Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Gorgeous San Francisco Flat

You sent a message to this owner.

Living Room

Living Room Bath w/claw foot tub and shower Bedroom 1 Bedroom 2 Bedroom 3 Dining Room Kitchen Cole Valley Neighborhood

This owner has opted not to share the exact location of their property.

Calendar

Last updated: 04/10/2014
Check availability
23 Available
21 Unavailable
22 Today
23 Selected dates
  • Minimum stay:3-5 nights
  • Internet:Yes
  • Pets considered:Yes
  • Wheel chair accessible:No

Cole Valley apartment description

Our delightful flat is perfect for your visit to San Francisco. Better and less expensive than getting a few hotel rooms - you can relax and enjoy your stay.

Located in a pleasant and active neighborhood of restaurants, coffee shops, bars and boutiques and just a short walk to Golden Gate Park (with its newly renovated Academy of Sciences and deYoung Art Museum), the historic Haight-Ashbury neighborhood, Buena Vista Park and Duboce Park.

An easy public transportation/car/taxi ride from the Moscone Convention Center (15 minutes), the Downtown Financial District (15 minutes), and Fisherman’s Wharf (15 minutes).

The flat is located on the 3rd floor of a 1909 Victorian. The flat offers the charm of the Victorian period with updated modern conveniences. You’ll find a well appointed kitchen with everything you need. The flat has 3 Bedrooms, each with Queen beds, a full bath with claw-foot tub and a separate half bath. A covertible sofa bed is available (extra charges apply) for extra guests in the living room, making it possible to sleep 8 in beds. There are separate dining and living rooms. The flat has a flat panel TV, DVD player, Wi-Fi and Cable. There is a washer and dryer located in the flat (daily fee applies) with laundry soap provided. The flat is well furnished, comfortable, light and bright.


When you stay at our flat, you’re a short walk to dozens of neighborhood restaurants serving breakfast lunch and dinner.

Great nightlife with a wide variety of bars – from pubs to sophisticated bars like Alembic (profiled in the NY Times). The Muni subway takes you most parts of the city without a car. Or hop a taxi to the Davies Symphony Hall or War Memorial Opera House. You’re close to everything in our flat.

Our flat will make your trip to San Francisco fantastic.


Keywords: Victorian Flat

Property Type

      • Apartment

      Accommodation Type

          • Vacation Rental

          Suitability

          • Pets Considered:

            Discuss with owners; extra charges and security deposit apply....moreless

          • Children Welcome:

            We have gates, high chairs, pack n plays, etc....moreless

          • Non Smoking Only

          Bedrooms: 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8, Beds for 6-8

          • Bedroom 1

            ...moreless

          • Bedroom 2

            ...moreless

          • Bedroom 3

            ...moreless

          • Convertible bed(s)

            ...moreless

          • Queen size Beds (3), Baby Cribs (1) 1 pack n play, 1 high chair, 2 baby gates available at no charge., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Extra charge for use of convertible bed and bed linens...moreless

          Bathrooms: 1 Bathroom, 1 Half Bathroom

          Kitchen & Dining

          • Kitchen:

            Dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, oven, rangetop, refrigerator....moreless

          • Cooking Utensils:

            Pots, pans, cooking utensils, plates, cups, glassware, tableware....moreless

          • Dishwasher
          • Ice Maker
          • Refrigerator
          • Microwave

          Amenities

          • Linens Provided:

            Bed linens including sheets, pillowcases, comforters/blankets....moreless

          Entertainment

          • Satellite / Cable:

            Basic cable channels by Comcast....moreless

          • DVD Player
          • CD Player
          • Stereo

          Communications

          • Wireless Internet
          • Broadband Access

          Activities

          • Fishing
          • Tennis
          • Cycling
          • Swimming
          • Fitness Center
          • Wind-Surfing
          • Mountain Biking
          • Racquetball
          • Golf
          • Surfing
          • Hiking
          • Basketball Court
          • Sailing
          • Rock Climbing
          • Shuffleboard
          • Zoo
          • Health/Beauty Spa
          • Shopping
          • Museums
          • Cinemas
          • Restaurants
          • Live Theater
          • Boating
          • Horseshoes
          • Miniature Golf
          • Horseback Riding
          • Sight Seeing
          • Antiquing
          • Shelling
           

