Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
MAGNIFICENT SUNSET  WATER VIEWS

Torchview - Florida Keys Secluded Paradise on Water [#286968] | View Property

Big Torch Key
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 6)
From $275/nt - $1800/wk - $7200/mo
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (51)

Sort by:
  • Crew from Buffalo, NY

    Crew from Buffalo, NY

    • Guest Randy T. (Amherst, New York)
    • Date of stay 04/05/14
    • Review Submitted 04/13/14
    Great property! Snorkeling around the dock, fishing, relaxing and eating at Mangrove Mama's...yeah, we'll be back. The rental is very clean and well taken care of, terrific place to spend your vacation, highly recommended!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best vacation ever!

    Best vacation ever!

    • Guest Mike and Cheryl (East Aurora, NY)
    • Date of stay 03/01/14
    • Review Submitted 03/20/14
    Best vacation ever! stated my 18 year old son. And we all agreed. The place is amazing (better than the pictures) and extremely comfortable. The wrap around porch was perfect place to kick back and relax. Everyone especially loved to hang out on the dock - where we saw 100s of fish, lobster, stingray, shark and we were blessed with a visit of a manatee (first one ever to visit per Kathy and Steve). The highlight of our stay was the day we hired Steve to take us out on his boat. He knew the best places to snorkel and to fish. We caught enough fish to feed everyone aboard. Even received fillet lessons from Steve and had fish for supper that night. Great Day! We had a great time and would highly recommend this property

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Stay at Torchview

    Wonderful Stay at Torchview

    • Guest Michael & LisaAnn C.
    • Date of stay 02/08/14
    • Review Submitted 03/02/14
    We had a fantastic vacation at Torchview this past February. The house itself is amazing with a huge master bedroom, fully equipped kitchen and a deck that wraps around the entire house. At the same time, it was cozy, immaculately clean and very tastefully decorated. While we were there, the temperature hovered between 78 and 82 degrees. The water was like bath-water. I would recommend it to anyone who likes to fish, snorkel, kayak or just explore. The dock is a treasure with an artificial reef built by Kathy and Steve that literally shelters hundreds of fish. We actually got tired of catching them. We cooked most meals at home, but there are plenty of local places to eat. Boondock's is good for pub-fare and we recommend 5 Brother's Deli for cubano's and breakfast sandwiches. It is also only 25 miles from Key West which has plenty of restaurants, shops and attractions. Steve and Kathy are wonderful hosts and we thank them for letting us stay at their beautiful home. The only downside was that we wanted to do so much more but we only had a week. That gives us a good reason to return. We would highly recommend this vacation property.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent Beach House Experience!!

    Excellent Beach House Experience!!

    • Guest Jeane Drake (Londonderry, OH, USA)
    • Date of stay 01/25/14
    • Review Submitted 02/03/14
    My husband and I stayed here the week of our anniversary. Our intent was to relax, soak up some sun and see the local sights. This was the perfect place. It's private, unlike most beach houses which are built side-by-side, but still close enough to Marathon and Key West. The house is clean, spacious and well stocked. Steve and Kathy provided wonderful recommendations about Key West, Marathon, Big Pine Key, etc. They are very knowledgeable about the area. Love it! Had a wonderful time! Would definitely stay here again upon our return to the Keys.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Pure Paradise !

    Pure Paradise !

    • Guest Shellie B.
    • Date of stay 12/28/13
    • Review Submitted 01/20/14
    The Bradford Family had the greatest time at Torchview! Every room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We caught amazing fish right off the doc. and plenty of them. We saw sharks and stingrays, crabs and lobsters and tons of fish in the waters surrounding the doc. and shore. We took amazing pictures especially at sunset which is just stunning. We got to meet the owners who were as wonderful as the home ! Most of the time you would never know they were there. When we did see then they were helpful in suggesting great places to visit, and were open, warm and welcoming. We would definitely Stay there again and again. Steve, Shellie, Stephanie (21), Shannon (17) and Scott (14) We thank you for all the memories and luxury we enjoyed. - from Aurora, Colorado

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • SLICE OF PARADISE

    SLICE OF PARADISE

    • Guest What's your first name? W. (FLORIDA)
    • Date of stay 11/16/13
    • Review Submitted 02/24/14
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Torchview as we geared into total relaxation and unwind mode. We were able to do many activities right at/from the house and dock including kayaking, snorkeling, bike riding, and just relaxing while soaking up the rays and serene surroundings. Having front-row seats to sunsets was amazing, and the artificial reef held daily surprises with its abundance of active marine life. It is next-to-impossible to take a bad picture. ;) The house was spacious and clean, and offered spectacular views from all the many windows as well as from the full wrap-around deck. The beautifully landscaped property is perfectly situated, lending itself to serenity and privacy, yet still a short enough drive to the Overseas Highway for those wanting to venture out up to Big Pine Key, Marathon (Seven Mile Bridge), or down to Key West. The kitchen is well-equipped for those days or nights staying in for meals, and the outdoor gas grill made for easy-cooking, too. Kathy was great in answering any questions that we had, and pride-of-ownership is reflected in the well-maintained details of Torchview. We enjoyed this slice of paradise so much so that we are are going back for seconds! A-M, Gary & Family

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Torchview even more magical our second stay!

    Torchview even more magical our second stay!

