Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Mariposa Ranch with horses steps from your front door!

The Mariposa Ranch House : Nothing Like This in Taos! [#270197] | View Property

Taos
3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 8
$215 - $375/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (25)

Sort by:
  • Amazing!

    Amazing!

    • Guest Amy (Dallas, Tx)
    • Date of stay 08/08/13
    • Review Submitted 08/21/13
    The Ranch house was more than we could have ever expected it to be. My 4 young kids, ages 8, 7, 5 and 3 had the most amazing time and we were all so sad to leave. Cannot wait to return next year for an extended stay...1 week was just not enough!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great for summer vacations!

    Great for summer vacations!

    • Guest Deanna O'Neil (Fort Worth, Texas)
    • Date of stay 06/29/13
    • Review Submitted 07/09/13
    Our family greatly enjoyed staying at Mariposa Ranch! Clean and comfortable, with the best view ever! We loved sitting out on the porch for early morning coffee feeling the cool breezes. We are summer in the mountains people and this was a perfect setting for us. The kids loved the barn cats and other animals. Would return in a heartbeat! Thank you for sharing your home!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Sad to be home

    Sad to be home

    • Guest ssy (San Antonio, TX area)
    • Date of stay 03/08/13
    • Review Submitted 03/16/13
    Just got back from spending 8 nights in Taos and had to write a review as soon as I could get to a computer! We were two families--4 adults and 4 kids--and the Mariposa Ranch House was perfect! It is perfectly located between town and the Ski Valley, making travel in and around Taos very easy. The kids all loved the animals, treehouse, and hot tub and the adults loved sitting around the fire after long days of skiing. The owners were very accessible and keep the house fully stocked with everything you could need. Trying to convince the husband we should return in the summer...

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Mariposa Ranch

    Mariposa Ranch

    • Guest Libby (Baltimore)
    • Date of stay 08/14/12
    • Review Submitted 08/19/12
    My family and I thoroughly enjoy our stay at Mariposa ranch. Beds were comfortable, the kitchen was well stocked, hot tub was delightful, the views were fabulous, house was spacious, and there was plenty to do. We went into Taos, hiked around the ranch, helped feed the farm animals, and went fishing to mention a few things. It was the most peaceful and relaxing vacations we have ever had.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Great House!

    Great House!

    • Guest Dana (Kansas City)
    • Date of stay 06/23/12
    • Review Submitted 07/26/12
    My family and stayed at The Mariposa Ranch for a week in June. We were so pleasently surprised when we arrived! The pictures don't even do it justice! It is an amazing house. Our daughters were in heaven with their bedroom and all the animals on the ranch. It was so much fun sitting on the porch watching the girls "play", with the goats, the donkey, and the mule. The horses in the back of the house was the icing on the cake! The house was clean and stocked very nicely. We were very comfortable and had a wonderful time in Taos. We would definately come back to Mariposa Ranch. Vee was helpful and easy to work with. You will not be disappointed!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect stay for Taos Ski Valley vacation

    Perfect stay for Taos Ski Valley vacation

    • Guest Pilot Traveler (Falmouth, ME)
    • Date of stay 02/16/12
    • Review Submitted 02/27/12
    Stayed four nights at the ranch house with another couple. Four adults and 3 children, 9 to 12 years old. Perfect location for skiing and going into town. Coming "home" after skiing, sitting on the front porch, looking out on the range and feeling the warm sun will be long remembered as well as watching the kids enjoy being with the horses, lamas and other animals. We've traveled the world and this is one of the best most fun places we have ever stayed. The house was warm and inviting and the pictures do not do it justice. The decorating was great and we liked the exposed beams and master bath design with a big shower and skylight. Beds were extremely comfortable. We enjoyed being off the beaten path (yet still convenient to everything) with no road noise and seeing the Milky Way at night. House was spotless. We look forward to returning next year. Thank you Vee!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Place for our vacation

    Perfect Place for our vacation

    • Guest dene j. (Ft. Worth, TX)
    • Date of stay 12/18/11
    • Review Submitted 01/03/12
    Spent the week before Christmas here with the kids. The house was perfect! Excellent location between all that we wanted to do. Two living areas was great with teenagers, they could enjoy a little tv, while my husband and I enjoyed the fire in the other room. Cool rustic dining table was perfect for us to play games in the evenings...although I'm sure if we were here under warmer circumstances we would have gone outside and enjoyed the property! Kitchen had everything you would need for any type of meal, but you are also very close to a variety of restaurants. Since the house is pet friendly, I did appreciate the wood/tile only floors. It was spic n span clean top to bottom. The first day we went skiing was the day of the blizzard..I had never been so happy to get back off the slopes into that warm house, take a hot shower and get into the warm cozy bedding! The owner quickly responded to any of my questions and offered some great advice on places to go. Would definitely recommend this place to family friends!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect getaway!

