Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Cedar Key Bayou Sunrise

Painted Sky Lodge - Cedar Key Waterfront Home - Pilots Welcome [#285130] | View Property

Cedar Key
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 6-7)
$210/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (17)

Sort by:
  • Much Needed R & R

    Much Needed R & R

    • Guest Sue (Dunedin, FL)
    • Date of stay 09/27/13
    • Review Submitted 10/01/13
    The Painted Sky Lodge was much more than we expected. Totally self contained, private & the BEST thing was it was so quiet. Even the landing planes nearby seemed tame with their take offs and landings. The 360 degree view was beautiful, and the golf cart made it easy to pick up groceries as needed at one of the 3 small stores in town. Hope to return soon....Thank you!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Doesn't Get Any Better

    Doesn't Get Any Better

    • Guest Fritz (Atlantic Beach, Florida)
    • Date of stay 07/14/13
    • Review Submitted 07/26/13
    Wall to wall windows and 360 degree views. We could see sunrise over the water on one side of the house and sunset over the water on the other. We could watch the small planes land and take off. We could see water birds everywhere. The screen porch even has a peephole that can be opened so the screen doesn't blur photos. This house has it all. The kitchen is stocked with everything the cook would need, except maybe an ice cream scoop. We enjoyed the food at the Island Hotel and at the Island Room, where upon request, the chef will even prepare non-menu items, like veal piccata - yum. The clam chowder there is the best. Even though we had afternoon thunderstorms every day, we managed to catch keeper trout and red fish from the dock, along with way too many catfish. We ate our share of the locally raised clams, which are unbelieveably cheap. Overall it was a very relaxing and wonderful week. Hope to get back again soon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • A LITTLE PIECE OF HEAVEN

    A LITTLE PIECE OF HEAVEN

    • Guest Janice West (Ocala Fl)
    • Date of stay 08/13/12
    • Review Submitted 08/23/12
    We all loved this place...4 adults and our four legged babies. Two little rat terriers and my old girl who is a beagle 15 yrs old with bad a arthritis. She loved Norman the elevator as we all did and of course the golf cart taking us to town to the park for walks and for our daily ice cream cone. Now a few things about this BEAUTIFUL home. This is your home away from home with all of the accommodations you need! You will love how it is decorated with all local artist paintings. Most evenings there was a breeze sitting on the swing. The wrap around porch was so nice can't wait to come back when the weather is cooler ! We caught a lot of Blue crabs from the dock and my only suggestion would be a large pot to boil them in. Mary the rental manager and the Owner of the home and just the GREATEST People... We promise you won't be disappointment staying here!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Bugs Bugs and more Bugs

    Bugs Bugs and more Bugs

    • Guest cris (Interlachen)
    • Date of stay 08/09/12
    • Review Submitted 08/15/12
    The house was great. The view was spectacular. But could not enjoy the dock for fishing or go out on the wrap around porch for the masquitos and nats that bite. We were forced to stay in the house.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/3

  • Wish I could live here!

    Wish I could live here!

    • Guest SarahH (Tampa, FL )
    • Date of stay 07/21/12
    • Review Submitted 08/08/12
    This place is so serene and beautiful I even have the view from the back porch as my computer background now. I almost did not want to leave a review in the fear that too many people will want to come to this treasure of a place. The house has so many conveniences and the elevator is just plain fun! The golf cart is more important than you think if you have never been to Cedar Key like me. I did not realize the whole little town is golf cart friendly and you can go all around the town on the golf cart . . . super fun! The planes landing right next to the house are all little prop planes that are not noisy like I expected they would be and are actually quite cool to see. The views are just amazing! The bugs are something to think about but really if you avoid low tide and use bug repellent you should be ok. The wraparound porch is so nice I think I could just live out there and my dogs seemed to love it as well. The owners have really thought of everything to leave you. Everything I needed was there and much more. Thanks for sharing your beautiful home with us and we look forward to coming back soon!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great house

