Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Luxury Penthouse in Bruges Medieval Centre with Roof Garden and Free Carparking [#27982] | View Property

Bruges (Brugge)
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths (Sleeps 3-5)
€135 - €180/nt Euros
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (25)

Sort by:
  • Fantastic experience in Bruges!

    Fantastic experience in Bruges!

    • Guest Keli F.
    • Date of stay 04/04/14
    • Review Submitted 04/15/14
    We absolutely loved the penthouse! It was an absolute perfect location & the apartment was beautiful. Our kids had the run of the upstairs, while my husband & I took over the downstairs. We loved having a large enough space to spread out & relax after a fun day of exploring Bruges. The apartment was very nicely furnished & very comfortable. We also really enjoyed the rooftop patio. Even though it wasn't super warm (55 degrees), the sun was out & the patio was very enjoyable. We didn't get to check out the city w/bikes, but loved having the option if we wanted to. Thank you for a very lovely stay!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • fantastic location

    fantastic location

    • Guest Julie
    • Date of stay 02/28/14
    • Review Submitted 03/06/14
    my mother, husband and four month old son just returned from a wonderful long weekend in Bruges and couldn't have been happier with the apartment. The location cannot be beat and the apartment is beautiful with all the comforts a guest could want/need. Marc even provided a crib, changing table and highchair. we would highly recommend this lovely location to anyone and look forward to returning in the future!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Stunning place...you won't want to leave!

    Stunning place...you won't want to leave!

    • Guest Kathryn M.
    • Date of stay 01/16/14
    • Review Submitted 01/29/14
    Firstly the penthouse is amazing! Upon arrival Marc went above and beyond what we've normally experienced - the big bottle of Leffe and chocolate was an added surprise! Back to the amazing penthouse....you will not find a nicer place to stay in Bruges....period. A stunning loft conversion with beautiful decorative features and a large mezzanine level with the big double bedroom, bathroom and single bedroom. Pity it was winter because the rooftop garden is fantastic. The secure car park is only 100m away which made stashing the car away a breeze. And the apartment is only about 400m from the main square - unbelievable location. So all in all, a beautiful little city and a stunning place that you have to force yourself to leave....oh and great hosts. Couldn't recommend highly enough.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Beautiful Place to Stay in Bruge!

    A Beautiful Place to Stay in Bruge!

    • Guest Deborah K.
    • Date of stay 06/21/13
    • Review Submitted 06/30/13
    We stayed at the penthouse for 3 nights and absolutely loved it! It was large with many amenities and well stocked with literature and maps of site seeing opportunities. The owners, Marc and Rika, were wonderful and made us feel so welcome and at home. Marc picked us up from the train station and dropped us off at the end of our visit. I was very impressed with this. My children, ages 18 and 22, enjoyed the visit as much as we did! I highly recommend this penthouse. Thank you, Marc and Rika!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Fantastic in every way!

    Fantastic in every way!

    • Guest John M. (Madison)
    • Date of stay 06/17/13
    • Review Submitted 10/15/13
    My girlfriend, myself and another couple stayed in the penthouse this past summer. From the moment we arrived everything was absolutely wonderful. Although the pictures online look beautiful, the apartment was beyond our expectations both in terms of location and its gorgeous decor. From picking us up from the train station to spending time explaining the best sights in the city, Marc and his lovely wife went out of their way to accommodate all of our needs. You certainly will not be disappointed if you choose to rent this apartment. We will definitely be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Excellent Apartment

    Excellent Apartment

    • Guest Michael P.
    • Date of stay 05/17/13
    • Review Submitted 05/27/13
    My wife and I stayed in Bruges for 3 days in May 2013. The apartment was absolutely fabulous and the pictures and description are completely accurate. I was surprised at how big and beautiful it was.The location is excellent since you are a short walk to the main square. Marc met us at the door and helped us get situated and the car parked. You could not ask for better owners to deal with. He went over all the things to see and to avoid. He suggested areas to eat and tourist sites to explore. I would give this aparment the highest rating available and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • FANTASTIC A++++