    Perfect getaway!

    • Guest dene j. (Ft. Worth, TX)
    • Date of stay 12/18/11
    • Review Submitted 01/03/12
    Spent the week before Christmas here. I don't think the pictures do this house justice. It was very spacious for the 4 of us and yet very cozy. Kitchen had everything needed if you wanted to eat in, but you are also close to a variety of restaurants as well. With two living areas, the kids could relax after a day of skiing by watching a favorite tv show while the husband and I sat in the other living area and enjoyed the fire. Also liked the rustic dining table, was perfect for playing board games in the evening. Hot showers, warm cozy bedding is always a "want" when staying at a rental and this place did NOT disappoint! I also appreciated the all wood and tile floors. We were thankful to be able to bring our two small dogs, but I have stayed at "pet friendly" homes with carpet, and it's been kind of gross..this house was spotless top to bottom.-- Vee was always quick to respond to my questions and gave us some great suggestions for our visit. Would definetly recommend to family and friends and if we head back to Taos, this is the place we will be renting!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Mariposa Ranch House

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Mariposa Ranch House

    • Guest Carol
    • Date of stay 09/20/11
    • Review Submitted 10/03/11
    Hello Vee, My daughter, Leah, wrote in your guest book, so I wasn't able to express my appreciation of your Ranch House. Your house was the best house I've every rented. It was fabulous in every way. If I had a house in NM, I would want it to look inside and out exactly as the Ranch House does. I read it in your book and I have to say I felt the same way, I needed to force myself to do exploring in the area during the day, as I sure didn't want to leave the front porch of the Ranch. I loved it!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • 4 night sept stay with wife,2 adult daughters, 20 month old grandaughter

    4 night sept stay with wife,2 adult daughters, 20 month old grandaughter

    • Guest richard (clive, iowa (des moines))
    • Date of stay 09/10/11
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    Most wonderful place we have ever stayed at in Taos area over 30 years, my wife said this would be her dream retirement home. Very clean, comfortable house with everything working. Beautiful vistas in all directions, seldom traveled road to walk down, spectacular sunsets. Huge trout in the pond (catch and release). Nicest fireplace we have ever had, burned large logs to nothing by morning. My wife and daughters were able to go anywhere they wanted easily as half way to Taos and ski area. The baby and I only made it to town twice, too much to do on the ranch, she stayed in the house only to sleep, ate many meals on the porch as "picnics". Pepper the cat was a constant but frivolous companion, thrilling to a 20 month old. Horses love carrots. The tree house was a great hangout and picnic area. Coyotes at night and the big tepee were scary at 20 months of age. Sauna was great and cover was a great play area in the day for baby and cat (Pepper's favorite place to rest). The help on the ranch gladly and cheerfully came to work the tv tuner we technically challenged could not figure out. Not a spectacular place but an atmosphere of true New Mexico working ranch, not tourist overabundance. The pictures do not convey the fullness and room of the house and property. Obviously enthusiastic review, we have been all over New Mexico (and much of western hemisphere and Australia) and this was simply the most wonderful place we have stayed, maybe because of its nonpretenscious atmosphere, beauty, cleanliness, and ease of living. I would think this to be an incredible place to be with children. The owners should be proud.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Outstanding Vacation Home!

    Outstanding Vacation Home!

    • Guest Adina C. (Austin, TX, USA)
    • Date of stay 07/30/11
    • Review Submitted 11/03/11
    My husband and I stayed at the Ranch House with our 2 young kids last summer for 2 weeks. This property is outstanding in every way. It is impeccably clean. This is the cleanest rental property I have ever witnessed. It is on par with the nicest Ritz Carlton hotels. The home is very well-maintained and well-equipped with things you might need for an extended stay (laundry detergent, paper goods, etc.). The furniture and beds are all very comfortable. The master bath is very spacious and the water pressure is excellent. The property itself is beautiful. The kids were occupied every minute of our trip, fishing in the pond, playing with the animals, playing in the tree house and teepee, etc. The owner is very helpful, reliable and responsive. The location cannot be beat (in between town and the ski valley). I recommend this property to anyone seeking a first class rental property in the Taos, NM area.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Wonderful Family Vacation

