Winter Weekday Special - $199/Night!!!
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:2-3 nights
- Pets considered:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Boulder Bay house description
Come enjoy WINTER in the mountains and take advantage of our SUPER Winter Weekday SPECIAL - Book any winter non-holiday weeknight between Sunday and Friday and pay just $199/night plus 8% tax and cleaning ($85)!
Stay with us and be just a block and 1/2 to Boulder Bay Park and all its amazing FISHING and SNOWSHOEING TRAILS or jump in your car or on the FREE tram for a quick trip to the Village or to the slopes of Snow Summit or Bear Mountain!!
Our beautifully appointed (~1400 square foot) home was built in 2007 with attention to every detail. It has all the amenities you'll need for a relaxing, fun holiday in the mountains. Located just a block & 1/2 from exclusive Boulder Bay park and just minutes to several trailheads, the Snow Summit Sky Chair and the quaint Big Bear Lake Village makes it ideal for avid snowshoers; skiers or snowboarders or just a family who wants to be right at the center of all that Big Bear has to offer.
Walk to Boulder Bay and stunning Big Bear Lake, the corner market and much more. Our home is also only 1/2 mile from the Performing Arts Center, restaurants, the Alpine Slide and all of Big Bear's main attractions. We are situated on a quiet residential street, ideal for the kids to go outside and play in the snow in our next door field. We'll even provide you with FREE sled rental if you want to take the little ones to one of the nearby parks or sledding hills!
***NOTE: The MARTA shuttle stops right across the street from our house and can take you (and your skis/snowboard) to Snow Summit resort (the stop is at Big Bear Blvd & Summit Blvd). We are the very first (eastern) stop in Boulder Bay at Willow Landing and Blue Jay so you can all come and go around town and to the slopes as you like without having to carpool!***
You will enjoy our open floor plan, fantastic for keeping your family together while you cook, eat, play games or watch a movie. The kitchen is fully equipped, complete with all the amenities to create a gourmet meal for your family.
Cozy up to a wonderful gas-start wood burning fire in the living room, step out onto the front deck and enjoy the clear crisp evening air with a glass of wine. Once you are here you won't want to go home.
The Master bedroom has a king size bed and full ensuite bath; the 2nd bedroom has a queen bed and shares a full bath with the 3rd bedroom which sports two sets of twin bunk beds (4 twin beds total). There is also a full-size sofa bed in the living room in case someone in your party snores!!
There is ample parking in the large driveway including space for up to 3 cars. Since our home is a one-story, we are also child; elderly and dog-friendly.
- Vacation Rental
- Children Welcome:
- Pets Considered:
Bedrooms: 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10, Beds for 8-10
- King size beds (1) Eastern king bed (76" wide by 80" long) in the master bedroom, Queen size Beds (1) Queen bed in the 2nd bedroom, Double Beds (1) Double/Full bed sized sofa bed in the living room with brand new memory foam mattress, Bunk Beds (2) Two twin bunks (4 twin beds total) in the 3rd bedroom...moreless
Bathrooms: 2 Bathrooms
Kitchen & Dining
- Cooking Utensils:
- Linens Provided:
- Just a block & 1/2 from Boulder Bay park and stunning Big Bear Lake. Magic Mountain Alpine Slide is just 1.5 miles from our doorstep. The Village is just 2 miles and Snow Summit ski resort is just another 2.25 miles from the Village and Bear Mountain is just another mile down Big Bear Blvd from Snow Summit....moreless
- DVD Player
- Free Long Distance
- Outdoor Grill
- Cross Country Skiing
- Water Skiing
- Mountain Biking
- Live Theater
- Wildlife Viewing
- Sight Seeing
- Horseback Riding
- Miniature Golf
- The MARTA shuttle stops right outside our doorstep and takes you to Snow Summit (stop at Big Bear Blvd & Summit Blvd) or right to the base of Bear Mountain. We are the very first (eastern) stop in Boulder Bay at Willow Landing and Blue Jay so you can all come and go to the Village/slopes as you like!...moreless
ReviewsWrite a review
Beautiful house for family vacationGuest comment entered by owner
Beautiful house for family vacation
We had a great time and it is a very nice house. Everything worked out great. Thanks for the use of your beautiful house.
