Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Triangle5Ranchita

Bunkhouse on Ranchita with Tickets to Tohono Chul Park [#268672] | View Property

Private Homes
Cottage, 1 BR, 1 BA, Sleeps 2
$150/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (19)

Sort by:
  • Wonderful Stay, Lots to do

    Wonderful Stay, Lots to do

    • Guest rw (Cottage Grove, MN)
    • Date of stay 02/22/14
    • Review Submitted 03/02/14
    We got lucky to rent this property when we did due to a last minute cancellation. I first contacted Greer with some questions about the property via e-mail and she soon called me and we chatted for sometime. She happily answered all of my questions and everything she said was accurate. When we arrived late on Saturday night, Greer greeted us and gave us a short tour of the house, and other helpful information about getting around. She also left us a breakfast in the refrigerator so we didn't have to go out that night shopping (wow). After we unloaded our suitcases, we went over to Greer's wonderful patio and were introduced to some other guests who were enjoying the fireplace. They're a very nice couple who park their RV on the property and we enjoyed chatting with them (note that the property is quite large). They were also very helpful and gave us a folder containing a list of their favorite places to visit. The house is exactly as described. It's a very nice guest house in the southwest style. All floors are tiled, the kitchen is large with a both a small table and a center island. The shower is all tiled and very nice. The bedroom has a king bed with several pillows. Facing south, the guest house has a very nice covered porch. In the morning, the sun rises to your left and we enjoyed sitting out there and warming up. At night, you'll often here coyotes yipping and howling (this only lasts a short time). I enjoyed hearing them as it's so different from where we live. That said, I never once woke up because of any noise outside. We spent most of our days out sightseeing in Tucson and never ran out of things to go see. There's a great deal of hiking available for all fitness levels. I also rented a bicycle (Tucson is a cycling mecca) and did some riding. Tucson is really a great place to visit in the winter months, especially for two people from Minnesota. We enjoyed our stay at the guest house and I would recommend it to anyone. And yes, I'd happily stay there again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: What a great review. I am so happy you had such a wonderful time. I would love to see you back for another visit. Thank you. Greer

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Comfortable, Convenient, Beautiful, Peace and Quiet

    Comfortable, Convenient, Beautiful, Peace and Quiet

    • Guest Lois
    • Date of stay 02/16/14
    • Review Submitted 02/25/14
    The bunkhouse was filled with western character, had all of the amenities you'd want, and was clean and well thought out. It was convenient to any place you'd want to go in the Tucson area. In 20 minutes or less you could be downtown, or out exploring the desert. The surroundings were beautiful - you felt like you were in the desert, yet there were homes around you that were almost invisible. Greer was most helpful, accommodating, and friendly, but never intrusive. She totally respected our privacy and desire for a peaceful and restful environment. The bunkhouse and surrounding property were totally in tune with the listing photos. While staying here, in less than a week's time, we were able to visit southern Arizona wineries, the Kitt Peak Observatory, the Tohono Chul Park, the Tucson Gem & Mineral Show, The PGA Match Play Tournament, the artisan town of Tubac, and we toured the downtown area of Tucson as well. Good restaurants were nearby, along with supermarkets and anything else you'd need. We sat on the bunkhouse porch at the end of each day with a glass of wine and enjoyed the beautiful desert scenery, wonderful weather, and peacefulness. This was our first experience with VRBO, but certainly won't be the last! The bunkhouse was delightful, and we heartily recommend it!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you guys for the wonderful review. I love hearing about the things you thought were special. I am so glad you had a relaxing visit. Hope to see you again. Greer

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Nice days in AZ

    Nice days in AZ

    • Guest Bruce (Coldwater, MI)
    • Date of stay 01/04/14
    • Review Submitted 02/04/14
    This was a return visit for us, and we will certainly use this again when we are in Tucson. The stay is pleasant, stress free, everyone at the ranchita is easy to be around. The bunkhouse is roomy, well furnished for our needs and far enough out in the country to avoid the city, but close enough to get anything you desire from the city. We have enjoyed wildlife and biking in the area. Overall we really liked the place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you guys so much for the nice review, and of course, for the return visit. PS: you just missed cold weather, but it is supposed to warm up next week.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Loved the bunkhouse

    Loved the bunkhouse

    • Guest John R.
    • Date of stay 12/28/13
    • Review Submitted 02/07/14
    My husband and I stayed at the bunkhouse for our 10 year anniversary. Greer was very accommodating, the bunkhouse was comfortable and clean, and the property is delightful. We enjoyed cooking out, the hot tub, watching the sunset from the porch. Very relaxing and conveniently located. Golf, hiking, restaurants all within an easy drive.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Get Away

    Great Get Away

    • Guest Tesha G.
    • Date of stay 10/25/13
    • Review Submitted 10/30/13
    Very relaxing, well decorated and the building is new. We enjoyed our stay and should we find ourselves in Tucson again, we will definately, want to stay there. Greer was very welcoming.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for the unsolicited review. Your compliments are greatly appreciated. Greer

