Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Pool & Gazebo

Casa Tia Tita - El Zonte - Special Beach Front Property [#278383] | View Property

El Zonte
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 9-10)
$280/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (70)

Sort by:
  • Fantastic Beach and Vacation

    Fantastic Beach and Vacation

    • Guest TomZ (Chicago, IL)
    • Date of stay 03/22/14
    • Review Submitted 03/30/14
    My family (2 adults and 4 young children, ages 6, 4, 3, 1 1/2) just returned from a week in El Zonte. What a fantastic place! It exceeded our expectations from the house, pool, beach, the staff. Mario was waiting for us at the airport and helped us load all our luggage. His wife made wonderful meals and is such a kind woman. It was a fun experience going to the fish and local markets to buy all the groceries. The boys had so much fun playing in the sand, jumping in the waves, playing in the pool and then taking naps in the hammocks. We took the boys to visit the local school on one day and dropped off donations that we brought with us from the states. Mario was also so wonderful and taught the boys to boogie board and took then to buy popsicles. Gordon was so helpful and so nice to work with in planning this vacation. We felt very safe even traveling with our young children. We hope to visit Mario and his family and El Zonte again!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Still the best!

    Still the best!

    • Guest Bret and Carolyn (Ohio)
    • Date of stay 03/08/14
    • Review Submitted 03/29/14
    Third time at Casa Tia Tita in three years and it just keeps getting better! We would not have believed that the cooking could get any better, but it did! We were extremely impressed by every meal. The team that the owner has in place can't be beat. We always feel so safe and well taken care of there. The owner even made sure we had plenty of "supplies" on hand because of the presidential election taking place the day after our arrival meant there was no alcohol sales allowed in the country the day before, day of, and day after the election. Thank you so much for your foresight! If you are considering Central America for a vacation, El Salvador is the country and Casa Tia Tita is the place to stay!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Much better than we imagined. Best vacation ever

    Much better than we imagined. Best vacation ever

    • Guest Lorraine T.
    • Date of stay 03/01/14
    • Review Submitted 03/19/14
    Let me begin by saying that we stayed at Casa Tia Tita for one week only because it was not available for two. It is owned by Gordon and Ana. When we were not able to stay for two weeks Gordon personally found us a rental for the second week. Such a lovely man. We arrived at the airport (4 adults and 2 children 12&9. As arranged Mario, Gordon's property keeper picked us up at the airport. When we arrived at the house we couldn't believe what a gem we had found. It truly was a bit of paradise . Everything was better than the pictures showed. You could tell a lot of love was put into this property. It had that special vibe. We were introduced to Mario's wife Morena who with the help of Laura would cook and look after the house. After lunch Morena and Mario accompanadied us into Lalibertade for groceries. They took us to the wharf where there are hundreds of vendors with fresh seafood. We told Morena to cook what she would typically cook for our stay. We were not in the least disappointed. Everything was delicious, she even surprised us one mid afternoon with the best ceviche we had ever eaten. The grounds are very well kept,the pool was wonderful for cooling off off but the beach was the beast part. Right at our door step. So beautiful. We watched the sunsets from the gazebo, so beautiful. We all took advantage of the numerous hammocks, so restful. While there our grandchildren and son in-law took surf lessons every morning. Spanish lessons every morning for the kids. This was all arranged by Marie-Pierre who works next door at Frida's Casa-Restaurant. I could go on and on about this property but you have to experience it yourself. We have stayed in properties in Europe,Nicaragua and Asia but this was so much superior. We have a policy that we don't return anywhere the second time because we are seniors and want to see as much as we can while still able. WE WOULD RETURN in a heartbeat. Thank you Gordon,Ana and wonderful staff for sharing this very special place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Much better than we imagined. Best vacation ever

    Much better than we imagined. Best vacation ever

    • Guest Lorraine T.
    • Date of stay 03/01/14
    • Review Submitted 03/19/14
    Let me begin by saying that we stayed at Casa Tia Tita for one week only because it was not available for two. It is owned by Gordon and Ana. When we were not able to stay for two weeks Gordon personally found us a rental for the second week. Such a lovely man. We arrived at the airport (4 adults and 2 children 12&9. As arranged Mario, Gordon's property keeper picked us up at the airport. When we arrived at the house we couldn't believe what a gem we had found. It truly was a bit of paradise . Everything was better than the pictures showed. You could tell a lot of love was put into this property. It had that special vibe. We were introduced to Mario's wife Morena who with the help of Laura would cook and look after the house. After lunch Morena and Mario accompanadied us into Lalibertade for groceries. They took us to the wharf where there are hundreds of vendors with fresh seafood. We told Morena to cook what she would typically cook for our stay. We were not in the least disappointed. Everything was delicious, she even surprised us one mid afternoon with the best ceviche we had ever eaten. The grounds are very well kept,the pool was wonderful for cooling off off but the beach was the beast part. Right at our door step. So beautiful. We watched the sunsets from the gazebo, so beautiful. We all took advantage of the numerous hammocks, so restful. While there our grandchildren and son in-law took surf lessons every morning. Spanish lessons every morning for the kids. This was all arranged by Marie-Pierre who works next door at Frida's Casa-Restaurant. I could go on and on about this property but you have to experience it yourself. We have stayed in properties in Europe,Nicaragua and Asia but this was so much superior. We have a policy that we don't return anywhere the second time because we are seniors and want to see as much as we can while still able. WE WOULD RETURN in a heartbeat. Thank you Gordon,Ana and wonderful staff for sharing this very special place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Joan &n Butch Mercersburg, PA

    Joan &n Butch Mercersburg, PA

    • Guest Joan & Butch (Mercersburg, PA)
    • Date of stay 02/15/14
    • Review Submitted 03/04/14
    What a wonderful place for vacation. We were very pleased with everything and I mean everything. Mario and staff you couldn't have asked for better service in a 5 star hotel, the food was wonderful. We enjoyed seeing the sun sets and the sun rises from the gazebo. It was such a relaxing place to be. Thank you again Gordon and Anna for sharing your wonderful place with us! It was a vacation to remember.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful and Relaxing