    • Guest Anne & BT (Athens, AL)
    • Date of stay 10/05/13
    • Review Submitted 11/04/13
    Our family visited Torchview for a second year October 5-19, 2013. It was even more wonderful and magical than our first visit in 2012! The well laid out house is impeccably maintained, and the love and care that goes into it really shines, making it in our view the very best place you could stay in the Paradise of the Lower Keys. We were once again awed by fantastic Torchview sunsets over Niles Channel and beautiful sunrises over the tropical landscaping. The little sandy beach area shaded by mangroves in front of the house was a favorite spot to kick back and relax. We greatly enjoyed kayaking and snorkeling around the artificial reef under and around the dock at Torchview. Under the dock and around the mangroves is a magical little marine nursery where we saw nurse sharks, little barracudas, little parrotfish, grunts, lobster, anemones, and a little southern stingray and his pal the fish who followed him everywhere! We again rented a boat from Big Pine Boat Rentals (Maya is awesome – Travis is great, too!) and kept the boat at the Torchview dock for part of our stay. We finished up Open Water SCUBA certification with John, Kris, Brian and Bill at Innerspace Dive Center, then rented gear from them – we highly recommend diving with them – they (and their gear) are Awesome!!! Evenings we didn’t cook up fresh seafood at Torchview, we enjoyed excellent fresh seafood at The Wharf just over on Summerland Key – Yum!!! Torchview’s wrap-around porch, big open (living area (with comfy furniture and satellite TV for rainy days / days end), great well equipped kitchen, lovely views from every room in the house, beautifully landscaped grounds, and dock on good open water surrounded by sea flora and fauna make Torchview the most special place we’ve ever gotten to be on vacation. It is close enough to grocery shopping on Big Pine Key and seafood shops (fresh, GREAT seafood) that it isn’t inconvenient to get out to get what you need, but it is set back away from the road so that you have plenty of privacy. It truly is a paradise all its own, and sometimes makes us wonder if we could move to the Keys and find such a magical place to make our own. Probably not, but we are extremely grateful to the wonderful owners, Kathy and Steve, who let us share their lovely paradise for a few weeks a year for wonderful, fun, relaxing vacations!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Absolute Paradise at Torchview

    Absolute Paradise at Torchview

    • Guest Anne & BT (Athens, AL)
    • Date of stay 10/05/13
    • Review Submitted 10/29/13
    Our family visited Torchview for a second year October 5-19, 2013. It was even more wonderful and magical than our first visit in 2012! The well laid out house is impeccably maintained, and the love and care that goes into it really shines, making it in our view the very best place you could stay in the Paradise of the Lower Keys. We were once again awed by fantastic Torchview sunsets over Niles Channel and beautiful sunrises over the tropical landscaping. The little sandy beach area shaded by mangroves in front of the house was a favorite spot to kick back and relax. We greatly enjoyed kayaking and snorkeling around the artificial reef under and around the dock at Torchview. Under the dock and around the mangroves is a magical little marine nursery where we saw nurse sharks, little barracudas, little parrotfish, grunts, lobster, anemones, and a little southern stingray and his pal the fish who followed him everywhere! We again rented a boat from Big Pine Boat Rentals (Maya is awesome – Travis is great, too!) and kept the boat at the Torchview dock for part of our stay. We finished up Open Water SCUBA certification with John, Kris, Brian and Bill at Innerspace Dive Center, then rented gear from them – we highly recommend diving with them – they (and their gear) are Awesome!!! Evenings we didn’t cook up fresh seafood at Torchview, we enjoyed excellent fresh seafood at The Wharf just over on Summerland Key – Yum!!! Torchview’s wrap-around porch, big open (living area (with comfy furniture and satellite TV for rainy days / days end), great well equipped kitchen, lovely views from every room in the house, beautifully landscaped grounds, and dock on good open water surrounded by sea flora and fauna make Torchview the most special place we’ve ever gotten to be on vacation. It is close enough to grocery shopping on Big Pine Key and seafood shops (fresh, GREAT seafood) that it isn’t inconvenient to get out to get what you need, but it is set back away from the road so that you have plenty of privacy. It truly is a paradise all its own, and sometimes makes us wonder if we could move to the Keys and find such a magical place to make our own... Probably not, but we are extremely grateful to the wonderful owners, Kathy and Steve, who let us share their lovely paradise for a few weeks a year for wonderful, fun, relaxing vacations! :)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Place for Fishing and Fun

    Great Place for Fishing and Fun

    • Guest Al Fish (Orlando, Florida)
    • Date of stay 09/28/13
    • Review Submitted 10/11/13
    Very well maintained home with all the amenities, easy access to boat ramp. The dock has a artificial reef with several species of fish, that is great to snorkel on. The home has large comfortable rooms and very spacious and open living area. Kitchen has everything you need to cook whatever you please. Fantastic sunsets with easy access to shopping and dining, Key West is only 30 minutes away. We where very happy with this rental and hope to return soon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fun Fun Fun

    Fun Fun Fun

    • Guest Mike and Debora (Bartow, Florida/ USA)
    • Date of stay 09/23/13
    • Review Submitted 10/01/13
    Upon our arrival the place was very neat and clean and it was very private like what we were looking for, also lucky for us the weather did cooperate and the sun shined the two days we were their. It was to bad that we couldn't stay longer this time, but next year we hope to stay at least a week that way we can drive our boat down. Its very hard to see and do things in just a couple of days. P.S. The sunset was awesome......

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Our favorite rental in the Keys!

    Our favorite rental in the Keys!

    • Guest Judy V.
    • Date of stay 09/14/13
    • Review Submitted 10/13/13
    We have stayed at Torchview two Septembers in a row and plan on going back next year too! The property is private with a wonderful mini-reef right under the dock. The home is beautiful and spacious with a huge master bedroom and bath along with an open floor plan in the kitchen/living room. We love the location near Big Pine grocery stores and local restaurants. We had our 22Ft. boat at the end of the dock with no problems. The dock itself is perfect for fishing and the little beach area is great for launching kayaks. Torchview really has it all!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent waterfront home