          Reviews

          Write a review
          • Incredible location for a fun SF experience

            Incredible location for a fun SF experience

            • Guest AC (San Francisco)
            • Date of stay 03/01/14
            • Review Submitted 04/08/14
            My wife and I kept joking about how staying in this flat was like being on a movie set for a scene in a "charming, bustling city." It's an extremely cute area, with tons of little shops and cafes, friendly professional folks on the streets, the bells of the streetcar jingling cheerfully down on the corner, and an easy walk to Golden Gate Park. The flat itself is clean, spacious, and nicely set up for a relaxing, low-key stay. Great for our kids and great for our pooch, too, as the space is not too fussy. We did not find parking difficult (compared to San Francisco parking generally), but it helped to get a temporary "area J" permit from the city, which you can do at http://www.sfmta.com/services/permits-citations/parking-permits/residential-area-permits/rpp-types/short-term-permits

            Recommended for: Pet owners, families with young children, sightseeing, tourists without a car.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

          • Never wanted to leave this wonderful flat.

            Never wanted to leave this wonderful flat.

            • Guest jerwink (Appleton, Wisconsin)
            • Date of stay 06/24/13
            • Review Submitted 08/23/13
            Myself and my family took a 16 day journey from Portland to San Fran and we ended it with a week stay in this wonderful flat. Cole Valley neighborhood is a great part of America to be, with some good restaurants and bars within walking distance of this particular flat. Also close is the Golden Gate Park which is a great place to let the dog and kids stretch their legs a bit,if their not worn out from hiking all the hills while walking around town. More about the flat. If you're a romantic for turn of the century buildings, you are in luck. 10 foot ceilings open to windows that open to the street below and allow the warm northern California air in to fill the space and your senses. The veiw to the street below is nice as you can watch the hustle and flow of the city as it wakes from it's slumber, till it winds down to rest after another day of our lives has eclipsed it. Do you consider yourself a cheese snob? Again luck has found you. There is one of the coolest cheese shops right across the street, and I know my cheese people being that I am a Wisconsinite, AKA Wisconinadian. Also a few short steps away is a vintage ice cream shop, so you will not be short on your dairy intake during your stay. The flat has three very spacious bedrooms that are neat and clean with comfortable beds. The kitchen is newly remodeled, or so it seems, and has everything you would need to make your stay functional if you choose to cook. The dining room is huge by my standards with a big table for everyone to sit around and contemplate your next move as you take on the best city in California. That is pure opinion, I am not aware of any awards. The bathrooms are small but how much time do you need to spend in there? But there are two which is nice. Finally the front living room is a quaint place to congregate, sit and converse about all of the great things you got to do with your day, or are going to do. About the owner..... Very accomodating, honest and upfront. This flat was not our actual destination as our original place of short term residancy fell through and we were without lodging. Getting a nice place in the middle of June in the Bay area with twelve hours notice can be tough. The owner squeezed us into a very tight rental schedule to save the day and our vacation. For this I simply say thank-you. There are only two watchouts. Parking if you have a car, and the stairs to the flat are two stories straight up. I think they add to the charm, but we are all very mobile.

            Recommended for: Families with teenagers, pet owners, girls getaway, families with young children, sightseeing, romantic getaway, tourists without a car, adventure seekers.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

          • A very disappointing experience

            A very disappointing experience

            • Guest Anthony V (Sydney, Australia)
            • Date of stay 04/17/13
            • Review Submitted 04/29/13
            Of all the places we have stayed in the US this is one to be wary of. We just completed a family holiday in the US and stayed in a number of holiday rentals. And during all that time the only place that disappointed was this apartment. The location is excellent, and the surrounding shops and ammentities excellent. And once you have figured out the transport system it's easy to get from the apartment into the San Francisco downtown. However prospective renters need to note two things: the apartment is not of particularly high quality (as compared to others we have stayed at) and be aware of the landlord. While the kitchen has been recently remodelled, overall the apartment is in need of a paint job and facelift. The carpets are stained and marked, the walls are chipped, doors creak and there are various bits and pieces that need fixing. As well the bathroom is tiny with a shower arrangement that is, at best, hard to use. The partment is not of the same standard as other places we stayed at for similar prices. And be careful of the landlord. We didn't read the small print in the contract that specified that we could not get access to the washer and dryer unless we paid extra. The power cables are locked up and you have to pay an extra $30 to use the machines. When I expressed suprise at this supplementary charge I got a terse email from the landlord that bordered on being abusive... nice. Then when we left, he deducted money from our security deposit for 'extra cleaning charges' - we had failed to empty the rubbish bins and strip the beds, etc. And we'd left some small food items in the fridge or kitchen. (Apparently the landlord emailed instruction on this prior to our departure, but, you know we were on holidays... so didn't see the email). Again this is not something we experienced anywhere else... So overall it was a sad way to finish our holiday and it just didn't need to be that way :(.

