Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Casa Susana

Casa Susana-Architectural Delight in a Vacation Paradise [#275294] | View Property

Playacar
Villa, 4 Bedrooms, 5 Baths (Sleeps 8)
$2,800 - $5,500/wk US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (13)

Sort by:
  • Amazing week at Casa Susana

    Amazing week at Casa Susana

    • Guest Mr. Holligan (Ontario Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/07/14
    • Review Submitted 03/08/14
    We stayed at Casa Susana from Feb 7-14, 2014. My wife and I have been to Mexico several times and had always done all inclusive resorts. We decided this year to rent a house on the recommendation of a friend. Casa Susana did not disappoint, the house is beautiful the pool is amazing and the walk to the beach is only a short walk. Your close to town so it's only a short walk. I travel a lot for work and I'm pretty picky when it comes to accommodations, this house is 5 star all the way, exactly as advertised.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Luxury villa in a lovely location

    Luxury villa in a lovely location

    • Guest Dennis N.
    • Date of stay 12/21/13
    • Review Submitted 12/29/13
    We had a lovely time at Casa Susana over Christmas week. The house is just as described and pictured on VRBO: an attractive and well maintained luxury villa in every sense. We particularly enjoyed the many comfortable outdoor spaces for relaxing. We have just a few notes to help others decide whether this is the right house for them. 1. This is a very tall house — five floors, counting the basement and the rooftop pool area — with high ceilings on each level. That translates to a lot of stairs. We found it good exercise, but those who have difficulty with stairs should take note. 2. It is quite a hike along some uneven pavement from the house to the entrance of the complex. Playa’s shopping and restaurant district on 10th and 5th avenues begins just outside the entrance, but it takes a long walk to get there. For shops and restaurants farther to the north in the business district, a car or cab is essential. There are plenty of cabs along Paseo Xamanha and in town. Apart from a few large hotels along Paseo Xamanha, there are no shops or restaurants very near the house, so that means cabbing or driving for groceries and almost everything else. 3. The beach is closer than shopping, but still a stroll. The owners provide beach chairs and other equipment in a locker near the gate, and plenty of beach towels near the back door, so be sure to carry them with you when you go. 4. We only needed three bedrooms so the house worked well for us. The master bedroom occupies the full third floor; the other two are on the second floor. All are en suite. The windowless fourth bedroom, formerly the maid’s room, is on the basement level. While fully furnished and seemingly comfortable, it is dark and relatively isolated. Access to the rooftop pool is from the balcony outside the master bedroom, which means one has to go through that bedroom to use it. 5. The open-air lounge of the Reef Hotel is directly across the street from Casa Susana. On two of our seven nights, there were loud parties there, complete with throbbing bass and drums. Fortunately, the sleeping areas of the bedrooms face away from the Reef and the parties didn’t go too late. Still, bringing a pair of earplugs would be wise. Finding the house after dark was a problem. Here’s the solution: as you face the Reef Hotel on Paseo Xamanha, the main street through the complex, Sayil is the street on the left and Casa Susana is the second house in from the intersection.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • M & L (Massachusetts)

    M & L (Massachusetts)

    • Guest LeeB (Easton, Massachusetts, USA)
    • Date of stay 02/05/13
    • Review Submitted 02/21/13
    This was truly a beautiful vacation rental. We have rented several vacation homes in different settings. This home and its amenities ranks among the very best. The home had everything any vacationer could ever need. The furnishings throughout were top notch. The maid service made for a relaxed stay as we had little cleaning up to do. The kitchen was fully equipped and sparkling. Sitting out on the patio after an afternoon at the beach was one of our favorite activities! The neighborhood pool was exquisite and we had it to ourselves each day ( Many of the neighbors' homes were not occupied when we visited.) Use of the pool and the gorgeous beach at the Reef resort next door was an added bonus. You will not be disappointed in this fabulous rental.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Delightful Vacation Getaway

