Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Front of house

Beautiful Beachfront Home in Gated Community [#285852] | View Property

Dauphin Island
House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 10)
$1500-$2200/wk
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (36)

Sort by:
  • Labor Day 2013

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Labor Day 2013

    • Guest Two families
    • Date of stay 08/29/13
    • Review Submitted 11/23/13
    Thank you so much for letting us stay in your home. It is beautiful! Your neighbor, Roger is fantastic. Such a sweet man. He flew his pland for the kids, he allowed the kids to fly his surfing kite. The beach was wonderful. You guys definitely have everything stocked (I wish I knew this so I didn't have to pack everything-ha!ha!) All I can say about this trip is wonderful and peaceful! The only thing missing was a pantry for food. Once again, thank you. Oh, the crab hunting on the beach at night was so much fun. It cracked us up how they run and how fast. Leslie, Jeff, Baileigh, Savannah, & Olivia Amanda, Shawn, Kyle, Leslie, Colton & Tyler

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Return trip in July 2013

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Return trip in July 2013

    • Guest Cox's & Stevenson's
    • Date of stay 07/01/13
    • Review Submitted 11/23/13
    We have been in this very nice house for two years in a row. I appreciate you allowing us to stay here for back to back years and we have had some very good memories here. These memories will stay with us forever. Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fun memories made in June 2013

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Fun memories made in June 2013

    • Guest Blake, Kim and family--Chad, Kara and family
    • Date of stay 06/14/13
    • Review Submitted 11/23/13
    Susan and Barry: What an awesome week! Your house is beautiful. Our family loved every minute and did not want to leave. You have thought of detail to make this a perfect home away from home. The sand toys and wagon were great, the noodles for the pool came in handy and the selection of DVD's were great for all ages. We enjoyed the sunset walks, night crab hunting and making sandcastles. What fun memories we mad this week. Thank you! Susan and Barry, Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us. Our family and friends had the most wonderful and relaxing week! My children (3 & 11) had never been to the beach before. They had so much fun swimming, building sand castles and hunting for crabs! We are so sad to be going home, but we are already looking forward to returning next summer.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • First time at the beach was June 2013

    Guest comment entered by manager

    First time at the beach was June 2013

    • Guest Ellie and family from Lima, MO
    • Date of stay 06/06/13
    • Review Submitted 11/23/13
    Hi! My name is Ellie. I am 8 years old. This is my first time at the beach. It was fun. I loved the house. I loved the shuffle board the best...it was awesome. I lost right away. I liked when Roger talked to us and flew his airplane at night. Also when our whole group went crab hunting it was great. A time I will never forget. Mel let us have some seashells. She said we could take as many as we wanted too. She was a great neighbor. We had a great time. I am from Lima, Missouri. Your friend, Ellie

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family vacation April 2013

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Family vacation April 2013

    • Guest The Cryts
    • Date of stay 04/07/13
    • Review Submitted 11/23/13
    Barry & Susan, We had a great time this week. We enjoyed the beach, shuffleboard, biking, tennis, trip to LuLu's in GulfShores, the ferry ride, sea lab, shopping in Mobile and seeing the dolphins on the beach. The house was very accommodating and the weather turned out to be beautiful! We are very grateful! Beautiful sunset, hunting crabs at night, playing soccer and playing in sand and the water!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Spring Trip-March 2013

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Spring Trip-March 2013

    • Guest Adam, Karla, AJ & Emily from Vicksburg, MS
    • Date of stay 03/12/13
    • Review Submitted 11/23/13
    Susan & Barry, Thank you so much for opening up your wonderful beach house. We had a wonderful time here! Our children loved playing in the sand and water even though it was very cold. We truly had a wonderful time and hope to return again. Thanks again for allowing us to stay here.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • First family vacation-12-2012

