Bayou Waterfront Getaway in Luxury- 25 Min to New Orleans
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:3 nights
- Pets considered:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Slidell house description
Welcome to the Bijou on the Bayou (We named it this because Bijou is French for Jewel which best describes the Beautiful Bayous of Slidell, LA.) This Home is located on the Famous Bayou Liberty and is just minutes drive or minutes boat ride to Lake Pontchartrain. With a gorgeous morning view of Bayou Liberty from your kitchen/ living room (as well as soon to be added deck), your sure to enjoy your morning coffee and breakfast even more. Not to mention Grill outs and get together with friends on the large porches and soon to be added party deck.
Bijou on the Bayou is a 2 Story beautifully furnished home right on the bayou. As you can see from the pictures, it has a beautiful foyer entrance with an Oak staircase going up to the main floor where you will find a very open floor plan of Large Living Room and Large Kitchen with large bay windows in both rooms. The Kitchen is very large with all brand new dishes, pots and pans and all the cooking utensils you need to enjoy a full cooking experience. The Living Room has a brand new couch and Loveseat and stares at a brand new 46' LCD HDTV with New Blu-Ray player for your Theater viewing experience, as well as a comfy gas fireplace.
Then you will walk down the hall to the fully decorated brand newly furnished 3 bedrooms with 2 Queen sized beds, chest of drawers and plenty of room. One of the two extra rooms has a TV and DVD Player. Then you will come to the Beautiful Master Bedroom which has a King Size Bed, and Large Couch as well as Desk built for an office/ entertainment area. This room is equipped with new 36' LCD HDTV Screen, Cable TV, and a new Blu-Ray Player for your enjoyment. The Master Bathroom has tons of Closet space, a stand up Shower as well as a Master Jacuzzi Bathtub. A full Laundry room with full size washer and dryer is located in the hallway. All linens and Bath towels provided.
Travel down below to the newly added game room which features a 50' projection TV, dart board, small bar/game table with 4 chairs, bathroom, small beer cooler (refrigerator), and plenty of room to enjoy an evening with friends. This room is heated and cooled as well so it makes a very nice extra bedroom for the house, and it can be easily converted to become the fourth bedroom, by bringing your own blow-up mattresses or opting to rent them. Extra Blow-up beds are available upon request. Please contact the owner for details. This room also has quick access to the outside porches for grilling and other entertainment. (Note: Large Screens and Projectors are available for rental as well.)
Parking is available for multiple vehicles with a two car garage with locking doors, a covered carport for another car, two spots right in front of the garage doors and plenty of other space on the 1 acre lot right next to the house for RV's and Boat Trailers (additional charges may apply for long term RV Hook and Electrical Hookups. Septic can be provided for this as well.)
If you like Fishing, this is the spot to be. The deck and area around the back yard is perfect for pier fishing and crabbing and is complete with a fish cleaning station and Lanai. Fishing Charters can be arranged and boat rental are available. This location is about 1 minute car and boat ride to the nearest boat launch, 2-3 miles from Northshore Blvd where Northshore Mall, Home Depot, Sams, Walmart, Target, Olive Garden, Chili's, Chucky Cheese, IHOP and a brand new Theater are all right on the one major area. While its close to all the main amenities, its just the perfect amount away to make it seem far away from everything and no noise of a city.
This is a great Home for Family Vacations and Getaways, but is also available for Rentals for Executives and Corporate Rentals where a long term company project may need a perfect place for multiple contractors, or short term contract employees might want to live. Its also a great place for Snowbirds wanting a perfect winter vacation where its warmer climate and waterfront amenities make it a great second home.
This Home is a perfect place for weddings or a small get together with its scenic views and large spacious areas as well as party deck soon to be added. Rentals for Parties and gatherings for more than the people listed to stay there are available at additional cost and Catering is available as well. Rentals of Extra chairs and Tables are available as well as Projectors and screens for Presentations and are home movies, event needs.
Keywords: Home, 2 Story, Luxury, Spacious, Large, Roomy, New, Newer, Parking, Patio, Florida Room, Water Front
- 2995 sq. ft.
