Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Romantic 1 Bedrm Apartment on Cobbled Mews [#273521] | View Property

Paris Arrondissement 13
Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths (Sleeps 2-4)
€95 - €97/nt Euros
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (15)

Sort by:
  • Paris For Real

    Paris For Real

    • Guest Michael (Tampa, Florida)
    • Date of stay 07/20/13
    • Review Submitted 12/07/13
    First, I feel obligated to say that I was hesitant to write this review, since, if it were up to me, I would stay in this apartment forever. As it is, I stayed for a month this past summer with another family member and plan to stay again. I think the photographs and April's description of the apartment are quite accurate; it is small but nicely appointed. But aside from the physical appearance and convenience of the apartment, I found it charming, a word that doesn't often enter my vocabulary. The apartment is a level up in a small, walled-in complex. A friend of one of the neighbors commented that the atmosphere reminded him of pictures of 1850's Montmartre. I exchanged greetings and chitchatted daily with people coming and going in the long courtyard, and my French is terrible. The apartment's French windows look out onto a moderately busy, tree-lined street; I myself drank wine and coffee and stared out at the passersby below much more often than a grown man should have. To me, the neighborhood, at the edge of the Butte Aux Cailles, is perfect. It is not fancy and it is not touristy. There are at least six or seven boulangeries within a few blocks. At the end of the block, there is a small brasserie where I sat in the window and read next to a group of older men who came to drink and talk nearly every afternoon. Across the street is a mall, which I found convenient and not at all intrusive. There are plenty of small, casual restaurants nearby and one, in particular, that I daydream about. Best of all, two blocks away there is a wonderful, open air market about three blocks long that sets up three days a week. Beautiful vegetables, cheese, eggs, poultry, meat, and fish. I cry now when I go into the supermarket in the United States. The neighborhood is diverse in a very comfortable way. While there are few tourist attractions nearby, three different metro lines meet at Place d'Italie two blocks away and buses run up and down the street. I have stayed before in the 5th and the 7th, but this time I felt that I had found my neighborhood in Paris. I will be back as soon as I can.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Beautiful Paris Charmer

    Beautiful Paris Charmer

    • Guest jcw (Denver, CO)
    • Date of stay 05/19/13
    • Review Submitted 07/11/13
    My daughter and I stayed in this apartment for a week together. April is a wonderful host and gave us lots of good information about the place and the neighborhood as soon as we arrived. She was very accommodating. The apartment was lovely- lots of light, very comfortable and with the most charming courtyard entryway. Equipped with every convenience we needed for our stay, we really looked forward to coming back to the apartment after a long day of touring around Paris. The neighborhood is a true gem with many wondrous surprises around any corner. There are many terrific restaurants right around the apartment.There is a great boulangerie right up the street with delicious pastries, sandwiches and, of course, baguettes. It was wonderful to be in a neighborhood that wasn't full of tourists. We were able to immerse ourselves completely. It was also very easy to get where ever we wanted to go as Place D'Italie station is a short walk away. If by some wonderful fortune, I have the opportunity to get to Paris again, there is no doubt that this will be my very first choice of accommodations. It's absolutely perfect in every way.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Wonderful apartment, area and landlady!

    Wonderful apartment, area and landlady!