    Delightful Vacation Getaway

    • Guest G & M (Cape Cod)
    • Date of stay 02/05/13
    • Review Submitted 02/17/13
    Tired of the cold and snow? Head to Playa del Carmen and stay at Casa Susana. We recently spent a lovely week there with friends. Casa Susana is a clean, tastefully decorated home. The main floor has a spacious open floor plan with comfortable furnishings - large living room, dining room, and a fully equipped modern kitchen. Just off the living room is a patio where you can gather and relax with friends and family. The pool is just steps away. The house has 2 bedrooms on the 2nd floor; both have ample closet space and large bathrooms. The master is on the 3rd floor again with a large closet area, dressing room, and large bathroom. On the lower level there is a laundry room (less packing) and another bedroom with its own small bath. The beach is just a short walk away and guests of Casa Susana have the use of the Reef's pool and beach facilities.The management company can answer all your questions about water, shopping and transportation. You can make arrangements for excursions to Mayan ruins and zip lining right at the Reef. Evenings hop a cab and head into Playa del Carmen for the nightlife - great restaurants and shopping. Go! You'll love it!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Holiday Escape

    Wonderful Holiday Escape

    • Guest divergirl (Charleston, IL)
    • Date of stay 12/21/12
    • Review Submitted 01/07/13
    For our vacation we had five people, ranging from 19-57. The house accomodated us very well by allowing us each our own bedroom and bathroom since there is a master bedroom, two regular bedrooms, and another room in the basement. The beds were all very comfortable, air conditioning and water pressure all worked well also! The walk to the beach, which was very clean, uncrowded, and large, was less than 5 minutes and very easy. Having a rooftop soaking pool and patio was very convenient! The house is also located close enough to town that you can easily walk in instead of taking cabs every time. The management made checkin very quick and easy, and also made it possible to have food and drinks available for when we arrived. Upon arrival the house was very clean and organized. Overall our stay was wonderful and we would definitely recommend it to anyone and stay again!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Heaven on earth , the Casa Susana !

    Heaven on earth , the Casa Susana !

    • Guest Duck (Lincoln, Nebraska)
    • Date of stay 03/14/12
    • Review Submitted 03/23/12
    Did we ever find peace and solitude for an absolute wonderful vacation in Playa Del Carmen, Mexico ! This property has everything and MORE than what is discribed. Just a few minute walk ( if you choose ) to 5th Ave. OR Taxi service runs by constantly for your convienence. The photos do not describe the absolute beauty of this villa by any means ! EVERYTHING and by that I mean EVERYTHING from the bedsheets to the wonderful jacuzzi in the Master bath to the strong water flow from the showers, this IS the place to relax in comfort. The appliances are state of the art, the rooftop pool with a beautiful view is fantastic for get togethers or just to "chill" by yourself ! The maid service was excellent and very polite and did a wonderful job. We discussed this villa with the owners several times before we came down and found that they were extremely helpful with all our questions and very truthful with what to expect ! The property was maintained at such a high level ( i couldn't have done a better job myself ) that it made us feel like we were kings & queens in Playadise ! Our favorites were the kitchen ( for my wife ) and the HUGE grill and rooftop pool ( for myself ) . The properties next to us were not rented at the time we were there so, it made our stay like we were on our own island ! This was our 14th trip to Playa Del Carmen and the 1st staying in a villla, all i can say is : We will NEVER stay in a hotel again in Playa ! When you contact the owners to answer your questions you will get nothing but professional responses in a very short time and most importantly ... HONEST answers ! We will be back again and again as this is such a GREAT location that it can't be beat ! We would reccomend the Casa Susana to ANYONE who wishes a care free wonderful relaxing vacation close to all the shopping and restarants to fill your every need ! There is a golf course within a very short Taxi ride that is situated right by the ocean in Playacar and very challenging ! What an AMAZING vacation ! THANK YOU Rich & Sue for a most memorable time !

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Casa Suana Is Awesome!

    Casa Suana Is Awesome!