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
This is on a case by case basis. No cats allowed, just small dogs. There is a refundable pet deposit of $350.00 required. Property is monitored so please let us know about the pet before you arrive. If we are not told about the pet, you will automatically forfeit your main security deposit and any additional damage caused by the animal will be added to your credit card....moreless
Non Smoking Only:
Property is monitored, so any smoking inside the property is automatic loss of damage deposit and subject to further fee's to remedy any smoke smells in the home, i.e. painting, smoke remediation. Please understand, many people including myself are very allergic to cigarette smoke....moreless
The Home is Kid Friendly but not Kid proof. There are only a few breakable items in the home, but we ask that if you are worried about them being broken, you take them (vases, or glassware) off the tables or dresser and keep them in the closet....moreless
- Minimum Age Limit For Renters:
- Long-Term Renters Welcome
Bedrooms: 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20, Beds for 13-20
- King size beds (1) Includes New Thick Memory Foam Topper!, Queen size Beds (2) Both are Brand New Beds. Just added 3 Brand New Sleeper Sofa's, 3 New Futons, and 2 New Trundle Beds under the two Queens. Also have another 3 Couches Downstairs. Couches Sleep 1 adult each comfortably except for 1 Love Seat which sleeps a child comfortably. Each of the Trundle beds sleeps an adult or child comfortably. Each of the Sleeper Sofas are full size queen beds. Each Futon sleeps an adult or two children comfortably but could possibly fit two adults who really like each other!...moreless
Bathrooms: 2 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bathroom
Kitchen & Dining
- Catering Available:
- Dishes & Utensils:
- Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer:
- Washing Machine
- Clothes Dryer
- Iron & Board
- Towels Provided
- Linens Provided
- Gas Fireplace
- Air Conditioning
- Covered Parking
- Private boat slip and dock on the water. Newly added Lanai on the party deck and fish cleaning station. Very Beautiful Scenic ride through Bayou Liberty and short 10 min ride to Lake Pontchartrain. Boat launch is available right around the corner from home at Bayou Bonfuca. Other Business Amenities may be provided for Corporate Rentals by request. Pool table to be added by mid summer 2010. Check for availability...moreless
Currently the Game room has Dart Boards but many other board games will be added. Its mostly used for group seating and watching ball games on the new 46' LCD TV to be added in Sept of 2013....moreless
- Video Library:
- Satellite / Cable:
- DVD Player
- Wireless Internet
- Broadband Access
Pool & Spa
- Jetted Tub
- Kayak / Canoe:
- Water Sports Gear:
- Deck / Patio:
- Lawn / Garden:
- Wood Deck
- Porch / Veranda
- Outdoor Grill
- Lanai / Gazebo
- Sports & Activities
- Tourist Attractions
- Away From It All
Location & View
- Water Skiing
- Basketball Court
- Rock Climbing
- Golf Privileges Optional
- Equestrian Events
- Fly Fishing
- Massage Therapist
- Medical Services
- Roller Blading
- Scuba Diving Or Snorkeling
- Hunting Small Game
- Pier Fishing
- Water Tubing
- Sound/Bay Fishing
- Hunting Big Game
- Deepsea Fishing
- Freshwater Fishing
- Jet Skiing
- Theme Parks
- Winery Tours
- Recreation Center
- Coin Laundry
- Live Theater
- Botanical Garden
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Wildlife Viewing
- Horseback Riding
- Miniature Golf
- Fitness Center
- Sight Seeing
- Gambling Casinos
- Outlet Shopping
- Bird Watching
- Eco Tourism
- Paddle Boating
- Scenic Drives
ReviewsWrite a review
We LOVED this house....First thing I did was take pictures to show it off....I loved the out door living space and spent huge chunks of time outside...We had everything we needed during out stay....We have family in the area and they spent most of our stay with us because it felt like home! I will definitely be back. I was close to everywhere my family and I wanted to be....It was the best money we have ever spent on a vacation..
- Guest Gina B.
- Date of stay 12/13/12
- Review Submitted 01/08/13
Perfect for our large family gathering!
Perfect for our large family gathering!
We had a wonderful time during our stay at the bayou house. There was plenty of room for the 15 family members and we took advantage of the sleeper sofas. We did bring one twin size aerobeds for one of the children. The kitchen was a good size as we had several cooks getting our thanksgiving dinner ready! Nick couldn't have been nicer and the whole check-in and check-out went smoothly. My only recommendation to Nick would be to add some table lamps! The grounds are large and very well maintained. Although it was chilly during our stay, the guys all enjoyed throwing a football around and the kids had plenty of room to run around! We would love to come back!
