Relaxing Hideaway with Infinity Pool
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:Contact owner
- Pets considered:No
- Wheel chair accessible:Yes
Sunset Ridge house description
This is a peaceful hideaway nestled in the trees above a beautiful ravine, yet only minutes from the beaches of the west coast and all the shopping facilities of holetown.
It is a wonderful house for entertaining, having inside and outside dining areas, a massive deck several terraces and approx 40ft reception room which leads directly onto the infinity pool giving the feeling of complete openness.
All bedrooms have private terraces and on suite bathrooms.
It is furnished with contemporary Italian furniture and imported Italian kitchen which is fitted with Smeg appliances.
The utility and maids room is separate to the house.
This is a very romantic house and the whole feeling is of complete peace and privacy.
- Vacation Rental
- Limited Accessibility
- Pets Not Allowed
- Minimum Age Limit For Renters
- Wheelchair Accessible
- Clothing Optional/Nude Sunbathing Nearby
- Not Suitable For Children
- Non Smoking Only
Bedrooms: 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8, Beds for 2-8
- King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (4)
Bathrooms: 4.5 Bathrooms
Kitchen & Dining
- Catering Available
- Cooking Utensils
- Washing Machine
- Parking Off Street
- Linens Provided
- Air Conditioning
- Covered Parking
- Clothes Dryer
- DVD Player
- CD Player
- Satellite / Cable
- Broadband Access
- Deck / Patio
- Lanai / Gazebo
- Water Skiing
- Live Theater
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Fitness Center
- Jet Skiing
- Horseback Riding
- Sight Seeing
ReviewsWrite a review
What an wonderful holiday we had staying at De Hideaway. The house is beautiful and very appealing with its open-concept allowing beautiful warm breezes. Its location is perfect, 5 minutes away for shopping and the beach, but set on a beautiful and peaceful ravine. The pool and deck area are outstanding for sunbathing and reading, and the kitchen was great for cooking. We couldn't have asked for a nicer and more helpful owner who gave us great tips and recommendations, also ensuring we were comfortable. I hope to return soon!
- Guest Michael (Toronto, Ontario)
- Date of stay 03/17/12
- Review Submitted 03/29/12
A very nice house with privacy but insufficient equipment
A very nice house with privacy but insufficient equipment
We stayed in December 2011/12 and obviously the review from January 2011 had caught our attention. We rented a car, thus solving the issue of beach access, and did not have any problem with hot water. However, and despite all the best efforts of Juliet and her crew, we faced a series of deficiencies, some of them being particularly irritating. First of all, and to the contrary of what the Owner had previously answered (see above) there's no WiFi in the house. As such be prepared to bring your cables to use the broadband access: the agency was able to provide us with only 2 cables whereas we needed 5 connections. By the way it's also a real shame not to be able to enjoy the pool whilst working or surfing on the net. In addition the AC does not work in one of the bedrooms (even with some technical support from the agency), which has not been recognized as an issue by the Owner either. Finally there is a lack of basic equipment for a house of this standing: no microwave, not enough beach towels etc... Too bad really as all the other ingredients were there for a beautiful stay...
- Guest Thierry (Mamaroneck, NY, USA)
- Date of stay 12/26/11
- Review Submitted 01/07/12
Recommended for: Age 55+.
Owner response: This tenant asked for a rebate I refused to give one and I feel this review is the result of that. I do not have a microwave in my house as I dont use them,the air conditioning is working however December is cool at night and not needed,there are at least 8 beach towels. Three people at a time can use their computers,but alas no Wi fi how sad in a place as beautiful as Barbados. As for refering to a review 18 months ago that is just plain nastiness of course there is hot water the house has been rented out all year with no other complaints and most of them didn't hire a car. Shame home owners cant name some of the tenants for other landlords to review.
My wife and I spent our honeymoon at De hideaway although the villa has four bedrooms,the fact that two of them are seperate from main house it doesn't feel too large for a couple,we had a fabulous time the infinity pool off of living room is completely private from everyone. We stocked up 2 fridges and hardly left the villa at all even although the beach is within easy walking distance. We are both keen cooks and found the kitchen ideal as we cooked and then dined on the extensive sun deck. We had a wonderful and very memorable stay at the villa so much infact that we've booked it for our first anniversary .
- Guest Paul (London)
- Date of stay 07/08/11
- Review Submitted 08/21/11
Recommended for: Sightseeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.
Fantastic house and location
Fantastic house and location
We stayed at this beautiful house from 22/12/2010 for two weeks over xmas and new year. The property was as advertised and had everything our family of four needed. Elegantly contemporary, with living space seamlessly bringing the pool, decking and garden into the house. The location is fantastic as it is tucked away, private and peaceful yet you are minutes walk from Holetown, the shops and the beach. We walked to Holetown most days and evenings, the walk back is uphill but great exercise on a lazy indulgent holiday. We would definatley stay at this property again and would highly recommend it. Chris,Di,Cal and Georgia Cheshire UK.
