Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Mt. Hood View Lodge - Year Round Vacation Home! [#288667] | View Property

Hood River
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 7)
$185 - $195/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (31)

Sort by:
  • Fabulous View

    Fabulous View

    • Guest STravis (Beaverton, OR)
    • Date of stay 04/11/14
    • Review Submitted 04/17/14
    Wow, what a fabulous location to go and relax for a weekend! This is a great location because it's not too far from Hood River, but far enough out that you get to enjoy the scenery. The view of Mt. Hood was to die for and watching the sunset from the hot tub was pure bliss. There was more than enough space for us five girlfriends. We all decided this would be a fun place to come back to with the kids because of the huge lawn and nature trails surrounding the house and a fun game room downstairs!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great family vacation home

    Great family vacation home

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/15/14
    • Review Submitted 04/08/14
    The Mt. Hood View Lodge was the perfact basecamp for our multi family ski vacation. The home is larger than depicted in the pictures, with a large (but cozy) kitchen dining area with fantastic views of the mountain. There is gathering space (living room) on the upper floor and a large family room below, as well as a very unexpected well equiped play/toy room. There is also a fantastic breezeway/ mudroom between the garage and the home, which was great for hanging ski clothes and gear. The kitchen was well stocked with all the necessities and a few nice surprises that aren't usually available in vacation rentals. The owners were very helpful and easy to work with and I have since recommended the home to several friends as a great affordable vacation option for larger families. (Quick plug for Mt. Hoood Meadows as well. We had a great time skiing and were amazed at how family friendly the ski resort is. The destination lift passes are a fantastic deal and we were treated to several inches of new snow all day while we were there). Looking forward to staying here again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful!!

    Wonderful!!

    • Guest Katherine C.
    • Date of stay 12/27/13
    • Review Submitted 12/31/13
    Great family home in a beautiful setting. Fabulous access to both the mountain and Hood River. Well taken care of and owner a breeze to work with. Thank you!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome views!

    Awesome views!

    • Guest Contemplative Hiking Girl (Denver)
    • Date of stay 07/03/13
    • Review Submitted 07/11/13
    This vacation home had the best views of any that I've rented in the many years my husband and I have been renting VRBOs. You can enjoy a hottub or just the deck chairs and gaze at Mt. Hood and the valley of orchards and farms. If you're a mountain person, you'll love this place. The house feels open, light and spacious because there are big picture windows on the south and west side. The walk-out basement area is fun for kids -- TV, bean bags, games, etc. Our teen daughter liked hanging out and playing her guitar down there. The bedroom is spacious and the bed is comfy. We enjoyed buying fresh eggs from the neighbors and walking along the canal trail adjacent to the property. The lack of air conditioning wasn't much of an issue because it was cool in the evenings and rather breezy. Thank you for sharing your home with us!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful summer vacation!

    Wonderful summer vacation!

    • Guest Liz (Seattle)
    • Date of stay 06/26/13
    • Review Submitted 07/05/13
    We stayed for a week with a party of 4 adults and two kids and had a great time. The view of Mt Hood from the house is breathtaking - and while in a very quiet spot it is close to all the attractions of the Columbia River Gorge as well as Mt Hood for hiking. The kids also found tons of toys which kept them busy, not to mention a huge lawn with water sprinklers for outdoor water fun. Kitchen and house were stocked with all we needed. Perfect. Thank you so much for a most pleasant stay!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The view is everything and more.

    The view is everything and more.

    • Guest chase c.
    • Date of stay 06/08/13
    • Review Submitted 06/18/13
    Could not of asked for a better view of Mt Hood. The setting was secluded, quiet and not far from Hood River. The kids loved everything from the neighbor horses, canal path to the hot tub. Would love to stay here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome!

    Awesome!

    • Guest Carolina (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 12/30/12
    • Review Submitted 01/05/13
    Since the first conversation with the owners, things started flowing already right. The conclusion: awesome place with awesome views - family and friends oriented! It fits all... The downstairs has a lot of space! Also, the hikes (in the snow, as we were there for NYE) around the property were a great plus as well as the easy access to Hood River, if/when we needed something from the city. I completely recommend it.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Getaway

    Perfect Getaway

    • Guest Pat (New Hope, PA)
    • Date of stay 10/01/12
    • Review Submitted 10/13/12
    If you want to get away from the city and enjoy a rural setting with a spectacular view of Mt. Hood, this is your place. The neat, clean house has 3 good sized bedrooms, a comfortable living room, a downstairs play area and laundry room, plus a large kitchen/eating area where we spent nearly all of our time. The outside hot tub was a plus. You can walk, run or bike on the quaint country roads and see neighboring farms with horses, sheep and chickens. You can also walk/run on the beautiful canal path which is very close to the house. To get anywhere else, you need a car. It's convenient to local produce markets and lots of wineries. We enjoyed our stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Mt. Hood lodge

