Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Beautifully Restored Vintage Cottage with ample outside entertainment space

Newly Restored Vintage Cottage - Romantic or Family Getaway [#281395] | View Property

Lake Arrowhead
Cottage, 3 BRs + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps Max. 4 Adults-8 total)
$199 - $325/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (23)

Sort by:
  • All I can say is, WOW!

    All I can say is, WOW!

    • Guest sardaws8 (Henderson, NV)
    • Date of stay 03/22/14
    • Review Submitted 03/28/14
    What an amazing cottage. We could have spent our entire trip relaxing in the cottage and enjoying the beautiful sounds, smells and view (not to mention the fireplace, pool table and various patios and picnic table). Everything was perfection down to the scent of the linens and towels. I will be asking the owner what type of detergent they use. We had issues figuring out the internet and cable, but we didn't care enough to contact the owners...who wants to watch TV when you're surrounding by the beauty of nature and tranquility. Even though we were a few of the only people on the lake, the kayaks were great! We drove around for 45 minutes trying to find the dock (Burnt Mill Beach Club) and after looking at the map we realized it was a mile from the cottage (hint - turn left at Bin 189). I look forward to visiting the cottage again with more family and friends during peak season. It's a great place for adults and kids!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for your positive review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Just perfect!

    Just perfect!

    • Guest Aimee Q.
    • Date of stay 12/06/13
    • Review Submitted 12/17/13
    The cabin is just perfect and Janice was very responsive. My husband, son and dog decided to get away for a last minute trip. We were lucky enough to enough snow to get to sled around the property. From the moment we walked in, we felt at home. The game room is fantastic, and allowed us to have privacy if needed. I highly recommend this vintage cottage for a romantic or family getaway alike.

    Owner response: Thank you so much! I appreciate your kind review. JW

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect place, perfect week!

    Perfect place, perfect week!

    • Guest Kim E. (Tucson, Arizona)
    • Date of stay 07/16/13
    • Review Submitted 08/01/13
    Look at the pictures, watch the video, read the description—you still won't get just how wonderful this place is. My husband, our 17-year-old daughter, her best friend, my sister and her husband, and I, stayed here for a glorious week in July. Between the many decks and comfortable outdoor spaces, the warmth of the great room, and the myriad little touches that seemed to be where you needed them, when you needed them. There are books to borrow tucked into every room, a kitchen that provided everything our foodie group desired, firm mattresses with high-end linens . . . and the Pool House. I cannot express how wonderful the Pool House was, drawing the entire group together nightly to play, and laugh, and talk. The location is terrific—a large supermarket is less than 5 minutes away in Lake Arrowhead Village, you can walk to the lake (down a steep hill so be prepared for the return journey), there is great shopping, wonderful hiking, enough to keep very busy, or those wonderful outdoor spaces around the house to kick back and read and read and read. We did both. Truly, this is a gem, and we hope to return as soon as we can!

    Owner response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review!! I am so glad you and your family enjoyed your visit to Lake Arrowhead.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful Stay! Felt like home.

    Beautiful Stay! Felt like home.

    • Guest Gabrielle Z.
    • Date of stay 01/18/13
    • Review Submitted 01/22/13
    Thank you so much Janice for the use of your beautiful cabin! The entire family has a great time. We were even able to get in some snow time, even though the area was heating up and it was melting. The house was warm and inviting, and you provided everything we needed. My parents said that we would come back to your cabin in a heart beat! Thank you for making our weekend a wonderful one!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you for your kind review!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Not worth the money