    Wonderful and Relaxing

    • Guest Pam (Glenn Dale, Maryland)
    • Date of stay 02/15/14
    • Review Submitted 03/04/14
    Casa Tia Tita was everything we thought it would be. The house, grounds, pool and especially the Tiki Hut for sunsets and morning coffee were perfect. Mario, Merina and Laura were so very helpful and patient with us and our limited Spanish. The food was great so we only went out a couple of times but next door is Casa Frita where the drinks are great, the food is good, and everyone was very friendly. We also went down a few doors to Olas Permanente(Loved our waiter Miguel) for more good food and cold beer. You really never need to leave the house except for a walk down the beach to see the sunrise or a dip in the ocean. Anna and Gordon were great to work with and always available to help us with anything that we needed. We will be going back again and hope to explore a little more. I know safety is concern for people as it was for us but we never felt uncomfortable and found that everyone we met was very friendly. One thing we were told is that a SMILE goes a long way in El Salvador and that is very true.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful, Relaxing Beach Vacation

    Beautiful, Relaxing Beach Vacation

    • Guest Dan G.
    • Date of stay 12/22/13
    • Review Submitted 01/06/14
    Incredible location. Relaxing vibe. Beautiful weather. What more is needed? I highly recommend Casa Tia Tita to anyone considering traveling to Central America. The property is extremely relaxing with hammocks scattered about, a raised gazebo with panoramic ocean views, a nice pool area and direct beach access. The staff is also awesome. Mario was extremely helpful with transportation around the area and Morena is a phenomenal cook. We never left the property to eat. If you are looking to checkout from the hustle and bustle of daily life, Casa Tia Tita is the place for you. We'll definitely be back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Another Fantastic Vacation

    Another Fantastic Vacation

    • Guest Desert Dwellers (Surprise, AZ)
    • Date of stay 12/06/13
    • Review Submitted 12/14/13
    This is our third time staying at Casa Tia Tita and we had a wonderful time like always! It feels like coming home. We enjoyed eating typical local food and relaxing in the ocean and the pool. Naps in the hammocks are a bonus! And, we always treasure walking on the beach to see the sun rise out of the Pacific and then set again at the end of the day back into the ocean. The property is clean and well-maintained and the owners are always making improvements. The staff is fantastic. We will be back again soon!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: We were so glad when you chose to return for the 3rd year. You were one of our first renters and much of what we do for our guests has come from your input. We want El Zonte to be as much a home for you as it is for us. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to hearing from you again for your forth stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Beach Location

    Wonderful Beach Location

    • Guest Ken (Zeeland, Michigan USA)
    • Date of stay 11/26/13
    • Review Submitted 12/02/13
    Our family of 6 plus a friend stayed for threee nights at Casa Tia Tita. It was just so, so relaxing. We were incredibly well cared for by the staff (Mario & Morena). Meals were wonderfully prepared and such a time savings to fully enjoy the beach or relaxing on the property. The boys took some surf lessons from Will and his friends and were enjoying riding some waves in no time. You won't be disapointed. Thank you Gordon and Ana for sharing this beautiful place.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful property. Great location!

    Beautiful property. Great location!

    • Guest Angela (San Diego, CA)
    • Date of stay 11/02/13
    • Review Submitted 11/14/13
    I would highly recommend Casa Tia Tita to anyone traveling to the El Zonte area. I have traveled throughout most of Central America and found this place to be one of my favorites. The staff was amazing and the food was better than any local restaurant. Very friendly and accommodating!! The property was very well maintained and exceeded our expectations. We plan on visiting El Salvador again in the near future and will definitely be staying here!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome Surf Vacation

    Awesome Surf Vacation

    • Guest SD92106 (San Diego, CA USA)
    • Date of stay 11/02/13
    • Review Submitted 11/11/13
    Great location. Well-maintained amenities. Super-friendly staff. Awesome food. The (5) of us came for a surf trip and weren't disappointed by any aspect of our stay. I had been to a couple of other Central American destinations, and was pleasantly surprised by the feeling of safety and overall ability to relax at this property specifically. We were lucky enough to be there when the owners of the property were there and we had a blast. The swell produced some great waves as expected, but the highlight was the accomodations when we came out of the water. A cool-temperature pool, great company with the staff when requested, savory food and great lounging amenities (hammocks, chaise lounges, padded bench seats in the outdoor family patio area, and even more hammocks). I typically stay at 4-5 star type resorts or boutique B&B's for destination vacations like this last trip, and was very happy with what Gordon and Anna provided to us. This property is well priced. We will stay here again and recommend to friends. Aunt Tita would be proud.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Calm, Cool & Collective 8)

    Calm, Cool & Collective 8)

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/05/13
    • Review Submitted 08/17/13
    Casa Tia Tita - Calm, Cool & Collective! Relaxing and amazing. If you're looking for a good time this is the place to go to! Description is accurate and the location is even better in person. Great beach and awesome house. Morena and Mario very friendly and helpful people, took care of us very well! Great property to stay with family or friends. Very safe location, private and not a lot of people out in the beach. Recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a place to stay in La Libertad. Gordon was very helpful with questions and concerns; always quick with responses- Thank you!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awsome House, Mario is the best!

    Awsome House, Mario is the best!

    • Guest matt (montara, ca)
    • Date of stay 05/19/13
    • Review Submitted 05/28/13
    This was our second year in a row.....and now officially an annual trip for us. The house is as good as ever with one huge improvement, Mario (driver/house manager). Mario really took great care of us as we used him to access all the surf spots. A fantastic house, with fantastic people in an amazing location.....what more could you ask for? Thank you Gordon!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car.

    Owner response: for 2 years in a row you and your friends have been exilent guests and we look forwar to seeing you next year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • After Wedding Getaway

    After Wedding Getaway

    • Guest none (Maryland)
    • Date of stay 04/28/13
    • Review Submitted 05/04/13
    We stayed at Casa Tia Tita an extra night because we were having such a great time. Three days with our new Salvadoran son-in-law, our daughter, her friends and their parents, and other assorted relatives (a full house) was a perfect getaway after a wedding in San Salvador. Other reviews have highlighted the wonderful accommodations, great food and staff, and spectacular environment, with which we heartily agree; I would only add this vignette...the last night we were gathered on the patio and our son-in-law was playing the guitar and singing. Morena's two-year-old wandered in, curious, followed by her brother and then Morena and Mario. We all sat and enjoyed the music and the children while Fredy played, and I felt we transcended the "tourist" experience and shared something special and universal. Thanks again Gordon and Ana, for a magical retreat.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It is our pleasure, and to hear your comments strengthens what I feel about El Zonte. Pretty places are pretty places but the joy comes from sharing the experience with others. You have shared your experience with Mario and his family, and now we have shared our experience with you and your family. It brings great joy to hear that you've recognized just how special this place is, and we hope it brings you back one day.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful beach location

