjoyable stay at the Zen Jewel after a crazy wedding weekend. We had 4 days of relaxation and peace where we enjoyed all that this vacation rental had to offer. We ate breakfast outside on the porch overlooking the beautiful garden landscape, had campfires at night right outside roasting marshmellos, walked on the sand dunes to the ocean which we had entirely to ourselves, and cooked amazing dinners in the full kitchen provided. Close enough to Fort Bragg to get groceries and shop around but far enough away to be away from tourists and be by yourselves. Quite a bargain and the owner Lindsay is very nice and accommodating. We look forward to booking this cottage again when we are in the Mendocino area.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Serene relaxation

    Serene relaxation

    • Guest Nita (Richmond, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/15/13
    • Review Submitted 09/18/13
    My husband and I just returned from 3 nights in this little piece of paradise. While Zen jewel is a great description and the pictures do speak a thousand words, you feel more like you have been transported to another land where time regenerates the mind and body. There are wonderful walks to be taken and yes pay close attention to the advice of those who have gone before you on the walks to the dunes. Daylight is better, but even in daylight without making markers along your way every dune looks the same upon your return. Lindsey wisely reminded us of this before our walk. The town of Mendocino is there to enjoy if you can stand to pull yourself away from the cottage. Peace and tranquility in a perfect Japanese cottage. Life doesn't get much better than this place. Thank you Lindsey for creating it, but even more for sharing it!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • An Absolute Jewel!

    An Absolute Jewel!

    • Guest Inger (United States)
    • Date of stay 09/13/13
    • Review Submitted 09/15/13
    Upon celebrating our 22nd anniversary, we wanted to spend it on the coast since September is generally a great time for the weather. But even better than the weather was what we had chosen as our weekend retreat. We knew from the minute we stepped onto the property that it was special, and that we'd most certainly be back. We were happily greeted by Lindsay and her adorable retriever, Stella. After a little introduction to the property, from there on out, Lindsay gave us the utmost privacy. We loved the Japanese influence (very minimalist) that helps you feel more at peace there. Lindsay thought of every detail from the cozy towels, to the great music selection. The kitchen was nicely supplied with every tool you would need to prepare great meals. Our first night there, before we cooked dinner, we decided to check out the dunes and do a mini hike to 10-mile beach which was right around sunset. On the way there, we were careful to look at landmarks and such to ensure a successful trip back if it became too dark. Unfortunately, we started to head back in the dark and actually got lost for about an hour (obviously everything looks very different by flashlight), and the sand dune terrain can all look the same in the dark. But like a needle in a haystack, we finally found the slight opening of brush where the trail begins to go back to the cottage. Luckily, Lindsay's loft lights were a beacon to help get us back before midnight:-/ So, we don't recommend doing an evening hike to the beach. Definitely an adventure I'd rather forget. You will absolutely love this place with its quaintness and solitude. Thanks for sharing your lovely home with us.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Retired couple

    Retired couple

    • Guest Susan P.
    • Date of stay 08/17/13
    • Review Submitted 08/27/13
    "Zen" really explains it all, from the exquisite artistic simplicity and symmetry of the architecture and furnishings to the beauty, serenity, and silence of the garden. You can spend your time quietly in peace and harmony with the site, or travel easily to the many offerings of the region -- fine dining, wine tasting, redwoods, coastal parks, hiking, kayaking, and more. We will treasure our memories of this special place.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Perfect Week

    A Perfect Week

    • Guest Makvision (Sonoma CA USA)
    • Date of stay 08/08/13
    • Review Submitted 08/17/13
    Everything represented in this listing was accurate, as well as the photos. The owner was available, friendly and there if needed, but never intrusive. We had plans to write, listen to music, sight see, but found such beauty in the cottage itself and the exquisite gardens, that a good part of our time was just enjoying the solitude, embraced by art and amazing architecture. This is a very special place, like no other and we expect to return. Thank you Lindsay for making this possible.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Quiet Space

    Quiet Space

    • Guest Sylvia C. (Fremont)
    • Date of stay 08/02/13
    • Review Submitted 08/09/13
    We had the pleasure of enjoying this peaceful, quiet home. Thank you for sharing it, we hope to return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Getaway For One or Two