    Excellent waterfront home

    • Guest Boston Griswolds (Boston, Massachusetts)
    • Date of stay 08/10/13
    • Review Submitted 08/26/13
    The property description and photos are completely accurate. We appreciated the opportunity to speak and email the owners who we found professional, friendly, informative, helpful and extremely easy to work with. If you are looking for a quiet home, accessible to lower keys activities, but stocked well enough that once you bring in groceries from the nearby market, theres nothing else to consider, this may be the right vacation spot for your family. The area around the dock is rich with marine life, so pack your mask and snorkel or rent some gear. Rays,barracuda,anemones, morays and more! We kayaked the nearby spongebeds and seagrass in calm August waters, snorkeled and hung out on the dock and watched the neighbors catch a lot of fish. The property is exceptionally well maintained with many outdoor spaces to hang out or read a book. Wifi, satellite and phone provided all the connectivity required. We are planning a return as soon as feasible, knowing that it was for certain the right house, on the right key, for a family of 4 with two tweens. We began our vacation in the Everglades, the transition from 'glades to keys allowed all of us to enjoy some of the best of Florida,in the quiet of the off season.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful escape

    Wonderful escape

    • Guest Rick (Athens, GA)
    • Date of stay 08/03/13
    • Review Submitted 08/13/13
    Spacious and comfortable house. Everything you need readily available. Beautifully melted and scaped. Private yet convenient. 25 miles to Key West, 10 minutes to Bahia Honda/Looe Key charter. Great sea life all around 200 ft. dock. We rented boat from Big Pine Boat rental ( good to do business with) and found numerous snorkel spots within minutes. Got our lobster limit first two days. Will return.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • TORCHVIEW

    TORCHVIEW

    • Guest Harbourhound
    • Date of stay 07/06/13
    • Review Submitted 07/19/13
    peaceful and great location for diving looe key, we had a wonderful week

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Torchview vacation

    Torchview vacation

    • Guest Stan (Forked River, NJ)
    • Date of stay 06/29/13
    • Review Submitted 08/25/13
    Another great vacation at Torchview. Our 2nd time here. Amenities were great and the views were fantastic. Our family enjoyed the swimming, snorkling, fishing and jet skiing. The kids had fun trying to catch the lobsters at the dock. Can't wait until our vacation next year. Already booked our week.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Tranquility Base is Torchview - not somewhere on the moon!

    Tranquility Base is Torchview - not somewhere on the moon!

    • Guest jfredinsc (Blythewood, SC)
    • Date of stay 04/13/13
    • Review Submitted 04/24/13
    A trip to The Keys was on our bucket list, so it needed to be perfect. Thanks to Steve and Kathy, opening their beautiful home to us, it was. Everything you see on-line, is what you get. Clean rooms, fully equipped kitchen, spectacular views, proximity to tourist attractions, peace and quiet. Our activities included fishing from the 240 foot dock, snorkling around 'our' dock and the neighbors' where we saw lobster, lion fish, spade fish and enough other marine creatures to fill an aquarium. We also brought our Jet-Ski and what a rush, skimming over the crystal clear water! To the readers of this review, if you are fortunate enough to visit Torchview while Steve and Kathy are on site, you will find two engaging, inobtrusive individuals dedicated to ensuring your experience is one you will forever remember! Oh, and no commentary would be complete without a mention of Cheyenne - the Keyes' friendliest dog. Would we recommend Torchview? Absolutely!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Florida Keys Home Rental

    Florida Keys Home Rental

    • Guest Robo (MN)
    • Date of stay 03/23/13
    • Review Submitted 04/15/13
    This was my second visit to this property. I stayed for 2 weeks last year and 2 weeks this year. The experience at Torchview was exceptional. The home is awesome. There is a small beach, great areas to paddle board, swim, fish etc. I particularly like to bike ride around the area on the Torch Keys as well as paddle board and walk. The wild life is great for viewing a big draw for me as well as the privacy. The owners are great to be around and very helpful as well as genuinely friendly. I am in the process of renting the home again for two weeks for 2014. Next year will be my 10th year of visits to the Florida Keys. This property meets my needs well.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It's great having our guests become "friends". Robin and family have introduced us to paddle boarding, what fun! We are already looking forward to their visit in 2014.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful spot, beautiful home

    Beautiful spot, beautiful home

    • Guest Ellen (Carlisle, MA)
    • Date of stay 02/23/13
    • Review Submitted 03/19/13
    Kathy and Steve are superb hosts. Both are very helpful and good humored. Steve's stories are interesting and fun. Ask him about the talking dog or Fat Albert or the family home in Michigan. The Torchview house layout with the deck all around is great, the rooms spacious, and all is very well-maintained. After plowing through Miami and the Upper Keys Saturday traffic, Big Torch Key provided a relaxing refuge. We had most of our meals at Torchview. The kitchen is very well equipped and even has a good selection of spices. One evening we enjoyed some freshly caught fish from Steve. Our best restaurant meal was at The Square Grouper on Cudjoe Key. The No Name Pub on Big Pine is fun. If you are there in the early evening you should cross the bridge onto No Name Key to see the very tame Key Deer (no feeding them though). Don't miss Bahia Honda State Park. We were there on a very hot and crowded day and a cool, uncrowded day. It was beautiful both times. We spent one day touring Key West and had an excellent guide at the Hemingway home. Even if you're not a Hemingway fan, he was such a colorful character that the stories told are fascinating. One day we took the boat to the Dry Tortugas. It took the whole day but since we enjoy birdwatching and snorkeling it was worth it. The only people we would not recommend Torchview to are people for whom the 22 stairs might be an issue. They are interior stairs and have a handrail but if you have mobility problems they could be difficult. We shared the house with long time friends. We would love to go back to Torchview with our kids and grandchildren.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Totally Relaxing

    Totally Relaxing

    • Guest Sue (Chestertown, Maryland)
    • Date of stay 01/19/13
    • Review Submitted 02/10/13
    My husband and I have vacationed many times in Key West with our family. This time we wanted a more secluded spot with easy access to other keys. Torchview is perfect. We spent many happy hours there, enjoying the wonderful accomdations, the view from the wrap-around porch as well as the water activities. Our grandchildren visited and had wonderful times kayaking and fishing. On quiet evenings we enjoyed the videos from the extensive library. Although Torchview is secluded, its location provides easy access to Key West, Marathon and other Lower Keys. The owners are more than helpful, full of wonderful local knowledge, and are ready to help with anything. We look forward to another stay at Torchview.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Torchview...a memory waiting to happen to you!!!

