Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Relax in luxury in your private, quiet oasis near lively SoCo (S. Congress).

Stunning Soco Mid-Century Modern - Minutes from Downtown. [#276850] | View Property

Soco
Townhome, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 4-5)
$199/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (25)

Sort by:
  • LOVED our stay. GREAT location. Comfortable and wonderfully appointed

    LOVED our stay. GREAT location. Comfortable and wonderfully appointed

    • Guest Patrick W. (Cleveland, OH)
    • Date of stay 02/20/14
    • Review Submitted 02/28/14
    We LOVED our visit, and this property exceeded our expectations. Great decor/design - well done, and we really appreciated the attention to all the small details (great pillows, high quality kitchen appliances, lots of closet space, etc). Great location, too: minutes from the SoCo neighborhood, and about 5-10 minute drive from downtown. Owners were very helpful with recommendations regarding local restaurants and activities. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this house to any friends that might visit Austin, and we look forward to another visit in the future! Thanks much!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Love, Love, LOVE this home!!

    Love, Love, LOVE this home!!

    • Guest Ann B.
    • Date of stay 01/16/14
    • Review Submitted 01/30/14
    We came for our 16th anniversary and felt so embraced by the clean, bright, stylish lines of the home and by the storied history of the neighborhood. What a joy! We will be back and send only the best of our LA bretheren.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We had an amazing stay!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We had an amazing stay!

    • Guest Kathy and Ben
    • Date of stay 01/09/14
    • Review Submitted 01/12/14
    We are so very glad we found you and we have to come back soon! We will definitely recommend to others. Great location and neighborhood. Very cute decor and wonderfully comfortable space. We loved it and had a great time celebrating a very special occasion. Again, thank you so much!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • loved the home and the neihgborhood

    Guest comment entered by owner

    loved the home and the neihgborhood

    • Guest Jenni, UK
    • Date of stay 10/29/13
    • Review Submitted 11/04/13
    We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Orange Door - so stylish, simple, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Great location too! Very quiet. Second trip to Austin, staying in SoCo area, definitely prefer the Travis Heights/SoCo neighborhood - the walk to SoCo several times a day was great - kept us fit and we also loved looking at the houses in the neighborhood. Revisit to Vespaio, Jo's, Enoteca (best cafe) did not disappoint either - great quality, friendly, good value, superb food and wine! Thank you so much for a lovely stay in this lovely home!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Loved Travis Heights; Soco Homes are clean bright

    Loved Travis Heights; Soco Homes are clean bright

    • Guest Susan P. (Minneapolis, MN)
    • Date of stay 09/19/13
    • Review Submitted 09/24/13
    We spent a long weekend visiting our UT daughter and attending business meetings. This was a lovely home base for us and a space for our daughter to come stay with us. The neighborhood is lovely and safe. I jogged throughout the neighborhood each day. The home is clean, fresh, bright and well appointed. The owners were attentive. We stayed in the Yellow Door but on another trip looked at Orange Door. These were furnished similarly. I will definitely stay again in this neighborhood and would actively seek out the landlords. They are professional and provide just the right information to make this successful. Thanks much!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful home

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Beautiful home

    • Guest The McColm Family
    • Date of stay 08/04/13
    • Review Submitted 11/12/13
    Dani and Joel, My family and I enjoyed our stay at your beautiful home. We will definitely be calling you again the next time we’re in Austin. Cheers!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • We will never stay in another hotel again

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We will never stay in another hotel again

    • Guest Matt and Brandie, Dallas TX
    • Date of stay 05/13/13
    • Review Submitted 11/12/13
    Dani and Joel, This was our second stay with you guys and both times have been great. We come to Austin every year and we will never stay in another hotel again. Thanks again and we will see you next year…

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Charming spaces close to everything!

    Charming spaces close to everything!