    • Guest Holly (Durham, NC)
    • Date of stay 09/02/12
    • Review Submitted 02/11/13
    First, I need to add a group to April's (the owner) list of people who are suitable renters: I'm 67 and was traveling alone, so it's not just young people who will love this apartment. I happily lived in the apartment for 2 months in Fall 2012, enjoying the location (non-touristy), facilities (open LR/K/dining area, split bathroom area, window views (courtyard and street), neighborhood stores and market, etc. It was perfect for me (and hopefully, you). Where to start describing all the good points? The market - I'm a foodie so the Tues/Fri/Sun street market located just 2 short blocks away was a big draw - lovely fruits and veggies, cheeses, meats, cooked food, etc (and huge freshly cooked potato galettes on Sunday mornings at the Polish food booth). The 3 boulangeries/patisseries within 1-10 minutes' walk (where I discovered choquettes, little airy puffs of sweet dough - miam!). A large shopping center (unusual in Paris) nearby, with an ATM and a large grocery store for basics (but I bought most of my fresh food at the street market). The ease of Metro/RER connections in many directions - about a 20 minute Metro ride to all the central tourist sites. The history of the area (the commune, the Montgolfier brothers' hot air balloon landing site, the tapestry factory, etc.) The "real" Paris experience, without all the tourists. And of course, April. She handled some unexpected dilemmas (I had to leave unexpectedly early for a family emergency) and was super friendly whenever we met. I could go on and on about her, the apartment, the area, and Paris in general, but I hope you've gotten the idea that I LOVED staying in the Paris Mews apartment and will definitely try to return in the future.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • A dream come true!

    A dream come true!

    • Guest Alwina (Boston, Massachusetts)
    • Date of stay 06/09/12
    • Review Submitted 06/25/12
    What a wonderful find this little apartment in the area of the Butte Aux Cailles turned out to be! The pictures and description of the apartment were accurate. The owner, April, was most accommodating and helpful. She has prepared a booklet about local sites, history, and other useful information. The property is well maintained and the location was perfect. The neighborhood is full of little shops, cafés, and a large grocery store (that sells anything you might imagine you'd need)! But don't buy too much at the Carrefours grocery store; there is an amazing street marché on Fridays, Sundays and Tuesdays--my advice: eat before you go or you'll end up with more food that you can eat! It was easy to get to anywhere in Paris and beyond--3 metro lines stop at the Place d'Italie which is 2 blocks from the apartment. I walked to the Luxembourg Gardens and the Jardin des Plantes (30 minutes +). I ate lunch at the Mosque Tea Room (near the Jardin des Plantes)--try the lamb tangine if you go there, it is amazing. Mostly I tried to "live" in the apartment for 2 weeks. I took long walks and explored the Butte area as well as several other Paris neighborhoods. I even got to know a couple of neighborhood people (the woman at the bakery, a waiter in a café). I hope to rent this apartment in the future--maybe for longer! Thank you so much to April for sharing this lovely spot.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Very comfortable ... too comfortable at times ...

    Very comfortable ... too comfortable at times ...

    • Guest keith (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia)
    • Date of stay 08/20/11
    • Review Submitted 08/28/11
    It was really a great base for a visit to Paris - public transport is convenient with the métro station just literally around the corner. The market, three times a week, also gave us a fell of what Paris really is like. Also Chinatown was within easy walking distance for really great non-French food. The apartment was perfect for the four of us and at times was too comfortable to leave to go out and do some sightseeing. The owner did a fantastic job of anticipating what many travellers would need in preparing her little folder with all the information needed during their stay ..... now , if only I go to meet with her .....

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Good choice for visitors

    Good choice for visitors

    • Guest J Tan (Lexington MA)
    • Date of stay 08/11/11
    • Review Submitted 09/29/11
    First of all, the Owner April Tash is very nice and accomodating. She took time to explain the apartment facilities and also provided good recommendations on places to eat and to see in our short 5 night stay. The apartment is in a contigous 3 story block of apartments, on the mid level near the end side of the block. The apartment is quite safe, with double locks and up high from the street level. IF you are sensitive to noise, bring some ear plugs as morning foot traffic and people talking is to be expected If you leave the windows open.Situated about 5 minutes walk from Place D'italie metro station, passing by morning markets( usually Fri-sun only) in front of a hotel, and a couple of restaurants and a breakfast stand (squeeze between two restaurants, right in front of the inbound metro stairs, with a full Carrefour supermarket in the basement level of the adjacent Department stores building - makes it a convenient location to access food stuff and more. Chinatown/Little saigon is close by but suggest not to beeline to the first restaurant seen as there are quite a few choices further down. The apartment was comfortable with enough room for a family of four. Beds were comfortable. internet access was easy. There is a apartment written manual to help out. The washer dryer is the common european ventless type so it takes a while to get clothes dried. Lots of kitchenware to use but have to use a small towel as a drying area. The stairs going up is a bit worn and uneven but it is well lite with convenient switches at both the mid level and the ground level. If you have small children or older folks, just be careful with your footing. For first timers in Paris, this is a good area to be in , being near local folks as to observe local going ons, close enough via metro to most Parisian sights, able to walk out at night with good comfort level of security but obviously be safe and travel in pairs late at night.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/7

