Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Front of Firelight Cottage

Cozy Mountain Setting 15 Minutes to Asheville and Biltmore [#272656] | View Property

Asheville
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 8)
$152 - $161/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (109)

Sort by:
  • It Felt Like Home Away From Home

    Guest comment entered by owner

    It Felt Like Home Away From Home

    • Guest Brittany, Fran, Brooke & friends, Georgia Gals
    • Date of stay 03/14/14
    • Review Submitted 04/01/14
    We had a wonderful time for my bachelorette party at your cabin. It felt like home away from home. Loved all your signs on the walls too! Cant wait to visit again along with another trip to the Biltmore House!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Loved the Cottage!

    Loved the Cottage!

    • Guest Gina and Graham (Knoxville, Tn )
    • Date of stay 03/10/14
    • Review Submitted 04/03/14
    We decided to take a last minute getaway to Asheville last month and had a great time. Firelight cottage was very cozy, clean, warm and welcoming. We were very close to Black Mountain as well and ended up eating breakfast (try Louise’s Kitchen) there with lunch and dinner in Asheville (Early Girl Restaurant and Chai Pani) . We liked coming back to that great hot tub after a day of sightseeing. We hope to be back with more family sometime during the summer.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: We appreciate your 5 star review. We always want folks to love the cottage, the area and the convenience of the location of the cottage. The restaurants that you mentioned are some of our favorites as well. This area has so many excellent places to dine, shop and places to see and experience. The mountains and its people have a certain charm just like Firelight Cottage. Please come back any time you can.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • We had the best week!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We had the best week!

    • Guest Lady Gnar Shredders, Columbus, Ohio
    • Date of stay 03/04/14
    • Review Submitted 03/16/14
    We had the best week cycling this awesome terrain here out of Black Mountain. Really loved the cottage and the location. Hope to be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We loved this comfty little cabin!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We loved this comfty little cabin!

    • Guest Becka -The Bride, Layla, Hope, Brittany & Mary
    • Date of stay 02/28/14
    • Review Submitted 03/16/14
    We came down to spend a bachelorette getaway at the Biltmore Estate. We loved this comfy little cabin and all its quirks. We also enjoyed reading all the signs and the motivational quotes. We really enjoyed everything here! God Bless.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We had a great time at Firelight

    We had a great time at Firelight

    • Guest BB
    • Date of stay 02/24/14
    • Review Submitted 03/03/14
    We had a great time at Firelight during our recent stay. Our family stayed here last summer and we all came back hoping to see and enjoy some snow in the mountains. Unfortunately we did not get any snow but still had a fun time visiting the Biltmore and other area attractions. We like the quaintness of Firelight and its close location to both Black Mountain and Asheville. Will try and come back again later in the year if we get the chance.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers

    Owner response: we are so pleased that you had a great time .... we are sorry about the lack of snow though. Cold, winter temperatures and snow varies here ...sometimes it is quite pleasant and other times cold and snowy. But it seems that neither one last too long. Some years we don't even get snow! A lot of folks don't even know about Black Mountain and with our location you get quick and easy access to both Black Mountain and Asheville. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you soon. P.S. Spring at the Biltmore is amazing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Very Enjoyable Stay!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Very Enjoyable Stay!

    • Guest Todd & Kristen and family, Atlanta
    • Date of stay 02/14/14
    • Review Submitted 02/17/14
    Very Enjoyable Stay! Even with all the snow. We would really enjoy coming back in warmer weather to enjoy more of the great outdoors and cozy accommodations.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Stay!!

    Amazing Stay!!

