Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Private entry to front of home at end of dead end street

Stunning Urban View Home Forested Oasis***April Specials (1-15th)*** [#273900] | View Property

University District
House, 4 Bedrooms + Attached Unit, 3.5 Baths (Sleeps 8-12)
$265-$450/nt - $1855/wk-$3150/wk
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (25)

Sort by:
  • Wonderful stay

    Wonderful stay

    • Guest Linda (Chandler)
    • Date of stay 11/24/13
    • Review Submitted 11/30/13
    We stayed here for five nights while in Seattle for our son's wedding. We thoroughly enjoyed the character of the home. We took advantage of the trails and playground in the park! We went from the airport to Costco to fill up the refrigerator for the week. This saved a lot of money for our group of 12. We had plenty of space even though there were so many of us. We even hosted the Rehearsal dinner and never felt cramped. Inge has a high chair, stroller and pack and play available. The child gate for the stairs kept our mind at ease with our grandson.The only drawback was the need for two of our rental cars to be parked a few blocks away.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • steve

    steve

    • Guest steve j.
    • Date of stay 10/17/13
    • Review Submitted 10/29/13
    I use VRBO frequently and this was among the best of experiences. Owner is accommodating in every respect. The house on its own would be enough, it is comfortable, warm and inviting. It is everything promised here. And the neighborhood is friendly, safe and close to not only the university, but also downtown. The adjacent Ravenna Park is an incredible urban park that offers as much as you have interest in, either bike ride, run or stroll, totally worthwhile. Total sense of privacy in an urban setting, the best of both worlds. Here is a link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ravenna_Park

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect location!

    Perfect location!

    • Guest Carol (Aurora, CO)
    • Date of stay 02/05/13
    • Review Submitted 02/20/13
    My family stayed in this house for my daughter's wedding in Seattle. We were located very close to her house and the church and it was so convenient to everything. The house was perfect for us - everyone had enough privacy and the living area was big enough for us all to gather and have a great time. The house is well maintained, quiet, and very charming. Very nice outdoor space also which we didn't get to use but wish we could have. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful girls weekend away

    Wonderful girls weekend away

    • Guest Jennifer V.
    • Date of stay 11/23/12
    • Review Submitted 12/03/12
    I rented this house for my friend's bachelorette weekend and the seven of us had a blast. The house was cozy, spacious and just what we wanted for the first night in and after our Saturday night out, a place to relax and hangout. The house has a lot of character but it made staying there all the more fun. It's location by the park was also great for getting a bit of fresh air. This was my first time renting through a site and the owner was really helpful and responsive on emails with all my questions. Thanks again for having us!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect getaway!

    Perfect getaway!

    • Guest Linda Devon (Sparks, NV)
    • Date of stay 09/20/12
    • Review Submitted 09/27/12
    This is a lovely home! It is full of character, spacious, and equipped with everything you need! We had 8 people in our group, and we fit comfortably in the dining area and the main living space. Beds and baths were perfectly arranged as we requested. The location is wonderful - close to the interstate and ammenitites, but in a secluded little neighborhood. Look at the pictures - they truly represent the house. The property is clean and well maintained, and the owner is gracous and so easy to deal with. Very responsive to both emails and texts. I would recommend this house to anyone!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Home Away From Home!

    Home Away From Home!

    • Guest Andrea & Bob (Santa Cruz, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/16/12
    • Review Submitted 01/01/13
    We’ve stayed at the Ravenna Park Retreat twice now, once in May 2012 and again in September 2012. We have two kids at UW and we come up from California to visit every so often. We've stayed at other properties in Seattle that were also listed on VRBO (including Seattle Urban Retreat, Montlake Craftsman, City View and Cube House) and this is our favorite! We really like the location of this house and the privacy. The house is directly adjacent to a beautiful tree-filled forest called Ravenna Park. All the windows look out over the forest providing a beautiful, natural view from every room. There is a nice walking trail that meanders through the forest and is only a short distance from the front door. The house has four bedrooms (larger than we needed) but it still felt cozy and inviting. Our kids stayed overnight while we were there and we had a great time! The house was very clean and well maintained. It would be ideal for a family gathering or reception. The owner is wonderfully helpful and accommodating. She makes you feel as though her house is your home. We will definitely be visiting again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Forested Oasis

    Forested Oasis

    • Guest mallory (El Granada, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/29/12
    • Review Submitted 08/03/12
    The Ravenna home is definitely a forested oasis, literally located right at the edge of Ravenna Park; a beautiful, peaceful park with a gorge. I only wish we had more time to fully explore the trails. With the university within blocks, there is a plethora of restaurants to choose from, but with the fully appointed kitchen, we chose to cook and even had a dinner party with nearby relatives. We had extended family staying together and we never felt crowded. The casita was a treat for my daughter and her boyfriend; only accessible from outside, it was like a secret room. Inge was very helpful and promptly responded to my emailed questions. We were even able to stay for a shorter time since there was an opening that fit our time frame. I hope to have a large enough party to stay again. I highly recommend staying here, if for no other reason than to correspond with Inge; her emails are a joy to read!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful retreat for our son's wedding!

