Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
View of Sunset Over La Jolla Cove

La Jolla Shores Luxury Home with Breathtaking Views [#290233] | View Property

La Jolla Shores
House, 4 Bedrooms, 4 Baths (Sleeps 8-10)
From $400/nt - $2500/wk - $9000/mo
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (16)

Sort by:
  • EXCELLENT CHOICE!!

    EXCELLENT CHOICE!!

    • Guest Gary (Philadelphia)
    • Date of stay 01/04/14
    • Review Submitted 02/26/14
    We rented this wonderful home for the month of January 2014 and couldn't have made a better choice. It was spacious, clean and well maintained, just as described in the listing. The kitchen and bathrooms were very nicely appointed. For the first week we had our daughter, her 3 children (twin 8 year old boys and 10 year old girl) and my other daughter and husband. There was plenty of room for everybody for sleeping and eating and relaxing/ playing indoors and out, particularly with the 2 large decks.. It is ideally located for access to the beach but only about a mile to downtown La Jolla. In addition, all the major attractions in San Diego are only 15-20 minutes away via I-5 (and with the grandchildren we hit them all with the San Diego Go Pass). After everybody left we became empty nesters for the rest of the month. We enjoyed walking to La Jolla, Birch Aquarium, the beach etc (often taking our dogs) and lots of golfing. (If you bring your dog we highly recommend Taylor Freeman as a dog walker. We used him a lot when we went out for extended periods. He has website). There are several highly rated restaurants within walking distance in addition to all the wonderful ones in downtown La Jolla. Finally the rental agents we dealt with very responsive and helpful throughout the entire process from the renting to answering our questions during our stay. We have been back to snowy Philadelphia only a short and already miss the beautiful sunsets viewed from the deck.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great holiday vacation!

    Great holiday vacation!

    • Guest CGC (DC)
    • Date of stay 11/23/13
    • Review Submitted 01/30/14
    We stayed for Thanksgiving 2013 and had an amazing time. The home is perfectly situated in the heart of La Jolla and we had easy access to all of our favorite San Diego spots. The home met all our Thanksgiving meal needs...all we had to do was pick up groceries at the local store (approx 1.5 miles away). In addition, the home was very clean and well kept. Our family loved the easy access to the beach and we managed to catch a weeks long of perfect sunsets. We highly recommend this home to all families and cant wait for our next La Jolla vacation!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Rental

    Wonderful Rental

    • Guest Jo (Salinas, CA, USA)
    • Date of stay 08/24/13
    • Review Submitted 09/11/13
    The house was perfect for our family vacation. The kitchen is fully equipped, the garage is full of beach towels, chairs, toys and boards, and ample supply of towels, bedding, pillows, and sheets. Fantastic location and was perfect for the Labor Day weekend in La Jolla Shores. We were able to bring our small dog, too!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great location, nice house

    Great location, nice house

    • Guest mk (United States)
    • Date of stay 04/13/13
    • Review Submitted 05/16/13
    Extended family spent a week at this house. The location is amazing, only a few blocks away from the beach, a nice playground, small shops/restaurants. It's also close to the aquarium and easy to get on the highways into the city. The two decks were nice as well to have a coffee in the AM and a drink in the afternoon. We have a small child and the house worked very well for kids, the only thing that would have been a little nicer is the grassy part of the yard is in the front (away from everything), so not really easy to have the kids play in the grass while adults relax (so we ended up walking to the beach/playground for our son to play - which worked well).

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Birthday Stay

    Birthday Stay

    • Guest Andy (Mountain View, CA)
    • Date of stay 04/04/13
    • Review Submitted 05/25/13
    At the beginning of April, my wife and I had a wonderful time at in La Jolla., celebrating my wife's 60th birthday with our three children, their spouses, and two grandchildren. The house proved less expensive than the cost of hotel rooms, plus there was a large living room, dining area and kitchen, where the family could hang out, talk, cook, eat, and enjoy a relaxing time together. The house also has a great upper deck which has a view of La Jolla Shores and a great lower patio area with a barbecue. The beach itself is only a five minute walk from the house, and our two young grandchildren (ages 2 and 4) were able to easily make the short hike. I would highly recommend staying at this property!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • BEST EVER VRBO: Upscale yet comfortable family friendly LaJolla Shores beach house

    BEST EVER VRBO: Upscale yet comfortable family friendly LaJolla Shores beach house