    • Guest Amy H.
    • Date of stay 02/11/14
    • Review Submitted 02/15/14
    We had a great time at Firelight Cottage. The weather was very snowy and we had to stay in for day because of all the snow, but the kids loved it! The cottage was very cozy and clean we enjoyed the gas fireplace in the living room while watching the Winter Olympics. The owners were very helpful in talking to us about the weather and road conditions which we really appreciated. The mountains with all the snow were just beautiful. We will back again this summer. Butch & Amy Holloway. Fla

    Owner response: We are glad you a great time enjoying the mountain snow even though you had to stay in for a day. It was a big storm! Folks up here in the mountains usually take a day or two off with a big snow and go play outside. Look forward to seeing you in the summer.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Misleading

    Misleading

    • Guest Pam (Houston Texas)
    • Date of stay 01/30/14
    • Review Submitted 02/08/14
    Very disapointed. Because this wasn a Super Bowel family reunion, the most important thing for a rental was the ability to get up the driveway incase of snow. Before I rented, they reassured us there would be no problem. Of course it snowed and it was after dark, we couldn't get to the house with the snow. When we called the owners to try to find a nearby motel, he asked if we didnt just want to carry our stuff up the hill to house. I was upset and told him we were in our mid sixties and couldn't carry it up. We backed out almost sliding into a tree. We went out to eat and decided to try again. With much peril, we made it to house. The front porch was very dark without a working light, so we used our cell phones for light to unlock the key box. The house did have a unique character of a small trailer with many rooms tacked on all at different levels! If it were clean, we would have been fine with it but the infestation of ants in the bathroom sink coming out all over our toothbrushes and in the kitchen was awful. There was food particles and and bur carcasses in the silverware drawers and the oven storage bin. The owners were very helpful when asked about restaurants and directions. I could not recommend anyone stay there until it is better cleaned and fumigated.

    Recommended for: Sightseeing

    Owner response: We are sorry that this guest felt mislead. We tell all our customers that winter in the mountains is often unpredictable and that depending on the weather you may need a 4 wheel drive vehicle to reach the cottage. At other times, especially if there is ice, guests may have to park further down the road and walk up to the cottage (about 500 feet). We explain this to everyone booking in winter. We truly don’t understand why this guest did not hear or understand this issue around road conditions in the mountains during winter. We inform all our guests to call us with any issues or concerns as soon they become aware of them. While we did communicate with these guests by phone and text throughout their stay in regards to places to eat and visit they never once voiced any concerns about ants or food particles. Our guests comfort is very important to us and we would have immediately addressed these issues if we were told about them. In regards to the ants, we do use a pest control company that comes on a monthly basis. We are having an unusually cold winter this year in the mountains and sometimes sugar ants will be driven in by the cold irregardless of pesticides that have been sprayed. Our pest control company has been made aware of this issue and appropriate steps have been taken. We are sorry that this guest was not happy with their stay and really wish they would have communicated with us about their concerns. Other guests staying at Firelight prior to their stay have been very happy with the accommodations as seen by the 5 star reviews.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Firelight was quite enjoyable and relaxing.

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Firelight was quite enjoyable and relaxing.

    • Guest E&C family, Columbia, SC
    • Date of stay 01/24/14
    • Review Submitted 02/12/14
    Firelight was quite enjoyable and relaxing. All the little sayings made us laugh. The hot tub was a little slice of heaven. We hope to come back and stay longer in a different season. My teenage children even enjoyed it and requested to come back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • It was a great girls weekend!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    It was a great girls weekend!

    • Guest Annie, Gracie, Hannah, Megan & Gwen, Greenville,SC
    • Date of stay 01/17/14
    • Review Submitted 02/12/14
    We loved our stay. The cottage was very cozy and charming. It was a great girls weekend! We will totally have to come back in the summer. Thanks again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Location- had everything we could want

    Great Location- had everything we could want

    • Guest Brittany R.
    • Date of stay 01/17/14
    • Review Submitted 01/22/14
    We had an amazing time at The Firelight Cottage. 8 of us traveled from Atlanta for a girls weekend. The cottage was just as described and slept 8 of us very comfortably! The cottage was the perfect combination of seclusion but close enough to Downtown Asheville to venture into town for the day. We will be back! Thanks for everything!

    Recommended for: Girls getaway

    Owner response: thank you so much for the great review....we want everyone to have the experience you had and we hope you come back real soon. you guys were the perfect guests as well.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Loved the fireplace and hot tub!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Loved the fireplace and hot tub!