    Guest comment entered by manager

    First family vacation-12-2012

    • Guest Nick, Morgan, Glenn & Josie from Harrodsburg, KY
    • Date of stay 12/27/12
    • Review Submitted 11/23/13
    Our growing little family chose your lovely home for our first family vacation. We cooked almost every meal in the well equipped kitchen and took several walks to the beach to "look for treasure" according to our 4 year old son. We look forward to coming back here. Many Thanks.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest Book Entry September 2012

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Guest Book Entry September 2012

    • Guest Chip, Jennifer & Carter-Lttle Rock, AR
    • Date of stay 09/08/12
    • Review Submitted 11/30/12
    Susan & Barry, Beachwalk made us feel as if we were at home away from home. Our son, Carter 4 yrs. old, has been to the beach twice but was too young to remember. This week will be a vacation he will remember for years. We found a crab in the pool, caught crabs & released them on our own "private beach" and saw dolphins swimming within 10 ft. of the beach. We woke early to walk the beach as the sun woke up each day and ended days by walking the beach while the sunset. We walked under the stars. The most memorable moments were the great times away from the bustle of the city, the chaos of the corporate world. I have spent time on a lot of beautiful beaches in the U.S. & Carribean but Beachwalk was the perfect family getaway fo us. Thank you for opening your house to us for a fantastic week of memories. We plan to come back as often as possible.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest Book Entry-July 2012

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Guest Book Entry-July 2012

    • Guest Rick, Jill & family
    • Date of stay 07/21/12
    • Review Submitted 11/30/12
    We have enjoyed our week so much with six of our eight children-a few grandbabies as well. With our little ones, your boardwalk & beach were perfect for our family. Your spacious home was perfect for us as well, & we loved your beach decor. Like others have said, we didn't neednearly all of the kitchen supplies that we brought; thank you for being so thoughtful. We clebrated birthdays for our seven year old and three year old grand-daughter. Memories to last a lifetime....thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest Book Entry-July 21, 2012

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Guest Book Entry-July 21, 2012

    • Guest RR Jonesboro, Ark.
    • Date of stay 07/21/12
    • Review Submitted 11/30/12
    This past week was fantastic. It felt like we owned the whole island it was so quiet and peaceful. I wish we would've found the shuffleboard rules earlier, but we made up our own. We bought a crab trap and threw it out in the surf, managing to catch several big blue crabs. We say it every year, but wish we had a second week. Thanks so much!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest Book Entry-July 2012

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Guest Book Entry-July 2012

    • Guest Two families
    • Date of stay 07/07/12
    • Review Submitted 11/30/12
    This lovely house was exactly as we expected it to be from the listing description. Perfect for our needs. Granzie & PapaD, Dustin, Michael & Heather & their twins, McKinley& Kayleigh (3yrs)and Dacia & Shawn & Drennars (4 mos) all were comfortable. Great memories! Shuffleboard, cards every night, porch sitting, easy boardwalk to the beach, great beach naps for the Moms! Hate to leave!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest Book Entry-June 2012

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Guest Book Entry-June 2012

    • Guest 3 Texas Families
    • Date of stay 06/16/12
    • Review Submitted 11/29/12
    Susan & Barry, You have a lovely home! Our 3 Texas families had a wonderful week enjoying your Alabama coastline. We really appreciated the comfortable and well stocked house. Thanks for sharing your little piece of heaven.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest Book Entry-Texas Guest

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Guest Book Entry-Texas Guest

    • Guest CR, Fort Worth Texas
    • Date of stay 06/09/12
    • Review Submitted 11/29/12
    My first time at an Alabama beach and I have to say it is my favorite! We've had perfect weather and a great experience. I'm here with my son, his wife, their 2 kids (12 & 9) and 2 other grandkids (6 & 7) from Florida. All of the kids have loved the beaches & nice sand. We've seen crabs, frogs, a long shiny black snake, a nutria and dolphins. So thrilling! Your house is beautiful and perfect for us. We have so enjoyed staying in it . Dauphin Island is a wonderful family destination. Thank you

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest Book Entry-June 2012 First Vacation

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Guest Book Entry-June 2012 First Vacation

