Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
remodeled kitchen

Maui Banyan-Top Floor Unit, Right Across from the Beach! [#280064] | View Property

Maui Banyan
Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 6)
$229/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (9)

Sort by:
  • Great location, great facilities, great value!

    Great location, great facilities, great value!

    • Guest Kate L. (Fonthill, Ontario)
    • Date of stay 11/10/13
    • Review Submitted 11/27/13
    Our arrival was seamless. We checked in at the front desk, and all of the keys, codes and parking information was provided. I had forgotten to obtain the wifi password, but went down later and had no problem receiving it. The condo was clean, tidy, and waiting for our arrival! The location can't be beat, and was the main reason for booking this condo compared to others similar to it. It is literally steps from the beach. We had no trouble carrying the provided chairs, towels and boogie boards the short distance to the water. Shops and restaurants are plentiful on the strip, some within a comfortable walking distance, others a short drive away. We did not use the pool or hot tub, but we heard from other guests that they were quite nice. The condo itself was spacious and well appointed. The kitchen had all of the necessary gadgets, although the garberator was also not functioning for our visit, but I contacted the owner and she nicely offered to have a repairman come to repair it during our stay. I didn't want to feel held back from my vacation waiting for the repairman to show up, and we didn't feel the need to use it during our stay, so we just let it go. We made due with the limited number of dishes, there was plenty of cutlery, but more coffee cups would have been convenient. Each bedroom was very spacious, each having their own fan and A/C unit, and balcony. The rooms were separated by the living/kitchen area, which provided ample privacy for the 2 couples travelling together. The shower in the bathtub also didn't drain well for us, probably due to the superfine sand from the beach. We did our best to rinse off as much of the sand from the beach as possible, it helped that there was a tap/shower head just at the entrance to Building A. Overall this was a great condo. It is exactly as the owner has advertised it. I would come back to it again the next time I visit Maui, and recommend it to anyone planning to stay in that area.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Kate for taking the time to write a review! I did address the garbage disposal and slow draining tub, so thanks for letting me know. Have a wonderful Christmas season, and I look forward to you staying with us again! Mary

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Off to a bumpy start but what a great location!!

    Off to a bumpy start but what a great location!!

    • Guest Party of 4 (Fort St James, BC Canada)
    • Date of stay 10/26/13
    • Review Submitted 11/19/13
    Due to delayed flights, we arrived at the condo after 9pm. At first the front desk had no idea who we were and then a light bulb went off and they retrieved the keys for us so we could settle in. Sadly the cleaning crew had not been in prior to our arrival and the condo was a complete mess. We ended up changing the bedding on one bed as well as clearing out garbage, cleaning dishes and doing laundry the first night, just so that we could sleep in some comfort. I contacted the owner right away and she sent out a new crew the next day. They did a fantastic job cleaning and I was told by the owner that the previous crew had been fired as this was not an isolated incident. She apologized for the situation and we could tell she felt genuinely bad. The condo itself is in a great location....steps from the beach, shopping and eateries. We rented a car for our 2 week stay and parking was never an issue. The condo could use the following: a sharp knife! Bigger coffee cups, a few more wine glasses and hopefully bigger :) We kept running out of plates and cutlery as well....the dishwasher was never full as we had to keep running it to have dishes available. The garburator did not work and there wasn't a TV in one of the bedrooms (not that we needed it but others might enjoy it). The bathtub did not drain very well and both showers were a bit dated but still fine. The beach gear was good...4 chairs and boogie boards. It was nice having the outdoor BBQ steps away from the condo as well. Overall we had a great time in Maui! We started off a bit shaky but it all got worked out. I would recommend this condo to other travellers based on its location, a great owner and a condo that has almost everything you need for a perfect holiday.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Perfect family vacation!

    Perfect family vacation!

    • Guest HouseofClams (Seattle, WA United States)
    • Date of stay 06/18/13
    • Review Submitted 07/07/13
    We just returned from 16 days at Maui Banyan with our two young daughters, and our stay couldn't have been more perfect. The condo is open and airy, everything is clean and comfortable, and the location is AMAZING: right across from Kamaole Beach II, walking distance to shops and restaurants, and a quick drive to the beautiful resorts in Wailea and loads of island sites. The unit has everything: cooking gear, extra condiments, beach towels (even extra sunscreen!), beach gear/bodyboards/snorkel/umbrella/coolers, big flat-screen cable TV, washer/dryer. Parking is easy, a nice pool/jacuzzi is just one building over, and we regularly used the terrific gas grille downstairs while our girls happily chased geckos through the lovely garden. The unit is in the building closest to the street, yet it's always quiet. Two minor complaints: the beach chairs could use some upgrading, and the wifi is slooooow. Not a big deal for normal use (we used our iPhones for loads of web surfing and mapping as an alternative, and my husband was even able to conduct some business from here on his laptop/iPad with zero problems), but forget anything like movie/TV streaming. Truly, these are such minor gripes; if they keep you from renting such an amazing unit it's perhaps time to rethink your standards... Overall, this was PERFECT for our family getaway: a comfortable and affordable base for our adventures, everything we needed to make meals at "home" but still walk to a local restaurant or even splurge at a nearby resort. The people we met at the grille and at poolside were delightful, and we couldn't be more relaxed and recharged after our stay. We can't wait to come back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Owner response: Dear Michael, Thank you for taking the time to write a review; I am so glad you and your family had a great time! I will look into upgrading the beach chairs; thanks for the info! Mahalo for staying at my condo and I look forward to having you stay again! Mary

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Highly Recommended!