    • Guest cpfstich (Hayward, WI, USA)
    • Date of stay 03/10/12
    • Review Submitted 03/31/12
    An absolutely phenominal place! We loved our stay at Casa Susana, I highly recommend it!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great House

    Great House

    • Guest Merry (Minnesota)
    • Date of stay 02/04/12
    • Review Submitted 02/19/12
    This is a great property. We spent a week with family and found the home to be wonderful. The management company was great and very helpful. Taxi service is easy to get from this location and it is a short taxi ride to local grocery stores or to the tourist areas. The house itself had everything we needed and was very comfortable. It is beautifully decorated and in a great neighborhood with beautiful houses. The beach access is a short walk and the beach is great. This is a great rental for families or a group of people who don't want to be in the middle of the tourist areas or at an all inclusive resort.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Outstanding rental choice!!

    Outstanding rental choice!!

    • Guest Missouri Travelers (New Bloomfield, MO)
    • Date of stay 12/25/11
    • Review Submitted 01/09/12
    We just spent seven days over Christmas in this wonderful and beautiful home! It is within walking distance to 5th Ave. and a quick walk via a community path to the beach. It is conveniently located next door to the Reef Hotel which comes in handy should you want to take advantage of using their beaches and pools for a day (wristbands included in rental), catch a taxi, or get any other local information! The home has everything you need and then some for an extended stay and both the management company and owners were more than accommodating in answering questions and meeting our needs. The home is exactly as described and I would highly recommend it to anyone! There is a pool and tennis court out the back door and a beautiful soak pool on the roof for a perfect ending to every day! The gourmet kitchen makes cooking a breeze! Take a taxi to Chedraui grocery store for all of your food and beverage needs for the week and you will be set! Thanks to Richard and Susan for sharing your beautiful home!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful!!

    Wonderful!!

    • Guest Kathy (Darien, Illinois)
    • Date of stay 01/15/11
    • Review Submitted 01/23/11
    My family (parents, sister, brother-in-law, 3 nephews, and my son) just returned yesterday from a week at this house and it fulfilled all that it said and we'd hoped it would. The size and spacing of the rooms was perfect. The Management company was fantastic on getting us a plumber immediately when we had a toilet and shower problem. The maid was kind and did a nice job! The location is perfect; to be immediateltly next to the Reef for quick and easy access to the beach. The high-lite of the experience for many of us, my 14 y/o son the most, was the roof!!! We loved to be able to go up and "swim" anytime we wanted and have a clear view of the ocean and surrounding area, and every night we would end our days on the roof looking at the moon and the lights of Cozumel in the distance across the ocean! The ONLY problems we had actually were with the Reef. We bought all-inclusive passes the 1st day we were there to not have to worry about food that day (although the Management company had grocery shopped for us before we arrived). We were not told the passes ended at 6pm so when we went to go to dinner we were not allowed, and they made no exemption even though we were not told when we bought them ($50 adult/$25 kids 12 and under), so we only got breakfast and lunch for the amount we paid. Anyway...that was our only problem and it had nothing to do with the wonderful house OR with our daily passes to the Reef and use of the pools/beach there! I would go back to this location in a heartbeat and would highly recommend it to anyone!!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Another Great Week In Playa

    Another Great Week In Playa

    • Guest Janzie (Boston)
    • Date of stay 01/05/11
    • Review Submitted 01/12/11
    We just returned from Casa Susana, renting from 1/5 to 1/12. This is our second rental of this unique property, staying here for a week last January. We had such a great time last year that we rebooked with our group of three couples. We were so surprised to see that even since our stay last year, much more outdoor furniture had been added including very nice patio and roof top furniture. The owners have continued to add nice amenities. We used the tennis rackets to play in the court right behind the house and enjoyed both the roof to and common area pools. The maid service every other day was a real plus and Ely, the maid, spent several hours, starting at the roof and working all the way down, even doing the dishes. The roof top on this house is incredible, with a marble floor and views of the top of the Riu Palace lit up at night. You can also see Cozumal while sitting in the pool! All we can say is we hope we can get back next January and stay at Casa Susana again. What a great Villa!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Casa Susana is AMAZING