    Great Getaway For One or Two

    • Guest MPaxson (Sacramento, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/24/13
    • Review Submitted 08/05/13
    I signed up for the 2013 Mendocino Coast Writer's Conference and then started looking for a place to stay. The conference is three days and I wanted to stick around for a couple of additional days afterwards. I googled Fort Bragg accommodations and clicked on the vrbo link. Scrolling through the listings, the first one I clicked through to was the Zen Jewel Retreat. I didn't need to go further. While it's a little bit more expensive than what I usually treat myself to, this was the place I was meant to be for my six-day getaway to the Mendocino Coast. And I wasn't disappointed. On a quiet road about seven miles north of Fort Bragg, this cabin is perfect for the solo traveler looking for some peace and quiet and maybe a little bit of artistic inspiration or a couple looking for a quiet, romantic getaway. It's located on the owner's property, but unless you need something, you won't see her. Instead, you can walk through her gardens, relax there -- away from city sounds. The ocean is a 1/4 mile away, so you can hear it. There was much I wanted to get done in my time in Fort Bragg and I found myself torn between doing those things -- visiting beaches, taking pictures, eating in the cafes and pizzerias in the area -- and just relaxing in Lindsay's garden. The cabin itself ... well, calling it a cabin is a disservice to the building. I'm not sure what to call it, but it's definitely more than just a cabin. It's beautiful, comfortable, well-equipped. Perfect.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Sanctuary Found

    Sanctuary Found

    • Guest Coastal Traveler (Copperopolis, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/19/13
    • Review Submitted 07/23/13
    I booked the trip to Fort Bragg for a surprise birthday gift to my boyfriend. I had never spent any time in the area and was looking for a quiet, peaceful place where we could relax and rejuvenate. The zen cottage is overall, an amazing place with everything we needed for the perfect get-away. Welcoming décor, wonderful gardens, cute patio table to enjoy the scenery and birds while having coffee, the ocean was a short adventure over the dunes, and we had the beach all to ourselves. Truly a magical place, we won’t stay anywhere else near Fort Bragg. Thank you again for welcoming us into your cottage.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A beautiful place to relax after our wedding!

    A beautiful place to relax after our wedding!

    • Guest Molly (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/13/13
    • Review Submitted 09/03/13
    My husband and I rented this lovely cottage to prepare for our wedding and relax afterwards. The rental process was simple and convenient. All the amenities mentioned in the vrbo add were available and the cottage was lovely! We arrived to a clean, relaxing space and loved our stay. We will definitely be back for future visits to the Mendocino area!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Serenity at the Sactuary

    Serenity at the Sactuary

    • Guest simon (felton, ca)
    • Date of stay 06/27/13
    • Review Submitted 07/04/13
    We spent 4 nights at this wonderful location. Everything is just about perfect. Beautiful Japanese gardens! Comfortable well equipped home! Convenient location! Comfortable bed! Nice simple décor! Very quiet (except for ocean surf in the distant). And Lindsay is a great hostess. She has great recommendations for the area. Ft. Bragg, Mendocino, and the close-by state parks provide plenty of things to keep you busy, if you want. The nearby dunes make for a nice walk. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return on our next venture to the area.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing retreat

    Amazing retreat

    • Guest OtterBTravelin (Colorado)
    • Date of stay 06/20/13
    • Review Submitted 06/24/13
    This place is wonderful. It is a sanctuary indeed. The place itself is beautiful. The garden is so tranquil. The beach was deserted but be warned, it is several dunes to get to the beach but it is well worth it. No one was in sight and how often can you say that about a California beach. Lindsay, the owner, is so nice, respectful of your privacy, and helpful. We will be back for sure.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The Perfect Getaway

    The Perfect Getaway

    • Guest Haku (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/17/13
    • Review Submitted 06/24/13
    This was the perfect kind of getaway for us. What an extraordinary setting and structure! The quality of craftsmanship in the cottage is at a very high level and I found myself appreciating every detail of the finish carpentry and clever style of construction. The artwork in the cottage and the appointments are in excellent taste all of which made our stay relaxing yet interesting. The garden is a similar statement of good horticultural practice and taste. It is readily apparent that Lindsay is a dedicated gardener as well as a student of Japanese Zen design. She is also very knowledgeable about the region and made some excellent suggestions for hikes in some of the nearby natural areas. We found the property to be very clean and the photos were an accurate reflection of the property's appearance. We particularly liked the owner's level of interaction - available if we had questions but otherwise unobtrusive. Staying here was the highlight of our trip.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Live in the moment.

    Live in the moment.