- Guest Melinda M.
- Date of stay 11/26/13
- Review Submitted 12/03/13
Recommended for: Families with young children, age 55+.
Thank you for the use of your property! There were five ladies from Oklahoma that traveled here for the American Dental Association Meeting. We felt at home and truly enjoyed the little time we were there. We commuted back and forth to New Orleans daily for our meetings and really enjoyed relaxing at the house in the evenings. Fell in Love with the town of Slidell! We really struggled finding extra bedding however, we made it work. Even enjoyed the back yard and the new "add on". Disappointed these OKIE girls didn't see an alligator one. We were in hopes that we would see at least one swim down the canal for a visit. All in All, we would stay here again and enjoy it as much as we did the first time! Thank you
- Guest Linda B.
- Date of stay 10/28/13
- Review Submitted 11/14/13
Recommended for: Girls getaway, sightseeing.
We rent homes multiple times a year and I would say this is just fair. The house and property are nice, but It wasn't very clean, when we pulled one of the mattresses out from under one of the beds there was lots of dust, hair, and candy. We had trouble finding enough sheets for all of the beds. We had originally planned to have someone stay on the bottom floor, but once we saw it, we thought better of it. bugs, dark....my kids called it the "dart dungeon". The most disappointing thing about the trip was we had to leave early because of a tropical storm. The owner called (Thursday am)and wanted to move all of the furniture from the bottom floor to the top floor. He agreed to wait until Friday, maybe Saturday to move the furniture and said he would "work with us" on the money for leaving early. We changed our flights and had planned to leave Saturday morning. I called him Friday and let him know we would be leaving and by that time the storm was weakening and shifted paths. When I asked about us leaving he never offered to "work with us" or refund us any money, He said "that's life on the gulf coast". In hind site....the storm never hit and we could have stayed...but we didn't know that and we changed all of our travel plans based on his plans to move all of the furniture. We would have never thought about leaving if he wouldn't have called and told us how our cars would be flooded. Also beware of the resident alligator who sleeps on the back lawn. I think the number of people that the house is claimed to sleep is overstated. We will not rent this property again.
- Guest Ken (Cs,)
- Date of stay 10/02/13
- Review Submitted 10/30/13
Owner response: We always look forward to responses especially positive, of course, but even when there are concerns or things we can work on we do the best we can to remedy any issues to make our home the best stay possible for our renters. However, as most can understand, some guests are very hard to make happy regardless of your attempts. As you can see from our many reviews before and after this clients stay, we have had very positive responses from our renters and when there was an issue, it was quickly resolved. This renter was apparently upset at the situation regarding the tropical storm and took it out on us with their review, not even speaking to us about the matter or their concerns. NOTE: Please disregard any information regarding comments of our home not being able to sleep as many as it suggests. This is completely incorrect and is only noted by renters who falsify information on their contract and don't tell us how many people are staying there. Due to cleaning costs we don't put more sheets than are needed by the renter. During hurricane season, there is always a possibility that a storm may come up during the September time frame although, Its rare. We do have a provision for this in our contract and offer a credit of a portion of the rental (which other rental companies don't have) under the circumstances of a direct hit or mandatory evacuation because of a hurricane. However, the comment "this is life on the Gulf Coast" was expressly said regarding (our) discontent with having to deal with the losses due to hurricanes on the gulf coast and not to our renter in any manner. The renter at the time seemed understanding of the fact that we may have to come and raise furniture off the lower level to the top in which we WOULD have returned there money. This was a possibility if the tropical storm had hit Slidell as it was currently projected to do. As with all gulf coast tropical storms/ Hurricanes, they can take a turn at the last minute for better or for worse. While things looked ok, we are always concerned about the renters safety first. We gave the renter the option of staying or leaving but warned that if they stayed and it took a turn for the worse it could result in damage to there vehicles if it flooded. Again, had the storm hit dead on, we would have credited the amount, it didn't and the client decided to leave the day before there original planned date which with a week's stay is an extra free day anyway.
