Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Front entry.

Villa - Rainforest Seclusion, 3 Master Suites and Private Pool [#265820] | View Property

Tarcoles
Villa, 3 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths (Sleeps 6)
$285 Standard - $345 Holiday
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (19)

Sort by:
  • Love Casa Tica Linda!

    Love Casa Tica Linda!

    • Guest Melissa (Georgetown tx)
    • Date of stay 07/25/13
    • Review Submitted 08/12/13
    We stayed at this amazing house and had such a wonderful time! It was our first to Costa Rica and the owner gave us so much info for our visit. The house is amazing and each bedroom is so private and has a private bath. Their property manager is amazing! He set up tours for us and gave us lots of great advice about places to eat & go. The house has a wonderful swimming pool and the yard backs up to a river. The landscaping is so well kept & best of all you have daily housekeeping which you don't normally get when you rent a house. I would recommend this location and if we make it back to Costa Rica we know where we will stay!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A perfect location, with benefits!

    A perfect location, with benefits!

    • Guest anne c.
    • Date of stay 04/18/13
    • Review Submitted 05/14/13
    What an ideal situation for 3 couples enjoying a week long vacation (which wasn't long enough!). The home was beautiful, cool (after we figured out the AC units)and perfectly located for our agenda. The house is just down the road, walking distance from Hotel Lapas, where we enjoyed a canopy tour and met Randall, who served as out guide for a trip to Cararra National park the next day too. Carrara is only about 5-10 drive from the house too. We were blessed with a back yard visit from a toucan at least 4 mornings while sitting out drinking our coffee. The scarlett macaw couple also made multiple appearances. The abundance of bird life and sightings were more than we expected and made us glad we brought our binoculars. After dark the cacophony of sound from the lizards and frogs was delightful. We enjoyed the pool, almost daily, as it was very warm and humid during our visit. From the first contact with Diane, till the day we left, we always felt like there was support to meet our needs when anything did arise. i can't thank Diane enough for the very detailed driving instructions she sent, including photos of road sign and "ceda" instructions! Made getting to Casa Tica LInda a breeze. Wish we had these instrustions when driving to Arenal Volcano. The GPS evidently got confused and our 3 1/2 hr drive turned into a 4 1/2 hour adventure. The friendly Tica's at a road side "soda" drew us perfect directions and we finally made it. We also ended up buying a map and found this to be very helpful. The staff seemed very helpful and pleasant. Buck is very attentive, stopping in several evenings to check on things and offering to book day trips, recommend eateries, etc. We unfortunately were unable to make the ziplining he had arranged, 1st because of a teriffic rainstorm, then because of the "montezuma's revenge" that 3 of us of were inflicted with after our trip to the volcano. But we all survived and were at the Beaches in 24 hours:) Would I recommend this home to a friend. Yes, without hesitation. The cost is very reasonable. the home accomodating, the staff and owner's, who we had the pleasure of meeting, are all helpful and available. Better service than most hotels! The beds were comfortable, the TV in the living room worked great. Lots of programs in English too.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Highly recommend this beautiful home.

    Highly recommend this beautiful home.

    • Guest Dori and Allan (Yoakum, Texas)
    • Date of stay 08/14/12
    • Review Submitted 08/19/12
    The home is gorgeous with 3 large master suites. The kitchen/laundry room had everything we needed or desired. Buck/Nelson/Nora were so helpful and available when we needed them. The area is really nice for those who like to eat out or have some adventure. It was a perfect location to end our trip as it took less than 1 1/2 hours to get to the airport. The home owners are obviously very detailed and didn't forget anything - dehumidifier in the house as well as emergency lights that came on during a short electric outage. Wifi worked well. Take time to read the "master book" on the coffee table and all questions will be answered about the house and things to do in the area. It was a lovely well-managed home to spend our last few nights in Costa Rica.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Incredible stay in Costa Rica

