Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
This is the view from the Lake House Cottage next to the water.

Cooperstown Cottage, Feet from Lake, Fishing, Bonfire,Wifi, Team Party,Boat Dock [#269514] | View Property

Cooperstown
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 10)
$2,400/wk US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (13)

Sort by:
  • “It is a warm and friendly atmosphere.”

    “It is a warm and friendly atmosphere.”

    • Guest amy lee (syracuse ny)
    • Date of stay 10/11/13
    • Review Submitted 11/18/13
    We've been coming through Richfield Springs and visiting the Lake House for many years. From time-to-time, we stop for a drink or two at the tavern and then enjoy the grounds, and lunch or dine there, but we've never stayed there. We finally decided to, and we're so glad we did. What a wonderful experience -it is a warm and friendly atmosphere - we so much enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful - without exception, treating us as if we were their special guests - at least, that's how they made us feel. Do yourself a favor like we did - we only stayed one night, but having done so, we now can't wait to come back and do it again - and we will!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful week for Baseball!

    Wonderful week for Baseball!

    • Guest steve (fort meade Maryland)
    • Date of stay 08/10/12
    • Review Submitted 12/22/12
    Our baseball team stayed at the Lake House in August 2012 to play ball at Dreams Park in Cooperstown. We stayed on the second and third floors and there were 35 of us including parents, siblings, and grand parents. We found out between games or in the evening this was a great facility for swimming and fishing. The team also rented a pontoon boat for fishing and swimming and the boys had a great time and in the evening, we could have a bon fire to cap the night off. If you want to relax on the lake shore you are more than welcome with the multiple chairs and tables on the lawn. Our sister team has already booked the Lake House for 2013!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • The memories we made at the Lake House were priceless!

    The memories we made at the Lake House were priceless!

    • Guest annie (ithaca ny)
    • Date of stay 08/05/11
    • Review Submitted 10/18/11
    Today was our last day at the Lake House and its Friday morning and we are sad to leave. Even Bella the house dog had a sad face, we became close to her. We rented all three floors and the cottage and had a wonderful experience. The facility was perfect for a large group and even though we were demanding, the staff graciously accommodated every request. We especially had a great time when we rented the two pontoon boats they had and we all went out and had a great time on the lake, swimming, fishing, snorkeling, sunbathing, playing cards and just visiting. We will never forget the team party they catered on the lake and capped off with a huge bon-fire at dusk.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Baseball Retreat