    • Guest The D Family
    • Date of stay 12/27/13
    • Review Submitted 02/12/14
    Thank you for having us. We really liked the fact that the cabin was in such a great area in the mountains. Loved the fireplace and hot tub. We are coming from Chapel Hill, NC.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We loved our stay at cozy Firelight Cottage!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We loved our stay at cozy Firelight Cottage!

    • Guest The G family, Chicago
    • Date of stay 12/21/13
    • Review Submitted 02/12/14
    Merry Christmas. We loved our stay at cozy Firelight Cottage! Mom, dad and three of our 20 something sons drove down from Chicago to spend the holiday with our fourth son and wide who live in Asheville. The cottage was charming and clean and everyone really enjoyed the hot tub. Thanks a bunch.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The cottage was so cozy and clean.

    Guest comment entered by owner

    The cottage was so cozy and clean.

    • Guest M & G Families
    • Date of stay 12/15/13
    • Review Submitted 02/12/14
    Couples get away. This cabin is so full of character with leaning floors and short ceilings. Overall we had a really relaxing time and the cottage was so cozy and clean. It was a fun time while it lasted by we are ready to get back to sunny Charleston. Toodles.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The cottage was perfect for us, warm and inviting

    Guest comment entered by owner

    The cottage was perfect for us, warm and inviting

    • Guest Kati, Page, Jessica, Shelly and Jennifer the bride
    • Date of stay 12/12/13
    • Review Submitted 02/12/14
    Friends from North Carolina, Maryland, Virginia and Georgia gathered to have a girls weekend. We had many laughs, lots of drinks and enjoyed our celebration. The cottage was perfect for us warm, inviting and really cozy. Thanks for a wonderful time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Thanks for the great stay!

    Thanks for the great stay!

    • Guest Kara T. (Athens, GA)
    • Date of stay 12/06/13
    • Review Submitted 12/17/13
    We had an excellent time! Bill and Marilyn made sure we were well taken care of and the cabin was very cozy. I would definitely recommend this rental to others.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We love customers like yourselves. We hope you come back and see us again real soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Hope everyone enjoys this place as much as we have

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Hope everyone enjoys this place as much as we have

    • Guest The M & B Families
    • Date of stay 10/24/13
    • Review Submitted 11/05/13
    Hello Friends. My name is MM traveling with my boyfriend and his parents to a family reunion here in North Carolina. My first time in this lovely state. We came from Southern CA with my boyfriends parents from Denver. I was a bit startled by the cold weather but being from LA I am not really use to the cold. This place is an adorable cottage to catch up with the family and just relax. Hope everyone enjoys it as much as we have!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Felt like home!

    Felt like home!

    • Guest Maria R.
    • Date of stay 10/17/13
    • Review Submitted 11/22/13
    My book club friends and I spent several nights in the Firelight Cottage. The kitchen was well stocked and we made a meal of items from the Farmers Market in Black Mountain. Our days were spent exploring Black Mountain and Asheville and evenings were spent gathered around the fireplace in the living room. As we were packing up to leave we all agreed that the next time we stay at the Firelight Cottage we want more "porch time." We will return!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for reminding me about how great that porch is. It is made for sitting around with friends and family rocking and talking. Black Mountain is such a great little town filled with shops and food options and being only 5 minutes away it sure is convenient. We are so glad you enjoyed the cottage and the area. Hope to see you soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Experience! Great Value!

    Great Experience! Great Value!

    • Guest Lisa C. (Murfreesboro)
    • Date of stay 10/11/13
    • Review Submitted 10/19/13
    My family of 4 recently stayed at the Firelight Cottage. This was our first experience with VRBO so we weren't sure what to expect. The pictures are 100% accurate so no surprises! It is a quaint, rustic cottage but very comfortable. The location is perfect for a quick drive to downtown Asheville. The owners are easily reached and responded quickly to a hot tub question. We will definitely plan another stay with these owners!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We hope you come back every chance you get...if you like rustic, roomy cottage in the woods with a great location...you will like this cottage...thanks for choosing our cottage.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Mountain Home!

    Mountain Home!

