Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Affordable North Shore Kauai Cottage

Affordable North Shore Cottage Near Tunnels & Lumahai Beach [#272565] | View Property

Wainiha
Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)
$145/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (40)

Sort by:
  • Off the beaten path!

    Off the beaten path!

    • Guest Sherry K.
    • Date of stay 03/10/14
    • Review Submitted 03/25/14
    What a wonderful hidden gem! We could have stayed another two weeks and not gotten tired of our hidden cottage. We always like to be away from the busy tourist spots and this is a very quiet, romantic little cottage in the rain forest. You wake up to birds and roosters and can see pigs and goats roaming the road on your way in or out. Paula is an excellent host, providing things we needed, but not being intrusive. Always willing to answer our questions about attractions and local plants. We would love to return again in the future, what a beautiful place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place to stay on the north shore

    Great place to stay on the north shore

    • Guest Jason S.
    • Date of stay 10/17/13
    • Review Submitted 11/05/13
    We recently stayed at this cottage. Paula was a fantastic host! She was very friendly, and generously provided ample breakfast treats for our five night stay (fruit, yogurt, granola, milk). The cottage was roomy, clean, and well equipped. The grounds were beautiful and peaceful. Sitting on the lanai we saw many birds (white-rumped shama, laughing thrush, white eyes and brazilian cardinal, among others). The location was convenient to many of the north shore beaches and made it easy to get an early start on the Na Pali coast trail. Paula also provided snorkeling gear and boogie boards. Overall, a great place to stay!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for your positive review. It was great to meet you and have you here to enjoy the beauty and birds of the North Shore! Our returning guest get a free night stay! ALoha

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Living with the Locals

    Living with the Locals

    • Guest Alaskans (Ketchikan. AK)
    • Date of stay 09/19/13
    • Review Submitted 09/30/13
    When we rented a kayak to paddle up the Hanalei River, the agent said, "I thought only locals lived on Power House Road." We enjoyed being away from the tourist spots in what felt like a real home. Paula was gracious and helpful but not at all intrusive. The flowers and fruits were wonderful, as well as the food Paula made for us. It was fun to see the pigs and goats roaming around. It was more humid though in the valley than nearer the beach and the road is really narrow. This was our second trip to Kauai, but our first time to spend more than one day on the north side. This time, we spent one week at Poipu and the second week in Wainiha so we could experience more of what the island has to offer. From this location, we thoroughly enjoyed beaches, hikes, the Limahuli Gardens, the Slack Key Guitar concert etc. We did most of our cooking "at home" and ate on the lanai. Even the rain cooperated most of the time and fell at night. If you want a parking place near a beach, go early. We hiked the first 2 miles of the Kalalau Trail where the views were fantastic. Since we were there to celebrate our 52nd anniversary, we're bragging a bit :)...walking sticks helped. The cottage was clean, tasteful and comfortable and was well represented in the information provided.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Happy 52nd Anniversary! Wishing you many more years of love and happiness. Thank you for your helpful review.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A peaceful and serene vacation cottage.

    A peaceful and serene vacation cottage.

    • Guest Mary and Al (Chippewa Falls, WI)
    • Date of stay 09/11/13
    • Review Submitted 09/28/13
    We had a WONDERFUL time staying at this darling Hawaiian cottage nestled in the Wainiha Valley on the north shore of Kauai. Our host, Paula, greeted us upon our arrival September, 2013. She was so helpful in showing us around and giving us tips for exploring the north shore. She had DELICIOUS homemade granola and banana bread waiting for us. She also had yogurt, milk and coconut water in the refrigerator so we were all set for breakfast for our stay:) The cottage was cozy and we felt right at home. It had many unique Hawaiian touches in the decor. The bed was very comfortable and the bed linens and towels were so soft and comfy. The outdoor shower was so handy when we returned from the beach each day. Paula had all the beach equipment we needed to enjoy our days at the beach. The yard has beautiful gardens to sit on the lanai to enjoy. At night you can hear the Wainiha River flowing nearby. It was the perfect spot to relax and enjoy all that nature has to offer nestled in the rainforest. We enjoyed swimming and snorkeling in Ke'Ke, Tunnels, and Hanalei beaches. Hanalei is a fun town to explore. We had delicious pizza at Hanalei Pizza and yummy ice cream at Pinks. One day we hiked on the Kalalau Trail along the Napali Coast to Hanakapiai Falls. It was a very grueling 8 mile hike round trip, but the falls made it all worthwhile!!! We are so happy we found this cottage on the north shore. We will cherish our wonderful memories of our time here and we thank Paula for her wonderful hospitality!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: The best part of offering this place is meeting such wonderful people as yourselves. It was so kind of you to gift me with local foods from your home state. The salted key lime chocolate is a big hit! Thank you for your kindness and generosity and for the positive helpful review. ALOHA!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely, peaceful location

