Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Nawandyn Estate's private, long sandy beach abuts the estate's boathouse.

41-Acre Lakefront, Luxury Estate-Week of July 12-19, 2014 Main House Special! [#293978] | View Property

Bridgton
3 homes combine to sleep 32; or rent individually to sleep 6, 12, & 14
$999 - $2,000/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (16)

Sort by:
  • Breathtaking grounds, wonderful home, quaint town

    Breathtaking grounds, wonderful home, quaint town

    • Guest Vanessa G. (-)
    • Date of stay 07/13/13
    • Review Submitted 08/05/13
    Our very large family vacations in Maine every year and have enjoyed many lakeside rentals. Nawandyn definitely earns top marks! Diane, the owner and caretaker, is lovely and accommodating. Her love for the estate and passion for planting is obvious as the property is home to several stunning (and enormous) English gardens. The beautifully manicured pine stands house countless birds and provide cool relief on the hottest of days. (We experienced this first hand - 95 all week!) The views are spectacular from each of the buildings we occupied during our weeklong stay. The beach is found downhill from the houses - a 3-4 minute walk through the woods. There are kayaks to explore Highland Lake, a BBQ, picnic table, deep sand and a great dock for fishing. Really comfy lounge chairs and floats, too. The boat house is to die for. I walked in and squealed. It feels antique and magical and crafted. Just right. Diane stocked the boat house with toys, boats and even beach towels. Very easy to spend all day down there. The homes are well equipped with kitchenware, games and books. We had everything we needed. The views from the houses are gorgeous. The rooms have a vintage feel and are well appointed. The dining room is arranged for 30 or so diners but there are more intimate spaces around the property to have a bite. A favorite spot for me was the back deck overlooking the gardens and mountain. Bridgton is a great little town with an organized shopping center. There are some great shops, movie theatre, good restaurants and a great little playground downtown. The center is just down the street - maybe 2 miles from Nawandyn. The area in general is terrific for antiquing and bike riding. This is a wonderful property in a gorgeous part of New England. A real gem.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The perfect place for a family reunion

    The perfect place for a family reunion

    • Guest Joseph L.
    • Date of stay 07/06/13
    • Review Submitted 07/16/13
    Our group of 5 families just returned from a fabulous family reunion vacation at Nawandyn Estates. The 1st thing that attracted me to Nawandyn Estates was the flexibility in the number of people that can be accommodated. We ended up with 25 in our group but we could have had up to 32. A 2nd thing that attracted me was that the estate feels very private. It was a great treat to have the beach area to ourselves. The estate has 3 beautiful houses. The main house is where we would gather in the evening to prepare meals and enjoy each others company. It is a mix of early 20th century charm and modern conveniences. The kitchen has 2 large refrigerators, 2 stoves, and 2 sink areas which make preparing meals easy. One very nice feature of the main house is the large dining room with enough space for everyone to eat together. The estate has a remarkable variety of landscape environments. You enter the estate through a long hedge lined driveway. Before you get to the houses there is a huge lawn, a formal garden, a stand of giant trees and a tennis court. Below the main house is a steep hill with a very large flower garden. On the hill sloping down to the lake is a forest. And on the lake is a sandy beach. The estate is on a 4 miles long lake. The beach was the main focus of our daily activities. On one side of the beach is a boat house containing 3 kayaks and a row boat. We took full advantage of these as well as the floating swimming dock. We also had our own dock to park a rented motor boat. We used the motor boat for water skiing. For those of us that do not water ski we had a large inflatable float which we pulled behind the boat. This gave and exciting ride for people clinging to it. Bridgton Highland Country Club is one-quarter mile away and some of our group played golf and tennis there. Bridgton Main Street is just a 5 minute drive. It has lots of charming stores and it is a nice place to spend a few hours wandering and shopping. More important for me was the two grocery stores which makes shopping for groceries quick and easy. Our family holds a reunion vacation every two years. What made our vacation at Nawandyn stand out from the others is that there is so much available to do on the estate that family members chose to spend more time together than in previous vacations. Diane, the owner of the estate, and here son Bob were very friendly and helpful. In all I would highly recommend Nawandyn Estates.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fantastic Fall Getaway with Friends