    • Guest Elizabeth (Danville, CA)
    • Date of stay 03/20/13
    • Review Submitted 04/13/13
    The description for the house is accurate but in no way does the home justice! It is WAY BETTER! We have rented VRBO before and this house trumps them all. SO close to the gorgeous beach and adorable downtown village with La Jolla kayak and bike rentals, restaurants and The Cheese Shop market. SO CLEAN and I am very picky when traveling with my 3 kids. So open and sunny and tastefully decorated. House appointed with many amenities I did not expect--little things like detergent and trash bags. I am accustomed to bringing all of that. All you need to bring are kitchen dishtowels and suncsreen. Seriously! Luxurious huge and thick beach towels, a new rolling cooler, umbrella, chairs, beach cart, toys! Inside, the kitchen had everything. The bedrooms were roomy, nice linens, the bathroom rain showers were unbelievable! We had a wedding and many area activities booked but if you never left the house to go to the beach and park you would STILL have a wonderful time. The upstairs suite with private bath and deck was just breathtaking and our favorite retreat for happy hour cocktails. Although neighborhood homes are quite close together we had so much privacy with the layout of the house and the landscaping. And for as upscale as the property is, it is still furnished to be a comfortable and relaxing retreat for all ages. Plenty of seating all over for two families. We had 3 kids, a small pooch and grandparents (7 people) and it was wonderful. All four bedrooms have their own bath, flat screen tvs. 3 bedrooms are on the first floor so if stairs are problem you wont have many to navigate the house. Just a glorious week. I would go back again and again! Thank you to the owner for sharing his property with us. Hoping to come back someday!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Christmas week in La Jolla

    Christmas week in La Jolla

    • Guest Susan (Shelton, CT, USA)
    • Date of stay 12/21/12
    • Review Submitted 01/08/13
    Our far-flung family gathered in this spacious 4-bedroom home for Christmas week. The home is wonderfully located a very short stroll from the ocean, and within easy walking distance of the little village of La Jolla Shores. Several good restaurants there made it easy and effortless to walk into town for dinner - real plus for us. San Diego is about 20 minutes away, with its many attractions and wonderful waterside walkway to view the old ships, the Midway, and various cruise ships which happen to be in port. Point Loma Seafood was a great place for a scrumptious fresh seafood lunch with water view. The home is very nicely and completely furnished. Since it was Christmas, we cooked up a storm and found a good selection of decent pots, pans and utensils for our needs. The home was spotless and well-maintained. Everything worked. The dining room table was plenty large enough (although only 6 chairs. We imported one chair from elsewhere in the house and returned it at week's end.) The open kitchen/living room floor plan made a spacious and comfortable gathering place for our group of seven. All four of the bedrooms were comfortably furnished with good-quality queen beds, and the upstairs master bedroom was palatial, with a fabulous view of the ocean and surfers in search of the perfect wave. We would definitely recommend this home and we would stay there again in a heartbeat.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome experience

    Awesome experience

    • Guest drvoolittle (San Jose, CA, USA)
    • Date of stay 10/25/12
    • Review Submitted 10/31/12
    My friends and I stayed at the house for four days at the end of November. The house is located couple blocks form the beach and in a wonderful neighborhood, conveniently located close to everything. We enjoyed our stayed at the house and would come back very soon!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful location, beautiful home, Perfect for our Family of 10

    Wonderful location, beautiful home, Perfect for our Family of 10

    • Guest Pam (St. Charles, MO)
    • Date of stay 06/16/12
    • Review Submitted 07/21/12
    The location was perfect (LaJolla). Beautiful city and just steps away from the beach. Surfing, swimming and a playground were within 5 minutes of walking distance. Loved the playground on the beach! Plenty of parking which was a plus for our family of 10 (8 adults and 2 toddlers). We had 3 rental cars. The set up of the home with 4 large bedrooms and 4 bathroomss was perfect. Mom enjoyed the LARGE kitchen area which opens to the living room and was a great gathering place. Beautiful patio just off the living area and another upstairs off the large master bedroom. Walk in closet off Master was big enough to serve as a small bedroom for the toddlers! Plenty of privacy for everyone. Many upgrades to the home and the owner/manager was extremely helpful with all our questions as we prepared to visit this beautiful city for the first time. We were visiting with our 3 grown children and their spouses and the trip was perfect. Hopefully we will be able to return again in the near future, and we would definitely choose to stay in this beautiful home again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • La Jolla Vacation House

    La Jolla Vacation House

    • Guest Sun (NY)
    • Date of stay 06/09/12
    • Review Submitted 07/02/12
    We had a once a year family gathering from Japan, Singapore and NY to spend a week here. We were all 8 adults and two year's old of my niece. House is located just two blocks away from main beach area. All rooms are very clean wtih each separate bathroom and there are so much space for closet. Love the spacious kitchen and dining area!! We had barbeque party at the barconi and it couldn't be any better. It was such a great time to be all close with family member which I never expect if we decided to stay hotel. I will definately come back for next vacation with family or group of friends.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Comfortable house, good location, responsive broker

    Comfortable house, good location, responsive broker

    • Guest Norman S.
    • Date of stay 12/10/11
    • Review Submitted 01/08/12
    Comfortable house, good location, responsive broker. Advertisement accurately represented the property, bed rooms, kitchen, location, etc. -- no surprises.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Rental

    Wonderful Rental

    • Guest kd (Long Beach, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/30/11
    • Review Submitted 09/21/11
    We rented this home for our family - our daughter was being married in LaJolla. It was PERFECT for our needs - great location, close to venue and beach - lots to do. Close to SeaWorld and easy drive to other San Diego attractions. Home is clean, well maintained and well-stocked. Furnishings are comfortable! Would definitely return and will recommend to others! Thanks for a great week!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect vacation rental for our needs!