    • Guest Missouri Family
    • Date of stay 06/08/12
    • Review Submitted 11/29/12
    Our vacation was our first out of the state of Missouri as a family-3 children under 5 and 6 adults. We had a wonderful time! Words can't describe the experience! We loved the beach, pool, playing at the downstairs bar, everything was more than we ever expected!! Thank you, thank you, thank you! KF This was the first time my son has ever seen the ocean. He had a blast chasing waves, huntng lil white crabs by moonlight and building in the sand. Thank you for allowing us to make memories i your beautiful beach house. The boardwalk is awesome!! G&D

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest Book Entry-May 2012 Holiday

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Guest Book Entry-May 2012 Holiday

    • Guest Keagan, Shiri, Scott, Rachel, Kathy, Clark & Fams
    • Date of stay 05/26/12
    • Review Submitted 11/29/12
    We all loved your home and enjoyed many walks on the beach. One such walk in the early evening, 2 dolphins came right up on shore. It was incredible! We enjoyed Roger's plane and the other friendly people who live here on the island. Ship & Shore is a "must experience" kind of place and food at the Island Bar-B-Q, Rainbow Island & Common Loon was all very good. We felt right at home here-your home is lovely. Thank You!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest Book Entry April 2012-Girl's Trip

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Guest Book Entry April 2012-Girl's Trip

    • Guest St. Louis , Wisconsin, Arizona & Virginia Girls
    • Date of stay 04/19/12
    • Review Submitted 11/29/12
    Our first visit on the Island. We are a group of 7 women who meet annually for our sorority reuntion. We so enjoyed your beautiful home! Great beach walks, enjoyed sitting on the deck looking out to the beach and water. Enjoyed meeting Roger, your neighbor. Went to the art festival, Ft. Gaines but most part just RELAXED!! Great dinners! Great BBQ at D.I. BQ, Barnacle Bills and Skinners. Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest Book Entry March 2012-Family visit

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Guest Book Entry March 2012-Family visit

    • Guest Minnesota guests
    • Date of stay 03/23/12
    • Review Submitted 11/29/12
    Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home. We came from Minnesota to visit our grandson. We had a wonderful time. The beach was great, our walks every morning were so enjoyable.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest Book Entry March 2012--IL & CO Guests

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Guest Book Entry March 2012--IL & CO Guests

    • Guest Don, Kathy, Doug & Marijo
    • Date of stay 03/03/12
    • Review Submitted 11/29/12
    The house is perfect and beutiful. This was a true vacation for the four of us. We drove from central Illinois and our very best friends flew in from Denver. We had the best week enjoing the Island and our time together. Thank you for letting us be here in your home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Kirksville, MO

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Kirksville, MO

    • Guest Rex & Jana Lee
    • Date of stay 10/14/11
    • Review Submitted 11/11/11
    Susan & Barry, Thanks so much for the use of your lovely home. This was our 35th wedding anniversary and it was so nice--almost like a 2nd honeymoon. We were married when I was a 2nd year med student and my husband was an intern-needless to say there wasn't time for big weddings or honeymoons(money either),but 3 kids and 35 years later we're still together.In our profession that is something! Again--we really enjoyed this beautiful and quiet island. P.S. You'll have to ask the neighbors about the wagon rides.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/2

  • Ft. Collins, Colorado

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Ft. Collins, Colorado

    • Guest Lyz
    • Date of stay 09/13/11
    • Review Submitted 11/11/11
    What a wonderful place to share a girls weekend! It's always special to get together with Susan and Donna (my friends of many years). Leslie brought new life to the group! We loved the sunrise/sunset benches, the boardwalk to the beach, the shuffleboard and exploring the island. The ocean was warm, the weather was great. All in all it was a PERFECT vacation. The house is beautiful and well prepared to meet all our needs. Thank you so much!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • St. Louis visitor