    Torchview...a memory waiting to happen to you!!!

    • Guest Cynthia R.
    • Date of stay 01/05/13
    • Review Submitted 01/21/13
    Staying at Torchview was such a lovely experience! The pictures show you the nuts and bolts of the house(which were quite comfortable and beautifully decorated)...the owners, and their sea life creatures made every day an event! Steve and Kathy were not only friendly, but interesting and entertaining...and knowledgeable. Their sea creatures made every day a surprise: hundreds of fish, and crabs, lobsters, stingrays, anemones, and a nurse shark! All seen from their extensive dock! The reef was just the most amazing touch to accent a very special place! Our fishing trip with Steve was so much fun. We caught an amazing array of fish! We also saw two dolphins swimming alongside our boat. Our escorts made it very special! If you are looking for a central location, this is it. Key West is 25 minutes west, and Bahia Honda, Pine Key(Winn Dixie and No Name Pub) is just 10 minutes, and the Turtle Hospital(do not miss) and the Dolphin Research Center(swim with the dolphins) are about 25 minutes. So, if you are looking for a Keys experience, with large rooms and very clean surroundings and hosts who make it their business to give you the BEST vacation ever, LOOK NO FURTHER!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Paradise Found!!

    Paradise Found!!

    • Guest Torchview Fan For Life! (Littleton, CO)
    • Date of stay 12/29/12
    • Review Submitted 01/26/13
    Folks, if you have spent hours on VRBO or other sites (as did I) looking for the PERFECT place to unwind in the Keys . . . look no further! Torchview is THE one. From the moment you walk out onto the 360 degree wrap-around deck you will be mesmerized and know that you have chosen wisely. Days were spent exploring all that the Keys have to offer, or just kicking back and taking it easy at Torchview. We used the sea kayaks every day, biked a little, snorkeled right off the dock, but mostly just relaxed as a family. At night we would cook something up on the gas grill while watching the sun sink into water, then select a movie from Torchview's ample collection and unwind (since you will be in the Keys, we recommend "Captin Ron!"). I dubbed the long dock the "Octopus's Garden (sorry Ringo) because, aside from lobsters, sponges, anemones and all kinds of fish, I encountered not one, but two small octopi! Very cool! The highlight of our trip, though, was our boat excursion with "Cap'n Steve" on our final day, where we snorkeled some reefs, and then got "chased" home by a pod of playful dolphins. They splashed in the wake of the boat for a good 15 minutes. We just received a "thank you" postcard from Kathy and Steve with a beautiful picture of a Torchview sunset. What a memory. Kathy and Steve-- thank you for everything, and we will be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Tropical Paradise in the Lower Keys

    Tropical Paradise in the Lower Keys

    • Guest Anne & BT (Athens, AL)
    • Date of stay 11/03/12
    • Review Submitted 11/23/12
    A wonderful, magical place to stay in the Florida Keys! The house is well laid out, very well furnished, and truly situated in Paradise! The location is fantastic – the house faces west towards Niles Channel with mangroves and other pretty vegetation towards the water, with a small sandy beach area fronted by a low seawall with steps to the water (great for launching a kayak!). There is a porch which wraps all the way around the house – there are fantastic views of the Awesome sunsets from the porch and the dock; at night, you can see so many stars – it’s beautiful! Towards Niles Channel, a pier goes through the trees and by the sandy area out to a dock with good depth – we kept a 21 foot boat tied there for part of our stay. The pier and dock are way cool to hang out at – we saw lots of sea life – all kinds of fish, a few nurse sharks, rays, a turtle, and lots of spiny lobsters! Watching sea critters in the mangroves and under the dock and snorkeling off the dock were some of our favorite activities at Torchview! We saw key deer grazing in the yard many mornings and evenings and birds and butterflies all times of day – really cool! The house is set back enough from the street that it is very private. The photos of the house are beautiful, but it is even more beautiful in person! We had a wonderful time watching sea creatures around the dock, watching gorgeous sunsets and night skies so clear and full of stars it felt like you could dive up into them, boating and snorkeling at Looe Key and Newfound Harbor Marine Sanctuaries (we highly recommend boat rental through Maya at Big Pine Key Boat Rentals – way cool, well-equipped boats and Maya is awesome!!!), visiting the Blue Hole on Big Pine Key, and just relaxing and enjoying Torchview! For eating out, we really enjoyed and highly recommend The Wharf on Summerland Key (Bacon, Lobster and Tomato sandwich and red conch chowder are awesome!) and Square Grouper on Cudjoe Key. The Torchview house is well equipped for cooking up great seafood or whatever you want – we really enjoyed cooking there and relaxing watching satellite TV after being out playing all day. Torchview is truly an awesome special place – Thank You, Steve and Kathy, for sharing your wonderful Keys home so that we could have such a wonderful, fun, and relaxing vacation! It was magical, and very hard to leave! We hope to visit Torchview again (and again, and again…). :)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Tropical Paradise in the Lower Florida Keys