    Lovely, peaceful location

    • Guest Palm Lady (Des Moines, Iowa (Midwest))
    • Date of stay 05/22/13
    • Review Submitted 07/04/13
    We stayed at this clean, quiet, beautifully decorated cottage roughly 5 miles beyond Hanalei for one week at the end of May. It was a welcome contrast to the prior week spent in noisy, busy Waikiki. As others have said the grounds are lovely. The owner, Paula, was super nice and available to answer all our questions--and she provided wonderful breakfast foods that we enjoyed for several days. The kitchen lacks a microwave but the toaster oven works well to bake/warm small items and we used the outdoor gas grill a couple times for fish we bought at the Dolphin fist market. If you plan to grill or cook a lot you might need to buy condiments. The full size refrig. is great and there is even a water filter pitcher. There are guide books, a hiking book, and other info. to help plan your activities. The outdoor shower comes in very handy to wash off sand and beach items. They also provide some snorkeling gear, boards, chairs, and towels for beach use. Aside from the interesting birds the area is very quiet and at the end of May there were frequent short rain showers but nothing long enough to stop our activities (more at night). This is a good location if you plan to relax and hang out on the north shore for most of your stay---beyond Hanalei the road is curvy and narrow and you pass over 5 one-lane bridges---so getting to the east or south shore involves a slow trek--and it is more challenging after dark even coming from Hanalei. We stocked up on food/drink items from Wal-Mart in Lihue and Safeway in Kapaa before heading to the north shore. During our stay we enjoyed the Polynesian Festival, hiked a bit, toured the Na Aina Kai gardens, kayaked the Hanalei River, zip-lined at Princeville Ranch, biked the east shore path, shopped a few galleries, and went to the beach (snorkeled at Tunnels). The only word of caution I would provide is if you are someone who needs cool temps and air conditioning, the cottage does not have AC. During the days it was rather warm and humid, even with the slated windows all open and ceiling fans on---but cooled down later in the evenings. A general tip--we love coming to Hawaii in late April or in May---not too hot or too rainy. We would highly recommend this rental cottage to other couples seeking an affordable, quiet, comfortable location from which to explore the north shore.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for taking time and writing a review for us. Thank you so much for your recent stay and appreciate you sharing about your time on Kauai. Glad you had a good time and will have positive memories of Kauai. It is so helpful to others who are considering coming to our beautiful island. It was a pleasure to meet you both! Aloha!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Clean, Comfortable and Homey

    Clean, Comfortable and Homey

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/05/13
    • Review Submitted 05/13/13
    Pros: We were very pleased with the quality and cleanliness of the cottage - and were pleasantly surprised by the extra special touches we found upon arrival! Not only did Paula provide a lovely assortment of fresh fruit, homemade granola and banana bread, milk, yogurt and coffee, but everything inside the cottage was fresh, clean and top-notch! The kitchen was stocked with pots, pans, bowls, blender (everything you could possibly need) as well as books, a cribbage board, lanterns, beach supplies, battery-operated candles, nice towels, quality bedding, and far too many other touches to mention! The yard and flowers were beautiful! We loved the outdoor shower too - and the nifty gas barbecue! So many awesome touches!! Paula was a wonderful hostess and made us feel very welcome, yet did not intrude in any way! The cottage was cute, clean & comfortable and made us feel as though we were in the midst of a tropical jungle - which I suppose we were! Cons (not really that big of a deal, but thought I'd mention since this is a review after all): The property was slightly further from the beach than we thought (a car really is needed to get there), the cottage has Jalousie (or "slat") windows (every house seems to have them in Hawaii) but we felt they did not allow for enough privacy at times, and the bed was a bit too firm for our taste (we prefer cushy beds, especially when on vacation!) All in all, we were pleased and found our stay very pleasant and enjoyable!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you for your review, and comments. So happy you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure to meet you both! Aloha!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Trip of a LIfetime

    Trip of a LIfetime

    • Guest Becky Hodgson (Bozeman, MT)
    • Date of stay 04/17/13
    • Review Submitted 05/08/13
    We loved the cottage. It was very clean, comfortable and personal. We loved the quiet nights on the lanai, grilling fresh fish we bought at the Dolphin and listening to the geckos. Paula goes out of her way to help with anything you need and give you all the privacy you want. It was like having family or friends on island. We enjoyed the birds in the morning, walks on the road and the short trip to some of the best beaches. Since it is past Hanalei, the amount of traffic is pretty limited. When we arrived we felt very grateful to be staying in a more rural Hawaiian neighborhood than in a larger resort area. There are lovely gardens out your front door and banana trees in back. The cottage was accurately represented, it was clean, well maintained and smelled great. We will recommend this to our friends without reservation and feel it was one of if not the highlight of our trip to Kauai. Mahalo for all your hospitality.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for the glowing review. It is a pleasure to meet such awesome folks as yourself, and to share our little bit of Kauai with you. Hopefully you can bring your family with you next time! Best of everything to you both and I look forward to giving you a free night stay on your return! Aloha!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A sweet spot on the North Shore

    A sweet spot on the North Shore

    • Guest Lisa (Kihei, Hawaii)
    • Date of stay 03/29/13
    • Review Submitted 04/08/13
    A welcoming and serene cottage awaits down a meandering country road in Wainiha. Spacious with modern furnishings, it is a lovely place to rest and relax in. Paula is a friendly and gracious host. Her homemade granola and banana bread are a delightful treat. The cottage is a short drive away from Hanalei where some of the yummiest restaurants on the island are located (be sure to visit Postcards Cafe) and it's the perfect spot for exploring the exquisite beauty of the North Shore's beaches and hiking trails. Make sure to catch the sunset at Ke'e Beach. The only reason I can't give an excellent review is the bed was too hard for me. I made it more comfortable with extra blankets and throw pillows underneath the bottom sheet, but it was still very firm. Thank you, Paula for creating a lovely ohana and for letting me borrow your hair dryer.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Aloha Lisa, Thank you for your positive and honest review. I am so sorry the bed was not to your preference and wish you would of said something to me, as I could have provided a solution for you. My goal is to support my guest to the best of my ability, and cannot do that without feedback. The box spring and mattress were purchased recently, so what I can do is purchase a thicker (3 to 4 inch) mattress topper that can be added or removed as per the differing needs of my guest. There is also a Gortex cover that I use over the mattress to protect it, then a another padded mattress cover on top of that. I appreciate your feedback and honesty as it allows me to better serve my guest! Thank you! It was lovely to meet you and I hope to have you back again in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Honeymoon cottage for seniors