    • Guest Tatum (Denver)
    • Date of stay 02/23/13
    • Review Submitted 02/28/13
    My husband and I have stayed with Soco spaces twice now and will continue to book for additional visits to Austin. For the convenience, charm, and amenities you simply can't beat the price or location. These rentals are literally walking distance to South Congress, close to downtown and easy to find from the Highway. Travis Heights is also the most charming neighborhood in Austin! It's quiet and comfortable and great for up to 4 people. If you are traveling with a group, there are 4 or more rentals in this area which makes it perfect for outdoor gatherings and dinners at home. A++

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Place to stay in Austin

    Perfect Place to stay in Austin

    • Guest jj (playa del rey)
    • Date of stay 02/18/13
    • Review Submitted 02/27/13
    We were in Austin shooting a commercial and I rented the Blue, Yellow, Green, & Orange Doors. They were perfect for what we had to do in regards to work and great for what little free time we had. We have stayed in some great hotels but staying here felt like you were home as they are tucked away in one of the best neighborhoods in Austin. We could walk to the best coffee shop in town, Joe's...and many great restaurants. My crew loved it! We will definitely be back. jj

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • SOCO spaces-peach door

    SOCO spaces-peach door

    • Guest dee (houston)
    • Date of stay 01/25/13
    • Review Submitted 01/28/13
    This is our second time staying at soco spaces. We stayed at the blue door a few years back and absolutely loved it! This time around we stayed in the peach and olive door- and it exceeded all expectations! the houses are stunning, beautifully decorated and comfortable, with everything you can imagine to enjoy a weekend stay or more, in Austin. the location was perfect. tucked away in a quiet neighborhood but also close to everything. We had a chance to meet the owner, and she was just lovely!! What we love about the soco places is the personal touch-- the owners always go out of their way to try to accommodate us.. we had a group of ladies staying for a weekend getaway, and we were able to stay in 2 adjoining houses that worked perfectly for us! this is the best option when staying in austin, and I wish every city and town I visited had a "soco space" such as this! thank you , Dani and Joel!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Kansas transplants looking for warmth

    Kansas transplants looking for warmth

    • Guest mel (Leawood, KS)
    • Date of stay 01/15/13
    • Review Submitted 02/24/13
    My husband and I were looking for a warm climate to call home for a winter month. The Orange Door was available and it became that home. Dani and Joel were extremely helpful. The neighborhood and location were perfect and SoCo was the place to be. The food, music, history and atmosphere of Austin were amazing. I can't think of a better getaway. As much as we enjoyed our stay, we hope to return when the wildflowers and crepe myrtle are in bloom. We will definitely try to book with SoCo Spaces again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Kansas transplants looking for warmth

    Kansas transplants looking for warmth

    • Guest mel (Leawood, KS)
    • Date of stay 01/15/13
    • Review Submitted 02/22/13
    My husband and I were looking for a warm climate to call home for a winter month. The Orange Door was available and it became that home. Dani and Joel were extremely helpful. The neighborhood and location were perfect and SoCo was the place to be. The food, music, history and atmosphere of Austin were amazing. I can't think of a better getaway. As much as we enjoyed our stay, we hope to return when the wildflowers and crepe myrtle are in bloom. We will definitely try to book with SoCo Spaces again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • DEE - LIGHTFUL

    DEE - LIGHTFUL

    • Guest Katie K (San Diego)
    • Date of stay 09/26/12
    • Review Submitted 10/02/12
    I stayed in town for business and to see some friends, this place is a bit off the main strip, but in a perfectly delightful neighborhood. When I return, I will stay there again. Its hip, trendy, well thought out for the needs, and so very AUSTIN.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Modern Home in a Charming Neighborhood