    Fantastic Fall Getaway with Friends

    • Guest Becky R.
    • Date of stay 09/21/12
    • Review Submitted 09/27/12
    Just spent a fabulous weekend at Nawandyn Estate with good friends! The Carriage House was perfect for our small group! I loved being able to step out of my bedroom onto the balcony and look out over the lake! There’s also plenty of room if you have a larger group, family get-together, or business retreat with the additional residences on the property. We had a great time exploring the beautiful gardens, hiking the path through the woods down to the Boathouse, and simply enjoying the peace and quiet. Lucky for us the lake water was still warm so we took the kayaks out daily – what better way to see everything come alive than from the water early in the morning?! And the food!! The first night we wanted the Maine lobster experience and the owner, Diane, suggested a great little place in town where all we had to do was pick up our made-to-order lobster dinners! The next two nights she suggested two absolutely wonderful local gourmet restaurants in nearby towns (76 Pleasant St in Norway and Oxford House Inn in Fryeburg) – creative choices for a deliciously unique dining experience! Overall, a truly fantastic experience! If you are looking for an ideal place to get away, I highly recommend Nawandyn Estate! Definitely hope to visit again soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Family Reunion Getaway!

    Perfect Family Reunion Getaway!

    • Guest Maureen L. (-)
    • Date of stay 08/18/12
    • Review Submitted 09/21/12
    In celebration of our parents' 50th wedding anniversary, we traveled to Nawandyn for a family reunion this past August -- all 23 of us (with ages ranging from 7 to 76). It would not be an exaggeration to say that it was the perfect place for such a celebration. The property has lots of space for people to rest and relax, as well as many wonderful gathering areas. The kitchen and dining room are well suited for a crowd, the living room is perfect for game nights or family talent shows, and the private beach is absolutely spectacular. Everyone in our group enjoyed the kayacs and dock and simply romping on the lake, and we rented a motor boat for the week (which the owners of Nawandyn helped us find) and spent a considerable amount of time waterskiing, tubing, and wake boarding. In addition to water activities, the area is also wonderful for cycling and hiking -- a real outdoor treasure. We truly loved our time at Nawandyn and hope to be able to return either next summer or the following!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Gorgeous estate with abundant flowers.

    Gorgeous estate with abundant flowers.

    • Guest Karen (Charlotte, NC)
    • Date of stay 07/21/12
    • Review Submitted 09/18/12
    My extended family stayed at Nawandyn for a family reunion and couldn't have been more pleased (in fact we are coming back next year). The lake is pristine and we enjoyed paddling, swimming, fishing and tubing. The grounds are sprawling with beautiful gardens and many acres of natural woods. There is a wide range of available activities in the surrounding area: in addition to the water fun, members of my group enjoyed hiking, birding, golf, photography, and shopping in town. The buildings on the estate were quite charming and comfortable with plenty of space to accommodate our large group. The grand piano in the living room was put to good use by the musicians in my group and the acoustics were wonderful. The kitchen was quite well equipped and we were able to prepare meals for 35+ people (with a great deal of planning on our part!). I highly recommend Nawandyn!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful Place