    • Guest Mike H. (Fayetteville, NC)
    • Date of stay 09/20/13
    • Review Submitted 09/25/13
    Felt like being in my own mountain home. My kids didn't want to leave, nor did I. We will be definitely coming back for a longer stay!!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: So happy to hear that you and your family will be coming back. We will be ready and waiting for your return. This mountain home has much to offer in charm and convenience. It is a wonderful family home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We all had a wonderful time at your lovely cabin.

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We all had a wonderful time at your lovely cabin.

    • Guest The H Family, Fayetteville, NC
    • Date of stay 09/20/13
    • Review Submitted 09/24/13
    We all had a wonderful time at your lovely cabin. Thank you for tips on where to go and for sharing your cute cabin with us.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The front porch and hot tub were great!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    The front porch and hot tub were great!

    • Guest The "S" Family , Columbia, SC
    • Date of stay 09/11/13
    • Review Submitted 09/24/13
    Thank you for sharing your cabin with us. The front porch and hot tub were great! We also enjoyed the comfy beds. We ate some great places including the Madison Inn and Louise’s Kitchen, highly recommended! Hope to come back year if we get the chance.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Had a great time staying at this charming cabin

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Had a great time staying at this charming cabin

    • Guest Ron and Betsy, High Point, NC
    • Date of stay 09/06/13
    • Review Submitted 09/24/13
    Had a great time staying at this charming cabin and exploring the area. We were only here for a couple of nights and now know we will stay longer next time. Cant wait to come back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • This house was just the right size and comfort.

    Guest comment entered by owner

    This house was just the right size and comfort.

    • Guest Ann C. , Savannah, Ga
    • Date of stay 08/25/13
    • Review Submitted 09/03/13
    We had a wonderful time. This house was just the right size and comfort. The little signs all around the house were so interesting to read. The beds were perfect! Thank you for an amazing experience in Black Mountain and Asheville

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Everyone had a great time!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Everyone had a great time!

    • Guest Megan S and family
    • Date of stay 08/20/13
    • Review Submitted 09/03/13
    Thanks so much for a wonderful place to hold our family together. Everyone had a great time enjoying the porch, hot tub and the great restaurants in Black Mountain. We highly recommend the Morning Glory Café and the Black Mountain Bistro. The Madison Inn also is a top notch place. After all the partying and eating we all sleep great on the very comfy beds. Hope to be back next year again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We had a great time in this relaxing environment.

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We had a great time in this relaxing environment.

    • Guest Leslie M. future Leslie K.
    • Date of stay 08/16/13
    • Review Submitted 09/03/13
    This was my bachelorette part weekend and what a perfect little home for it! We had a great time in this relaxing and cozy environment. Thank you so much!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The cottage was very relaxing.Hope to return soon!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    The cottage was very relaxing.Hope to return soon!

    • Guest Peggy and Ed - Iowa
    • Date of stay 08/14/13
    • Review Submitted 08/16/13
    Our visit to the area was way too short…. The cottage was very relaxing …. We hope to return soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful area

    Beautiful area

    • Guest Jan C. (Des Moines, IA)
    • Date of stay 08/11/13
    • Review Submitted 08/23/13
    We really enjoyed our time in the area, but it was too short. The house was great and had everything we needed. Only able to enjoy the hot tub one night, too tired the rest of the time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Thank you! We really enjoyed our stay!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thank you! We really enjoyed our stay!

    • Guest Tony, Kim, Kristie, Chelsea, and Kyle
    • Date of stay 08/11/13
    • Review Submitted 08/16/13
    Thank you! We really enjoyed our stay!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Your cottage was a perfect ”home”!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Your cottage was a perfect ”home”!

    • Guest Mark, Kathy, John and Hap
    • Date of stay 08/04/13
    • Review Submitted 08/16/13
    Thank you again! Your cottage was a perfect ”home” ! Gods' Blessings.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Thanks for a great weekend!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thanks for a great weekend!

    • Guest Carolyn, Jon and friends - Raleigh, NC
    • Date of stay 07/28/13
    • Review Submitted 07/29/13
    Thanks for a great weekend! We got a group of friends together for what may be the last Bele Chere. This house was icing on the cake!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Time!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Great Time!