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Birthday weekend

    Birthday weekend

    • Guest birdiegirl (Dallas, Texas )
    • Date of stay 04/25/13
    • Review Submitted 05/01/13
    My husband and I came out to Tucson to celebrate my birthday and we booked the bunkhouse. It was everything we had expected and more. The property was well kept. Greer was very nice and helpful. We played golf at several different places that were recommended to us, such as Quarry Pines (The Pines) and Quail Creek Country Club. We enjoyed our stay and would come back! I would recommend this place to anyone!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for your nice review. I really appreciate it. It would be lovely to see you again, if your vacation plans bring you this way next year. Greer

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The Bunkhouse

    The Bunkhouse

    • Guest Bruce (Coldwater, MI)
    • Date of stay 01/11/13
    • Review Submitted 03/10/13
    The bunkhouse photos didn't do it justice. It had much more room than we had expected and the property was very nicely decorated with a very comfortable bed. Furnishings are more than you'd expect in a rental. The grounds around are pretty and we enjoyed watching the wild life. The hot tub was very nice and the people were great. We would definitely use this rental again and have no hesitation in recommending it. The owner made us feel entirely at home.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for the review. It was wonderful to have you, and I hope to see you again. Thank you for the information regarding the wonderful bike-path in the area.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Nice place

    Nice place

    • Guest Familienstädteausflug (Deutschland NRW)
    • Date of stay 10/10/12
    • Review Submitted 11/05/12
    We stayed here during a meeting in Tucson. It was the perfect area for relaxing after our hard days of work. We enjoyed the Barbecue place and had so much fun. Special Thanks to you Greer, it was wonderful

    Owner response: Thank you so much for the great review. I really appreciate it. And, if you guys ever get back here, please consider a repeat reservation at my place. Thank you. Greer

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Tucson Desert Oasis

    Tucson Desert Oasis

    • Guest Pianoplayer (Golden, CO, USA)
    • Date of stay 03/07/12
    • Review Submitted 04/29/12
    My wife and I and our dog Maddie truly enjoyed our stay at the Bunkhouse in March. It seemed to be peacefully and quietly isolated out in the desert, yet was close to almost everything. There was even a McDonald's within 5 minutes! (I'm a sausage and egg McMuffin addict!) The Bunkhouse was very tastefully decorated and very comfortable, even containing a library of Western history. We especially enjoyed sitting on the swing on the front porch every evening. The highlights of our trip this year were lunch at the Tohono Chul Tea Room, and a chance to see a theatrical version of "The Great Gatsby" at the Arizona Theatre Company downtown. Thanks for a great time! We'll look forward to seeing the garden you have planned in front of the Bunkhouse. - Ben, Marie & Maddie

    Recommended for: Age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Ben and Marie and Maddie. The garden is in-- it is wonderful. I have to get busy and add pictures to the website. Beautiful flowers and bistro table for morning coffee and evening tea. Please, do come see it next Winter. Greer

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Excellent

    Excellent

    • Guest m (Minneapolis, MN)
    • Date of stay 02/27/12
    • Review Submitted 03/12/12
    Great place. Spacious. Clean. Private (separate house on property). Good location. Great hot tub. Pictures don't do justice. Very nice owner. Our first visit to Tucson. Lots of great hiking. Favorites: Saguaro Park (West) and Sabino Canyon. Golf - especially enjoyed the Quarry Pines course. Favorite happy hour: Downtown Kitchen. Thanks for a great stay. We'll definitely try to return.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for the compliments and great insight into golfing venues. Greer

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Day Hiker's Dream

    Day Hiker's Dream

    • Guest Maureen (Minneapolis, MN, USA)
    • Date of stay 01/26/12
    • Review Submitted 02/20/12
    We found the Bunk House a true home away from home. It was commodious inside and out with comfortable places to read and relax whether on the couch or the veranda swing. It was well appointed with a fully stocked kitchen, large closet to store all of our travel gear and a comfortable king bed with a fluffy down comforter to snuggle under after a day of hiking. My husband and I wanted a rental with easy acess to the many day hiking trails available in Tucson and the Bunk House was perfectly located for this. We were less than 30 minutes from the Saguaro National Park West, Tucson Mountain Park, Sabino Canyon and Catalina State Park. We reached all of these areas without having to spend a long commute on the freeway. The property is located in a quiet neighborhood and allows you to enjoy the beautiful southwest sunsets and the tranquility of the cool, bright Tucson evenings.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your wonderful response and helpful details regarding your favorite hiking spots here in Tucson. Greer