    Modern Home in a Charming Neighborhood

    • Guest Tatum (Denver)
    • Date of stay 03/21/12
    • Review Submitted 04/03/12
    My husband and I stayed at the Orange Door during a long weekend in Austin. We both used to live in Texas and love returning to Austin. These gorgeous modern duplexes (there appear to be two homes divided into a total of 4 apartments) are just perfect and far superior to a stay in even the best hotel. The rentals are located in one of Austin's most charming neighborhoods, Travis Heights, and it is just minutes to South Congress, which is the best area to visit in my opinion. We love going downtown, and to 2nd street, too of course, but really find the SoCo neighborhood to be the most vibrant. It's not a short walk to SoCo, but if you don't have a car you can easily get there using the beach cruisers available to property guests. The beach cruisers were such an unexpected surprise and just perfect for the area. The rental comes with everything - two bedrooms that make it easy for two couples to vacation together, all amenities, easy parking, and even a private washer and dryer. All the rentals were occupied when we were there, but it was still amazingly quiet, and comfortable. A quick trip to Whole Foods provides you with everything you need for up to a week-long stay, and with a coffee maker, and complete kitchen amenities you can enjoy time in the apartment, too. It's a great neighborhood for walking, but also has quick access to I 35, SoCo and downtown. The owners leave a complete guide book as well, in case you are unfamiliar with the area. The view of oak trees through the main window is lovely, but I think the other rentals have better patio/courtyard areas for a morning cup of coffee. I will only stay with So Co Spaces from now on and I am already hoping to book for SXSW before they fill up! We highly recommend SoCo spaces and the Orange Door!

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • SoCo Spaces

    SoCo Spaces

    • Guest stacey (new orleans)
    • Date of stay 02/20/12
    • Review Submitted 02/29/12
    I recently spent three days at this property on a girls trip. The house is exactly as pictured. It is clean, comfortable and has more than enough room. The location was perfect for our needs, we wanted to explore the SoCo neighborhood, Barton Creek Wilderness area and Zilker Park. Everything was within walking distance. The neighborhood is adorable and convenient. The oak shaded patio made for a perfect place to sit and relax in the afternoons. We loved exploring Travis Heights. The architecture is really interesting and I loved all of the Dwell style houses that seem to be popping up everywhere. The owners provided a great booklet with restaurant suggestions, directions and places to visit. We found this really helpful and I thought it was such a nice touch. Really, everything about this property was great and I would definitely stay here again.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Beautiful, Modern, and Peaceful!

    Beautiful, Modern, and Peaceful!

    • Guest Sasha (Anchorage)
    • Date of stay 10/07/11
    • Review Submitted 10/12/11
    My friend and I recently stayed at the Orange Door. What a beautiful spot. It is meticulously decorated (I took photos for ideas for my house) and it has everything you could ever need if you want to cook. We didn't cook while we were there so didn't get to test out the stove and the beautiful range hood. It is wonderful to have your own laundry room as well so you don't have to haul as many clothes with you. The location is perfect - just minutes to downtown and to several fun spots. The neighborhood is really nice and quiet and the neighbors are super friendly. Also, Dani is the consummate hostess. She quickly answered all the questions I had and gave great suggestions for places to eat and explore. I'd love to stay in the other places too. I highly recommend the Orange Door to anyone looking for a place to stay in Austin. You will not be disappointed!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Great place in awesome location

    Great place in awesome location

    • Guest Chris E. (Austin, Texas)
    • Date of stay 06/10/11
    • Review Submitted 06/16/11
    We had a great weekend at the Orange Door. It had all the amenities we could want. It was so fun to be able to easily walk to SoCo and enjoy the restaurants and bars there but also enjoy the peacefulness of the quiet, friendly neighborhood where this home is located. The communication was great prior to the stay and the book you have with lists of restaurants and things to do (as well as instructions for how to work things in your house) was very handy and useful. Thanks again for the fabulous stay!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Hip & Convenient!

    Hip & Convenient!

