Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Close up view of Queen Bed

Close to Family; Cozy Vacation Rental in Ballard, Seattle [#282472] | View Property

Ballard
Studio, 1 Bedroom + Den, 1 Bath (Sleeps 3-4)
$99/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (16)

Sort by:
  • A Disappointment

    A Disappointment

    • Guest Ron (St. George, Utah)
    • Date of stay 08/20/13
    • Review Submitted 10/03/13
    We chose this house for two reasons. The price seemed like a bargain. And the photos were impressive, especially the photo of the “private” patio. So okay, the price IS a bargain. But the photos are a bit misleading (although probably not intentionally so). The private patio actually sits in an open parking area behind the house, completely exposed to the back alley. It is basically a cement slab on gravel with weeds sprouting all around. The mostly potted plants that surround it--in an attempt to create a sense of privacy--were half-dead, and the whole area seemed unkempt not welcoming. Inside, the rooms are darker and drearier than they appear to be in the photographs. We had to rearrange in order to have adequate light for reading. The owners are very accommodating, friendly, and helpful. With a bit more attention to detail and some TLC, this could be a very desirable rental. But for now, we would look at other options.

    Owner response: I am deeply sorry to hear of your disappointment with our vacation rental. I will address these issues immediately and appreciate your review. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future and look forward to serving you then. As of 10/16/2013 we have replaced the wall sconces with higher wattage, shaded sconces and daylight LED bulbs. This light is bright and soft and looks very nice. We have also placed an adjustable reading light in the living room and replaced the table lamp with a much larger lamp and bulb. Sheer white curtains have been added to the windows, for natural light, and original curtains left in place to darken the room when needed. We are in the process of adding dimmer switches to bring the room light down to the original level we planned for when designing the Vacation Rental, however now our guests will have the option of both bright and intimate lighting when these switches are replaced. All LED lights are 3,500K temperature which gives a warm glow and not the bluer 5,000K bulbs which are bluer and mimic daylight. Regarding the patio, we want to give guests the option of parking a second car when needed, so we will enclose the patio itself with a cedar fence Spring of 2014. The base of the patio walls will be made of reclaimed brick to mimic a ruin wall. We installed the double French doors to highlight the patio area, so we are looking forward to adding these walls to make the area more private and highlight this space. Thank you very much for your feedback and we hope you will stay with us again in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • California Mtn Biker traveling to Seattle / Ballard at the Treat House

    California Mtn Biker traveling to Seattle / Ballard at the Treat House

    • Guest David (Los Angeles)
    • Date of stay 07/26/13
    • Review Submitted 08/01/13
    Treat house offered a unique opportunity to visit Seattle more as a resident than a tourist. Having driven up the west coast staying in hotels, I really enjoyed quiet walks through the neighborhood (very safe) after dinner in Ballard and feeling secure and safe from crime or harassment. The host, Darrell, offered an array of restaurants and caffes. I dined one night in downtown Seattle using Yelp's reviewers and reviews, and wasn't wowed at all. The second and subsequent nights I dined in Ballard using Darrell's recommendations and found exotic garnishes never or rarely experienced in CA. My favorite was Walrus and the Carpenter, and Caffe Fiore--Darrell said it made Seattle's top coffee shop so I made a point to visit and walked out with a couple of bags of seasonal and regularly shelved beans to take back home! Back to the rental, the linens were of high quality and clean. Bedding medium plush, private entrance and parking space with keyless entry and plenty of natural light. Wifi was super fast, accessible electrical outlets to charge mobile devices, a microwave, and college dorm size fridge. I didn't exhaust Darell's list of recommendations such as Ballard's Sunday Farmer's Market for some local organic fruits and produce but had to trade off for mtn biking in Port Orchard which btw, was some of finest and scenic bike trails during my 10 day adventure of biking CA, OR, and WA bike trails. When and if you book a stay, visit one of Darrell's recommendations first before heading to downtown if you're a newbie to Seattle--and be prepared to splurge as budget became of little consequence when dining in Ballard!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It was such a delight to meet you and thank you for your review! You brought so much energy to our vacation rental and it was exciting to see you enjoy all that our area has to offer. The very best to you and thank you again for such a wonderful review and experience.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Quiet and Great Location

    Quiet and Great Location

    • Guest Diane C. (Midland, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 06/18/13
    • Review Submitted 07/25/13
    We stayed in Ballard while visiting Seattle. It was a quiet and safe neighborhood and made a great "base" while visiting the area. It's easy to get on and off the highway, there are many stores and laundromats nearby, and the Golden Gardens beach is lovely! The bus routes are helpful, but we chose to drive instead. The microwave and mini-fridge helped us fix our own dinners, which saved a lot of money rather than eating at restaurants! The wifi was quick, which made staying in touch with family at home easy. Our daughter slept in the twin bed, and she thought it was fun - she had her own "cupboard under the stairs," just like Harry Potter. It made her day! We would stay here again when in the Seattle area. I recommend this location!