    Baseball Retreat

    • Guest Beans (ohio)
    • Date of stay 07/02/10
    • Review Submitted 07/12/10
    The lakehouse is very scenic and peaceful. A few items they dont tell you. The shower must have been designed for an airplane as it is extremely tiny and very hard to use effectively. Also, if you were hoping to swim you must go out on the water with a boat, as wading in is not a desirable option. Lastly, the food at the lakehouse is good, but don't go if you are in a hurry as the service is extremely slow.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 12/01/09
    • Review Submitted 12/01/09
    Our team stayed for a week last summer at the Lake House while our boys were playing in a Dreams Park Baseball Tournament in Cooperstown. The lodge overlooks the lake and has a lots of lake frontage. We had so much space to have a place for the other kids to play, we hosted a team party on the lawn, cooked on the BBQ in the gazebo and played in the water with the canoes and rowboat. The kids caught fish and really had a great time. The lodge was simple yet elegant both inside and outside. Rooms were nicely furnished and comfortable. Breakfast was available for all that wanted it and was delicious. The Lake House is an awesome place for entire baseball families to stay while their sons are at Dreams Park playing baseball. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Lake House to any team needing lodging for a week.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 11/28/09
    • Review Submitted 11/28/09
    There is a small group of ladies, three of us, who like to travel for wine tastings. We found a hotel in Richfeild Springs on a lake from trip advisor reviews, close to Cooperstown where our wine tasting was going on. When we returned to the Lake House that evening we sat by a fireplace in the living room and the door was open to the second floor and could hear clearly three men talking about a battle of the Potomac. Then they talked about Pickett's charge and on the 4th of July of '63 a train 14 miles long with Lee's wounded. We did notice an accent when they spoke but could not place it. The interesting part of this review came after our return home. It appears the Hotel is haunted (I am not one to believe in ghosts) but when we told our husbands about these three men talking about General Meade and Pickett's charge etc. and how many of their friends were lost ,They Looked at Bruce who teaches history and in disbelieve, informed us this was later known as the Battle of Gettysburg and ended on July 4th of 1863. This was 146 years ago to the day we were sitting there listening to these civil war veterans and 20 years to the day that the Lake House opened in 1843. Now all six of us will defintely be returning next july 4th to the Lake House for the Ghosts and great conversation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 11/27/09
    • Review Submitted 11/27/09
    We stayed at the Cottage at the Lake House. It is right by the water and so pretty. We really had a chance to relax after running back and forth to Dreams Park to watch our son play ball. We would BBQ or just grab something to eat and have a drink right by the water. There were awesome sunsets and I loved watching the baby geese with their parents- there were so many of them. They are busy. We even enjoyed watching the spiders create their webs- I suppose it comes with being on the water- lots of them, too. At night, we would leave the windows open and listen to the waves lapping at the shore. One drawback was that the fishermen would come early in the morning to go out on the lake and would wake us up a little earlier than I would have wanted but it was so peaceful that even that was OK. There was a sail boat moared and I could also hear the lines on the mast- I just loved that sound. Being in Cooperstown to watch our son play ball was a dream come true and staying at the Cottage made our trip even more special.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 11/22/09
    • Review Submitted 11/22/09
    Last summer we had the opportunity of a lifetime to take our son to Cooperstown to play at Dreams Park with his team. We found the Lake House Cottage in Richfield Springs for all of us to stay while the kids were there. We arrived on Friday to find a pleasant staff, comfortable rooms, beautiful lake, yummy food in the restaurant and cold beer on tap. What a great combination! We enjoyed the deck at night- (we hit a week that there was a full moon and it was to beautiful over the water), the lawn to play and picnic with the boys, and the fun of all of us being together everyday to talk about the games, sight-see and share the good times. We would recommend both the Dreams Park experience and the Lake House to anyone who has a son who loves the game of baseball. Start planning now and make it happen. It is an experience that we will never forget.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Keno Candee (Glen Burnie,Maryland)
    • Date of stay 11/20/09
    • Review Submitted 11/20/09
    My son's baseball team played at Dreams Park in Cooperstown this past summer. All of the families decided to stay together and looked for a place big enough for our eleven families. We found the Lake House. It has rooms on the second floor, a room on the first floor and a cottage by the lake. There were over 30 of us all together- counting the brothers and sisters of our boys playing and this was the perfect place. It was right on the lake, there is a restaurant on the first floor, fishing poles, canoes, and rowboats to paddle around in, a place to picnic, everything we wanted to have great times together and relax when we weren't at the park. The boys came over twice and we had a great BBQ and bonfire. I loved the place and would recommend it to any group looking for a convenient and comfortable place to stay- reasonably priced, too. It's a good deal.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest louis barlow (Jamestown, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 11/20/09