    FANTASTIC A++++

    • Guest Bob (Atlanta)
    • Date of stay 05/03/13
    • Review Submitted 05/07/13
    Couple in our late 60's. Perfect location, as the entire city is an easy walk from the apartment. We could not have asked for a better host, and there was not one thing the apartment did not have, which we may have needed. We would have liked to stay longer however, it was booked, which was not surprising. Book very early and you will not be disappointed. Robert/ Atlanta, Georgia

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • A wonderful apartment in a magical city

    A wonderful apartment in a magical city

    • Guest Lynda (Wisconsin)
    • Date of stay 04/29/13
    • Review Submitted 05/04/13
    My husband and I stayed in this apartment during our visit to Brugge. From the moment we made the reservation through the end of our stay, Marc was available to us for all of our questions and needs. He picked us up at the train station and dropped us off at the end of our stay. Upon our arrival, he provided detailed information about the apartment and city. The apartment is spacious and clean and perfectly located near the heart of the city. We loved the bikes that were provided as it is an easy way to get around the city. The people of Brugge are friendly and warm. This was a magical experience for us and Marc and Rika helped to make it so. Don't hesitate to stay at this apartment!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful, unique property in great location with great owner!

    Wonderful, unique property in great location with great owner!

    • Guest Joseph (Bettendorf, Iowa USA)
    • Date of stay 03/25/13
    • Review Submitted 04/07/13
    Stayed here 3 nights in late March 2013 with my wife and college-aged daughter. Photos are accurate and location about 3 blocks northwest of Grote Market is perfect. Quiet, clean with every amenity we needed. Owner Marc was EXCEPTIONAL, helping with luggage, parking, innumerable books and guides about Bruges (including a packet of maps and info mailed to us prior to the trip), and providing a free sampling of local beer, chocolates and fruit on our arrival. He even sat down with us and went over list of restaurants, grocery stores, and bars, giving his recommendations. (Don't miss coffee/breakfast at Cafe Craenenburg!) Not only desktop PC computer and wireless internet access, but also provided free overseas internet phone. Weather was unusually cold during our stay, so didn't get to use the large, excellent outdoor roof garden much and opted not to use available bicycles. Two level penthouse design has both a modern and medieval vibe, very memorable. The only real "con" to be aware of is the stairs, both in the apartment and especially going up to the apartment. Elderly or people with physical limitations could have a problem. I am in average shape and in my mid-50's and had NO problem. I think this apartment is the perfect example of how great a value a VRBO can be compared to a hotel room (or in our case, 2 hotel rooms). No cleaning fees, separate taxes or add-on charges. Bottom line: unmatched hospitality and amenities in a fantastic location at a bargain, all-inclusive price. Wholeheartedly recommended.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • An AMAZING Vacation (& Proposal!)

    An AMAZING Vacation (& Proposal!)

    • Guest Kylie (Chicago, IL, United STates)
    • Date of stay 02/26/13
    • Review Submitted 03/12/13
    Bruges was our last stop on a trip of Europe...and it was definitely the most memorable! We were greeted and welcomed by Marc and his wife as they helped us carry our bags, find parking and locate the must-sees of Bruges. They were more than accommodating and definitely made our experience amazing. The penthouse was amazing and we immediately felt welcomed and at home! My boyfriend was planning to propose and Marc was AMAZING! He definitely went over and above just renting the place to us for a few days. He had flowers and candles set up at our dinner reservation and when we returned back to the Penthouse, he had rose petals, a bouquet of flowers, champagne and Belgian chocolates awaiting us. It was such a memorable experience and Marc helped make that happen. We are so grateful for our stay in Bruges and will definitely be visiting the penthouse again!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Superb Bruges Penthouse Apartment

    Superb Bruges Penthouse Apartment

    • Guest Sue W.
    • Date of stay 02/22/13
    • Review Submitted 03/12/13
    We stayed here over a bitterly cold weekend in February, and were absolutely delighted with the warm and cosy apartment. We wanted for nothing, it is superbly appointed and Marc's hospitality was exceptional. Perfectly located just off the main square, everything was within easy walking distance, and we discovered some wonderful restaurants. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the apartment.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderfully charming with such hospitality