    Incredible stay in Costa Rica

    • Guest Kathy M.
    • Date of stay 07/29/12
    • Review Submitted 08/19/12
    I cannot say enough wonderful things about this property! It is a beautiful and spacious 3 master bedroom, 3 1/2 bath, gated home. The grounds are groomed perfectly and the pool in the back adds a nice touch. The home has all the amenities from home and we felt so comfortable being here for 9 days. It is in a perfect location near Villa Lapas Hotel and Suites and Pura Vida Gardens. We enjoyed meeting Buck who manages the property, along with Norilyn who cleans the house each day! We did so many wonderful things during our stay here. The book that the owner provides lists all the restaurants and activities in the area. I highly recommend going through the book, as they were great ideas. We particularly enjoyed Rainforest Canopy, Jaco surfing, hike up to Bijuagual Falls, Rancho Shadday, Tropical Bungee, Jaco Taco Bar, Hermosa Beach, Tico Tico Tours, sunset from Villa Caletas, Manuel Antonio Park, and so many others. Make sure to lounge on the back porch in the mornings so you can see and photograph the beautiful scarlet macaws. What a site! We loved our time here and the only regret is not having more downtime. There is just so much to do and see while in Costa Rica. So, that just means another trip to visit this beautiful country. We will definitely visit again. Enjoy your stay here at the incredible Casa Tica Linda!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Gorgeous Tica Linda

    Gorgeous Tica Linda

    • Guest Terri W.
    • Date of stay 06/21/12
    • Review Submitted 07/24/12
    I travelled to Costa Rica in June, 2012 with my husband and two teenage children (16 & 19), and what a memorable experience we had! We were in awe of Casa Tica Linda from the minute we entered, and I cannot say enough words to describe it except no hotel room could ever beat the "at home" feeling that we felt during our six day stay. It was clean and well maintained, and everyday Noilyn would come in, pick up, and make the beds, offering a welcome and refreshing feeling of coming home after touring all day. The property is absolutely gorgeous, nestled in the tropical rainforests, and we felt safe and secure at all times. The property manager, Buck, became our friend and greeted us from the minute we arrived and was always available to assist in any way possible. In fact, we couldn't decide where to start for our first day, and Buck suggested and made all the arrangements for us to take the Crocodile Man Tour and all we had to do was show up! He was also very helpful in offering suggestions when we asked and was an enjoyable person to talk to. During our stay, we took the 8:00 a.m. Crocodile Man Tour (while the crocodiles were still hungry). We also booked a fishing trip with Gino and Nema through Tico Style Tours, and what a treat that was. We caught a spanish mackeral and Nema dove for lobsters, and after we went snorkeling, Gino and Nema cooked our catches on a private beach, where we swam and also enjoyed fresh pineapple and watermelon. And Gino even spotted a monkey for us in the trees! We also rented four wheelers in Jaco (Adventure Tours) and took the 4 hour trip through the mountain, which included stops at a waterfall where we cooled off, a stop at "Rancho Shaddy" for a refreshing snack, and lunch at a gorgeous talapia farm. We rode horses on the beach one morning and took a guided tour of Manuel Antonio National Park. Hiring a tour guide is definitely worth the money because without him, we would not have seen anything near what we saw. We were able to take some amazing pictures through his spotting scope. We enjoyed many of the restaurants suggested in the book provided for guests, including Outback Jacks, Steve and Lisa's, and La Fiesta del Mariscos. All were exceptional! We also enjoyed a beautiful sunset and drinks at Vila Caletas. Our stay would not have been half the experience if we had not stayed at Casa Tica Linda! It was very inviting and I would definitely recommend it, and if I ever have the opportunity, I will surely go back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxed and Serenity

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Relaxed and Serenity

    • Guest Smith Group from Texas
    • Date of stay 06/11/12
    • Review Submitted 06/20/12
    Hi Diane, We got back late Sunday and have been trying to catch up at the office ever since. We had a great time. Casa Tica Linda was very nice, very well kept and perfect size for three couples. Buck and the other folks we met couldn’t have been any nicer and your help with directions and suggestions made the trip very easy. None of us are beach people so instead we did a lot of touring of the rain forest and river, hiked in the national park and made a couple of jaunts down to Jaco but mainly just relaxed and enjoyed the scenery and the serenity. We sampled several of the local restaurants in the book and enjoyed trying the local foods. Thanks for all your help and please let Steve know how much we enjoyed it. John