    Honeymoon cottage for seniors

    • Guest Be (Walnut Creek, CA, USA)
    • Date of stay 03/14/13
    • Review Submitted 03/30/13
    Staying at Paula's cottage was exactly what we expected because of the photos and reviews by others who had the luck to stay there too. Her little hidden paradise enchanted us, as well as her attention to details to make visitors feel at home. She gave us information on nearby hikes, where the farmers' markets were located, what to see and eat, and even loaned me a fantastic book on weaving with coconut fronds! Naturally, as soon as I returned home, I bought my own copy on Amazon. What really impressed us was the amount of food she had prepared for our first few days: granola, BIG bowl of fresh fruit, lots of yogurt, AND Brita filtered water. She even had a very good collection of seasoning, pots and pans, washing "stuff", etc. Paula is one very special person with a very special place to share with those lucky enough to know about it! Pass the word!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for taking the time and submitting a wonderful review. The best part of what I do is meeting such kind, friendly, and interesting people as yourself! The two of you fit that category for me :-) Your gift has been noticed and complimented on many times over. thank you! I treasure it and think of you fondly when I wear it! Please remember our returning guest get a free night stay! Mahalo once again! Aloha! Paula

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • great spot

    great spot

    • Guest mohawk (United States)
    • Date of stay 03/05/13
    • Review Submitted 03/22/13
    Nice, clean, affordable place in a great location. Very private, great outdoor deck and well stocked kitchen. Would definitely stay there again. Paula the owner is also a great hostess!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for your positive review, and your beautiful card with picture! So creative and I love it. Wanted to remind you that returning guest get a free night stay! Looking forward to having you back on this beautiful island of Kauai! Aloha!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A Lovely Home Away from Home

    A Lovely Home Away from Home

    • Guest Mel C.
    • Date of stay 02/24/13
    • Review Submitted 03/06/13
    Right off the bat I'll say I wish we could have stayed for 2 weeks instead of 1! It was just the right spot to relax and enjoy all that Kauai has to offer on the North Shore, which is lots. The beaches are close and you can walk to them, there is swimming, snorkeling and hiking nearby. Once you get your groceries you don't need to go back into the little town of Hanalei (but it's fun to!) you can relax at the cottage and just stay put. It's a quiet location with a backdrop of natural sounds. A river flowing, birds, insects, the occasional rooster and the wind. Paula provides you with yummy granola, banana bread and fruit. She has fruit trees! I know we'll be back some day, hopefully soon and for longer! For those wanting to surf go to Hanalei Bay where you can rent boards, have a lesson and there are waves for beginners as well an amazing place to swim, just a little busier than the beaches by the cottage. If you like the outdoors and appreciate nature you'll fall in love with the cottage and be very comfortable. Mahalo!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you for the wonderful review, and comments. We wished you could of stayed two weeks as well! Many of our guest who come here for 5 to 6 days the first time, come back for longer stays the next! The North Shore of Kauai has that ability! May your memories of Kauai and our North Shore Cottage keep you warm in the months ahead. Thank you! Paula

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Excellent place to stay!

    Excellent place to stay!

    • Guest Sarah (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 02/12/13
    • Review Submitted 04/03/13
    My husband and I stayed at Paula's beautiful cottage for the first part of our stay in Kaua'i when we visited in February. It was phenomenal and we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. First off, Paula's hospitality was such a comfort. Paula graciously gave us free reign to pick fresh oranges from her trees and herbs from her garden while we were at the cottage. Upon arrival Paula showed us around and we found a fresh fruit basket as well as homemade granola and banana bread!! Thanks again Paula! Paula also had available to us a plethora of guide books, maps, history of the island, restaurants and the best spots to do pretty much whatever your little heart desires to do. The back yard of the cottage is surrounded by tropical plants including banana trees, orange trees, bamboo and colorful leafy wonders that I only ever knew to live indoors. The patio out back made a cozy place for us to duck out of the hot sun or wait out a 3 minute rain shower. Paula also has an outdoor shower that my husband and I used to wash off beach sand. If you're lucky, you'll see a couple tiny lizards scoot out of sight upon entering the shower area. If you like them, you'll have to be tricky to catch a glimpse of the little boogers and if you don't like them...don't worry, they'll be gone before you know it. :) The cottage had plenty of room for us to spread out in with an open kitchen/eating area, living room with TV with a very comfortable couch, beautiful bathroom and bedroom where there is a small standing closet you can hang your clothes on. The location was perfect for what we were looking for! Paula lives on a secluded road on the North part of the island conveniently located to many wonderful beaches such as Hanalei Bay, Ke'e Beach and Tunnels Beach and the beautiful Na Pali Coast is just a hop skip and a jump away. We found great snorkeling conditions at Tunnels Beach. Paula was gracious enough to lend us snorkeling gear to use when we were at the cottage so we didn't have to rent our own. On her road there are lots of wild roosters and hens (as are all over the island) as well as a small free range farm housing boars, goats and chickens. This is literally free range, so watch out when you are driving. :) If, or should I say, when we visit Kaua'i again we will absolutely stay at Paula's cottage again and I would absolutely recommend it to friends.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Worth a Return Visit