    A Wonderful Family Vacation

    • Guest Chris (Tulsa. OK)
    • Date of stay 07/09/11
    • Review Submitted 07/25/11
    Our family of six, five adults and one grandchild, spent a week at the Ranch House in July and in every respect it was perfect. The house is spacious and relaxing; the front porch was a magical way to spend an early morning waiting for the balloons to rise or a group of riders to trot by on the road. The sunsets at the end of the day were beautiful. The bedrooms are spacious and situated to afford privacy. Everything was as described and pictured. The hosts were welcoming and friendly. We felt lucky to have found this beautiful rental home and would return in a heartbeat. The property is a bit out of town which is one of the joys of staying there. We have stayed in quite a few VRBO properties and this is the first time I have felt compelled to write a review because we felt this was an expectional property.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Family Vacation

    Family Vacation

    • Guest Jessica (Kansas City, MO)
    • Date of stay 06/19/11
    • Review Submitted 06/28/11
    Our traveling crew: four adults and three children, aged three, four, and four and a half. Having lived in Taos years ago, we were familiar with the area and excited for the possibilities of this property. From the moment we pulled up, we were thrilled by this phenomenal house and surroundings. It completely by-passed our expectations. The photos do not do the house justice. The interior is spacious and the rooms are tastefully decorated and super comforable. The porch is lovely! The kids loved the treehouse and tipi, and dug for hours in the backyard (while the adults half watched them and half marveled at the amazing backdrop of sky and mountains). Vee was wondeful from our first contact - available to answer questions and make sure we were completely satisfied with our stay. And the treat basket waiting for us was terrific! We would love to return to this wondeful place - in truth we would love to live in this wonderful place year-round. This is a two thumbs up, five star review.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Truly beyond our expectations

    Truly beyond our expectations

    • Guest AV (Cypress, Texas)
    • Date of stay 03/14/11
    • Review Submitted 03/23/11
    By the end of the week of our stay, I could honestly say this was probably our best family vacation we have had. The ranch was outstanding, from the buildings, to the animals, not to mention the view. We fished, played catch in the front yard, and soaked in the hot tub after our days of skiing. The House was exceptionally decorated, giving it both an elegance and a functionality that made our visit perfect. Mike and Vee's extra touches showed us that they were truly interested in making our stay something to remember. To quote my son, "This is our new Spring Break spot!"

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We loved it here!

    We loved it here!

    • Guest Love2Ski (Tucson, Az)
    • Date of stay 12/26/10
    • Review Submitted 01/04/11
    We have stayed at many vacation rentals over the years, and this is by far our favorite. The location was great for skiing, we were nice and close to the hill. The house itself was cozy, but not cluttered. The two living rooms came in very handy since we were traveling with three boys under 18! There was nothing we needed that was not provided. The hot tub in the winter can not be beat! Finally,every window had a spectacular view. We will definitely go back to the Mariposa Ranch House.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Thanksgiving guestbook entry

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thanksgiving guestbook entry

    • Guest Julie and family Denver, CO
    • Date of stay 11/23/10
    • Review Submitted 10/20/11
    Dear Mike and Vee, Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us. We all agreed that being here over Thanksgiving week was a wonderful way to enjoy our family being in such a gorgeous place, maybe starting new traditions for us. We hope to be back someday.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The Ranch House

    Guest comment entered by owner

    The Ranch House

    • Guest Jana and High Desert painters
    • Date of stay 10/12/10
    • Review Submitted 10/20/11
    Vee and fam, Thank you for a wonderful experience! We'll be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • peaceful with stunning views

    peaceful with stunning views

    • Guest highdesertpainters (nc)
    • Date of stay 10/09/10
    • Review Submitted 10/19/10
    just returned from a 3 night stay at mariposa ranch house. The ranch exceeded my expectations in every way. Our group of friends arrived from various points north, west and east, and we revelled in the peacefulness and retreat from our busy lives - where we could renew our friendships and recharge our spirits. We especially enjoyed the ranch animals and the 360 degree views. Thanks to Vee and family for providing this special NM retreat!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Doris, Ty, Nate, JJ, Amy
    • Date of stay 09/10/10
    • Review Submitted 09/13/10
    Dear Mike and Vee, We thoroughly enjoyed staying at your ranch! We had many visits with the animals and decided to name the cat "Cilantro" because of his/her green eyes. Thank you for letting us stay here and enjoy the beauty thay is Taos. With much gratitude, GirlyMan Atlanta, GA

