Loft Like Spacious Catskill Mountain Retreat
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:Contact owner
- Pets considered:No
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Accord house description
Quietly nestled on the border of the Catskill Mountain Park, this unique 3 Bed, 2 bath loft-like home is minutes from the Ashokan Reservoir and many other Catskill hikes and villages. The rental is situated among Catskill towns like Woodstock, Shokan, Phoenicia, and Pine Hill (that offer a variety of mountain shopping, restaurants, and recreation) and the Rondout Valley farm communities of High Falls, Stone Ridge and Rosendale (each with fabulous restaurants, antique shops, farm stands, and outdoor opportunities).
The open floor plan of the kitchen and living area allows families and friends to gather for meals and games. The wood stove and the bold tile work creates a unique yet warm environment. There are 3 private bedrooms, one master with bath and queen bed, one with convertible bed, and one with double bed.
The screened in porch in the back faces the woods of the catskill mountains, The large sunny deck off the side faces rolling lawn with magnolia trees and vine-covered gazebo. A variety of wildlife can be viewed, enticing renters to trek further into the Catskill Mountain trails. The quiet solitude and clear starry nights at the property invite guests to relax and take it easy.
Artist owned, the home has an attached studio with sink for painting, sculpting, etc.
Enjoy spectacular fall foliage sightseeing, or hiking through autumn colored trails. Close to ski mountains, Lake Minnewaska. Another apartment in the building is sometimes rented.
- 2500 sq. ft.
- 1 story
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
- Non Smoking Only
- Children Welcome
- Pets Not Allowed
Bedrooms: 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5, Beds for 5
- Queen size Beds (1), full Beds (1), daybed (1)
Bathrooms: 2 Bathrooms
- main bath with tub, master bath with shower
Kitchen & Dining
- Cooking Utensils
- Dishes & Utensils
- Coffee Maker
- Clothes Dryer
- Air Conditioning
- Towels Provided
- Wood Stove
- adjacent artist studio available
- Video Game Console
- Satellite / Cable
- DVD Player
- Free Long Distance
- Broadband Access
- Lanai / Gazebo
- Deck / Patio
- Sports & Activities
- Away From It All
Location & View
- Mountain View
- Jet Skiing
- Rock Climbing
- Water Skiing
- Mountain Biking
- Cross Country Skiing
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Miniature Golf
- Live Theater
- Theme Parks
- Fitness Center
- Basketball Court
- Sight Seeing
- Wildlife Viewing
- Horseback Riding
- Skydiving, River Tubing, Sightseeing Train Rides, Farm Stands
ReviewsWrite a review
great place to get away!
great place to get away!
We had such a great week here! The main living space is very large with a high ceiling. The bedrooms are pretty small w/o much natural light, but fine if you're just planning on sleeping there anyway. The place is very quiet though there are lots of houses nearby. Everything in the house worked fine and it was clean, only complaint was that we wanted a more comfy couch to lounge on. Also the screened door to the deck was broken so we couldn't leave the door open for fresh air. And the deck furniture was very rickety. Monika was really responsive, which was nice. There is a person living next door, in the same house, but a different unit. She was nice to us and we didn't see her much. Most of the area's attractions, such as hiking, small town stuff, farms, require you to get in the car and drive a bit, but it's worth it to be in such a lovely setting. The roads up there are confusing and it's easy to get lost bc of the lack of street signs, FYI. We really loved our stay and would go back.
- Guest Nora C. (Brooklyn, New York)
- Date of stay 08/03/13
- Review Submitted 08/18/13
Recommended for: Sightseeing, girls getaway, romantic getaway, families with young children, age 55+, families with teenagers.
Owner response: Good to know about the broken screen door! Will send someone to fix that. Thank you!
Amazing place in the woods
Amazing place in the woods
I stayed here last summer and immediately loved the place. I'm very surprised to read the other reviews! We arrived at night and it was dark so getting in was a little strange (you have to go through the studio to get to the main room), but once we opened the door to the great room, we knew we picked a great place. The house is a funky, loft-like place with a wood burning stove, a great deck with a grill, and cozy bedrooms. Everything was done tastefully and you really get a sense of relaxation when you're there. The big bathroom is beautiful and the kitchen is well stocked with everything you might need to cook a big dinner. We were two couples there for the weekend and we had an amazing time relaxing, grilling, and playing cards on the amazing dining table. It's an older place and has some quirks, but definitely nothing I saw would prevent me from going back. I've told all of my friends about it and I'm planning a trip for the spring. Also, the owner was very easy to get in touch with and pleasant to deal with. Highly recommend!
- Guest Tori I. (-)
- Date of stay 07/22/11
- Review Submitted 02/28/12
Recommended for: Sightseeing, girls getaway, romantic getaway, families with young children, age 55+, adventure seekers, families with teenagers.