    Worth a Return Visit

    • Guest David & Barb (Vancouver, Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/01/13
    • Review Submitted 03/03/13
    We had such a delightful time at our first visit last year that coming back was an easy decision. All the little things that Paula does to make guests feel welcome were again on display - homemade granola, banana bread, but mostly Paula herself. We feel so relaxed staying at her cottage, and again enjoyed the lush surroundings, and the peace and quiet of being just a bit out of the tourist way, though with easy access to the beaches and hiking. Waking to the sounds of birds, picking oranges from the tree in the yard, coffee on the front patio, the beauty of the North Shore all around us - we're daydreaming of our third visit already. Thanks, Paula, for all you do to make us feel welcome.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I so appreciate your positive feedback, also the time to post a review for us. It was lovely to not only have you back a second time, but to extend you a free nights stay! Your love,appreciation and kind words for this cottage means a lot!!! We've added a few new items to the cottage, so I guess you will have some surprises when you return to your wainiha home away from home! Mahalo nui, a hui hou, and a fond aloha!!!!!! Paula

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Home Away From Home

    Home Away From Home

    • Guest Melissa & Nate (WA)
    • Date of stay 01/24/13
    • Review Submitted 05/12/13
    It's been just over 3 months since our visit to Kauai and yet it feels like only yesterday. Our vacation just wouldn't have been the same without the wonderful home away from home comfort we were looking for and the chance to enjoy a slice of the local lifestyle that's often missed when staying at a resort. The cottage is located a few miles outside of Hanalei on a quiet road heading back into the valley with beautiful views of the mountains in the distance. Paula, the homeowner and on-site hostess was gracious and accommodating making it a priority to provide as much privacy or concierge as we needed including providing an organized binder full of maps, brochures and menus to guide our vacation experience and a wonderful welcome basket of homemade granola, fresh fruit, yogurts and coffee to ease us into our stay. The cottage was recently remodeled with all new upgrades and modern comforts and was impeccably clean. We enjoyed cooking many of our own meals from food we picked up at the local farmers market and when we weren't in the mood to cook, we hopped down to the favorite local hole-in-the-wall take out taco joint "Red Hot Mama's" or treated ourselves to dinner, drinks and sunset views at the Mediterranean Gourmet Restaurant less than 5 minutes from the cottage. The nearby beaches often seemed less crowded and great for lounging in the sun although depending on the surf, they were not always the most safe swimming beaches. Paula provided all the beach gear anyone would need to have a good time. My only regret was not having had taken advantage of the snorkeling gear, so now I suppose we have yet another excuse to visit again soon! To ensure that my perspective is well balanced, I will mention that currently the cottage is not equipped with a stove or microwave but is instead provided with 2 cook-top stoves and cooking pots and pans. It is a 15 minute drive into the nearest town of Hanalei for shopping and groceries and then another 5 minutes to a gas station. The cottage sits relatively close to the main home on the same property but again, Paula is very respectful of her renter's needs and we preferred a more neighborly experience visiting with her. Had we realized that the cottage was the perfect spot for our entire vacation stay, we would've booked earlier as it seems the reputation precedes it and maintains a tight booking calendar. We can't wait to return and look forward to booking a stay at the Kauai Valley Retreat again soon! A hui hou!

    Owner response: Thank you for taking the time and submitting a review for us. Sure wish I had the extra days available for your to have stayed longer, as it was fun having you both here. Glad you found red hot mamas! can you believe they pump out the burritos from that little place! Looking forward to having you back, and remember returning guest get a free night stay! A hui hou !

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Immaculate and Well appointed cozy cottage

    Immaculate and Well appointed cozy cottage

    • Guest Linda (Vancouver)
    • Date of stay 01/08/13
    • Review Submitted 01/23/13
    A big thank you to Paula for being such a wonderful host. She makes booking and payment process easy and everything is explained well. Her homemade granola is excellent as well as her banana bread. A big bowl of tropical fruits was also a nice welcome plus the beautiful orchid plant (one of my favorite flower) We have been to a lot of this kind of accommodation, this cottage topped it all. Super clean, well furnished and equipped with everything you may need to have a perfect vacation. My husband and I stayed for two weeks, we love to hike so this location is perfect since there are a lot of hiking trails nearby. The cottage is a short drive to the most beautiful beaches in Kauai, our favorite is Tunnels Beach, we would go there after breakfast, to get parking and also get to our favorite spot for swimming and wading. We saw a lot of turtles during our stay. When it was too rough to go in the water, we walk and run instead to get our daily exercise. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will highly recommend this cottage. Hope to be able to return soon. Aloha and Mahalo!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Mahalo for your stay, and the positive review! It was a pleasure to have you, and we are so glad you enjoyed all of what the North Shore of Kauai had to offer you! Sending you the granola recipe today as you requested. When you return we want you to know that all of our returning guest get a free night!!! All the best to you two!! Aloha Paula