    • Guest Larry & Joan (Portland OR)
    • Date of stay 06/10/13
    • Review Submitted 06/25/13
    As much as we love SF, it was a relief to arrive at this sanctuary after our stay in the busy city. Still plenty of things to do and see and good restaurants, but almost no traffic or crowds. We loved walking the beach and dunes in the morning and again at sunset when we were completely alone. The waterfall in Russian Gulch SP was at the same time beautiful and tranquil. We agree with all of the comments regarding the JZS and Lindsay. We slept most peacefully in the comfy bed, and loved the shower built for two with the morning sun streaming in.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Peace and Beauty Abound

    Peace and Beauty Abound

    • Guest Suzanne (Petaluma, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/28/13
    • Review Submitted 06/02/13
    We just returned from the Zen Jewel and can hardly wait to return. Peace and beauty abound. Both inside and out, wherever we looked, we were gifted with creative expression. Lindsay, the owner, is like the perfect waiter at a 5-star restaurant—she knows exactly when to show up with a friendly hello or to provide a suggestion, otherwise, we felt like we had the place to ourselves. I rate our experience as excellent!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A place for life renewal

    A place for life renewal

    • Guest J & S (United States)
    • Date of stay 03/26/13
    • Review Submitted 05/10/13
    A Japanese Shangri-La in an unexpected place: a magical enchantment, a haven, a place for life renewal. YES to all previous guest superlatives!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best place to stay in Ft. Bragg!

    Best place to stay in Ft. Bragg!

    • Guest Pat H.
    • Date of stay 03/20/13
    • Review Submitted 04/22/13
    You won't find a more lovely, quiet, affordable, well appointed place to stay in Ft. Bragg for 2 people. It's a short walk to the beach where quite likely you will be the only people for miles! The floors are heated, the surround sound divine. The owner Lindsay is simply the best host you could want. We would go to Ft. Bragg only if the Zen cottage was available. Highly recommended!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Again, the best

    Again, the best

    • Guest jean k.
    • Date of stay 03/11/13
    • Review Submitted 03/18/13
    My sweetie and I stayed here last year and planned a vacation this time around by first starting with the ZJS! Everything else was scheduled around our 5-night stay. Hours were spent relaxing in the house and walking the nearby beach. We slept late and hiked at a different spot every day; there are many to choose from. There are many good choices for meals in Fort Bragg, Mendocino, etc. Loved it!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • If your looking for a little piece of heaven.... It's right here!

    If your looking for a little piece of heaven.... It's right here!

    • Guest Happy from Cali! (Northern Ca)
    • Date of stay 02/23/13
    • Review Submitted 02/25/13
    My husband and I love going to Fort Bragg. And in all our trips there we have never enjoyed ourselves as much as we did on this trip! I'm so very thankful we found this amazing little gem! The house itself is just wonderful! Simply comfortable, relaxing and peaceful! The tile, glass block and teak wood flooring in the shower lead to an amazing showering experience! The kitchen was perfect for cooking or bringing food in! The bed was comfy and cozy! The heated bamboo floors were unlike any heating I've ever felt before! The use of wood and the architecture is just amazing! The grounds are so beautiful! Thoughtfully layed out for the enjoyment of the soul! The pond is so beautiful! Nice fire ring for outside lounging! A perfect getaway for a couple wanting to relax and enjoy each other! We will be back for sure! Lindsay has certainly put together a slice of heaven!!! Thank you for sharing!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Great Place To Stay

    A Great Place To Stay

    • Guest Bill and Hilary (California )
    • Date of stay 02/21/13
    • Review Submitted 02/25/13
    The cottage is beautiful-spacious, clean, and well stocked with all the essentials. You can hear the ocean from the cottage. The Zen Garden is gorgeous, so very relaxing. The owner is friendly and accommodating. We wanted privacy; we found it in this spectacular setting. You can take a nice walk across the sand dunes to the beach, which we had to ourselves. You are close to whale watching (Telestar Charters) and shopping.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Our anniversary

    Our anniversary

    • Guest Larry (Vacaville Ca.)
    • Date of stay 02/11/13
    • Review Submitted 02/14/13
    We've been visiting the coast for our anniversary for more years than I wish to admit. This has been our most relaxing and rejuvenating stay. From the moment we drove through the gate and entered the "peaceful zone" you could actually feel your heart rate decrease and your breathing slow. You can tell that the owner has put her heart & soul into this garden and cottage. We walked into the cottage and just exhaled. We will continue coming back each year as long as it is available. What a pleasure. What a treasure!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A truly relaxing break