    • Guest The "M" family, Mount Olive, NC
    • Date of stay 07/21/13
    • Review Submitted 07/29/13
    We spent our sons’ Lucas birthday this weekend. Great Time! We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to our next trip to Black Mountain!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We had a great time in the cottage.

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We had a great time in the cottage.

    • Guest The "G" Family, Richmond, Va.
    • Date of stay 07/14/13
    • Review Submitted 07/29/13
    We had a great time in the cottage over the past several days. We had to dodge a lot of raindrops but we still had fun enjoying the beautiful scenery and spending time in Asheville. We had never really been to Black Mountain but loved it! Hope to come back soon and explore more.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Thanks for the Black Mountain experience.

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thanks for the Black Mountain experience.

    • Guest The "S" family, Stuart, Fl
    • Date of stay 06/30/13
    • Review Submitted 07/29/13
    Thanks for the Black Mountain experience. I have slept great every night which is probably a combination of our busy days and the comfy beds. We enjoyed Lake Tomahawks golf, tennis and pool. We loved the Dripolater Coffee Shop in downtown as well as all the cute shops. My entire family was together in this great cabin this week which was the best part of the stay. I hate to say farewell to these beautiful mountains but we will have great memories! Thanks!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxing, mountain home.

    Relaxing, mountain home.

    • Guest Dot (Wake Forest)
    • Date of stay 06/29/13
    • Review Submitted 07/03/13
    Just returned from a two night stay. The location of this cottage is much better than I originally thought it would be. The bedroom arrangement was perfect for our family of 7. We enjoyed the family room in the evenings after spending the day exploring Black Mountain, Asheville and Montreat. This cottage has a special charm with its sloping floors. The owner, Marilyn, was very helpful as well. The nearby Madison Inn was excellent place to have a nice dinner without having to drive into the city. It is close enough to have walked if it had not been raining.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for the great review, especially since it rained for two days while you were there. It does has enough space and rooms for folks to not feel cramped. We are so glad you mentioned the charm of the cottage and the great location. We feel in love with both when we first saw it. You are right The Madison Inn is a wonderful place to eat. The dining room is located in an antique looking library, cozy and charming. The food and the service are top rate and you can walk to it as well. We ate there on our anniversary. Come on back to the mountains whenever you can.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Our stay at Firelight was very nice!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Our stay at Firelight was very nice!

    • Guest Don, Ann, Gina and Family
    • Date of stay 06/25/13
    • Review Submitted 07/29/13
    Our stay at Firelight was very nice. We enjoyed the porch and the rockers. It was like being at the “Cracker Barrel” but the view was much better! We loved the hot tub and maybe we will get one someday back home. It was nice to have a washer and dryer while were on vacation too. Our stay is not over until Saturday but I didn’t want to forget to write in the guest book. Two more days and lots left to do before we leave. Hope to be back. Thanks!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lots of Fun

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Lots of Fun

    • Guest Dan, Marie and family
    • Date of stay 06/17/13
    • Review Submitted 06/23/13
    We had lots of fun and loved the area. The cottage was perfect for our family. We loved the deck and hot tub ...lots of room for all of us...thank you for sharing your lovely home with us.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Clean, comfortable and friendly owners

    Clean, comfortable and friendly owners

    • Guest Traveller (Virginia)
    • Date of stay 06/13/13
    • Review Submitted 06/25/13
    Firelight cottage was a great place to stay and visit Asheville! We spent most of our time away from the cottage visiting Asheville, so we didn't take advantage of the hot tub or fireplace, but the beds were very comfortable and the living room was a great place to relax after a long day. The cottage was clean and the owners were very quick in responding to any questions or requests. It is also far enough away from the city that the stars were marvelous! The only downside is that part of the cottage floor isn't even, so know that the cottage is a little quirky, but very cozy.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for the great review...yes some folks do indeed call it quirky. Firelight has had many owners over the last 88 years and has a few different levels because of rooms added on. We are so glad to hear you talk about enjoying the stars and that you felt comfortable in the clean and cozy cottage. That is what vacations are all about...feeling comfortable and taking the time to relax and yes... to watch the stars. Firelight got its name because of folks sitting around the fire pit and looking up at the sky. We hope you come back and visit the mountains real soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Thank you for an amazing girls trip!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thank you for an amazing girls trip!