    Wonderful beach location

    • Guest Christine R. (KSA)
    • Date of stay 04/20/13
    • Review Submitted 05/01/13
    Casa Tia Tita is fabulous. There were 6 of us and we fit comfortably. Absolutely loved the adorable family on site that cooked and cleaned. We rented our own car which fits our life style better, we need the flexibility and freedom to come and go as we like. Airport is an easy drive but you may want someone to meet you if you rent your own vehicle. We hired a Mario to get to the volcano. The hike was amazing and somewhat challenging as it was a 5 hour jaunt. Mario joined us and loved the day, a albeit long one. We rented surf boards and boogie boards from the place down the beach and the kids took a one hour lesson and practiced the rest of the 9 days there. The surf is challenging on El Zonte so we took to El Tunco. This area provided an assortment of wave choices and a great vibe with an assortment of stores and restaurants. We also ended up at the Juguar in El Tunco where we could access free wireless Internet as the USB didn't work for us at the house and the AT&T international plan I purchased for the iPhone for a month was spotty and unreliable at the house. We had kids that needed to get homework done while we were away so reliable internet was unfortunately necessary. Food was awesome. It was the first time I had a cook and cleaner built in to a vacation. Preparing the menu before you arrive is good advise. We ate about 75% of our meals at the house and also enjoyed some of the local stops along the roads. Definitely take someone shopping with you the first time, great Mercado for fresh local fruits and veggies, fishing pier, and grocery store in La Libertad. I was the only one in the group that has never taken Spanish lessons so communication was easy for the group. I still feel like I learned a lot while I was there. All in all a great country. Very laid back with few rules, very relaxing.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Vacation

    Wonderful Vacation

    • Guest Bret and Carolyn (Ohio)
    • Date of stay 03/09/13
    • Review Submitted 03/20/13
    Our second time at Tia Tita and still can't believe that it was even better than the first! Gordon's continuous improvements are noticeable and appreciated. The staff keeps the area extremely clean and tidy and even though we speak very little Spanish, we always seem to communicate. The food is wonderful! We came with a spreadsheet of meal requests by day and in Spanish (cut and paste off letter sent by Gordon) and Rosi was very happy and made her shopping list off of it. Do go on a shopping trip with the cook. The fish pier and the open air market are great experiences! The amenities, pool, ocean, beach, safe location, and available activities make for one of the most relaxing vacations you can have. Thank you Gordon and Ana! We will be back again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I want to thank you for such kind words; especially about the staff. Ana and I came in on the day you left and the first thing we heard from them was how nice your family was and how they hated to see you leave. We all look forward to your return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Special place, very nice people.

    Special place, very nice people.

    • Guest hombre sincero (grass valley)
    • Date of stay 01/18/13
    • Review Submitted 02/05/13
    Two senior couples spent a lovely 2 weeks. The staff made our stay. Rosie is a wonderful cook, and Mario and Morena are very friendly and helpful. The beach is peanut-butter colored with pepper. The water is warm. the waves change constantly with the tides. La lib has everything you need. if you use macbook, suggest download java 7 before you get there so the Claro internet mobil "stick" will work. Check out marina Muelle. enjoyed a travel day to Los Cobanos. Gordon, except for being a Ravens fan, is a good guy to work with. You'll enjoy your stay "for sure." El Sal isn't a rich country is some ways (ave. wage is $7/day), but is in others. 2 weeks was right for us. CB

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Awesome Vacation!

    Awesome Vacation!

    • Guest Brian (Hopkins, MN, United States)
    • Date of stay 12/26/12
    • Review Submitted 02/18/13
    My wife, 3 kids (ages 7, 5, and 3), and parents had an absolutely amazing vacation at Casa Tia Tita over Christmas break. Having spent some time studying in Costa Rica back in college, I was anxious to go back to Central America, but also wanted to have a more unique experience, instead of staying at a hotel or resort. With a little research and web-surfing on VRBO, El Salvador and Casa Tia Tita looked like a great fit. At first I was a little nervous to bring our family to El Salvador, considering some travel advisories listed by the US government. However, Gordon was quick to answer any questions and even had a number of former guests e-mail me personally, with reassurances of the safety of the area. I really appreciated that. Upon arrival, we were so glad that we had chosen to stay at this beautiful property. The grounds are manicured, full of tropical plants, numerous coconut palms, and the relaxing sounds of the ocean. We loved having the outdoor living space, whether reading books in the many hammocks, swimming in the pool, or relaxing with beverages and taking in the breathtaking ocean views and sunsets from the gazebo. Although we did not feel adventurous enough to take to a surfboard, the shallow and warm waters of the beach provided some great boogie-boarding, even for our young kids. However, what truly put this property over the top was the amazing staff on site. Rosi’s meals were delicious, Morena took wonderful care of the casita, and Mario was a wonderful guide and travel-companion on our drives to town and our couple day-trips to Juayua and Cerro Verde. In fact, we were honored that Mario made his first trip to Cerro Verde with us, on his birthday no less! Thanks to a refresher on my college Spanish, we were able to have a number of great conversations and it truly enriched the experience to be able to communicate with all of them. They are some of the kindest people you could meet and take great care of the guests. As you can tell, we had a fantastic stay at Casa Tia Tita and hope to get back to El Salvador some day. If you are interested in a relaxing tropical oasis, far away from big hotels and resorts, this is the place for you!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Vacation!

    Wonderful Vacation!

    • Guest Paula (Eagan, MN, USA)
    • Date of stay 12/26/12
    • Review Submitted 01/11/13
    We spent 11 nights at Casa Tia Tita over the new year with our son, daughter-in-law and 3 grandchildren. It was such a special place with a lovely, very clean house, beautiful well kept grounds, gorgeous beach and sunsets, and the pool. The best part was being taken care of so well by Mario, Morena and Rosi. Rosi's cooking was excellent and it was the biggest treat for us to have wonderful meals made and served to us outside each day. We chose our meals and accompanied her to LaLibertad to the fishing pier for lobster, shrimp and fish, to the markets for fresh fruits and vegetables, and to the supermarket where she shopped for all the other ingredients we needed for the meals chosen. It was a fun experience shopping that way. Whatever we needed was attended to by Mario and Morena, We so enjoyed getting to know them and their two children. We took two day trips - one to Cerre Verde In Volcanoes National Park and one to Juayua for a Saturday food festival . Both outings were 2 hours away and well worth the trip. Our three grandchildren, ages 7. 5 and 3 had a wonderful time playing in the waves. The beach is shallow quite far out, so it is a great place for children to have fun. There are sea caves and tide pools with sea urchins just down the beach. We loved our time at Casa Tia Tita and would recommend it to anyone. The El Salvadoran people we met were very friendly.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • vacation