    Not worth the money

    • Guest tanja e.
    • Date of stay 12/22/12
    • Review Submitted 08/04/13
    We rented this home for christmas in 2012 for a small family get together..we were disappointed with this rental property for several reasons: 1. The stairs leading to the house are very steep and a serious hazzard for anyone over 65 but also for young children in any weather condition, especially when it freezes. 2. Lack of basic supplies such as towels, toilet paper, dishwasher liquid etc, 3. The game room has no heater and all of the lights were not working so were unable to use it. 4. Getting a phone call at 8 am on day of departure to tell us to vacate the property on time was somewhat discourteous, especially since we packed everything up the night before and the owners's brother, who also happens to live next door, knew we were planning on an early drive off the mountain due to weather condition 5. We have rented vacation homes for over 15 yrs and never stayed in a rental where several doors/cabinets were locked... doesn't give you a very cozy feeling and made us feel intrusive. Overall, I cannot recommend this rental. There are many other vacation rentals to choose from.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Owner response: It is both surprising and disappointing to receive this review so long (nearly 8 months)after your stay at our cottage. We had no idea that you had any of these concerns. We always encourage our guests to call/text or email us during their stay if they have any questions or concerns. Had you called us we could have directed you to the correct wall switch to turn the heater and lights on inside the gazebo/game room, or instructed our housekeeper to come by if you felt like any of the linens and supplies were running low. In the description of our listing and the accompanying pictures/video we try our best to accurately describe and represent the cottage, including the stairs at the front of the cottage that lead down from the street. In the winter we make sure there is a good supply of ice melt/salt available to prevent icing of the stairs. If it snows a gentleman comes by to remove the snow from the stairways and parking areas. Our winter guests usually welcome and often hope for snowy, winter weather but they also understand that winter weather is a challenge that requires extra care and caution. We do not telephone our guests to remind them about checkout time. However, we do occasionally send a reminder email or text message on days when guests are scheduled to check-out in the morning and other guests check-in the same day in the afternoon. This is done as a courtesy message to help ensure that there is ample time to clean and prepare the cottage between stays. Clearly you perceive your stay at our cottage as not measuring up to the excellent standard that we strive for. For that we are sorry!! We only wish we had the opportunity to address these issues during your stay rather than so long after the fact. JW

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Owners are very Responsive!-A Wonderful stay!

    Owners are very Responsive!-A Wonderful stay!

    • Guest Kristen S.
    • Date of stay 12/19/12
    • Review Submitted 08/10/13
    Please read this if you read the two star review, as we stayed right before them! We were super excited to rent this home before Christmas 2012! Unlike the previous review, this is great cabin, the outside stairs are steep and we had no problem in the snow, there is a sturdy hand rail and I felt safe even with a bum knee, take it slow! We had a few concerns during our stay, one is TV cable not working or we just could not figure it out, and ran out of kitchen towels. We called the owner and they were very responsive, came out to show us how the TV works, and brought a bunch of new towels. Now that is service, but you need to ask, communicate if you have questions! Overall our girls and my husband and I enjoyed everything about the cabin, we were warm inside with snow flakes falling outside...beautiful! The pool room is a blast, the portable heater did not take long to heat up the space! One more comment, we have rented many homes and looked at a lot of properties online and we are discerning about the homes we rent, this met our high expectations and we are planning on coming back! Thank you Janice!

    Owner response: Kristen, Thank you, thank you, thank you for your kind review! We really appreciate you sharing your experience staying at our cottage. You made our day!! JW

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Practically Perfect in Every Way!

    Practically Perfect in Every Way!

    • Guest Linda (Fallbrook, CA)
    • Date of stay 11/18/12
    • Review Submitted 12/04/12
    This was the perfect cabin for our family reunion Thanksgiving! Everything was perfect right down to the quality towels and toilet paper. We were all comfy and cozy in our beds - the kitchen was complete - the large great room style main floor was plenty of room for all 7 of us to play games, talk, cook and laugh! The pool table in the Gazebo was a fun retreat, too! Everything was lovely! Access to shopping and the lake was extremely convenient. The owners were gracious and accommodating, and welcomed our 2 well-behaved dogs wthout hesitation! Would definitely come back to this location!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for your kind review. Janice

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Family Getaway

    Wonderful Family Getaway

    • Guest Shopkins (Costa Mesa, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/12/12
    • Review Submitted 10/24/12
    My family and I decided to visit Lake Arrowhead at the last minute, and lucky for us this cabin was still available. The cabin was so warm and inviting, you truly felt as though you were staying at a friends home. We only stayed for a weekend and as we were leaving our kids told us that we didn't stay long enough! I would highly recommend this cozy cabin if your looking to head up to the mountains.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you so much!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Awesome cabin!

    Awesome cabin!

    • Guest DP (California)
    • Date of stay 09/25/12
    • Review Submitted 10/01/12
    This cottage was beyond expectation! Usually promotion photos are better than the real thing--- not in this case. Not only was this cottage beautiful, it was comfortable and appointed with every comfort you could imagine. A big plus was that our pets were welcome too! My husband didn't miss his pool table at home because there is a little Casita here with a pool table too! We will definitely come back soon. The owners were very prompt in responding to our questions and easy to work with. Thank you Janice and Duane.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • WOW! WHAT A PLACE!

    WOW! WHAT A PLACE!