    Wonderfully charming with such hospitality

    • Guest Heather and Max (Savannah, GA)
    • Date of stay 08/10/12
    • Review Submitted 02/11/13
    Our family (2 boys aged 10 and 6) thoroughly enjoyed our week in Bruges in this wonderful penthouse apartment. The character, charm, location and amenities of the place were perfect, but the owner, Marc, really made our week so special. From the moment Marc escorted us from the train station, Marc personally saw to our every need. We were greeted with fresh fruit, Belgium Beer and Belgium chocolates upon arrival, along with Marc providing every type of map and personal recommendations for the area. We were even treated to an impromptu afternoon at his farm (just beautiful) so our children could choose bikes to use for the week in Bruges. While there, they fed the animals, rode go-carts and enjoyed a donkey ride (memories they'll have forever). Additionally, Marc arranged soccer tickets for the Belgium vs. Netherlands match and a training session for our 10 year old with the Cercle Bruges Soccer Academy (an experience he'll never forget). We will remember Bruges and our week in his place forever and would definitely recommend it for anyone. The place is beautiful, clean and has everything you need. It is truly in the heart of Bruges and a perfect place to enjoy this beautiful city. Thank you Marc! My boys also thank you. Sincerely, Heather

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Exceptional Hospitality!

    Exceptional Hospitality!

    • Guest Winger1 (Vancouver, B.C. Canada)
    • Date of stay 06/08/12
    • Review Submitted 07/16/12
    The excellent location near the Market,the well-furnished apartment--everything you could wish for--made for a wonderful three nights stay to explore Bruges and an ideal base from which to experience a Flanders Fields Tour of First World War battlefields. The penthouse offered wonderful space for us --two couples--travelling together. The bonus for us was the generosity of spirit extended by Marc in helping us secure a restart for our rental car when we found it with dead battery after three days in a nearby parking lot. He went to unusual lengths in time and effort to get us on the road again. All this after Marc had furnished us with guidelines, tourist brochures, suggestions that were all most helpful in contributing to three wonderful days in Bruges.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • luxury Pentouse in Bruges

    luxury Pentouse in Bruges

    • Guest murjen (new zealand)
    • Date of stay 06/01/12
    • Review Submitted 06/10/12
    We just loved staying here-so central and when our grandkids skyped we showed them and they said its huge so plenty of room and so handy to square and the alleyways of Bruge. Just a magic place and we also felt so safe.Marc and his wife were so helpful as well as afraid to say we only speak english and needed to sort the train etc.By the way to get to Bruges from airport or Brussels we did a tour that left Brussels and ended up in Bruge via Gent with Viator or we have now found the train to be good too.All in all a magic experience well worth doing and staying at above.. It was very clean and very comfortable.Even was pleased to find a blanket as we find duvet inners too heavy.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Apartment in Bruges

    Great Apartment in Bruges

    • Guest RIM (Stanford, CA, USA)
    • Date of stay 05/30/12
    • Review Submitted 06/21/12
    This is a fantastic apartment and everything that it is advertised to be. We were well taken care of by Julie who met us at the train station in Bruges and answered all of our questions. When we had some additional points that needed clarification she responded immediately. The apartment is a great place to stay with easy access to the downtown and to the WW1 battlefields that we were interested in visiting. I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in staying in this wonderful town.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • One of the best in Bruges

    One of the best in Bruges

    • Guest fgbl (USA)
    • Date of stay 05/25/12
    • Review Submitted 04/10/13
    Stunning apartment in the middle of the town - furniture, plants inside and the views are perfect. Very very nice and helpful owners - they meet you at the station, take time to go over attractions/maps, give you their bikes to use and are very patient.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Perfect location and very comfortable

    Perfect location and very comfortable

    • Guest paul n.
    • Date of stay 03/30/12
    • Review Submitted 07/19/12
    This apartment was altogether wonderful as were the owners. My wife and I stayed here for 7 nights on our visit to Bruges to celebrate her 50th birthday. The apartment itself has the charm of a historic structure with all of the renovations of a modern place. Kitchen and bathroom both very nice. Windows sealed very tightly to make the place quiet when desired Amenities were excellent as well. Good restaurants, and interesting shops are available a few steps out the door, as well as essentials such as grocery and pharmacy. Marc, the owner couldn''t have been more accommodating. He was available via email months before the stay to answer any questions we had about visiting Bruges. We had detailed directions to the flat from Brussels airport, and he was available via text or phone to help us arrive easily. He gave excellent suggestions on restaurants which guided us to some interesting places off the beaten path, and was available via phone during our stay. This was an excellent place to stay and I recommend it highly!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect

