Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Welcome to Bear Lake Reserve - Overlooking the Beautiful Smoky Mountains

Great for Two Families - Bear Lake Reserve - All Resort Fees Included in Price. [#292454] | View Property

Tuckasegee
Cottage, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths (Sleeps 10)
$225 - $335/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (19)

Sort by:
  • Connolly Cabin

    Connolly Cabin

    • Guest Tim C.
    • Date of stay 02/14/14
    • Review Submitted 02/20/14
    PROS: Beautiful furnishings. Clean and equipped. Comfortable beds. Spacious layout. CONS: No TV in upstairs family room. Not adequately heated on downstairs floor. (Gas fireplace should be available in winter months) Needs instructions for TV and sound system.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Rental for 2 Families

    Perfect Rental for 2 Families

    • Guest David & Jean (Albertson, NC)
    • Date of stay 01/18/14
    • Review Submitted 01/20/14
    This was an excellent choice for our weekend rental with a second family. This lodge was close enough to WCU as well as being in a beautiful location. This home is perfect down to all the small details. The separate living areas are great spaces for family fun. We enjoyed the large dining table for food and card fun! The beds are also very comfortable with plenty of room for everyone. The young children enjoyed the play room and the older ones enjoyed the Foosball table and movies as well as the Fitness center at the Lake Lodge. The hiking trails are absolutely wonderful even with the cold temperatures...peaceful walking while you hear and see the streams and wild turkeys, and making it to the lake. This home is beautiful, but also comfortable to feel "at home". Thanks so much for being so helpful with our stay!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great vacation home

    Great vacation home

    • Guest Thami A.
    • Date of stay 12/21/13
    • Review Submitted 12/29/13
    This home was great we stayed here for one week. Our family is very large but there was still enough room for us to get away from each other when we needed; we had four children with us and they had a blast with all the things there was to do it home. Beautiful master bedroom, great outdoor fireplace, and beautiful kitchen to cook in. Over all home is very beautiful and well-kept there were a little bit of dust in some areas which can be expected in large home. The person who cares for the home; Brandon, is an absolute sweetheart helped us out in many ways, accommodated all of our requests ans answered all of our questions. The only downside for us was that the clubhouse was very far away from the home it's 5.1 miles up the mountain; however it was worth the climb, it is absolutely gorgeous. I would definitely recommend this home.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect wedding accommodations!

    Perfect wedding accommodations!

    • Guest Tamara (Fayetteville, GA)
    • Date of stay 09/13/13
    • Review Submitted 09/18/13
    Our family stayed at this lovely home Sept. 13-14, 2013, for our daughter's wedding at Castle Ladyhawke. It was the perfect location! The house is so well decorated and very clean. It felt like home. Definitely met my expectations. Very comfortable for our group of eight. So happy both sets of the bride's grandparents had their own queen bedroom. Didn't have time to explore Bear Lake Reserve but would like to return and stay in this home again!! The rental process was easy and professional with good communication!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Delightful cabin, great location.

    Delightful cabin, great location.

    • Guest Becky (Bradenton, Florida)
    • Date of stay 08/29/13
    • Review Submitted 09/06/13
    Six adults lived quite comfortably in this well equipped, homey, beautifully decorated home. The home is very large, the screened patio a delight for breakfast and dinners. Had it been fall colors, we would have been in the tops of all the color. We were in the area for a wedding and all of us had homes in the Mill Pond area so could walk to visit and keep in touch, since none of us had Verizon, so had no cell service, but did have WiFi texting. The big plus to this rental is the location. It is near the entrance to the Reserve and if you are coming and going as we were, the location is perfect. It is a good 20 minute winding steep drive to the Lake Club House, which we didn't have time to use but did check it out. Very nice if you want to spend an afternoon there but to be staying back there, and having to endure the ride to the entrance every time you wanted to leave, is a bit much. The Mill Pond views were pretty and we were quick to get out for hikes, shopping, events. We fished in the Mill Pond with fishing rods the owners had available to use. Did quite well!! Our kitchen was well stocked, the bedding of good quality and comfortable. The house is so large, we only used the downstairs for the bedroom but if you had children with you, which this house is geared for, the large downstairs living area and deck gives everyone room to spread out. The property manager was delightful and the rental manager was prompt in responses and easy to work with. The owners provided baskets of local info leaflets and books regarding the area, which we used extensively. This cabin is 2 thumbs up.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fabulous retreat for the entire family

    Fabulous retreat for the entire family

    • Guest jvdp (california)
    • Date of stay 06/09/13
    • Review Submitted 06/18/13
    We just returned from our week stay at Bear Lake Reserve. The accomodations could not have been better. From the furnishings, to the location, it was all there. The cousins had a great time hanging out in the very spacious cottage when they weren't fishing, tubing, jet skiing, swimming, kayaking and many more activities that were available to them. It was a great time had by all. There were 9 of us staying in the cottage and there was plenty of room for everybody. We brought in our own food and the kitchen was fully stocked with all we needed. The people and managers of the property are very nice and helpful when asked a question. Simply stated,"I beautiful location in a beautiful cottage. Thank you for sharing.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Bear Lake Reserve

