Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Kalama terrace tropical gardens and pool.

From $78/Night .1BR/1BA Peaceful , Tropical South Maui Condo. [#267017] | View Property

Kalama Terrace
Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4)
$78 - $88/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (22)

Sort by:
  • Review of condominium

    Review of condominium

    • Guest Jan (Netherlands)
    • Date of stay 10/14/13
    • Review Submitted 11/08/13
    After I stayed there a few days, I began to like it. At first, we didn\t see the A/C hidden behind the table and slept the first night in sweltering heat. It is a charming place, but a few things need repair such as a floor lamp (and no amount of wiggling would make it function), making the bedroom hotter at night, the light switch to the living room did not work. In other words, as soon as you come in, you are supposed to obtain light using the wall switch. I assumed the bulb was burned out. The bathroom tub wall needed scrubbing. The doorknob/lock was terrifbly difficult to get to work. A new one would be a really helpful idea. The mattress needs replacement. It squeaked horribly when one sat down on it. In the middle of the night, it is a louder sound. The little bistro table outside was lovely, and the view was outstanding. The air conditioner became so loud at night, that we were forced to turn it off, and, then it becomes hotter, of course. The couches were very comfortable, the apartment was very spacious for 2 people. The kitchen was very, very attractive. I loved the huge refrigerator. I think this place was very nice, but so many improvements would make it a really terrific place to stay. The patio and the view were the absolute best, and the bird calls in the morning.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hello Wim We read your review of our condo carefully.You are right, there are some maintenance problems that need to be fix . The problems with the burn out light bulb in the living room , floor lamp and loose front lock should have been resolved by calling Anne , our property manager and inform her. Yes, the AC is a bit noisy.You also have two ceiling fans and a floor fan in the bedroom. My wife and I are spending the next two months here. We are taking care of all the maintenance issues. No more squeaky mattress! . We just purchase a new one. Aloha Frank and Elvie

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Aloha

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Aloha

    • Guest Steve and Joy. Port Coquitlam, BC. Canada
    • Date of stay 10/11/13
    • Review Submitted 11/28/13
    We came to Maui to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and are leaving feeling relaxed, refreshed and ready for another 30years!. The condo is very welcoming and we settled in quickly. I especially enjoyed a morning coffee on the lanai with the birds. Great location for shopping, hiking and day trips. Thanks again, we will recommend it to any friends that are traveling this way.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Enjoyed Our Stay!

    Enjoyed Our Stay!

    • Guest Norman A.
    • Date of stay 07/16/13
    • Review Submitted 08/26/13
    We enjoyed our stay for the most part, though we personally found the bed to be uncomfortable and creaky every time one of us moved. But condo was very well equipped, especially in he kitchen which was appreciated as we prepared many of our own meals. Location is great, being just steps to our favorite Charlie Young Beach, and having access to beach chairs and umbrella was a nice touch. Good selection of restaurants and an excellent grocery store just a ten minute walk (but a LONG walk when carrying bak two bags of groceries!), making a car not always necessary, though we did eventually get a car from the excellent Kihei Rental Car, who not only picked us up at the condo but also provided free shuttle back to airport! They are also across the street from our new favorite restaurant, La Meme Baguette (highly recommended, as is Fabiani's (great pizza and Happy Hour). A small one-time only problem was finding unit when we arrived late at night as we did not know there are two buildings in the complex and of course we chose the wrong one first...do not think the occupants were too happy to be woken up! Also the noise from the construction site across the street and the garbage trucks at the crack of dawn was at times disturbing, but obviously nothing that could be done about it, But overall the condo met our expectations and think we would go back, especially with a new bed!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car.

    Owner response: Hello Norman I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry you found the bed to be uncomfortable and squeaky. We have not heard that comment until now. We plan to change it very soon to add to our guests future enjoyment. Francois 11/15/13. Update. New Mattress has been purchased

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • perfect little condo

    perfect little condo

    • Guest chelsea & jeff (Lanlgey BC Canada)
    • Date of stay 12/28/12
    • Review Submitted 01/14/13
    awesome little condo in a perfect location, walking distance to grocery stores(foodland,abc), shopping, restaurants(mmm freds mexican) and of course charley young beach with the kam beaches a few minutes walk up the street. bus stop is right in front. it had everything we needed from a blender to beach supplies. good sized living space with a comfy pullout. very clean and looked like it had a recently redone bathroom. helpful manager on site. also quiet compared to other places i've stayed in kihei. (quiet time is 9pm so not really suitable for partyers) definitely staying here again!! looking into booking for next year right now!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Jeff for such a nice write up about our condo.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect location, like-home feeling