    Owner response: Thank you for such a lovely review and the remark about Harry Potter made my year! We absolutely loved having you and your family!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A cozy, nicely appointed cocoon

    A cozy, nicely appointed cocoon

    • Guest Bellaverdi (Houston)
    • Date of stay 02/01/13
    • Review Submitted 02/18/13
    A recent 10 day trip to visit family was made all the more pleasant by my stay at the studio apartment. It was a very comfortable and quiet space. I barely heard footsteps of the owner and family living above. I also felt quite safe while there. The neighborhood is very quiet, yet convenient to Golden Gardens and a very good coffee shop. Also, the house is very convenient to some useful bus routes. I have already made my reservation for my next visit.

    Recommended for: Age 55+

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Pat M.
    • Date of stay 04/05/11
    • Review Submitted 04/05/11
    This is a poem written by an out-of-town guest who stayed at Treat House. The poem was also entered into a competition here in Seattle. It so epitomizes Treat House and the neighborhood: So Happy Up Here Walking in mist for the morning news; Thoughts drift along to older mews. Not long ago a playground for Treat; Horses and hunting dogs kept a beat. Then up to 85th the trolley ran; Houses rose as they cleared the land. Loyal was born that very same year; The neighborhood was christened with a cheer. Treat blessed us with Gardens by the water; The beach bore the name of his daughter. Sweet aromas from Larsen’s fill the air; Then The Fresh Fish Company, what a pair! Up hill and down the school children go; Every shade of the rainbow they glow. Mom, dad or caregiver at their side; Love watches little feet scamper inside. Nights so quiet and sidewalks so clean; Not far above the Ballard Ave. scene. On the walk back, friendly faces abound; So happy we ended up in this town.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Alaska visitors

    Alaska visitors

    • Guest Tim M. (Juneau AK)
    • Date of stay 02/13/11
    • Review Submitted 04/02/11
    Tried condo renting in Seattle for the first time. Much better experience than the hotel. This unit was well equipped. Very clean. We are very familiar with Seattle, so this location was great in the Ballard area. Close to the waterfront at Golden Gardens and Shilshoe. Easy access to Downtown and the North-end. Helfull owners! Will try and rent again this Spring

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It was a pleasure meeting you and thank you for staying at historic Treat House! Looking forward to your next visit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Milton W
    • Date of stay 01/17/11
    • Review Submitted 01/24/11
    Wonderful!! Clean, quiet, private. Great location for me -- close to my daughter. I'll be back often!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Sue M
    • Date of stay 11/30/10
    • Review Submitted 01/24/11
    Thank you for your wonderful hospitality and cozy place to stay while we visited our grandchildren in Ballard. We did not hear a peep upstairs-- you have done a superb job on sound insulating! Again, thank you and we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Gail M
    • Date of stay 11/22/10
    • Review Submitted 01/24/11
    Thanks for such a comfy place to stay while visiting my first grandchild! And so close to Caffe Fiore -- my favorite -- will have to come back in warmer weather to catch "Parfait" gourmet ice cream truck! I hope I'm leaving the snow here and not taking it back to Indiana!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Eileen C
    • Date of stay 11/11/10
    • Review Submitted 01/24/11
    This is a lovely studio apartment. Just the right size for me, and the care & love that went into the furnishing of it is so felt as I state here. I absolutely love the sun shining though the patio doors in the morning, or the light when the sun is behind the clouds. It's great to meditate looking out into the day. It is a beautiful spot to await the arrival of my grandchild and I am so thankful and appreciative. The sunrise this morning was magnificent. And it's so great to be around the corner from my daughter. Thank you for your care and generosity.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Andree
    • Date of stay 10/28/10
    • Review Submitted 01/24/11
    The apartment worked out wonderfully for us. Our daughter's house was four blocks away. We enjoyed all the sites and the Ballard Locks were my husband's favorite. We are grateful for our host's hospitality.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great place for a relaxing weekend!

    Great place for a relaxing weekend!