    Mt. Hood lodge

    • Guest Trailkiller (Pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 09/01/12
    • Review Submitted 09/11/12
    Great view of Mt. Hood and located close to Hood River and all the trails. Clean and no need for air conditioning.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Place

    Great Place

    • Guest A hiking family (The Woodlands, Texas)
    • Date of stay 08/13/12
    • Review Submitted 08/22/12
    We were visiting the area for a wedding and wanted a kid friendly place to stay. Mt. Hood View Lodge delivered. What a view! Seriously, it has a stunning view of Mt Hood and great picture windows to frame it. The kids loved the downstairs play room and large grassy yard. Everything was clean and in good working order. The location is a perfect midpoint between Mt Hood and Hood River (~15 minutes to either). We loved it! Thanks.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect retreat!

    Perfect retreat!

    • Guest Josh (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 07/01/12
    • Review Submitted 07/05/12
    The rental process was smooth from start to finish, and the house was perfect for a summer vacation with friends. Simply breathtaking view of Mt. Hood, plenty of space for our group, and the hot tub created the perfect atmosphere for us to get away and relax. We enjoyed the local wine and beer scene as well as whitewater rafting on the White Salmon River. I highly recommend this property.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • AMAZING HOME AND VIEW!

    AMAZING HOME AND VIEW!

    • Guest Ed & Sheila Barnes (Shoreline, WA)
    • Date of stay 06/29/12
    • Review Submitted 08/01/12
    We came to Mt Hood for a wedding. The house is very comfortable and a great place to rent as a family and/or couples. The view of the mountain takes your breath away and this house felt like home! We all had such a nice time we are thinking of planning a scheduled vacation at Mt Hood and we would like to rent this home again. Highly recommend this place - we all loved it!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Ski Week March 2012

    Ski Week March 2012

    • Guest Eugenians (Eugene OR)
    • Date of stay 03/20/12
    • Review Submitted 03/26/12
    My husband and I invited our immediate family and their spouses come with us, including two small grandchildren. What a fun time! This was our second stay at this house. The house has an incredible view of Mt. Hood and has a hiking trail nearby. We plan to come back next year (if we can afford the gas to get there from Eugene!). Lol! I'd definitely recommend this house as a place to stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great weekend getaway!

    Great weekend getaway!

    • Guest Souellete (Corvallis, OR)
    • Date of stay 03/16/12
    • Review Submitted 03/20/12
    Great house for a weekend getaway with a beautiful view of Mt. Hood. The Hot tub with the spacious rooms was just the place for a rendezvous with old friends.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • perfect !!

    perfect !!

    • Guest marci (kenmore, wa)
    • Date of stay 11/20/11
    • Review Submitted 11/29/11
    We decided on this property because of the size and the hot tub~it turned out to be an excellent decision !! Although it was further from the town of Hood River than we originally wanted, it proved perfect as we had a phenominal view of the mountain and we got snow we wouldn't have seen closer to town (great for the Florida guests). Just as important, the owners were awesome! They were very responsive to my (many) emails and super easy to to work with-very accommodating! We had a great time and all family members enjoyed our Thanksgiving escape.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great getaway weekend.

    Great getaway weekend.

    • Guest Markyj0512 (Tri-Cities, WA)
    • Date of stay 11/12/11
    • Review Submitted 11/15/11
    My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful property over the weekend of 11/12-11/14. The house was clean and cozy and had plenty of room for the two of us and our two dogs. The owners were very accommodating with our pet needs, which isn't always an easy thing for us to find in a vacation rental. The yard was large and fully fenced in, and our dogs really enjoyed being able to run and explore. The house would definitely be large enough for several couples or a family of 5-7 to have a vacation weekend away. We enjoyed the hot tub and, even though the weather was mostly overcast, the views we were able to get of Mt. Hood were impressive. The property is very close to all the restaurants, breweries, and entertainment Hood River has to offer (about a 15 minute drive). We also were happy with the proximity to several wineries (Wy'East and Mt. Hood Winery are less than 10 minutes away...the wine at Wy'East was especially good!). The lady working at Wy'East also recommended a couple of places to eat which were close to the house. The Saw Tooth Roadhouse was only a couple of minutes away, my wife and I thought the sandwiches were very good, but the pizza there also looked delicious. Apparently there is also a good BBQ place in Parkdale (about 15 minutes away) called Apple Valley BBQ. Overall, we would highly recommend this house to anyone and we are already talking with two other couples about coming here again in the future.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Awesome price for an even better view

    Awesome price for an even better view

    • Guest Bob & Lynda (Medford, OR)
    • Date of stay 11/10/11
    • Review Submitted 11/14/11
    My family and I stayed two nights at this particular home and it was wonderful. It had a comfort feel of home with an amazing view of Mt. Hood. There were several places for any one of my family members to relax and enjoy the quiet. The only flaw is that it had a wireless network but no wireless internet (petty, I know).