    Bear Lake Reserve

    • Guest Karen (Raleigh, NC)
    • Date of stay 05/10/13
    • Review Submitted 05/16/13
    We stayed for 3 days for my daughter's graduation from WCU. The cottage was exactly as pictures on the web page and decorated nicely. The property was very clean and well maintained. The owner and property management was very helpful in answering any of our questions or concerns. My favorite part was sitting on the top deck with a fire in the fire place. We didn't get a chance to take advantage of all the amenities, but I did get an opportunity to hike one of the many trails which was enjoyable. I would definitely like to come back for a longer period of time and use some of the many amenities available and I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a quiet mountain get a way with adventurous and/or relaxing venues. GREAT PLACE & GREAT TIME.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Exactly what we were looking for

    Exactly what we were looking for

    • Guest Jessica L.
    • Date of stay 10/19/12
    • Review Submitted 10/21/12
    After scanning dozens of homes on this site and several others, we finally chose this property for our family weekend in the mountains. It was worth the research, drive and the money! With small children in tow, we were tickled to find the home wonderfully appointed and also children friendly! The triplets and their cousin loved the bunkbeds. With 3 fireplaces, we were surrounded by warmth in each of the gathering areas. The children had a hard time deciding which room we should make s'mores in...The area is quite remote so we decided to bring in all of our supplies for meals, etc. We enjoyed hiking, fishing in the stocked pond, a picnic, leaf watching, family portraits and especially snuggling up to the warm fires!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Bear Lake Reserve rental

    Bear Lake Reserve rental

    • Guest Louis (Charlotte, NC)
    • Date of stay 09/30/12
    • Review Submitted 10/20/12
    We had a wonderful stay at this home and found it to be beautifully decorated, and as perfect as advertised. The kitchen provided plenty of room and all of the utensils we could have expected. The view from the spacious screen porch is amazing, and having a fireplace available (along with plenty of cut firewood) made it perfect for family time. Bear Lake Reserve is a beautiful part of western NC with beautiful views. The area offers plenty of things to do including a fantastic 9-hole golf course, challenging hiking trails and one of the most scenic lakes in the state. We also liked the fact that Bear Lake is within 30 minutes of Cashiers, a charming mountain town with very good restaurants and shopping. Brandon and all of the others on staff at Bear Lake were courteous and helpful, tending to our every need. We will not hesitate to consider Bear Lake Reserve for our next vacation.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Loved it

    Loved it

    • Guest Bob (Saint Augustine, FL)
    • Date of stay 08/04/12
    • Review Submitted 08/17/12
    We stayed for 4 days and had a wonderful time. The house is beautiful and perfectly decorated for the mountains. The view from the back porch is amazing. We hiked a few trails, rented a pontoon boat for a few hours, and went canoeing and kayaking. The restaurant at the lodge was wonderful...great menu and the food was much better than I anticipated given the relative lack of volume. I definitely would like to go back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Family Wedding Retreat Castle Ladyhawk

    Family Wedding Retreat Castle Ladyhawk

    • Guest Grandma (MO)
    • Date of stay 06/04/12
    • Review Submitted 06/14/12
    Excellent first time renting Cottage. Recommended by Castle Ladyhawk for wedding week retreat. Everything was exactly as pictured. Beautiful views of the Smokey Mnts to enjoy. We loved the gas grill for lunch/dinners. Grilled hambuges,hotdogs, steaks. Stacked washer/dryer. Privacy being in a home instead of hotel. Peaceful/Tranquil. Grandkids (3) loved the experiece too. ages 3-10. Mill Pond in walking distance. They fished a couple days. Swimming pool at the Bear Lake Reserve. Some enjoyed the kyacks. Sylva is 20 - 30 min drive for groceries/Walmart. Asheville has lots to do. It's an hour drive away. Husband and Son and Dad in law and Bro in law enjoyed the 9 hole Pro golf course. We would love to go back there again. We called with hot water heater not working. They were there within hours, tech program issue fixed within minutes. It was wonderful. We rented several cottages in area and some family rented Condo by clubhouse. We have memories there that will last our lifetime. Thank you to Mr & Mrs managers of many of the cottages our families and friends stayed in. Were very loving/helpful all year long working with our questions/answers in preparation and while there. Plus the beds were very comfortable. We stayed at hotel for 5 hrs after leaving there, missed airplane, It was not comfortable at all. The owners of home did great decor throughout cottage rustic/romantic/family. Thank you. Gated community. Loved it. Brand new paved roads in the mountains.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • a little spot of paradise in the Smokys

    a little spot of paradise in the Smokys

    • Guest Diane V. (Raleigh, North Carolina)
    • Date of stay 05/02/12
    • Review Submitted 05/07/12
    We could not have asked for a more perfect place to stay in preparation for our daughter's wedding. The Bear Lake Reserve could not have been more welcoming. The home was beautifully furnished right down to the antler lamps. The bedding was immaculate and the sleeping devine. We especially loved the master suite with the oversized shower and king size bed. Every convenience you could want.....The younger adults enjoyed the golf, and the elders enjoyed fishing in the Mill Pond. Wish we had more time to enjoy the trails and the lake...will definitely consider it again for a vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • New Year 2012

    New Year 2012

    • Guest Denver B.
    • Date of stay 12/26/11
    • Review Submitted 01/04/12
    A great place for the whole family grandma, grandpa, three kids, 2 spouses, and two grandchilren with plenty of room for all to be together yet have their own space. Loved the hiking, exploring the reserve and stopping at the lake house for hot tub and kayaking. Incredible day trips for shopping, North Carolina BBQ and awesome scenery. Place is well equipped for entertaining, fires in the three fireplaces and lots of game playing. Can't wait to come in the summer to explore another season with the golf course and lake activities. Thanks for sharing your place with our family.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Most Beautiful Place!!