    Highly Recommended!

    • Guest Chi (Edmonton, AB)
    • Date of stay 03/20/13
    • Review Submitted 04/01/13
    Thanks Mary for providing great accomodations located in a very well taken care of condo complex. We would definitely come back to your unit again! Perfect sized condo for 4 adults. Both bedrooms provide plenty of privacy, comfy beds and pillows. No kidding when you say the condo is well stocked. Everything we needed was available from extra bath and beach towels to cooking pots, pans and utensils. Previous renters have left some supplies as well so it was great having kona coffee the next morning on the lanai, after a very late arrival the night before. We took full advantage of the lanai having morning coffee and pancake breakfasts on it numerous time and bbq dinner one night. Lots of beach toys/supplies available although we didn't require them. This condo/unit is in the perfect location: beautiful beach steps away, lively area during the day, lots of restaurants, shops, activities within minutes walking distance. Great view of the beach right on the lanai. Other nice beach options around the same area (walk or very short drive). We had friends book elsewhere and so glad we didn't follow suit. Their beach was rocky and nothing within walking distance. Only a few neutral comments: - the wifii is slow, painfully slow at times so was not able to use certain free communication apps. not sure anything can be done about that. - no phone available in the unit for local calls. - shower head in the bigger bedroom constantly drips. I couldn't get it to stop. quick fix though with the right tools These comments aren't anything that negatively affected our vaca or positive opinions on this unit.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Review

    Review

    • Guest lc (Cold Lake)
    • Date of stay 01/08/13
    • Review Submitted 01/23/13
    We had an excellent time. Unit was pretty well maintained (minor AC problem in common area) but everything else was good. Well stocked with kitchen supplies/appliances. Fun with the boogie board and snorkle gear. Location is great, just steps to an excellent beach! Amenities and condo facilities were perfect! Also easy access to highways/stores/etc. Would recommend upgrading beach chairs, not great for adults especially if you have any leg/back problems. Thanks for everything, we really enjoyed our stay!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Laurie and Patti for your review and comments; I'll make sure to get some new beach chairs! I hope you will stay again with me next time you visit beautiful Maui!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Awesome time!

    Awesome time!

    • Guest Jim (Vancouver, WA United States)
    • Date of stay 07/04/12
    • Review Submitted 07/19/12
    We had a great time staying at this unit for a week. The condo was clean and nicer than expected. It was also right across the street from the beach so not much more we could have asked for. The owner was extremely helpful and easy to deal with too. Overall amazing stay and I would recommend this specific unit!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • First Time in Maui

    First Time in Maui

    • Guest Grinny (Brewster, Wa. )
    • Date of stay 04/15/12
    • Review Submitted 04/24/12
    Aloha,This was our first Trip to Hawaii and our Stay at the Maui Banyan in Maui was Fabulous. The condo was as described. We did have a few problems such as the Air conditioners did not work, we contacted the owner and she is in the process of replacing them. The Drain in the bath tub did not drain it was fixed the next day.The Living room TV has been upgraded to a very nice large Flat screen, hopefully the bedroom TV's will be upgraded as well. The Owner Mary was Great to work with. The Condo was very nice and roomy we were there with my Daughter and her husband and did not feel cramped for space, plenty of privacy. The Condo is right across the street from the Beach perfect for early morning walks or evening viewing of the Sunset or a day of relaxing on the beach. The washer and dryer was so nice to have, we could have brought less clothing and ended up not even wearing everything we did bring. We made use of the boogie boards, ice chest, and beach chairs.although It would of been nice to have an umbrella the Hawaii Sun can be brutal, bring lots of Sunscreen.! We can't wait to return next year.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks Jennifer, I'm so glad you had a good time. Please stay with me next year and I promise you'll see a new TV! Mahalo, Mary

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Maui Banyan, close to paradise

    Maui Banyan, close to paradise

    • Guest K&P (Sask. Canada)
    • Date of stay 10/12/11
    • Review Submitted 11/07/11
    The condo was as billed. Nicely redone, and very clean. If you like to cook though, not a single SHARP knife in the place, lack of quality cutting boards, tiny wine glasses! Minor complaints compared to location to beach and local stores. Wouldn't hesitate to rent again, but would bring my own knife!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/5

  • Thank you!

    Thank you!

    • Guest Brooke (Portland)
    • Date of stay 05/20/11
    • Review Submitted 10/19/11
    Thank you Mary & Danielle for my Maui experience! us girls had the best time ever and your condos! They are so spacious and fabulous to stay in! Right across from beach, doesn't get much better than that! I loved it so much I have chosen to get Married..... i mean Mauied there!! can't wait!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]