  • California Family

    California Family

    • Guest Laura (California, USA)
    • Date of stay 07/02/11
    • Review Submitted 08/09/11
    My two college-age daughters and I spent the month of July 2011 in April's authentically charming yet modernly equipped apartment, with my husband joining us for 10 days. The short story is that we loved everything about the apartment and the neighborhood, not to mention April! The factually detailed story is that the listing description and photos accurately reflect the rental's location, appearance and amenities; the property was clean and well-maintaned and April was incredibly helpful and knowledgeable. Specifically, the apartment gets lots of light and is bright, cheerful and tastefully yet comfortably furnished. In fact, the queen-sized bed was so comfortable that we're looking to replace our own mattress at home with the same mattress. One of my daughters coined the shower "the best shower in Paris", and I appreciated the compact yet complete kitchen. The neighborhood has a small village-like feeling, yet is a 2-minute walk to a large Metro stop which serves 3 convenient lines. Also, felt very safe walking home from the Metro even late at night. Last but certainly not least, it was a pleasure to make April's acquaintance, she seems to genuinely care about the well-being of her renters. We highly recommend this property for either short or long term rentals.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

  • Fully satisfied with our stay

    Fully satisfied with our stay

    • Guest Sir Walkalot (Prague)
    • Date of stay 04/26/11
    • Review Submitted 05/06/11
    This apartment is quite well-located - it is very close to the Place d'Italie metro station and a large shopping mall. Numerous restaurants are a short stroll away and Chinatown is within a 15 minute walk. The apartment is well-maintained and is a good size for couples or small families with young children. It is possible to hear some morning sounds outside the bedroom window but we didn't find it excessive at all but in the end, the apartment is in the middle of the city and some noise is inevitable. As a minor quibble, if travelling with small children it is worth noting that the staircase leading from the ground up to the apartment is narrow and can be difficult to navigate with larger strollers. The owner is a pleasure to deal with and did everything she could to ensure that we had a comfortable stay. Would not hesitate to stay here again the next time in Paris.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I am happy to host families traveling with young children. There are also may be some ways that I can adapt the apartment to make young travelers comfortable (so please ask). Just to specify: the apartment is most suitable to singles, couples, and can be adapted to couples with young children, three adults, or a couple and two other adults. Please note that to enter this apartment there are a lot of large uneven cobblestones to cross -- hard for anyone with a knee injury or having trouble walking on uneven surfaces. Pets are not allowed, nor is smoking, in order that the apartment be suitable for those with allergies.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Delightful!

    Delightful!

    • Guest Jill (Silver Spring, Md.)
    • Date of stay 04/16/11
    • Review Submitted 04/26/11
    Our two sons, my husband and I stayed eight days and nights in April's apartment. My husband and I stayed in the comfortable bedroom and our sons stayed in the living area, on the two twins. It was a great arrangement. They came in late without needing to disturb us, as the toilet is in the main area. The bathroom off the bedroom has a spacious shower with plenty of lush towels. April has gone to the trouble of including local information and recommendations to guide her guests. The location is ideal. The open market was a great place to buy produce, fresh meats and fish and treats. The apartment is great location and is a relaxing respite from busy Paris.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • A great apartment for a long stay !

    A great apartment for a long stay !