    • Guest Jen (Atlanta, GA)
    • Date of stay 04/29/11
    • Review Submitted 05/08/11
    Thanks so much for sharing the Orange Door with us! I was excited to find such a hip, convenient place for us to stay in Austin, it did not disappoint! We really appreciated all of the thoughtful amenities (all the kitchen stuff, nice linens, comfy beds/couch) and the simplicity of the space. We had a wonderful time in Austin! Thank you, thank you! - Bryan, Jennifer & Joy

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect Location + Pretty Neighborhood

    Perfect Location + Pretty Neighborhood

    • Guest Lynda (Green Bay, WI)
    • Date of stay 03/26/11
    • Review Submitted 05/08/11
    We had a wonderful time in Austin & loved your house. It was a perfect location to go running, biking + an easy access to the city for all the music. Our dog Bailey loved his early morning walks in the pretty neighborhood. It was a peaceful setting in the morning for me to get some writing done on my 2nd book. We loved visiting the Ransom center to see how authors, screenplay writers & play writes outlined their work, and the personal letters from publishers etc.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Lost in Austin

    Lost in Austin

    • Guest Tracy + Jason (Hawaii)
    • Date of stay 04/06/10
    • Review Submitted 05/22/10
    I've always heard that Austin was a cool place to visit. So, my husband and I wanted to heighten our first experience by staying in a house and neighborhood that represented that fact. From the start, the owners were so quick to reply to our emails and answer several questions. We booked the house for 6 nights and settled in very easily. The house, which sits in a lush green neighborhood, is so peaceful and extremely convenient. Being from Hawaii, my husband and I are well-versed in cool vacation destinations, and Austin's SoCo neighborhood did not disappoint. The house has everything you could possibly need, while maintaining an uncluttered and un-fussy vibe. The combination of the comfy sectional couch situated in front of the large picture window is a problematic arrangement- I could not peel myself off of it ;) Use the time there to study the visitor guides that they have kindly compiled for you. The other random pluses are: easy parking, private laundry room, comfortable beds, coffee out on the porch, nice assortment of dishes and glassware, and large closets.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Could not be better

    Could not be better

    • Guest april10visitor (brooklyn, ny)
    • Date of stay 03/29/10
    • Review Submitted 04/21/10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this house. The house is even better than it appears (which is usually not the case), and the location is excellent. The decor is quite lovely and the beds very comfortable. The owners were wonderful and very responsive to any questions and ensured that we had a great visit. Next time we rent a house again in Austin, we hope to stay here!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Stylish home, quiet neighbourhood but very close to the fun.

    Stylish home, quiet neighbourhood but very close to the fun.

    • Guest Bklynrenter (Brooklyn, NY)
    • Date of stay 03/16/10
    • Review Submitted 03/23/10
    This is an incredibly well appointed house. The owners have managed to create a stylish, homey environment with all the simplicity and convenience of a boutique hotel. The house is on a tree-lined quiet street with friendly neighbours and is a lovely 15-minute walk to the amazing restaurants and stores of South Congress and a 5-minute drive to downtown. Hope to come back for a visit soon!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Quiet and Peaceful Sophistication

    Quiet and Peaceful Sophistication

    • Guest Filo (Toronto,Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/13/10
    • Review Submitted 04/18/10
    Stayed here for a month this past winter.The photos on VRBO site accurately describe this tasteful and sophisticated oasis close to South Congress. What they fail to capture is the serenity and quiet of this inner city gem under its majestic canopy of live oaks. Would gladly return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Dean12 (Houston, TX)
    • Date of stay 02/04/10
    • Review Submitted 02/04/10
    Thanks so much for sharing your lovely guest house with us. You've done a wonderful job of remodeling. We've stayed in rentals in the US, Canada, Italy & France. This was one of the best locations and perfect for us. Having lived in Austin in the 60's, we toured old haunts & new museums. And of course, a few wineries. We hope to return. - Terry & Dean

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Ellie & Mark (Portland, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 01/04/10
    • Review Submitted 01/04/10
    My husband and I were looking for a neat place to stay for a visit down to Austin. This place was beautiful! The furniture, the bedding, the dishes...everything! The beds were super comfortable and the neighborhood was quiet and convenient. The owners even provided walking directions to all the restaurants etc. on South Congress avenue - which was great for getting our bearings on the first morning. We can't wait to come back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]