    Great house

    • Guest g8rvet (Quincy, FL)
    • Date of stay 07/13/12
    • Review Submitted 07/15/12
    Thoroughly enjoyed our couples trip to Cedar Key at this beautiful house. Well appointed and very spacious. The photos do not really do it justice. My wife is already trying to figure out when to go again in the cooler months. Spacious porch with a lovely view. Only recommendation, the water behind the house is not suitable to bring your boat in on all but the highest of tides - not a problem as their are public launches nearby. Using a kayak or canoe would be fine. We enjoyed watching summer storms roll in from the huge wraparound porch. Great house, great value, well appointed. Friendly owner and agent. You will not be disappointed. Highly recommend.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Rick

    Rick

    • Guest Rick (Lake City, Fl)
    • Date of stay 06/13/12
    • Review Submitted 06/13/12
    What can I say, you have my family hooked. We have spent the last 2 years at your wonderful place. My wife and teen’s feel like it’s their second home. Were about to spend our third week and can’t wait for Friday to come. It’s very special this year because I have broke my foot and ankle and I know that Norman will welcome me ever time I enter the elevator. Thank you for letting us enjoy your home.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful home

    Beautiful home

    • Guest valleri (cincinnati/michigan)
    • Date of stay 06/09/12
    • Review Submitted 06/16/12
    This is a beautiful home and exceptionally well equipped. Mary, the rental agent is the absolute sweetest and so is the family who owns this home (lucky people). The only sad thing that happened was the elevator broke down and it was two days to get someone from Gainesville to fix it. Unfortunately, this was a big reason we rented this particular home due to my 87 year old friend and 93 year old father. They were housebound without it so I took her home early. Nevertheless, a beautiful place and wildlife galore. I would go back with persons my own age. Research fishing prior to going. The redfish will drive you crazy. Fantastic crabbing from your own dock. Bigger than the ones I have gotten in the Chesapeake area. Very pet friendly. Golf cart is so much fun.

    Recommended for: Pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Vacation

    Great Vacation

    • Guest PR (United States)
    • Date of stay 06/02/12
    • Review Submitted 06/12/12
    4 adults and 3 kids from 7 to 14 stayed with plenty of room. The views are great. We enjoyed watching the birds and tides as we are from Nebraska so a lot of this was new to us. If you want a wonderful experience, go to Manatee Springs and take the drive down to Clearwater Beach for perfect white sand beach. Caught blue crabs off the dock. Did not have too much luck fishing but 10 year old had a really big one on at one of the bridges in the area. We ate at Steamers, Tony's, Ken's, Islander Pizza which was all good. We watched Dolphins swim off the deck at Steamers one lunch. On the beach area, one swam very close to one of our party. Suggestions for owner would be to provide more toilet paper, trash bags and would be nice to have a few spices, sugar other than packets which didn't last too long. Otherwise, everything was well-equipped. The golf cart was a nice extra but it did have a banged out headlight evidently from previous occupants. We would recommend to others. It is not on a beachy area but it is quite interesting. (Elevator was helpful too.)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Rod & Jan Carter from Penney Farms, FL

    Rod & Jan Carter from Penney Farms, FL

    • Guest Rod (Penney Farms, FL)
    • Date of stay 05/19/12
    • Review Submitted 06/03/12
    Fabulous! Lived up to every expectation and 5 star review. The two extra bedrooms have been redecorated since the pictures and are superbly done in nautical and tropical themes. Be sure to bring your binoculars, books and fishing poles. Leave your sedatives, antidepressants, and sleeping pills at home. If you can't relax here you're hopeless.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Rod & Jan Carter from Penney Farms, FL

    Rod & Jan Carter from Penney Farms, FL

    • Guest Rod (Penney Farms, FL)
    • Date of stay 05/19/12
    • Review Submitted 06/03/12
    Fabulous! Lived up to every expectation and 5 star review. The two extra bedrooms have been redecorated since the pictures and are superbly done in nautical and tropical themes. Be sure to bring your binoculars, books and fishing poles. Leave your sedatives, antidepressants, and sleeping pills at home. If you can't relax here you're hopeless.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Never wanted to leave!