Mildew, Mold and Neglect
Mildew, Mold and Neglect
We LEFT after ten minutes of arriving. My husband and I arrived at dusk (actually a good thing because you couldn't see just how run-down the place was). We walked up the icy uneven steps to access the door that led you to some strange garage-like room. At the far end a door opened into the main 'loft-like' room. The size was indeed big and open - just what I wanted. However, the MILDEW and MOLD that permeated the room was so strong, we were taken aback. The place was disgusting. We walked down a narrow hall to the bedrooms - dark (half of the lights didn't have bulbs in them or didn't work), dingy and I couldn't imagine sleeping on those sheets that looked like they were made back in September and had not been used since. We opened up a door opposite the master bedroom and this woman 'the housekeeper' is on the other side of it smoking! Sorry - don't tell, she says. Literally the door had a few blocks of wood at the base of it - to tell us not to open it?! The walls are so thin you could hear everything. We walked back into the main room and I ventered into the kitchen -- old, never used and rotten. I didn't open cabinets for fear of mice. In shock, we called the owner who said she was surprised, was receptive to cancelling the stay and apologized. She lives in California and I hope that is the reason for the neglect. Perhaps in the summer, with time outdoors, with the doors all open and with the place being used more, it wouldn't be so horrible. But frankly, I don't know. Everything is so rotted out and moldy - everything. Even the furniture, the rugs (you can't tell from the photos) -- I couldn't find one seat that I would want to sit in. I'm writing this in the hopes that it saves some others from making a disastrous choice (we had to scramble to find a place to sleep the next 2 nights!) and to alert Monika that she really needs to put some money into the upkeep of this place, because as is, especially during winter, it is really uninhabitable. I guess I am also appalled at the price -- it seems unconscionable. I thought sunny, clean, and somewhat hip open space in the woods. Instead, it's dingy, depressing and disgusting. Perhaps the lack of light was a plus. Please don't rent this place until it receives major attention by the owner. I think she would be totally embarrassed to come see it as it is now.
- Guest L & Y (New York, NY)
- Date of stay 01/13/12
- Review Submitted 02/14/12
Owner response: As soon as I was notified of this guest's dissatisfaction I immediately responded by investigating the situation. I am very meticulous about my property and have had no complaints in regards to the cleanliness, so I was indeed surprised. I found to my dismay that some of her claims were absolutely valid. I have since hired a new off-site housekeeping service. The housekeeper referred to in this review has been evicted and is no longer on the premises. The house has been professionally cleaned top to bottom and all bedding replaced with new linens. The kitchen is equipped with all new stainless steel appliances. There are no shared walls with anybody other than the guests of the house. I have the property managed by an independent company and have since replaced this service as well. All this said, the property is an unusual space, quirky, and eclectic in style. It is an artist studio/residence. A better fit for someone looking for something different from the standard "Country Living" cover. I am an art director/sculptor by trade and have taken great care to make it a creative and special place unlike any other home. I will always welcome feedback to make it a better experience for all my guests. I want everyone to really experience how special and magical it is. I will offer full refunds to anyone who is dissatisfied and stand by the quality and care that I put into the maintenance of the house.
Good for New Years Eve not for longer stay.
Good for New Years Eve not for longer stay.
This rental has a lot of potential. The living room area is huge. Japanese lamps, the large plant, huge art piece on the wall give it a feeling of open space under the roof. However the place is very poorly maintained. I rented it twice. Once for a long weekend and then for a month. My opinion is that it’s a decent place to do a New Years party, but pretty bad as far as prolonged staying. I don’t mind mice that much, but if you do, you should be aware that they will come to visit every evening. I kept all perishables in the refrigerator, but it does not matter, if you cook in the house they will be interested. I saw a rat in the kitchen once as well. The place is always dusty despite the cleaning fee. Before I came for the second time, I asked the owner to make sure the place is in better shape than the last time. So the living room was clean, but the bedrooms still had whole clusters of dust. The last thing on hygiene is that there is large amount of mold under the sink in the kitchen (it drips on wood which has rotten). I wiped off the surface, but it has not helped much, the wood itself needs to be replaced, it really stinks. Last tip, bring some light bulbs. You can have privacy in this rental, however, and it’s not apparent from the ad, that you will be sharing the house with at least two other families (permanent residents). With my second visit I was very disappointed with the owner (who lives in California). She tried to bump up over what was in the ad (she said she made a typo). Also, she grossly overcharged me for the last day. I assumed (incorrectly) that since I am renting for a month (of May), the check out will be the morning of June 1st. So I thought that my check-out is one day later. I realized very late that it’s not. I left a two-minute voicemail (I verified that it went through at tmobile website). She claims she received nothing, which is probably just a lie. Now, I could understand if she charged me for another day at monthly rate. But she charged me this one day at the full daily rate + late fee (I did leave late because I lost the wrench to take my portable table apart). She said I must leave because the cleaner needs time to clean. But the cleaner (who leaves in the same house) told me she does not care if stay for another day. Lastly it took me close to two months to get my deposit back. I had to remind her, she kept saying the bank has sent it when it did not, then she got "bogged down" with things. Unprofessional...