    • Guest Janice (Riverside, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/20/12
    • Review Submitted 09/24/12
    Thank you Duane and Janice for sharing your special cottage! It really is a place to relax. After selling OUR special Lake Arrowhead house 3 years ago, we were unsure about coming back to a place that wasn't ours. Well, let me tell you, you have us hooked! We felt right at home! The kitchen is a dream to cook in! The decks are perfect to relax, read and listen to the trees blowing in the breeze! Thank you, thank you. And we will be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Sisters USA Trip

    Sisters USA Trip

    • Guest Sisters (Australia)
    • Date of stay 09/16/12
    • Review Submitted 11/01/12
    Cottage was great truly a cabin in the woods experience. Very spacious & beds very comfy and big. Dining & lounge & outdoor areas very big with lots of seating. Lots of wildlife to see. Everything was excellent. Would love to bring all family back one day. A boat ride costing $18 per person on lake was terrific.Fabulous choice.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Heaven in Arrowhead

    Heaven in Arrowhead

    • Guest shelly (manhattan beach CA)
    • Date of stay 08/22/12
    • Review Submitted 08/27/12
    We finally made it after two years of trying to stay here between football and dance recitals we made it.This place is just heaven. The pictures do not do the home justice its 100 times more beautiful!!! Living the rustice life with all the wonderfull extras...nice sheets, linens, dishwasher, puzzles and games for the kids, pool table and oh the view....wonderful. After 15 minutes of fishing my 6 year old caught her first catfish..then she caught 5 more...what a wonderful experience! We drove to the other side of the lake...Tavern Beach Club..take your pass with you. It is in the book on the table as you walk in the cabin. The kids enjoyed breakfast on the large balcony. We loved our family hikes with our dog Chewy. A relaxing, peaceful place to stay. We will be back ...only longer next time. Janice thanks for opening your lovely home to us.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks Shelly and family for your review. My kids are envious of your 6 year old's fishing success. We hope to hear from you again! Take care! JW

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Charming cottage for a perfect relaxing getaway

    Charming cottage for a perfect relaxing getaway

    • Guest MegannM (Laguna Niguel, CA )
    • Date of stay 07/29/12
    • Review Submitted 08/03/12
    We stayed 4 nights at the charming cottage and couldn't have been happier. The rustic contemporary feel was fabulous. We enjoyed breakfast at the picnic table every morning and spent the evenings relaxing on the second deck. The home was appointed with everything you could possibly need during a stay. We cooked most of our meals instead of going out and that added to the relaxing and fun family feel of the trip. The pictures don't do the cottage justice. It's even better! The master bedroom was absolutely charming and all of the house linens were top quality. A nice perk was the wifi. My 18yo son might have been lost without that ;) The owner was very pleasant to deal with and quickly responded to questions prior to our arrival. We didn't use the kayaks but it is wonderful that they were provided. You really get a great value when renting this property. We loved our stay and would highly recommend the charming cottage to anyone looking for a lovely place to get away from it all.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Family Get-a-way

    Great Family Get-a-way

    • Guest Laura H. (San Diego, California)
    • Date of stay 07/20/12
    • Review Submitted 07/25/12
    Wow - what a great place! We enjoyed every minute and wished we had booked longer. The house was amazing - updated kitchen, comfortable living areas and very comfortable bedrooms. They kids loved the bunk beds!!! We all especially enjoyed the Billiard Casita :-) as a family one night and one night just the adults while the kids watched a movie in the house. We highly highly recommend this cottage. The canoe/kayaks where so much fun and having access to the lake was a super bonus! We can't wait to go back again when there is snow on the ground! So fun!

    Owner response: We thank you for your kind comments and review!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Such a nice cabin getaway

    Such a nice cabin getaway

    • Guest Laura (San Diego )
    • Date of stay 07/14/12
    • Review Submitted 07/25/12
    This cabin was decorated so well and made for such a cozy getaway. The amenities were up to date and the owner was so pleasant to communicate with. I highly recommend this place for families, friends, or any escape!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Week at the Cottage

    Wonderful Week at the Cottage

    • Guest Lori L.
    • Date of stay 07/09/12
    • Review Submitted 07/19/12
    My family and I had a wonderful time in this beautiful cottage. The attention to detail in the decorations and furnishings was very impressive. Also, the thought put into supplying us with pretty much anything we needed to be comfortable ...for example kitchen supplies, toiletries, etc...was great. The cottage was very comfortable from the furniture and beds to the spacious layout. It was great to have decks all around the cottage to experience different views all around us. My family and I really enjoyed playing pool in the gazebo and thought that the location was very convenient for going to the beach club to swim and to the village to sight see. Janice was also very helpful and great to work with. We can tell that she and her family take a lot of pride in their cottage and they want the renters to have a wonderful experience. We look forward to our next stay! Lori

    Owner response: Thank you for your kind review! Janice

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Breathtaking Cottage in the Woods!

    Breathtaking Cottage in the Woods!