    A truly relaxing break

    • Guest Andy (San Francisco, CA/ United States)
    • Date of stay 02/01/13
    • Review Submitted 02/04/13
    Lindsay's cottage was everything that it promised to be and we had a very peaceful and relaxing couple of days - just what we needed! The Japanese gardens and raised wooden walkways are beautiful and there are miles of deserted beach and dunes to get lost in. The cottage itself is a very special place. It has a great simple and uncluttered feel to it, but is also extremely comfortable. Shower is fantastic!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Peace and Quiet

    Peace and Quiet

    • Guest diag (California)
    • Date of stay 01/18/13
    • Review Submitted 01/22/13
    Amazing retreat, beautiful and very well kept cottage and gardens. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to return again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Sanctuary

    Sanctuary

    • Guest Happy Traveler (Sutter County)
    • Date of stay 01/16/13
    • Review Submitted 01/24/13
    A perfect oasis for those desiring a memorably relaxing experience in an exceptionally crafted artful home. Every detail has been thoughtfully planned to promote tranquility. This is a property that is clearly loved and will leave a lasting impression on those who visit. Thank you to Lindsay for sharing her creation with others. Exceptional!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • G & C

    G & C

    • Guest G & C (California)
    • Date of stay 01/12/13
    • Review Submitted 01/25/13
    Exceeded my expectations and my expectations were high. Nicest shower I've ever seen, green tile, glass block walls, Japanese style stool. We went for four cloudless windless January days and soaked up the Sun thru the Southern facing windows that look out on the garden. Would love to go in the Summer to take a quick swim across the pond and back. Private access to Ten Mile Beach. We spent the whole afternoon enjoying the dunes and only saw one other couple. Arrived and the door was unlocked and the heater set to a comfortable setting. Lindsay gave us about half an hour to settle in then called us on the cottage phone to welcome us and ask if we needed anything. Lindsay has created a unique comfortable spot and I hope to return often. As we drove south to return home we saw the other places we could have stayed and smiled to ourselves because we had chosen wisely.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Breathtaking

    Breathtaking

    • Guest Japani82 (Milpitas, CA)
    • Date of stay 12/27/12
    • Review Submitted 01/08/13
    The pictures that you see above are great, but really does not do justice to the entire experience of actually being there. Lindsey is a gracious host who is mindful and understands the basic needs of any traveler seeking peace and serenity. The cottage offers privacy, a pristine living space, and an amazing shower! Beautiful exterior and interior. Love every minute I was there. Book some time here for an unforgettable getaway. You will not regret it.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Bonnie (Redwood Valley, CA)

    Bonnie (Redwood Valley, CA)

    • Guest Bonnie (Redwood Valley,CA)
    • Date of stay 12/14/12
    • Review Submitted 12/26/12
    What a wonderful getaway this has been for us as we celebrate 30 years together! The perfect place to destress, relax, rejuvenate. The cottage is in a peaceful, quiet neighborhood; the only sounds we heard were the birds and in the distance, the surf. A 10-15 minute walk through the dunes takes you to a beautiful, deserted beach. The cottage itself is beautiful; very clean and uncluttered. I loved the oriental feel to it and didn't want to leave! The heated bamboo floors are fabulous. It is well appointed with care and thought for every detail to make you comfortable. Lindsay has created a very special retreat and we intend to visit again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • We got what we came for

    We got what we came for

    • Guest Guy (Yuba County)
    • Date of stay 11/19/12
    • Review Submitted 11/24/12
    This is an exquisite cottage in an idyllic setting. We had a day of just relaxing and resting without going out for meals or shopping and our walk to the deserted stretch of beach through open dunes was memorable. Just down the road is MacKerricher State Park which we discovered for the first time after coming to this area many times. Walk out along the boardwalk to the seal viewing station. Wow! The cottage is in a great location surrounded by a beautiful garden and itself a model of simplicity and artful design.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Zen Jewel was a jewel!

    Zen Jewel was a jewel!

    • Guest julie (El Dorado Hills, CA)
    • Date of stay 11/09/12
    • Review Submitted 11/20/12
    We totally felt at home and very relaxed at this charming cottage. Beautiful design, heated floors, awesome view to the zen garden and very clean, what more can you ask for! The garden and pond area is so well cared for and it was lovely to be able to stroll around and see all the beautiful plants. And loved the close beach access, we had it practically to ourselves. We hope to visit again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The most beautiful Accomodation in Fort Bragg