            Owner response: Anthony, I'm so sorry you were disappointed in the rental. To address your points for the benefit of prospective renters: 1. We are very clear that laundry is extra - it's in the listing - immediately underneath Clothes Washer and Clothes Dryer it states "Use Fee Applies" and the contract the contract you signed says "Your lodging fees for this stay are $XXX (includes all taxes and fees, except fees for optional use of washer/dryer)." I don't know how you missed that but I don't think we can be faulted for hiding it in the "fine print." And although you characterized the charge "as one of the most ridiculous things I've come across", my response was simply factual. I apologize if you found that terse. 2. The check out procedures are in a binder in the flat and they were emailed to you a day before check out. Since we had exchanged email repeatedly throughout your visit it's surprising to hear now that this was an ineffective means of communicating. In addition to all of the food and trash you left in the flat, there were items broken - we informed you of this. It's not a big deal - we know it happens. We had a small charge for all of this and honestly, between the extra work from the cleaners and replaced items, we spent more than we charged you. 3. I don't know what challenges you had with the bathroom - it's a clawfoot tub and shower. It's in a picture on the listing. I had no questions, complaints or comments on this during during your stay (nor any from other guests). 4. As for the condition of the flat, of course it's not perfect. The pictures are accurate - the building is 105 years old. It was painted 4 years ago. The kitchen was done 7 years ago. Sure, it could use some touch ups, but it's in good shape and we maintain it well. And be realistic - it's priced at less than $50 per person per night. It's not the Ritz. That's available if you can afford it. For families and groups that are looking for more value, I think ours represents that. You're the only guest that's complained that it's substandard. We have 20 reviews that give it mostly 5 stars. You gave it 1. I don't think prospective renters should be misled by your opinion. Having said all that, you and your family were fine guests to have in our flat and notwithstanding the cleaning charges and small breakage, we appreciate your staying there.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/6

          • Two thumbs up!

            Two thumbs up!

            • Guest Kyle D.
            • Date of stay 03/31/13
            • Review Submitted 04/08/13
            Can't say enough about this flat. It was in an awesome part of the city surrounded by great shops & places to eat. It fit our family of five comfortably and packed tons of character with its beautiful high ceilings, wood floors & large windows. We had our vehicle to park, which meant curbside drop offs and then hunting for a spot on the nearby blocks, but always successfully. Public trans is at the end of the block for those without a car. Our 3 kids (11, 13, 16) loved it here and it really gave us a feel for what it would be like to live here....which we all would love! Experiencing this city from a true 'home' base adds so much to the experience. The food in the area is amazing....must do Crepes on Cole for breakfast, then again for dessert Crepes. The Ice Cream Bar has these amazing ice cream sandwiches. This flat added so much to our week long vacation and made it truly special. Thanks for sharing this amazing flat Ted :)

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

          • Perfect location for family vacation

            Perfect location for family vacation

            • Guest A Family from DC (Bethesda, MD USA)
            • Date of stay 03/22/13
            • Review Submitted 03/31/13
            We just returned from a one-week trip to SF, where we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this home. According to our friends in the Bay Area, the flat is huge by San Francisco standards. It was so nice to have three well-sized bedrooms, a living room, a dining room, and a large kitchen for the same price as a hotel room. We had family and friends come up and hang out for an afternoon or a meal, and the space accommodated our guests plus our 4-person family very easily. (In contrast, it would have been tight and awkward to have guests visit us in our hotel room). The flat was clean and charming with wonderfully high ceilings. No, it wasn't brand spanking newly renovated and impeccable but that was fine with us - those flats would have been $1000 more than we paid. Re: the amenities - we appreciated so many things, from the thick white towels to the basic cooking staples (e.g., canola oil, salt). The wifi worked perfectly. The beds were super comfortable, as another reviewer stated. One of the BEST things about the flat is its AWESOME location. Everyone agreed that we hit the jackpot. Cole Valley has such a terrific vibe, with its coffee places, restaurants, and little shops. It is a vibrant neighborhood, but not over-commercialized (no Gap!). For groceries there's a market 1 block away and a Whole Foods only 5 blocks away. We loved walking to Golden Gate Park every day - the CA Academy of Sciences and children's playground are great. The N-Judah line, which stops right around the corner, takes you straight to the Embarcadero with stops downtown. It couldn't be easier. We never met Ted, the owner, but we appreciated his low-key, efficient style. He was always pleasant and straightforward in his emails and communication. He provided succinct information re: checking in, checking out, and even trash and recycling so we knew exactly what to do. So, to wrap up this long review, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and thank Ted for sharing his flat with us!

            Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, families with young children, sightseeing, tourists without a car, adventure seekers.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

          • Stairs Stairs Stairs

            Stairs Stairs Stairs

            • Guest K&K (Redway CA)
            • Date of stay 10/12/12
            • Review Submitted 10/20/12
            Excellent flat with a great location. Well cleaned and airy rooms with wonderful natural light. Also, delightfully quiet for such a vibrant and active neighborhood. However, due note it is on the third floor. The stairs were a bit intimidating for my sister and kept our comings and goings a bit limited. With that said, everything else was great. Would recommend this flat as a great place to anyone with good knees and a healthy heart. Cole Valley is a fun mellow part of the city to relax in and it has a safe and friendly vibe. Plenty of quality restaurants within easy walking distance. Great coffee shop and bakery one block away. Friendly "local" Pub to watch the games or just hang out. The Crepe place downstairs is great. Public transport to any where in the city is steps away. The Haight is within walking distance. The Castro is just over the hill .The Golden Gate Park and the De Young Museum very close by. We really enjoyed our selves.

            Recommended for: Families with teenagers, pet owners, girls getaway, families with young children, sightseeing, tourists without a car, adventure seekers.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

          • Great Flat and wonderful location..

            Great Flat and wonderful location..

            • Guest Mm (Florida)
            • Date of stay 09/27/12
            • Review Submitted 10/11/12
            We all loved the apartment. Fabulous location, extremely clean and lovely high ceilings with really modern kitchen. Wifi worked like a charm, and public transportation, muni a block away. We had a conversation on our last night as to how to buy this fabulous place - my inventive daughter-in-law came up with squatting - however - we were too chicken to follow thru. Nice relaxed neighbourhood - great cheese store across the street - NICE!!

            Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing, tourists without a car.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

          • great place to stay in amazing San Francisco neighborhood!

            great place to stay in amazing San Francisco neighborhood!

            • Guest E (albany, new york)
            • Date of stay 06/12/12
            • Review Submitted 07/06/12
            My wife, 3 year old son, and I spent a fantastic month in this flat. It's a charming, well-lit place, and it's easy to walk to anything you might need. Public transportation just out your door, Golden Gate Park a few blocks away, and a dynamite new ice cream joint a few storefronts down. The owners were super-nice and helpful. We had a blast!

            Recommended for: Families with teenagers, age 55+, girls getaway, families with young children, sightseeing, romantic getaway, tourists without a car, adventure seekers.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

          • Great Stay in SF

            Great Stay in SF

            • Guest Robert P.
            • Date of stay 05/29/12
            • Review Submitted 06/07/12
            We were extremely pleased with this rental. Our family of 4 (parents and 2 teens) used this as our base of exploration for a week in San Francisco. For about what a single hotel room would have cost us, we had tons of space - 2 bathrooms! each of us had private bedroom! The photos on vrbo make the place look a bit stark - in reality, this flat is very tastefully decorated - there is awesome photography in most rooms. The beds were all fantastic - extremely comfortable. (I often complain about hotel beds - being too soft or too firm...somehow these were perfect). There is a large kitchen and dining area which we really didn't use much because there is so many good restaurants in SF and in the neighborhood. Regarding Cole Valley: we loved it! very safe, great vibe in the neighborhood. Within a block of the flat, we ate fantastic brunch at Zazie, had great sandwiches at Say Cheese (one of the city's best cheese shops), we had crepes at Crepes on Cole (and $3.50 Lagunitas IPA), good coffee at Tullys, and La Boulange, and a great desert experience at the retro soda shop The Ice Cream Bar. It was a 3 min walk to Haight St. (I could walk to the Magnolia Pub easily!). Of course, we also explored many of the great neighborhoods of SF - for shopping and food. We took public transportation for the most part - generally buses as the N train was down during the week - but found this pretty easy - google maps on our cells tell ya...get on the 43, etc. very easy with Muni Pass. We rented car for 24 hrs to do Muir Woods and Sonoma - worked great - and wasn't too big a deal to find street parking outside the flat. Ted was great to work with, very easy - very responsive to all questions and emails. Upon arrival, we had issue getting on wifi - within 20 min, Ted had got a new router going for us and we had no problems the rest of the stay. This apartment would not be appropriate for anyone who cannot manage stairs well - as you do walk up a long staircase to get in. Overall, this apartment is HIGHLY Recommended! We had a great trip - and having a bit of space is a great thing for family happiness:)

            Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, families with young children, sightseeing, tourists without a car, adventure seekers.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