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Peace in the Jungle

    Peace in the Jungle

    • Guest Ellen T.
    • Date of stay 03/24/12
    • Review Submitted 04/25/12
    I have been raving about our stay in Casa Tica Linda since my return, showing pictures to any and everybody. I loved the *sounds* of the outdoors, and the villa itself was perfect for our all-girls trip (each of us had our own suite - which was very sweet!). Breakfasts and four dinners were consumed on the premises - loved the grill!). And of course, the pool was a treat. I loved the feeling of seclusion at the villa, yet so much was close by (just a short drive to Tarcoles, Herradura and Jaco). Buck and Noilin and Nelson and Henry made our stay tops. And getting to meet Steve and Bobbie was a nice treat! The 10 days on the coast were the highlight of the trip, and I have recommended Costa Rica as a must visit to anyone who will listen. Thanks you! Ellen

    Owner response: Hi Ellen. Glad you enjoyed your stay. You and the "girls" are welcome back anytime. Steve

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Location, Fantastic Place and Great service

    Great Location, Fantastic Place and Great service

    • Guest whiteway s.
    • Date of stay 03/24/12
    • Review Submitted 04/17/12
    The property is as described, in a fantastic location without being on a resort. I'm the resort gal of the group who stayed. We had a few bumps the first few days but these were handled quickly and efficiently that they did no impact the stay at all. So insignificant that we laughed about them after they occurred. Buck Jackson, the property manager arranged a tour for us with the Crocodile man and it was completely private, Just us three ladies first thing in the morning and for a photograph nut this was a major bonus. Most Other tours were 25-50 people. Noilin, the housekeeper was great. Read the Book they have prepared in the house, lots of great tips. Maxi Bodega is now Maxi Pali. Lots to do near by and various great restaurants nearby as well. Golfed at Marriott Los Suenos in Herradura was fun and managed to shoot my handicap in 35 degrees C which is no easy feat when you're use to golfing in 25 C maximum! Go to Carara and Manuel Antonio National Parks, and get a guide, they are worth it. I Personally recommend Maurice Vazquez Pizarro. The man has eagle eyes and when I return with hubby, I will be trying to book himupfront. I go so many fantastic pictures because of him, many of which can be seen on my flickr site, Sandra Whiteway. Go to Villa Calletas for a drink and to watch the sunset. Restaurant is hit or miss, one great night, one below Average. All in all I worthwhile visit. A side note: San Juan is nothing to write home about, one day should be sufficient, although we were there over Easter and everything was closed.

    Owner response: Thanks for the nice comments. Hope to see you again sometime. Pura Vida!!! Steve & Bobbie

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Casa Tica Linda

    Casa Tica Linda

    • Guest j k.
    • Date of stay 03/10/12
    • Review Submitted 03/26/12
    absolutely loved staying at casa tica linda. it was so inviting and extremely spacious. very thankful for the "extra amenities" such as the washer/dryer (as I had a shampoo explosion occur in my bag). The pool was wonderful, nestled in the forest, with many birds to watch. Buck went above and beyond and made our stay extra special. We knew we were taken care of from the start. Will definitely return!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The Perfect Vacation Accomodation

    The Perfect Vacation Accomodation

    • Guest Papa John (Salado, Texas)
    • Date of stay 03/10/12
    • Review Submitted 03/17/12
    One of the best memories of vacations are the accommodations. This place has it all because of the convenient location to the beach, hiking, and other points of interest. Plus, it is in the rain forest that brings the beauty of the land to your back door. While relaxing by the pool you can virtually experience Costa Rica as it is naturally. The information packet and management make it quite easy to be first timers there since they have it all figured out and have catered to vacationers expectations. The house is fit for living like you would expect while at your own home. WiFi, TV, Cable are available if you want or you can escape in the beauty of the property. This is a great place and we will come back soon. Our first time was more than we expected and we were anticipating nothing but the best. Pura Vida.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks John! Let me know when you are ready to go back to Costa Rica!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful in a perfect location

    Beautiful in a perfect location

    • Guest H&J (Austin, TX, USA)
    • Date of stay 01/15/12
    • Review Submitted 01/26/12
    Our week-long visit to Costa Rica and Villa Tica Linda was wonderful. The weather in January is perfect, and the house exceeded our expectations. Set in lush landscaped grounds the house is spacious and each of the rooms are tastefully furnished . The three master bedrooms allow for quiet privacy. The house is located on a quiet road in the rain forest. Although somewhat isolated without an automobile, its proximity to shopping, restaurants, the forest, and the beach is very convenient. Our stay was made more enjoyable by the care, advice, and friendly help provided by the property manager, Buck. He and his unobtrusive crew insured that we were comfortable, and safe. We heartily recommend Tica Linda for your Costa Rican vacation.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks J & H we are glad you enjoyed your stay. The team in Texas and the team in Costa Rica enjoyed working with you to make your Costa Rican holiday memorable.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A hidden gem!