    Never wanted to leave!

    • Guest Angela (LaGrange, GA)
    • Date of stay 11/23/11
    • Review Submitted 12/08/11
    Our recent experience was absolutely wonderful. From the initial conversation with Pelican Realty to the house...just perfect. Every room has an amazing view. And being right next to the airport, so neat! When I first booked the house, I definitely thought the elevator would be a bonus. Well, I had no idea how much we would use it. Our lazy bulldog and my Grandmother enjoyed it :) It also helped loading and unloading. We truly look forward to our next visit at Painted Sky.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect... just perfect!

    Perfect... just perfect!

    • Guest anonymous (Georgia)
    • Date of stay 03/12/11
    • Review Submitted 03/16/11
    Imagine finding the perfect house your first trip... we did! And we'll be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: We are so glad you loved it. We love for people to feel "at home" and enjoy it as much as we do. Thank you; please come back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • It was amazing...

    It was amazing...

    • Guest Kermit (Blountstown, Fl)
    • Date of stay 09/24/10
    • Review Submitted 10/05/10
    Old ballplaying friends gathered at Painted Sky for our annual get together. This place was GREAT! It was beautiful and we are planning to rent it again in the future. You couldn't ask for better accommadations. The view was beautiful and we only wished we had rented for a longer period of time. The fishing & crabbing was everything we could ask for. We never even put the boat in the water. Thank you so much to the owners for sharing something as wonderful as Painted Sky.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • LOVED THIS PLACE!

    LOVED THIS PLACE!

    • Guest Jamie & Maurice (Central Florida)
    • Date of stay 09/17/10
    • Review Submitted 10/25/10
    We got engaged in Cedar Key in 2008, and returned back there for our first wedding anniversary this year! We sure picked the perfect place. Painted Sky Lodge satisfied every single thing we look for in a rental home for vacation. Super dog friendly, excellent kitchen, fire place, and a lovely porch. Not to mention the golf cart (dont underestimate the $$ value of having that) - we didn't drive our car for four days - plus we could snuggle while we drove! :) It was so neat to see the little prop planes take off from that little air strip - and they weren't It was super clean, the king bed in the main bedroom was very comfortable (my most important feature) and we loved the boat dock and we didnt even bring our boat! My husband and I will never stay anywhere else when we visit Cedar Key, and Cedar Key has become our favorite long weekend destination. Thank you!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • A great place to recharge in Cedar Key

    A great place to recharge in Cedar Key

    • Guest Emma (Gainesville, FL)
    • Date of stay 05/07/10
    • Review Submitted 08/02/10
    This is my favorite place to stay at Cedar Key with my four legged friends. The location is very peaceful with amazing views of nature. The wrap around porch is a great place to see it all - this is also my dog's favorite feature! I was worried that staying so close to the airport would ruin my relaxing retreat, but that wasn't at all the case - there were only a couple of plane takeoff/landing during my stay and they were quite interesting to watch. There is also a nice boat dock from which I have caught a couple of fish. The interior of the house is very pleasant, spacious and clean. We also found it very convenient to get around the island via golf cart - we picked up a driving history tour map and has a great time!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • What a fantastic place

    What a fantastic place

    • Guest Steffi-Baloo (Brandon, FL)
    • Date of stay 04/13/10
    • Review Submitted 04/22/10
    My mother and I spent a glorious week at this property. Everything was absolutely perfect. We really did not want to come home. In the morning, all I had to do to watch the sunrise was roll over in bed and look through the blinds. At night, sit on the front porch to watch the sunrise. We have already made 3 other reservations for this year to go back and enjoy. The elevator with Mr. Hudson on the inside door made my day. Who can say they had Mr. Hudson with a silver tray of sherry welcoming them every day?

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]