    vacation

    • Guest Judi (Belmont ma)
    • Date of stay 12/21/12
    • Review Submitted 01/04/13
    I feel I didn't say enough in my last recommendation. This place is awesome- the house , the property, the caretakers and cook and the beach. The beach is beautiful. There are a few bars and restaurants on beach but definitely would have Maria do the cooking. Reading in the hammocks and listening to the crashing waves was incredible. Even at night the sound of the waves crashing was amazing. Beautiful sunsets could be seen from the house. The vacation was terrific and It was Casa Tia Tita that made it that way. I loved our stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thanks for your added praise. I knew you loved El Salvador and now everybody knows.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • vacation

    vacation

    • Guest Judi (Belmont ma)
    • Date of stay 12/21/12
    • Review Submitted 01/04/13
    Everything about the house, the property and the house was wonderful. Truly an amazing place to stay. We had the house keepers do our grocery shopping and cook for us. That was fantastic. 3 delicious meals and they were delightful. I loved our visit.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Casa Tia Tita a Slice of Heaven

    Casa Tia Tita a Slice of Heaven

    • Guest Dudes (Golden, British Columbia, Canada)
    • Date of stay 11/08/12
    • Review Submitted 12/11/12
    We have just come back from 3 weeks at Casa Tia Tita and it was wonderful. The property is gorgeous, clean and well maintained. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Rosi & Moreana are good cooks and will make you anything. We enjoyed a lot of fresh seafood and looked forward to the great breakfasts. Mario looks after the grounds, pool and equipment. Everything was well maintained and in good order. To make your stay more enjoyable we recommend you brush up on your Spanish as the staff know/speak little English. We had some difficulty with meal times and menus. The staff indicated they understood our requests but would work to their own schedules not ours. Eventually we sorted it out with the help of a very good Spanish/English dictionary and the use of Google Translator, but we wished we'd taken Spanish lessons. The beach is literally at your door step and the water is warm and inviting. We enjoyed walking at low tide and going through the sea tunnel at the end of the beach; right side if looking at the ocean. Walking the other way you can wade through the Puente El Zonte and enjoy the beach front food vendors while watching the surfers. The sunsets are spectacular and we spent every evening watching the sun go down from the steps to the beach and/or on the upper level of the gazebo. Casa Tia Tita is only 20 minutes from La Libertad. Park by the main beach plaza and wander out to the pier or the street market located one block off of the highway. We bought all of our seafood on the pier and most of our fresh fruit/vegetables at the market or the street vendors. There is also a good grocery store (Super Selectos) a few blocks further east along the highway. If you have a car we recommend driving up to three local villages: Tamanique (visit the waterfalls/diving pools but hire a guide for this), Shaltipa and Teotepeque. All of these towns are located on paved roads but watch for potholes, farm animals and people. Each village is unique and has its own character. Teotepeque has a beautiful old church. We also visited the weekend market in Juayua and drove up to Cerro Verde and hiked the Santa Anna volcano. We recommend both trips and they're only 90 minutes away. If you want to go out for dinner we recommend Bento's. Sit by the railing overlooking the ocean. Gordon and his family own and maintain a slice of heaven. We recommend the Casa Tia Tita. Its a great place to relax. Enjoy El Salvador its a beautiful country.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic vacation experience!

    Fantastic vacation experience!

    • Guest Dana and Liz Larsen (Santa Barbara, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/31/12
    • Review Submitted 11/01/12
    The driver picked us up from the airport and was overly helpful. Our family arrived to the tropical paradise and immediately felt a sense of peace as the property had so many features that all would lead to a relaxing experience. The cook asked us what types of food we would like to eat during our stay. We created a shopping list and enjoyed searching for all the perfect foods at the open market. Each day we experienced exquisite local dishes. Another family of four joined us during the stay and we all were amazed at how the property allowed each of us to have our "own" space to relax in the hammocks, swim in the pool or ocean...or just have a siesta on the second story of the gazebo or on the outdoor patio area. The town of El Zonte is quaint and the people are very friendly. We do plan on taking another vacation to Tia Tita.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Un tout compris privé et flexible qui mérite 5 étoiles Michelin

    Un tout compris privé et flexible qui mérite 5 étoiles Michelin

    • Guest Mario (Québec, Canada)
    • Date of stay 06/30/12
    • Review Submitted 07/23/12
    Que demander de plus. Vous voulez la formule tout compris, rendez-vous à la maison et laissez-vous aller, le gens de la Casa Tia Tita s’occupe de vous et ce en toute sécurité. Vous préférez l’autonomie et l’aventure, ils sont toujours là pour vous conseiller et vous faire vivre le Salvador. Voici ce que vous aurez dans ce tout compris : - Le repos assuré avec vue magnifique sur la mer et des hamacs un peu partout qui ne demandent qu’à vous bercer au rythme des vagues pour la « siesta ». - Ou encore des visites dans le pays, à la demande, moyennement un supplément. La meilleure formule pour découvrir El Salvador de façon tout à fait sécuritaire. - Des repas copieux et succulents, chez vou,s face à la mer (pas à la cafétéria ou dans un restaurant à la carte), gracieuseté de Rosi la cuisinière, avec qui nous avons fait les courses à La Libertad. Par la même occasion, visite du port pour acheter poissons et fruits de mer et visite du marché pour les fruits et légumes : nous aurions payé pour ces seules expériences. - Du surf pour les pros ou des cours pour les débutants sur une mer incroyable. Des matches de soccer sur la plage pour notre fils de 8 ans avec de jeunes Salvadoriens. Des massages à la maison par les mains expertes de Sabrina. Mais plus que tout, l’accueil chaleureux des gens de Tia Tita (Mario, Morena, Eber et Mariella) mais aussi de ceux et celles de El Zonte (Gato, Santiago, Mutsu, Antonio, Armando, Victor, etc.). Enfin, à notre arrivée, nous avons eu le privilège de passer trois jours avec Gordon et Ana (les sympathiques proprios)... la « cerise sur le sundae ». Vraiment un très beau séjour… trois semaines ce n’était pas assez!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: As I speak no French, I have no idea what you have written but I can say that it was a great pleasure for Ana and I to have met you and your family. I trust I will see you again one day and hope that meeting takes place in El Zonte. PS if anyone can translate this for me I would appreciate it. Gordon

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • visiting "mother land"....

    visiting "mother land"....