    A hidden gem!

    • Guest Victoria (Durham, NC)
    • Date of stay 12/24/11
    • Review Submitted 01/01/12
    This was the perfect backdrop to our family vacation in Costa Rica. Nestled in the jungle (off the main highway), the house is huge and perfect for anyone wishing to have both private spaces (3 master bedrooms) and common living areas. The open floorplan, huge kitchen, and pool/ patio area make it easy to congregate and feel at home. From the beginnings of our interaction with the owners, every possible detail was taken care of. They are prompt and courteous in responding to emails with our many questions. They supplied detailed directions from the airport and information about sights in the area. The home has extensive security, a brand new HE washing machine, a gas grill, and anything else you could want on vacation. But it feels comfortable and luxurious the moment you walk in the door. Thanks to daily housekeeping, it was kept immaculate throughout our weeklong stay. The location was about 5 minutes walk to Tarcoles Beach (nice, but it's used mostly by local fishermen). 20 minutes to a touristy beach in Playa Herradura and 30 minutes to Jaco. Just over an hour to SJO Airport. It enabled us to see many sights in Costa Rica through day trips to Manuel Antonio and Monteverde Cloud Forest. Yet, we never felt like we were in heavily touristy location (like Tamarindo or Jaco). It was an ideal getaway and I would recommend it unequivocally. Considering that we were a party of 6 (ranging from 26-65 years in age), it was also a great value for the money. I hope we can return!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: We appreciate your nice review. You are welcome back anytime!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • 9 days of total relaxation!!

    9 days of total relaxation!!

    • Guest Lisa (Cedar Park, Texas)
    • Date of stay 04/19/11
    • Review Submitted 05/11/11
    Casa Tica Linda was the perfect setting for 9 fulls days of food, fun, family and complete relaxation!! The pictures can't show how truly gorgeous the house is. There were 3 couples on our trip and the home is set up perfectly. Each couple has complete privacy, large bathrooms and plenty of closet space (though all you really need is a swimsuit!!) Most of our time at the house was spent in the pool area. We saw many varieties of birds including toucans, macaws and hawks from the comfort of the pool. The home is located 25 minutes from Jaco which allowed us to enjoy a new adventure everyday. We enjoyed riding ATV's, nature walks in Manuel Antonio, a Catamaran tour in Puntarenas, crocodile tours in Tarcoles, the Skywalk Tour at Villa Llapas, Pura Vida Gardens, and several of the area beaches. Buck (the property manager) was very helpful with everything from arranging the local tours to finding a local pharmacy for us. I would very gladly stay at Casa Tica Linda again for my next vacation to Costa Rica.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Living in the Lap of Luxury ... in the Heart of the Rain Forest

    Living in the Lap of Luxury ... in the Heart of the Rain Forest

    • Guest Globetrotters (Austin, Texas, USA)
    • Date of stay 10/23/10
    • Review Submitted 11/08/10
    Casa Tica Linda was our base to explore beautiful Costa Rica, and what a gem it was! The house itself is the very definition of luxury, with every conceivable amenity from a huge flat screen TV to a jacuzzi tub to space-age appliances to marble/granite everywhere. And if the name of the game is location location location, you can't get better than this -- it is situated not just with gorgeous views of the rain forest, but it is actually IN the rain forest. We took two of our adult sons down with us to help celebrate my husband's birthday, so the layout of three totally separate stand-alone master suites was perfect. We are veteran travelers (having been to at least 25 countries), and I can honestly say this was one of the most beautiful trips ever. We saw monkeys, macaws, toucans, sloths, vivid frogs, crocodiles, iguanas, butterflies and hummingbirds of every description -- all in their natural habitat. We took walks morning and evening to photograph tropical flora and fauna, even though we could have snapped a picture of a friendly coatimundi every morning right in the backyard. We hiked Carara and Manuel Antonio national parks (several times), drove to Arenal volcano, toured Pura Vida Gardens, chartered a boat out of Los Suenos marina to go offshore billfishing, ziplined, saw big crocs up close and personal on the Tarcoles River, surfed the nearby beaches of Playa Jaco, Playa Hermosa, Playa Herradura, Playa Blanca, and Playa Espadilla, and more. The "guide book" put together by the owners from their personal experience was right on target for restaurant recommendations, especially the Inka Grill. Our activities had us coming back to the house at all hours of the day and night, but we felt totally secure because of the everpresent Costa Montana guards making rounds. If it were not an oxymoron, my recommendation for this property would be "better than superlative!"