    Guest comment entered by manager

    St. Louis visitor

    • Guest Leslie
    • Date of stay 09/11/11
    • Review Submitted 11/11/11
    Susan & Barry, What an amazing beach home you have here on Dauphin Island! Thank you so much for sharing this special gem with me. I have enjoyed my stay and hope to return someday. The beach is beautiful, the weather is awesome, your neighbors are also very friendly. I will have to share my pictures of this trip with friends and family so they can see how wonderful your place is as well. Thanks again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Indiana family enjoys beach

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Indiana family enjoys beach

    • Guest Greg, Carrie & Zachary
    • Date of stay 08/06/11
    • Review Submitted 11/11/11
    Thank you so much for letting us use this beautiful home! It was such a joy to visit the beach. Being from Indiana and not have beaches it was so great just to walk down the boardwalk! Maybe someday we will be back down to Dauphin Island! Thanks again:-) I can't wait to scrapbook all my great pictures!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Holiday at the Beach

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Holiday at the Beach

    • Guest Baton Rouge, LA
    • Date of stay 07/07/11
    • Review Submitted 11/11/11
    The multi-generational family (ages 2 to 90) had a great time! We played in the sand and enjoyed the beach. This house is amazing. We will be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Three families

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Three families

    • Guest Granbury, TX & Dallas, TX & Coatesville, PA
    • Date of stay 06/18/11
    • Review Submitted 11/11/11
    Thanks for letting us use your house for our family vacation. The kids (6 of them) enjoyed the bunk beds and trundle bec. The beach and weather were great! P.S. The house is even prettier in person!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Returning again

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Returning again

    • Guest Shawnee, KS
    • Date of stay 04/24/11
    • Review Submitted 11/11/11
    Thank you so much for letting us come to Beach Walk again. We again had a wonderful time. It was great to celebrate a birthday and Easter here. The boys loved the egg hunt at Cadillac Park. Our time on the beach and in the pool was fabulous! It was so fun to see Roger's plane and kites. What a great house, what a great trip, what wonderful memories!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • First Family Vacation

    Guest comment entered by manager

    First Family Vacation

    • Guest Rina, Lloyd, Audry and Baylor
    • Date of stay 03/27/11
    • Review Submitted 11/11/11
    Susan & Barry, Thank you so much for allowing us to stay at your amazing home! We have enjoyed everything more than words can say. We are a new family and this was our first family vacation together and this is our almost 3 year old son's first time at the beach. He loved the ocean and the sand. We appreciate that you have been so thoughtful and generous to have the house stocked with everything we needed. The kids enjoyed playing with all the beach toys. We will definitely come back and hopefully we can bring more family and friends to help us enjoy everything.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Two families from Houston

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Two families from Houston

    • Guest Houston, TX
    • Date of stay 03/20/11
    • Review Submitted 11/11/11
    Susan & Barry, What a fantastic four days!! The weather was perfect, your home is truly beautiful and the peace and quiet (for Spring Break) was amazing! We did the usual "tourist" things but enjoyed coming back to the sea and sand in the afternoon. Our grandchildren ages 9 & 7, enjoyed your neighbor's kite display and at dusk his lit-up airplane show. What an extra treat!! Thank you for sharing your amazing home with us. We will be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family Vacation

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Family Vacation

    • Guest Des Moines, Iowa
    • Date of stay 03/15/11
    • Review Submitted 11/11/11
    Our family thoroughly enjoyed vacationing in your home! There was everything we needed and more! The house was more beautiful than the pictures showed. We have many new memories from here (long walks on the beach, finding crabs, a turtle and hermit crabs, Ft. Gaines, Gulf Shores & the Ferry, the Sea Lab and the U.S.S. Alabama). The weather was perfect compared to our 30 degree temp in Des Moines. Thank you for letting us use your home. We had a great time and hope to return in the near future!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Return trip