- Guest Malcolm
- Date of stay 01/06/14
- Review Submitted 02/25/14
Trip with teenagers
Trip with teenagers
Wow – I don’t know why the previous reviewer would have such sour grapes when he obviously just didn’t want to follow the rules, but I just felt I had to weigh in with a different perspective. We’ve stayed at this lovely cabin twice now and I couldn’t disagree more with his/her review. We think this cabin is gorgeous and far from “basic”. I mean they have granite countertops in the kitchen and both baths, beautiful hardwood floors in the living area, a rock wall gas fireplace, stainless steel appliances in the kitchen and every imaginable cooking pot, pan and dish! We had a large group and we go through a LOT of glasses and yet there always seemed to be more in the cupboard even when the dishwasher was totally full. There were down comforters on all of the beds and tons of pillows for every room. I need at least two pillows and there were easily two for every one of our family members. There was also loads of hot water. I hate staying somewhere and running out after two people take a shower. When we stay here that never seems to be a problem. There is plenty of seating in the living room and open plan dining room so we all feel like we can be together while we cook and relax. Now, I guess we just aren’t “tv people” or something because the tv size didn’t bother us a bit. I think it was a 32” so I’m not sure why all the fuss. In fact, we were pleasantly surprised that they had tvs in all of the bedrooms as well as the living room – that was great when the kids wanted to watch something that we didn’t. Finally, we think it is a super good deal for how new and nice the house is plus the house manager hooked us up with sleds (winter) and bikes (summer) at ½ price his usual rental rate. He even gave us a load of complimentary firewood so we didn’t have to go to the store for any the first night. We would HIGHLY recommend this home for anyone looking for a beautiful, modern option for their family. The only thing we thought was “budget” was the price! Oh, and the owner was super awesome - she let us stay late on our last day with no extra charge since she didn't have anyone else arriving. Again, I think the "angry guest" below is way wrong on his review, but I guess some people just don't like to live with the consequences of their actions.
- Guest Trip with teenagers (San Diego, Ca)
- Date of stay 08/11/13
- Review Submitted 02/17/14
Recommended for: Families with young children, families with teenagers.
MLK Weekend: From Ok To Insulting
MLK Weekend: From Ok To Insulting
So all in all my groups experience with this cabin was mediocre, but our real issue was with the owner. The cabin itself was basic, and included just enough to scrape by as a budget motel. It's almost sad as the place has a lot of potential, but you can tell that the owners are more focused on acquiring new tenants than actually making it into a nice place for people to vacation. There are some reviews here about the TV, and while I do agree with the owner that the focus of anyones trip to Big Bear should be on being outside, I haven't watched a TV that small and pathetic in over 10 years (happened to be the weekend of the NFC + AFC championship games). Why not put in a little effort and spend $200 bucks on picking up a couple year old flat screen, it would make a big difference. That's kind of how I felt about everything inside, a couple hundred dollar investment could make a massive difference. So apart from the mediocrity of the place, my groups real problem was when the owner (I'm not allowed to put her name), decided to not give me my full security deposit back. Well the reason why I didn't get it back was because a few members in my group had moved a bed and bedside tables to make room for a blow up mattress. Well, the reason we had to use a blow-up mattress was because the pull-out couch, which is included in the description, and the listing clearly states that the place sleeps 10, was actually broken. I guess the owner didn't realize that the pull-out couch was broken, which I understand can happen from time to time. I could have asked for a percentage refund due to the inaccuracy of the listing itself, but my group decided not to bring it up and instead deal with the issue ourselves as we didn't think it was that big of a deal. We left the place in great condition (I actually had to tell a friend to stop scrubbing down everything so aggressively as there was going to be someone coming in to clean) but was blown away when contacted by the owner regarding my discounted security deposit. I realize that the owner was "charged" by the cleaning crew to move the furniture back, $50 to move a bed and two nightstands (I need to get into the cleaning business if I can make $50 for 5 minutes of work), but at the end of the day I would think the reasonable thing to do, after my group and I spent a large sum of money to stay in a uninspired broken cabin for three days, would be to give me my full deposit back. I do not recommend staying here.
- Guest Rob
- Date of stay 01/18/14
- Review Submitted 01/27/14
Owner response: Sadly, this guest is providing a scathing review, about everything he can think of, simply because he moved furniture around in our home and then failed to put it back. As he mentioned, I have a contract with my cleaning crew that pays them an extra $50 if they have to move furniture back to its proper place. Maybe I'm too generous, but they are excellent and they have a tight schedule between cleanings. So, I value their time. This obligation is why I explicitly state in our rental agreement, and AGAIN in the confirmation letter and AGAIN on the closing instructions posted in the house that guests must move furniture back to its proper place or risk a security deposit deduction. My housekeeper contacted me immediately so I could inform this guest that I would have to charge him the $50 fee. He was so hostile about the charge that I decided the gracious thing to do, to show I care about my guests' experience over personal expense, was to offer to split the cost with him. He refused this offer and demanded full reimbursement despite admitting he violated his signed rental agreement that clearly stated he would lose a portion of his security deposit if he did not put the furniture back in its proper place. I just don't understand - if it was so easy to move - why didn't he move it back? I also find it very disconcerting that a group tells me they only have 10 guests, and my home sleeps 10, but they bring along a blow-up mattress. Does he really think I believe he just happened to have it with him in case the pull-out wouldn't work? Or, perhaps he knew he was going to have more than the 10 guests he claimed. I guess I will never know. As for the pull-out couch, my on-site manager greeted this group soon after arrival and again later in the weekend and they never mentioned a problem with the pull-out. It was only once the issue of the security deposit came up that this guest informed me that he couldn't use it. My handyman checked it immediately and let me know that a spring had been bent (probably by having been pulled out incorrectly). He fixed it within 5 minutes. My on-site manager would have resolved this for the guest immediately had he just called. Bottom line, you just can’t anticipate what it takes to make everyone happy when you invite them to rent your home. Luckily I have lots of returning guests and referrals so I rarely have to deal with guests who treat the house rules with such disregard and then try to shame us in their review.