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Simply Wonderful

    Simply Wonderful

    • Guest Brandon (Colorado, USA)
    • Date of stay 06/23/10
    • Review Submitted 07/08/10
    This place was great, and I would definitely recommend it. The property is beautiful, all the people involved with it are good people and very easy to work with. You will be well looked after here. The location was central and allowed us to take day trips to Manuel Antonio, and Montezuma. This is a good location if you are renting a car and want to drive around and see some good spots. Near by Carara National Park has some excellent wildlife, macaws everywhere, monkeys, I saw a dart frog, the list goes on. If you do come here, I'd suggest introducing yourself to Buck, the property manager, and his wife as soon as possible. They are extremely friendly and helpful people. They are a great resource for anything local, and will help you out with anything you need. The locals call him Bob because they can't pronounce buck.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Truly Excellent

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Truly Excellent

    • Guest W Rogers
    • Date of stay 02/10/10
    • Review Submitted 02/18/10
    Well we had an awesome time. The villa was truly excellent. The people in CR are so nice that we’ve sworn off Mexico.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Amanda72 (-)
    • Date of stay 01/08/10
    • Review Submitted 01/08/10
    My family and I stayed at Casa Tica Linda over the 2009 Christmas holiday and greatly enjoyed our stay. The main feature for us was the fantastic pool area where we spent most of our time, swimming, relaxing or eating our meals poolside. It was also wonderful to have three master bedrooms with our own bathrooms. Casa Tica Linda had all the amenities that we could want, such as washer and dryer, dishwasher and large TV that we could watch local and international channels. The location worked well for day trips to many national parks including Manuel Antonio, Carara and Poas Volcano. We loved how the house was set along a river, right in the jungle. Thanks to the Sheets for sharing this piece of paradise with us!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Our Stay in January 2010 at Tica Linda House

    Our Stay in January 2010 at Tica Linda House

    • Guest Jungle Travelers (Simi Valley, California USA)
    • Date of stay 01/03/10
    • Review Submitted 02/06/10
    We stayed in the Tica Linda house for 2 weeks. My wife and I are nature lovers and this house is a perfect place for those who want to experience the rain forest, yet stay in a luxurious home. National Parks, private reserves and hiking trails are all within a few miles of the house. Every day and night I would see different creatures in the backyard. There are also beaches nearby. The house was very clean, and the housekeeper was excellent! My two grown sons and their wives joined us the second week, and the house is perfect in that each had their own room and bath and privacy. The house would be great for two or three couples staying together. The book that the owner provided was very helpful, providing information on nearby restraunts, stores and activities. We enjoyed a very memorable meal at the nearby Inka Grill which I wholeheartedly recommend to everyone staying at Tica Linda. The security was very good, the entrance to the house being gated, and friendly guards who patrol the area night and day. We enjoyed both relaxing at the house and listening to the sounds of the jungle and seeing the country on day trips.The weather was great, although I wish it would have rained at least once so we could experience rain in the rainforest. We hope to return to this magical place !

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Christmas in Costa Rica

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Christmas in Costa Rica

    • Guest A. Blair
    • Date of stay 12/20/09
    • Review Submitted 02/18/10
    My family and I stayed at Casa Tica Linda over the 2009 Christmas holiday and greatly enjoyed our stay. The main feature for us was the fantastic pool area where we spent most of our time, swimming, relaxing or eating our meals poolside. It was also wonderful to have three master bedrooms with our own bathrooms. Casa Tica Linda had all the amenities that we could want, such as washer and dryer, dishwasher and large TV that we could watch local and international channels. The location worked well for day trips to many national parks including Manuel Antonio, Carara and Poas Volcano. We loved how the house was set along a river, right in the jungle. Thanks to the Sheets for sharing this piece of paradise with us!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]