    Recommended for: Families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We do have high speed wireless, i.e., wifi / wireless internet. Just checked and it's working, so not sure what happened? Anyhow, glad you had fun, and thanks!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect!

    Perfect!

    • Guest carol and eric (Seattle)
    • Date of stay 10/04/11
    • Review Submitted 10/15/11
    Thanks for opening up your house to us. We had a wonderful stay - what a gorgeous Mt. Hood view from the house! It was so nice to be near good mountain biking and away from town, but close enough to get there easily. Our dogs loved strolling along the creek/path behind the house and romping in the yard. The house was clean and had everything we could need. Hot tub with a view was a bonus! Thanks again, we hope to get back soon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Stunning view, quiet privacy for the whole family

    Stunning view, quiet privacy for the whole family

    • Guest luvsroosters (Kennewick, WA)
    • Date of stay 07/14/11
    • Review Submitted 07/20/11
    The views from this house are amazing! We stayed in July 2011 with our 2 kids (ages 4 & 6) and another couple. The downstairs bedroom gave the other couple privacy and their own bathroom and the kids loved having the large playroom and great selection of movies. The bunk beds were also a hit.We utilized the hot tub every day and loved how private the back yard and deck are. My daughter saw a fawn in the clearing above the house and we enjoyed hearing the owls at night and watching eagles and blue jays soar overhead during the day. I thought the Master bed was really comfortable and we enjoyed the cool mountain air. The owners are very responsive to email and were able to accommodate our request to bring a small dog at the last minute. Overall, I would recommend this house to anyone looking for space to spread out and relax.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing view!!!

    Amazing view!!!

    • Guest Patty (Spokane)
    • Date of stay 07/08/11
    • Review Submitted 07/11/11
    We've just returned from a weekend at the lodge and can't rave enough about our stay. The view was beyond words and we felt very comfortable in the house. Thanks so much!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Loacation Location Location AND Amenities Galore!

    Loacation Location Location AND Amenities Galore!

    • Guest We are Fans! (Hillsboro, OR)
    • Date of stay 04/14/11
    • Review Submitted 04/18/11
    Wow! This amazing property truly exceeded our high expectations. We have visited the Hood River area all seasons regularly for years, renting everything from downtown condos to luxury cabins on the outskirts, and never have we landed in such a sanctuary as Mt. Hood View Lodge. It truly is a great value and bang for the buck! It is in the perfect location (just a quick drive to town and a beautiful drive up to Mt. Hood) in a serene and idyllic rural setting. The owners are super friendly, efficient, responsive and very accomodating... Their pride in ownership was clearly apparent throughout the property. The house is clean, well-equipped, spacious, comfortable, and uncluttered, and the views are just insane. Even when Mt. Hood was playing hard to get for us, the valley view was equally impressive. Whether you just want to catch up on your reading, sip some local wine on the deck or in the hot tub, intake some seriously fresh air, explore the Fruit Loop, visit the restaurants and shops in town or hit the slopes, this lodge offers the perfect home base. Our young son was thrilled with explorations in the huge yard, the promenade along the canal, and the farm animal neighbors. Thank you for sharing your little piece of paradise! Suffice it to say that we will be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Super

    Super

    • Guest Tyler (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 03/25/11
    • Review Submitted 03/27/11
    The owners were easy to work with, and the price was very reasonable for the proximity of the property to the mountain and its amenities (including extra hot hot tub). The home was clean, the property was well kept, and this part of the world is just beautiful. We will likely be staying here again in the future.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Winter Vacation Home

    Wonderful Winter Vacation Home

    • Guest Snowboardertiff (Pdx)
    • Date of stay 01/21/11
    • Review Submitted 01/24/11
    This place is a large, beautiful place to stay. It accommodates 9 people easily. The view of Mt. Hood every morning from the house is absolutely breathtaking. You can beat relaxing in the hot tub with Mt. Hood right in front of you. Great house for a great price. Definitely would recommend this place and our group is already looking to plan another stay in this house.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Spacious, welcoming house for a family/friends getaway

    Spacious, welcoming house for a family/friends getaway

    • Guest leslie (Seattle)
    • Date of stay 12/27/10
    • Review Submitted 01/05/11
    We spent 4 days between Christmas and New Years at Mt. Hood View Lodge and really enjoyed the property. Clean, bright, spacious- everything you need for a perfect getaway with family/friends. The house is about 30 minutes from Mt. Hood Meadows ski area.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic Get Away!

    Fantastic Get Away!