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Ranch House

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Ranch House

    • Guest Sincerely, The P family
    • Date of stay 09/05/10
    • Review Submitted 10/20/11
    Thank you, Thank you! The whole family loved your home. The boys had a great weekend in the country. We will be back to enjoy the snow!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Historic character with modern updates

    Historic character with modern updates

    • Guest Susan Hall (Morrison, CO)
    • Date of stay 08/08/10
    • Review Submitted 08/16/10
    The Mariposa Ranch house was the perfect blend of a historic property within a working ranch with modern updates with luxury touches. The house is remarkably spacious, and the layout allows you to separate the bedrooms/baths into two "suites" plus an additional bedroom (would be great for two families with kids). The kitchen is huge and well equiped, there are just enough games and movies to keep you entertained in the evenings - that is if you can break away from the front porch with its endless views. It is very conveniently located just north of Taos a few minutes drive in a quiet, rural area. Although we have teens, it would be a great property for younger children as well between the llamas, goats, horses, fenced yard, teepee in the back yard and stocked pond right outside the door. There wouldn't be a dull moment for them!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Morris,Jean,Henri, and Rose Oklahoma
    • Date of stay 08/07/10
    • Review Submitted 08/16/10
    Vee, We all agree that we have never stayed somewhere away from home that felt so much like home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Our Best Family Vacation Ever

    Our Best Family Vacation Ever

    • Guest John, Marcia, Adam and Jack (St. Louis)
    • Date of stay 07/24/10
    • Review Submitted 08/22/10
    We all agreed that our week at the Mariposa Ranch House was our favorite family vacation. The house was in impeccable condition. Furnishings are a tasteful mixture of contemporary and old regional pieces. The interior is spacious with a great layout. My husband and I enjoyed the roominess and privacy of the master suite, with a huge and beautifully decorated private bath. The house itself had such comfort, style and charm, we often had to push ourselves out the door to enjoy all the beauties of the outdoors - which was the reason we came! Outside the house, our boys had great fun with the tipi, tree house, farm animals and fishing pond. It really was heaven for our kids to have the freedom to explore all these things. My husband and I sat on the full front porch, watching our boys play and taking in the beauty of the big sky and mountains of Taos. The house was located in a perfect location for us: minutes from both downtown Taos and the Taos Ski Valley, where we hiked and rode horses. This would be an ideal location during ski season. The hosts are wonderful and knowledgeable: they also own two fine restaurants in town. We made it twice to one of them, which is an experience I highly recommend. . We were so perfectly happy that we didn't want to leave. Everyone is asking when we can go back! . We gave this house the full five stars - we had a truly great stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Lance Mann (Coronado, CA)
    • Date of stay 03/16/10
    • Review Submitted 03/16/10
    Over the last thirty years or so I have visited Taos a couple of times each year. I have stayed in all sorts of places from the back of my van, when times were tough, to luxury condos in the ski valley. When I discovered this ranch house a few short miles from the ski valley and many degrees warmer, I thought I discovered uranium.... It is without a doubt the finest place I've stayed in in Taos, or anywhere for that matter. It is situated near downtown Arroyo Seco, famous for Abe's Cantina, and about equidistant from the ski valley and the special town of Taos. Another great feature of this property is its proximity to The OBL (Old Blinking Light) restaurant a most authentic establishment featuring the finest Northern New Mexico Cusine, great entertainment and an atmosphere that draws you in as a field of lettuce would a hungry rabbit... During your stay there you may wish to entertain. No problem, Call Brett House Catering and make arrangements. Brett House Catering is a world class catering company associated with the OBL. Anybody looking for a relaxing, convenient, comfortable vacation this ranch house is the place.... Go for it, you won't be sorry.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Unforgettable Taos vacation

    Unforgettable Taos vacation

    • Guest Denvereli (Denver, CO)
    • Date of stay 02/19/10
    • Review Submitted 05/26/10
    My family and I have made many trips to Taos, and to this ranch house, over the years and I have to say you couldn't find a better place to stay than this. The ranch house is exactly what you dream of when you think of a luxurious and authentic vacation in Taos. Staying on a working ranch is beautiful, quiet and fun! The pond, tipi and treehouse entertain my kids whenever we are on the property (not to mention the barn cats), but it is also convenient to hiking, skiing, dining, etc. The views from the porch are amazing, and we love to just walk along the dirt road at sunset, watching the owls and gophers in the fields. The house itself is exceptionally well-maintained, comfortable, and chic--I really love the kitchen with its painted cabinets and butcher block counters, and the brand new master bedroom and bath. I hope to go back soon with friends and rent both the Ranch House and the Slaughter House (just down the road) for our stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]