    • Guest conejitos (Reisterstown, MD)
    • Date of stay 06/21/12
    • Review Submitted 07/06/12
    If you are looking for tranquility, friendly atmosphere, delicious food, clean and a well kept beach front house in El Zonte, this is the place to be. The staff members are friendly and attentive. Rosie, Morena and Mario work very well together making the guest feel welcome. Casa Tia Tita is just PARADISE! My family and I are already making plans to go back next year. Thank you Gordon and Ana for sharing your house!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • perfect

    perfect

    • Guest matt (montara, ca)
    • Date of stay 05/06/12
    • Review Submitted 05/13/12
    casa tia tita is an amazing house in an amazing setting. the staff made the stay absolutely turn key and very relaxing. it's really a perfect set up in all respects. we will definitely be coming back.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A little slice of Paradise...

    A little slice of Paradise...

    • Guest Team Pilsener (Seattle/ Austin)
    • Date of stay 03/03/12
    • Review Submitted 03/16/12
    We could rehash the 40+ glowing reviews already posted but that's not going to tell you anything new. I will say that they are all accurate. The property is beautiful and immaculately kept. The pictures don't do it justice. Oscar, Rosi and Marena are wonderful people and hosts. Attentive but unobtrusive. The food prepared is delicious and plentiful. The surf and beach in front of the house is spectacular and steps away. Some of the things not mentioned as much that we certainly enjoyed. We traveled up to the Apaneca canopy tour and food festival on the same day. It was a great side trip. Oscar drove and accompanied us the whole time. It was a great plus to have someone that knew their way around. Sabrina, the masseuse is very good at what she does. Since her 1st visit, we've had her come back every other day since. I'm currently writing this from the 2nd floor of the gazebo awaiting my final massage. Even though I'm already nothing more than a jello mold of the person that showed up 2 weeks ago. I had asked Gordon about other activities prior to our arrival and he said he found it very hard to leave the beach, once he was here. I didn't really understand it until I spent 2 weeks here and it's a abundantly clear. It really is a very relaxing little slice of paradise. In summation, I guess the best thing I can say is that we all feel that a relaxing beach vacation, any where else would have to live up to some very lofty expectations to beat this one. So much so, that we've already discussed a return next year. . Gordon and Ana, Thank you so much for opening up your home to us.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: I just spoke to Oscar and want you to know that he and the girls were as sad to see you go, as you were to leave. They very much enjoyed your visit, and spoke often of the sounds of laughter coming from where ever your group was sitting at the time. They also spoke of how kind you were to them and what a pleasure it was to work for you. Most guests leave El Zonte with wonderful memories. Thanks to you and your crew for leaving some behind.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • You Can't Do Better Than This!

    You Can't Do Better Than This!

    • Guest Bret and Carolyn (Ohio)
    • Date of stay 02/23/12
    • Review Submitted 03/01/12
    If you are considering a beach stay in El Salvador, do it. and this is the place to choose. Casa Tia Tita is wonderful! The beach location is beautiful! The staff is extremely helpful and hard working, the grounds are clean and well kept, the house is spotless, and the cooking is outstanding! My wife tried out most every hammock on the property, and we so enjoyed watching the beach activity from the upper floor of the gazebo. The sunrises and sunsets were breathtaking. We are already planning our return trip. Thank you Godon and Ana for opening your house to us.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We received your reservation for next year and you're in. We look forward to your return visit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic for familes with children

    Fantastic for familes with children

    • Guest Melissa (NYC)
    • Date of stay 02/11/12
    • Review Submitted 02/29/12
    My husband, 7-month-old daughter and I spent an amazing week at Tia Tita's. This house is perfect for familes with young children(or older). Having meals prepared for us instead of having to prepare them ourselves gave us the extra free time to really relax and have quality time with our daughter. The house is a perfect beach house and we were able to accomodate all of out Salvadoran friends and family that came to visit. We asked that Oscar purchase all of our food so we didn't have to go to the market and that was a great benefit and let us really have a stress free time! Going to the market is great for people who have never been to El Salvador, but for those with limited time in country or who have already been there is really no need, We hope to stay again next time we visit!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thanks Melissa. Because of your experience we are considering an additional offering of having the staff purchase all of the groceries on a cost plus basis. Grocery shopping can take several hours and I never considered that our guests may rather have it done for them. Thanks again and I look forward to your next visit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Just what we needed

    Just what we needed

    • Guest mlh0722 (Rapid City, SD/ USA)
    • Date of stay 01/15/12
    • Review Submitted 01/26/12
    Let me start by saying that truly this vacation ought to be measured not in hours or days, but in the number of contented sighs I have emitted since our arrival at Casa Tia Tita. We chose this property in no small part because of the large number of glowing reviews. It does not disappoint! The caretakers were a huge added benefit! We still felt plenty of privacy, but they were ready to help when we needed them. And while I came prepared to cook meals, I completely abondoned the thought when I realized how wonderful the cook was! After a hard day of lounging on the beach or by the pool, you arrive at the already set table to a fully prepared DELICIOUS meal... then they take the dishes away and wash them for you! I was in bliss. What's more, the food is amazing! We normally like to try a few local restaurants but only made it to one because we felt we were missing out on the cooking at Casa Tia Tita. Rosi's pupusas are great! I loved the shredded chicken tacos! And she even prepared some lobsters at our request. The house is lovely. While not a luxury hotel, it is, in fact extremely nice and exquisitely clean. The grounds are even more beautiful with hammocks, lounge chairs, a nice pool (with floaty toys included). You will be so pleased with the two-story palapa. From the second floor, you have a gorgeous view of the beach, surfers, and the sunset. What's more, the house lies on the best stretch of beach in El Zonte! When you walk the rest of the beach you'll be even more confirmed you chose a great place to spend your vacation. We took a day trip to San Salvador (some shopping, artisan market, and eating out), La Ruta de los Flores (go on a weekend. The Thursday we went many things were closed. But definitely visit the waterfalls by Juayua). I also highly recommend getting a massage from Sabrina - she was wonderful! We found El Zonte to be incredibly relaxing and Casa Tia Tita the perfect location in which to enjoy it!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Dear Rapid City - Thank you for these kind words. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our home. My wife and are planning our next visit in June but after reading your comments, I found myself a little homesick so I'm checking flights as we speak. Thanks again - Gordon

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We miss Casa Tia Tita

    We miss Casa Tia Tita

    • Guest Martin & Jenny (Montreal, Canada)
    • Date of stay 01/03/12
    • Review Submitted 01/30/12
    The only question you will ask yourself will be "on which of the 6 hamacs will I lie down today?" No kidding! We wanted to get some rest and this casa has been the perfect place to relax. Oscar and Rosi were the best caretakers: not intrusive at all; Rosi is a great cook. We did not speak Spanish very well but we managed to communicate with the help of our dictionary. Oscar drove us the Izarco Volcano where we climb the mountain for 4 hours: really difficult trek but you will be proud of yourself once you will do it. The ocean is right in front of the house where you can swim and surf all day long. You can get surfing lessons at El Dorado Hotel (on the same beach) where you can also have a drink at night if you want to meet some cool people. Overall, we had the best vacations and we will be back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. You were excilent guests and are welcome any time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Pure Paradise!