    Wonderful retreat for our son's wedding!

    • Guest Gabriel (Boston, MA)
    • Date of stay 07/18/12
    • Review Submitted 10/10/12
    We rented this home with family and friends for our son's wedding. It was beautiful and perfect for hosting get-togethers before and after the wedding. The setting was fantastic next to the park. Also, we left a gift that was irreplaceable and didn't realize it until after we had returned to the East Coast. Inge had her cleaning people check - they found it and she mailed it to us. We're so appreciative of the time she took to help us. We hope to return someday just to relax and enjoy the house once again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Wonderful Vacation Home

    A Wonderful Vacation Home

    • Guest Andrea C. (Austin, Texas)
    • Date of stay 07/01/12
    • Review Submitted 07/10/12
    My family stayed here in July 2012 and loved the house. We had 6 adults and one child w/ room to spare. The park right next door is great. It's just a quick 10 min drive to downtown and the university is just down the road. GREAT LOCATION. The house is beautiful and I would recommend this house to anyone w/ a large family looking to stay in Seattle.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Ravenna Retreat

    Ravenna Retreat

    • Guest Mariana (Gresham, OR)
    • Date of stay 03/20/12
    • Review Submitted 11/06/12
    My family and I very much enjoyed staying at Ravenna Retreat for the week of my daughter’s wedding back in March of this year. The location was perfect – we were only minutes away from the church, the reception venue, and additional lodging for out of town guests. We also loved the neighborhood, being right next to the beautiful walking trails, which we enjoyed often during the week of our stay. I especially appreciate the owner's kindness and attentiveness to our needs during our stay – providing specially requested items such as the BBQ pit for the rehearsal dinner we hosted there, and additional towels when they were needed. Ravenna Retreat is a very comfortable and warm place to stay and perfect for entertaining a large crowd. We will carry the cherished memories we made there with us for the rest of our lives. Thank you so very much for providing this service! We would definitely recommend this property to friends and relatives.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • An excellent place for a large group!

    An excellent place for a large group!

    • Guest David T (Brooklyn, NY)
    • Date of stay 12/03/11
    • Review Submitted 12/12/11
    Our group of 9 people had an excellent stay here. The area was ideal and directly adjacent to a lovely park. The house itself is very comfortable and attractive with an excellent kitchen. The neighborhood is very quiet and friendly and parking was never a problem. Highly recommended!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Didn't want to ever leave!!!!!

    Didn't want to ever leave!!!!!

    • Guest lyndi (Marin County, California)
    • Date of stay 09/22/11
    • Review Submitted 09/28/11
    We rented this charming house while we stayed in Seattle for my son's wedding. I didn't want to leave. While we were there we had warm weather and cool rain. The house was comfortable in both. The home shaded in the hot weather and cozy warm in the cold weather with ample windows to be bright in spite of the weather outside. The house was large enough to hold family and extended family but cozy enough to feel like home.It was large enough for a beautiful buffet rehearsal dinner . The home comes with just enough furnishings and extras to make it comfortable but it doesn't feel cluttered when you get all your own stuff. The yard is peaceful - great for a cup of coffee and a good book or an afternoon enjoying friends. The beds are comfortable and the down feather comforters are heavenly. The master suite upstairs is like being in a tree house. It is simply beautiful and being awakened to the sounds of bird lightly chirping in the park next to the house is so relaxing. I just can't say enough about how much we loved and enjoyed this house. Inge, the home owner, is so enjoyable to work with. She really made the pre-trip arrangements easy and personal. If you like country charm in the city you owe it to yourself to try and stay at this house. The side yard is literally the path in Revanna Park. The house is at the end of a dead end street so it is very quite.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • See Seattle in Style....

    See Seattle in Style....