    • Guest Jaime, Pam, Nancy, Sarah, and Sharon Oxford, MI
    • Date of stay 06/12/13
    • Review Submitted 07/29/13
    Thank you for an amazing girls trip. We can’t wait to come back and explore more. Morning Glory Café in Black mountain was fantastic!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We really had a great time!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We really had a great time!

    • Guest Jennifer, Tom and family
    • Date of stay 06/01/13
    • Review Submitted 06/05/13
    Our family just finished visiting Asheville and staying at Firelight Cottage and we really had a great time! The cottage is clean and cozy but with a living room big enough to seat 8 people comfortably. We enjoyed the hot tub and hanging out on the front porch in the great rocking chairs. Half of our family was able to do some hiking in Chimney Rock while the other half as spent a lot of shopping time in the Asheville area. Some of the micro breweries around here are amazing, wish we had time to visit them all. Black Mountain was also very nice. We will definitely be planning to make it this way again soon. Thanks for everything!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Had a Wonderful Time Staying at Firelight Cottage!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Had a Wonderful Time Staying at Firelight Cottage!

    • Guest Kathy, Jim, Hope, and Robert
    • Date of stay 05/27/13
    • Review Submitted 06/05/13
    We had a wonderful time staying at Firelight cottage and visiting all the area attractions. Went in different directions each day, one day to the Biltmore, next day Chimney Rock and one day even out to Cherokee for a trip to the casino. It was nice being able to come back to the cottage and relax in the hot tub and just sit and talk on the front porch. Beds were very comfy as well. Even though we were close to Black Mountain we did not get a chance to explore that much. Hope to do so next time

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Getaway Weekend!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Great Getaway Weekend!

    • Guest Lucy and Ray
    • Date of stay 05/25/13
    • Review Submitted 05/30/13
    We had a nice time getting away to Asheville for the Memorial Day weekend. The cottage was great and met all of our needs. Our goal was to get away from our own home so we would not be tempted to do chores and work over the weekend. Mission accomplished! Hope to be back again when the need arises.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Place To Stay!

    Great Place To Stay!

    • Guest K Family (Louisiana)
    • Date of stay 05/21/13
    • Review Submitted 05/27/13
    Great Place to Stay! We had the chance to stop in Asheville on our way to see family up north. Our family had a wonderful time staying in Firelight Cottage. The kids loved the bunk beds and our beds were very comfortable as well. We all had the chance to get in the hot tub and the weather was just chilly enough at night to really enjoy it. The kitchen had everything that we needed and everyone enjoyed being able to watch what they wanted TV or movies in the living room and bedrooms. We also had lots of fun exploring downtown Asheville and even made it to the Biltmore House . Black Mountain is also a very charming little mountain town. The cottage was very close and convenient to everything. I did see where other reviews commented on the neighborhood setting. There are a couple of homes on the road but the cottage sits at the end of cul-de-sac and we never saw anyone the entire time we were there. You cant even see any of the homes because of the tree foliage. So next time we come through this area of the country we will definitely stay at Firelight again.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: The cottage is ideal for visiting all the terrific areas you visited...we are glad that you liked the quiet neighborhood and the location. We're really glad you liked the cottage and appreciated its great features..thanks and come on back any time...

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Clean, Cozy and Great Location

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Clean, Cozy and Great Location

    • Guest Mary, Sue, Joshua and friends
    • Date of stay 05/13/13
    • Review Submitted 05/26/13
    We came up for a mid week getaway and had a great time although we had to work around some rain. Thoroughly enjoyed sitting on the front porch rocking chairs watching the rain come down. The cottage was very cozy and we even had the chance to use the gas fireplace in the living room since it got a little chilly at night. We also spent some time in downtown Asheville and did some great shopping! This cottage is really in a great location for us, close to both Asheville and Black Mountain. Thanks Marilyn and Bill for your hospitality!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We Had a Wonderful Time!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We Had a Wonderful Time!