    • Guest Julio (Buenos Aires)
    • Date of stay 03/12/11
    • Review Submitted 05/18/11
    I rented this apartment for a month (from mid March to mid April). The owner was extremely helpful and very friendly. The apartment is located in a very convinient area of the 13th arrondissement. it is sorrounded by several restaurants. Within 200 meters, you have Italian, Mexican, Thai, Japanese, Indian, and French resturants. The metro station (place d'Italie) is also very close from the apartment. With respect to the apartment itself, it is in perfect conditions. The pictures are very accurate. it's a very silent appartment, I never had any problem to sleep. In short, I was extremely pleased with it and I would rent it again if I have to come back to Paris for work.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Good, with reservations

    Good, with reservations

    • Guest Anglo-French couple (London, UK)
    • Date of stay 11/13/10
    • Review Submitted 12/10/10
    We (Anglo-French couple, 55+) are staying for a month on a working vacation (November 2010). This despite strong morning-after reservations. What we’d booked was the ‘romantic’ apartment ‘at the end of an old cobbled mews’ shown in the bucolic photograph, the one that had inspired a previous reviewer to write ‘what surprised and relaxed all of us was the quiet – this mews is tucked away from the dawn and traffic noise of Paris’. Arriving close to midnight, and sleeping as we usually do with the window open, we were surprised to discover, at 5.30 in the morning, that the bedroom actually sits on the rue Bobillot, one of the feeder roads into the Place d’Italie, with heavy traffic noise from buses and trucks etc. The other two windows also give onto the rue Bobillot, at a slight angle, but with no real difference in noise. The bedroom faces the concrete wall of the Place d’Italie shopping mall. A more objective description of the apartment and its location would be ‘a just-renovated (European) first-floor apartment on the busy rue Bobillot, located opposite a shopping mall and accessed via a shabby cobbled mews and staircase’. Feeling seriously misinformed we emailed April that morning and to her credit she not only offered us a no-penalty departure but said that to avoid future misunderstandings she’d modify some wording on her website, which she promptly did. We looked at a couple of alternatives but had no serious time to devote to apartment-hunting, especially as the descriptions of the neighbourhood (our original motive for choosing the apartment) and of the apartment itself were accurate in all other respects. The shower would not be out of place in an apartment renting for twice as much. The cable internet allows you to send outgoing emails in Outlook, unlike some France-Telecom connexions. The separation of toilet and shower is useful for shared occupancy. All windows are efficiently sound-proofed by double-glazing, which also keeps the apartment warm in winter. Presumably the previous reviewer never opened the windows (their surprise at the quiet is otherwise inexplicable). Light sleepers and/or those who sleep with the window open and who are eager for an authentic Paris experience may wish to stop their ears with boules Quies, a nationally celebrated product, available in any pharmacy.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I regret that these lamenting guests had such a bad time in my apartment, an apartment that everyone else seems to enjoy. I was surprised when they refused to be released from any obligations, and a full refund, setting them free to move on to other accommodations that might better correspond to them. What then to change in my text? Do I replace "romantic" with "tree lined?" Should I not mention cobblestones? Or should I explain that a morning bus or truck on the street might awaken light sleepers who persist in leaving windows open at night in the winter? I believe it's best to trust people's common sense here, and let the photographs and other testimonials speak for me, and the quality of the accommodations I'm providing, including my double-glazed sound-proof windows. To correct one detail, I would note that the bedroom faces trees on rue Bobillot. From the window in November (when the trees are bare), these guests saw the medical center across the street. Next winter I’ll surely add vines to the flower boxes to keep that view cheerful.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 12/12