- Guest john1438756 (New York)
- Date of stay 05/05/11
- Review Submitted 09/09/11
Owner response: 1.The contract clearly stated that the check-out date is May 31st, 10am. Unfortunately, to deter late check-out there is a late fee as well as an additional day. I would have happily dismissed this fee, however, new guests were due to arrive at 3pm that very day. I did not receive any communication and was unfortunately forced to bill him. He signed a contract and agreed to the terms. I'm sorry this had to happen. 2.He did bring up the dust, I alerted my housekeeper but at no time did he mention rats, mice or mold. I have since sent someone to investigate. I take pride in my home and do everything I can to maintain my house with a team of managers, maintenance people, and professionals. I am extremely attentive to guests who raise any complaints. My guests satisfaction has always been my primary goal. 3. The building has another apartment, as stated in the description. I would not consider this the same house. The residences are very separate with separate entrances. I understand some guests prefer complete solitude so I price with that in mind. 5. The guest lost the original security deposit check that was sent to him. I happily sent him another. This took time. I now no longer request security deposits to avoid this hassle to my guests. Insurance is built into the rate.
Wonderful getaway, comfortable space
Wonderful getaway, comfortable space
We walked in and were astounded with the massive living room space! Great outdoor space too, didn't take too long to get out there from NYC. Owner is very responsive and accommodated us even though we called at the last second. Kitchen has nice pans and equipment, though be prepared to bring any additional spices besides salt and pepper. Very close to all kinds of activities and cute little towns. This was a wonderful space to come back to after a long day of running around. We also had a blast playing Jenga (it has been years!), though we'd suggest adding some more movies to the DVD collection besides just "Shark Tale" - haha :)
- Guest JUSTIN (BROOKLYN)
- Date of stay 07/08/11
- Review Submitted 07/17/11
Recommended for: Sightseeing, girls getaway, romantic getaway, families with young children, adventure seekers.
Great place to put the whole family. I housed one half on my wedding party here. The open kitchen area served as the spot for my rehearsal dinner and the kids still had enough room to run laps.
- Guest Anonymous
- Date of stay 11/03/09
- Review Submitted 11/03/09
This is a beautiful cabin with a loft-like layout (open living room and kitchen space with a wood stove in the middle) bordering the Catskills park. The house is clean and very spacious and you practically need to just step outside to be in the forest. We had a great time on our weekend stay in the Fall of 2009.
- Guest Uri B. (Manhattan, NY)
- Date of stay 10/27/09
- Review Submitted 10/27/09
We spent a weekend here from Friday evening to Sunday early afternoon. We enjoyed the home, it was really confortable. All you need to bring is your own food since the kitchen is fully stocked. There are many exiting activities in the area: several wineries, farms where you can pick your own fruits, depending on the season, and farm stands full of local harvest. We had a great time! You'll enjoy this home any time of the year.
- Guest Arlene8 (New York, New York)
- Date of stay 10/16/09
- Review Submitted 10/16/09
$185/nite (2 night minimum, 3 night holiday min) $950/week.. $2750/month... Housekeeping $85 (stays over 1 week additional) All utilities, phone, internet, cable included. $49 insurance...(additional for large parties or longer stays) parties over 5. additional 20.00/night per person
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
This owner accepts HomeAway payments.
Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
Year Purchased: 2004
About the owner: I've worked in the advertising industry in New York City for almost 20 years. I bought this place as a getaway from the city and to work on my personal work. Its a very inspirational area and full of interesting, warm, laid back people, artists, nature, wildlife, catskill mountains, great eclectic restaurants. I am now studying sculpture in California and decided to rent out my house so that others may enjoy the many awesome things that upstate has going for it, one being my house! thanks for looking and hope to have you.
- Primary: (646) 342-7557 (New York, USA)
Open floor plan with wood stove. New Kitchen.
bedroom 2 with full bed
Screened porch overlooks wooded hill.
deer on the grounds
converted chicken farm on 3 acres
master bedroom with queen bed
bedroom 3 with daybed
vine covered gazebo
deck overlooking 3 acres
There have been visitors to this page since
the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2009.
Date last modified - Friday, November 22, 2013