    • Guest Susan, Keith and family
    • Date of stay 05/03/13
    • Review Submitted 05/26/13
    We had a wonderful time visiting Asheville and the Biltmore House this past weekend. The cottage was great and we thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful hot tub. The house was roomy, very clean and beds were very comfortable as well. We also had a chance to walk around Black Mountain and eat at a couple of great restaurants, highly recommend the Black Mountain Bistro and Louise’s for breakfast. The owners were also very helpful. Hope to be back again sometime this year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Firelight Cottage

    Firelight Cottage

    • Guest Elaine (New York)
    • Date of stay 04/21/13
    • Review Submitted 04/28/13
    What a gift to visit Asheville while staying at this perfect 'home away from home'. Our stay was so beautiful and every amenity we could think of was at our fingertips. The cottage was clean, cozy, organized and convenient - allowing us to concentrate on all the wonders of Asheville. The location was great - close to all sorts of activities. (We loved Biltmore and simply wandering the streets downtown!). Clearly, a great deal of love and consideration went into this lovely accommodation which I highly recommend.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for the great review. I am glad you mentioned how nice it is to just walk the streets of Asheville. It is like no other city. Asheville, like this cottage has its unique charm.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Quirky but Quaint

    Quirky but Quaint

    • Guest Steve and Laurie (Virginia)
    • Date of stay 04/14/13
    • Review Submitted 04/21/13
    We enjoyed our stay with our 3 kids, the house is small and probably pretty accurately described. The view from the front porch is of wires and several other houses. The houses may be hidden during certain times of the year and we did not see anyone else, this was not an issue for us. The house feels like it is not level, not a huge issue just a little quirky. The house is not far from the highway so there was a lot of road noise, but being close to the highway allowed us to get out to area attractions quickly so this was a trade off. If you are looking for the secluded quiet, spacious, updated rental this is not your place. If you want a great location and like a house with character and lots of nice personal touches this would be a good place to consider. Everything works, the owners were very helpful with a question we had on the fireplace. Our kids loved it, especially the children's pool table. The place is clean and well maintained.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are pleased these two families had an enjoyable time at Firelight Cottage. We are also glad that our guests appreciated the unique character of Firelight and the personal touches we have included. Many of our guest’s children always seem to love sleeping in the bunk beds. The 1500sq.ft cottage was built in the early 1900’s so it has settled a bit which is common for these types of homes. Quaint and quirky is a good characterization of Firelight, it’s a very unique cottage. The location of Firelight as was noted is very advantageous to accessing many of our areas most popular attractions. Charming downtown Black Mountain with its shopping and great restaurants is 2 minutes from the cottage (Montreat 3 minutes), Asheville and the Biltmore House are 12-15 minutes away and Chimney Rock State Park and Lake Lure are a scenic 30 minute drive. During this time of year before the leaves have come back on the trees other homes will be seen, but as all quests have indicated rarely, if ever, is anyone around in the neighborhood so privacy is never an issue. Spring and summer foliage also greatly abates road noise from the highway. For some guests this is an issue while for most others it isn’t, as can be seen from the other reviews. We think for the rates we are charging per night for accommodating up to eight people that Firelight Cottage is a very comfortable, relaxing, and affordable vacation rental in a great location. Shop and compare for yourself and we look forward to seeing you soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Place and Location

    Great Place and Location

    • Guest Kim (South Carolina)
    • Date of stay 04/09/13
    • Review Submitted 04/16/13
    Our family just stayed at Firelight cottage and we enjoyed our trip alot. The cottage had everything we needed. We were all very comfortable and appreciated all the little touches the owners had done to create a warm and inviting atmosphere. The outside deck and hot tub along with the front porch were all put to good use….lots of laughs and good times! We also liked being so close to Black Mountain and to Asheville. Great restaurants to eat at in Asheville are Chai Pani (Indian) and the Green Sage (organic coffee and great breakfast/brunch). Highly recommend Black Mountain Bistro as well. We also spent a day at the Biltmore Estates and did some shopping in Asheville as well. The hardier members of the family even did a hike in Chimney Rock State Park. We all loved the cottage and the area and hope to be back again sometime this year.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: You sound like you did have a lot of fun...Thanks for the recommendations ....I am sure future guests will appreciate that. Come on back anytime ...the mountains and the cottage will welcome you back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Had a Wonderful Time!