    • Guest Christopher (McFarland)
    • Date of stay 07/07/11
    • Review Submitted 08/07/11
    This home was beautiful, spacious, with a great layout for our group of 8 guests. Located right next to a gorgeous park for evening strolls after dinner. We Grilled Salmon from the Market on the grill provided, and those who had some talent played the Grand Piano. Very Classy Grade AAA accommodations. I would come again and will recommend it to all my friends.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place, great location

    Great place, great location

    • Guest Renee T.
    • Date of stay 07/05/11
    • Review Submitted 07/09/11
    This is a great place to stay if you are visiting Seattle. It is a lovely home and it is very near shops, restaurants and a beautiful park. The owner was very responsive to our questions and provided everything we needed. I would highly recommend this rental.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: We are committed to doing our best to meet and exceed expectations! Vacations and family events are special and we realize that we are lucky to be a part of those. The home is especially peaceful and affords the tranquility that one can only hope to find, right in the middle of a bustling city!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect for Family Reunion

    Perfect for Family Reunion

    • Guest Janiece B. (Savannah, Georgia)
    • Date of stay 01/08/11
    • Review Submitted 01/17/11
    This home was perfect for our family of eight to enjoy cooking and dining together. The house was beautiful, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed being so close to nature in the middle of Seattle. Walking trails, a playground and stores were all within easy walking. The neighborhood was safe and quiet and close to all the Seattle sights. Inge was very available to answer any questions. Everyone in our family enjoyed their visit so much that we extended our stay for two extra days.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Totally Unique Home!!

    Totally Unique Home!!

    • Guest Tonya (Surrey, BC)
    • Date of stay 11/29/10
    • Review Submitted 12/10/10
    We (3 mothers and 3 children) absolutely loved this home.....Very close to the Hwy and five minutes from University Village (the most amazing shopping area) The area that the home is located was beautiful, and the house itself was very private!! I highly recommend staying here, and we all hope to stay again!! Inge, the owner was amazing, it was a pleasure dealing with her!! Thanks again Inge.....your the best!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Much better than a hotel!

    Much better than a hotel!

    • Guest Lesley (Milwaukee, WI)
    • Date of stay 11/03/10
    • Review Submitted 12/01/10
    We stayed 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it, got a real feel for Seattle. Excellent kitchen and the master bedroom is heavenly! Great neighborhood, just wished it was a tad closer to downtown because traffic on the bridge to downtown was a bit frustrating. Highly recommended!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Our Sons Wedding.

    Our Sons Wedding.

    • Guest Di (st augustine)
    • Date of stay 10/06/10
    • Review Submitted 10/20/10
    Upon our arrival to this most unique and charming home,we were taken by the views of a most pristine park setting.It was as if we were living in a tree house.The accomodations were clean,functional and well maintained.It was convieniant to the venue where our son was to be married,how great is that! We highly recomend the use of this property. We will return,thanks Inge.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I am smiling, because it makes me truly pleased to be able to have finally found a great avenue to make this home a part of more peoples lives in Seattle. Thank you so much for doing that for us!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Can't wait to go back

    Can't wait to go back

    • Guest Sarah (Baltimore, MD)
    • Date of stay 09/22/10
    • Review Submitted 10/19/10
    Our wedding party stayed at the Ravenna House for four days in September and absolutely loved our time at the house. Having a large house to gather and host a large group was absolutely perfect and was so much more memorable than staying in a hotel. We threw a fabulous BBQ for some of our wedding guests and had plenty of space inside and out to mingle with our guests, had lots of space when we were getting ready for the wedding ceremony, and especially loved the master bedroom upstairs as a getting ready place for my bridal party. The bedroom and bathroom upstairs are gorgeous, although lacking a bit in privacy since the master bedroom has a glass door. Otherwise, fantastic. The location is beautiful, quiet and conveniently located near UW and Ravenna, with Herkimer Coffee, Cowen Park Grocery and Whole Foods within walking distance. The property itself was in top condition, spotlessly clean and had every amenity. We loved everything about this home. Inge, the owner, is truly delightful and a pleasure to work with. We couldn't speak more highly of her and her exceptional service and flexibility. Enkosi, Inge!

    Owner response: I was utterly pleased to have you stay. It is a true pleasure for me to be able to share my home. My little daughter and the two yellow labs that led me to another part of the city, often times come back over to enjoy the forest. We love to see the squirells jump from branch to branch out the large windows.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Exactly as advertised. Flawless directions, details, access, and service.

    Exactly as advertised. Flawless directions, details, access, and service.

    • Guest Christopher T. (Lanikai, Hawaii)
    • Date of stay 09/16/10
    • Review Submitted 09/22/10
    Exactly as advertised. Flawless directions, details, access, and service. Very conveniently located to the University of Washington district and 15 minute cab or car to downtown Seattle. Back porch of property looks upon wooded oasis with great running/walking/hiking trails. Property clean, well maintained, nicely furnished, well appointed. Very quiet and secluded neighborhood with other fine properties surrounding. Highly recommended.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Absolutely Wonderful!