There was 7 of us in our party, all senior citizens. We all thoroughly enjoyed this lovely house. It was clean and had everything a person would need if they were in their own home. The house is located close enough to get to anything you would like to see. The owners were very helpful with all of our questions. We really enjoyed New Orleans and highly recommend everyone to take the tour bus around the city. We also enjoyed a swamp tour that we took. All 7 of us would highly recommended it to anyone visiting Louisiana. Thank you.
- Guest mare (Mooresville, In. )
- Date of stay 10/07/13
- Review Submitted 10/20/13
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, families with young children, sightseeing, age 55+.
My biggest concern with this property is the fact that you are advertising it for sleeping 15 people! We showed up with 11, and had exactly 3 beds. Two couches that were not even pull out sleeper couches. When I called you said to go to Wal Mart and buy air mattresses. That is not what I call the house being able to sleep 15 people. The house is beautiful, don't get me wrong. However we were told there was a grill there and yes there was, we took a picture of it becuase it was damaged and i was worried we would be blamed for it. Thank goodness we were not but we had to fix the grill before we could grill. It was also advertised as a game room downstairs...that consisted of a table and four chairs with a refrigerator! When i called about no tv (because we were told there was a 50" tv downstairs) I was informed the flooding took it and they hadn't had time to replace it. I unfortunately think you definately need to revamp your advertising for this home. It really only sleeps 8 at the most and that is one person sleeping on each couch, and two people in each of the three beds. There is no way you should be advertising sleeps 15. We then went to wal mart to purchase air mattresses which was something we were not planning on. When you say it sleeps 15 I am expecting 11 people to have a place to sleep! Again the house is beautiful but can NOT sleep 15 people or they need to advertise that for them to bring in air mattresses there is another cost on top of it(which is what we were told when I called them). Would we come back to this house...yes with 8 people not 11.
- Guest shagg (Iowa)
- Date of stay 07/19/13
- Review Submitted 08/29/13
Owner response: Thanks for your review. We understand that from time to time renters don't take the time to review the contract therefore they maybe surprised when they get there if they didn't know what to expect. At the time of this clients stay there were 3 beds and 3 couches enough to sleep about 10 comfortably, however the contract stated that the game room could be used to sleep additional people if Air Mattresses were rented (it costs additional cleaning for the mattresses and all the bedclothes there fore we had to charge for it). In this way the 4th bedroom could be used for the additional guests. The great news is that since this guests stay, we have replaced 3 of the couches with brand new Sleeper Sofa's, Added two Trundle beds under each of the 2 queen beds, added a futon to one of the rooms upstairs, and added 3 couches and two more futons to the game room which can now sleep at least 4-6 adults or 7 children. It will have a new 46" LED TV in two weeks. The grill is fine and is an outdoor brick fire pit grill which, while being older is still preferred by all our guests to a normal small charcoal grill. However we will be rebuilding it and making it a bigger one in the month of September. We have also cleared the bayou grass that was blocking entrance from boats.
The property is located on the bayou close to lake Ponchatrain, New Orleans, swamp tours etc. The upstairs of the house is well furnished as depicted and the central air conditioner works well. Larger parties should note that house is furnished as a 3 bedroom unit on the second floor. At the time of our rental the following issues were noted with the property. If renting a boat, access to the dock was blocked by extreme vegetation overgrowth in the bayou. The screens on the sun porch were damaged which allowed wasps to nest in the ceiling fans. A missing septic tank cover in the back yard left a 18" x 2 foot deep hole in the back yard that pose be a hazard.
- Guest Charles M.
- Date of stay 07/09/13
- Review Submitted 08/10/13
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, girls getaway, adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sightseeing.
Owner response: We certainly appreciate all the positive responses we always get including the ones in this review of our property. However, we realize from time to time, there may be some things that need to be handled to update the property. We periodically review the properties needs, especially after our renters leave to make sure all things are up to date and any damages or taken care of. The ones mentioned here have either already been taken care of or are in the process. In this case, we were not aware of the overgrowth in the bayou inlet until this renter notified us. The overgrowth literally happened over a month period of time and now we know what to do to control it in the future. We realize that our Bayou provides a enjoyable experience from Fishing to swimming to boating and that if the waterway is clogged then our renters may not be able to bring a boat up to the dock if in fact they would like to. That's why we have already taken the steps to correct the matter by hiring local professionals to clear the overgrowth and expect it gone by September 2013. We pride ourselves on keeping a clean, safe, and fun place for all to vacation and create lasting memories with friends and family and will always continue to do so. We have many very happy renters and reviews to attest to that. Please come see for yourself!