    Perfect location, like-home feeling

    • Guest Lana (Vancouver)
    • Date of stay 10/02/12
    • Review Submitted 10/14/12
    We felt so lucky to have found your condo here in Kihei. The location is perfect-being in the far south of Kihei we were away from all the noise but close enough that we could walk easily to grocery, restaurants. Just a block off the main busy S.Kihei strip ensured a quiet stay just slightly removed from all the bustle but close enough that just by walking a block towards the ocean we had beach access with views of a beautiful sunset every night. Sunset was also beautiful during dinner on the lanai. We felt welcomed into your home from the moment we arrived- everything we needed was provided from a comfortable bed, clean towels, a fully stocked kitchen (including an assortment of spices!), a beach umbrella so that we could enjoy the beaches mid-day. Things I wouldn't even remember to bring were provided. Most importantly we felt like we had a comfortable home to come home to at the end of each of our full days of exploring the Maui. It felt like our home away from home. A perfect place to relax on our vacation a few weeks before our first baby is due!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • home away from home

    home away from home

    • Guest Shaun (Concord, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/29/12
    • Review Submitted 05/03/13
    we really enjoyed our stay. Very homey feel. cozy and quaint. Nice clean pool and very close to the beach. Owner was very nice and accommodating. Place was a little warm due to the Hawaiian humidity, but there was a wall a/c that helped. they had ice coolers, boogie boards, and umbrella. It was nice to pack our lunches and go of exploring. Kitchen was well equipped and breakfast on the patio was a great way to start the day. We will be back. Aloha

    Recommended for: Families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great stay at Kalama Terrace!

    Great stay at Kalama Terrace!

    • Guest Ash (Minneapolis, Minnesota)
    • Date of stay 04/03/12
    • Review Submitted 04/17/12
    Our stay was wonderful! It was only 20 minutes from the airport and Kihei itself is a great location to stay in Maui. The condo location was not even a block from beachs, food, bars, local shops, grocery stores, gas and all sorts of rentals. The condo itself was great, down to the fully stocked kitchen (including condiments like coffee, sugar, ketchup, mustard and even ice ready), the quietness of the complex, to all the extra linens, the beach gear (chairs, umbrellas, coolers and boogey boards!), the pool and grill area and laundry area. You could tell they were seasoned vets at renting and it showed in all the amenities they had for us. The small patio was great for morning coffee or evening relaxing and having internet and cable was great too, along with the air conditioning. It is a great price for an awesome stay! If we make it back to Maui, we will be staying here again for sure!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great stay

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Great stay

    • Guest Steve and Janice,Victoria,B.C. Canada
    • Date of stay 12/11/11
    • Review Submitted 07/13/12
    Aloha, So nice to return to Unit 204 at Kalama Terrace, and find it welcoming as last years visit . We appreciate the spaciousness of the unit, as well as the central location to shopping malls, restaurants, and the beautiful Charlie Young beach. Mahalo nui Mele Kalikimaha and Hauoli Makahiki Hou!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Aloha and Mahalo

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Aloha and Mahalo

    • Guest Dr. and Mrs. H
    • Date of stay 10/08/11
    • Review Submitted 11/11/11
    Thank you for opening up your comfortable cozy condo to visitors around the world.We enjoyed our stay in your property and particularity appreciated the thought you put into the condo a "home" for your quests.We appreciated the cleanliness and upgrades. The location is great;shopping is nearby and the amenities are readily available.We had a wonderful stay and will recommend to others! Thank you again for the comfottable accomodations. Dr. and Mrs. H,Edmonton,AB,Canada

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • 8/8 to 8/16/11

    Guest comment entered by owner

    8/8 to 8/16/11

    • Guest Bernice K
    • Date of stay 08/08/11
    • Review Submitted 08/24/11
    Thank you for letting me stay in your lovely home. I hope you like your little mice and lady bug. I had a wonderful time visiting my son and his wife. 8/8 to 8/16/2011 Bernice, Vancouver,Canada

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Zeng
    • Date of stay 06/28/11
    • Review Submitted 07/05/11
    Thanks for renting your condo. We had a great vacations and totally enjoyed our stay at your place. 6/28 to 7/4/11

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Janet& Kathleen
    • Date of stay 06/05/11
    • Review Submitted 06/26/11
    Sorry for the delay but I just wanted to say a big Mahalo for the use of your condo fot our trip. Enjoyed it's central location to the local restaurants,pubs,shopping, and of course the beaches extremely accomodating. We were also very thankful to have use of your beache paraphernalia and found the air conditioning to be a real bleesing mid afternoon. The laundry services also were very handy.We thoroughhly enjoyed the island and will most likely to return one day. If you open to having recommendations I will pass on your information in the future. Stayed: 6/5th to 16/2011

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Janet& Kathleen
    • Date of stay 06/05/11
    • Review Submitted 06/26/11
    Sorry for the delay but I just wanted to say a big Mahalo for the use of your condo fot our trip. Enjoyed it's central location to the local restaurants,pubs,shopping, and of course the beaches extremely accomodating. We were also very thankful to have use of your beache paraphernalia and found the air conditioning to be a real bleesing mid afternoon. The laundry services also were very handy.We thoroughhly enjoyed the island and will most likely to return one day. If you open to having recommendations I will pass on your information in the future. Stayed: 6/5th to 16/2011