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • The Cottage in the Jungle

    The Cottage in the Jungle

    • Guest Therayman (Riverside California)
    • Date of stay 01/01/13
    • Review Submitted 01/14/13
    Staying at this Cottage was a once in a lifetime experiance! It was everything stated in the ad and sooo much more. Very private and secluded, quite, relaxing and serene. Very comfotable clean and situated perfectly between some of the best snokeling on Island. Would stay again and recommend it highly to anyone looking for a special treat on the North Shore It is close to shopping and beaches but tucked away in tropical seclusion. short drive to the old town of Hanalei and Princeville This place is a must do if you don tlike staying in the typical resort

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for your recent stay and positive review! We are happy that you had a restful time and got to enjoy the awesome snorkeling we have up here on the North Shore Kauai! Wishing all the best!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • charming cottage and great location!

    charming cottage and great location!

    • Guest jeni (toledo, ohio)
    • Date of stay 11/18/12
    • Review Submitted 12/03/12
    we enjoyed our stay at hale manu's guest cottage. paula is a terrific hostess, affording us helpful suggestions and interesting information about the island. the breakfast treats were the perfect welcome. we loved the north shore and hope to be back again soon!

    Owner response: Thank you so much for the positive review. Also want to thank you for sharing your sounds from the conch shell. that was so special. I look forward to your return and if you decide to stay with us again you will get a free nights stay! Aloha!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Sweet Hawaiian Cottage

    Sweet Hawaiian Cottage

    • Guest Cookie (Oregon)
    • Date of stay 09/22/12
    • Review Submitted 10/14/12
    Everything in this cottage is high quality. It’s a sweet a home with Hawaiian character in a very pretty river valley. You get privacy, despite being in a very cool old Hawaiian neighborhood. Paula ,The hostess, is wonderful to work with & she is very accommodating . I Loved the banana tree right out the window and the orchids blooming on the tree trunks. The grounds are beautiful. Full of tropical flowers and the sound of the bamboo forest with a breeze blowing through. The beach equipment Was great. The nearby beaches were perfect. The lushness of the North Shore jungle was very fun to experience. A little rain each day kept us entertained searching for rainbows.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for your recent stay and positive review. It is so helpful for those contemplating a stay here to hear of first hand experiences, and we appreciate you taking the time to share yours! We hope your memories of Kauai will bring you lots of warm thoughts through the coming winter months. Thank you again Aloha!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Paradise

    Paradise

    • Guest CD (California)
    • Date of stay 08/23/12
    • Review Submitted 09/10/12
    This wonderful vacation spot exceeded my expectations. My wife, 11 year old son and I stayed for one week, and were perfectly comfortable in this clean little cottage with everything we needed. Very remote feeling (in a good way) while being close to very desirable destinations (Tunnels Beach, Hanalei, etc). Plus, Paula is a wonderful, friendly host. One of our favorite vacations ever! We hope to return.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for your stay and business. So happy you had a good vacation, with memories that will last you a lifetime! Hope you got your underwater camera that I sent back to you, and can enjoy your snorkel pictures. Aloha!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Quiet and Private Retreat

    Quiet and Private Retreat

    • Guest Bryan and Kellee (Yakima, WA)
    • Date of stay 07/29/12
    • Review Submitted 08/08/12
    Thank you very much for our stay in this cottage! We enjoyed the flowers from your yard the entire week, as well as the delicious fruits and home-made granola. Those touches really made a nice difference. The property was exactly as described. Based on what you told us we were able to make grocery plans that worked great for breakfasts and lunches, as well as other treats and snacks. The cottage was clean and well maintained. The furnishings were just right. We were looking for an experience that we couldn't get at a resort or condo and this was absolutely perfect! We hope to stay with you again in the future. We hit Tunnels or neighboring beaches every day. Very convenient. We also hit Hanalei to shop or eat whenever we wanted. One day we traveled down to Kapaa for a day and while we had a great time at the Smith Family Luau and Gardens, we couldn't wait to get back up to the scenic North Shore area. The beaches were outstanding. Thank you for having snorkel and beach 'stuff' for us to use as that made it even more fun. Thank you for making our vacation memorable!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your comments, as it helps future guest :-) We hope your memories of Kauai last a lifetime, and look forward to you return!! It was a pleasure to meet you both :-) Aloha

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • First Kauai Visit

    First Kauai Visit

    • Guest Montana Girl (Bellingham, Wa)
    • Date of stay 07/16/12
    • Review Submitted 08/19/12
    We had a wonderful vacation! The house was very close to our favorite beach for snorkling, Tunnels Beach, only 10 minutes away. It was great to be at the beach early 8:30-noon, and then come back to the house for showers and lunch and then off to see some other spectacular sights of Kauai. The house was clean, convenient and just right. It was great to be able to be on the quiet side of the island where the pace is slower, where we could hear the birds singing every morning & have time at the beach & then go to the busier parts of the island to see the more popular attractions. We loved exploring all day and then coming home to the peace and quiet of the house. If we visit Kauai again, we would definitely stay at the house.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for your stay and business, and also for the amazing care package you sent me from the Northwest :-) The walnuts will be used for the homemade granola and baked goods that I make for our guest. One of your sons told me it was the best vacation he has had ever, that was my paycheck :-) Aloha Nui Loa!!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Absolutely the best experience. If you want real Kauai, then this is your spot!!!