    Most Beautiful Place!!

    • Guest Victoria W.
    • Date of stay 11/19/11
    • Review Submitted 12/07/11
    I can't say enough about this cabin home. The location was perfect, but most of all, the cabin exceeded all of our expectations. It was the perfect setting for family meals, exploring, and sitting around the outdoor fire just talking and laughing for hours on end. The cabin is very roomy and spacious and easily accommodates large families. We all hated to leave and cannot wait to return. All I can say is thank you for trusting people in sharing your home and allowing all of us to experience such a beautiful retreat.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic home with breathtaking views of mountains and reserve.

    Fantastic home with breathtaking views of mountains and reserve.

    • Guest Anthony F. (-)
    • Date of stay 07/30/11
    • Review Submitted 12/24/11
    Absolutely amazing home in this wonderful part of the US! Thank you so much for sharing your fantastic home with us. My wife and I and our 6 year old daughter travelled from the Caribbean to spend a week with family in this home at The Bearlake Reserve. This house has all amenities for a great family vacation with spacious living areas, comfortable bedrooms and wonderful deck space. We cooked every night and made great use of the bbq and outside fireplace. The location of the house is walking distance to all the great nature trails and the Mill pond. Fantastic home and can,t wait to return in the future.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Vacation Rental!

    Amazing Vacation Rental!

    • Guest Mark Becker (Sarasota, Florida)
    • Date of stay 07/23/11
    • Review Submitted 08/23/11
    Wow!!! This house is absolutely amazing! Two families stayed in this house (4 adults, 3 kids) and we had more than enough space. The home is beautifully decorated and the attention to detail is evident throughout the house. We loved the outdoor fireplace and used it every evening. The bedrooms are extremely comfortable and the living space is perfect. The game room was a hit with the kids and we had fun just being together. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything one might need, the grill made outdoor cooking easy and the furniture is top quality. The hikes are fantastic and are easily accessible from the home. We enjoyed all of the amenities that Bear Lake has to offer and found the entire experience to be very easy. Night walks and the accessibility to Mill Pond were a huge plus as the proximity to the Greeters Cottage. The WiFi in the home was perfect to get us through the week. We recommend this house to families, couples, everyone! It was just perfect. Thank you so much for making this ithe perfect vacation.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Can't wait to come back!

    Can't wait to come back!

    • Guest Gina L. (Naples, Florida)
    • Date of stay 07/23/11
    • Review Submitted 07/31/11
    I have rented at Bear Lake many times in the past several years but I can honestly say this house was the best so far. The house looks exactly like the photos only better! Sitting out on the deck in the morning is like being on a movie set with the mountains in the background. The house is so comfortable and well maintained. It was perfect for two small families vacationing together like ours. We loved the location being so close to the greeters cottage and mill pond. We had some great trails right out our back door. Can't wait to come back. Thank you so much.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • July 4th!

    July 4th!

    • Guest Heather F.
    • Date of stay 07/01/11
    • Review Submitted 07/10/11
    Spent July 4th weekend in this beautiful cottage. Best place in Bear Lake Reserve to enjoy the spectacular fireworks show -- and you don't even have to leave the back deck! The cottage was comfortable for three families. Plenty of space for adults and kids to enjoy themselves -- with all the amenities of home. The lake, pool, and hiking trails are gorgeous. The kids loved fishing in the stocked pond and checking out all the tadpoles. S'mores were a big hit at an outdoor stone hearth fireplace in the woods -- hiking in by flashlight made it a great adventure. We even saw a black bear during our stay! Couldn't have been better. We'll be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Out Of The Nest

    Out Of The Nest

    • Guest Danny Abernathy (North Carolina)
    • Date of stay 05/07/10
    • Review Submitted 05/10/10
    What a wonderful weekend. In addition to our daughter graduating from Western Carolina your beautiful cabin was the ideal venue for the family to spend time together and celebrate our daughters acheivment. With a wide range of ages, (4 to 69) the cabin was perfect. The equiped toy room was perfect for the grandchildren. Hope especially loved the dress-up clothes. The den and the decks turned out to be the most popular areas for lively family conversation or just relaxing and enjoying the beautiful morning sunrise over the mountains. The weather was perfect the whole weekend, brisk mornings and comfortable days. You have a beautiful mountain home and we appreciate you accomodating us on such short notice. May God continue to bless you and your family.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]