    Casa Susana is AMAZING

    • Guest Ben (Chicago, IL)
    • Date of stay 12/30/10
    • Review Submitted 01/06/11
    Where do I begin? First of all, the pictures don't do the house justice at all. It is huge and modern with really cool architecture and design. Richard and Susan have done a nice job decorating as well so that you really feel immersed in luxury. The kitchen had everything our group (10 people) needed; all the supplies that a full/normal kitchen would have. There is a purified water tank with lots of drinking water that are easily refilled. The 4 bedrooms are spacious, and my girlfriend and I stayed in the 3rd floor master suite with king bed, beautiful bathroom with walkin shower and jacuzzi, ample closet space, etc. The roofdeck has 2 levels, but the top is exquisite- with lots of room to soak up sun, lounge, and cool off in the 6-7 person cooling pool. We spent many afternoons after a long day at the beach relaxing on the roof as the sun went down feeling like a million bucks. The living room in Casa Susana has a comfortable couch for about 6 people to sit on, with plenty of chairs to use as well. They have tennis rackets stocked in the house with balls, and even boogie boards. Satelite TV and Air conditioning in each room, along with free wireless internet made us feel right at home. The backyard is a nice sitting area for a meal or a drink with a new, big grill to cook things up. The location of the house is great- the communal pool is litearlly 50 steps from the backdoor, and the tennis court is right behind. We used the reef club pool/beach area/volleyball every day we were there and never seemed to get sick of it. The reef club entrance is literally 100 steps from the front door. You can always pick up cabs to go downtown. cabs take up i'd say 70% of the cars on the road though in playacar, so it's not like you're living near a busy street. Although this is my first real villa experience, I can't say enough about how great Casa Susana is. And I have to give a warm congratulations to the planning, preparation and hospitality of Playa Paradise management group. Mercedes did a wonderful job of coordinating with me and our group before the trip, and then in Mexico they were really on point about delivering a luxurious experience. If you're in the market for a villa anywhere in Mexico- Playa Del Carmen and Casa Susana is the place you need to be. Ben (+9) from Chicago, LA, Milwaukee. Dec 30, 2010- Jan 5, 2011.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Just returned

    Just returned

    • Guest mo (new jersey)
    • Date of stay 12/21/10
    • Review Submitted 01/03/11
    Pictures are great, but actually visiting a house is another matter. We just returned from an 8 day stay at Casa susana. The outside is lovely as shown. the inside is another matter. The house is dated and in need of some refurbishing. We were told we were getting a 4 bedroom house, except that one of the bedrooms is in a basement, no windows, musty and dungeon like. The living room is large, but the couch is old, torn, stained, cigarette burns and needs to be replaced. We covered it with towels during our stay. The only shower that worked well was the master on the third floor, the others and kitchen sink trickled water. It was only repaired after constant complaining. The management company was not responsive, especially after we lost all water service. We were given a local phone to use to contact them if there was a problem. they failed to tell us that there were no minutes left on the phone to call them. We emailed the US to call them directly. The kitchen utencils were scarce and there were few pots to cook with. We went out and bought fry pans and pots to cook for the kids. The towels were old and not pleasant.With some investment, this house could be lovely, but we did not enjoy it at all.

    Owner response: I hope that this review is not posted because it is full of lies. These clients were the "clients from hell". First of all the house is hardly dated and almost everything is new, one year ago, including all, bedding, 400 count sheets, towels, cookware, barbecue, outdoor furniture. There is sevice for 12 on everything, plenty of wine glasses etc. The house has only been occupied 12 weeks since we acquired and furnished it. Unfortunately there is a small hole in our bran new sectional. These clients asked so many questions before renting, even having us send pictures of every bathroom. Half way through their stay, we got the folloeing email from a representative of our management company: "Hi Richard, just for you to be aware thispeople are the worst renters we have ever had. They treat the employees as animals. They are disrespectful and completely abusive. I just wanted you to know. We will work the best way. The maid has asked us to please dion't send her there anymore. They requested everything be sent to the launndry, everything!.... Every pillow, every becocover, cushions, It is a completeluy unusual situation. We look forward to the 29 so they finally leave... Have a great dinner and Merry Christmas. See you soon Hugs" Our management company, Playa Paradise, is very highly respected and reviewed on Trip Advisor. They do a wonderful job with Casa Susana. Thjey manage many condo's and houses in Playa and Akumal and claim this to be their worst client ever.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]