    Tropical Paradise in the Lower Florida Keys

    • Guest Anne & BT (Athens, AL)
    • Date of stay 11/03/12
    • Review Submitted 11/23/12
    A wonderful, magical place to stay in the Florida Keys! The house is well laid out, very well furnished, and truly situated in Paradise! The location is fantastic – the house faces west towards Niles Channel with mangroves and other pretty vegetation towards the water, with a small sandy beach area fronted by a low seawall with steps to the water (great for launching a kayak!). There is a porch which wraps all the way around the house – there are fantastic views of the Awesome sunsets from the porch and the dock; at night, you can see so many stars – it’s beautiful! Towards Niles Channel, a pier goes through the trees and by the sandy area out to a dock with good depth – we kept a 21 foot boat tied there for part of our stay. The pier and dock are way cool to hang out at – we saw lots of sea life – all kinds of fish, a few nurse sharks, rays, a turtle, and lots of spiny lobsters! Watching sea critters in the mangroves and under the dock and snorkeling off the dock were some of our favorite activities at Torchview! We saw key deer grazing in the yard many mornings and evenings and birds and butterflies all times of day – really cool! The house is set back enough from the street that it is very private. The photos of the house are beautiful, but it is even more beautiful in person! We had a wonderful time watching sea creatures around the dock, watching gorgeous sunsets and night skies so clear and full of stars it felt like you could dive up into them, boating and snorkeling at Looe Key and Newfound Harbor Marine Sanctuaries (we highly recommend boat rental through Maya at Big Pine Key Boat Rentals – way cool, well-equipped boats and Maya is awesome!!!), visiting the Blue Hole on Big Pine Key, and just relaxing and enjoying Torchview! For eating out, we really enjoyed and highly recommend The Wharf on Summerland Key (Bacon, Lobster and Tomato sandwich and red conch chowder are awesome!) and Square Grouper on Cudjoe Key. The Torchview house is well equipped for cooking up great seafood or whatever you want – we really enjoyed cooking there and relaxing watching satellite TV after being out playing all day. Torchview is truly an awesome special place – Thank You, Steve and Kathy, for sharing your wonderful Keys home so that we could have such a wonderful, fun, and relaxing vacation! It was magical, and very hard to leave! We hope to visit Torchview again (and again, and again…). :)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic Time

    Fantastic Time

    • Guest Andrew and Jane (Manchester,England )
    • Date of stay 10/28/12
    • Review Submitted 11/17/12
    We had 5 nights at Torchview in october 2012.It was absolutely fantastic.The home is lovely inside with plenty of amenties.The best bit though is the dock.It is great for fishing and snorkelling.Lots of fish,lobsters etc around the dock and two Dolphins came up about 15 feet away from it. The location is very quiet but within easy reach of the shops,restaurants and other Keys sights. The owner was very friendly and helpful. We were on a Family holiday with our two teenage children from England.It was perfect and we can't recommend it highly enough. Holiday memories that we will treasure.Thankyou so much. We are sure that other guests will love it as much.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • best place i've ever stayed in the keys.

    best place i've ever stayed in the keys.

    • Guest boatman (atlantic beach,fl)
    • Date of stay 10/27/12
    • Review Submitted 12/03/12
    a memory i will have forever...........strengthened by more visits! magnificent view, immaculate house, very private,....... congenial hosts.......i do not think it could get any better!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Relax...Recharge

    Relax...Recharge

    • Guest Blow_N_Bubbles (Tampa, FL)
    • Date of stay 10/13/12
    • Review Submitted 11/11/12
    This was our 2nd year booking Torchview for our fall vacation week...we looked forward to it from the moment we left last year, and once again we were not disappointed! This property will please all types of vacationers - from those wanting to rest and de-stress, to history lovers, to water sports enthusiasts, to Key West Conch wannabes - because it is perfectly located to meet all of these expectations. From the moment you turn off of Hwy 1 and wind over the causeways to Big Torch Key, you will feel like you are going "far, far away from it all." You aren't...but you are. The house is spacious, bright (views from no matter where you stand), clean (no dirty smudges on the walls), and provides all the amenities of home. As a matter of fact, it feels like home. The large concrete deck surrounds the house, so no matter what time of day, there is either sun or shade, depending on your pleasure. Sunsets are spectacular. Take the time to spend a late night out on the dock and look up at the stars - you may be surprised that they are countless (a rarity if you are from the city)! The reef under and around the dock has developed into a beautiful nursery with many schools of fry, mangrove snapper, parrot fish, grunts and pinfish. The resident barracuda aren't very big, and will follow you around while you snorkel, much like a trained puppy. Take your time and you will also see sponges, anemones, various crab species, lobster (of course!). If you are a diver, Looe Key (not to be missed, and also great for shallow & deep water snorkeling) and the Duane are less than a 30-min ride away. We bring our own offshore boat & it is nice to dock it and not worry about any of our gear going missing due to the seclusion of the property! Since the weather gods kept us off the water for most of our trip this year, we visited Key West twice (once for a yummy dinner at the Rusty Anchor & a walking ghost tour, and once for the sunset - don't miss the Catman!), found the Perky Bat Tower and a secluded recreation area on Sugarloaf Key, visited Bahia Honda for some spectacular photos from the old bridge, counted more Key Deer than we have ever seen before, and drank lots of Baby's Coffee (for those of you who like frozen and fruity tropical drinks, the blender at the house will crush up some sweet pina coladas!). There is always something to explore, and a new favorite place waiting to be found in the Keys. Once again, a truly wonderful week!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Total Relaxation

    Total Relaxation

    • Guest Mike (Holly Springs, NC)
    • Date of stay 07/07/12
    • Review Submitted 07/17/12
    If you're looking for a place to totally unwind and relax, Torchview is just the place. The home is on a less populated Key and on a large lot facing west for beautiful sunsets. We thoroughly enjoyed the peace and quiet and the serenity here. The dock quickly became our favorite hangout offering snorkeling, fishing, stand-up paddleboarding (we rented a board), kayaking, and just plain lounging around. The artificial reef the owners have constructed practically makes you feel like you're at an aquarium. We saw many types of fish including numerous lobster, a stingray, a small nurse shark, and a few ornery barracudas. Although you feel remote, only a few miles away are Big Pine Key and Summerland Key with numerous restaurants and other services. The key deer roaming all over Big Pine Key are lots of fun to watch. And the big green iguanas that hang out in the front yard and along the roads are certainly interesting too. The house itself is very well equipped and offers all the amenities you'll need for an enjoyable vacation away from it all. My only suggestion would be to add a recycling bin since most people would use that. We had a great time and can highly recommend Torchview. Book a week with Kathy (who is great to work with), pack up your stuff, and head on down. You won't be dissapointed!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great, Relaxing vacation site!