    • Guest Richard T. (Las Vegas, Nevada)
    • Date of stay 06/15/12
    • Review Submitted 06/20/12
    We absolutely loved this cottage! It was gorgeous, clean, stylish and homey. The kitchen appliances were top-notch and all the appliances we needed were always handy. Plenty of pots, pans, plates and utensils for the four of us and we always spent our mornings having breakfast on one of three balconies in the home, each with a fantastic view of the forest or the lake. The bedrooms were extremely comfortable with high-quality mattresses, comforters and pillows. We were so comfortable, that it was hard to get out of bed! My wife described the master bedroom as living in a luxurious tree house. There was so much privacy from the surrounding trees, we slept with the window shades wide open. We will definitely be returning!

    Owner response: Thank you so much for the kind review! We are pleased your family enjoyed your visit to Lake Arrowhead and staying at our cottage home. Janice

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Our May Adventure

    Our May Adventure

    • Guest Goody (Mission Viejo, Ca.)
    • Date of stay 05/21/12
    • Review Submitted 05/26/12
    We've just returned from a 4 night stay at the cottage, and thoroughly loved it. It was very clean & well-maintained, close to the village, and in a wonderfully quiet area. Even better than the description given. I also appreciated how quickly Janice responded to my emails. We look forward to returning, and will recommend it to whomever.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful weekend getaway!

    Wonderful weekend getaway!

    • Guest Jennifer (Los Angeles, CA)
    • Date of stay 04/20/12
    • Review Submitted 04/23/12
    Just got back from our stay in the cottage and was absolutely thrilled with the experience! Everything was gorgeous, exactly as described (and more), and the owners were a pleasure to work with. Couldn't be happier with the cottage-- we all would LOVE to go back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • great place to stay

    great place to stay

    • Guest Pablo (santa monica, california, usa)
    • Date of stay 04/13/12
    • Review Submitted 04/16/12
    We had a great time here. Good taste, very comfortable. It snowed and the view of the snow covered trees from the house was beautiful. We felt at home here and had a fantastic family time. The appliances work well, good heating, comfortable bathrooms and hot water all of it seemed recently remodeled with much attention to detail. I would recommend this cottage.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for your positive review of our cottage home. Janice

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful escape from the city....

    Wonderful escape from the city....

    • Guest Emma (Long Beach)
    • Date of stay 03/31/12
    • Review Submitted 04/02/12
    My family and I fell in love with your charming, clean, and beautifully decorated cottage. It met and exceeded my expectations and those of my family. My 6 year-old nephew who has an anxious and cautious disposition initially did not want to go away for a mountain get-away and it wasn't long before he exclaimed "Can we stay here forever?" Not surprising since the home was so inviting, well put together, roomy, and very kid-friendly. We would love to escape again to your lovely vintage cottage at any time of the year and we highly recommend it to others. We can't wait to return in the summer so we could also go out on the lake with the kayaks you've provided. The gorgeous and nicely stocked kitchen was put to good use, but we did eat out once, and having young kids, we would recommend the village pizza place with the arcade for their delicious "Super" sized pizza which easily fed a family of 8. Thank you so much for everything Janice and family!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • GREAT VACATION

    GREAT VACATION

    • Guest sue b (menifee california)
    • Date of stay 06/11/11
    • Review Submitted 06/14/11
    We loved this property. The open floor plan was perfect, the kitchen had it all, the fireplace adds so much warmth to an already charming property. Windows everywhere and sparkling clean. The attention to details, from the robes in the Master bedroom closet to the fresh lemons and special dipping oils for our enjoyment, made the perfect cottage vacation. Immaculate home with 5 star amenities! Can't wait to visit again. Loved all the outdoor seating areas, the BBQ was perfectly located. Can't say enough about the gazebo pool room!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you for your kind review. Nothing pleases us more then hearing our guests had a great experience at our cottage home. JW

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful Cottage! Wonderful Vacation!

    Beautiful Cottage! Wonderful Vacation!

    • Guest KellyM (Long Beach, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/17/10
    • Review Submitted 08/23/10
    The cottage is beautiful and such a wonderful retreat from the city. Loved all of the doors and french windows for breathing all of the fresh mountain air! Loved the porches and the pool table in the gazebo. Inside is wonderfully done, beautiful furniture and linens yet so very cozy and romantic.... My children ages 5 and 8 had a fabulous time swimming in the lake,hiking, squirrel watching, star gazing and playing pool. My son had tears in his eyes when we left and wanted to stay much longer. We will be back again soon for another family trip or for maybe a romantic weekend!!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/6



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]