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • May15 to May 22,2011

    Guest comment entered by owner

    May15 to May 22,2011

    • Guest Mr. and Mrs. C
    • Date of stay 05/15/11
    • Review Submitted 08/24/11
    Thank you for helping make our honeymoon such a wonderfull experience ! It was so close to everything and just when I thought I should have packed something else found you have it here. This condo has that wonderful home feeling that makes you want to never leave!We have a blast! Mahalo!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Sarah And Jim,Boston
    • Date of stay 02/28/11
    • Review Submitted 04/28/11
    Feb.28 to March 31,2011 Aloha, We can't thank you enough for allowing us to stay at your condo. Everything is so beautiful! We had the time of our lives enjoying everything Maui has to offer. Hawaii is such a beautiful state. We were so happy to see that your condo is so well equiped. Thanks again for everything!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Steve and Jan,Victoria,B.C.Canada
    • Date of stay 12/08/10
    • Review Submitted 04/28/11
    Aloha, We enjoyed our stay in your lovely unit. We found the unit to be very spacious and close to various amenities. The swimming pool area is beautiful,as well as the short walk to charlie young beach which is indeed another beautiful spot" Mahalo and mele Kalikimaha.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Sarah
    • Date of stay 09/25/10
    • Review Submitted 10/09/10
    Aloha and Mahalo for everything. We had a great week in your condo and it was equipped with everything we needed . We loved the location, so close to CYB + some fun evening pubs. We also enjoyed the pool. Thanks again. Duluth,Mn

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Andrew and Shirley
    • Date of stay 08/21/10
    • Review Submitted 10/09/10
    Aloha, We can't thank you enough for giving us the opportunity to stay in your condo.It was just perfect-clean,quiet,cosy and affordable. The kitchen had everything we needed and allowed us to enjoy a relaxing 2 weeks of paradise. Mahalo, North Vancouver,Canada

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Lodja,Kasia,Kris and Ela
    • Date of stay 07/12/10
    • Review Submitted 10/09/10
    Your condo was a nice place to come and escape the heat. We enjoyed our stay very much.The pool was very convenient and it was almost always empty, like we have a private pool all to ourselves. Your condo was definetely the best choice for our needs. I hope we will come back to Maui again. Mahalo, Stellcoom, Washington,USA

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Dave,Theo, tanya
    • Date of stay 05/09/10
    • Review Submitted 10/09/10
    Thank you very much. This is a convenient location, and a "home away from home:. We ehjoyed our stay here and appreciate the reasonable rates. BC and Alberta, Canada

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Tropical Oasis

    A Tropical Oasis

    • Guest Vacation Goer26 (Santa Maria, California)
    • Date of stay 05/23/09
    • Review Submitted 06/04/10
    I stayed at this condo last year and it was wonderful. It had all the amenities that I needed and was very clean and peacful. The beach was right across the street just like it was advertised which was perfect. I would just wake up and go straight outside and walk down to the beach. If I go back to Maui this is the place that I would stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Paradise awaits

    Paradise awaits

    • Guest LewBurbank, CA (Burbank, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/18/06
    • Review Submitted 07/13/10
    I haven't been back to Kihei and this condo in a few years but I wanted to share the simple joy it bestows. The condo is surrounded by beautiful hawaiian plants and flowers and a great pool for times when you don't feel like being bothered by the sand at the beach. It is situated literally 4 mins walking distance from the beach, as advertised. Charley Young and Kamaole I Beach has a large, gentle sloping beach great for walking while drinking your morning coffee (which my mom enjoys) and is gentle for kids to ease their way into the water. I enjoy packing a lunch and lounging at the beach all day. I'd pack some Poke from Foodland Market or Safeway and other deli foods in my ice chest and enjoy the day! The first time I tried Poke was in Kihei and it is so delicious. If you like sushi, you will love Poke! There is so much great local food in Kihei, you don't have to settle for regular fast food. The grocery markets and various deli's have great local style dishes that you can buy by the plate at the same cost as fast food. If you like hawaiian music, you can enjoy it free of charge at the Maui Coast Hotel, a few minutes walk, just south of the condo and enjoy a drink while relaxing to the music. Further south is Fred's Cafe, a mexican restaurant where you can enjoy great chicken tacos, pomegranate margaritas and awesome calamari. Ask for an outside seat with a view of the beach, just heaven. Enjoy the local swapmeet back towards Kahului on Saturdays. You can get great souveniers and mochi. Also, please get a snow cone (mainland term is snow cone- I forgot what they call it in Maui) up the street and walk around the market place just a few minutes north of the condo. It's fun to wander around there. All in all, enjoy the food, enjoy the aloha spirit and beauty that surrounds this place and get a surf lesson a couple blocks north of the condo too. The cove is really gentle for beginners. Stay a week or stay a month. This condo is a bargain and is situated near everything that is paradise.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]