    Great, Relaxing vacation site!

    • Guest Marci P. (Malakoff, Texas)
    • Date of stay 06/02/12
    • Review Submitted 06/11/12
    My husband, two children, and my parents, just returned from the Torchview Vacation Rental Home. We had a wonderful time! My children, 14 (girl) and 19 (boy) thoroughly enjoyed fishing, snorkelling, kayaking, and relaxing at Torchview. Having three generations in one spot, you never know if everyone will be satisfied, but we absolutely were! The home is nicer than the pictures represent. It is large and open. It allows for privacy with the bedroom/bathroom layout. It is the CLEANEST rental we have ever encountered. It actually seemed like the place had been repainted before we arrived, it was that clean. The water is crystal clear, you can snorkel and see tons of fish right at the dock. There is not a real "beach" at the water, but there is a small "beach type" spot just at the water's edge. There are steps to get into the water at the beach, off the dock, etc., making access very easy. We were able to dock a large (32') boat at the property, which we rented, that made it very convenient for fishing. The owner was responsive and easy to reach. There is wifi which helped the teens stay connected during downtime. There were also many VHS movies for nighttime viewing, as well as, satellite TV stations. Everything we needed for meal preparation and comfort was provided. Again, I would recommend this rental for anyone wanting a beautiful, secluded, all-inclusive type oceanfront vacation rental.

    Owner response: Your review is 'over the top' it certainly makes us feel all our efforts and hard work is appreciated. THANK YOU......THANK YOU......... THANK YOU!!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Boaters Pardise as Well!

    Boaters Pardise as Well!

    • Guest Amory S.
    • Date of stay 05/23/12
    • Review Submitted 06/03/12
    My wife and I have visited Torchview for two years in a row and are looking forward to our third. As boaters we love that we do not have to travel though canals to get to our favorites spots both in the Atlantic and the 'Back Country'! It is also nice that there has always been at least 4 feet of water under our boat at the dock. We love the open feeling of the house due to the open floor plan and all the windows! It is great to wake up to a view of the wide open channel instead of the back of another house. We particularly like the 'remote' location and the privacy it offers. It can get buggy outside. But no worries. Bring a can of flying insect spay with you and empy it upon arrival before you go inside. You will have a very comfortable stay!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Our Home Away From Home in the Lower Keys

    Our Home Away From Home in the Lower Keys

    • Guest Gary F.
    • Date of stay 04/07/12
    • Review Submitted 04/26/12
    Torchview is a wonderful home away from home in the lower keys! Steve and Kathy are great hosts and have a way of being readily available while still allowing you as much privacy as you desire. Our 11 year old daughter adopted Cheyenne as her "dog away from home." The location is awesome with spectacular sunsets every night of our stay! The fish surrounding the dock are amazingly diverse. If Steve is around during your stay be sure to try and spend at least one day out on the boat fishing and snorkeling the reef. The experience is much better than a typical charter and Steve's knowledge, experience and colorful manner is certain to delight young and old. Can't wait to return again! The Falcetano's Stockton, NJ

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The 3 Amigos

    The 3 Amigos

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 03/18/12
    • Review Submitted 04/06/12
    Torchview was the perfect place to spend our annual vacation in the Keys. It is very remote which lends itself to total relaxation and yet is not too far from all the amenities one may want such as groceries, restaurants and the various activities the Keys have to offer. I was training for the Boston Marathon and really appreciated having a fabulous place to run with almost know traffic and lots of wildlife to interest me on my long runs. The dock is a great place to sit in the evening to watch the stunning sunsets, to fish from or to simply watch the fish any time of the day. Although we did not snorkel, the fish were plentiful for our viewing from the dock. The house amenities were the best of all the rentals in which we I have stayed. I really appreciated things like the blender, ice machine, TV and iPod docking station. The owners were extremely nice and most helpful with any questions we may have had. We also went out fishing with Steve which was our favorite day of our 2 week stay. Due to Steve's expertise, we caught Spanish Mackerel, Porgie, Mangrove Snapper, Grouper, Yellowtail Snapper and TWO Hogfish. We then had our fish prepared at various local restaurants throughout the remainder of our stay...YUM! We also rented paddle boards and went out right from the house. It was beautiful, convenient, and we saw lots of sea life in the water. I would highly recommend Torchview for anyone interested in visiting the Keys. It was the perfect oasis with access to the Marathon area in one direction and Key West in the other direction. Thank you Kathy and Steve for a most fabulous 2 weeks in your most beautiful home! Rich, Marge and Robin

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Awsome Keys Vacation

    Awsome Keys Vacation

    • Guest Kent H. (Grasonville,MD)
    • Date of stay 02/18/12
    • Review Submitted 03/13/12
    We had a great time at your lovely home in the Keys. The home was equipped with all anyone would need to have a great vacation. The sunsets are awsome, fishing great and views were spectacular. We loved seeing all the fish from the dock and Steves expertise and fishing hints. Kathy and Steve couldn't be more helpful and accomodating. We would highly recommend Torchview for anyone who wants awsome views, peaceful evenings, and a great spot for touring the lower Keys. Thank you again for making our vacation memorable.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great vacation at Torchview

    Great vacation at Torchview

    • Guest Kent H. (Grasonville,MD)
    • Date of stay 02/18/12
    • Review Submitted 03/13/12
    We had a great time at your lovely home in the Keys. The home was equipped with all anyone would need to have a great vacation. The sunsets are awsome, fishing great and views were spectacular. We loved seeing all the fish from the dock and Steves expertise and fishing hints. Kathy and Steve couldn't be more helpful and accomodating. We would highly recommend Torchview for anyone who wants awsome views, peaceful evenings, and a great spot for touring the lower Keys. Thank you again for making our vacation memorable.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Big Torch Key Serenity