    Pure Paradise!

    • Guest Val (Chicago, IL, USA)
    • Date of stay 12/07/11
    • Review Submitted 12/15/11
    Casa Tia Tita was an amazing place to vacation. Playa El Zonte is a great place for a fun, relaxing vacation--whether you surf or not. The house itself was wonderful--better than the pictures. The pool is a great refresher in the middle of the day, and the 2 floor gazebo had an amazing view. The property was extremely clean and well maintained, thanks to the on-site staff. The staff took such great care of us. They really helped to make our trip that much more wonderful. The food that was cooked for us was some of the best food we have ever eaten. The staff recommended places for us to go, helped us with surfing and renting boards, and took us on day trips. We visited Juayua and the nearby waterfall and not only did Oscar drive us, but he stayed with us and helped guide us though the food festival and waterfall. The owners were extremely helpful before and during the trip and were quick to respond to phone calls and emails. I would highly, highly recommend Casa Tia Tita. It was a phenomenal location and the best vacation we've ever had.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A ROYAL FLUSH OF A VACATION

    A ROYAL FLUSH OF A VACATION

    • Guest staush (MANCHESYER MARYLAND)
    • Date of stay 11/26/11
    • Review Submitted 12/07/11
    My first visit to El Salvador, first and foremost Casa Tia Tita was fantastic...clean...sooo confortable,so beautiful,sunrises and sunsets the best ever,the foods that rosey prepared for us were delicious.Oscar and Marina were always available and ready to help in any way.My Spanish is pretty bad and we soon communicated easily....the waves were big and the beach right out front was great...a sun bathing paradise,this place is so nice you really do not need to go anywhere except the short trip to libertad to the seafood market and fishing pier.If you have never been to a 3rd world country be prepared to see very poor living conditions outside of the resort areas and seeing whole famlies working together to secure the simple needs of life.We are so blessed and i am amazed at the contentness of this wonderful nations people ,friendly,beautiful,hardworking,polite,and always smiling.I recommend Casa Tia Tita 100% you will love it. When you visit the libertad fihing pier and market place take plenty of $1.00 bills to buy hand made gifts from the kids you will be putting food on thier plate ENJOY this great country

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Amen

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Return to El Salvador

    Return to El Salvador

    • Guest Bajito (Eagle Mountain, UTah)
    • Date of stay 10/01/11
    • Review Submitted 10/17/11
    It had been a long 12 years since I was last in El Salvador. I had spent 2 years there as a missionary. I am so glad that I decided to go back and take my wife. Returning was such an amazing experience. We wanted to see all the friends that we had made, but what we really wanted to be able to do was to have a relaxing vacation. La Casa Tia Tita was the right choice. Rosi's cooking was terrific and Morena did a fabulous job keeping everything clean and organized. Oscar went above an beyond his duties. By the end of the week, he became part of the group and a great friend. The meals on the 2nd floor of the gazebo were one of the many highlights of the trip. It was tough eating away from the house knowing what we were missing from Rosi. The beach was beautiful and the waves were great for body surfing. La Casa Tia Tita has the feel of home and the service of a hotel. If you are going to El Salvador for the first time or returning, this is the place that you need to stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxing vacation

    Relaxing vacation

    • Guest Sun lover (San Diego, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/06/11
    • Review Submitted 09/13/11
    Casa Tia Tita is a clean, comfortable and very relaxing home. We enjoyed our time at the house, and made use of the countless hammocks and outdoor seating areas. The house staff is friendly and eager to make visitors feel at home. Bonus: Rossy is a great cook, too! The beach is beautiful, although we visited in the rainy season and the currents were strong and the beach was somewhat rocky. It is also a good place to start day trips and explore all that El Salvador has to offer... the house staff has several ideas and recommendations for day trips. Overall I would recommend this house to any group who is looking for a great place to unwind, relax and enjoy the beach.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing everything!

    Amazing everything!

    • Guest Carly (Canada)
    • Date of stay 07/01/11
    • Review Submitted 07/18/11
    I went down to Casa Tia Tita with 7 other friends as a break during our school vacation and we all had a phenomenal time. Our favourite place to hang out was definitely the 2 story gazebo and I think we are all convinced as to the necessity of having one for ourselves in the future. The rest of the property was lovely and comfortable, with more than enough hammocks and loungers to relax in. A highlight for the house, by far, is the staff. All 3 went out of their way to be extraordinarily helpful with everything from finding our way around, getting us hooked up with surfboards, buying a chicken (impulse) and practicing our spanish. And we all agreed that the food was delicious and always enough. The only drawback for us was that the surf was not super... We knew we were going during the stormy and big season, and we had good waves for the first week but got skunked for the second. We were told by people on the beach that this was unusual for a week straight of bad surf... but there it is. We are definitely planning on going back one day and would highly recommend Casa Tia Tita to others!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: We never tire of hearing how much our guests have enjoyed their stay in El Zonte and we realize that much of their enjoyment can be credited to the work of the staff. Oscar, Rosi, and Morena are very special people and have become like family to us. Many of the services we offer have come from suggestions made by them. After your visit, Oscar called and asked if he could take some of his own money and buy a couple of surf boards to have on the property for guests to use so next time you'll be able to rent one of his boards.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing!!

    Amazing!!

    • Guest Mike (Raleigh, NC United States)
    • Date of stay 06/10/11
    • Review Submitted 06/16/11
    We had an amazing time in El Salvador!! Thank you for opening up your beautiful home! Oscar and Rosa were so nice and accommodating and the food was out of this world! The five of us all agreed that the garlic shrimp was the best shrimp we have ever tasted… The people of El Zonte were great and the surf was superb. I can't say enough good things about how wonderful our stay was, and the next visit to Casa Tia Tita can not come fast enough. Best Wishes!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car.