          • Great Family Thanksgiving

            Great Family Thanksgiving

            • Guest sw (New Jersey)
            • Date of stay 11/19/11
            • Review Submitted 01/29/12
            We needed a 3 bedroom unit that would accomodate 6 for sleeping and 10 for Thanksgiving dinner. We couldnt have asked for more. The unit was clean and roomy, the kitchen was huge and well equipped, no problems at all cooking a full Thanksgiving dinner (and I think paired with the wonderful wine my cousing from Sonoma bought down it was a great meal). Cole Valley is a hidden gem in SF, with walking distance of the Haight and the GG park. Within a block of the unit is a French bakery, a great wine shop, a nice small grocery store and what is reputed to be one of the best cheese shops in SF. It is like a small Parisian area with all the coffee shops. The only very very small issue is the rumble from the Muni which is only a block away and there are quite a few interior steps up to the apartment but after eating all the good SF food the exercise was worth it. It was a great stay at a great fair price.

            Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing, romantic getaway, tourists without a car.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

           
          Rental basis: Per property
          Dates Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
          Memorial day
          May 23 - May 26, 2014
          3 night min stay
          $285
          4th of July
          Jul 2 - Jul 6, 2014
          4 night min stay
          $285
          Labor Day
          Aug 30 - Sep 2, 2014
          4 night min stay
          $285
          Veteran's Day
          Nov 9 - Nov 11
          3 night min stay
          $285
          Thanksgiving
          Nov 27 - Nov 30
          5 night min stay
          $285
          Christmas/New Years
          Dec 20 - Dec 31
          4 night min stay
          $285
          $1,750
          My Standard Rate
          3 night min stay
          $270
          $1,750 $4,500
          * Approximate Monthly rates, actual rate will depend on the days of the month you stay

          Additional information about rental rates

          Fees:

          • Cleaning Fee $115
          • Pet Fee $75
          • Refundable Damage Deposit $500
          • Taxes Not included

          Cancellation policy:

          Policy available by contacting owner when booking.


          This owner accepts HomeAway payments.
          Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.


          Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

          Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

          Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
          Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
          Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.
           

          Calendar

          Last updated: 04/10/2014
          Check availability
          23 Available
          21 Unavailable
          22 Today
          23 Selected dates
           

          Location

          This owner has opted not to share the exact location of their property.

           

          Owner info

          Year Purchased: 2007

          About the owner: My wife and I live in Cole Valley. We've lived in many different parts of SF since 1990, and we think Cole Valley is one of the most charming, accessible and interesting neighborhoods the city has to offer. Our young children also love it - there are so many things to do here for young kids, from the Park to Ocean Beach.

          Why the Owner Chose Cole Valley:
          San Francisco is a unique destination city. Offering some European attributes and some American attributes, it is city like no other. And we wanted a rental in the same city where we live.

          The Unique Benefits at this Apartment:
          We live in Cole Valley, so we do a lot of strolling around the neighborhood. We check out the new exhibits at the deYoung Art Museum, and stop by to see the completely re-done Academy of Sciences, since they're only about 15 minutes walk from our house. And we spend a lot of time in Golden Gate Park at the playgrounds with our twins. When we can get a sitter, we go to dinner at one of the great restaurants, like EOS or Zazie, or we get a drink at the Alembic and a movie at the Red Vic - all a walk from our house.


          Contact us

          Speaks: english

           

          Photos

          • Living Room

            Living Room

          • Bedroom 1

            Bedroom 1

          • Bedroom 3

            Bedroom 3

          • Kitchen

            Kitchen

          • Bath w/claw foot tub and shower

            Bath w/claw foot tub and shower

          • Bedroom 2

            Bedroom 2

          • Dining Room

            Dining Room

          • Cole Valley Neighborhood

            Cole Valley Neighborhood

          VRBO #262930

          There have been  visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .

          This listing was first published here in 2009.

          Date last modified - Monday, October 21, 2013

          $270 - $285 per night (USD)
          24

          3 Bedroom / 1.5 Bathroom
          Sleeps 8

          View calendar: Updated 04/10/14
          Minimum stay: 3-5 nights
          Dates are unavailable
          Please stay a bit longer. A stay of nights or more is required for these dates.
          This listing requires that rentals start on a .
          Get an instant quote
          Owner
          Email owner

          (415) 632-6626 (California, USA)

          Speaks: english
          This owner accepts HomeAway Payments. Always use this free service to protect your payment up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private.
          Add vacation protection services to your booking

          Three services to protect your trip:

          Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

          Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

          Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


          Get it now

          advertisement