    The most beautiful Accomodation in Fort Bragg

    • Guest ALAN (SAN JOSE, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/25/12
    • Review Submitted 10/30/12
    This was our second rental of Zen Sanctuary and we plan to stay there on our the next visit to Mendocino County. The property and cottage are so serene and beautiful there is little doubt the property and cottage could easily be featured in Sunset Magazine. If the opportunity should present itself, be sure to engage in conversation with the owner, Lindsay. She is a lovely person. Can't wait for our next trip to Mendocino as there is nothing comparable to Zen Sanctuary.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Peaceful

    Peaceful

    • Guest jean k.
    • Date of stay 10/09/12
    • Review Submitted 10/28/12
    The Sanctuary is a wonderful oasis a short drive from Fort Bragg. It is a gorgeous, serene, beautiful and clean home away from home. It's like nothing we've ever stayed at. Having the beach all to ourselves was fantastic as well. We'll definitely come here again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Delightful

    Delightful

    • Guest Sue (Paradise, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/05/12
    • Review Submitted 10/18/12
    The cottage is as described and absolutely wonderful. And the garden, fabulous. The details make it homelike and there is everything available you might want during your stay. Very quiet, very romantic. Worth the trip.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Blissfully peaceful

    Blissfully peaceful

    • Guest KimN (London, UK)
    • Date of stay 09/16/12
    • Review Submitted 09/24/12
    I have just returned from a short stay at this beautiful property and only wish I could have stayed longer. I expect that I will be repeating the same sentiments as other reviewers but that is because i also feel that same way about this gorgeous cottage - that it is peaceful, serene, relaxing and very special. I especially loved the location. Certainly close enough to Fort Bragg for convenient amenities but far enough away and with such close proximity to the sand dunes to feel wonderfully secluded. As a woman travelling alone I also felt reassured by having Lindsay, the owner, on hand if I needed her.........but also that she is so considerate of a guests privacy that I was unaware of her being there. The very best of both worlds in my opinion. The cottage and gardens are as stunning in reality as the photos on this site. The attention to detail in terms of design of space and use of natural materials is wonderful and creates a harmonious atmosphere that made me feel relaxed as soon as I arrived. I felt it was a priviledge to be able to stay somewhere that has clearly been created with such loving care. To wake up in the mornings to the sight of the gardens and the sound of the surf in the background was such a pleasure. I had everything I needed in the kitchen to cook for myself whilst there and appreciated also the large selection of books. I spent a lot of my time in the cottage as I enjoyed being there so much but did take a few walks through the sand dunes where I didn't see another person the whole time. How awesome to have so much space to oneself. I also easily travelled to nearby state beaches such as Mackerricher state park, Point Cabrillo light station and Russian Gulch. I could have done so much more from here but the point of my trip was to slow down and get away from things. I couldn't have chosen a better place to do this. Finally to say that in my conversations with Linsday prior to arriving she was very helpful and it was a pleasure to meet her, if only briefly. This is a beautiful property and as well as recommending wholeheartedly to others I hope I will be able to visit again some day.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Serenity and Seclusion

    Serenity and Seclusion

    • Guest gg (Coarsegold, Ca)
    • Date of stay 08/28/12
    • Review Submitted 09/03/12
    September 1, 2012 Zen Jewel is an elegantly appointed cottage with every amenity in an Asian design: bamboo floors and ceilings, teak flooring in the shower, a well designed kitchen, and touches of beauty everywhere. It's surrounded by its own private woods including a reflecting pond, and the owner graciously invited us to explore and enjoy the lush and gorgeously landscaped grounds. If we hadn't wanted to explore the beaches, we never would have left! Thank you for building this Shangri La and sharing it with us. Glenda and Hal

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A wonderful stay and definitely will visit again.

    A wonderful stay and definitely will visit again.

    • Guest B (California)
    • Date of stay 08/25/12
    • Review Submitted 08/31/12
    The cottage was tranquil, a wonderful hide-a-way for relaxation . It was just the way presented in the pictures on vrbo. The sitting area both inside and on the deck had beautiful vista of the garden. The kitchen was set up for cooking a full meal. The sleeping area could be closed off from the rest of the cottage. The bathroom was beautiful and well lighted. The cottage was filled with well thought out details. We got permission from Lindsay to walk around the ground. The entrance, gardens and the pond area were well planned. Every step of the way presented a new and beautiful perspective for beautiful photographic venue. We enjoyed dining at Fort Bragg Steakhouse - the food was fresh and hot, breakfast at Egghead's restaurant had good selection. Excellent focaccia at Piaci for light supper.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Unforgettable