The stay was great!!! My family came all the way from South Dakota and stayed at this house for a week. We couldn't be happier! The place was really clean, and user friendly. The owner answered all of our questions quickly, and gave some great advice on what to do in the local area. Highly recommend staying here for anyone with intentions on going to New Orleans or the surrounding area. Beautiful place!
- Guest Cobra (maurice, LA)
- Date of stay 05/17/13
- Review Submitted 06/02/13
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, age 55+.
This home was in a GREAT location for going back and forth to the jazz fest. The grounds were beautiful and the beds so comfortable that my sister and brother-in-law both needed to look and see what kind they were!! That speaks volumes for any place that you rent!! The owner Nick was very helpful and responsive to any questions or concerns we had. Thank you Nick.
- Guest nancy p.
- Date of stay 05/02/13
- Review Submitted 05/15/13
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing, age 55+.
WONDERFUL DIGS WOULD RECCOMEND TO ANYONE, HOUSE VERY CLEAN AND ACCOMADATING TO OUR GROUP.
- Guest MR. & MRS COOP (CORINTH MS)
- Date of stay 11/09/12
- Review Submitted 11/26/12
Recommended for: Girls getaway, adventure seekers, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, families with young children, sightseeing, age 55+.
|Dates||Nightly||Wknd Night||Weekend||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
|My Standard Rate
3 night min stay
Fri, Sat, Sun
Additional information about rental rates
There is a $350 damage deposit for pets; and there is an optional Property Damage Protection is available, per request.
Please choose to pay by the free eCheck service. We do accept Credit Cards, however points programs on cards increase our rates so you will be charged a 3% fee to come out of your refundable deposit after your stay. International Cards will be charged an additional 1.5% fee.
- Refundable Damage Deposit: $500
- Cleaning Fee: $100
- Taxes Not included
Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
This owner accepts HomeAway payments.
Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
- Nearest Airport: Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport at 34 Miles
- Nearest Ferry: Harvey Jones Vessel Agents at 4.1 Miles
- Nearest Train: Slidell Amtrak at 4.3 Miles
- Nearest Motorway: Hwy 433 and Hwy 11 at 4 Miles
- Nearest Beach: Northshore Beach at 8.9 Miles
- Nearest Barpub: Heidelberg's at 4 Miles
- Nearest Golf: Oak Harbor Golf Club at 7 Miles
- Nearest Restaurant: Nathan's Restaurant at 3.1 Miles
Year Purchased: 2005
About the owner: I Purchased this home right before Hurricane Katrina, but of course Katrina did a little damage to the down stairs of this home which was completely renovated. During that time I found work in other areas and decided to move to the beach to become a beach boy. I wish I could pick this home and property up and move it to my new location but I cant so I hold it as a great place to stay for a getaway and a place to stay when I do business in New Orleans. The home is protected by a security system as well as local neighbors and friends (not to mention a police officer that lives in plan view of the home across the street) that look after the place and make sure nothing bad happens to it. It is in a very secure area but its nice to know the backup is there while I'm gone.
Why the Owner Chose Slidell:
This spot speaks for itself. It was too beaufiful not to pass up. It gave me the feel of being in the islands somewhere since the property is surrounded by bamboo trees and natural growth.
The Unique Benefits at this House:
The Views, the wildlife, the dock are just a few things that make this house memorable.
- Primary: +1 2517270370
- Secondary: +1 8506873212
Links to more information:
Newly built Party Deck with Arbor, Seating & Filet Table!
Kitchen Table - Bayou View
Living Room to Kitchen View
Entrance - Foyer
Over View of our New Additions.
Newly updated Landscaping & Parking.
Game Room/Fourth Bedroom
Back of House
Party Deck - Arbor
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2010.
Date last modified - Thursday, September 05, 2013
4 Bedroom / 2.5 Bathroom
Get a rental quote, then book it!
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.