    Absolutely the best experience. If you want real Kauai, then this is your spot!!!

    • Guest two travelers in life (San Francisco Bay Area)
    • Date of stay 07/04/12
    • Review Submitted 07/29/12
    I have to say that my fiance and myself travel to Kauai at least once a year. We have done the Princeville thing....too plastic. That is why I have to say when trying to find a location that felt like a real island adventure, rather than a condo, Paula's North Shore Cottage fit the bill perfectly. The Cottage was wonderful! Very VERY clean and just the right size for a couple looking to relax and be close to what makes Kauai the Garden Island. The hardwood floors are beautiful and the open atmosphere of the living room and kitchen does not have the claustrophobic small feeling that you can get with some smaller rentals. The kitchen area has all you need to make the best food. Not to mention that Paula makes killer banana bread and granola. The fresh fruit was some of the best we tasted while on the island. All in all we would rate our stay as magical. Rain or shine, it was a paradise that we are very happy to be able to be apart of. We will be back. Thank you so much Paula. You are a wonderful host and person. Your hard work really does shine through in the Cottage. Pure Aloha! Mahalo, Branden and Kristen

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for your positive review, and stay/business. There are so many people who look at this site who have never been to Kauai, so your review can give then a glimpse into what a stay on this beautiful North Shore is like! I just had a guest tell me that next time they will not spend half their time on the south side, and only stay on the North Shore! I understand how they feel!! You will be happy to know that we give our returning guest a free night stay. Hope to see you again! Aloha!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beyond All Expectations

    Beyond All Expectations

    • Guest Jenny (Grayson Georgia)
    • Date of stay 06/01/12
    • Review Submitted 06/19/12
    My husband and I traveled to Kauai on June 1, 2012 and stayed in this adorable cottage for 8 nights. It was our first trip to Hawaii. We had a beach wedding on Saturday and then had the rest of the week to honeymoon. We actually picked flowers from the yard to put in my hair for the wedding. Thank you, Paula! The cottage was absolutely perfect for us. It was in a great location as it was near the wonderful beaches on the North Shore and just a short drive to Hanalei. We did not want to be in a resort atmosphere-we wanted a simple Hawaiian paradise and we got that at this location. The cottage was also super clean and well maintained. The snorkeling gear, cooler, and beach chairs which were provided really came in handy for our days at the beach. Paula, the owner, was amazing. Loved the granola, yogurt, muffins, and fruit she provided during our stay as well as the wealth of information she gave us about the island and the culture there. We were able to cook whatever we wanted including grilling for dinner, which was nice after a long day of swimming and snorkeling at the beach. Tunnels Beach, where we married, was our favorite beach. It was just a short drive from the cottage. The snorkeling there is amazing. We highly recommend this location for those looking for simple and authentic accommodations. We just couldn't have asked for a better place to spend our honeymoon!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Awww Thank you so much!! It feels so awesome, and we are so grateful to be able to provide a place where people can start their married lives together. It is a special moment and a privilege to support you in yours!! Looking forward to hopefully meeting your family ;-) Aloha!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect spot and host!

    Perfect spot and host!

    • Guest Kevin (SAN LEANDRO, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/24/12
    • Review Submitted 06/01/12
    This place was perfect for us on our recent trip to kauai. The location is excellent if you are planning on spending most of your time on the north shore. 10 minutes tops to many great beaches, Lumahai and Ke'e were our favorites. 10 minutes to hiking, the Na Pali trailhead is right down the highway. 15 minutes to Hanalei town for great eating and shopping, Hanalei Pizza is great. Plenty around to keep you busy or just relax. The house is more of a jungle like setting than beach. The house itself is good size, felt like home right away. It was my wife and I and our 20 month old, who slept in a crib in the bedroom with us (rented the crib from Kauai Baby Gear, they are great and cheap). The kitchen is well stocked, there is a flatscreen and wifi if you can't unplug completely, outdoor shower with hot water for rinsing off after the beach or just showering outside. What made our stay perfect was Paula, the owner, she is a fantastic host. She had homemade granola and fresh fruit for us when we arrived so we would have some breakfast in the morning, complete with nondairy options for my vegan wife. She provided us with beach toys for our son, snorkel equipment, boogie boards, and tons of information and suggestions for activities. The house is located right next to their main house, but you never really notice it, and Paula makes it a point to be completely unobtrusive. It was a great trip that was made even better by Paula and her hospitality.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Aloha!, Thank you for the positive review. It is so very helpful to those who are thinking of staying in the cottage to hear a personal experience. The crib and highchair was retrieved. A great service to those traveling with Children. So glad you got to enjoy the beauty and convenience of Kee and Lumahai. The best part of having a cottage rental is meeting the fabulous people and their sweet families who stay here. You make my work here a joy and pleasure. Please remember we give our returning guest a free night if you ever want to return to Kauai. Best of everything to you and your family and thank you again!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Perfect place explore the beautiful north shore