    Perfect

    • Guest Aussies (Melbourne, Australia)
    • Date of stay 06/26/11
    • Review Submitted 09/05/11
    We stayed here in June 2011 as a family of 5. Marc was extremely helpful and welcoming, including providing supplies of fresh fruit, beer and chocolate! All of Brugge is beautiful and the location of the apartment was lovely. The property is clean, bright and well equipped, including entertainment such as books, DVDs and games. WiFi and VOIP connections much appreciated. We enjoyed visiting local markets, shops, sights and a bike ride. Loved Brugge, loved the apartment - will be back!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Fabulous!

    Fabulous!

    • Guest Daphne (Victoria,BC Canada)
    • Date of stay 06/10/11
    • Review Submitted 07/04/11
    a beautifully appointed townhouse in a great location - gracious hosts - we could not have asked for more!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Wonderful penthouse apartment

    Wonderful penthouse apartment

    • Guest Karen (Atlanta GA)
    • Date of stay 09/17/10
    • Review Submitted 11/01/10
    We stayed at this wonderful apartment as part of our "Big 55" Friends Trip this year. What a warm and friendly place, beautifully furnished and the owners could not have been more hospitable! Everything was within walking distance of the penthouse and we really enjoyed the outside garden areas. We spent every morning on the roof talking and having coffee. We really appreciated all the information provided by the owners and loved Bruges! I would highly recommend this to anyone! Thanks for a memorable stay. Karen, Carlene, Rose and Susan Atlanta GA - Lititz PA - Lewisberry PA - Davenport FL USA

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Perfect place to make as your base

    Perfect place to make as your base

    • Guest Experienced Traveller (Niagara Falls)
    • Date of stay 09/13/10
    • Review Submitted 10/07/10
    We had a wonderful stay in this penthouse apartment mid September 2010. As previous reviews have stated, it is a gem of a place with a terrific and most helpful host. The apartment has a great ambience and is in an ideal location, from where you can reach all the major areas of the city. We can attest to this because we walked to all of them! It is also right across the street from a not so bad eatery and bar, which was nice to know when we wanted to go out for supper (but not walk another step), and within easy access to many other dining spots. Nearby is a supermarket, bakery, etc. The apartment is on two levels, and the rooftop garden is a quiet spot to sit and contemplate where you have been during the day as you sip Belgian beer. Marc is a wonderful helpful host who would go out of his way to help in any way he could. There are little extras such as the fruit platter, DVDs, CD’s, umbrellas, safety gates for children, all showing that the owner has thought out what his guests need ahead with great consideration. Judging from the guest book comments, you can tell people enjoyed their stay here, and that the apartment is regularly booked……….always a good sign. We would highly recommend it and we’ve been in many vacation rentals. Only non recommendation would be if people had trouble with stairs, as it is a penthouse apartment. Otherwise, it is perfect. Thanks Marc for making our visit to Bruges enjoyable.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Rus Sykes (New Baltimore, NY)
    • Date of stay 10/20/09
    • Review Submitted 10/20/09
    It is hard to say enough about the wonders of Brugges and the remarkable penthouse apartment. The memories will be indelible. Marc was the perfect host: attentive, interested, and accomodating. All his suggestions for day trips : a bike ride and lunch in Damme, a wonderful day in Brussels and a great trip by train and on/off tram along the North Sea coast from Oostende to Knokke wrre perfect. The palaces, churches, restaurants and cafes in Bruuges are nothing short of wondrous. For those who think this is just a two day stopver they could not be more wrong. After a wonderful, high paceed week in Barcelona, coming here was good for the soul and spirit. the weather was excellent, the apartment incredibly spacious and decorated with great taste and style. Internet access, skype and TV were greatly appreciated and we used them but there were so many other things to do that they wrere just icing on the cake. Coming home after a full day of activity and sitting on the large outdoor terrace with wine, cheese and fruit while looking over the terra cotta roofs and the wonderful architecture of the city made us never want to leave. The restaurants are really terrific and Marc has many suggestions as do others who have stayed here - theyt are all in paper guestbook as well as the abundance of literature and guides provided with the apartment. If you ever want a great trip, a luxurious place and wonderful hosts, please rent the penthouse apartment. Don't be deteered by the three story walk up and don't even bother thinking about a hotel