    • Review Submitted 11/20/09
    We found the Lake House Cottage on the internet for weekly lodging where you can take your boat and have your own house. We used Trip Advisor reviews as a guide and booked the Cottage for a week in August. The Cottage is new construction built only feet from the shoreline and has cedar shakes and large operable windows for great views of the lake. As you walk in, you realize this is very different, there is no sheet rock, only wood. The floors on the first floor are all oak, walls are wide plank pine, ceiling is timber frame and wide plank wood. The living room has a table big enough for eight, sofa and chairs. The galley kitchen is small but has all new appliances, standard size with upper and lower wood cabinets, large two bowl sink and counter. The kitchen is fully stocked with pots and pans, glassware and dishes. There are two bedrooms on the first floor with two full beds in each and cable TV; one has a sliding door to the lake, the other has a huge sliding window facing the lake. There is a bath on the first floor with shower, sink, W.C. and lots of room. The second floor bedroom is beautiful with big windows on three sides with awesome views of the lake, king size bed, cable TV, dressers and chair. The bathroom has a gigantic soaking tub-( big enough for two or especially good for giving the kids a bath at the end of a busy day), sink, W.C. and bidet, washer/dryer and big closet. It was perfect- private but easy to reach. We parked right by the door-easy to unpack/pack or unload groceries. We even had enough room to invite our parents to stay for a few days with us. We used the charcoal grill and had great outdoor picnics, also. There is a table and chairs right outside the door of the Cottage- that's where we had our morning coffee while we watched the lake. We did have a wonderful week using our boat which we docked in front of the Cottage. The WiFi reached even out onto the lake and we used our laptop while we were out on the boat. We have already booked our week for next summer.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 11/19/09
    • Review Submitted 11/19/09
    We are members of a baseball team from Illinois that stayed at the Lake House. We all wanted to be together so we looked for a nice place that could handle all forty of us. The Lake House easily handled 30 people and the cottage another 10. The Lake House more than exceeded our expectations. This is a family run business like no other. We thought we would have seen everything coming from Chicago but this was the best vacation we could have planned. The owner had to unlock our door more than once and never complained that we kept leaving our keys behind. She no sooner got our door open one night and a restaurant patron, who came by boat to eat, couldn't start his boat. She said, "I can help you with that, " and got out a 40 foot jumper cable and helped him start his boat from her car. I was impressed! The Lake House easily handled our team party using the spacious gazebo on the lake. Their large lawn provided us with ample space to play ball and have a picnic. There was space for the team, parents, siblings, grandparents, all of us- with room to spare. The kids used the canoe and rowboats and had an awesome time. The kids even spent the night having a delicious breakfast in the morning before we took them back to Dreams Park for their game. A piano player is there every night for live music and dancing during dinner and after. This is a great touch for the overnight guests and patrons. The restaurant is AAA approved and the food is great. We even had homemade donuts one morning before leaving for our game as a special treat. We could not have been happier any other place. The Lake House is perfect for us. The last night there was a bonfire by the lake that lit up the sky and the shoreline. We had a great time and recommend this for any large group that wants a comfortable, homey, and wonderful place to spend their vacation. The one problem we did have was the gps address took us to an old abandoned farm about a mile away.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest trent crawford (Charleston /South Carolina)
    • Date of stay 11/19/09
    • Review Submitted 11/19/09
    A large group of us with boys playing at Dreams Park in Cooperstown chose the Lake House and cottage as our base of operations. We are all very athletic and some of us even brought our bikes- although we didn't have much time to do anything but watch the boys play, we did have the chance to ride around the lake- about 20 miles total one morning before we had to get to the park. It was a great ride and a great place to stay and relax. We would recommend the Lake House for any team that will play in Cooperstown. It is about 20 minutes from the fields but the ride is easy and goes quickly. We found that it was really good to relax there after the games and spent many evenings together on the deck talking about the games. We loved our Dreams Park experience and will never forget Dreams Park or the Lake House.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Value!

    Great Value!

    • Guest wineman (Chester ,Conn. northeast)
    • Date of stay 08/14/09
    • Review Submitted 10/09/11
    Found this place on tripadvisor and am very glad I did. The cottage was very clean and comfy although the mattresses are Firm. We made good use of the full kitchen. The owners even provide large containers of ground coffee and powdered creamer with a bunch of sweetener packets and some tea bags along with napkins and mugs. Great value and well worth it. No, it's not the Hilton with restaurant down the hall, but would you rather have posh digs or nice owners on site? I'll take the nice owners on site anytime especially when cleanliness is top notch.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]