    Perfect place explore the beautiful north shore

    • Guest Clemence (France)
    • Date of stay 04/11/12
    • Review Submitted 04/27/12
    I stayed 5 nights in Paula's cottage with my husband and my 20 months old son, and honestly, we sould have stayed longer. The place is perfectly located, at the very end of the road, away fron the crowd in a beautiful and lush vegetation. It is minutes away from the breathtaking well known Kalalau trail, and from beautiful (and desert) beaches too. The cottage is very confortable, and my better on my opinion than on the pictures. It has everything you might need : snorkeling gear, beach gear, BBQ .... we ate most of the meals at the cottage with fresh fruits and veggies shopped at the local farmers market. This is a great place, not to mention the warm welcome from Paula, with fresh flowers, fruits, home made banana bread and granola. Paula was very helpful and was there to answer all of our questions.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for the feedback. It is really helpful for those who are considering staying here. It was such a joy and pleasure to have your family enjoy this property, and I too wish you could of stayed longer! We would love to offer you a free night stay, if you choose to return to our little retreat and the beautiful North Shore of Kauai! All the best to you and your beautiful Family. Aloha Paula!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • A couple of hard working, ready for a break from Northwest rain and chill winter reality folks

    A couple of hard working, ready for a break from Northwest rain and chill winter reality folks

    • Guest Dmcmee and jim too (Bellingham, WA)
    • Date of stay 02/23/12
    • Review Submitted 03/28/12
    My husband and I were looking for a hideout, both close enough to amenities (good food, beaches, hikes) and far enough away from feeling flooded by tourism Hawaii style, and we found it in this little cottage up a great walking road! The place is recently overhauled with new everything (no stove but we love to cook and were easily able to create tasty meals and morning coffee/tea),wood floors, and an outside sitting spot with yard and garden. The road the cottage is on was great for morning and evening walks to see waterfalls and listen to the island sounds, and the neighborhood feel is mellow. Hanalei, good food, beaches, and virtually all Hawaii style fun activities are only a few minutes away by car. The owners live next door but gave us total privacy while willing to help out and be available if needed, making things easy. We definitely hope to be back!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Aloha! Thank you for the positive feedback on your recent stay. It is greatly appreciated and will be a big help to our future guest! As soon as the county of Kauai will allow us a full size range, we will make that addition. One of our policies is we give a free night to our returning guest as a token of our Thanks and appreciation! Please keep that in mind as you plan your return to Kauai! It was a pleasure to have you fill the ohana with such love. Happy you had a positive experience with our little Hideaway. Aloha Paula

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Kauai Canyon Hideaway

    Kauai Canyon Hideaway

    • Guest David & Barb (Vancouver, Canada)
    • Date of stay 01/27/12
    • Review Submitted 02/12/12
    Our stay here was our first trip to the Hawaiian Islands. We were keen to see the real Hawaii – the land, forests, birds and people – but not so keen on the usual manicured resort scene. This was the perfect place for us, and a very convenient base camp for exploring the north side of Kauai. Not being right on the ocean (though just a mere 0.6km away) was a very small price to pay for the benefits of feeling we connected with the heart of the area. Paula is a delightful hostess, and the cottage itself, with the surrounding gardens and forest, was a clean, spacious, beautiful and peaceful place to stay. We found ourselves lingering on the front porch in the mornings, and returned usually in the afternoons after our daily dose of sun and water because it was such a pleasant place to just hang out. We're already talking about our next trip, and we would definitely stay at KVR again. Thanks, Paula!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Aloha David, Thank you for the positive review. We do appreciate it! One of our policies is we give a free night to our returning guest as a token of our Thanks and appreciation! Please keep that in mind as you plan your return to Kauai! It was a pleasure to meet you and Barbara, and I am so happy you had a positive experience with our little Hideaway. Aloha Paula

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Property 272565

    Property 272565

    • Guest Terry (Aspen, Colorado)
    • Date of stay 01/19/12
    • Review Submitted 01/28/12
    This darling cottage went beyond our expectations. We so enjoyed our stay there and would recommend this way above any hotel experience. It was exceptionally clean and had everything you would possibly need. We hiked the Napali coast, went to many beaches and had a blast. Coming back to this place was so peaceful and relaxing. Paula was so nice to talk with us and give us some helpful tips while there. We did not want to leave this place! Exceptional!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Aloha Terry, Thank you for the positive feedback. We do appreciate it! As a token of our appreciation we would like to give you a free night upon your return as a token of our Thanks and appreciation! It was a pleasure to meet you as well! Hope your homecoming was a good one. Aloha Paula

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • A little slice of heaven

    A little slice of heaven

    • Guest Lisa (sekiu,wa)
    • Date of stay 01/02/12
    • Review Submitted 05/07/12
    My husband & I plus our two daughters stayed in the cottage, It is a very sweet and comfortable cottage. I felt right at home as soon as I walked through the door..The cotttage is very clean and the bed was real cozy..We just loved our stay and plan to go back again. The river is about 100 yards away and there are 3 wonderful beaches (maybe more) within 5 to 10 minutes away.(by car) It is a very magical place to stay. You have a deck outside to have your morning coffee or just relax and read a book. I would recommend it to all. The hostest is simply wonderful, and a very good cook.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Our 6 week stay was Wonderful!

    Our 6 week stay was Wonderful!