  • Perfectly Parisian

    Perfectly Parisian

    • Guest Lynn (Austin, TX)
    • Date of stay 10/01/10
    • Review Submitted 10/14/10
    I wish I could live here forever! April's clean, sunny and comfortable apartment had everything I needed to feel right at home and like a true Parisian for 12 wonderful days. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was great. Wifi connection was strong and quick, and the CD player with jazz and chanson disks created a homey atmosphere. The neighborhood is charming and very convenient by foot or metro/bus to almost anywhere. Local market three times a week is very picturesque, and there is a huge supermarket and shopping mall just across the street. April was a delight to work with and truly helpful in many ways.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • wonderful week in paris

    wonderful week in paris

    • Guest ann and tom (pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 05/22/10
    • Review Submitted 05/30/10
    just returned from a wonderful week in paris with our 10yr. old grandaughter. the apartment was perfect for the 3 of us, lots of room, great shower, well supplied kitchen. the neighborhood was charming, metro, buses, groceries, restaurants, bank were all within a short walk. we felt right at home immediately. april couldn't have been more helpful, she walked us to the metro. at the end of our stay. the airport is easily accessed from the metro and rer train. i would certainly recommend this apartment to anyone looking for the real Paris experience. Great croissants and baguettes just 2 minutes away, what could be better? perhaps the wonderful street market that happens every tues., fri. and sun. this place is a real gem!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Apartment/Great area!!

    Great Apartment/Great area!!

    • Guest Colomen (Granville, Ohio, USA)
    • Date of stay 05/15/10
    • Review Submitted 06/01/10
    We just returned from spending a week at this apartment in the 13th Arr. and had a great time in a great rental. The apartment is located in a fabulous neighborhood near Place d'Italie. There are many good restaurants and shops in the area, and April thoughtfully left helpful infomation on many of them. This was the first time we stayed in the 13th and really loved the area. I recommend the Petit Cafe on rue Bobillot for coffee or a drink anytime of the day; we really hit it off with the owners. The newly-renovated apartment was spotlessly clean, bright and well-equipped. Everything seemed new! The bathroom was beautiful! The washing machine was welcome, as we were continuing our trip in Eastern France after we left April's apartment. The apartment worked well for us (a couple) and would be good for up to four people. And I cannot say enough nice things about the owner, April Tash. She was absolutely perfect in responding to all my communications and went way out of her way to help me on several occasions. I've stayed in many VRBO rentals, but no owner was ever better to deal with than April during this visit. Thanks, April! We'll see you again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Elegant and quiet retreat

    Elegant and quiet retreat

    • Guest Cli and co (Scotland)
    • Date of stay 04/08/10
    • Review Submitted 05/10/10
    Together with my 18 and 22 yr olds, we spent a memorable and magical 5 days in Paris rediscovering favourite haunts when we lived for three years in this unique city some time ago. All were able to relax and unwind in this elegant, clean and freshly renovated apartment. The owner April Tash has sensitively anticipated every frazzled traveller's wish list and is an attentive owner - the apt offers a smart walk in shower, hot towel rails, large comfortable double bed, TV/DVD/internet, well designed kitchenette, white goods and practical equipment - and two long sofas/singles that that encouraged even two tall and active creatives to rest! The two roomed apt. and clever lay out meant we were all able to read, work on lap tops, brew coffee - and doze as required. The apt. is fully stocked which ensures that you can enjoy the guide books, listen to carefully chosen CDs and plan each days adventures. The listing fully reflects what the owner has thoughtfully provided and reflects her refined taste, experience and insider knowledge of what a non Parisian visitor secretly hopes for in a restful break in this restless city. What surprised and relaxed all of us was the quiet - this mews is tucked away from the dawn and traffic noise of Paris, yet located right beside a lively community with great restaurants nearby in the Butte. And we had a pick of metro lines and buses close by. Wonderful market, shopping mall nearby for the ado, and the brocant and boulangeries were a welcome and fascinating bonus. The 13 arr is a quick hop away from all the major sites and attractions of Paris - and offers a welcome and easy retreat if needed for a well deserved break during a day of touring. All of us highly recommend the Mews - and will be returning - so book early. Merci April!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: A travel article entitled Make Yourself at Home appeared in the Boston Globe on Sunday July 11 2010, describing a renter's stay in this apartment and neighborhood in March 2010. I suggest you can consult it by via a link above for a feeling of what it could be like to stay here. - The owner/manager

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]