    Had a Wonderful Time!

    • Guest Cheryl (Northern California)
    • Date of stay 04/06/13
    • Review Submitted 04/15/13
    We had a wonderful time visiting Asheville and Black Mountain! We went to the Biltmore – amazing !! We hiked up Chimney Rock - gorgeous views - and admired God’s glorious handiwork. Ate at Phil’s BBQ , Black Mountain Bistro, and the Trailhead - all delicious! The house was cozy, comfortable and cheerful. Our little ones loved the bunk beds and the king beds were so comfortable. Loved the hot tub and porch too! Thanks so much may God Bless you. After we got back home we spoke to the owner of the property. We learned that the previous guest before us had commented about seeing mouse droppings in the bathroom. We stayed for three nights and never saw anything and I think we would have noticed something like that. We would highly recommend this cottage to anyone and feel that for the price per night, easy access to everything, and comfortability, that this cottage rental is 5 stars.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children.

    Owner response: thanks for the great review...we are so glad that you had a wonderful time and that you liked the cottage...folks like you inspire us to keep doing what we are doing....every year we make improvements to our property as we strive for great customer service....

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • No Title

    No Title

    • Guest S&J (Alpharetta, Georgia)
    • Date of stay 04/04/13
    • Review Submitted 04/10/13
    The location was very central to Asheville, Chimney Rock, and other great hiking and sight-seeing locales. The beds were very comfortable, and the hot tub was great - very relaxing after a long day of hiking, and clean. The house was close to the Interstate 40, and there was a lot of noise from the tractor trailers on the highway all night. We bought earplugs which helped a bit. There were mouse droppings in the bathroom, and we realize that mice can be common in houses anywhere in the mountains, but we didn't want to walk barefoot. The kitchen was sufficient but could have used some additional utensils (for example, wooden spoons, newer non-stick pans, rubber or non-metal spatulas for non-stick pans). Living room area was very cozy, especially on the first day which was very cold. Although there were 3 or 4 houses right next door, we were never bothered by noise or seeing neighbors. Proprietors were very nice and sent us lots of links to websites for things to do in the area.

    Owner response: We appreciate some of the reviewer’s comments (central to Asheville and Chimney Rock, comfortable beds, nice hot tub, cozy living room with gas fireplace) and their one suggestion. We like to respond as quickly as we can to guests concerns or complaints and suggestions because we care about their comfort while they are on vacation and that is what we would want from folks when we go on vacation… We had a comment two years ago about the noise from the highway in early spring and late fall. When the leaves are off the trees during these times of the year you can hear road noise. We did purchase clocks with nature sounds so that a sensitive sleeper would not hear the noise. Those clocks were in the bedrooms but the guest apparently chose not to use them. We were quite surprised, however, about the comment regarding mouse droppings. We spoke to this guest right after checkout and they neglected to mention this then or during their stay. We like/want to know immediately of any guest concerns while staying in our cottages. Once we saw this review we checked the cottage within the hour. Our housekeeping staff brought a flashlight and searched everywhere and were unable to find any evidence of mouse droppings anywhere in the house… We also have had, since then two other families stay in the cottage after these guests and neither reported seeing any mice droppings??? The feedback regarding adding some wooden utensils was appreciated and as of today we have added them to the kitchen. We strive to keep our cottages comfortable, cozy, clean and affordable so that guests can enjoy their stay in the Asheville/Black Mountain area. We like guests to call us when they check in to make sure everything is to their satisfaction when they arrive and we encourage guests to call us during their stay and after they have checked out so we find out about their stay and if there is anything we could have done to make their stay more enjoyable. It is sometimes frustrating then to find out about a guest concern only after it has been posted online, especially one that we not able to substantiate themselves.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 3 [ 1 | 2 | 3 ] Next