    Big Torch Key Serenity

    • Guest Carla J.
    • Date of stay 02/04/12
    • Review Submitted 02/14/12
    My husband and I just returned from spending a week at this lovely property. If you are looking for you little piece of serenity this is the place. This property has everything you could want or need during your stay. It is so peaceful and the stars and moon at night are so bright. From the dock you can see all kinds see fish, stingrays in the crystal clear water. Fishing is not bad either. We traveled up and down the keys sightseeing. The sunsets are so beautiful. Thanks Kathy and Steve

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • The Tippings

    The Tippings

    • Guest nic (oregon)
    • Date of stay 12/27/11
    • Review Submitted 01/11/12
    Couldn't have asked for a better location. So beautiful and relaxing. Views of the water from many vantage points inside the home. A big thanks to Steve for helping the boys figure out how to fish off the pier! Truly a place to get away from it all.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Vacation Paradise

    Vacation Paradise

    • Guest Wynn M.
    • Date of stay 11/02/11
    • Review Submitted 11/10/11
    We will never forget our stay at Torchview! This was our first visit here and certainly will not be our last! The location is prefect! It was very easy to find, even in the dark. On our way to the house just after the sun went down, we got to see a key deer. That was just the start of a most rememberable 40th birthday. The house was equipped with everything we needed. We did go out to eat once at the restaurant (which was delicious) right down the street on us1. The best thing that happened while we were out on our boat, was some Dolphin swimming near us!! Which was not to far from the house. The water is prefect for snorkeling. It was so clear you could see all the fish and everything in the water from the dock. We would deffinetly recommend Torchview to anyone who is looking for a piece of paradise! Thank you Kathy and Steve for sharing your beautiful home!!! Wynn&Carl

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wonderful Vacation

    Wonderful Vacation

    • Guest Sydney (Barboursville, WV)
    • Date of stay 10/15/11
    • Review Submitted 11/07/11
    We had one of the best trips ever! We went to the Keys to get married, and rented this house for the week. It was such a fantastic house. Rarely do you rent a home from the internet, and it is even better than the reviews and photos - but this house was just that. The dock and artificial reef were amazing, as well as the house and yard. There was beautiful landscaping throughout the very private yard - we even took some wedding photos there. The house was very clean and the deck has great views of the water and sunsets. Kathy was wonderful to work with, and went above and beyond to make this wedding/honeymoon trip fabulous. We will be back as soon as we can get there, and would not hesitate to recommend this vacation spot.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Family Vacation at Torchview

    Great Family Vacation at Torchview

    • Guest Chris (North Carolina)
    • Date of stay 09/24/11
    • Review Submitted 10/04/11
    Our family had a wonderful time at Torchview. The set-up was perfect; shallow, clear, calm water with a large dock. The kids could fish and snorkel around the dock by themselves all day, leaving plenty of relaxation time for us parents. We also enjoyed watching movies at night from the house collection. It was a very relaxing week.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners.

    Owner response: Taking a vacation with the kids AND mom and dad "really" being able to relax. Now that is PARADISE!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • My Torchview experience.

    My Torchview experience.

    • Guest Brandon S. (Elberta, Alabama)
    • Date of stay 09/17/11
    • Review Submitted 09/25/11
    Our Torchview experience was fantastic. All week long we enjoyed our own secluded part of the Florida Keys, enjoyed great sunset views, and a perfect swimming location. We really enjoyed the reef under the dock, where we were able to snorkel and observe all kinds of things. The landscape around the house is immaculate, which was a very pleasant surprise upon our arrival. I would recommend this home to anyone, any age, kids or adults. I look forward to getting an opportunity to stay there again in the future. Thank you Cathy and Wendy.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • My Torchview experience.

    My Torchview experience.

    • Guest Brandon S. (Elberta, Alabama)
    • Date of stay 09/17/11
    • Review Submitted 09/24/11
    Our Torchview experience was fantastic. All week long we enjoyed our own secluded part of the Florida Keys, enjoyed great sunset views, and a perfect swimming location. We really enjoyed the reef under the dock, where we were able to snorkel and observe all kinds of things. The landscape around the house is immaculate, which was a very pleasant surprise upon our arrival. I would recommend this home to anyone, any age, kids or adults. I look forward to getting an opportunity to stay there again in the future. Thank you Cathy and Wendy.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Awesome vacation......as always!

    Awesome vacation......as always!

    • Guest Kathryn & Bruce (West Bend, WI)
    • Date of stay 04/23/11
    • Review Submitted 05/07/11
    This has been our third year staying at Torchview and each vacation has been absolutely outstanding. It's great to be able to snorkel right off the dock; lots of fish, lobsters and even nurse and lemon sharks to check out! Snorkeling and fishing trips with Steve are always an adventure and provide great stories to bring back home. Kathy and Steve are the best hosts and we just love seeing them each year. The location is secluded, quiet and gorgeous with simply amazing views. Long walks down Middle and Big Torch Keys are so relaxing that you forget you even have another home. This is the best vacation destination and Kathy and Steve make sure that everything is perfect. The house is beautiful and we do not want for anything. We will definitely be back for a fourth year. Thanks for all the adventures! Bruce and Kathryn

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Nothing like a review that reassures us we have achieved our goal, "THE BEST VACATION EVER" for our guests. Shouldn't 'your' next vacation be an adventure to remember!!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Fantastic Keys Vacation

    Fantastic Keys Vacation

    • Guest L & A and the Swabs (Arlington, VA)
    • Date of stay 04/17/11
    • Review Submitted 04/24/11
    Torchview was perfect for our family of five - plenty of space, great deck - but even better was the outdoors with our own dock and snorkeling and fishing right on-site. Steve and Kathy are great hosts, too. Snorkeling at Looe Key and fishing out among the smaller Keys in the Gulf were also great memories, so be sure to avoid the hassle of charter trips and have Steve take you out on your own boat trip, it was amazing. Our kids learned at least 20 types of fish and basically had personalized fishing and snorkeling lessons. Also close by is Bahia Honda State Park for a nice beach experience, and the Deer Refuge/Blue Hole. But you really won't want to leave Torchview while you're there. We hope to be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: FYI: We are in the Florida Keys from Dec.-May. We want all our guests to have the "best vacation ever".