    Unforgettable

    • Guest Ron (St. George, Utah)
    • Date of stay 08/12/12
    • Review Submitted 08/23/12
    Many labels come to mind to describe this place--peaceful, spiritual, tranquil, beautiful, restful, healing--but none do it justice. We are veteran VRBO renters, and this is by far the best we have ever rented. We enjoyed hiking and biking throughout the Fort Bragg area but always found ourselves eager to get back to this wonderful “sanctuary.” On our last day, my wife insisted on spending the entire day right there, taking in the beauty of the garden and grounds. The cottage is immaculate and comfortable with a wonderful view of the garden. A beautiful walk through windswept dunes takes you to a stretch of beach you are likely to have all to yourself. Our stay here will remain one of our happiest memories.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Zen Paradise

    Zen Paradise

    • Guest John (Woodside, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/07/12
    • Review Submitted 08/08/12
    I stayed here for three weeks while attending the Fine Woodworking Program at the College of the Redwoods for a summer class. Tranquility amidst a hectic school schedule with lots of opportunity for great walks in the sand dunes and mountain bike rides on the nearby old logging roads. This cottage is a pure delight. Beautiful Japanese garden and finely crafted, authentic Japanese architecture. Thanks for the opportunity to stay here. We will be back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful and Clean

    Beautiful and Clean

    • Guest J&J (High Level Alberta Canada)
    • Date of stay 04/23/12
    • Review Submitted 05/25/12
    A beautiful and relaxing place to stay. My husband and I spent 6 days of our honeymoon here. We really enjoyed our time spent in the cottage as well as the many places around Fort Bragg to sight see. It was very clean and had all that we needed. I would defintely reccomend staying at this cottage.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • T and P (Wisconsin)

    T and P (Wisconsin)

    • Guest T and P (Washburn, WI., on the shores of Lake Superior.)
    • Date of stay 03/24/12
    • Review Submitted 04/07/12
    This has been a most wonderful visit for us. The cottage and garden are even more lovely, inviting, and comfortable in person, than the photos and description impart. We felt completely comfortable and at ease to do or not do at our own pace and in our own time. Though Lindsay lives nearby, she was very respectful of our time and privacy, and we felt for the most part like we had the whole place to ourselves every day of the 8 days we spent. We have visited the Ft. Bragg area twice before, and even though it rained for most of our visit this time, it was the best visit yet, because of having stayed at the Zen Jewel Sanctuary. Return trips will definitely be on our agenda. Thank you for this wonderful place to stay and visit!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Peace and serenity in a well-designed setting

    Peace and serenity in a well-designed setting

    • Guest Naropa grad (Davis, CA)
    • Date of stay 02/18/12
    • Review Submitted 02/21/12
    My husband and I have been users of VRBO properties for over 10 years and this was by far the most beautiful, clean and peaceful place we've rented. The cottage was obviously designed by someone who wanted her guests to enjoy their stay. The owner's presence was completely unobtrusive and the serenity was unbroken even as we strolled the gardens and enjoyed our morning coffee on the deck. Thank you fro providing a respite from our stressful lives.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Zen Jewel Santuary

    Zen Jewel Santuary

    • Guest Sheree (Windsor, CA)
    • Date of stay 02/09/12
    • Review Submitted 02/25/12
    My husband and I stayed at your property, and we had a wonderful visit. The grounds were beautiful even in early February. We are already looking forward to returning and seeing the gardens in different seasons. Our stay was comfortable and very relaxing. Your beautiful getaway location, Zen Jewel Santuary, is very aptly named. We highly recommend this vacation rental.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A Place of Beauty and Peace

    A Place of Beauty and Peace

    • Guest Valy (Oakland California)
    • Date of stay 11/16/11
    • Review Submitted 12/15/11
    Zen Jewel Sanctuary is truly a place of beauty and peace. It was perfect.My husband and I spent four days here and we could not have been happier. The owner of the property is an inspiration! She did an amazing and perfect job creating this gorgeous, dreamlike, ethereal, exquisite garden setting and cottage. She made our stay truly comfortable and pleasant. The cottage has everything you need: awesome stereo system, wi-fi, dvd player, cable tv, satellite radio, complete equipped kitchen, comfortable bed, fine furnishings, spa-like shower/bath, heated floors, and very very clean. Not only were the cottage, plants and flowers incredibly beautiful, but the location was perfect as well. Very quiet and private, and only a few minutes walk to the beach and the awesome sand dunes. We will definitely come back. This place is mint!!! Highly recommend it. We had a wonderful time. Thank you Lindsay!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3



Page 1 of 2 [ 1 | 2 ] Next