    • Guest Sabine (San Jose, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/08/10
    • Review Submitted 10/12/10
    My husband, 9-month old son and I stayed here for a weekend in Seattle. We enjoyed the location, hospitality and amenities of the place. Darrell met us on Friday night when we arrived. He checked in during the weekend to make sure we were enjoying our stay and recommended a few places. They had a pack and play set up for our little guy. My only comment is that there were no utensils/plates when we arrived. But, Darrell brought some down for us right away.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Absolutely loved this property, location, everything about it!

    Absolutely loved this property, location, everything about it!

    • Guest Domino (American Southwest)
    • Date of stay 09/28/10
    • Review Submitted 10/08/10
    I will stay at Treat House for my future visits... From the beautiful area with its proximity to Golden Gardens and so many other nearby attractions, to the friendliness and accessibility of the owner, this was a perfect rental. I definitely appreciated the extra details put into this property, such as the French doors, the really beautiful rugs, the comfortable chairs, the framed historical photos about the original owners of this home, and the luxurious sheets & comforter. It was obvious that the owners went above and beyond to make it special. The location was perfect, and I loved being able to walk to Cafe Fiore to meet with friends or work colleagues for espresso. Next door to that, I discovered a fabulous little Mexican restaurant (Esperanza), an added bonus. As far as future visits, I feel that I have found my home-away-from-home when visiting Seattle. I can very easily recommend this property to all of my family and friends as the perfect place to stay or to host their own visitors. I even booked my father's visit here, knowing he would be safe taking walks around this neighborhood. I absolutely couldn't have been happier with my stay. I'm making my plans already for next time!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Charming, comfortable and quirky

    Charming, comfortable and quirky

    • Guest JKS (Arlington, Virginia)
    • Date of stay 08/20/10
    • Review Submitted 08/25/10
    Darrell and Bath were lovely and very helpful. After we settled in Beth invited us to watch the spectacular sunset from their front porch and described area attractions/directions. My husband and adult daughter were very pleased with our three night stay in this walk-out first floor unit that faces a quiet and attractive alley. The unit faces east and had lots of windows and light, but drapes blocked the sun in the morning. It was clean, attractive, comfortable, and had lots of space to spread out. It was perfect for three people, the twin bed was tucked into an sweet alcove to the left of the queen bed. The TV does not have cable so the number of channels was limited and the picture was a tad fuzzy, but we were not there long enough for this to matter to us. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was updated and larger than most. It has a handyman fix-up feel to it and clearly many improvements have been made since their photographs were taken, which do not show the charm of this place. We were visiting family near by so did not use the patio, parking space, coffee maker or other amenities, but we did do a lot of walking and exploring in Ballard. We had a great breakfast at the Mexican restaurant at the corner of Loyal and 33rd next door to that wonderful coffee shop, visited the Nordic Museum, watched sunsets at the park, and spent a delightful morning at the not-to-be-missed Ballard Farmer's Market on Sunday. We very happily would stay here again.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure meeting you and I'm so glad you had breakfast at "Cocina Esperanza" They only serve breakfast on weekends, and the very best breakfast I've ever had! So glad you were able to explore the neighborhood.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful place to stay!

    Wonderful place to stay!

    • Guest bayareafamily (Mill Valley, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/22/10
    • Review Submitted 07/27/10
    We stayed here last week with our four year old and 8 month old and really enjoyed it. It was the perfect amount and configuration of space (a studio, but large and divided into areas that worked well for a family (alcove with twin bed & pack n' play, separate living room/bed areas, nice large bathroom, outdoor patio, etc), great location a short drive from the main strip of Ballard, also near the beach & waterfront, very quiet, peaceful neighborhood, you can park your car right outside the door to the unit which made it very convenient. It was also very clean and nicely maintained, very comfortable beds, soft nice sheets, coffee, nice towels, soap, etc. It's also walking distance to a really nice cafe & mexican restaurant. Also the owners are very nice and helpful and great to deal with.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Visiting from Victoria Canada

    Visiting from Victoria Canada

    • Guest Rick (Victoria BC Canada)
    • Date of stay 07/10/08
    • Review Submitted 07/08/10
    Myself and 2 other gents stayed here while getting ready for a bicycle race, the "Seattle to Portland" (STP). We enjoyed the area that was very bicycle friendly and was very close to the Burke Gilman Trail which allowed us to ride from the rental unit to the event by bike. The unit itself was very clean and a bit bigger than we expected. The neighborhood was the highlight of our stay as it was very quiet and easy to walk to coffee shops, restaurants, and the beach. I would stay here again. The owners were very helpful and left us alone which we appreciated. This was an overall good experience.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]