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A great vacation site.

    A great vacation site.

    • Guest worldTraveler (Boca Raton, FL,USA)
    • Date of stay 04/09/11
    • Review Submitted 05/05/11
    We stayed a week in mid-April 2011, and were so happy with our stay that we made a reservation for August before we left! With slight qualms--knowing the Key West area was known for scams--we drove up to the place--and found it be the same as described on VRBO. Though it seemed even better: very spacious rooms, everything neat and clean, attractive decor, and a deck surrounding all sides. Our dogs loved to be free on the deck or outside, and had a great time. We could swim off the dock, where we saw mostly lobsters, but we really liked snorkeling trips with the nearby "Innerspace" outfit. The owners and their dog were wonderful--as unobtrusive or as friendly as one could wish.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Place

    Great Place

    • Guest Ann (Boca Raton, FL)
    • Date of stay 04/09/11
    • Review Submitted 04/17/11
    We--two 70ish women, a miniature poodle and a Havanese--just spent a week at TorchView. You walk up a flight of stairs and enter a large wonderful room, with views of the ocean in every direction. The rooms are spacious, nicely furnished and beautifully kept up. Outside there's a little beach with shade and chairs, a long pier which you can walk out on, lots of space for the dogs to explore and a ladder to enter the ocean where you can snorkel and see lobster and silver fish of all sizes. It's very quiet and relaxing, with a wrap-around deck. We drove down to Key West one day--about 45 minutes--and took two snorkel boat trips with an outfit called Innerspace in Big Pine Key. We have made reservations to return with our dogs in August and expect to vacation often at this real find.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Amazing Sunsets

    Amazing Sunsets

    • Guest Art (Marietta, Ga)
    • Date of stay 04/02/11
    • Review Submitted 04/11/11
    We just returned from Torchview, and it was wonderful. The sunsets over the water and dock were the best I've seen. The main room and the two main bedrooms are large, with large bathrooms. The setting is off the beaten path, but just what we were looking for. The owners, Kathy and Steve, live downstairs from Dec. to April.....they were friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend Torchview for a quiet, serene, nature-oriented vacation.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet owners.

    Owner response: Each of our 'guests' come to Torchview with thier own "idea" of what the perfect vacation is. We want to help put things in place to see our guests go home with the thought that they had that "perfect vacation".

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Excellent, better than advertised

    Excellent, better than advertised

    • Guest Bruce (West Michigan)
    • Date of stay 03/26/11
    • Review Submitted 04/16/11
    We had a wonderful week at Torchview. Steve and Kathy are awesome hosts. The location is quiet and peaceful, and the sunsets were spectacular. We had a great time fishing with Steve and his advice was very helpful when we fished on our own. The house was nice and clean and comfortable. Overall we were very pleased with our stay and I would not hesitate recommending this place to family or friends.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect vacation

    Perfect vacation

    • Guest Jim (Whitsett, NC)
    • Date of stay 02/26/11
    • Review Submitted 03/14/11
    WOW...TERRIFIC VACATION. Location, location, location and gracious, knowledgeable hosts all in one spot. Week 1; we were joined by 3 adult women, (family and friend), week 2; four friends, (two adult couples). There was something for everyone each week. Amazing sunsets, snorkeling, fishing, relaxing, walks with the dog, trips to Marathon and of course Key West. We caught fish, bought fish and cooked in some days. Other days, we ate at local restaurants. Did not have a bad meal in or out. Steve and Kathy are great folks who will point you in the right direction and do as little or as much to make your stay a fantastic experience. Do not be concerned about booking on the internet. Photos and video are good but real time even better. Well maintained house and property. Kathy is very responsive to questions (even dumb ones) and easy to do business with. Definitely a repeat location for future vacations without the anxiety of the unknown and searching. HIGHLY recommended.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Sunset Heaven

    Sunset Heaven

    • Guest glenn (oakville, ontario)
    • Date of stay 01/29/11
    • Review Submitted 02/24/11
    We had the opportunity to stay at Torchview for 3 weeks. We didn't want to leave! Kathy and Steve were the most gracious of hosts who made us feel truly at home. Days were filled with fishing, eating delicilous seafood, sunning and relaxation. The best holiday ever!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Paradise Found!

    Paradise Found!

    • Guest Doug and Dee (Northwest Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 12/21/10
    • Review Submitted 01/02/11
    What a beautiful setting, carved into a quiet tropical island. The best part is you can drive up to the door. The reef under the dock is amazing, especially at night. Lobster,crab and all types of fish as well as the antics of all the birds who also like the setting. A rare Key deer joined us for breakfast one morning out on the lawn. The only thing that would be better, would be to stay longer... and maybe bring a boat.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We love reading our guests responses to their stay at TORCHVIEW. It's a 'feel good' experience knowing we have done our job .

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Torch View vacation

    Torch View vacation

    • Guest Robert (Biloxi MS)
    • Date of stay 10/04/10
    • Review Submitted 10/28/10
    I vacationed at Big Torch for the entire month of October 2010. That being said it was the most relaxing vacation I have ever been on and the owners Cathy and Steve could not have been nicer to help you with anything about the area including fishing, eating out etc. I would highly recommend this property to any one and I will be back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+

    Owner response: Our goal has been reached when our guests leave relaxed and look forward to returning to TORCHVIEW!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5



Page 1 of 2 [ 1 | 2 ] Next