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Return trip

    • Guest The Engs-Alabama
    • Date of stay 11/30/10
    • Review Submitted 01/17/11
    Susan & Barry, This is our second time to stay at the Beach Walk this year. My husband's birthday and now for Thanksgiving! It has been so relaxing and wonderful. Our kids were here and most important my 5 month old grandchild. While I enjoyed her, my kids had a blast with all the activities to enjoy. They played soccer on the beach and I think they wore the shuffle board out completely. It was almost 24/7 (big hit)! Like everyone else said, you have a very lovely place here. We can't wait to be back. Thank you so much for sharing this place. I don't know who decorated but someone has a special gift.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beach Walk Vacation

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Beach Walk Vacation

    • Guest The Dicks-Shawnee, KS.
    • Date of stay 08/14/10
    • Review Submitted 01/17/11
    What a beautiful house! It far surpassed my expectations. We loved the view and all the special touches in the house. Even when it rained there was plenty to do...bean bags, ladder ball, shuffleboard. What a blast! our oldest son loved the movie collection and "his" room. Thank you for sharing your home with us. We will be back again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest Mike, Tina, Michael & Hannah (Pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 07/17/10
    • Review Submitted 08/31/10
    Dear Susan & Barry, We had a wondrful week on the island! Even thought it took us 16 hours to ge here (whew!) it was worth the trip. Your home is lovely and we like the others, so appreciated you being generous with the provisions. We had a blast at the beach and playing ":20 questions!" If we return, which I hope we do, we will certainly stay here!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest The G. Family (Decatur, Alabama)
    • Date of stay 07/10/10
    • Review Submitted 08/31/10
    Dear Susan & Barry, This week was so much fun! I love the house, it was so cozy and inviting. I also liked the fireworks on the Fourth. Thank you for letting us stay at your lovely home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest Laura O. & Family (Texas & Georgia)
    • Date of stay 06/12/10
    • Review Submitted 08/31/10
    Susan & Barry, My family and I have come to the Gulf Coast for vacation every year. Despite the oil spill situation, we were very impressed at how thoughtful you have been at stocking the house. We brought what we historically have needed and found that we didn't need half of it. You have thought of everything and more. We have 5 children with us ranging from ages 14 to 1 year old and they were not bored for one minute! My sister and I loved having a fully stocked kitchen, and the short walk to a private beach was amazing! We enjoyed sight seeing at Fort Gaines, USS Alabama/USS Drum, Bird Sanctuary, Bellingrath and having lunch at the Lighthouse Cafe. Thanks again for your hospitality.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest Steve, Katie & Family
    • Date of stay 06/05/10
    • Review Submitted 08/31/10
    Warren Family, The Druhan family had a fantastic time at Beach Walk! Everyone got to do everything they loved! Thanks again and we hope to be back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest Andrea, Mel & family (llinois)
    • Date of stay 05/29/10
    • Review Submitted 08/31/10
    Susan & Barry, Thank you for opening your home to our family. It is lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We enjoyed some lighning and thunderstorms--some of which were really close and shook the house. They guys enjoyed going to the beach almost every day and doing some fishing. I enjoyed reading the three James Patterson books. We visited Fort Gaines and took the ferry over to Ft. Morgan where the boys found some hermit crabs. Then we ventured into Gulf Shores where the girls parasailed. We visited some friends who live in Daphne and also have a dock on Mobile Bay where the kids tubed. We enjoyed shopping for souvenirs on the island. It was a very laid back vacation with no agenda and just relaxing. Thank you again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest Cindy & Mike P.
    • Date of stay 03/27/10
    • Review Submitted 08/31/10
    Susan & Barry, Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. Beach Walk is a special place with its private boardwalk to a beautiful, white sandy beach. Our kids loved the 5 TV's and entertainment system; my mother and I enjoyed the well equipped kitchen with the wonderful appliances. We spent many evenings battling on the shufflebord court. Beyond the beach, island activities we enjoyed were walking through the Audobon Preserve, touring Ft. Gaines, the estuarium and eating fish from Skinner's and cinnamon rolls from the Lighthouse Bakery. Touring the Battleship Alabama was worth the drive to Mobile. Sadly our week has come to an end and we must leave this beautiful place. We leave with fun memories and hope to return next year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]