    Owner response: Ana and I are hear now, enjoying what you had to leave behind. We hope to hear from you sooner than later and possibly one day meet you and your friends.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Muchas Gracias

    Muchas Gracias

    • Guest JJF and Family (Malibu, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/22/11
    • Review Submitted 06/01/11
    Gordon y Ana, My family and I would like to thank you both for the great time we had in El Zonte. Casa Tia Tita was a very comfortable place to stay and we were blessed with perfect weather and some great surf. This was my third time in El Zonte but the first with my wife and kids and by far the best trip. Rosa and Morena were so sweet and cooked us great meals daily and Oscar was always there when we needed him. My wife has an amazing family and she was able to see cousins, aunts and uncles she hasn't seen in 16 years! Casa Tia Tita is by far the best place to stay on El Zonte beach and we couldn't have felt more comfortable especially with the unparalled follow-up you provided. My kids, aged 8,6 and 3 had the time of their lives playing in the warm ocean as well as the pool on the property. I will highly recommend this property to all my friends and family. After an incredibly memorable & beautiful week at Tia Tita, we are back home in Malibu, CA, missing El Zonte! Truly a special place with special people. Thank you both so much. JJF and Family

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I am often amazed by the closeness and commitment to family that exists in my wife Ana’s world. Not being Latino myself, I didn’t grow up in that environment but have learned what it’s like through the friendship and kindness of her family. I am now a member of the family whether by blood or marriage, and I enjoy my time with them. El Zonte has also become somewhat of a family for us. We have many friends there and were quickly accepted as part of the community. I hope that one day Ana and I are in El Salvador during one of your visits and our families can meet.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Location,location,location!!!

    Location,location,location!!!

    • Guest Chris (Long Beach,California)
    • Date of stay 04/27/11
    • Review Submitted 05/12/11
    Just spend spent 5 days with relatives and friends in this wonderfully located home.We woke up to the sounds of crushing waves AND birds singing in the garden! It was such a treat to swim in the warm waters early in the morning and even in the late afternoons. The sunsets watched from the cabana were spectacular! The owner was very helpful prior to our arrival,assisting us with arraging transportation from Guatemala to El Zone,recommending what to see and do in El Salvador. The house is great for a big family. Every couch or chair can be changed to a bed! It is not a luxury resort but a warm home while enjoying the surf and sand.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Experience El Salvador!

    Experience El Salvador!

    • Guest Shelly (Utah,USA)
    • Date of stay 04/18/11
    • Review Submitted 04/26/11
    We just returned from a week of staying at Casa Tio Tito. It was was a wonderful experience. We took or oldest daughter and her husband and two teenage daughters. I can't say enough about the attentive staff, Oscar and Rosa. They made our stay very comfortable. The food that Rosa cooked was excellent. She prepared Halibut, shrimp, chicken. We especially loved the day we learned how to make the very popular dish of pupusas. I found that my Spanish was very useful. I conversed often with Oscar about the El Salvadorean culture and people. We were adventurous and we rented a car. My husband have driven often internationally and found it to be similar to other Latin American countries...aside from the cows that are often found walking the busy streets. The home was very well maintained. It was nice to have air-conditioning in the bedrooms to cool down at night. The gazebo was very relaxing and provided a great view of the ocean. The black sandy beach just off of the back of the property provided us with hours of fun. Just be aware that the waves are surfer size. I also found Gordon, the property owner, to be quick to reply to my questions. He made sure that I was well informed before going. I would highly recommend Casa Tio Tito if you are open for an adventure and are interested in learning about a culture that has a hard life. Even though they have a hard life I found that they genuinely want to make their lives better by working hard.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers.

    Owner response: We are always pleased to hear these kind of comments from people who have never been to El Salvador before. It's an ever growing community of travelers who mark this as a most favorite destination. Just so you'll know for next time, the surf and waves can be bigger during this time of year depending on wind, storms, and rain. Things settle down around October and remain fairly calm and predictable until April.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Two couples and their families

    Two couples and their families

    • Guest John (Guatemala)
    • Date of stay 04/11/11
    • Review Submitted 04/27/11
    This was an excellent get away, we loved the grounds and the house, being right on the beach was awesome. Our kids loved it too they were able to play on the beach or in the pool or surf. My wife was ecstatic about having someone to cook all the meals and Rosi did an outstanding job with the meals. Oscar was such a help with everything and Morena kept everything clean. I would recommend this spot to any one except that then we may not have a space next year when we want to go again. Thank you for a great vacation...be blessed in Jesus!!!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • perfect family vacaction

    perfect family vacaction

    • Guest Shawn (from Canada (live in Guatemala))
    • Date of stay 04/11/11
    • Review Submitted 04/18/11
    We just arrived home from an unforgettable 6 nights at Tia Tita's. Two families shared the house and its facilities very comfortably and it had everything we could have hoped for - just a step onto the beach suitable for surfers and splashing toddlers alike, plenty of hammocks and comfy places to enjoy a book in the seabreeze, lots of private space including a pool, and very comfortable air-conditioned bedrooms. Yet what made the experience the best was the very attentive and competent staff. Oscar, Rosa, and Morena were very friendly and hospitable, serving some excellent meals and going the extra mile to make sure we enjoyed our stay. We all had the time of our lives!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • PERFECT for our second honeymoon... With baby!

    PERFECT for our second honeymoon... With baby!

    • Guest Hay que linda! (New York, NY)
    • Date of stay 03/07/11
    • Review Submitted 03/15/11
    You might say the best thing about Casa Tia Tita is the setting: beach just steps away from a romantic gazebo, refreshing pool, and relaxing hammocks... OR, you might say the best thing about Casa Tia Tita is the food: traditional pupusas filled with cheese & beans, fresh fish right off the boat, barbecued chicken, and rice n' beans done right.... OR, you might say the best thing about Casa Tia Tita is the spacious house OR attentive staff OR location on a really spectacular beach OR the hospitality of owners Ana & Gordon (if you're lucky enough to meet this special couple). BUT it's hard to say just what is the best thing about Casa Tia Tita. All good things await the adventurous budget traveler in this undiscovered cove. Don't spoil the secret, but DO come and enjoy a family or romantic vacation here. We brought our 11-month-old daughter. She enjoyed playing in the surf, cooling off in the pool, splashing in the outdoor shower, playing with local children, and coming on hikes with us. She slept comfortably and ate well, and we stayed healthy and happy the whole week long! ***HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR AN UNFORGETTABLE FAMILY OR ROMANTIC VACATION.*** March 2011

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beach deprived Colorado residents loved El Zonte & Tia Tita!

    Beach deprived Colorado residents loved El Zonte & Tia Tita!