    • Guest Maria (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 12/17/10
    • Review Submitted 12/20/10
    We greatly enjoyed staying at Mt. Hood View Lodge. All agreed this was our favorite "non-camping" long weekend vacation. :0) The home provides many amenities to make your stay comfortable. The views of Mt. Hood and surrounding countryside are amazing on a clear day. The home is very kid-friendly with a play room stocked with toys and games. We really appreciated being able to bring our dog who loved exploring the fully fenced, spacious backyard. The home was clean, cozy and provided plenty of space for our family.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Mt. Hood View Lodge

    Mt. Hood View Lodge

    • Guest Ruth (Forest Grove, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 08/19/10
    • Review Submitted 08/23/10
    The view of Mt. Hood is magnificent. The house is situated in a quiet and secluded area which lends itself to relaxation and good reading. The photos accurately reflected the general appearance and amenities. The owners were very helpful in answering questions and providing information regarding places to shop and eat. A trip to Timberline Lodge provided a nice day's outing. Take one of the tours of Timberline Lodge that the Forest Service provides. It was informative and enjoyable.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Pick this house if you are going to be in or near Hood River!

    Pick this house if you are going to be in or near Hood River!

    • Guest AndreaD (Scottsdale, AZ)
    • Date of stay 08/02/10
    • Review Submitted 08/05/10
    My family and I stayed in this house for two days in August. Where can I start with the praises? The house was clean, the beds were comfortable, the kitchen had everything that one would need to prepare/eat a meal. If you have kids, this is a perfect place: movies, game room, outside toys galore. There was a beautiful hiking trail right outside the door and an awesome yard and deck with a sauna that was very relaxing. The view of Mt Hood is absolutely spectacular and there are enough windows in the house that you can see it from all of the living areas. Although we were there in the summer, I can see how this would be the perfect place for skiers! Two wood burning fireplaces, large enclosed garage, sauna, etc, etc.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It's a hot tub (not a sauna)... but thx!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Family Reunion

    Perfect Family Reunion

    • Guest turtle (West Sand Lake, New York, USA)
    • Date of stay 08/02/10
    • Review Submitted 08/05/10
    Never was a house title so apt! Mount Hood (tinged with dawn pink, glowing in afternoon sun, dramatic at sunset) becomes a part of your life. Our young grandson observed that the artwork on the walls of the house is kept small to make sure that the scene from the (many) picture windows dominates. This is the perfect house for a family reunion: the well-equipped playroom for kids of all ages, the two floors for separate games or movies, the three bathrooms, the hot tub - all made for good mixing of the generations. And the setting is superb - more stars at night than any of us have seen, horses in the pasture, flowing water up the trail, privacy yet just a quick trip to the gorge.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • WOW!! We were Home Away From Home!

    WOW!! We were Home Away From Home!

    • Guest Peggy L (Olathe, KS)
    • Date of stay 07/28/10
    • Review Submitted 08/03/10
    My extended family and I would highly recommend this home away from home. It was comfortable, clean, nestled into nature with Mt. Hood always as an inspiring backdrop. The house was stocked with towels, kitchen ware and even laundry soap for those dirty clothes that always accumulate on a trip. The drive into Mt Hood was easy and took only 15 minutes. We especially liked that we could not see a neighbor from the deck or the main living areas of the house. We did see the mountain, stars, trees and even coveys of quail. The only concern might be for those that HAVE to have air conditioning. It did not bother us as there was always a wonderful breeze flowing through the house having the many windows and doors open, and no bugs! The nights cooled off and some of us even used blankets.We were there the last week of July. If we find ourselves in the area again this house will be our temporary home once again. Thanks to the owners for providing such a lovely place to stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Mt Hood View Lodge

    Mt Hood View Lodge

    • Guest esthermama (Sitka, AK)
    • Date of stay 07/09/10
    • Review Submitted 07/14/10
    Our stay at the Mt Hood View Lodge was wonderful! The house has large bay windows everywhere you look and has the most beautiful views throughout the house. The house is set-up with a variety of kids toys and games, ride-on tractors, a zip line (which my daughter rode for hours) making it an especially great place to vacation with your children. The beds were extremely comfortable, it was as if every detail was carefully managed to insure a very pleasant stay. The owners were extremely flexible, very helpful and warm.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • beautiful view

    beautiful view

    • Guest annual college reunion a success in Hood River! (portland)
    • Date of stay 05/29/10
    • Review Submitted 06/14/10
    We loved our stay at the Mt. Hood View Lodge! The large home lives up to its name, having an amazing view of the mountian! It is very private, has a well outfitted kitchen, good working hot-tub and is kid friendly. If you are in town to take advantage of the orchards and vinyards by car this is a perfect spot as it is located on the same highway many of the farm and wine stands. Thanks Gellers! chelsea Llewellyn

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]