This is our first VRBO experience. We spent a weekend in this cabin. We had two families: four adults and seven young children from age 3 to age 9. Pros: 1. Open space allowed ample room for our kids to run around and play games at night. 2. The cabin is upgraded with a lot of counter space as well as a big frige to store food and treats. 3. BEST OF ALL: the open lot next to the house. We were lucky and got some fresh snow during our weekend stay. Running around in the open field, playing catch with the kids was a lot of fun. 4. Cabin is a bit off the main shopping area but we preferred it. Cons: 1. Not enough trash bags provided. And we were responsible for driving the trash to a central dumping location maybe a mile away. 2. TV needs upgrading (though we did not use it the entire weekend). 3. Bath towels were a bit short for so many people. 4. We had to put on all the bedsheets ourselves. I thought this was a bit troublesome. For the bunkbeds, the protective coverings were ripped and there were some dark spots. This was unpleasant. 5. DEAL BREAKER: no washer/dryer. We spent couple of days skiing and tubing. Drying the clothes was a pain as we have to drive miles to the local lundary. This was a major pain. 6. Deposit return was slow. It was not until we inquired about this was the fund returned. It was two weeks after our departure. 7. Dishes/utensils were dirty and with food spots. We had to clean them before using them.
- Guest Joyce (Las Vegas, NV)
- Date of stay 03/08/13
- Review Submitted 07/19/13
Recommended for: Families with young children, families with teenagers.
Owner response: We were glad to be informed about the problems that these guests encountered with the bed linens, towels and dishes.We have hired a new cleaning crew that pays special attention to these things, and we hope any future guests we have will find our home up to the standards that we expect ourselves. Unfortunately ALL private vacation homes in Big Bear Lake require that guests bring their trash to the central trash site as we have no trash service in Big Bear and it can't be left outside the house or at the curb because of animals. Only condos and hotels are allowed to have dumpsters on site. We have the same requirement when we stay at our home too. We do have older 32" televisions, but they are equipped with cable and are located in the bedrooms and living room. Since so few people use them (as this reviewer admitted) as Big Bear has so many other great things to do OUTSIDE, we have decided not to upgrade our tvs and instead keep our rental rates low.We have an automated return set-up for our deposits through PayPal. Unfortunately, this guest experienced a delayed return because I simply mis-typed the date in the system. I screwed up and I was glad they alerted me so that I could correct the date ad return their full refund within the hour.
|Dates||Nightly||Weekend Night||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
Feb 18 - Mar 31, 2014
2 night min stay
Additional information about rental rates
We use PayPal to protect our guests and ourselves from potential fraud. Upon submission of a signed rental agreement, guests will receive a PayPal request via email and be able to pay using a credit card, checking or savings account funds with NO additional fee to the guest at all.
- Housekeeping: $85
- Pet Fee: $50
- Refundable Damage Deposit: $350
- Tax Rate 8%
This owner accepts: Credit cards.
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
Year Purchased: 2009
About the owner: We're a multi-generational family that loves to snowboard, ski and snowshoe in the winter and mountain bike and hike in the summer. We LOVE Big Bear and all it has to offer including the great little kitchy shops and year-round fun. Join us in our home and relax and let the Big Bear experience draw you in the way it does for us every time we're here.
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
Winter Wonderland at Big Bear Lake - just minutes to the slopes
Gourmet kitchen with stainless steel appliances and granite countertops
Open floor plan allows for socializing in the kitchen, dining area & living room
Floor to ceiling fireplace in the living room for cozy comfort
Ensuite master bath with double sinks and glass shower
3rd bedroom with two sets of twin bunks (4 twin beds total) and adjacent bath
Enjoy a quiet evening on the back deck
Boulder Bay Park - BRAND NEW FISHING PIER
Beautiful log front home with an expansive deck and parking for guests
Pub-height dining table and chairs (photo actually from another house)
Relaxing seating in the living room with full-size sofa bed
Master bedroom with King bed, ensuite bath and sliding doors out to back deck
2nd bedroom with Queen bed and adjacent bath
Another shot of 3rd bedroom - bunk room
Boulder Bay park with its brand new fishing pier is just 1 and 1/2 blocks away
Front view from the road
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2009.
Date last modified - Tuesday, January 07, 2014
3 Bedroom / 2 Bathroom
Get an instant quote
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.