    Absolutely Wonderful!

    • Guest Amy S. (Victor, MT)
    • Date of stay 09/06/10
    • Review Submitted 09/11/10
    We found this home to be every bit as beautiful as the photos show it to be. It is clean, spacious, well appointed, and located in a quiet, private setting with unobstructed views of the adjacent lush, forested Ravenna Park. Perfect for our family and safe for our 4 year old, I would highly recommend this stunning urban oasis as the perfect vacation rental home in Seattle.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Clean and roomy luxury

    Clean and roomy luxury

    • Guest Matt (Denver)
    • Date of stay 09/03/10
    • Review Submitted 10/02/10
    My family and friends recently completed our stay at the quiet and charming Ravenna house and could not have been happier. The accommodations were exactly as advertised and the property is located next to some great walking paths and a playground that our kids loved. The spaciousness of the home made it easy to get all of the extended family in for a visit although parking was difficult given the number of vehicles we had (there is really only room for 2 cars). Working with the owner was easy and she answered all our inquiries promptly. Parking is a little tricky on the hill but the property was centrally located for all of our day-trips. The only difficulty we had was in accessing the wifi--one of us was able to log on but the other three could not. We talked with the owner and she assured us she would get that squared away for future visitors. We will definitely be back and will recommend this property to all of our friends staying in Seattle.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place

    Great place

    • Guest Daniel (Cambridge, MA)
    • Date of stay 08/21/10
    • Review Submitted 10/02/10
    We were a group of eight people from MIT who attended a conference in Seattle and looked for something nicer than a hotel. The only problem we had with Inge's home is that it was too much of a temptation to just hang around there rather than go to the conference... It is a great home, with all the amenities of a city home and a peaceful feeling of a country mansion. Highly recommended!

    Owner response: Thank you so much, Daniel. I sincerely apprecited your visit and that you considered my home for your conference. Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I would love for this home to be able to be a haven to many visitors to Seattle. Please do come and visit again. Any returning visitors, are welcome to have a day free on me! with my very warmest regards, and as always sincere appreciation, Inge

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent Home Away from Home

    Excellent Home Away from Home

    • Guest Elizabeth (Gallup, NM)
    • Date of stay 06/22/10
    • Review Submitted 07/01/11
    All the windows in the house face the park or trees on the property. I felt so peaceful, as if I were in a forest, and yet totally safe because we were in a lovely neighborhood. The house itself is beautifully decorated and yet very functional, even for the four boys ranging from two to seven in age. I cannot imagine staying a week in a hotel with these active grandsons, but the house was perfect. The small yard around the house is even fenced and gated. Twice we entertained some of the wedding guests and family members. The kitchen is conveniently adjacent to the dining room and was well stocked for cooking large meals. With some time to sightsee, we appreciated the discount available with the city pass. Our favorite seafood restaurant was Anthony's Pier 66 near the Seattle Aquarium.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for taking your time to write your lovely review. We remain so grateful to everyone who chooses our home. We love sharing this really peaceful haven. with my sincere thank you, Elizabeth!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Delightful!

    Delightful!

    • Guest UrbanGirl (Bellingham, WA)
    • Date of stay 02/14/10
    • Review Submitted 04/12/10
    I stayed at this property for one month and I honestly did not want to leave. There is something so warm and cozy about this home. The kitchen is charming and fully equipped, the dining room is a lovely spot for entertaining, I loved sitting with my book, while the fire was crackling! The yard is lovely and because it backs right up to the park, you feel like you are living in your own little private forest. Ravenna Park has great walking trails right out the back door! My favorite part of this home was waking up in the most comfortable bed looking out the window at the blossoming cherry trees and listening to the sounds of the birds chirping outside. The bedroom is so happy and inviting, it was hard to get up in the morning! The house is in walking distance to almost everything. There is a great coffee shop near by and two really cute grocery stores. The Whole Food supermarket, along with Starbucks is less than a 5 minute drive. I found a great little restaurant right up on 55th Street called Frank's! They have a great happy hour and is also great for dinner. Just up the street is Pair, another little gem. University Village is also about a 5 minute drive. Here you will find the best shopping and some really great restaurants! Piatti is a wonderful spot for Italian! If you are looking to be pampered, Julep is a great spot for a mani / pedi! Also, In Spa and Spa Scotto are great if you need a massage! I would highly recommend staying in this great house and hopefully you will fall in love with it as much as I did! I would come back again and again! Thanks, Inge!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]