    Beautiful Place

    • Guest Chris
    • Date of stay 09/29/11
    • Review Submitted 12/07/11
    The Nawandyn Estate is gorgeous. Situated on the Highland Lake, it was warm enough to go swimming even at the end of September. Our reason for booking the estate was for a group retreat of 30 people, mostly graduate students. The property handled all of us just fine, and we rarely felt cramped as there are 3 different houses with full amenities to hang out in. They even made special accommodations by adding double beds in place of queens and kings where requested, as well as additional tables so all 30 of us could eat in the same room. The one downside to 30 people was that we had to split the cooking up into two of the houses as the main kitchen was just not quite big enough for all the cooks/dishes. However, everything that is presented in the pictures and description of this estate lived up to the expectation, and at times exceeded it. The actual property is large enough that you feel quite segregated from any neighbors and also beautiful enough to enjoy a morning jog within its boundaries. The owners were very accommodating at all times and always answered my phone calls if I had questions or needed help. Everything was very clean, well kept, and comfortable. There were kayaks available for our use, as well as ping-pong, tennis, and a floating dock about 100 feet offshore for relaxing in the sun. I really enjoyed my stay at the Nawandyn Estate and felt very welcome at all times.

    Owner response: The large kitchen and pantry in the Main House have been used to prepare elaborate, multi-course, meals for 40 - 50 people. However, they are not large enough to accommodate 30 people preparing separate dishes. We are glad that we were able to accommodate such a desire with the combined facilities of the property.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Family reunion

    Great Family reunion

    • Guest Joe & Sue (Hampton NH)
    • Date of stay 08/20/11
    • Review Submitted 09/12/11
    Our family celebrates our children's 40th birthdays by renting a beach house for a week. This was our third turning 40 . Our family consisted of 13: my husband and myself, 4 children and their spouses ,two grandchildren and an uncle .We travelled from MA, ME, NH & CA..We rented the Guest House and the Carriage House.The estate was beautiful and we were impressed right away by the trees lining the driveway and all the beautiful flowers. The houses were clean, comfortable and roomy. There were activities for all ages,On the grounds, everyone enjoyed the beach, boats and fishing. The children played frisbee, tennis and made sand castles The men appreciated the nearby golf course, the women loved the shopping and the children had fun at Storyland in No.Conway.. We also enjoyed a delicious meal at the Black Lantern Tavern in Bridgton . Andrew & Diane were very accomodating hosts and made us feel right at home. We were happy to have WiFi in the house for those of us that had to do a little computer work Three people in our group climbed Mt.Washington..It was a great week and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing, peacefull vacation.Thank you Diane & Andrew for sharing your family estate with us. Joe & Sue

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Memorable Family Vacation

    Memorable Family Vacation

    • Guest Stephen H.
    • Date of stay 08/13/11
    • Review Submitted 09/07/11
    Our family is scattered over the country and each member with a busy schedule. Reunions are rare... and a precious time! Nawandyn provided the perfect location and facility for our family group of 11 (5 children ranging in age from 2 to 13 and 6 adults ranging in age from late thirties to mid-sixties) to make wonderful memories. The description of the facility was right on and the best part was that Diane and Andrew made us feel like family with personal attention; providing excellent recommendations for local services and anticipating and looking out for our needs. We would highly recommend Nawandyn for the perfect family vacation.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Nearly Perfect!

    Nearly Perfect!

    • Guest Kyle (Maryland)
    • Date of stay 07/30/11
    • Review Submitted 09/11/11
    Our extended family of 12 had an absolutely wonderful time in the Main House. The grounds are impeccably maintained and house is elegant yet comfortable. The porches were especially popular with our group. Diane recommended a wonderful private chef who cooked a fantastic dinner for us to celebrate an anniversary. But the highlight is certainly the large sandy beach, boathouse and swim dock. We canoed, fished and rented a boat for a few days of tubing. Gorgeous views. We hope to return!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • July Holidays

    July Holidays

    • Guest Large Family Holidays (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 07/16/11
    • Review Submitted 08/09/11
    Three generations of our family, 19 guests in all were housed in the main and carriage houses, spent a week at Nawandyn. It was a wonderful hot July week in Maine. Tennis early in the morning, followed by swimming and canoeing on the lake. Late afternoon cocktails on the porch, and never-ending dinners in the spacious dining room. Our hosts were always prepared to answer our needs with a smile. We simply had a wonderful time at Nawandyn, and recommend the estate especially for large family gatherings.