    Perfect vacation rental for our needs!

    • Guest Happy Camper (Prescott, AZ, USA)
    • Date of stay 07/23/11
    • Review Submitted 08/14/11
    I rented this amazing house for a week long family reunion and a one day Open House in honor of my husband's 70th birthday. Our family of 8 came from 3 different states, and this vacation rental was PERFECT! The house was clean, well furnished, in a perfect location for beach activities (just a short stroll to the sand and surf) and easy access to all that the surrounding area has to offer. The very large and updated kitchen was the hub for everything, and wonderfully stocked with all the basics, and then some. The outdoor decks also provided perfect entertaining opportunities as well as views of beautiful La Jolla Shores. All of the beds got rave reviews for comfort. Having a garage and extra driveway parking was a huge bonus - not always the case in the San Diego area. The rental agent, Brant Westfall, was easy to deal with and always available to answer my questions pre-arrival. A note of info: the web photos do not do the interior justice. The bedding has been upgraded, and much more luxurious than the pictures depict. My family would rent this house again without hesitation. Actually, we wish we were there right now!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect Local and Nicely Appointed.

    Perfect Local and Nicely Appointed.

    • Guest Party of 7 (Houston)
    • Date of stay 06/02/11
    • Review Submitted 06/08/11
    I stayed at this property with my wife and 3 other couples. First off, the location was ideal for all of our needs, and at the house matched our request/desire for 4 bed 4 bath with essentially 4 masters (Not that easy to find exactly that). The furniture and kitchen/bathrooms are all in great condition and the appliance were all new and high end ish.... Big flat screens and Queen or bigger beds in every room. The upstairs bedroom is the nicest of the rooms, but no complaints about any of them. Really awesome ocean views from the second and third story balconies. The kitchen and living area are upscale/livable for dining in and entertaining at the home. A block from the beach and a couple blocks from shops, rentals, and restaurants. The one and only issue was with a rank smell in the fridge. A thorough cleaning and some baking soda is needed, but seriously an all around close to perfect home for our vacation 9.8 out of 10!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Amazing stay!!!

    Amazing stay!!!

    • Guest Tracy (Phoenix, Arizona)
    • Date of stay 05/19/11
    • Review Submitted 06/02/11
    We stayed at this house a couple of weeks ago and had an absolutely amazing time. There was plenty of room, plenty of parking, and plenty of gorgeous ocean views from 2 of the 3 decks. We were there in the first place because my friend was getting married at the Scripps Seaside Forum which was just a few blocks up the beach, also very convenient! The bride's side of the wedding party stayed here and the set-up was perfect for getting ready for the wedding! We had people come over to do our hair and make-up and had plenty of room and light in the upstairs master and in the sitting room just outside the master. Anything that we needed we were able to find in this house! Plenty of plates, silverware, bowls, utensils, and wine glasses! Even a wine fridge. Some of the pictures of other places I've seen here look like they have cheap furniture but this place had big and comfy couch and chair in the family room and all the beds were very cozy, especially the upstairs Tempurpedic, it was amazing! The garage contained everything you'd need for the beach like towels, boogie boards, coolers, toys, everything and it was just a short 2 block walk to the beach. We were also close enough to the downtown La Jolla area, but far enough so that it was nice and quiet. We were extremely happy here and so sad when we had to leave! I would DEFINITELY recommend this rental to anyone and already want to get some friends together to stay here again next summer! Thank you so much to the owners for everything!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful home in a great location!

    Beautiful home in a great location!

    • Guest andy (Santa Clara)
    • Date of stay 04/16/11
    • Review Submitted 04/26/11
    Stayed there with extended family for a week and everyone loved it. Location: A -walking distance to a nice beach. -easy drive to major grocery stores (Ralphs, Trader Joes, Whole Food) -relatively easy access to I-5, especially if you're heading south to San Diego -very central especially if you plan on going up north to legoland and or the safari park People: A -Brant was very helpful and very responsive to email House: A -High-end furnishings -Well stocks kitchen -Awesome patio/deck -Very nice outdoor grill

    Recommended for: Families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]