    • Guest Ronnie (Illinois)
    • Date of stay 06/15/11
    • Review Submitted 12/13/11
    Our 6-week stay was wonderful. Thank you so much Paula, for all those little extras that you did to make us comfortable. One couldn''''t ask for a better location ... quiet and close to the great beaches of the northern part of the island. Accommodations were very clean and comfortable and I would definitely stay there again. Mahalo!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Ronnie. So happy you had a chance to spend a good amount of time on the North Shore of Kauai , and have easy access to your Ohana. It was a pleasure having you. Aloha!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Previous reviews

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Previous reviews

    • Guest Owner
    • Date of stay 06/01/11
    • Review Submitted 07/27/11
    All reviews written prior to 6/1/11 were written for the main house on the property. The one bedroom one bath cottage with kitchen is what is available currently, and all reviews submitted after 6/1/11 will be for the cottage. We are excited to offer this clean, efficient and affordable North Shore accommodation. Mahalo!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • value and location we were looking for

    value and location we were looking for

    • Guest Mark (Washington)
    • Date of stay 01/06/11
    • Review Submitted 01/10/11
    Great place to stay. Very comfortable, kitchen had everything we needed to cook, and the location was close to restuarants when we wanted someone to cook for us. This property is in the middle of the beautiful and peaceful wainiha valley and is close to all the best beaches on the North Shore. We are definately going to return as the price is a great value

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely North Shore Neighborhood Retreat

    Lovely North Shore Neighborhood Retreat

    • Guest Elizabeth B (Bellingham, WA)
    • Date of stay 10/09/10
    • Review Submitted 11/03/10
    This is a wonderful house and yard in the middle of a locals-type neighborhood, just a short drive to the beaches of the northshore, the Na Pali coast trail and Hanalei town. Comfortable beds, well-stocked kitchen and great yard for playing or hanging out. The property is very clean and well-maintained, suitable for a family (very kid-friendly!) , a smaller extended family, a couple or two, or anyone seeking an old-hawaii type visit to Kauai's north shore. Paula takes very good care of her guests! Enjoy!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Heather Cash (Bellingham, WA)
    • Date of stay 05/24/10
    • Review Submitted 05/24/10
    Our first visit to Kauai was the best experience ever! The house is so spacious and spectacular, and the tropical grounds are amazing! My kids were busy playing in the yard if we were not at the beach playing in the waves. The North shore is the best part of the island, if not the best place on earth! And you could not ask for a better hostess than Paula! We cannot wait to go back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Kerry G
    • Date of stay 05/14/10
    • Review Submitted 09/25/10
    Kerry says... Wonderful stay! The north shore of Kauai - WOW! Just stay there and visit the beaches and the little towns. Shops and restaurants, super good deals on snorkeling and souvenirs. My bed was great, slept perfect! Washer and dryer, dishwasher and cooking all here for you! Master suite and two bedrooms with a big bathroom downstairs, phone and cable. Just like home, with the best beaches in the world about a mile down the road. Loved our stay and will go again the 1st chance we get. Did not miss the hotel experience not one bit!! Super people. Love you guys! Mahalo! p.s. If the beauty makes you cry, its the perfect reaction. The mountains and trees, swim in the river as it meets the sea, the flowers and tradition, its magic.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest T&B
    • Date of stay 02/12/10
    • Review Submitted 08/19/10
    Hi Paula, We are finally getting around to writing a review for you. My husband and I decided to spend our honeymoon in Kauai in February 2010 and could not have found a more relaxing place to stay. The house is nestled in the secluded jungle of the Northwest shore and really gives you a sense of "old Hawaii" living. We enjoyed the peaceful surroundings and the ability to really get away from it all. The house has clean and fully equipped; we did not want for anything. Paula was a wonderfully gracious, generous and attentive host. We could not have asked for a better honeymoon! Sorry for the delay in getting this out to you, Paula. Best wishes, T & B

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest peter hanson (bellingham, wa)
    • Date of stay 02/11/10
    • Review Submitted 02/11/10
    We discovered that Kauai is the place to go and the north shore is the best area on the islands we've discovered so far. This place is a perfect location and we were very content there for a great week. My wife loved the deep bathtub, sometimes she took two baths a day! ANd the hospitality in the beautiful house was terrific. WE highly recommend this spot. TREAT YOURSELF!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest virginia hostetter (bellingham, wa)
    • Date of stay 02/11/10
    • Review Submitted 02/11/10
    Paula was the best hostess EVER! Our first experience in Kauai and we couldn't have asked for a better location. Generous, organic fruit, breads, coffee (breakfast faire)+++ and the house was impeccable, comfortable, spacious and had good privacy. So close to all the wonders of the north shore, WE LOVED every minute of our stay .

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Rollings
    • Date of stay 01/03/10
    • Review Submitted 01/02/10
    What a delight! Close and convienent to our favorite North Shore beaches, and favorite hiking trail (Napali). Loved the kitchen, well stocked, and the tub was fantastic. Our only complaint is we did not stay longer! See you again next year

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Incredibly beautiful setting in Kauai

    Incredibly beautiful setting in Kauai

    • Guest Sondie (Benbrook, Texas)
    • Date of stay 09/04/09
    • Review Submitted 09/22/10
    Lush setting away from crowds and traffic. Paula welcomed us with a smile and all the comforts of home. Spotless, roomy home surrounded by lush tropical vegetation as well as fruit trees. Double rainbow our first night! Beds were very comfortable and this home had everything we needed and wanted. Thank you for the memories

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Sondie for your review. It was a pleasure having you and your family and friend here. That double rainbow was the best one I have seen yet! Lindon and I hope you have many more pleasant Hawaiian memories to come. Aloha!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]