    • Guest Gail (Denver, CO)
    • Date of stay 02/17/11
    • Review Submitted 03/07/11
    6 long-time friends shared Tia Tita for nine days. What a great time we had. The property was great, the staff was attentive, courteous, kind and hard-working. We are all currently suffering from withdrawal! The owner was very supportive of our efforts to view all of El Salvador providing many referrals and ideas. We would definitely consider recommending this property to others.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • First to Visit, First to Return!

    First to Visit, First to Return!

    • Guest Heather E. (Park Hill, OK )
    • Date of stay 01/20/11
    • Review Submitted 07/07/11
    My husband and I visited Casa Tia Tita in January of 2010 as the first official guests. We then returned this year in January with a friend as the first official returning guests. The reason was simple. It was so fantastic, we HAD to return. If you want to visit a wonderful, warm place with an incredibly laid back vibe, this is the spot for you. If you need to be constantly entertained, it's not. El Zonte, specifically Casa Tia Tita is the perfect location, to just go and unwind. It's not as though there is absolutely nothing to do, but doing nothing is best. You can surf, boogie board, swim, take a tour (or two). Toward the end of our second trip, we finally realized there was no television. We never missed it! Why would we choose to come back? The beauty of the landscape, the ease of dealing with the owners and the incredible staff. Antonio, Santos and Morena are wonderful! Attentive without intruding. I don't think they could find a better staff. But perhaps that's how all of the people of El Salvador are. Everyone we encountered were kind and helpful. Just a word to the wise, Antonio is always willing to be an extra player if you need one. MAKE SURE HE'S ON YOUR TEAM (especially in Jenga)!!! The photos are exactly as it is there. Actually, I don't think they quite do it justice. It's really beautiful and the home is so very clean and well maintained. They take very good care of the property and it's quite comfortable and homey. The food the girls cook is incredible! But if you want to give them a day off, the restaurant next door is very good as well. I gained weight both times we visited. Mostly because I couldn't stop eating and there was always plenty to eat. We are looking forward to our next visit! Happy Travels!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Getaway

    Perfect Getaway

    • Guest Doris (Indianapolis, IN)
    • Date of stay 01/15/11
    • Review Submitted 03/27/11
    This was an ideal getaway to decompress and simply relax. Despite the many sightseeing oppportunities available (ziplining, hiking waterfalls, etc.), I was content to spend my days relaxing - sleeping in a chaise by the house, reading in a lounge chair by the pool, napping in a hammock under the gazebo, watching the waves in a chair by the ocean's edge, or enjoying a leisurely walk down the beach. We also were treated to wonderfully traditional meals of pupusas, local seafood and rice and beans, and best of all Morena and Santos were perfect in their timing in preparing and serving the meals. Then there was Antonio; he was a delight. He was patient with our Spanish and so helpful in our shopping adventures in La Libertad (he also turned out to be quite a Jenga player when we invited him to join us in a game). All the staff quietly went about the day meticulously maintaining the property around our schedule and activities leaving us with no worries. While it's easy to fall into a relaxed rhythm in a beautiful beach location, I must say that it was the staff that truly made this one of my best beach getaways. Next time I need a stress free vacation, I'll be heading back to Casa Tia Tita!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Location!

    Amazing Location!

    • Guest Cold Canadians (Cornwall, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 12/26/10
    • Review Submitted 01/10/11
    Our family of 6 enjoyed every aspect of being at Casa Tia Tita in El Zonte. From sunrise to the breathtaking sunsets over the Pacific Ocean, we took full advantage of all that this wonderful beach and local community had to offer. The residents were always friendly with a buenos dias. Gordon was very helpful in preparing us for our trip by answering any questions we had, and the staff were amazing and helpful in every way possible during our visit. I write this review with only one concern, that others will take advantage of this great getaway, and we will have difficulty getting a couple weeks for ourselves in the future. We will be returning!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Best Beach in El Salvador

    Best Beach in El Salvador

    • Guest Christmasin El Zonte (Woodbridge, VA)
    • Date of stay 12/19/10
    • Review Submitted 01/24/11
    What can I say, Casa Tia Tita was great! The beach was amazing. You pretty much have the beach to yourself! El Zonte has to be the best beach in El Salvador. If you have a car you can also visit all the other beaches neer by. The house is clean and well taken care of! The Location is great. I think this is a great place to stay because you are far away from the city but close enough to make a day trip to go shopping or do whatever There are so many places to relax at the house. So many amacas to choose from. Antonio the care taker was so helpful and friendly. We felt at home, not once did we feel unsafe. We would sleep every night with the doors and windows open so we could feel the ocean breeze. The people of El Zonte are very friendly and everyone makes you feel welcome. In a week we got to know a lot of the locals. It was so nice to just get up and already have breakfast at the table. You don' have to worry about a thing, everyting is done for you. I was nice to just relax and feel free.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • 3 canadian snowbirds

    3 canadian snowbirds

    • Guest Francesca C. (Port Alberni, BC, Canada)
    • Date of stay 12/05/10
    • Review Submitted 12/21/10
    My husband and I and 7 year old son stayed at Casa Tia Tita for two weeks, and loved it. Nightly spectacular sunsets...beautiful setting....so many hammocks to try out...and friendly, helpful staff. Two weeks sped by much too quickly!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Highly Recommended!

    Highly Recommended!

    • Guest Tracy and Dan (Surprise, Arizona)
    • Date of stay 11/24/10
    • Review Submitted 12/09/10
    What a wonderful time we had at Casa Tia Tita! It was very clean, cozy, and welcoming. It wasn’t overly fancy, but it was comfortable and felt like coming home. Antonio, Norma and Morena were very friendly and hard-working. Morena gladly cooked all our favorite Salvadoran dishes, and it was such a treat to not have to cook and clean up. We also really liked the little kitchen that we had in our casita, which gave us the flexibility to have a late-night snack or coffee and hot chocolate early in the morning. The beach was great and we were pleased that it sloped very gradually, so the surf broke far from shore and the waves tumbled onto the beach quite gently, making for awesome boogie-boarding. Of course, there were big waves out further for those of you interested in surfing. There were many places to sit and visit on the property, and just as many places to find a private lounge chair or hammock to enjoy a book or an afternoon nap. We had a very relaxing time and it was just what we needed. We will definitely be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Much of what people enjoy about El Zonte are the same things that brought Ana and I there in the first place. We are blessed to have found this little known slice of paradise and love to hear that others enjoy it as well. We hope to see you return one day.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 2 [ 1 | 2 ] Next