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A special vacation retreat

    A special vacation retreat

    • Guest 2 families of 4 (Toronto, Canada)
    • Date of stay 07/09/11
    • Review Submitted 07/16/11
    Nawandyn was a fabulous location for a 1 week vacation for 2 families that included 4 young boys. Each room of the main house is spacious and has a wonderful unique character. We enjoyed the sun, sand and canoe rides during the day and spent many wonderful evenings in the 2 porches amidst the beautiful Maine woods. Thanks very much to our gracious hosts.

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • perfectly serene retreat

    perfectly serene retreat

    • Guest Bethany R. (columbus ohio)
    • Date of stay 08/26/10
    • Review Submitted 10/19/10
    Our experience in Maine was beyond any of our expectations, not exaggerating, the best word to capture it was: perfection. On arrival we found more than enough tranquility evoking living space in the complex of houses. It was fantastic grilling out on and basking in the sunlight of the private beach and spending peaceful afternoon’s leisure reading on the even more private beach. The peaceful seclusion was counterbalanced by a night at the open air drive in theater in the nearby town and a night of fine dining out Maine style. We also enjoyed our share of dining in; cooking our own meals and group dinners sharing stories as if we were in the comfort of our own homes. We took advantage of the boat house and all of its recreational accompaniments as well as a day on the tennis court and walks in the gardens. In short, ample and luxurious living space, more than enough recreational activities for everyone’s taste, and best of all the serenity of peace and quite amongst a beautiful natural backdrop. I would whole heartedly suggest it to anyone and plan to return next year.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Great Stay at Nawandyn Estates

    Great Stay at Nawandyn Estates

    • Guest Mike (Attleboro Ma)
    • Date of stay 08/07/10
    • Review Submitted 08/14/10
    I had a wonderful week at the Nawandyn estates, as did my entire group. We had four adults and six younger adults for a week's stay. We rented the guest house and it was the perfect fit for us. The building was in great shape (as are all the buildings) and it had a unique, very cool design. There was enough privacy to enjoy quiet relaxation, while at the same time there was multiple rooms to enjoy the company of the entire group. They had a very large family room with a TV and fireplace, a large eat in kitchen and a screened in porch where we spent a lot of time in the evenings listening to music and playing games. The private beach was a beautiful, secluded spot. The lake is big, has some very nice panoramic views and all the people on the lake were friendly. The owners of the estate were very accommodating and went out of their way to make sure our stay was the best it could be. Very nice people. If you're looking for a relaxing vacation, in a quiet, interesting location then this is your kind of place. Enjoy.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • spectacular setting

    spectacular setting

    • Guest lisa H. (Providence, RI)
    • Date of stay 07/03/10
    • Review Submitted 07/12/10
    Our stay at Nawandyn was wonderful. Our hosts were very accomodating. The landscaping was spectacular. The Guest House was very clean and well appointed and the lake was just a quick walk away. We were able to play tennis, waterski and lounge in the water by the sandy beach. The charming town of Bridgton was just a few miles away. Movie theaters, including a drive-in, are nearby as are a few good restaurants and an excellent grocery store.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful property

    Wonderful property

    • Guest Beth (Atlanta, GA USA)
    • Date of stay 07/03/10
    • Review Submitted 07/11/10
    This property is beautiful! The owners were gracious and the property is exactly as their pictures depicted on the website. The gardens are gorgeous, buildings updated and clean, the beach and boathouse are great. We had a wonderful week and would recommend this property to other families.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • wonderful

    wonderful

    • Guest Richard (Lithia Florida)
    • Date of stay 06/04/10
    • Review Submitted 06/25/10
    We were surprize when we pulled up to the turn at the 145th fire lane and drove down the long drive passing tall pines and approached the huge colorful garden. What comes to mind is wow! this is a nice place. It is good when things surpass your expectations. We spent 3 days and had a nice time. We had all we needed and the setting was lovly. The lake is great. We saw a dear dart buyone night about 7pm. Quiet, safe,attractive and very accomidating. We enjoyed our stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]