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

    • Guest Sarah Francis1 (England)
    • Date of stay 09/24/09
    • Review Submitted 09/24/09
    We've just arrived back from a wonderful four days in Bruges. The apartment and everything about it was fantastic. I travelled with two girlfriends and having used VRBO before I was quitely confident. My girlfriends were completely surprised and bowled over by the quality of accomodation as well as the serviced we recieved. Marc the owner was tremendous. He sent us a 'pre-Bruges' information pack so that we could enjoy a pre trip planning party a few days before, he then picked us up from the rail station and had Beer, Chocolates and Fruit awaiting us on our arrival into the apartment. The apartment itself was superb. Centrally located (all we did was walk for four days) just off of the main square but far enough away that the main sounds you heard were the church bells and the festival music that was held on the Sunday we were there. We fully intended to complete tours of art galleries, chocolate factories and beer museums however on arrival we found that we loved just walking the city, enjoying the shopping and loving the food! The apartment itself was very user friendly, the patio was the perfect sun trap for our lazy breakfasts and the kitchen made for easy living when we decided to stay in for one night and just sample the local fare we had spotted in the shops. We couldn't fault either the service or the accomodation and are very grateful to Marc for the time we spent there. I would highly recommend this apartment to anyone considering a stay in the lovely Bruges. Many thanks, Sarah

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

    • Guest dave58 (-)
    • Date of stay 09/13/09
    • Review Submitted 09/13/09
    Bruges is just a wonderful city! We have been travelling through-out Europe for the last two and a half months, staying in self catering cottages and apartments, and you Mark, have the most beautiful one of the lot. It amazes us that you have furnished the house with things we know are very special to you. Most places have furniture on their last legs, and if they "do" have any art, its something from the 60's, like a crying clown print. We just loved the Art Nouveau influence, and the care that went into picking out the materials in the apartment, such as the tiles and rugs. Such a warm comfortable place te retire to after walking all day sight seeing. Thanks again, we will tell all of our friends about this magical town and this special apartment.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

    • Guest Doreen011 (Rochester, Michigan USA)
    • Date of stay 07/22/09
    • Review Submitted 07/22/09
    Paradise in Brugge, Belgium From the moment my adult daughter and myself arrived at the Brugge trainstation, our stay at the Brugge Penthouse was absolutely wonderful! Mark, the owner, immediately picked us up and delivered us to our apartment where he had a large bowl of fresh fruit awaiting us. Originally, I had been hesitant about staying in Brugge for a whole week because of the hoards of tourists every day since we do not like large crowds. However, my daughter summed it up best when she said that it was like if we went one block into the main square it was like we were in the city and when we came back to the apartment it was like we were in the country! We could sit on the extremely private terrace, sip a Belgian beer and only hear the church bells ringing and the birds singing. There was a convenient supermarket just down the street and around the corner where we could buy supplies such as beer, wine, bread, cheese and anything else we needed. Also, the Wednesday Market at the main square was the best I've ever seen! The freshest produce, beautiful cooked chickens and sausages as well as raw meats, extensive selections of cheeses, breads, pastries, and flowers. It was also good having broadband Internet so my daughter could keep in touch with her husband and I could check on the progress of my hockey team in the Playoffs at home! We rented bicycles for the week and a highlight for me was biking along the canal to Sluis in the Netherlands for lunch. My daughter took many other bikes trips into the countryside. One day, I took the train to Ostend, only 12 minutes, and then the Coast Tram that goes up and down the short Belgian coast, only five euros for a day pass. My daughter rode her bike instead and we met on the coast for lunch by the water. Our stay in Paradise ended with Mark driving us to the trainstation at 5 o'clock on Sunday morning for our train to the Brussels airport. The only people who I would not recommend this property to are those who have difficulty with stairs. It is two flights of stairs up to the main floor of the apartment and then another flight up to the bathroom. I felt culture shock upon arriving home in the US and I already miss the beauty of Belgium. : ) I brought home all the chocolates I could carry.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/7



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]