- Guest Chris,Di,Cal,Georgia (Cheshire UK)
- Date of stay 12/22/10
- Review Submitted 03/13/11
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, girls getaway, age 55+.
We stayed at this property in January 2011. Upon arriving and being greeted by the gracious property manager, Juliet, we were asked for a security deposit which had never been mentioned in any of the communications with the owner. When I mentioned the fact that I had not been advised that a deposit was required the matter was fortunately dropped. The listing had some discrepancies i.e. the computer. It should be removed from the listing as there isn't one. Another issue was the DVD player that wasn't hooked up to the TV. The property manager brought us a cable but we were not able to install it. There were a few other minor issues (i.e. kettle that didn't work, no beach towels, rusty kitchen utensils etc...) but it should be said that these were quickly addressed by Juliet as soon as we brought them to her attention. The biggest issue: The solar hot water heater was on the fritz and the property manager tried to have it fixed unsuccessfully so we had no hot water for the entire week! I asked the property manager to discuss a credit with the owner however we never heard back and at this price hot water is a must. For those that want to walk to the beach it can be done but it would be better by car as the road down to the beach is narrow and busy with traffic and can be scary on foot. The property managers, Juliet and Franklin, had been newly retained just prior to our arrival and were outstanding. They did their best to address the shortcomings but the hot water situation was a major inconvenience! This is our 3rd stay in Barbados and while this property is beautiful and quiet and for the most part as advertised, we wouldn't stay here again as our expectations were higher, based on previous stays in Barbados at other properties within the same price point as this one.
- Guest Mark & Jules (Montreal, Quebec, Canada)
- Date of stay 01/23/11
- Review Submitted 02/14/11
Owner response: In response to the last review,these people booked the house two days before arriving which is very last minute,therefore they had to sign the tenancy contract and pay a deposit on arrival they refused to give a deposit for any damage which is normal in all villa rentals. We have never had a computer at the house but we have Wi Fi as most people bring there own. They had brand new beach towels at the villa but failed to find them. When the kettle stopped working it was replaced immediately,as for one rusty potatoe pealer I find that particularly petty as In the tropics things rust very quickly and something like that is not always detected immediately. With regard to walking to the beach,a family of five stayed just before these people and had a fantastic holiday and all walked everywhere(see review from Lucy in Canada) As for the hot water I totally understand that they were upset as the water was not boiling hot, that was very unfortunate in that a part could not be found while they were there,leaving the water luke warm. However the tenants were told to contact the owner directly with a view to some kind of compensation and they never did. This house is worth one and a half million US dollars and the rent is very reasonable for such a villa. Unfortunately you can't please everyone.
To my family's delight, this rental property was exactly as it was advertised. The three bedrooms and three and a half bathrooms were spotless and spacious. If you like to cook (as we do - every meal was prepared at the house) you will find the kitchen ideal. The layout of the house provided privacy for all as well as opportunities to hang out together either by the pool or in the living room in front of the flat screen tv. The five of us arrived and left by taxi and felt there was no need for a personal vehicle as we were a mere ten minute walk from Holetown, where we were able to bank, purchase any food and beverage items needed, as well as go to the beach or catch a local bus to anywhere on the island. Three of our party took the bus to the south end of the island to learn how to surf. One day we hired a glass bottom boat and snorkeled with turtles and amongst fish right out of Finding Nemo. If we were to return to Barbados we would definitely come back to this property and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. My only suggestion to those who are sensitive to mosquito bites (and they are on every island) would be to do what we didn't: bring repellant and anti-itching cream. Do consider this property!
- Guest Lucy (Toronto, Canada )
- Date of stay 01/06/11
- Review Submitted 01/18/11
Recommended for: People with disabilities, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, girls getaway, age 55+.
I have had the privilege of renting this villa three times over the last couple of years and if time would allow I would go there more often. Elegant, understated sophistication and just a stone’s throw from the shops, bars and restaurants of Holetown. The pool is a real treat and essential on those days when I simply didn’t feel like going to the beach. Recommend: dinner parties outside on the terrace. My friends were impressed and quite frankly so was I. A car is essential, but I think that goes without saying on Barbados anyway.
- Guest Keeley (London)
- Date of stay 11/05/10
- Review Submitted 01/10/11
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, girls getaway.
From $1,900US per week... Xmas: .............. from $5,000US per week Including taxes and a housekeeper Extra staff and cook can be provided at a extra cost
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details.
Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
Sorry this information is not available. Please contact the owner for more information.
Year Purchased: 2007
Why the Owner Chose Sunset Ridge:
I love the Caribbean and this is a very special house and location
The Unique Benefits at this House:
This house offers total Privacy and peacefulness, and a feeling of being part of nature as the house can be completely opened with massive folding doors onto terraces and tropical gardens full of the nature of the tropics including beautiful birds and green monkeys.
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
Open Plan living area with view into Kitchen
View through to infinity pool
Outside dining area
Second view of living area
alternative view through to infinity pool
There have been visitors to this page since
the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2009.
Date last modified - Wednesday, November 13, 2013