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Paradise

    Paradise

    • Guest UMCgirl (Ohio)
    • Date of stay 04/16/11
    • Review Submitted 10/02/11
    My husband and I and our dog Emma feel in love with the bunk house and the property surrounding it. It's quiet, secure, and has a wonderful breeze. The property is secluded but centrally located to everything. We will be returning for our third year and can hardly wait. I give this wonderful ranchita 5 stars! Bud & Norma, Ohio

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I look forward to your visit this year too.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Triangle Bunkhouse is "heart" of the desert

    Triangle Bunkhouse is "heart" of the desert

    • Guest Escapes the Cold (Detroit, MI, USA)
    • Date of stay 01/15/11
    • Review Submitted 10/05/11
    My time in the Bunkhouse was perfect in every way! I had the peace and quiet of country living in the heart of the desert, yet I was minutes away from any convenience I needed or activity I wanted. The owner allows access to all the property including the patio and table around the main house, outdoor grill area, a hot tub and fire pit. While I enjoyed my solitude, I also loved spending evenings under the stars by the fire pit sharing stories with the owner and other guests. I had as much, or as little company as I wanted. The property is fenced and gated with mountain views from the front porch and wild desert on the other side of the fence. Assess to Tucson is convenient and a major highway is near for travel to adventures in other parts of Arizona. I was there over the winter months and was pleased to find lots of high-caliber activities available, including: an international gem and stone show, a festival of books featuring big-name authors, Native American Arts fair, and the Tucson Rodeo...just to name a few! Because I had an extended stay, I was able to bring my pet with me and we all felt right at home from the moment we arrived. The Bunkhouse was clean and completely stocked, all that was needed was to hang my clothes in the closet and make a stop at the grocery store (which is but minutes away along with a bank, gas station and other amenities.) The owner went out of her way to make my stay comfortable and she responded to any request immediately. She was always helpful without being intrusive. I whole-heartedly recommend this guest facility.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for the review. I too enjoyed the time spent around the campfire in the back yard, but you forgot the Sonoran hot dog expiditions for the perfect Mexican hot dog. Greer

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Picture Perfect

    Picture Perfect

    • Guest UMCgirl (Ohio)
    • Date of stay 05/01/10
    • Review Submitted 08/24/10
    My husband and I stayed at the end of the season 2010. What a beautful setting and a wonderful "bunk house." No cowboy ever had it so good. The setting is perfect, close to everything and a wonderful breeze as we sit on the porch swing. The landlord is awesome. Can't say enough good about it!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hello. Thank you so much. I am just figuring out how to read these. This is such a nice review! Thank you. Looking forward to seeing you guys again this year. See you soon. Greer

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Glad to sign your guest book!.

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Glad to sign your guest book!.

    • Guest Joe and Petronella Bentvelzen
    • Date of stay 03/01/10
    • Review Submitted 11/20/10
    "We look back with pleasure at our visit in March. Next year we have to many visits over-seas so we must skip an early vacation. Joe and I certainlly are looking forwards to some more time spent in your area. We had a very busy time before arriving in Tucson, and we loved the peace and quiet in your beautiful garden. Maybe the year 2012. We also enjoyed our coffeechats. We wish you the very best and till the next time, kind regards from us!"

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The one-horse hay bailer was great!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    The one-horse hay bailer was great!

    • Guest Lorraine Jordan
    • Date of stay 02/14/10
    • Review Submitted 11/20/10
    "We loved your place and of course Tucson. We plan on returning. Glad you liked my drawing of the one-horse hay bailer. I had fun doing it, and it is exciting you are framing it and hanging it in the bunk house."

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Highly Recommend It.

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Highly Recommend It.

    • Guest Carol Stillwagon
    • Date of stay 01/17/10
    • Review Submitted 11/20/10
    "We had a great time and would and have recommended your bunk house to many people. Thanks for a great time and give that beautiful dod a dog biscuit from me."

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Enjoyed the Casita

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Enjoyed the Casita

    • Guest Susan Paulson Davis
    • Date of stay 11/24/09
    • Review Submitted 11/20/10
    "We really enjoyed our stay at this casita. It has everything you would need and then some. Our host was very kind and accommodaating. We would go back in an instant."

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Bunkhouse was warm, cozy and relaxing

    Bunkhouse was warm, cozy and relaxing

    • Guest sd walleye (Tucson, AZ, USA)
    • Date of stay 01/31/09
    • Review Submitted 05/10/10
    My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bunkhouse in Tucson last February. It was quiet and relaxing with a wonderful hostess. We could not ask for anything else in the way of amenities. We were safe and secure and our property was too. We enjoyed the hot tub, other guests and an outdoor barbecue. We would definitely recommend the Bunkhouse. sdwalleye

    Recommended for: Age 55+

    Owner response: Thank you so much. You were the very first guests I booked for the bunk house, and I am so happy that you enjoyed it so much. I know the trip meant a lot to you guys, and I am glad I helped make it wonderful for you. Greer

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]